Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 585 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by May be a Westin but sdtill feels like the old Sheraton I am a frequent Westin guest, all over thge world, and unfortunately the standards at the Moana are just not up to par. Maybe it is because the Dheraton shadow still looms. Rooms are bleak, bathrooms old fashioned and badly maintained, service overall lacking. Maybe it was the crowds and time of year, but the hotel seemed more like a bus station than a comfort hotel. I was not given a single consideration for my Starwood memebership as I am anywhere else I stay, e.g. Sydney. Maybe it's just the nature of your location and time of year, but the experience was deeply unsatisfying.... August 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by We have always wanted to stay at the Moana We were in Hawaii this month to attend the UH graduation and stayed at the Moana. I have to say we were very disappointed in the service we received-which really came as a surprise. Our room, although beautiful, was very noisy and incredibly small-no closet and the tiniest bathroom ever! Also, did not enjoy paying a "resort fee" for ammenities we did not use. We did have our "portrait" taken, but the photographer was not friendly at all! Had to reserve our seats by the pool at 6:30am or there were no seats available-we thought staff would be more friendly...no aloha spirit :( May 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Starwood Hotel Ever The Moana Surfrider is the most well oiled Resort ever! Upon check in received a Platinum upgrade to an Ocean View Room in the Tower Wing. Additionally, the hotel has implemented several programs of further recognize gold/platinum guests such as discounts on food/spa across the Starwood resorts in Honolulu. Every detail in architecture and maintenance at this hotel is monitored frequently and it is kept beautiful. The staff exudes Aloha in every way possible. From check in to breakfast to drinks at the bar, service is impeccable and friendly. Chris and Peter at the Beach Bar are extremely friendly and great resources for local grinds. Don't consider staying else where on Waikiki! Extremely satisfied and want to live here! March 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations The hotel itself reminded me of a southern plantation. The facilities and restaurants were very superior. The staff was the friendliest and offered us services beyond our expectations. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. The pool area staff was friendly and offered services to the degree that my friend, my husband, and I felt like queens and a king during our stay. The area with the umbrellas and chairs was also very comfortable and inviting with the staff even waiting on us, meeting every request and need during this time also. October 26, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never Again I have stayed at the Moana Surfrider probably four times in the last two years. Each time I've checked in there was no recognition of my award status, and three times at least I have been allocated rooms that are either on the main street i.e. incredibly noisy, or overlooking the interior courtyard i.e. music late into the evening. Since I usually travel on business, rest and comfort is the key to success in my mind. Although the hotel common areas are lovely, and the outlook on the Ocean fantastic, the rooms lack any insulation from the outside world. Additionally, there was not even an amenity package in the bathroom - by that I mean shower cap and Q-tips. Sorry there is too much competition on Waikiki for me to contemplate returning to this hotel. June 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great express overnight stay I had a quick stopover stay at the Moana Surfrider. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. The checking in and out was done efficiently and seamlessly. The room was comfortable and nicely presented. The hotel itself was very charming and the location was excellent. Highly recommend this hotel! December 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Week in Paradise After researching many hotels in the Waikiki area my girlfriend and i decided that Moana Surfrider was the place we wanted to stay...what a great choice! Not only did the hotel meet our expectations but exceeded our expectations as well. We stayed in the Tower facing Diamond Head on the 17th floor three rooms from the end where the suits are...what a view! There is nothing like waking up and going to bed with a balcony that has a view of the ocean and Diamond Head. The room was clean and the bed was comfy. We had mentioned that it was a trip for our anniversary and my girlfriends birthday but did not expect a bottle of champagne and a nice birthday dessert waiting for us when we first arrived...what a nice touch! Everything about the hotel was to our liking...upscale dining with great service and wonderful ambiance...a quick walk to beautiful Waikiki beach or to the many stores and restaurants nearby...fast valet service and everyone at the Surfrider was friendly and helpful...we will definitely stay here again next year! December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic Old World Charm! We LOVE returning to this hotel for its classic beauty and comfort of the welcoming rockers on the front porch to the gorgeous veranda with the iconic banyan tree. Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed in the tower wing for its updated interior and larger size. Although there was street noise at night, it did not bother us at all. It was sweet for the kids to find cookies and milk waiting for them upon arrival and a bottle of champagne to mark our anniversary a couple nights later. We reserved an umbrella on the beach each day ($50) and it was well worth enjoying the freedom to come and go without worrying about seating. Location in the heart of Waikiki and easy beach access make this hotel ideal for short trips like ours (3 nights). Dreaming and planning for our next trip! July 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a 5 star experience Too many little things made the 9 night stay a disappointment. Lei greeting upon arrival only if you ask, however, upon asking the front desk staff they were not too friendly. continuously no face cloths in the room. bathrobe, only one, was not changed once. I let my wife use the single bathrobe. Air conditioning can only be set to high, which is too noisy to sleep with. Our tub drain was plugged upon arrival, fixed the next morning. How could housekeeping not know it was plugged?? The shower head didn't get fixed upon my request. I received a length lecture on the 1 hour time limit around the pool, however, staff did not enforce their rules. Don't lecture me and then don't enforce. Really. Beach club staff was excellent, but found its existence by accident. The public uses the beach and hotel facilities. There are no chairs to sit in the hotel with as they are used by non guests. The hotel does not cater to its our guests, but to the public. Don't expect any more than a non guest would receive. Our flight was a late departure so we used the hospitality suite. Front desk staff was adamant that we had the room for 45 minutes. Room was not cleaned. Used towels on the floor, hair in the toilet. No soap and no towels. After a call, we received towels and soap (we were told housekeeping was on their break) and quickly had to change and finish up in the 45 minutes. My wife returned the hospitality room key and was told by front desk staff that the room only gets cleaned a couple of times a day and dismissed her concerns. After numerous times staying at this hotel, we spent time looking at other places to stay next time to Hawaii. February 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service Arrived on 12/12 - 1550 hrs, outstanding Reception Agents and MOD at check-in; food was excellent, loved the Pupu Steak from room service, very clean room, I even checked under the bed! December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Shhh, I don't want this place too crowded Hey, this group of welcoming and top caliber staff and management deserve the highest honors, but always when something is this good, it usually gets spoiled somehow. So please tread carefully when you come here, and don't abuse this special combination of everything we love about Westin. Beauty, tranquility and style... super clean and comfortable...well designed resort programs that are free or reasonably priced, and professional staff that like their jobs and their guests. Kudos to Noelani and all the team at the new Beach Club - Surfrider's version of a Club Lounge for Platinum as well as availability plus extra fee for others. That has to be the best secret - so shhh, and I wont tell you all about it (beach front views, great light fare, sunsets, comfort and elegance). I also loved all the live music night and day, the daily yoga at the spa, spa treatments, and the lobby offering a Westin superfood elixir each day. Oh my, I can't get back here fast enough! Cons: desk chair is too hard and uncomfortable to sit on for long, bath gel must be requested (standard leaf shaped soap is always too drying) , shower cap must be requested, but thanks for providing upon request! December 19, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Over Promise, Under Deliver I flew to Honolulu specifically to stay at The Surfrider. My partner had seen the property and wanted to spend time in the rocking chairs on the charming lanai. I booked a Waikiki view room (why go to Hawaii and not look at the ocean?). I was given a lovely room that overlooked the street - no ocean in sight (and by the way, don't expect it to be quiet when you are facing the street!). When I asked about the mix up I was told that my reservation was for a "Waikiki City" view. No where on the reservation (or website!) did it state it was a city view. In my mind Waikiki is a beach! I asked the concierge where "Waikiki City" was located and told that there is not a "Waikiki City". I spoke with a manager that promised to get back to me within 24 hours. It is two months later and I am still waiting. November 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Denflem Beautiful, grand older hotel on the beachfront. Room was recently remodeled. Very spacious. Great ocean view from the balcony. Noisy due to being next to the driveway for the hotel next door but the noise was easily oveerlooked when enjoying the view. Beach area was very generous with cabanas available. Swimming pool and pool area are very small but who needs that with the ocean so close. Would highly recommend this hotel to those who want to stay in Honolulu/Waikiki area. October 21, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by We live on the Garden Island of Kauai. We decided to celebrate our anniversary on Oahu.The staff of the Moana Surfrider Hotel front desk were awesome. Our 41 yrs. wedding anniversary December 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grand Lady of Waikiki This is hotel really lives up to its grand reputation. From the moment of arrival the staff greets guests with respect. Everyone working in the hotel was fun and exemplified the aloha spirit. We had the best time. Our room was lovely. The view from the 20th floor was spectacular. There was a rainbow on the hill past the city and sunset on the beach. Halloween was so much fun. This is the best location on the beach and the street. November 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by overrated This hotel was billed as a 5 star resort. The lobby furniture was shabby, the room just ok. paid extra for an amenities package which didn't exist. the pool area is certainly not 5 star rated. did not experience any of the warmth and recognition noted in other reviews. bar food was average with an indifferent wait staff. the hotel is old but remodeled. regardless, the rating must have been based on the original Moana. January 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by SPG Membership at its best! SPG benefits really do pay off. Even during peak times the staff makes every effort to provide the SPG member with great perks. We were immediately upgraded from the standard room to an ocean front room. Our trip home was an evening flight and we asked for a later check-out time, if available. We were quickly accommodated to a 4PM check-out. SPG membership helped us maximize our travel experience to Waikiki, Hawaii. April 1, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not all that We arrived and were told resort full!No upgrades.Went to room 3405 right next to elevator noisy!Complained to front desk!!Said nothing