The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

  • 3555 South Ocean Drive
  • Hollywood,
  • Florida
  • 33019
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 962 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Blown Away By The Experience We are repeat guests ot The Westin Diplomat and this last trip was by far the best we've ever had. The staff was attentive, the room upgrade fabulous and the additional recognition of our anniversary by the staff made it an even better stay. Thank you all for the outstanding visit. We look forward to coming back very soon! May 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Incrediable Hotel We love this hotel. We have been here on four different occasions and each time has been wonderful. The view is amazing, the pool is beautiful, the people are very friendly and efficient. There was some mix up when I called SPG to book the room, but due to the excellent email booking system I noticed the error and called back. SPG called the hotel and Carrie Ann straightened it all out. Thank you! It's wonderful people like Carrie Ann that make this place special. We did not get any Gold member recognization at the desk until we inquired about wifi. This seems to be an issue chain wide. We love this hotel! Thank you for a great mini vacation. Business turn into pleasure. July 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Our recent stay in ft lauderdale at the diplomat I went to this hotel for some relaxation time with my husband. We experienced anything but. Everything is a hustle. The hotel staff indicate people cannot reserve cots at the pool and they do. There is supposed to be an adults only section at the pool and this is not reinforced. We left a message for the hotel manager to change rooms and she never returned our call. If you want a lounge at beach there is an additional charge. Would not stay here again .Too crowded and too frenzied.without attention to service. January 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by PCIA Tradeshow Beautiful hotel. Great service. Fantastic room. Have stayed here twice for trade shows and has been a great experience each time. The Hollywood Prime was a great dining experience. October 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Could have been better I was there for the PCIA convention. My only real complaint, well actually there are two. The cafe should have been staffed up to handle a convention since its the only real option for a sit down lunch on property. Had they been staffed up they could have done a much better job turning tables and coming close to supporting the convention attendies. My second is we rented a suite in order to have a place to host meetings yet even with the curtains closed the entire time, not sure why you pay for a view you cant enjoy, it was like an oven. With the AC units being on motion sensiors it made it even worse. October 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice notel / needs better houskeeping This was a very nice hotel, pleasant staff and great beach access. My only issue was that houskeeping missed my room the second day of my stay, I had to call to ask for my room to be cleaned twice and for 3 days in a row it wasn't until after 5 pm when they finally got around to it. April 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Surprising Gem in a so-so stretch of Florida's East Coast Surpisingly nice hotel in the Hollywood, FL, area. The hotel far outshines other properties in the neighborhood. The beach in front of the hotel was pretty gross - plastic forks, stray shoes, etc. I was embarrassed as a Florida resident for my fellow conference attendees to see the general state of the beaches in Hollywood in general. I strongly encourage the hotel to be a good citizen and have a comprehensive beach cleaning protocol. Separately, I failed to pack my phone power cord. I asked at the front desk, but they don't stock extras. That would be a nice touch. I would have paid to rent it for the night. December 2, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gorgeous hotel-less than gorgeous service The place is beautiful. I had two less than satisfactory experiences . The valet parking service is awful . First wait was 30 min. The next morning i waited 25 min and they could not find my car keys. They had to drive me to my appointment. When I came back they were making a duplicate key as they lost mine! When I went to the desk, the manager said he felt terrible about this, and an earlier experience and would get back to me. He never did. The next day, I went to another manager who finally handled it. The pieces need to fit together much more effectively. Responsiveness is not a strong suit. And DO NOT valet park your car! February 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel needs new management We booked 3 ocean front deluxe rooms 2 months in advance, not only were the rooms not ready until 6pm they only had double bed rooms! We prepaid as well which was big mistake, the icing on the cake was terrible front desk management, dirty pool area and poor customer service experienc. I fact I had to walk outside to see if there was a "Days Inn" sign out front because it certainly was worst Westin experience we've have had. Needs new management and transformation for sure! January 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very disappointed I've stayed at the westin diplomat before and I've loved it but this last stay was very disappointing. I called ahead of time and requested a beach view and was told I would get one before I made my