The Westin Ottawa

  • 11 Colonel By Drive
  • Ottawa,
  • Ontario
  • K1N 9H4
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age for Registration Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room. Valid photo identification is required at check-in.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 373 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by disappointing Well, I stayed at this hotel back in the summer and had a nice experience. Everything was fine except the elevators (which has been mentioned several times by previous posters). Fast forward to last month --- attempting to book a function here. NIGHTMARE! Worst customer service I have ever experienced. Staff member was rude, and could barely be bothered to give me the time of day. She just gave me the run around and I was lied to by a staff member. They made booking with them such a painful experience, I ended up taking my business elsewhere. When I called to discuss my concerns, I left messages and no one could even be bothered to call me back. Extremely disappointed and won't be keen to give them any of my business anytime soon. December 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great rooms but Wifi should be free. This is a standard feature now. Beds, sheets, cleanliness are excellent. The bar area has great ambience. Wish there was a more informal dining setting for the evening though. Being charged the huge rate for Wifi is really out of line in terms of what is being offered by equivalent hotels. Wifi should be free in this day and age. Would make me reconsider next time. January 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond Friendly and Helpful I am no one of significance either in status or financial means and because of this was a little intimidated in showing up with 4 kids in tow and frazzled at the end of the day. I was greeted with much warmth and consideration by Brett at the front desk. He made me feel at home and comfortable. My children and I were thrilled with our room. I have been a cleaning lady at a hotel and know what a clean room should be like - yours was excellent!! All the staff that we interacted with made us feel pampered and what a treat at the end of a long day! Thank you especially to Brett for going out of his way to make our stay special:) My children and I HIGHLY recommend staying at the Westin! April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful evening Thank you to the concierge staff and also to Katia @ the front desk for all the amazing service they gave myself and my wedding party. I had booked a suite for everyone to get ready in, before moving offsite for the wedding. When my photographer arrived to meet us, it was raining. The concierge staff was amazingly helpful in trying to locate an alternate indoor location for our wedding pictures, quickly and very professionally. Our room itself was wonderful, and Katia was very helpful in getting us checked in early. Thank you again to all the staff @ the Westin for making that part our day so smooth. May 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in the perfect location This hotel is top-notch, and just steps away from numerous must-see attractions for the Ottawa visitor: Parliament Hill, Rideau Canal, Byward Market, Rideau Centre shopping mall, etc. etc. etc. While not much to look at on the exterior, the inside of the hotel is modern, clean and well maintained. Staff are extremely courteous and interactive. Elevators can take a while to get to you, and seem to have a mind of their own now and then, but generally get you to your floor quickly once you're in them. Parking at the hotel is simple and convenient. The Westin Ottawa is an all-around great place to stay. August 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Ottawa Improved wi-fi appreciated as this was a persistent problem in the past. Initial room I was given 14th floor had a strong chemical smell and staff did accommodate a change. January 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Westin on Colonel By Drive We were met by a very helpful doorman. First impressions are always imperative. That immediately started our stay on a great note. We stayed only for one night but will definitely return to this location when we are back in town. January 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect location, great rooms My family and I recently stayed at the Westin Ottawa hotel for Winterlude. Our room had a beautiful view of the Parliament buildings and Rideau Canal. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We enjoyed using the pool, although it was busy due to Family Day. While the elevators are slow due to being upgraded, it didn't impact our stay. We tried the Winterlude discounted lunch buffet, and while the food itself was good I was surprised at the price for the type of food offered. I expected more and better offerings than chicken fingers and macaroni and cheese. Also, the cost of drinks was ridiculous!! $5 for a regular coffee. My recommendation is to stay at the hotel but eat elsewhere. February 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Is elevator ever going to be completed? I've been staying at this hotel for the last few years for a conference. Overall, the hotel meets my expectations. However, the elevators have been an issue for at least the last 2-3 years. The Westin Ottawa has been trying to fix and/or upgrade the elevators for that span of time and it's not yet fully operational. During peak times, you may have to wait to 5-7 minutes for an elevator, and even then you might not get on. Especially for a conference, when one may need to run up to the room and head back down, it delays things. I've been very dissapointed with this aspect of the hotel. October 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Short but great stay I have stayed at this hotel several times and have been very happy every time. I've also held large events at the hotel. Staff in the event and catering services are top notch. Check in was a breeze with great customer service! Will stay again and again. January 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Decor! We had a wonderful stay as