The Westin Denarau Island Resort & Spa, Fiji

  • Denarau Island North,
  • P.O. Box 9081
  • Nadi,
  • Fidschi
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Hinweis: In diesem Hotel gelten Gäste bis zum Alter von 12 Jahren als Kinder. Bitte passen Sie ggf. die Anzahl an Erwachsenen und Kindern an.
Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Für Familien

Für maximal zwei Kinder bis 12 Jahre ist die Übernachtung in vorhandenen Betten kostenlos. Für Zusatzbetten, Kinderzusatzbetten und Kinderbetten können zusätzliche Gebühren anfallen. Es ist maximal ein Zusatzbett pro Zimmer erhältlich.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 155 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Old Hotel w/great views I arrived in Fiji on Sunday Dec 18th much later than anticipated and I was extremely happy that the hotel had arranged a taxi to meet me at the airport. I was a little surprised that the taxi was a beat up old Subaru, but the driver was extremely nice and the ride only cost $30 FJD. I was immediately struck by the poverty as we drove towards Denarau Island. The diver shared some of the history of the area with me and I learned that Denarau Island is a man-made island built to house four and five-star resorts, the marina and million dollar homes - quite a contrast to the scenery on the drive to the hotel. Unlike some places like Phuket, Thailand or other island resorts, once you get to Denarau Island, you’re completely isolated and sheltered from the poverty. Check-in & The Rooms Upon arriving at the hotel I was greeted and welcomed by the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. Before arrival, I requested a room with two beds or 1 bed with a sofa bed – since I’m a Starwood Preferred Guest (SPG) Platinum member I felt confident that they would be able to fulfill this request. I was quickly checked in and escorted by golf cart to my room. It was a beach front room, but as soon as I saw it, I realized that it only had 1 bed and no sofa. The bellman took me back to the front desk where I spoke with reception and they found me a new room with two beds. I also inquired about a room upgrade and was told nothing was available. When I got to the room, I noticed right away that the bathroom wasn’t clean. I called the front desk and they sent someone immediately to clean it. There was also no drinking water (which they usually provide to Platinum members) or other typical SPG amenities in this new room they moved me to. After speaking with the manager on duty he had water sent to my room and ensured that things would be taken care of that week. The following day, I inquired again about an upgrade and was told that there was a junior suite open that we could move into. We took him up on that. The suite had two rooms. A bedroom with king size bed, desk, chair and bathroom which had separate tub and shower (the non-suite room only had a tub) and a sitting room with a sofa (that could be used a bed) dining table and bathroom (tub and toilet – no sink though, which was very odd and also meant that the person sleeping out there had to come into the bedroom to use the sink. The suite was definitely much more spacious than the non-suite room and meets our needs much better. As many people have noted, the beach front rooms lack privacy as they face a main walkway, but the view is spectacular. I had also read that the air conditioning in the rooms is very loud – and that is quite true – but I got used to it pretty quickly and by the second night, it didn’t bother me. The air conditioner did create a pool of condensation on the floor – or whatever was under the unit (including my suitcase one day) due to the humidity and temperatures. The Hotel The hotel is old and in need of some refurbishments. The furnishings look very dated and everything could use some sprucing up. The hotel is currently undergoing renovations and they’d just completed work on the bathrooms at the pool when I was there. One of the great things about the hotel though, is that the rooms are very quiet. We never heard anything from our neighbors. The staff is friendly and welcoming. Everyone greets you with the traditional “Bula” which means life in Fijian. In fact, Tania at the front desk remembered me by name and said hello every day. While the people are friendly, service in Fiji is not what you’ll find in other parts of the world – everything runs on Fiji time (which can be great sometimes.) Don’t expect good or great customer service anywhere on the island. There are several shops at the hotel including a market (very overpriced), a few clothing stores (I didn’t venture in after seeing the prices at the market) and a duty free store. I checked out the prices at the Marina and compared them to the duty free store at the hotel, and they were the same. So I ended up purchasing some Pure Fiji products In addition to the stores, there are local craftsman who sell items like carved wood, jewelry, shells, grass baskets and purses, etc… (it’s important to note that many countries, including Australia and the US don’t allow you to bring back untreated wood or shells.) The prices seemed a little high for these “local” crafts, but they were beautiful and I wanted to support the locals The Pool The Westin pool is beautiful, but small and on very sunny days, the lounge chairs filled up fast. Most of the days I was at the hotel it was overcast and much easier to get a chair. You have to sign out pool towels and on busy days they limit the number of towels you can have – that’s a bummer. In fact, on Christmas Eve day they ran out of pool towels and it was over an hour before they had clean ones to give out again. That was the first really sunny day we had