way to the hotel when I went to check in that is not what I got. The worst thing is I came to the hotel right after my mothers one yr service and I was very emotional. So when the girl who checked me in said the beach view wasn't available I just couldn't help but almost cry. Had I known I wasn't going to be getting the beach view I would have called around to other places. But for my troubles the girl ended up giving me a balcony room. Which when I went into the room, there was no balcony. So I had to go back to the check in and wait again. When I finally got into my room the lights were all on and there were no lotions or any bathroom things but it was late I just wanted to sleep after my long hard day. But I did sit outside on the balcony when I was finished enjoying the view I got up and a piece of glass got in my foot bottom. So overall I will not be coming back to westin. I've enjoyed my other stays but this is just too much. I'm not one to complain but my foot still hurts and at check out when the staff member asked how was my stay and I told her not good and my problems with my stay she told me to write a review. Thank you November 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by unhappy it was bad enough that we could not get room we wanted but when we asked for a manager we were not even called back. totally ignored. we had to ask for room to be cleaned each day. i have been coming to this hotel for many years after this treatment u will not see me again. May 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below Expectations Way too busy and way too large of a hotel for my taste. The hotel lobby was always full of people, the line to check in was ridiculous, the front was crowded with cars, the pool area was crowded, and the bar area by the pool was crowded (with too many tipsy men). The staff that cleans your hotel room needs extra training - it is the numerous little things that room service forgot to take care of that made me unhappy (like fresh towels in the bathroom, new water bottles in the room, replenishing coffee in the room, etc.). Beach chairs and umbrellas are extra, and the spa is offsite and costs a $10 taxi ride one-way if you can't wait for the free shuttle. Won't stay here again. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Hotel in the area My first visit was 5 years ago, and I find myself there every year since then. The pool is amazing and being at the beach, no other hotel compares. Staff, facilities, amenities, food and room are superb. Definitely worth it. July 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed this time around I stayed here with my wife 2 years ago and was blown away by how wonderful the accommodations were. We left after that vacation with nothing but good things to say about the hotel, and recommended it to many of our friends. Unfortunately, this time around, we were far from impressed. The room was dirty upon arrival (hairs in the tub, 1 of the 2 complimentary water bottles was half empty, stains on the towels, and on our last night there we discovered a dirty sock that WAS NOT ours in the sheets). Strangely enough, there were also crumbs in the iron - no idea why! Moreover, while not the hotel's fault, there was a water main break in the area and we were forced to brush our teeth and wash our face with bottled water. However, the hotel did not provide enough bottled water and ran out so we went out and purchased our own. Over the four days that we were there we were never updated on the status of the water and if we were allowed to drink it. The water was brown in the toilet and in glass cups and really grossed us out. We requested and had approved a 4:00 checkout time (gold status perk), however, when we came back to the room to checkout at around 3:00 we found that our keys had been turned off and had to wait 15-20 minutes for security to open the door for us to OUR OWN ROOM! Overall, the Diplomat is still a nice hotel, but our recent stay really has us thinking if we will ever go back there. October 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by a diplomat stay The Westin Diplomat is a crown jewel in the Westin Group. I love the rooms and most of all the Simmons Heavenly Bed. What a wonderful hotel. July 27, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Time to go With this location hosting a wedding,nfl football team and be at capacity for the weekend I assume that the regulars were pushed out prior to (12:00PM) . After a weekend stay and $500 later I arrived at my room around 9:30 am to beat the check out rush . I walk up on housekeeping to find my cooler in the hallway and personal belongings discarded. Instead of an apology I was asked by housekeeping why are you here. I was then told since I didn't see and clothing here I assumed you checked out. After involving hotel security , hotel and housekeeping supervision I received a verbal apology and was sent on my way. No one took the time to question housekeeping and calculate my losses ( Wine,Spirits, Food = $ 150 +. To add injury to insult upon returning to the room with hotel security ( no supervisor) housekeeping staff decided to try and pass iffy me by retrieving the discarded items from the garbage and placing them back in the room. Please Westin Diplomat get it together . 