The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Jungferninseln
  • 00830
  • USA
  • Landkarte

Zimmer & Preise

Schließen

Kinder pro Zimmer

Diese Angaben ermöglichen es uns, die besten Zimmer für Sie zu ermitteln und Ihre Ankunft entsprechend vorzubereiten.

Informationen zu Zustellbetten und/oder Aufschlägen für weitere Personen finden Sie in den Zimmerbedingungen und Details.

Mindestalter

Um eine Reservierung vorzunehmen, müssen Gäste mindestens 18 Jahre alt sein.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 201 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Long Ways from the Best of the Caribbean I am married and travel a lot with my wife and two kids (2y and 4y). I travel about 5-6 times each year where 2-3 of those trips are overseas (usually Caribbean) and have been to many Caribbean islands. St. John unfortunately does not compete well with other islands unless you are a couple looking for an intimate spot and even then it's a bit of a stretch. First, to get to St. John, you must either pay $65pp EACH WAY for the Westin ferry or take a 45 min van ride to a 20 min ferry ride to a 5 min cab ride to get there. Once you get there, the lobby is not air conditioned. It's open air which is nice, but when it's over 90 outside, it can get hot there. Next, we stayed in the Hillside villas and I would suggest other accommodations unless you enjoy walking up two 30 degree incline hills to get there. You can also take the free golf cart shuttles if you like, but as I said before, there are better options. The rooms are nice and well appointed. We had a one-bedroom loft which was comfortable and had partial ocean views. There are few restaurants to choose from. There is 1 for breakfast/dinner, 1 for lunch, and 1 for just dinner. Bar food for lunch each day got old and we ended up cooking a lot since there is a market a short walk away. There are many choices in downtown (5 min away by taxi), but for $5pp each way, that got old as well. The restaurants we did eat at downtown are good, but not great. Other islands (Aruba, Bahamas, Jamaica, Puerto Rico) easily have more and better choices. Also, it's expensive, but unless you find some local spots, eating where the tourists eat usually is costly, regardless of where you are. There was also a deli which served some sandwiches and salads all day. There are nice beaches, but I question whether they are some of the best in the world. Trunk Bay, $8pp each way by taxi and $4pp to enter, is supposed to be one of the best. It is nice and intimate with lots of marine life swimming around. There were sting rays and tons of fish to keep snorkelers happy. I believe the snorkeling is good in St. John, but I believe that can be said about many islands in the Caribbean. We aren't snorkelers so I can't comment further about that. The beach and main pool by the resort are okay. The beach does not have the clearest water. There is a good amount of seaweed and you share the bay with lots of boats. All beaches are in bays so it is very calm there. The main pool was very nice with waterfalls and a nice layout. A swim up bar would have made it nicer, but it is still very nice. If you are a beach person, expect to take a taxi each time. If you are a pool person, you will be happy. There was a small pool next to each Hillside villa, which was nice and usually empty. There was a waterfall and two nice grills there as well. Unfortunately, they were not cleaned often and usually had plenty of debris floating there. We got bitten a lot there and were told they are sand fleas/sand flies. Make sure to ask about that since we weren't warned and could have have a more comfortable stay if we used bug spray. I've never experienced these before, but maybe I was just unlucky since I hear they can be in the Caribbean and even Florida. There were a decent amount of kids there who seemed to stay at the pool most of the time so if you have a little one, they should find some playmates easily. If you're the type that is looking to drop your kids off at the Kid's Club, you might be disappointed since there were never kids in there except occasionally at night (5p-10p). We didn't care since we never use the Kid's Club. Lastly, the staff there was somewhat friendly, but compared to the Westin Aruba, Harborside, Westin Lagunamar, they fall short again. If I never stayed anywhere else, I probably wouldn't notice, but it you are used to those other places, you might feel that area lacking, There are a couple stand outs. The front desk was always nice and helpful. Samir in guest relations and Teri in concierge were very nice, but that's about it. Overall, the big draws here are: 1) The intimacy/privacy. There are many beaches you can take a taxi to where it will be just you and only you there. That's rare. 2) It's US territory so it's easier to get there and back, if that matters. 3) It's really cool to walk around at night and hear the orchestra of nightlife playing. It's more relaxing and peaceful than I can describe. 