The Westin Colonnade, Coral Gables

  • 180 Aragon Avenue
  • Coral Gables,
  • Florida
  • 33134
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older with valid identification to check in.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 179 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Speechless There are no words to describe that stay I had at this hotel. It ended with me checking out at 1:30am in the morning extremely upset and driving 40 minutes to the Ft. Lauderdale Westin Beach Resort. First the room layout is not conducive for a quiet stay. The beds are located next the wall adjacent to the hallway where doors are closing and people are walking and talking. The walls are thin. The people next to me were so loud that I had to call the front desk which promised to look into the issue but failed to respond. There were a number of drunk partying people coming down the hallways and slamming doors. If this wasn't bad enough, at 1:00am someone put their key into my door and opened the door to my room. Absolutely horrified, I jumped up to see what was going on. It was another couple checking into my room. The front desk had apparently checked someone else into my room. I was histerical at this point and called the front desk to let them know that I had had enough was was checking out. So in the middle of the night I had to pack my back and find another hotel....all while being extremely upset, exhausted, and fearful. What a horrible stay. The manager did ultimately call the next day after sending an email apologizing...where I responded that an email apology was unacceptable and that I deserved a phone call. This sounds like something out of a move....but unfortunately it was my real life. Can you imagine you wife or daughter in a hotel alone and someone else checks into their room....how would you feel? November 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall a good, long stay I stayed at the Westin Collonade for 2 weeks, and overall it was a good stay. The staff was very accomodating. I was originally put in a room with doors opening onto the pool, which was not my preference. I let the front desk know and they immediately moved me to a different room with graciousness and apologies (which were not needed, but I appreciate the customer service.) The room service staff were all great, including Julio who brings the food - very warm and kind. The room service prices were also reasonable, which was a nice break from other Starwoods I've been to recently. The only customer service thing that annoyed me a bit was calling the Customer Service line on my room phone and usually hearing the greeting "Hello, Mr. (name)..." I am not a Mr. I am a Ms. Please don't assume that only men are reserving your hotel rooms. The staff should consider saying "Hello, Mr. or Ms. (name)" or perhaps "Hello, how can I help you?" The facilities could use some sprucing up for the cost of this hotel. The carpet in the hallways are particularly rundown and stained. The rooms however are descent and comfortable. I liked the jacuzzi and pool a lot, though when I first arrived the jacuzzi was luke warm. I was a little bummed since I was already down there in my bathing suit, but as soon as I let the staff know, they got on it immediately and it remained perfectly hot for the remainder of my long stay. Finally, getting to check-in is a bit confusing and the signage is awful. The valet staff will mumble very fast directions to getting to the check-in desk, but once inside, you'll wish you had listened closer. You must go up an escalator that does not say "check-in this way" or anything helpful like that, turn a left, and walk about 30 yards. Over the course of my stay, I watched countless arriving guests wander around until finally figuring it out or having me point them in the right direction. Still, the issues were minor and I would recommend this hotel. Great area, great staff, and descent accomodations. Common areas - particularly hallways - need cleaning or carpet replacement. May 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unique Experiences I was a guest at the Westin Colonnade Coral Gables for 2 nights, received my room key card for my room which I learned was the furthest room from the elevator on the floor. I ended up carrying all my luggage to try and open the door to find the key card or the door lock wasn’t allowing me access into the room. I had to walk all the way back to the elevator with all my luggage down to the main lobby. The front desk receptionist apologized and stating the keys work it must be the door lock and said she would give me an upgraded room for my troubles. I was assigned another room (which wasn’t an upgraded room, just closer to the elevator) to find I wasn’t the only guest in the room. I found a cockroach in the bathroom (I would have attached the picture of the guest who wasn’t paying but there isn't an option for it on this site). I was disgusted and didn’t want to stay in the room with a cockroach and informed the front desk of the matter. I had to gather my belongings and proceeded back to the main lobby AGAIN to receive yet another room assignment. I was assigned another room again. I left my room the next day and to return to find the door was left open! I was apprehensive to enter the room and didn’t know if anyone was hiding in the bathroom or the closet. I didn’t feel safe at all. I proceeded to check the closet and the bathroom to find no one. Luckily none of my work equipment or