The Westin Jersey City Newport

  • 479 Washington Boulevard
  • Jersey City,
  • New Jersey
  • 07310
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with a valid ID to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 383 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great alternative to staying in Manhattan Although the hotel was a little awkward to navigate to from JFK airport, once checked in and unpacked it offers a great alternative to staying in Manhattan as you don't have to pay over the odds for a New York hotel but can easily reach the other side of the Hudson river via the frequent PATH train. The room we stayed in was clean, well kept and comfortable. All staff we interacted with were extremely friendly and always helpful. I did, however, find it a bit strange to have to request that coffee, tea, shampoo and soaps were restocked each time we ran out rather than having this happen automatically when the room was cleaned each day. September 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Extremely unhappy platinum member This is regarding my second stay at the hotel in the last year. The list of complaints is as below: 1. At check-in I was not asked if I wanted bonus points, breakfast or local amenities. 2. I was not upgraded to a suite despite the hotel being empty. I was told the room I am getting is a suite and it was not! 3. Towels in the bathroom had stains on them. 4. I had booked 2 rooms under my starwoods number but when my wife went to get breakfast, she was told she could only get it for one person! 5. When my wife was picking water bottles at breakfast area, the lady at front desk shouted at her and said if she was going to take all the bottles!!!! The manager on the floor heard it and was extremely apologetic but the damage was done!!! My family was disrespected and I lost all faith in this particular hotel staff and how it is run. 6. At Check-out, I wanted to add earth points from both the rooms to my starwoods account. The lady at the front desk told me that was not allowed!! I told her I have done that before and she should check again. She refused. It was only after I asked for Manager that the Manager came told the staff to add those points to my account. Though the Managers apologized, they did not know how to make a customer happy. At my other stays at the Westin, even if the internet was down for a few hours, they would call up and add thousands of bonus points to our SPG accounts. May 31, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than I expected I was given a room on the third floor next to meeting rooms with handicapped bathroom, no tub or standard shower. The room was very noisey as there were functions just down the hall in the meeting rooms. I did not receive maid service until after 5:30 PM on Thursday evening and I was trying to work after a long day of meetings at the hotel prior to going to dinner in the hotel. Our dinner that evening was also less than desired or expected, the service was very slow, and my food when it did come was not hot just luke warm. I was not impressed at all and I would not recommend staying there again. I expect better when I stay at a Westin! December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Royal Treatment! I was surprised to be upgraded to a fabulous corner suite - just what I needed at the end of a long week of travel! July 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay if you visit NYC Great accommodation, easy access to NYC fantastic view of the city and great customer service. July 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The little things count As silly as you may think it is, we had an issue with the tv. In this age where almost everyone has some kind of cable or satellite service in their homes, to not have menus with whats on, etc. and to have very little variety was unexpected and disappointing. No we were not in the room very much but in our down time when we wanted to relax, that is an important tool. Also, charging for the internet was unexpected, maybe five years ago you could charge but now it is free access in every other hotel we stay in. Again, the little things. On the plus side the Exercise room and pool area was excellent. The equipment was clean and morden. September 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding stay Customer service was off the charts at this hotel. From my first time through the door until I left for the airport , there was never a time that I didn't see a smile on any staff members face. Staff also went out of their way to shake hands and remembered my name in both the restaurant and lounge areas. That's a very comfortable feeling. Ashley and the rest if the bar staff were outstanding , even when there seemed to be a bit if customer overload. They handled without a glitch. The Westin should be proud of their entire wait and bar staff. One of the finest if not thee finest in all my many travels. A job well done Westin Jersey City. Bravo ! Steve D July 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Barbara Beautiful & clean! Loved my stay there! July 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice hotel, poor service in lounge Nice hotel, poor service in lounge OK, first the hotel is nice. The front desk staff are great and the wait staff in Fire Oak restaurant are very professional and friendly. The rooms are clean and there is a good gym and a larger than expected pool. I was staying here for a few days on business and the main complaint I have is the bar service in the lounge and the breakfast service. Breakfast service – very friendly staff, but super slow. Once your order is taken you do not see anyone to refill juice or water until your food arrives. After that you do not see anyone until they deliver your check. I and a few of my business associates had to walk out to the front lobby and get bottled juice and water from the continental breakfast station when refills were needed. Bar – just plan rude bartenders and self absorbed into their own personal conversations complaining about fellow staff members or previous customers. Also, they are not attentive to you at all after your