The Westin Washington, D.C. City Center

  • 1400 M Street NW
  • Washington,
  • District of Columbia
  • 20005
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with valid identification to register and to check-in.

Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 526 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is very nice and the customer service was great. The hotel was beautiful, It was very clean and customer service was great from registration, valet and restaurant staff. July 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by One Night Stay This hotel offers great rooms, comfortable beds, and a great layout. Having stayed at a number of hotels due to large amounts of travel, my biggest issue with this hotel is service. Upon my arrival on Sunday night, there was no staff to help me with my bags. Upon entering, there was no-one at the front desk. It took over 3 minutes, and me finally going behind the desk towards the back room to get someone to assist me. After check-in, I called for room service, and the late night menu has no hot food, only cereal, fruits, salad and one other item i can't remember. Needless to say, there was no menu in the room. With an attempt to get information from front desk for alternatives in the area, I was put on hold and forgotten. So while I would recommend this location based on the hotel it self the staff and service is something that would need improvement, particularly the night staff. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay Had a wonderful stay. The entire staff were absolutely wonderful to deal with and went out of their way to make certain that we had a memorable stay. Would definitely stay here again. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bring your bike to Washington DC Have been to Washington several times. This is the first for bringing a bike. Especially on July 4th. The streets are closed...no better way to travel... The staff was very helpful and accommodating. Sometimes things took a bit longer than expected, however it was over the July 4th holiday and it should be expected. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mine The hotel was very nice, but it lacks any outdoor seating area for reading, drinking or relaxation. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Tiffany, the concierge was very professional, outstanding in every way. She was informative and so helpful in resolving some problems was had. July 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Gr8 location, Average service I got average room, food was more than average. But location is really nice. July 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by front desk staff I found the front desk staff to be inexperienced and unhelpful. No one had an answer they all had to ask each other and none of them gave a straight forward answer including the manager at the front desk. You need more people like the ladies in the breakfast room, housekeeping and Gerald in the restaurant downstairs, warm , helpful makes a BIG difference. July 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Charged $250 for parking that I didn't use Nice hotel and good location but be sure you review your portfolio before you leave. Of course, you'll have to pay for internet service to be able to check your portfolio, but that's another complaint. I'm so used to everything being fine on my final bill that I didn't bother to review my bill until I started filling out my business reimbursement statement. Imagine my shock when I saw that I was charged $250 for overnight parking, which I didn't use. To add insult to injury, I have called the hotel several times and still have not been able to get through to anyone and no one has had the courtesy to return my calls. I would be willing to assume that this was a simple mistake, but this is the second time this year that I have stayed at a Westin brand hotel and been charged for services I did not use. July 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good potential The hotel is nice and the location is excellent. The staff however failed to live up to usual Starwood standards. Room service repeatedly got orders wrong. Our room wasn't cleaned two days in a row (apparently it didn't make it onto the list of occupied rooms for housekeeping to clean). No Starwood Gold recognition (choice of welcome items) at check in. That said, the staff were all friendly. Just not terribly competent. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A nice night in Washington The hotel was very clean and the bathroom could not have been more spotless. It was quiet in and around our room and we slept soundly. It seems we could have been upgraded as gold SPG members, as the hotel was empty, but no suggestion was made and our room was fine. The only complaint is that the breakfast buffet was way overpriced, but there are lots of restaurants within a 2 block radius that you could get a cheaper breakfast. In addition, the in room water was $5? Seriously? The Metro was for McPherson square (blue/orange line) was an easy walk with a CVS right on the way to pick up anything you might have forgotten for your trip. We would use this hotel again. July 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by deb22toronto The Westin was clean and comfortable but difficult to get to. Once found, location was good for seeing the attractions in D.C. Valet parking prices were astronomical. We chose this hotel because it was pet friendly and although I was charged for the pet it took for ever for them to bring dog bed, bowls and treats for our pet. Have been to other Westins that have been much more accommodating. Overall staff was friendly and informative. Would I stay here again? No. July 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Okay hotel Service has dropped over the years. Staff now less friendly in the breakfast area and the porters. All others are good. Recommending the hotel to others is linked with the room rate one would get. June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unsatisfactory Room and Bathroom As a Starwood guest you expect a certain level of comfort and cleanliness…this was my third attempt to give SPG another try after two prior negative experiences; (Philadelphia and New York) only to be disappointed yet again with the lack of cleanliness of the room, bedding and bathroom. In the first room the bedding had multiple stains, the pillows were old and soiled and the bathroom ceiling was cracked and flaking/peeling. Front desk staff and the manager were very attentive however, first impressions are lasting impressions and my family and I are left with the impression that all SPG hotels lack the commitment of providing guests with clean bedding and rooms ... June 