ever. January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel had everything Perfect place to stay for sport events January 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by best hotel experience ever!! I can't say enough great things about The Westin Ottawa. Every staff member from the valet to the housekeeping staff is courteous, smiling, helpful, knowledgeable and competent. I felt completely at home and welcome. The fruit water at check in is such as nice touch. The offers of water bottles while waiting for check in is very thoughtful. All the staff members are AMAZING and make you feel like part of the family. The room was extremely restful and comforting. I had the best sleep I've ever had in a hotel room. I would DEFINITELY stay here again. BEST hotel experience EVER. Thanks again!! August 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff was excellent but dog barked for two nights I normally love my stay at the Westin. The staff at this hotel is incredible and the rooms are very clean but my most recent stay was one of my worse experiences at a hotel. There was a dog that barked every night during our stay. The first night it barked until 4 am. On the second night we did call the front desk and they indicated they would send security but the barking didn't stop for several hours. It was approximately 2 am before the barking stopped. I would stay again because of my several visits that were so postive. However in the future I would request a room away from pets. December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surpassed expectations From time to time we like to steal away for a night downtown in Ottawa. This past weekend we decided to give the Westin a try as it had been many many years since we had stayed there. This is not the Westin hotel of years gone by...it is modern and welcoming; staff cater to your every whim, its large windows on the higher floors offer incredible views of the city. Don't forget to have breakfast at Daly's; while you savour exceptional food you will love the view of the Rideau Canal. For anyone looking for a modern, elegant 5 star hotel in an incredible location look no further.... June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location and Class Having not stayed at a Westin before I had heard great things and was interested to find out for myself. Upon arrival we were greeted by the staff, whom were accomodating throughout the duration of our stay. The location was perfect - within 10 minute radius of walking you could get to the NAC, Convention Centre, Rideau Centre, Byward Market, War Memorial, Sparks and Elgin street, Rideau Canal and many other fabulous sights. My only complaint which wasn't even THAT big of a deal was the parking. It was a long way away and very expensive for not being close to the hotel. All in all we had a fantastic weekend and will not be staying anywhere else but the Westin each time we come to Ottawa from here on out. February 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business Centre I travel throughout Canada extensively and stay at numerous hotels per year. I thought I would give this hotel a try as I have eaten at the shoreclub numerous times. The Ottawa Weston met my expectations HOWEVER I was taken aback when I went to use the business centre and there is a 7.00 per 15 minute fee to use the computer! Really not expected from such a nice caliber hotel. The principle of it makes no sense. Does Westin need 7.00 that badly?That policy should be changed immediately. December 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ottawa weekend Room is beautifully furnished, but not large for a "premium room". Check-in was slow, with only one clerk. Confusion about whether we were on "green" (no maid service) - they came anyway. Shower drain ran slowly. Banquet was excellent. Pricing policy for internet and telephone is irritating- it just caused mild inconvenience as I used my wireless service and avoided the hotel's system. I was left with a feeling that I was there to be fleeced. Please - I ask my favorite hotel to rethink this pricing model and be more competitive. November 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Special needs My daughter has special dietary needs!! I requested a microwave for our room as I prepared several days of prepared food for her. I was given a micro for the room and we had a fridge to store everything!, the bell hop Vallet parking... All were very helpful with directing us to several floors in the hotel and how it's connected to the mall! We never felt like we weren't informed.. And found things by a surprise like in many other places we've stayed.this was a very pleasant stay all around!! It was my sons soccer tournament for the weekend! This is a superior hotel!,, I travel a lot with my children to many far destinations and the Westin Hotel Ottawa goes far and beyond good service and promptness also. Thanks again August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent room but lacking in some details The hotel does some things very well, but is lacking in other areas. The lobby is warm and inviting. My room was clean, nicely decorated, spacious, and very comfortable. The elevators are being worked on however, the wait time was far too long and there were no acceptable alternatives. I was invited to use a service elevator but left the elevator with my hands covered in black dirt. I tried to take the stairs but couldn't get all the way to the lobby. I was also very annoyed that I had to pay for internet access. If I can get free internet at a discount chain, I expect to get it at a Westin. Very few hotels charge for internet access anymore and it seemed like a money grab. As did the prices on the breakfast menu. October 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is Beautiful and Great Location This hotel was amazing for it's customer service, rooms are very nice, location couldn't be better! The only thing I was not happy with is that if I wanted internet access in my room, it's an extra $15 charge per day and there is no WiFi in the rooms??? I couldn't believe it! I thought it is standard in every hotel room, especially for business purposes, that WiFi is would