first drink is served. I was sitting at the bar last night and watched the bartender walk past 3 times looking at my empty pint glass, but never asking if I wanted another. I had to grab him as he walked by. I decided to see, after the first time this happened, how long it would take for him to acknowledge me and my empty pint. I was one of 3 people at the bar at the time and there were two bartenders, so they were far from busy. I waited just over 15-minutes with this empty glass in front of me and one of the bartenders passing by and looking at the glass no less than 10 times. After about 15-minutes two of my colleagues showed up to say hello and then the bartender snapped to attention, looked straight passed me and asked them, standing behind me, if they needed anything!!!! I had to say, “Well, I have been waiting 15-minutes for you to ask if I need anything. I could go for another beer.” He simply shot me a dirty look, poured the pint and walked away, without so much as an apology!!! Absolutely horrible customer service and lack of attention from a bartender whose job it is to be attentive and conversational to customers. January 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would go back again and again 12/21 - 12/25/13: This was my second stay at the Westin Jersey City. Christmas 2012, I brought my two nieces, ages 12 & 13, to NYC for the holidays and stayed at your Westin. I was so impressed with the staff, the comfort of the room and everything else about the hotel, I knew I'd return. I just returned last night from 4 nights in your hotel. I traveled with my son to visit NYC again for the holidays. What a wonderful placed to stay. The staff is very attentive, the room is comfortable but the beds are magnificent!! Heavenly like their name! I slept for 4 nights without waking once during the night, something that rarely happens when travelling. My son felt the very same way. The heated pool is certainly a plus and it's a very nice pool at that. I did go upstairs for a night swim one night before going to bed and a young man was mopping the floor. The sign said the pool was opened until midnight (which I hadn't known beforehand) and it was 11:45. I figured I'd swim a few laps and head back to my room. The young man told me it was closed. I reminded him it didn't close until midnight and I still had 15 minutes. He continued to tell me the pool was closed. I contacted the front desk the next day and they said they would talk to him. I don't know if they did or will, but if the pool is open until midnight, the workers shouldn't be cleaning it until it was closed. That was a small but irritating issue. The only other issue I had this visit (and it wasn't an issue last visit) was an odd smell in my room. It smelled strong and unpleasant, but I couldn't put my finger on what it was. I slept the first night and couldn't take it after that, so I called the front desk. They immediately moved me to another room with no delay. I appreciate when the hotel is that responsive to my concerns. I still smelled that odd smell in this room, but with the A/C on high for a few minutes each time we returned to the room, it was no longer an issue. I would stay at the Westin Jersey City again and again and have already recommended it to a few co-workers that plan to visit New York in 2014. It is in a very nice part of New Jersey, with a mall within walking distance and the PATH transit within a block or two as well. The PATH was a 15 minute ride into downtown NYC for $2.50. Several very good restaurants neaby too. I give the hotel an A!! December 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My stay at the Westin Jersy City I dont think you can get a better, convenient, friendly place than this one. Great staff and hotel. July 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellant facilities Very handy position-airport,subway,river and shops. Facilities of highest standard-my daughter relaxed in pool after a big night. Staff so polite and attentive-I was a bit "dead" after long flight from Australia and staff were so obliging-thank you. July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Customer Service Before departing from home in Washington, DC, I called to let the Westin know that I would be arriving very late. Unfortunately, when I arrived, my room preference of a king sized bed had already been given out. Therefore, I was given an accessible room with two full sized beds on the third floor. I was awakened at 7am to the sounds of a jackhammer as there was road construction going on. I went to the front desk and spoke with Ms. Justine and requested another room on a higher floor with a king sized bed. With a few clicks of the mouse, my room was changed to my preference. Ms. Justine was so friendly and helpful as was the manager of the facility, Ms. Vlera. I would highly recommend this hotel for the outstanding customer service to the quality of the rooms. June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 This hotel is truly WORLD CLASS I have been a customer of Starwood Brands, for over 20 years. I love the atmosphere at this Westin is only rivaled by the attentiveness, friendliness, attitude, and the smiles on all of the employees faces, from the Valet, to the concierge, Front Desk, Management, they are all AMAZING, and enhance the already home like atmosphere of this WORLD CLASS WESTIN! Highly recommended, weather you are in NYC or New Jersey on Business, or Pleasure, this is a PERFECT HOTEL, cannot say enough about the staff, and atmosphere. The security is also wonderful as a pro football team is here for the week, I have never gelt this safe in any other brand of hotel! Starwood is the best. October 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Long Weekend Away Excellent hotel to stay for travelling to NYC. Path System is a block away. Very convenient !! July 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Misinformation ruined our visit We were denied our government discount as teachers. Over the phone when we booked we were told we could have it if we presented school ID cards. At check in we were denied and it was too late to stay anywhere else. Very inconvenient, disappointing and put us way over our budget. July 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel met my requirements This hotel met my requirements in terms of location, comfort and cleanliness for a 6 day business stay in the region. Being able to walk to work in Hoboken was a bonus with the sunshine and lovely riverside walk which starts close to the hotel, with stunning views of Manhattan. Only downside was the fact that the rooms weren't ready on arrival at 2pm, but that aside a hotel experience I'd recommend. June 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by unfriendly manager I'll never go back there. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by THIS HOTEL WAS "THE COMPLETE PACKAGE" I DECIDED TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL BASED ON A FRIEND'S RECOMMENDATION IN ORDER TO TAKE MY DAUGHTER TO NYC FOR HER 1ST VISIT ON HER 13TH BIRTHDAY. THE CONCIERGE "BEN" WAS SO HELPFUL EVEN BEFORE MY RESERVATION AT THE HOTEL HAD BEEN CONFIRMED. HE MADE SURE THAT WE HAD ALL THE MATERIALS/MAPS TO MAKE OUR TRIP ONE FILLED WITH MANY WONDERFUL MEMORIES. HE EVEN HAD THE STAFF SIGN A BIRTHDAY WISHES SHEET AND SENT A SPECIAL TREAT TO OUR ROOM THE FIRST NIGHT WE WERE AT THE HOTEL. THE VIEW FROM OUR ROOM WAS GREAT, THE BEDS WERE EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE AND THE TRAIN WAS JUST A MINUTE FROM THE HOTEL'S LOCATION. WE CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK AGAIN WITH THE REST OF THE FAMILY AND WOULD STAY HERE AGAIN! June 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by No other place to stay in NYC Metro area I have reviewed this property before and will again...there is NO better place to stay in the NYC Metro area...while it may be a business hotel, if I were a tourist I would stay here due to the ease of taking the PATH train into the city...the staff is beyond compare..the beautiful Marcella and David in the evening are the absolute best...even the doormen and car valet guys are friendly...only downside is the gift shop....too high priced...just walk 150 yards to the PATH train station and guy a coke or milk...Fire and Oak is greatly improved lately as well...and the menu changes in the lobby bar are great October 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good confort The beds were excellent and the coffee too. July 8, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Hotel had A/C issues The hotel was nice and clean, but I would not recommend due to the A/C being replaced twice and not getting cool. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth it As a platinum member - i wasted my award night reward on this hotel. There is no lounge in this hotel. Breakfast is limited to a dollar amount - which was not made clear while the front desk handed over the breakfast voucher. I would not recommend or stay here again unless this is the last option. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has greatservice Very nice accommodations and service. Need some work on restaurant Fire Oak-very slow service and food fair. July 5, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent alternative Overall, not a bad option if you need to be in lower manhattan. The path train is a 3 minute walk from the hotel and a 15 minute ride to the city. July 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Shower wasn't working The shower wasn't working. I had to get on my knees under the faucet to wash my hair. I had a job interview so I didn't have time to contact the front desk to get another room to be able to take a shower. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location but... The absence of in-room mini-bars and vending machines compels guests to order even small items (e.g., water, sodas, snacks) from room service after hours July 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seen better service elsewhere but average is okay right?! I recently spent three nights at this hotel. My experience overall was good but improvement was definitely there. Valet is not owned by the hotel we were told and they were horrible the night we arrived. The staff was far from friendly. No one assisted us with bringing our luggage up. After we had the cart loaded a bell hop whom watched us the entire time came over and by then my husband was far from interested in his service. I was asked about a promotion for going green and informed the staff of Wgich option I wanted yet I was sent another and during check out had to clear that up myself. June 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect way to see NYC I suppose that most of us want to see NYC at some time. My wife and I have done that twice. The first time, we stayed in Times Square. The view from our room was that of the wall of a warehouse. The street outside the hotel was crowded and smelly. Not so at the Westin Jersey City Newport. We had a gorgeous room with a view, across the Hudson River, of Lower Manhattan. Outside our hotel it was peaceful, quiet, and clean. We were 15 minutes away from Madison Square Garden by train ($4.50). The Director of Front Office at the hotel, was incredible. He carefully taught us how to navigate our adventures in NYC. I am reluctant to tell anyone how wonderful our stay was, because I want to keep it a secret! September 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by disappointed Our stay at the Westin was going excellent until our second night. I asked for the sheets to be changed but instead they left a pile of folded sheets expecting me to change the bed myself?  This was quite unexpected. I went down to the lobby asking if someone could actually put the sheets on the bed for me and they said they would try to find someone. We went back up and the sheets were changed however the flat sheet was loosely draped on the bed. Duvet had no cover. Only the pillowcases were put on correctly. We were quite disappointed with all this considering the rate we were paying. Also, it was extra disappointing since I was looking forward to sleeping in what I must admit is quite a comfy bed. April 29, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 next>>