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice renovation, looks unfinished though The staff was friendly upon arrival. Walking to the room the hallway looked clean and smelled new. Needed some art or color to break up the long hall. The room was nice and modern, but there was hair in our bathtub. They responded quickly and sent housekeeping to clean it. We went out in the morning and noticed that weather stripping on an adjacent rooms door was falling off and notified the front desk...3 hours later they still hadn't fixed it. Some details needed to be fixed, like white paint all over the black granite on the outside of the suites, and the edges of the carpet in our room looked horrible. Overall hotel was nice, just needs to look a little closer at the details. June 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely stay! I brought my grandsons for a DC vacation and we had a wonderful time. The Weston was located within walking distance to most everything and very comfortable. Good neighborhood and we felt safe walking. Lots of coffee shops and restaurants near by. All in all a great stay. June 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely, but quirky, place for a small conference I stayed at the Westin City Center for three days in June 2014. Apart from my room not being ready when I arrived at check-in time (a minor annoyance), they stay was lovely. I was privileged to be assigned to a suite because of my role in planning the conference that I was attending, so I had it good. Oddly, however, the suites face on the lobby and the lobby door has an audio feature that, were I not a "city girl" who screens out white noise, might have been my undoing. But it only bothered me when I was awake and in my room (i.e., not for long). The ballroom floors are set up in a bizarre, tiered way, and both the lowest function floor and the mezzanine function rooms are not connected to the other function-room floors by stairs or an escalator. This means that conference organizers should plan sufficient "passing time" in between sessions. Sadly, we did not do that. But the renovations make the hotel very modern and attractive, and I like the apples and free bottled water in the room. And the gym is small, but nice. Overall, a pleasant place to stay. Note that it is a five-block walk to the Metro, so for some, that may make it inaccessible by Metro. June 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing uique, noisy room 219 I traveled in US from May 19 to June 1,and I brought my parents and younger sister for a family vacation in US. We totally visited in five different cities and hotels we stayed were Starwood Hotels. Based on our experience, we have following comments and score for those hotels that we stayed with: The Best - Le Parker Meridien New York (May 25 - May 27) The Very Good - Four Points By Sheraton West Side (May 19- May 22) The Average - The Westin Las Vegas (May 30 - June 1) The Worse - The Westin Washington DC Center (May 27 - May 29) The Worst - The Westin St. Francisco Union Square (May 22- May 25) We score Le Parker Meridine New York as the BEST because the hotel is truly accommodating and fully recognizing SPG Platinum Membership. The front desk (Michael) accepted our early check-in (8:00am),and upgrade us suite rooms (3708/3508),and the concierge guy helped with our bags up to room while introducing hotel information. The greeting letter enclosed with hotel info and restaurant menu in Chinese from the General Manager Sylvie Fayolle was indeed a delight to us, and the hotel specially provide a hot-water boiler kettle in room. The property is kind of old but the rooms are cozy enough without noise. Bathroom is kind of simple but shower water was nice. We also had a good dinning experience in NORMA's for the best breakfast of NYC, a difference to us. The hotel is in perfect location nearby the Central Parks and shopping areas,and we have access to everywhere conveniently. The Le Parker Meridien is definitely a place worth being back,and we score it the "BEST". The Four Points By Sheraton LA West Side in Culver City is also a VERY GOOD hotel to us. Upgrading rooms and SPG fully recognized. People are being welcomed. All staff there are friendly and attentive, offering information and assistance promptly such as transportation, taxi, site seeing, etc. Food at Cabo cafe is not sophisticating style but very delicious, and we enjoyed the omelet during breakfast made by the chef and pizza at dinner. The waiter and waitress at Cabo Cafe called my parents "Mommy and Daddy", giving us lots of fun. We did enjoy our four days staying there. I believe this Four Points is one of the best among FP peers, standard PF service but beyond. It will always be a good option when choosing hotel nearby LAX. The Westin Las Vegas is AVERAGE, nothing to complain and nothing to highlight. It was my third visit in this hotel. Suite room upgrade request was declined unfortunately this time despite I was able to apply it through SPG in advance. The room 1554 was kind of small and stuffy. Hotel staff here friendly and they help with information and getting taxi. The Suede Restaurant keeps almost the same, nice waiters with good service, and standard all day dinning choices. For Starwood hotel, we have less choice here in central Las Vegas. We score The Westin Washington DC Center the WORSE due to noise issue. We were arranged a suite-like corner room 219, and the room has a strong noise from outside. The desk and beds in the room were shaking all day and night due to the strong noise. It was too late for us to ask for a change for the first night, and my parents endured the second night as our visit was short and we were tired. I sincerely hope the hotel management to check the noise and room-shaking issue with room 219. Personally I do not think the room 219 is suitable for a guest room. I stayed in room 217 was OK and could have an outside view with less noise. Hotel staff are friendly,and breakfast are simple but acceptable. If visiting DC again, I will try a different hotel. The WORST hotel was The Westin St. Francisco Union Square during our entire visit. Our rooms 440 and 441 were totally in darkness and coldness, no views, no day lights, like a basement warehouse. It seems the front desk dislikes SPG Platinum for any room request, and I felt kind of pushed when checking in. The room 441 has no Wifi. The room 440, shower water was not hot enough. The food offered in Oak Room Restaurant was kind of over-priced if looking at the buffet breakfast, and service was kind of slow due to less staff. Fortunately San Francisco is really fantastic place, good sunshine, breeze, seaview, Chinatown for authentic Chinese food. Everything is perfect when outside the hotel, and we did enjoy our visit in the