The Westin Jersey City Newport

  • 479 Washington Boulevard
  • Jersey City,
  • New Jersey
  • 07310
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 422 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent alternative Overall, not a bad option if you need to be in lower manhattan. The path train is a 3 minute walk from the hotel and a 15 minute ride to the city. July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location but... The absence of in-room mini-bars and vending machines compels guests to order even small items (e.g., water, sodas, snacks) from room service after hours July 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth it As a platinum member - i wasted my award night reward on this hotel. There is no lounge in this hotel. Breakfast is limited to a dollar amount - which was not made clear while the front desk handed over the breakfast voucher. I would not recommend or stay here again unless this is the last option. July 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shower wasn't working The shower wasn't working. I had to get on my knees under the faucet to wash my hair. I had a job interview so I didn't have time to contact the front desk to get another room to be able to take a shower. June 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel met my requirements This hotel met my requirements in terms of location, comfort and cleanliness for a 6 day business stay in the region. Being able to walk to work in Hoboken was a bonus with the sunshine and lovely riverside walk which starts close to the hotel, with stunning views of Manhattan. Only downside was the fact that the rooms weren't ready on arrival at 2pm, but that aside a hotel experience I'd recommend. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for business travel comfort This was a great experience. June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel location & very clean I was very impressed with the facilities. I appreciated the staff's friendliness and how helpful they were. We ate at the restaurant and food was great. June 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Before departing from home in Washington, DC, I called to let the Westin know that I would be arriving very late. Unfortunately, when I arrived, my room preference of a king sized bed had already been given out. Therefore, I was given an accessible room with two full sized beds on the third floor. I was awakened at 7am to the sounds of a jackhammer as there was road construction going on. I went to the front desk and spoke with Ms. Justine and requested another room on a higher floor with a king sized bed. With a few clicks of the mouse, my room was changed to my preference. Ms. Justine was so friendly and helpful as was the manager of the facility, Ms. Vlera. I would highly recommend this hotel for the outstanding customer service to the quality of the rooms. June 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful experience NIce, clean, friendly staff, excellent wedding setup June 16, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst hotel check in service ever. We were part of a wedding block of rooms. They screwed up everyone's reservations. Gave us wrong rooms and had us going to wrong rooms. Check In process was a joke. The whole system was screwed up. And they were letting other members of our party checkin under my reservation. June 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by signs of wear & loosign way stains on bedding stains on robe unaddressed dents & wholes in walls not representative of brand & expectations of Westin June 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by modern tech has not hit this hotel well, it has taken almost 20 minutes to get to the position where i can write this review. Nice hotel, clean, location is fine. the problem is the wireless is useless and if you need to work, not the hotel for you and now not for me, if you do not care or need it, stay here. June 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Roach There was a roach in my room on the first night that I checked in June 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel Beautiful hotel with great amenities. The staff and the food was excellent. May 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Uncomfortable Beds/Poor Customer Service Stayed one night, May 17th to 18th, 2014. The beds in our room were lumpy and very uncomfortable. Everyone in my party complained in the morning about how poorly they slept. I informed the desk clerk upon check out, my complaint was immediately dismissed by the clerk. She questioned how the Westin's beds could be uncomfortable and rushed through my check out process. It was apparent to me that she did not want the next person in line to hear my issue. As a preferred guest I have never received such poor service and lack of concern about my overall hotel experience. I have stayed a numerous Starwood property's and this was the worst by far. May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by gem in unexpected place Very nice Westin stay in an unexpected place. Needed to be close to Newark for morning meeting after dinner meeting in Manhattan. This hotel fit the bill for location. Easy train ride. Block from station. Facilities are very nice. Front desk staff was great. May 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good stay, average benefits to SPG elites This hotel is conveniently situated near the Newport Path train. The lobby has 2 restaurants and I was welcomed to the hotel by one of the friendly valet staff. Check-in went smoothly and was given a deluxe room (not sure if the suites available to Platinum members was available). Told that continental breakfast was either a bag to go or $9 off the buffet (on weekend price is $18.95). Of all the SPGs, this is probably the lowest offering for Plats. Room was nice and spacious, but had view of apts next door. Gym is well equipped (no sauna). Overall the stay was good, though the maids were knocking on my door from 11 onwards, despite a 3pm late checkout. May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Engineering Services I lost my watch in the elevator shaft and was very professionally assisted by an Engineer by the name of Mel on duty. I got my watch the next day and really appreciated Mel's help. May 4, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by wonderful stay I always enjoy the warm welcome and the professional staff (restaurants, reception and room) at this wonderful hotel. A great place to stay!!!!!!! May 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by New Hotel New Hotel, Not as inconvenient as I thought. Area is developing nicely Rooms were good but food was lousy with not much else to choose from nearby April 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unresponsive hotel staff to guest requests The hotel staff including housekeeping take longer than expected time to respond to requests. April 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel staff is very unresponsive to requests We waited for 45 minutes for the bellman to come and take our luggage while checking out. Further any requests for house keeping were delivered atleast 15 minutes late. Also had to call twice each time for any request to hotel