4) It's never crowded anytime or anywhere and we went during Carnival 4th of July week. The hotel was full, but you would never know that. That's very rare. Outside of that, there are better choices unless those four things are really important to you. July 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by This property is not worthy of the Westin name I never take the time to write reviews but felt obligated to alert others to the shambles that this property has become. Public and private areas of the property are in dire need of an overhaul, updating, cleaning and basic maintenance. The beach towels are threadbare, the lounges are mildewed, the paint is scraped off the furniture in the patio lounge, the public bathrooms are dirty with overflowing trash etc.., seaweed piles up on the beach as if this were a 2 star property, beach & pool service only made the rounds one day of our 5 day stay, service is slow, erratic and most often comes with a giant "i'm doing you a favor attitude". And while the bed linens have been updated in the beachfront rooms, the bathrooms have not and are literally the size of a gas station and absolutely filthy with stained shower floor grout, etc. Maid service is just the bare minimum, no bathrobes, etc. I have stayed at dozens of Westin properties all over North America and am still unable to believe that this "resort" carries the Westin name. I know the hotel offerings are slim in St. John, but this is a travesty. Beware! May 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT RESORT PROPERTY We just spent six nights at our Bayside Villa, the Grounds are very well kept, We ate dinner at Cruz Bay Prime and the Dinner & Service was excellent. The Bar Service at Snorkels is very poor , the ladies working there tend to ignore you and are not very friendly, The only friendly staff is the concierge's desk , they are very helpful , but also want to make sure you attend a owner's update at the time share office. We will continue to go to this resort as St John's is a special place, but the service has to be up to the standards of a Westin property. June 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love St Johns Westin What a great resort! The hotel upgraded our room on the beach. We went with another couple and had a great time. Although we did not take our kids this time we would take them back. The resort has a lot for them to do. Beach is private and beach sports are solid. I would highly recommend renting a dingy and going around the island. It is amazing! The hotel has a great gym. The spa is small. If you want to save some money take the local ferry vs. the westin boat. Lunch and breakfast are fine at hotel but eat out for dinner (Not at resort)!!! December 9, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I can recommed this hotel to anyone This is my third year at this hotel. I enjoy my stay every year. My husband and I travel in September because we enjoy the off season quietness at the resort and the island. My only issue is that the food and service at the only resturant open in the evening is not very good. I think this is because of the off seaon and have found several nice resturants open in Cruz Bay. It would just be nice to be able to have a nice dinner on property. The deli/market has great sandwiches which we take to the beach every time we go. September 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 Great Location, but that is it!!! The location is great, but it is St. John's so that is not saying much. Upon arrival the Westin receptionist at the airport was not polite and offered little help. Found out that it cost 120 dollars for round trip ferry fee to and from the resort. Which was nice at first thought, but realized the ferry only ran until 5:30 which limited possible time spent on St. Thomas. We were charged a 40 dollar resort fee and we arrived at the hotel around 6:30PM that day and the last day when you have to check out at 11AM. As a platinum member, no room upgrade was given (well let me correct that statement). We were upgraded from Garden View to Pool View (NOTE: there was no view of the pool and on top of that, the additional noise from the kids and human traffic made it more of a downgrade). The room itself was in poor condition. It smelled like mildew, the bathroom was in need of a deep cleaning (stains on the floor, the bathtub drain was broken, there was mold everywhere in the shower), the AC unit barely worked (we had it set to 65 degrees and it never got below 75, and rarely blew cold air). There were stains on the dressers, which I could wipe off which is indicative of poor housekeeping. Worst part, 4 of the 6 days we found huge cockroaches in the bathroom. The staff at the restaurants were for the most part rude and not pleasant. Food was overall mediocre, nothing special. Extremely over-priced (which is to be expected). Resort is filled with families and children (which is fine if you want that sort of thing), but makes for early morning noise, noise at the pool, etc. I am a fiend (for lack of the better term) for SPG points. We used the green option to receive an additional 500 SPG points, however the island is windy and it blew off of our door every day but one. On top of that, we received the 5$ voucher and it mysteriously dissapeared from our room (so I was not able to received any additional points). Overall as a platinum member, I have had better experiences at 4 points. The location is great, but spend your money elsewhere. February 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great stay despite a very rough start. This stay was supposed to be a awesome well deserving girl's vacation and it was almost ruined by the welcoming committee (Franique and Kara) at the airport in charge of issuing you your transfers. No welcoming smile, rude, curt and no customer service skills were how we were met by St; John Westin Villa staff. This was followed by them informing me that my 3 bedroom villa was canceled by someone and we were placed in a 1 bedroom villa. After 4 hours on the phone with 2 supervisor and a change in room, we were finally able to enjoy the wonderful island and Westin St. John Villa. Kudos to Akema, Shamir, the