The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

  • 120 South Main Street
  • Greenville,
  • South Carolina
  • 29601
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 324 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience This is a lovely hotel in the heart of downtown Greenville. No need for a car when you stay here because there is so much to do and see within walking distance. The room's AC didn't function as well as it should have but it was still comfortable. The fitness center was quite nice and the equipment was well maintained. The only thing this hotel is lacking is a pool. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Only regret is that I couldn't stay longer. The Westin Poinsett has always been a joy to stay at. The staff is always attentive and friendly. They have always done an exceptional job recognizing platinum guests. I was upgraded to an "Executive Suite" which for me was a perfect area to get work done but also relax. It is also perfectly located in the middle of a number of restuarants, shops and bars. I ate at "Nose Dive" which is connected to the hotel and the food was excellent. Can't wait to come back to Greenville and the Westin Poinsett. July 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost Perfect Stay My stay at the Westin was almost perfect. The room was very comfortable, and the food service staff were wonderful. My only complaint was on the day I was to check out. My understanding was that check out was at noon. At 9:00am the maid was trying to open my door, and I had the "do not disturb" sign on the door. 30 minutes later 2 guys from Maintenance were knocking at my door. It seems like there should be some communication between the checkout desk and the service staff. Otherwise, great stay. November 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great hotel with Southern charm. The guest rooms are excellent, with freshness and style, and the beds are probably the best of any hotel I"ve stayed at before. The Poinsett has that old hotel Southern charm but with all the modern conveniences. The lobby lounge area is a nice place to unwind in a very comfortable setting. I've stayed at this hotel several times over the past few months and have never experienced a lapse in quality. June 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Average I would say compared to other Westins this one is average to below average. My loyalty to starwood is very strong but I don't think I will stay here again next time I am in town. July 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Top notch Westin Really enjoyed my stay here. Staff was helpful and got a lovely suite upgrade; location on Main Street is superb. Really appreciated the reasonable costs for parking and room service; all too used to gouging, which they did not do. Gym is very good. Had some issues with key cards deactivating, including in the garage, but overall it was a great stay. July 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor customer service Had trouble getting a roll away delivered, no sheets for our sleeper sofa and we had to call down after midnight to get the sheets, when they were delivered they were wet and the blanket was dirty. We brought the wet sheets back down to the desk and the man there did apologize. We were to tired to bring the blanket down and when we did the next morning the lady on the desk was very dismissive. June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by overpriced minimal services for guests , rooms small , highly over riced and over rated . Waits for concierge services pushed twenty plus minutes , car delivery even longer , staff seemed highly stressed , and when attempting to extend reservation , downright rude ... we were there for Hincapie GF , and there were zero service accomodations to the riders , requiring us to lug our bikes up to our rooms on elevators which barely accomodated five people . All in all , a poor experience for the price . October 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointing I used an upgrade to secure a larger room but as platinum to be on 5th floor with a handicap room was disappointing. Clock in room was off by an hour which I didn't notice as I went to bed so I was up earlier than I needed to be. When I told front desk they yet said oh. What about so sorry. Front desk asked what time I would be leaving yet still had housekeeping knocking on the door early. This has always been one of my favorite hotels but this visit as below par. March 29, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Several issues The key cards to our room did not work. We had to get new ones three times. The key card for the parking deck did not work. Never did get that fixed. I would expect a hotel of this calibur to have a small frig for guests. I would also expect at least coffee in the lobby for guests. No extras available here or if there were, we were not told about them. Also, our room looked out to a brick wall with heating/ac units. Would like to have a better view as I booked early. July 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Drop in service I've stayed at this hotel many times for business and have had great service and a nice room. This time was visiting Greenville with my wife for a concert. Service was not so good and the room was very small. Hotel was booked, so was told another room was not available. First coffee maker in the room would turn off after brewing a half a cup. Staff replaced it with one that would not turn on. When I told the front desk at check out, they thought it was funny. March 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by First quality experience Everything on my stay was first quality, the room being most attractive and the most comfortable bed of any hotels I've ever stayed at. All was good. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Grand Old Hotel This hotel is a grand old hotel. It has the charm of yesteryear. With that though, some modern charm is yet to be found. While you have beautifully ornate style, there is no pool or sauna. They have added a modern workout facility which is very nice with several cardio machines and weights. I noticed that they have gone the extra mile to add parking spaces for electric vehicles which is absolutely incredible. I wish more companies would follow their lead. November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel What a beautiful hotel right in the heart of downtown Greenville, SC! Aside from the bustling busy streets by cars and pedestrians outside, the hotel was very quiet and serene. Love all the marble in the lobby! Our room was very clean which is very important to us! The bed is so comfortable with the nice sheets, comforter and pillows....just wanted to stay snuggled in all morning but unfortunately had to go back home early morning! Truly enjoyed our stay! September 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not 5-Star Quality This hotel is rated 5-stars but fails to reach that standard by missing the small details that verify that rating. Room service did not heat the breakfast pastry and bacon; housekeeping was very loud in talking and laughing in the hall outside a room with a do not disturb; dining room temperature was cold; etc. Just small details that make the difference between ok and excellent. Overall, it is an elegant, historic hotel but needs to refine the details December 10, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing I arranged a special evening for my husband and I to get away from our three small children and busy life. We were hoping to rest and relax. I asked at check in if we could be on a quiet floor. The front desk clerk assured me it was. Unfortunately, he was wrong. The party in the next room started at 2 am with loud knocking every hour as more people joined in and ended with a loud singing at 5 am. We left more exhausted than when we showed up. March 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An elegant, historic experience Location ideal to enjoy city center restaurants and shopping. Elegant atmosphere in hotel possessing historic charm. Shoe shine guy is great and is walking encyclopedia of Greenville. I have no complaints. I will likely stay at the Poinsett when in town on future business. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location...Perfect hoel Our stay here was perfect. The hotel is beautiful, staff very attentive and friendly, and the breakfast buffet was delicious. A really nice touch is being picked up at the airport in a BMW. The driver gave us a brief tour of the city on the way to the hotel. We knew the minute we got in the car we had made the right choice. We would not even consider staying anywhere else when we return to Greenville! May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in a downtown location My overall experience at The Westin Poinsett was super! The front desk staff greeted me promptly, got me checked right in and answered all of my questions. The downtown location was great for seeing the sights and there was a ton to see and lots of places to eat. June 30, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just average There are just certain things we found not to expect when staying at a hotel in the middle of a city. Having to pay for parking. Not having the appliances we are accustom to when staying at a hotel outside of an urban or downtown area (having the rent a small frig, possibly having a terrible view, and no micro wave oven). And of course you pay more for a little less. The location however was good, plenty of resturants and shops. March 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by beautiful hotel Hotel is great. One kind of odd criticism I have is that it got really hot in my bed...which is weird because I don't tend to be sensitive to warmth - it's like there wasn't good AC circulation or something. Anyway, overall great. July 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not the usual Poinsett Experience I travel to Greenville on business annually, and the Poinsett is the only place I stay. I've always had a great experience, but this stay was not up to the standards I've become accustomed to with the Poinsett. The room smelled of mildew, and there was moisture in the air.....almost as if it was humid in the room. The room did not cool down (room 621). I set the thermostat at 60 degrees, and it never got unbearably cold in the room, and the moisture continued to stay in the air. I notified the front dest as soon as I checked in, and they supposedly had a serviceman check it out, and indicated everything was working properly. It wasnt. I was there for two nights, and while it wasnt unbearable, it was certainly noticeable, and I just dealt with it due to the fact that the hotel was completely sold out (front desk indicated they were completely booked). June 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful surprise Both seeing Greenville and the Westin for the first time was a very pleasant surprise. The city is really a gem with its parks, tree lined streets, well appointed shops and such a variety of restaurants. The Westin was a great experience. The tastefully renovated lobby and very clean and comfortable room made our stay so enjoyable. The staff was very welcoming and most helpful. Our stay was a wonderful and delightful surprise. September 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The jewel of Downtown Greenville Staff at every level was exceptionally, helpful and friendly. Concierge was knowledgeable, and food was excellent. Accommodations surpassed expectations, and would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Service Amazing front desk staff and very efficient! The servers/staff/cooks are wonderful at the restaurant, and the food is great! I have participated with trek travel ride camp which has the lodging set up with your hotel, and what a great and smart relationship that is for you. I have fallen in love with your hotel because of the ride camp and have come down numerous times because of the set up. Great job! March 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Cleanliness I have stayed at the hotel many times and have never had a issue. NEVER. This particular visit I had a dirty bathroom, and a dirty wash cloth hanging from the shower rod. I understand that this was a very busy time of year for this hotel however it was not what I would expect from a Starwood Group. I would however stay again at this location and the staff and claning staff were excellant in meeting my needs. January 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff but stay on a high floor We were met by Raymond and found him and all the staff, ESP the concierge extremely friendly and helpful. We had a good lunch....Asian chicken salad but then smelled either chicken or bacon in our room # 521 all the time. Obviously, the vents from the kitchen came to our room. My only serious problem but a major one as I really felt ill from the odors several times and we were there for several nights. I will not post this but I do hope for your sake it can be remedied. I would suggest and already have referred someone to stay with you but to request a high floor. Also, our room was dark, there was not adequate lighting. There was not a light in the closet and it was very hard to see. The tiles on the bathroom floor need to be professionally cleaned. These comments are meant to be constructive as I am so pleased to see an old hotel restored and the old charm kept. Thank you. November 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Paper products not so "Heavenly" I recently stayed at your hotel and found it to be very nice. Rooms was spacious and the "Heavenly" bed and shower were very nice. However the paper products (toilet paper, tissues and paper towels) were really bad, not "Heavenly" at all. I have allergies and my nose was not doing very well after my stay. I found these things to be well below the other standards you have set. Otherwise my stay was very nice. May 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is excellent We chose this hotel to celebrate a special anniversary, and because of the location, convenient to what we were doing. Our only less than perfect experience was breakfast. We were seated, pointed to the buffet, and then almost ignored. No offered refills on coffee, tea or water, until we managed to flag down the hostess, who alerted our waitress. However, we still would come again, but eat breakfast out. July 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room selection Room selection - unfortunately, the room's view was not good. The view was a brick wall. I understand the hotel was sold out, but I thought our early arrival (2:30) would have afforded a better room selection. The person at the counter told us we could wait another room (not sure when one was going to be available), but could not move us if we took the room that was available. I did call ahead. July 22, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>