personal belongings were missing. There was an awful smell in the room of rotten food emanating from the refrigerator that was delivered. If I wasn’t so tired I would have requested a room change again but dealt with it by opening the windows. I called the front desk manager, and advised him of my door being left open. He stated my experience was a unique one and this never happens. It was nice that he compensated me with a room night but I don’t understand how this could happen at all! Instead of feeling like I was at a superior hotel I felt as if I was staying at a dirty cheap motel. Although the front desk staff and management were very quick to recover from the inconveniences of my stay, my stay at this hotel was by no means convenient and did not make me feel safe and did not meet my expectations of a Westin Hotel. I sent an email to the Manager Mike Wurster to get at least an apology. Haven't heard back and I don't foresee him writing back. February 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy Room We were given a room (207) next to the elevator which was so noisy that it kept us awake most of the night. This was the worst nights sleep that I have ever had at a Starwood hotel. I asked staff for another room but was told that the hotel was full and none were available. This was a very disappointing experience to the extent that I feel I have wasted the rewards points that I used to book the hotel. This hotel needs to address the soundproofing of the room or upgrade the machinery of the elevators. I would not recommend this hotel. January 6, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Wedding Experience at the Colonnade My sister decided to have her wedding at the Westin Colonnade in Coral Gables a few weeks ago. The location is absolutely fantastic and the hotel is beautiful.I stayed at the hotel for 3 days. For such a popular hotel I was very displeased with my experience. My sister and her fiance spent thousands of dollars to hold their wedding at the hotel. Our Family and friends stayed as guests for the duration of the wedding celebrations as well. When I arrived to my room, the room looked clean but Smelled terrible. I didn't complain because I figured the smell would go away, but it did not. My mother and father, who like myself live in Miami, also rented a hotel room. Unlike myself though, they rented it for one night with the sheer purpose of having a place to leave their belongings. At around 12:30 am my mother wanted to take things up to the room and asked the front desk for help. The gentleman said there was no one to help her and didn't even attempt to think of a solution. My mother went to the front of the hotel, grabbed a luggage cart herself, and carried everything to the room. More than once we had the cleaning lady barge into the room when we were still in the room getting changed. The best was when my sister was changing from her Wedding dress and a gentleman just let himself into the room. Lucky for us she was staying in a two story room and we were upstairs so he didn't see her naked. When the day to leave came around, I called room service to see if someone could help me with our bags and a woman said she would transfer me. I got transferred to the kitchen. I got re-directed to the same woman who then hung up on me. I called again and she transferred me...yet again...to a gentleman. He told me he would call me right back. 1 hour later I finally decided to carry everything down myself. On top of all this, when it came time to pay for my bill, I realized I got overcharged. One of the over charges was for parking. My friend had parked her car for 1 night and paid in cash at the front. She told this to the front desk. He called the woman who was in charge of Valet and the two of them decided to continue arguing with us stating they had no "records" of my friend paying for valet because she paid cash up front. Instead of taking the customers work, we had to pay another $24 dollars for 1 day of parking. You would think that after the sum of money the hotel gained from the event $24 dollars wouldn't make that big of a difference. I've stayed at hotels all over the world and have never seen so many things go wrong during such a small time span. I found better customer service in Hostels. I understand misunderstandings happen, but this was a terrible experience. The customer service is absolutely poor. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. January 31, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs remodeling Hotel property very "tired" looking. January 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. I was in Miami to spend Thanksgiving with my family. Normally I stay with them, however this year I needed to stay at a hotel. I chose the Colonnade as I am an SPG Gold member. What started as a simple hotel stay turned into a vacation getaway for my husband, our dog and I. The staff was attentive and always greeted us and my dog by name. He was treated as a star. At check in the staff decided to give me both the bonus points and free wifi, after I had to choose wifi due to having to work. Great recognition. I also want to recognize the valet service. Espcially Thomas. He and the others always tried to anticipate our needs and helped me with my pug making sure he was accommodated in our car. December 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice location, but needs updating We stayed at this property prior to a cruise. The lobby is lovely, but the rooms leave