cab drivers, the ground keepers for an impeccable ground/grass, the welcoming staff at the hotel and the shuttle service who always picked you up/drop off with a smile. August 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs to be updated Hotel has a great location, nice beach, excellent pool area. But it's not what I expected from a Westin property. The rooms are average, not luxurious. The maid service was very erratic - some day we'd get no clean towels, the next day we'd get towels but no wash cloths. Food was pretty good but service in the main restaurant was strange. You almost had to trip a waitress to get them to get your order. This wasn't true at the Snorkels' Bar and Grill by the pool - they were very good. July 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was a really great vacation The Westin St John was a great place to stay in the Caribbean. The staff at the hotel was pleasant and attentive. My wife and I stay at Westin Hotels pretty frequently, and this hotel is above the Westin standard. We really enjoyed the poolside bar. Service was quick and the drinks were good. Mango Deli was a good place to get a sandwich on resort. The resort is really clean, and well taken care of. The hotel is a $5 (per person) taxi ride to restaurants, beach bars, and shopping. October 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WONDERFUL LOCATION/FACILITY My wife and I have been vacationing on the island of St John for over 20 years. We have always rented a private home and also rented a car. This year we stayed at the Westin and DID NOT have to rent a car. We took the taxi to town and/or restaurant . ----no driving and or parking problems. We spent our time at the Westin beach or pool swimming/reading and also went with Capt. Phil for a day of snorkeling . Very DISAPPOINTED with the music selections played on pool area speakers October 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Island Paradise! My husband and I celebrated our 25th anniversary this past week at the West St John Resort and our stay could not have been more perfect! Friendly staff, amazing food, tasty drinks and the most relaxing place in the entire world! The facility is beautifully maintained and looks like a tropical paradise! We discovered so many wonderful things to do and see on the resort and in Cruz Bay but there's still plenty more to do on our next trip! Thanks!! June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by So happy with our stay Chalk up any really negative reviews to a) flukes and b) people who showed up in bad moods and looked for the worst. This hotel would be a solid 4-star place with a couple of very easy fixes. 10% of the lounge chair pads were dirty and 10% of the towels were too worn to be offered to guests. Choose from the 90% of clean chairs and towels, and you'll be happy. Room was in building 15 - had nice updates, very clean, great view of the water (only expected pool view, so very happy here). The food was great across the board at the steakhouse, beach place, and poolside. Focus on the beautiful views, friendly staff, great food and drinks, family-friendly environment, etc., and you will have a wonderful time. Don't get on your hands and knees and inspect the carpet with a magnifying glass - you'll waste your vacation time (and still won't find anything negative). May 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeded Expectations! After reading some of the reviews on this property, I had some concerns that we would be disappointed. We were pleasantly surprised at the beautiful grounds, friendly staff, and the updated decor and great view from our hillside villa. We had a very quick checkin process and were upgraded to a larger one bedroom villa with a great view. We had rented a jeep so parking right outside our room was very convenient. We loved it! November 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by love this hotel...except........... I stay at this property twice a year and actually own a time share here as well. I love coming back because of the warm and friendly staff. My only complaint is that the non smoking rule is not enforced. Our hotel stay was in bldg 10 which is beach front. We enjoyed early evenings on our balcony (first floor) and every night our neighors would sit outside and smoke. We are not smokers and did not appreciate this at all. April 20, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel great for families We had a great time with our 4 year old daughter. It's a great location with good amenities for kids. The downsides were that the friendliness and reliability of the staff was uneven, we didn't have a great experience at the spa, and my daughter had one bad day at the kids club (her first day was great, the second day she was alone with a staff member who was cold and unfriendly -- turns out it was her last day of work). I'd say this is a great place to stay with your family, but don't go with high expectations for service, the spa, or the kids club. I also did not feel we were acknowledged for being gold Starwood members. April 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by February break 2014 This was our third trip to the Westin St. John. The resort is looking great and extremely well cared for. The beach is beautiful and we stayed in a newly renovated room. The service was excellent as was the food. Food a little pricey but hey, on vacation everything is expensive.The pool area was newly done and immaculate. Beautiful chairs and plenty of umbrellas at the beach. We had a wonderful time and did not want to leave! There was construction