The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 821 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! I really enjoyed this hotel. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by gums Room was very well appointed. Bathroom lacked shower caps . Definitely continue to stay at westin July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff 10 Room 3 The staff was extraordinary--accommodating, quick to respond, and mosr helpful. The room, however,, a double standard with two beds, was not user-friendly. The only lighting(except for the entry and bathroom) were two lamps of about 40 watts brightness. the one between the beds did not accommodate reading in bed. The coffeemaker was sitiated as far away from the source of water as possible. There was no towel rack of any kind in the bathroom--nowhere to drape a pair of hose to dry. Towels had to lay on the counter. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location We stayed in the Bienville suite, on the top floor, which was superb. We had the best view in town of the Mississippi River. My son would watch the ships come in over and over. Housekeeping was inconsistent and supplies weren't always replenished. One day they missed us completely and we had to call the front desk at 9pm. Room service was also inconsistent. The first day we were served obviously moldy berries on our fruit plate. I took pictures and showed the manager who dealt with the issue swiftly. Overall it's a very nice hotel, but kitchen and housekeeping staff could use some training. July 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stay at Westin on Canal This particular Westin is mostly similar to the Westins I've stay in the past. The upside to this hotel is that is conveniently located at the corner of the French quarter and on Canal street. If you want to be within walking distance of the craziness but don't want to be at the center of it. This is the place to be. The hotel itself is general clean and tidy. The only downside to this hotel is you have to take the elevator to the 11th floor for registration, then take a separate elevator to your room. Getting in and out of the hotel takes 2 separate elevators, which is not the most convenient if you are trying to rush to work in the morning. March 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad aexpierence Upon arrival the receptionist had a bad attitude. I had made a statement that I was unaware the room floors did not begin until the 14th floor and I have a issue with heights-she became sarcastic and made the statement " Well I guess you want the lowest floor! Also she did not inform me that the Internet service would be free because the conference was taking care of it-more importantly I took pictures of my sheets because they had holes in them. The cleaning crew cleaned the room and placed the same holly sheets back on the bed. This was the worst stay I have ever had in a hotel. I don't know if I would every want to stay in a Westin again. July 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need training The staff appeared to be very untrained. I was checking out and Carla informed me that I had comp nights (3). I asked her multiple times about this. Upon reviewing my bill further after I left the hotel, I noticed that it did not match what I was told at the hotel. So I called back and they only ended up comp my stay for 2 of the 4 nights. When I checked in at 10 or 11am, we left our bags with the Bellman. Upon our return, our room was still not ready at 5pm. Plus they lost our bags. March 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Excellent Stay at This Lovely Hotel I have stayed at this property 10-12 times but never took the time to write a review. My stays have been uniformly wonderful. I love the greetings from the staff, the location of this hotel near the casino/french quarter/convention center/warehouse district/aquarium, the lovely views from the rooms, and even the very good quality food from room service (though I feel guilty not eating out in a food town like NOLA). The lobby has undergone a nice renovation and the rooftop pool is always a hit with my family. In summary, this is my favorite hotel in New Orleans and I look forward to my stay here 2-3 times every year. April 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is excellent. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived until we left. The lobby was refreshingly cool while gazing out the window watching the river was relaxing. The rooms are nice and spacious with exceptional linens. The location is excellent for shopping, visiting the casino, walking along the riverfront, attending St. Louis Cathedral, walking to Jackson Square and the French market just to name a few places. I will stay at the Westin next time I visit New Orleans. June 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great views of the Mississippi The hotel is ideally situated close enough to the French Quarter while not being too close. The views from the lobby and from your room (should you choose) are spectacular. Our room was spacious and clean, the beds a bit firmer than we would have liked. They need to get rid of the dirty carpets in the elevators, as well as the stained cushions for the lounges by the pool. The pool is smaller than it appears in the web photo, and the water is cold. All the staff were terrific. May 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by The concierge and staff were wonderful. The hotel is so tired. It does not refect you on line photos. I stayed here for the beautiful pool which in reality was awful. I thought I was lost in a dirty unmarked stairwell trying to find it. The out door terrace allso in no way resembles the photos. The lobby is stunning until you go to sit and the furniture is stained and threadbare. There was garbage in the elevator. My iron was broken, no soap, no robe and they delivered one with several large frayed holes. October 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs to have more staffs Our room was delayed to be made up and housekeeping left no towels for 2 days during our 4 day-stay. It took 40 minutes for valet to bring our car which made us very late to our reservation. When we left we had to pack our luggages from your trolley into the car without any help or acknowledgement from staffs even when we drove off. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by IBM's Comments on the Westin Canal Place This hotel was an excellent choice for our recent meeting We have our attendees fill out surveys for us after the meetings, and many of them took the time to comment on how great the hotel was. Food was excellent, locale was amazing, service within the hotel great..... and I never asked for anything that I didn't get right away! Thank you!! May 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by I liked it with some pros & cons The view of French quarter from the lobby and our room was spectacular. People were nice and friendly. The roof pool was great scenery was fantastic during the dusk, but the pile of trashes and dirty towels around the pool spooled the greatness of the pool. The man's room at the pool was a nightmare: toilet was clogged, shower head was gone, and the sink was dirty. It was like a public restroom. The room was neat, the bed was very comfortable. But you need to order a refrigerator for $25 to store your own foods. The hotel was right above a shopping mall with IMAX theater and Starbucks. May 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by needs refurbishing This hotel needs some help..the light fixtures are all on extenssion cords with on offf in difficult hand locations...the in room dining menue is a pile of photocopies, there is no mini-bar and a wine bucket sits on an empty fridge in the corner... not up to westin standards March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Our experience was excellent. The people planning the conference on the hotel end took great care of us, the catering people were friendly and efficient and I found this to be one of the nicest hotels in the New Orleans area. The only issue I had (and so did MANY other people I was at the meeting with) is that our room keys would de-activate multiple times a day. When this happened if I called down from the 22nd floor to the front desk they immediately sent someone up to get us in the room making it only a very small nuisance. There was also some bubbling of the pain near the shower which was cosmetically unattractive. November 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great overall, but needs a couple of tweaks Our suite was really spacious and the A/C worked great (a must in New Orleans during the summer) and had outstanding views. Unfortunately, the elevators were not air conditioned and were very stuffy. This was an issue with a room near the top floor (long, hot rides). The service and food in the Green Bar were excellent, but the room service took 55 minutes for a mediocre breakfast as opposed to the stated 30 minutes - disappointing compared to all other aspects of the hotel/ July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location with Friendly Staff Hotel is old but from what I saw of it was well kept & clean. Only problem for me was the Extremely Long Very Soft Pillows! Nice size room & bath w/ good amount of countertop. I have stayed at this location before & have to say I prefer the River View over City View but both rooms were nice size & clean. Bathroom wall could use some cosmetic repair but was clean. Felt Very Safe. . Location is perfect!! Friendly Professional Registration Staff!! July 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not What I Expected Upon arrival, everything seemed great. Check in was easy, our room had a great view of the river, and the room looked nice. Then, went to take a shower...the bathroom hadn't been cleaned and there was a huge clump of hair on the show wall. I had to request a shower cap multiple times before receiving one, and the staff told us we were not allowed to use the stairs. We were there during a convention, so the elevators were jam packed and we wanted to use the stairs, but any time we tried, the staff made us return to the elevators. I was not impressed by the service from the hotel staff. The hotel itself was lovely, but I've gotten much better service at cheaper hotels. July 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel I thought the hotel was aesthetically charming. The staff were very accommodating and it was nice that I was able to check in when I arrived even though it was 9 am. Keep up the good work. March 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Recent stay This hotel has a great location but is an old, tired facility. Westin tries to put their touch on it but the basic structure is not great. Chair in or room was filthy and nasty, can't believe it had not been change, TV had poor reception, elevators were slow, woke up one morning to fecies on the neighbor's door December 5, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Stay Enjoyed another visit. This hotel still continues to meet all our needs. Excellent Professional Service from Supervisor James and the help from Kenny J. For finding us the perfect room with a great view. Work is in motion for even more accommodations. Looking forward to that. I highly recommend this Hotel. June 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff is very friendly and that's all they have to work with The hotel is very old, the elevators are scary and the rooms are not that clean. The lobby view is amazing and the pool is nice to have, but there should be a hot tub as well. I have stayed at all of the starwood hotels in New Orleans, and as far as around the French Quarter, I would pick this one last! November 30, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location The lobby and restaurant got an amazing view, rooms also enjoyed a perfect view of the French Quarters. Parking is so easy and convenient, a large mall below the hotel also nice! Front desk and concierge are very friendly. Nice restaurants recommended by the concierge! It's a great stay overall! October 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Spent five nights wrapped around Mardi Gras. Great location, close to everything but not in the middle. Staff was efficient and very pleasant. March 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Provided upgrade The staff put us in the Bienville Suite as it was our honeymoon, at the same price as the regular suites. It was an awesome suite, not to mention champagne and chocolate strawberries waiting as we arrived. The stay was so nice overall, we can't wait to stay at The Westin again. April 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by hotel need improvements We had one chair in our room, and it was dirty. Did not have a refrigerator in room to keep water and wine cool. Had a box there but could not open it Loved your double shower head. The floors were dirty in room and hall. With these improvements, I would recommend your hotel. We had breakfast in the lobby Restaurant. Food was not prepared well and cold when received. July 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Hotel NOLA Very nice property, currently going under renovation. There is a BIG difference between old and new, make sure you request new room. However, the new rooms/elevators are in top shape and definitely recommend this hotel. Also, location was excellent. May 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Water flow, problems flushing, running toilets We were in two different rooms and both had toilet flush problems with one having constant running toilet. Wall outlet did not work in bathroom. Hand towels and facecloths not replenished daily. Food at cocktail reception was very overcooked and dry. Mattress, sleep comfort was exceptional. Surprised with problems as this has not been my experience with other Westin hotels. Problems were reported. July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by spectacular views! Our favorite New Orleans Hotel We always love to spend time at the Westin Canal Place, it is our favorite hotel in the French Quarter. the views of the French Quarter & the Mighty Mississippi River are Spectacular. The hotel is wonderfully located in the heart of everything. April 15, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 29 next>>