much to be desired. The upholstery and floor were stained and the walls are too thin. The window shade was stuck in the down position, limiting the ability to use the balcony. We ordered drinks at the pool and the service level left much to be desired. The staff did an adequate job of compensating for these deficiencies. The primary reason I'd recommend this hotel is due to the limited options for this location, January 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by overall good, but a few minor snafus Upgraded to Executive Suite which is a big room. Not a big sitting area - just a big room. Front desk, bell staff were great. Asked for turndown service and was surprised when we came back to room that nothing had been done They sent the maid to the wrong room. Used Platinum amenity for breakfast and then got a call that we had ordered off the wrong menu. No one said there was another menu and we asked about it at the desk at checkin and later when we asked for a card to hang on door. Great location, but minor problems made it less than ideal. Convenient to airport December 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room Stay We reserved 3 rooms for our one night stay. We are locals and had a wedding nearby and therefore decided that it was better if we stayed close to the reception. We arrived at 2:00am exhausted and in need of a shower and one of our rooms(older couple) did not have any cold water. Our room was pleasant until the housekeeping staff tried to open our door 4 times at 8:30am. Our room lock was broken(which we reported upon departure) and so was our "Do Not Disturb" sign therefore we were not able to advise that we were still sleeping. We also had to go out and tell the housekeeping staff to please stop yelling to each other. June 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel is run down Two primary complaints: 1. Hotel is freezing. The staff at the front desk had to wear winter coats. 2. Furniture in rooms is old and faded and does not appear to be clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. January 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel & Staff As Platinum for Life member, I realize there are many components that comprise an "excellent stay". Whenever I visit the Miami area, I always choose to stay at the Westin Colonnade because of the uniqueness of the hotel, the location, the surrounding area, but mainly because of the service staff. Congratulations to the General Manager for overseeing such a professional and accommodating staff; with special thanks to the Front desk staff and "Pedro" at the front desk, who always goes the extra mile to ensure every special need is taken care of. Thank you for another excellent and memorable stay! March 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK visit I stay two days at the Westin for a combination of plessure and business trip. Best part of this hotel is the location. Is right next to Coral Gables Miracle Mile, with walking distance to every kind of restaurants and bars. The hotel is located in a renovated old building and the rooms gives you the feeling of old. They are clean and comfortable. my biggest dissapointment is parking. $24.00 a night, and valet only, which means everytime I checked my car in and out I had to pay an extra $4.00 in tips, adding to my parking bill. I want to add that the pool area is the best part of this hotel. June 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room for improvement This hotel has an excelent location and the property itself is beautiful (yet it could use some remodeling). The cleanliness was lacking. I did not have my room cleaned 2 days in a row. One day I left and removed the DND sing at 10 am and another at 11 am, and did not return till 10 or 12 at night, to find the room the same. Upon contacting front desk they sent house services who claimed we had put up the Make a Green choice, which was not true ( and really in the service industry and a company of excellence as Starwood, the last thing you want to do is argue with th client). I also noticed that a room close to mine left their room service food outside at 12am and it was still there at 12.30 pm. July 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff is super friendly. We enjoyed our stay very much. The concierge Joaquin Pastora and Cynthia from the front desk were the best hosts. They made sure we were comfortable and help us with all our need and reservations for the restaurants. Specially during the Holydays when sometimes the restaurants were crowded .They went out the extra miles to please us. The whole staff at The Colonnade made us feel home. January 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by It was lovely except . . . This hotel is well situated and charming. The staff were more than wonderful and the restaurant, SushiSamba, is superb. My only complaint was that our room was right next to the elevator shaft and the noise generated every time one of the two elevators went up or down created an ambiance akin to sleeping in a subway station. It woke me up several times a night. When my daughter and I complained, the staff were willing to move us to another room 'much further away', but by then we were so busy with my daughter's graduation that there really was not time to totally repack and move. When my ex-husband arrived a couple of days after me, they tried to put him in the same room one floor up, but luckily I had warned him and he refused the room. I might recommend