been there so it was disappointing to lose that hour of pool time. The beach is not so nice at the Westin, but that was fine with me as I prefer pools. As a guest of the Westin, you have full access to the other starwood property which is a short walk or bus ride away. The other one has a much larger and nicer pool and a bit nicer beach –this area doesn’t really seem like a great beach spot in general – I’m told you really should go to the islands to lounge on the beach. There is an ice cream stand at the Westin pool – which makes great milkshakes and they’re not terribly overpriced. There are also several shops that sell drinks, sunscreen, hats, etc…and they’re all very, very overpriced. You’d be much better off going to the marina and picking things up there. There is a small island across from the Westin and you can take a boat there from the hotel. I was warned by other guests we met not to eat from the vendor on the island. I guess they had a very bad experience eating there. Dining Options @Westin On the Westin’s website, they describe the dining options as a “seemingly unending selection of dining choices.” In reality, there are two restaurants at the Westin and 1 bar – Zing which serves breakfast and dinner and Moo Moo which serves lunch and dinner. You can order drinks and lunch from Moo Moo poolside as well. Zing was good, though the service was not what you’d expect from a restaurant at a resort like Westin. I enjoyed the chicken teriyaki stir-fry and had it twice in fact. The dim sum was fair, I wouldn’t order it again most likely. Overall, the two meals we had a Zing were good and the cost of the food was fair. The drinks and taxes are what make the meals expensive. If you eat at Zing around sun-down, you can watch the Fijian fire dancers, a torch lighting ceremony and other Fijian dancing. We went to Moo Moo a few times for lunch and we had the burger every time. It was one of the best burgers I’ve ever had. The Wagyu Beef burger was topped with beetroot and orange relish and came with truffle fries. It’s definitely worth a try! Spa The Westin Heavenly Spa is quite expensive – in fact, it’s the most expensive spa on the island (compared to other hotels and marina spas.) The Westin Spa is very relaxing and welcoming. We had pedicures and they were extremely luxurious and soothing. The spa uses Pure Fiji products and I loved them. The spa did offer 20% discount on massages booked for early morning or late night. At the spa, there was a lap pool and the Westin Workout Center. Westin Overall The Westin Denarau is old but the staff is very friendly and that makes up for a lot of what the rooms lack. The restaurants are good, the pool is calm and the spa is relaxing. Overall, I liked the Westin and if I was in Fiji again, would either stay at the Westin (I’d like to see what the rooms are like after the renovations are complete) April 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by An architecturally, beautifully designed resort. An architecturally, beautifully designed resort. Large open spaces, perfect for children to run around. Lovely pool area, child friendly, but also with individual plunge pools that create a more intimate pool setting - nice for couples. Depending on your holiday style, if you're wanting to relax, spend your days by the pool, enjoy lovely meals, and have a few sneaky cocktails, this is a lovely resort to do it at. Also walking distance to the local marina where you can sit along the boardwalk and look out to the luxurious yachts and cruisers. Helicopter rides are available if you would like a better view of the area. Lovely little area to walk around. There is a large inflatable water park that comes to life during the days - perfect for keeping the children occupied, but a bit of fun for the adults as well. Along side that is a golf driving range & mini putt putt. Otherwise, just going for a nice walk around the are... check out the modernised houses, the mansions on the water with their own jetty's and luxurious boats, take it all in. If you're too tired to walk back, a taxi from the marina will cost you approximately AUD$6 or AUD$7 otherwise you can jump on the open Bula Bus for an all day pass of AUD$8 (a great idea for families if you think you might go to and from a couple of times during the day). A wonderful area, nice to relax & close enough to the airport. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay We stayed at the resort between the 21st and 25th of March and what a stay it was. It’s a perfect getaway and the place is great. We loved the friendliness of the staff. The greeting when we arrived made us feel really welcome and was a nice way to start unwinding. The transfer from the airport to the hotel was easy and quick and the check-in at the hotel went very smooth. Our room was great and much bigger than I thought it would be which was a nice surprise. The view from the room was to die for and we just couldn’t get enough of it. We found everything we needed in the room and it was well equipped as one would expect. No minibar but it seems to be the norm these days however the fridge was working so one could use it if needed. A couple of small points with the room, the A/C was the loudest thing I have heard in a while and we have travelled a lot. However a couple of earplugs and that was sorted. Also the shower solution had a design flaw as water flowed from the bathtub edge freely onto the floor so it became a bit of a flood. Hard to explain but surely a design issue. The information stated we should have wireless access in the room but I could not pick up a network with the ipad, nor the phone. However there was a network cable supplied on the desk. The resort itself is