be standard. I highly recommend the hotel revisit this policy, update your equipment to provide wireless access and don't charge extra. This will be a deciding factor for me on my next hotel stay. February 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It's hard to stay anywhere else... We don't live very far from the Westin in Ottawa, but when Christmas time comes and our holiday party is scheduled, it really does not matter where the party is in Ottawa, we choose to stay at the Westin. Although I have scheduled 2 holiday parties at the Westin through my previous employer and as always it was amazing. It's perfect location for Holiday shopping being attached to the Rideau and center and close to downtown. The beds are so incredible, the service is amazing and the views are always awesome. When we come into town to spend the night, it's the first place we check availability and that hasn't changed. Thank you to the Ottawa Westin for always being friendly, outgoing and consistent for all these years :) December 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay I was very impressed with my stay at The Westin Ottawa. Every staff member I encountered from the time I got out of the car on Saturday to the time I left on Wednesday was fantastic, friendly and welcoming. This included the staff at the door, the front desk, service express, banquet staff and housekeeping. I will definitely be back! The room was clean, the hotel was spotless and the food was great. It was a very enjoyable stay. The location is great since it is attached to a mall and smack dab in the middle of Byward Market with shopping and restaurants galore. January 31, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very poor service in an official language There is so little capacity of service in French in this hotel that even my review is not accepted in the French part of this Internet link. The Westin is one of the most prestigious hotels in Ottawa, capital of a bilingual country. Only the reservation process (by phone) was truly competent and amicable in French. Checking-in was difficult (I got a wrong information about the restaurant) and checking-out was quite simply arrogant. The concierge (with a French name!) sent a welcoming message in English only, and the email billing did the same. Moreover when I asked for the room to be cleaned, by midday, someone came in and simply emptied the trash can, without touching any equipment in the bathroom. The Westin being practically full at all times, I guess they do not need to really care for their guests who are expected to adapt to the service, and not the other way around. December 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel but how can they justify charging guests in their rooms for internet access? Internet access is a basic facility of modern life. Charging separating for internet access, but not for television access makes no sense. It's just plain greedy. And the amount is ridiculous comared to what I would pay for internet access at home. It is not like consuming a drink or eating food from the bar. Hotels should have an all-in price which includes internet access. Not impressed. And that is not even taking into account the annoyance created by the elevator renovation which mean you can wait 10 minutes for te elevator to arrive at peak times... February 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room I had reserved a King-sized bed, but was given a double bed. Given my time of arrival close to midnight, I did not bother trying to switch rooms. But I did mention it to the front desk in the morning, and got nothing more than a simple apology when I would have expected a little something more. Overall, the hotel is very nicel and this was my second time staying there within a month. December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel ever! I cannot get over the level of service we received at this hotel. Staff was so friendly and helpful. The atmosphere they create by being so friendly is contagious. Special thanks to the concierge team for recommending family friendly attractions. (we went to all of them) A great thank you to Noel Steele for taking the time to draw out a map to the perfect place to view the Santa Claus parade! You sir, made our day! This is the only hotel we will ever stay at in Ottawa.....!! November 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wi-Fi I have this experience frequently when staying at the Westin Ottawa. The room wi-fi reception is atrocious. This is the same with various cell phones and computers - the signal is "fair", but mostly "poor" and downloading is at a snail's pace. The Westin Novascotian is Halifax is better but not great. However, Ottawa is appalling. As an SPG Member I receiver "complimentary" wi-fi, but this bonus is essentially meaningless given the connection speed. December 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed in ottawa westin The room wasn't ready for our arrival even though we were an hour late for check in and the front staff didn't know how to handle this correctly. we were told to sit in the lobby and wait till a room was ready and no help offered with our luggage. also the room had not been cleaned properly and smelled of cigarette smoke. it was tidiied after complaining, but still found items under a chair later.I stay in a lot of Westin hotels and this was a bad experience that I have never before encountered or had in our next Westin hotel that we stayed in June 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our stay this time surpassed our expectations! We were celebrating a special occasion this weekend and the hotel staff went above and beyond to make our visit memorable. Their service, hospitality and generous complimentary surprise gift, was a wonderful perk. We had 2 gorgeous, comfortable, relaxing, deluxe rooms booked. The views were spectacular. Everything was extremely clean. The dining facilities (Shore Club for dinner and Daly's for buffet breakfast) were superb and we even enjoyed lounging in the warm ambiance of the lobby. We definitely highly recommend this hotel to future guests. January 23, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>