the hotel but would definitely warn against accepting such a room. December 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cosy Palace I had a great time staying at The Westin Colonade in Coral Gables. Everything we needed to have a pleasant stay was within walking distance. The staff was courteous and friendly. The room was big and comfortable. I was particularly impressed with the style of the lobby. November 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location The location of the hotel is great for a visit to the University of Miami....the only problem with the location is the size of the valet parking area at the entrance...staff did well to work under difficult conditions. January 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Room was a closet The room was so small, there was space for only one nightstand. We were tripping over each other. January 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 Great hotel, great location Loved the stay. Great staff. January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel staff Talk about staff wanting to go far and beyond with each request made! Thanks so much for making this trip not only enjoyable, but also comfortable. December 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beds - not so heavenly Bed mattress was badly stained. It obviously was urinated on and dried in. Covered up with a pad but when the sheets moved during the night the disgusting mess was exposed. I took photos to show the hotel staff. Granted, they were as shocked as we were and discounted a bit off the room rate, but bad housekeeping here. Cleanliness is a must. Had planned to stop off there often on the way to the Keys, but thinking twice now. Shame really! November 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not worth the money. I stayed at this establishment for a conference and was really excited as the photos on the website are absolutely gorgeous! For the cost of the stay the hotel wasn't what I expected. The staff were all pleasant but the building is old. You could hear people walking up and down the hallway at night as you laid in bed. The A/C couldn't keep up to a sustainable temperature. Parking fees were outrageous! The meeting rooms were small and needed updating. The overall stay was just ok, had hoped to be wowed! September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location We loved this hotel. Old but well maintained. Our room was a corner room behind the elevator shaft. Even though it was very noisy, we loved this room. It is nice to get the advance email regarding "your upcoming stay," it is frustrating to respond with questions and concerns and have no viable feedback. December 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An excellent choice in Coral Gables I have stayed here often and like the superb breakfast, excellent guest services and hospitality. The location cannot be improved upon, the ambiance is perfectly suited to the 1920's pseudo-Mediterranean that is CG. The downsides are small. Valet parking is fine but porters cannot bring your bags to your car or deliver them to your car. each time you have two porters, one valet parker and one hotel porter. Irritating, but that is the only material deficiency I find with this excellent property. November 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing I would not recommend this hotel. Please seee my comments below. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by JUST MARRIED AND JUST AMAZING This was a great experience, on our honeymoon and they met and exceeded every expectation. The staff was very kind and helpful, always ready to help us with anything. Excellent location, surrounded by great places to eat and and the hope on, hop off bus stop is at the hotel...!!! November 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by YES! Great Westin Hotel! I came in late after my flight was delayed. Wasn't totally clear about parking, so I parked in the lot next door. Hotel is very spacious. In a great part of Miami ( Coral Gables). The staff is very attentive, and even though I got in late (approx. 2AM), the front desk greeted me with a smile, which was really nice. Recognized me as a Gold Member ( I didn't need to say anything). Highly recommend that you wake up early and take a swim at the pool and watch the sunrise. February 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overnight Stay in Miami My adult daughter and I stayed one night while on route to the Westin Resort in the US Virgin Islands. The hotel staff were fabulous and the area provides for much shopping and wonderful choice of restaurants. It was farther from downtown and the beach strip than expected but only a short trip from the airport which was very convenient. We choice to dine at Morton's; which was on the property and enjoyed a wonderful meal and great service at the restaurant as well. January 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old World Miami My husband and I found this hotel to be a great choice for attending the Key Biscayne tennis tournament and touring some of Miami's sights. Don't miss Viszcaya just a few miles from the hotel. The concierge, front desk, and valet service were wonderful. The only negative we found was the fact the hallways were uncomfortably cold and rooms were not well sound-proofed. We were granted an upgrade to a small suite on a high floor which we found comfortable and clean. April 1, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>