at the resort but it did not bother us at all. I did miss the outdoor breakfast area that is under renovation…next time! March 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Time We have just finished our stay at the Westin St. John and couldn't ask for anything better. We went during April 19 thru April 26 and the weather was great. Our Villa was in the Bay Vista area making it close to everything on the resort. The Villa was updated and very comfortable. The staff personnel especially Ashley at concierge desk and Evan with Penn Taxi Service were a delight and very helpful. April 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Phenominal I am working in the islands and being a Starwoods Platinum member, thought I would give the Westin a try. Best decision ever ! Incredible staff that took care of every need. The food was excellent and served with a smile. The rooms are very clean. I have been here 3 weeks and would HIGHLY recommend this property. Get to know the staff and they will embrace you as family. May 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service Poor customer service in general. Bar/Food Service Area not to expected sanitary standards. Rooms dated and warn. Housekeeping staff lazy and disinterested. May 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by BEAUTIFUL RESORT Well maintained and beautiful resort. Although the resort prices on food is a bit high, the quality is excellent. Only negative issue during my vacation, was an employee asking for a tip, vice staying focused on doing their job. I felt a times, there was a sense of entitlement with employees and they should be reminded why they were there. March 18, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by average stay My stay with you was disappointing in that while the facilities were average, the cost was above average. I don't feel I got my money's worth. The meals in the Beach Bar and Grill were excellent, the Cruz Bay Prime was below average. I would think that when someone pays these prices, they should be thinking "Wow", and I wasn't. November 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs to improve infrastructure and service Hi- My wife and colleagues stayed at the resort for 5 days. We were disappointed with the service provided and the infrastructure at the hotel: - Staff are not oriented toward providing excellent guest service (e.g., forgetting to cleanup room, not bringing dinner on time etc) - Rooms are old and needs to be upgraded. June 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall Great Time Overall this is a great hotel..awesome pool, great beach, good bar and food, well kept grounds, clean rooms. Only two complaints would be the mosquitos and the friendliness of some of the staff (concierge? your job is to welcome guests and be attentive to their needs, be nice!) Great time! December 26, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by needed improvement We booked our stay to attend a destination wedding at the hotel. Our room was in really bad shape, shower did not work, clogged and made noise. Our bathroom floors were dirty. Our tiolet did not flush. The hotel staff was slow and very late to attend to our needs. We were very disappointed June 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a 5 star resort Rooms well below 5 star standards Balcony moldy, small and dark Cracked tiles in bath. Dated Chaise lounges dated and dirty Room not cleaned til 5:00pm Over Priced for product- felt like a timeshare/dormitory. Room was labeled ocean front delux but very dark and depressing room March 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Please remodel! Love the island and would return year after year if Starwood would drop some cash and remodel the very outdated and worn hotel guest rooms! We want to return but are forced to make another choice as we don't want to re-expierience substandard room conditions. April 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin Experience Ever We came here on our honeymoon 5/28/12-6/2/12 and being a Platinum member since 2006 I expected some type of recognition especially after notifying several people at the hotel prior to our arrival of our recent nuptials. However, not being recognized one single time was the least of my worries as this was not only the worst Westin experience of my life, but probably one of my worst hotel experiences ever with Starwood hotels if not all hotels. Our trip began with a 2 hour wait at the airport in St thomas. Once we got our luggage from baggage claim we checked in at the westin in the airport and had to sit in a waiting room for two hours without air conditioning and without being told any information on when our shuttle was coming. When our shuttle finally came the ride lasted all of about 10 mins and then we were dropped off at a restaurant at the dock to only wait for another 50 mins for their private ferry to st John to come. If we would have known that we would have had 3 hours to waste we could have actually done something productive and just met at the ferry when it was scheduled to leave instead of having us just wait and wait and wait. Also, being a private ferry I was expecting a much nicer boat since we were being charged so much more than the other ferries, but after riding on them the rest of our trip the Westin Ferry was probably the crappiest one! If you are going to charge more, that you need to provide a better service which they did not. Once we finally got to the hotel room we were constantly interrupted for the next 2 days by staff knocking on the door, which is the last thing we wanted