beautiful. Especially the pool area where we spent most of our time. The views from the pool over the ocean are spectacular. It was clean and tidy and it was easy to get a spot and access to towels was a breeze. I’m not too impressed by the cleaning of the public toilets as the men’s ones were almost always rather unpleasant to visit. Not sure if the frequency of cleaning was not enough or what was going on but it was not clean. There are a couple of different places to eat and drink and the service around the pool is good. You can order drinks anywhere in the pool are and also in the pool. Here is one of my pain points though. As a tourist you look at the menu and its prices and order however do be aware that EVERYTHING has a 20% surcharge which is the local tax. This I think is something that they should put into the price already as its really irritating reading menus, drinks lists and anything else and then adding the 20% tax. Just add in it and be done with as the brain sees the cheap price and then you sign the bill and realize you forgot about the 20% which is stiff. Drinks quality are average, all the cocktails are big much without much alcohol as one would expect and the prices range between 19 to 23 fijian dollars plus 20% tax. I tried some classics such as a gin and tonic but it was awful as they didn’t seem to get it right and then I tried a dry martini a couple of times and they were not up to scratch. So it’s a vacation paradise but don’t expect the high end quality of drinks, wine by the bottle is also 20% but they have some stunning wines. However the wine by the glass I’d stay away from .. The food is outstanding. We tried fish, pasta and steak and all except the New York sirloin at the steak house was great. You should also have a look at the other two resorts beside this one as you have full access to their pools and restaurants. The chimes bar is excellent with its sun lunge beds. Also do try to grab a cab and go to the marina as everything is much cheaper and you get a taste for the local cuisine. March 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK but there are better We visited in October for a long weekend and then a group of 9 visited again in November for a week. I felt that our loyalty to the hotel and the SPG brand was not adequately recognised. There were some issues with rooms and the management sorted these out. Staff were friendly and did their best. We had four rooms in our booking but we could not accrue starwood points on all of them :( We will take this up with SPG. We were in the old unrenovated wing (although we specifically requested the new renovate wing for our November visit). There was jackhammering and building works during breakfast. We dined at hotels either side. November 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Holiday The Westin was very accommodating towards our needs. We got a free upgrade to an Ocean View Room which was perfect to wake up to every morning. The staff were lovely and helpful at all times. Even though we had a few issues with a few charges to our room, the lady at the front desk was happy to help and correct that as we were checking out. The massages were divine! So divine that we fell asleep we were so relaxed! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who would like a relaxing time in Fiji! April 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ripp Off Ripp off The Westin is a great hotel except its prices in particular the steak house are unreasonable and a rip off. Further to this the Australian manager is rude and arrogant. The Fijian staff are great and can't be faulted. The staff if the general store however are extremely rude and the fact you pay $13 Fijian for a packed of red rock chips is a disgrace. I don't mind paying fair and reasonable prices but not being priced gouged because I am staying in an island resort. I complained and asked to speak to the general manager who apparently was to busy with travel agents escorting them around to discuss my issues. May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding resort Most comfortable of our four visits to Fiji May 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Inmprovements required My husband and myself stayed for our 32nd wedding anniversary, it was stated on all our paper work and on checking in we also stated this as we where asked. To find that on the day the hotel could not even spare a bottle of sparkling or even a token card to congratulate us was a very poor performance. Also one day we had to ask for housekeeping as at 3.30pm they still had not arrived and again on our last day there it was again 3.30pm and they then arrived at about 3.45pm but we where getting ready to go out so told them not to bother. So you can see why I would not in good faith recommend this hotel to my friends. September 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by day stay we used the Westin for a day stay, after we had checked out of other hotel and we had a late flight. Great to have a room as it was raining- used very nice Westin gym, and had a great dinner at Steakhouse before we left. Only complaint, ground floor ocean view room - I think 2114- was pretty musty smelling, and TV ltd, no discovery/history etc on Sky. May 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience I attended a meetting organized by local Goverment. Preparedness, attitud, hospitality and profesionalism was excellent. May 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We keep coming back We have been to this hotel twice in the past 2 years and have just booked another week in December for New Years. The staff are all awesome. The staff remember us from year to year of our visits. Francis