5 star hotel with 1 star attitude. As a spg gold member I encourage friends and family who visit south florida to stay at one of the many spg hotels. This location will never come on the radar. December 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location and facilities Great hotel. Huge. Lots of facilities, conference and ball rooms. My only gripe is the gym/spa could be bigger. With this large of a facility, I expected more exercise equipment and weights. March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just the best! Westin as I know it! high quality, high service... I couldn't expect more! December 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful property So impressed with this property. Everything I've come to expect from a Stanwood property. March 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this hotel but..... This is a great hotel! Really enjoyed! But there was some type of leak in my room and there was no balcony but then they switched my room because of the leak and I got a better room with balcony. Was a pain to switch rooms after I unpacked and got settled but was worth it. Overall nice hotel. I just had a individual incident. January 12, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Management makes for Bad experience Celebrated 25th anniversary in a room with double beds that smelled of smoke with stained coverlets, peeling wallpaper and red marks on wall. Coverlet was changed but front desk clerk stated that demand is so high they just don't have time to make repairs. Requested room change to King bed was like pulling teeth. Ended up in the same room with double beds the whole weekend Front Desk Clerk told me I was only a Gold member. I am SPG Platinum, (have been all year) but was admonished by the front desk clerk that I was only a Gold member because I had not stayed enough nights and I should just stay more nights. Had dinner reservations. Valet service brought car to front then lost the keys. Waited almost an hour for them to find them. Management failed to follow up with me for my entire 3 night stay about these and other issues as requested by Platinum Concierge. Poor customer relations. Problems occur. That is just how thing happen sometimes. It is how those problems are handled that make a huge impact. I believe the mark of a great hotel is not just good customer service when they are slow, anyone can do that, but the ability to give good service when there is a heavier demand. That is what makes a hotel exceptional. The Westin Diplomat did not meet those standards. If all is going well with your stay, great! Enjoy! If there are issues, don't expect much concern or response from management at this hotel. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Better than expected for a big convention hotel Stayed there for four nights mid January, 2014.Club lounge was good.Liked the terraces on the ocean and intercoastal waterway. Nicely decorated, food quality and variety were better than expected. Bit short staffed but they were always helpful.Never saw or heard of the club floor concierge that is mentioned on the website.Had a club suite using points and suite upgrades.Disappointed in the lack of a view or balcony.Room 3637 looked straight south out over the convention center, other buildings with a small slice of the beach visible.Not full length windows and you had to walk over and stand directly in front of them to see the partial ocean view.In hind sight , we would have been better off with an upgraded bedroom with a balcony. We had dinner at Hollywood Prime on the Saturday and were very pleased. While it was expensive ,we felt that we received full value. The service was excellent - very professional and knowledgable about the food and wines.Food was outstanding. Thank you Diego! Pools were fine with no problems finding lounge chairs when we wanted them.Food at the pool side bar was better than the usual fare.The salads and fresh shimp were good.It is clearly a large convention hotel and several large groups came and went while we were there. This did lead to some long lines at reception.Despite that, the hotel never felt uncomfortably crowded. January 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Left Waiting The hotel property was very nice, what you would expect in this price range. However, I found the service lacking and below par for what I expected. I arrived around 2pm, and was told no rooms were available but that I would get a call when they were. After waiting for 2.5 hours I approached the check in staff again and they had a room then. Never did receive any phone call and did not receive any assistance or service during my 2.5 hours wait. When I got to my room there was no shampoo, which I did not find out until the following morning and there was a bag of bar soaps left in my sink. February 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Never again during the holidays Stayed here during during christmas, and while I knew if would be a peak periode for the hotel, I was not prepared for a total chaos almost everywhere. The club lounge was full of families with kids running around, and it was almost impossible to find a place to sit down. The food selection was worse than I ever seen, and it did not help that families was stocking up both at breakfast time and during the evening snack hours. It was so far from a realxing lounge - where you can grap some nice breakfast - that it is possible to come. The hotel must come up with more and better food, plus more space and places to sit, int their lounge. Periode. The nice view is not enough. The gym was closed for renovation, and the placed they used at the other side of the street was terrible. No water, no earplugs, noone to remove used towels etc. Very disappointing. Door-slamming is always a problem at this hotel. Every morning we were awoken by the early birds next door who showed no consideration when coming and going. Please, get some soft-lock mechanisms to your doors! It is just a question of costs, a lot of newer hotels get this! The lines at front desk were enormous most of the day. God forbid if you needed help from them - like if you had los the tacky wristband they force you to wear in order to go to the beach and pool area. A lot of people where complaining about this - and the elite check in sign were mostly not respected. We got no platinum suite upgrade, but that is what to expect during holidays. However, I did not expect a zoo, chaos and an extremely poor lounge. Doubt it if I will return in the near future. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great beahcfront location Stayed three nights following a cruise at the Westin Diplomat and loved our time there. Spent numeorus hours at the pool where the staff ws attentive and the lounge cchairs very comfortable. The food at Splash was terrific (loved the Honey Dijon chicken wrap). Visited the spa which was also great. Excellent location to visit south florida! February 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by bent over backwards for me extremely accommodating of a request to move rooms because of noise. Dave the manager a class act. thank you February 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very big but also very good. This property is massive but offers a good value compared to W and St. Regis. With that said this is a conference hotel and has the feeling of always being crowded. Food at hotel was pretty good but for vacationers be aware that you're not walking to another restaurant. Everything is a drive and traffic is pretty bad. Obviously that's not the hotels fault but if you're coming w the family be prepared. Beach is calm during low tide but during high tide don't expect much...maybe 10 to 15 feet tops. December 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Needs to come into the 21st century with technology The Westin Diplomat at Hallandale Beach is a beautiful facility. The staff is completely capable and usually cordial. It is an idyllic albeit isolated location with no shopping or outside restaurants within an easy walk. While I attended a conference my wife felt quite isolated. Taxi prices in the area are high. The telephone system in the hotel is archaic and, for the room price, charging a "minimal" $12.95 for slow WIFI is a crime. I will recommend that my association find another location to hold its annual conference. November 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unhappy Service all around We recently stayed at the Westin Diplomat for 2 nights. This was our first time at this property and had heard lots of good things, so we were really excited to stay there. However, upon arriving we didn't have the platinum service we have come to know and expect from Starwood. On two occasions we went to the lounge only to find that they had run out of the food and were extremly under staffed for the amount of guests in there. Also, one afternoon when we went in the lounge we woke a housekeeper up, who was napping on the couch. Also we had a bad experenice with the spa staff, as they informed us we needed to go across the street to catch a shuttle to the spa. We waited and waited and would have missed our appointment if my husband did not run back and check with the conceirge on where the shuttle stops. Lucky for us, we had a car, otherwise the hotel staff informed us we would of had to take a taxi and pay for it ourselves, even though we were misinformed. And lastly we had a terrible experience at the hotel breakfast cafe. We arrived and were told it would be about a 20 minute wait (which we had no problem waiting for. The breakfast came highly recommended from a friend). Once we got sat it took forever for the server to come over and when we finally got to the buffet line we had another 20- 25 minute wait just to get to the food, they were so backed up. We weren't sure what the hold up could be until we arrived at the made-to-order station, which was woefully understaffed with one cook scrambling to make waffles, eggs, and omeletes for as many guests as he could, as quickly as he could. Unfortunately for him, he didn't stand a chance of adequately fulfilling the impatient line's orders. Once we got back to the table we had to still ask for our drinks, because our server forgot one of them and also never offered refills. Not the service you expect for a sixty dollar breakfast. We are platinum starwood members, as well as timeshare owners, so it should be obvious that we are very brand-loyal and love staying at your many wonderful properties. We rarely, if ever, encounter anything we would consider below quality, but our experience at the Diplomat was one that we felt needed to be expressed to you. Thank you for taking the time to read our review, we hope that some of our experiences can be used to alter the service there for future guests (and hopefully a future stay by us). November 27, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Business Manager Everything was exceptional up until our last day stay. We were on waiting list for last night stay - trip was for a conference. My administrative assistant called Westin Diplomat day 2 days before my arrival and was told there was availability for my last night stay and booked it. At the desk, on my last night I was told I DID NOT have a room, and went through a lot of hassle to get a room for the last night. Unexceptable February 20, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 33 next>>