on our honeymoon. The walls were also very thin and we kept waking up to either our noisy neighbors or the loud lawn maintenance that occurred early in the morning. I finally went and spoke with the manager on duty to explain that we were on our honeymoon and did not want to be disturb the rest of our stay. She apologized and we agreed that our room could only be cleaned in the afternoon from 12-2. However, it was not cleaned for the next 2 days and cleaning people still came when they wanted to clean the room even though we had our do not disturb sign up. Some other horrible details, we found two gigantic cockroaches in our bathroom through out our stay. Living in LA and NY I have seen big insects but these ones were huge! Also the plumbing was really loud and suspect. The electricity would also sometimes go out. I understand that this is an island so I accept some of these things. However, the staff was the worst and some of their attitudes were simply uncalled for. I could not believe how disgruntle and rude some of these westin workers were. Don't get me wrong there were some very nice and pleasant people, but typically there are never any rude people that work at the westin and I felt like there were quite a bit at this location. For example, the first night we had dinner in the pool side restaurant and our server actually never came back after giving us our entrees. The food was not good and way over priced by the way. We had to ask another server for our bill after waiting around 20 mins with no sign of our original server. The new server couldn't find our meal in the system so he had to ask us what we had in order to ring us up. Such a hassle. We also got massages at this resort and the spa facilities are tiny, actually there wasn't anything except for a small sauna. No steam room, no whirlpool, and no relaxation area. I don't even think they should say they have a Spa. They had a gym and a lockeroom not a Spa. Very disappointing especially for the price we paid for on the massages. The resort looks beautiful from a scenery point of view, but so does all of St John. After driving around and talking to other tourists I would definitely recommend staying somewhere else on St John. This westin was not good. The rest of our honeymoon we went to a few islands in the BVI and to St Thomas before flying back to the states and let me tell you the experience at these other hotels was so much nicer, cleaner, kinder, and the staff so much more pleasant, and oh yeah no cockroaches! We were given free drinks, food, and upgraded to better rooms because of our honeymoon status, but didn't get even a congratulations from the Westin. Honeymoon or not, the overall experience at this westin was completely unacceptable. I am sure there were other bad and good things that occurred during my stay that I can't remember, but the bottom line is that I really hope that SPG takes these comments seriously and tries to improve this location so that future people don't have to have their vacations tarnished like we did because this location does not deserve the WESTIN name. Even at check out they just gave me my bill and didn't even ask how our stay was. Maybe they knew how bad of a job they did or maybe they just didn't care. I was very embarrassed to put my new wife through this ordeal after insisting that we stay at a SPG hotel. Wow, still can't believe how bad this experience was. July 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Westin Property I travel weekly for work and this is by far the worst Westin I have ever stayed at. The light in the bathroom was out, the lamps were missing the on/off handle, cockroaches in the room, staff didn't put ironing board away, had to ask the concierge 3 times for ferry schedule and finally had to call the actual ferry company because the hotel was incorrect. We rented the car and the lady in the car rental place was miserable and flat out rude. St. John is a beautiful island and I usually love Westin so this was a complete disappointment, especially because of the price you pay to stay there. March 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Has everything you need or want We loved this hotel this past January. Very Relaxing and beautiful. It has everything but a swimup pool bar. We are going back for sure! We've been trying to re-book it for next January since we left and reservations haven't opened up yet??? March 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I booked two nights at the St. John Westin because the Villa we rented was unavailable for last weekend of our trip. I booked an Ocean View Room at a rate of over $500.00 per room. With that being said I have high expectations for properties with rates like that. Unfortunately I was very disappointed with this property. The carpeting in the room looked like it was from the 70's and was dirty! There were several permanent stains and quite frankly my first impression of the room was poor. Please be advised that the Ocean View Room was extremely far away from alot of the amenities so you can take the long walk to the lobby, tennis courts OR you can request a shuttle (big golf cart). We requested a shuttle several times but ended up not having anybody arrive for 10-15 minutes. Wouldn't have been bad but they told us to leave our room as soon as we hung up the phone. On one occasion we never received the shuttle. Overall I would recommend renting a private villa on St. John. For less money you can get an awesome place to stay. Spa was very dissapointing as well. Very small. July 26, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>