in the meke lounge goes above and beyond for service. Francis purchased Marshmellow from my 4 year old daughter as she asked for them everyday when we had our after dinner coffee and cake. Penni and Sai from the concierge area always wanted to go over and above with service. One night got off the Bula Bus with our daughter who had fallen asleep and they offered to drive us back to our room in a golf buggy. June 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Didn't want to go home We had the most amazing time at the Westin. The staff were amazing. They were professional, friendly and obliging. The motel was sensational. It was five star all the way. The breakfast each morning was nutritious and the variety was phenomenal. We dined each night at the Steakhouse, simply because the meals were amazing. The price was not excessive for the quality meals and service. We are going back again and again to the Westin. Our children aged 6 and 10 also didn't want to leave. Thank you so much to all the beautiful people in Fiji who made our first holiday there the most memorable and amazing time. April 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Denaru Our length of stay was 11 days and the resort is still being refurbished from cyclone damage last Christmas. SPG Denaru consists of three resorts and it was terrific to be able to move freely betwen all three. The staff are superbly trained and any request was met in a friendly and courtious manner. I would consider the level of service we received as outstanding. On arrival i discovered that my room did not have WIFi as advertised and is was no problem to relocate me to a wing that did have WIFi service. All restaurants across the Sheraton and Westin resorts were first class including the buffet breakfast. My wife and I have already discussed when we can return to the Westin Denaru April 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Relaxation Its a very harmonious and releaxed atomosphere. Great after a days work! May 7, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This Hotel has Friendly Staff We stayed recently at the Westin and we liked everything except for the beach access. All of the resorts have limited access to the ocean based on the way Denarua Island is made up. It would be much nicer if the ocean was the same as all of the remote smaller islands around the area. April 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a wonderful relaxing ambience We stay at the Fiji Westin every year and wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Nadi. We always find the staff to be absolutely welcoming and unbelievably friendly. Our room was very comfortable and the heavenly bed was exactly that! Our housekeeper Kini, was very thorough and accommodating. With service and people like that it is no wonder we come back year after year. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has the best pool complex on the Denarau Coast Situated nicely between the coast and the gold course, the Westin Resort and Spa provides excellent facilities for leisure, treatment and sporting endeavours. A superb workout gym and lap pool for those wanting to mix fitness with pleasure, complimented by the best guest pool complex on the coast - we have tried them all! An abundance of restaurants and casual eating facilities to cater for any taste bud, and if you want true relaxation for your special lady you will have to book in for a massage/manicure/facial - your partner will love you for it! The rooms are perfect for those who want extremely comfortable beds with clean & modern bathroom facilities - when you aren't out enjoying the hot Fiji weather. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great trip and Platinum recognition Had a great 7 night stay at the Westin Fiji. Whilst we experienced a few issues with our booking leading up to the stay, the hotel and its manager ensured we had a fantastic stay with superb service. SPG Platinum recognition was very good with upgraded room and the usual benefits (breakfast, internet etc). Sparkling wine with breakfast is a nice touch offered by the property. Good quality restaurants across the Starwood properties. The Fijian staff are incredibly warm (as are all the Fijian people we encountered throughout our holiday). Great for families. Can't wait to return. September 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best on the island Staff made our stay great, it would be nice to have more light in the eooms as they are quite dark also a pillow menu is required as the staff could not understand the request for firm/foam pillow and the down pillows do not offer support. Beds are lovely, restraints nice ROTC. Overall would rate high. August 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good times at Westin, Denarau Island, Fiji We spent a week at this resort and found it had everything we could want for a relaxing holiday. The pool area was lovely, the staff members were fantastic and the grounds were beautifully kept. April 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a 5 star hotel Rooms not 5 star - hotel needs maintenance on rooms and walkways. Took 4 hours for management to come and investigate complaints another hour after 3 phone calls to duty manager to achieve room move - room provided not the same room as booked. Move due to air conditioning and t.v. malfunctions. Pool spas not working and electrical power controls taped with electrical tape and faulty. Piece of broken sandstone located in pool handed to management no follow up. Pool level down by over a foot no filters working. Only thing going for hotel was staff friendliness and locations. May 14, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff The resort is looking a little dated. April 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by As expected for a 5 star resort Overall experience is excellent. The facilities are all very good except once no water half way of my shower. But staff tried to fix it ASAP. I suppose Fiji people are just genuinely so nice, which makes the stay very pleasant and welcome. It's the people makes us feel the whole stay is a joy. One thing to mention is that the fence on the second story is not safe. It's just like a showcase but no protection. Not just my room but looking around they r all the same. And my door is almost falling down coz one hinge is falling off. I can't be bothered to say anything. Just for the sake of children in the future, the fence should be fixed properly. After all, I enjoyed my Fiji holiday thoroughly. And Westin is part of it! August 14, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Overcharged Credit card The Westin debited my credit card twice for the same booking. Despite my numberous e mails commencing January 2012, the Westin has still failed (as at 12 April 2012) to refund the wrongly dedited sum which is over fiji $3,000.00. This is extremely poor and I will not trust the Westin with my card number again. I think their accounting is extremely poor and makes mickey mouse look astute. I have posted the cronology on trip advisor. Westin's failure to address this matter is rapidly leading me to believe there may be more to it such as a solvency issue. I started with polite e mails in the naive belief the matter would be rapidly resolved. Now as you will be observing politness has proved ineffective so is now obsolete. April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent food, staff & activities We are so pleased to review the Westin at Denarau Is. The staff made us welcome and feel very special from when we arrived to the drum roll through to our departure 5 days later. Assistance for our enquiries and their insight to activities was so helpful and honest. Your staff are your best asset, ensure you look after them. The food at the restaurants, bakery and partner hotels was sensational, not one selection was below par. Golf at the club was good, water sports easy to arrange and staff helpful and always friendly. We are definitely coming back in the future. March 16, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by A bit dissapointing Room was garden view. Arrived to find no towels at pool, rude service, made us get towels from our room hotel. Brought meal voucher prior to arrival, which was confirmed on check in, but no record at resturant, made us go back to room and find it, all on my wifes 40th Birthday dinner. very unhelpful and rude. dirty fork on table for dinner. Walls paper thin, couldnt sleep with neighbours noise, staff reluctant to put bus tickets on room, preferred cash all the time, the staff where the biggest dissapointment, appart from one on reception they we all very non engaging and did not make you feel that welcome. It was a big and expensive trip for us and we left very dissapointed. Issues aired, but no one seemed that bothered. May 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great vista Great welcome and room available just after lunch which is always helpful when you have 2 young kids. Staff were very friendly and made life easy. The pick of the 3 Starwood hotels in my opinion in Denarau. Had a ground floor ocean view room which was big and spacious for the 4 of us and allowed kids to run outside while sitting reading on the patio and short walk to pool. Only complaint was the room didn't have curtains only shutters so room was never completely dark in the morning. Would be back in a heartbeat, only the weather let us down as rained 2/4 days. September 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice but not amazing The resort its self is lovely however many issues with staff handling requests on reception they weren't helpful and accommodating like many other resorts around the world which you would expect. For example we were staying with friends and I called in advance to ask if the rooms could be close by, when we checked in the rooms were as far away as possible (one village 1 and the other village 6- out of 6 villages). We were told they would look to move us closer on our second night and this was never done which was very disappointing. Also from the two rooms I was in each had minor finishing issues with the bathrooms, one the water temperature didn't work, the other there was no shelf and the shower was very small and cramped. August 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent accomodation We will be recommending this resort to our friends met all expectations and more friendly service all round.+++++++ December 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rooms and Facilities The newly renovated rooms are fantastic, and the included buffet breakfast is superb. Overall this resort has great facilities including a very good gym. We have been to a number of similar resorts in the islands of the south Pacific, and this one has all the features we look for and is well priced in comparison to the others we have stayed at. The only issue for us is the price of the restaurants at the resort. We have our meals outside the resort, and do so at other resorts as well, as we find all resorts overprice their onsite venues. I am sure the quality of the food is very good, but the prices are way too high to use on a regular basis, and thus we can't comment on the meals there. Overall a great experience, and we will definitely return to the Westin when we go back to Fiji. November 24, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>