they could do that day would get back to us next day!!!Never called!We would put ac on cold so the noise from neighbors room wouldn't be heard!!Also lots of saving of chairs!!On a good note loved the yoga and aqua size classes,&lei making.Food pricey.Great location.poor Internet January 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely Historic Hotel We enjoyed our stay.immensely. The service was outstanding, particularly the welcome leis and complimentary wine tasting. We also enjoyed dining on the veranda while listening to the musicians and the ocean .The ambience was so relaxing, from the shade of the banyan tree on the terrace to the piano bar in the lounge. We will definitely return. We had a wonderful time at the Moana Surfrider! March 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by staff the most telling impression is the staff... over 20 years as returning guests gave us the most consistent and rewarding experience dealing with the personnel. the warmth and sincere welcome by everyone, especially the long term "vets" have preserved the Aloha spirit which has meant so much to us. October 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overcrowded I have stayed at several Westin locations and have been nothing but happy until now. I found this hotel overcrowded and in need of much updating. The pool and outdoor lounge areas were overcrowed with chairs and there was still nowhere to lay in the sun even if you where o=up and out by 8AM. I did have a few issues that the staff in the lobby were very willing to accomadate. January 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unfortunately, a huge disappointment. From the initial front desk "I can't be bothered" reception, to my room being unavailable until an hour and a half after check -in time--and then I had to remind the desk I was still waiting; to the small, worn room that was absolutely NOT worth the price, to the banging/working going on that I was not told of in advance of my stay and that no one at the front desk knew anything about; to the waitress who ignored my presence and never waited on me, to the large number of guests and events constantly going on; to food I had ordered from room service and put in my room frig, only to have it cleaned out by late afternoon..... my stay, to say the least, was a huge disappointment. I definitely did not feel the Aloha spirit from most of the hotel employees, which was probably because of the large number of guests, as well as event participants, that needed attention. As a SPG member, I certainly was not well taken care of. November 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Shortcomings Overall my stay at the Moana SR was satisfactory but two qualms need to be addressed: The balcony of the room I was assigned to was filthy. The furniture, walls, and railings were covered with a layer of soot. In addition, the balcony door was still ajar when closed and locked, which led to security concerns and ambient noise from the outside to seep into the room. November 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Moana stay We have stayed at Starwood hotels all over the world and this was the first time I was disappointed. We have always been made to feel special at all of our other Starwood stays. With the exception of the 7:00 am manager, the front desk staff was curt and not at all responsive to our needs. We felt the service here was not up to our normal Starwood expectations. February 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not worth the effort If you want service, this is not the place. You are just one of many and there is no effort into making your stay welcome. You will wait 45 minutes after you order your food before you eat. If you want room service you will wait over an hour. If you want extra towels or have a simple question to ask- good luck with that... Your simply not worth the effort! March 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heaven on earth Repeat guest for 20 yrs. Long term staff--great valet, restaurant staff, housekeepers, pool and special guests manager make you feel like you are going home for our visits every 3 months--this trip for 10 days. They remember your name, favorite pillows, dark chocolate and fruit. Wonderful lanai breakfast and yoga class. A quiet respite off busy Waikiki. December 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding The great Moana Surfrider is the most outstanding hotel on the island! My husband and I stayed at the hotel for the past four years, in which we celebrated our daughter's wedding, and most recently, our 30th wedding anniversary! Our experiences have been exceptional, and we carry that feeling with us until our next stay at the Moana! July 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by not again Diid not reconize by spg gold level on check-in.Front desk insisted i was just spg and have no points when i am gold and have 27000+ points. got. Quite staunch in her belief that i was not gold and was trying to get something for free. Paid for an ocean view room got a view of the big banyan tree. No ocean in sight. Asked the front desk but too bsd so sad that was the room assigned to us, No robes or slippers in room. Were going to stay 10 nights but thought we would try one after a horrible experience with one earlier this year. Smart decision. Its a relationship that seems to work in Canada and Asia but not in your country. December 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A beautiful hotel This hotel is fantastic. It has great facilities, a wonderful restaurant, and is perfectly positioned in Waikiki. The beach is lovely, the pool also very clean and nice to swim in. The staff are all friendly and the service is wonderful. We have stayed here twice and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. We will definitely come back again. December 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location but very rundown and not kid friendly Great location and a grand main hotel area. Parts of the service were disappointing, room is very old and rundown. Pool closes at 6pm which is way too early. Stupid rules for the pool where staff should have the capacity and judgement to allow a small child to play with a toy if it doesn't affect others. Won't be rushing back. June 18, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 21 next>>