staff. April 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Localization This Hotel is near any transport that will take you any part on Manhattan. April 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Guest Service, Poor Conference Management The experience that I had as a guest was excellent. The room and hotel dining were excepitonal. The conference experience was poor. The rooms were freezing and events staff were unresponsive. The box lunches were poor. While these issues may not all be within your control, it still relfects poorly on the Westin. April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by No club This is the only Westin I have been to that does not have Platinum club. Breakfast in the restaurant is outrageous. April 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Stay nearly every week This hotel is fantastic. It's been my home away from home for the last 9 months. They go way out of their way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The staff and amenities are incredible. My only gripe is that the gym TV's do not have ESPN. April 4, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slightly disappointed I have stayed at this location many times. This is the second meeting I have hosted there. When I arrived the woman at check-in was flat out rude. I know the staff could care less that I am a SPG, but she was just plain unfriendly. When I arrived in my room all I wanted to do was freshen up. Upon entering the shower I found a HUGE blonde and gray hairball. Disgusting. The air conditioning did work in my room. Also, the large lamp was broken. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Happy Debby at the front desk was such a huge blessing this weekend and offered great customer service. Jim, the manager, was extremely helpful as well. This hotels customer service was amazing. Thank you for maintaining the bar of excellence. March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by WESTIN COMFORT IN THE GARDEN STATE I returned to this SPG hotel after almost a year and stayed here for a weekend. TRANSPORTATION: From EWR the easiest way to get to this hotel is via rental car or taxi but the cheapest route is via trains. From any terminal at EWR take the AIRTRAIN to the NJ Transit Station. Board any train going to New York Penn Station, 34th street (Board only the NJ Transit trains and not AMTRAK trains as some AMTRAKS stop at this station). Once you board the train the next stop is NEWARK PENN STATION, you can get off here and then take the PATH TRAINS to NEWPORT. The other alternative is to get off at SECAUCUS which is the second stop and board any train to HOBOKEN TERMINUS. From HOBOKEN you will have to buy a HUDSON-BERGEN LIGHT RAIL TICKET and take the light rail to NEWPORT. Once you get off at Newport you can walk to this hotel. Even the PATH train station is located close to this hotel and you can walk easily to the hotel. For PATH train access you will have to buy a METROCARD that also works in New York City and on all NYC SUBWAYS. HOTEL LOBBY: Was clean and beautiful. It has a bar and furniture where you can relax. A gift shop is located in the lobby. The restrooms in the lobby are large and clean. CHECK IN: My check in was quick and easy with MICHELLE and I want to thank her. I met PATRICK who is the front desk manager. He was very courteous and remembered me from the last visit. CONCIERGE: The desk is located in the lobby and I want to thank STEPHEN for his assistance. ELEVATORS: There are 4 elevators and the floors can be accessed using your room keys. ROOM: I was upgraded to a PREMIUM ROOM on the 18th floor with a fabulous view of the NYC Skyline. The room had a king bed, two sinks, a shower and a separate tub. The room and the bed were very comfortable. The power in the room is operated by placing your room key in a slot on the wall. DINING: Upon the recommendations of STEPHEN the concierge, I dined at FIRE OAK RESTAURANT that is located within this hotel. I highly recommend dining here. The food is fabulous and it is an amazing place to dine. The decor was rich and the servers were very efficient. IN ROOM AMENITY: I want to thank the staff for providing an in-room amenity to me. I highly appreciate it. STAFF: Everybody was very courteous and helpful and I personally want to thank, MICHELLE at the front desk for checking me in, PATRICK for all his help and courteousness. DEBBIE, who I have known for all the years that I have been coming here, COURTNEY who me and my son have known (With the BERGEN COUNTY connection), ISABELLA at the front desk, MEL for personally delivering stuff to my room, ROSEMARIE for being very sweet and having a smile on her face every time she met me, CHRISTINA it was a pleasure to have talked with you and last but not the least ERIC who is one of the most favorite staff member that me and my son have known for all the years we have visited this SPG Hotel. NEWPORT MALL: Is located next to this hotel and you can easily walk there to shop. The mall has a huge AMC theater where you can watch movies. Me and my son checked out DIVERGENT and NON-STOP at the AMC theater. If you watch a late night movie then on your out don't forget to stop my MR SOFTEE'S ICE CREAM TRUCK that is parked on the road. His ice cream is the best. I love the BUTTERSCOTCH SUNDAE. NEW YORK CITY ACCESS: Just walk to the PATH Train station and you can take the trains into New York. The last stop is 33rd street and gives you easy access to Manhattan. One word of caution is be careful as the PATH TRAINS are very crowded and if you are traveling with children or strollers then you have to watch out. You can visit the WTC SITE by getting off at CHRISTOPHER STREET, and will have to walk three blocks to access the site. ROOM SERVICE: On the weekends can be busy. CRYSTAL, thank you for assisting me but I felt that you were overworked and the only individual working. This can lead to substandard customer service. It will be helpful to provide CRYSTAL with help on the weekends so that guests can be appropriately assisted. POOL AND WORKOUT: The pool and workout are amazing, CHECK OUT: Was quick and dry. I was checked out by BRITTANY and she appeared gloomy and sad with an expressionless face and I am not sure why. As I was walking away from the front desk, I met ERIC and me and my son had a great conversation with him. I truly want to thank ERIC for brightening up the day and for being the helpful and fun person that he is. OVERALL: Relaxing hotel in New Jersey with beautiful and comfortable rooms. Great for family and business travelers. Room prices are much better that NYC and the area is not as crowded at Manhattan RECOMMENDATIONS: I recommend this hotel to all travelers. It will relax you. Beautiful views of Manhattan unfold here and the staff is very courteous and helpful. March 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by good gym create more clocks in the room do not like the fact that there are no snack bar or mini bar in the rooms gym is in good shape need to ensure is maintained is a attractive feature March 21, 2014
  • 2015-07-07T14:03:58.486-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_422, tr_422
  • loc_en_US, sid_3049, prod, sort_default
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 15 next>>