city. The Westin St. Francisco Union Square has a wonderful location, but for my next visit I still want to try a different hotel as I did not like being pushed. The only thing we like about the Westin hotel was the lobby bar for coffee and snacks and good attitude in service, and house keeping staff are friendly. If one asks me about the SPG hotel in US, I would probably say the Westins is not like what it is said to be, and Four Points by Sheraton can be a good budget choice. Le Parker Meridien New York is a place worthy to visit, consistent service and something unique. June 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL IS AMAZING INCLUDING STAFF!!! I had the best experience! June 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyed your hotel except for . . . . the thin walls of the hotel room. I had to listen to a Japanese guest on his phone until 3 a.m. one night. Finally had to bang on the wall to get him to be quiet. One night I had to listen to another guest's tv shows for almost 3 hours. You'll hear everything going on in any room right next to yours. If there were any groups of people laughing & talking in the atrium, I could hear them all up on the 12th floor. Very frustrating. Didn't sleep well the entire time I was there because of this. Two mentions: Donna in the restaurant downstairs was an absolute delight. Remembered my name and was so easy to chat with. Keep her! And Barbara who took my breakfast room service order every morning had the most warm gracious manners. I actually felt like I knew her by my 5th morning. Those 2 women are invaluable to your customer service pursuit. June 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very similar to a root canal I am currently sitting in my room in this hotel on the third night of a stay that has been a nightmare I can best analogize to a root canal. The hotel is conducting some sort of exterior and interior renovation that involves a lot of extremely loud, intermittent drilling throughout the day, beginning early in the morning. It feels like it is going on inside my room, although Service Express assures me that in fact it is outside my window; I also see construction workers in neighboring rooms and someone has repeatedly been knocking on my door to deal with something or other in my specific room, and then apologizing, apparently surprised that a guest is staying here. Whosever idea it was to begin the drilling well before 9am, even on a Saturday, and continue throughout the day, obviously was not aware that some people would actually plan to try to _stay_ in this hotel during this time, in search of quiet and a bit of sleep (which I have not gotten), nor that some of us would need to use our rooms as a place to work during part of the day on some days. The bottom line is that this renovation is extremely extensive and loud. I would not complain about some modest noise here and there. If this noise and disruption could not be avoided or made any quieter, this hotel should have temporarily shut down -- either the whole property, or at least the floor that I am on, for all the days I have attempted, unsuccessfully, to sleep here. Do not stay at this hotel without inquiring about the exterior and/or interior renovation work and whether it is finally over. June 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by quiet for sleeping, very beautiful rooms and hotel Excellent place for conference and the rooms are like a luxury hotel. June 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Check - In ever !! This place is not eligible for staying. We were driving from New York so it got a little late. We arrived here at the hotel around 12:30 A.M. and were in a hurry to get into a room. It took more than 15 minutes to process the room. When we entered the room, to our surprise, it was occupied with a coffee cup on the desk and an unkempt bed. Finally everything was settled after AN HOUR! THANK YOU!! and guess what? House Keeping knocks the door at 7:00 A.M. in the morning. I mean, why would you need room cleaning at 7 in the morning and on top of that, you simply barge in after knocking. Completely unacceptable!! May 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs better customer service. Arrived and given a room and the air conditioning wasn't working properly, couldn't move us hotel was full, next day moved to a small room but better air con., front desk is overloaded and can't get there act together. No doorman on duty when we arrived, no bellboy also, car jockey helped us get a cart, garage staff banged up my driver-side door, finally after much debate I Ace parking will pay for the damages.. This was our second stay and second year in a row we stayed here, seems to me that something always happens at this hotel. We like to stay here for the Blossom festival on our way back to Home in Canada. Sincerely, Raymond Grant May 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service was excellent I was impressed with check in. The excellent check in person allowed us to check in early and was able to find a room to extend my stay by one day. That was great! May 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by MD not prepared for the conference May 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average Not the Westin experience we've come to expect. May 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wash. DC hotel - near to everything I would like to see the hotel add a separate restaurant and bar. The only one they had was in the "lobby" area. May 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Everything was great till checkout The stay was great. Room looked great. There was still some work being done on the outside of the building. After checkout I was emailed my bill and there was a charge for overnight parking. The person sharing the room with me paid for the parking, but it was never removed from the bill. Over the last two weeks I have tried to get it fixed including faxing the receipt. There has been no follow-up. So I am stuck with a 50 dollar charge. If you stay here make sure to confirm all charges before you leave otherwise it may never be updated. May 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK STAY Remodel was loud, staff not the friendliest but he location is great. May 19, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by WILL SOMEONE PLEASE RESPOND!~ I would love to leave a good review, however there's a problem with my bill and after repeated attempts to contact your hotel, I have been ignored. I will file a formal complaint if this is not resolved quickly. May 19, 2014
  • 2015-05-02T20:06:35.193-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_526, tr_526
  • loc_en_US, sid_1761, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 19 next>>