The Westin Jersey City Newport

  • 479 Washington Boulevard
  • Jersey City,
  • New Jersey
  • 07310
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with a valid ID to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 383 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Past its prime This hotel is in a clear need of an infrastructural - and maybe even a staff - overhaul. I've stayed here twice now and on both occasions I had rooms on the SPG floor with rattling AC vents that keep you up at night (I didn't get the memo on when that became a platinum amenity). Repeated complaints to the front desk didn't get me anywhere - and when I tried to bring this to the manager's attention at checkout, a lady with badge that read her passion was "success" (that should've given me ample warning that this wasn't going to go well) - not so politely informed me that this wasn't worth his time. Oh well. And I was never given the points for opting into "Green choice". This hotel is a bit of a joke June 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place 1st night was by the elevators and was noisy. Second night was at end of hall and very nice. The maid "Sinarta" on the 12th floor was so helpful but better than that, she turned down a tip from me because my wife had already tipped her, and she was sure that I did not know this. In this age who dose that? The hotel is close to the Path train for city visits and the man that runs the car and limo area is first class! It can be a pain that the hotel has no relationship with the food or bar areas but I liked it better when we got points and breakfast a few years ago. Such is life. January 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Westin Jersey City has excellent service. For business purposes, I have stayed at the Westin Jersey City NJ several times over the last several years. It still amazes that Jose (greeter/bag handler) and Tony (bellman) both remember me each time, and supply the most excellent service. Each morning when leaving, Jose is always there with a smile, and ready to open the door, and offer greetings for the day. Tony remembers to ask me about work, and how my athletic workouts are going (not to mention being most complimentary!). This facility is most lucky in having two great employees who help represent "the face" of the hotel. September 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome hotel location & very clean I was very impressed with the facilities. I appreciated the staff's friendliness and how helpful they were. We ate at the restaurant and food was great. June 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff needs improvement This was my first stay at the Westin. My first impressions were great, the hotel was impressive and the room was comfortable. The staff at the desk, however, were not as good as I had expected. I have been a frequent Starwood guest and the staff is often the best part of my stay, this wasn't so with the Westin. When I asked for help, it seemed that I was inconveniencing them or taking away their time. I tried to mail a postcard and I was in a hurry, so I asked that the postage get added to my bill and the lady behind the desk got hostile about it. I have done this many times at the W hotels before and it's never been a problem. This really surprised and disappointed me. I expected better from a Starwood hotel. December 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing stay can't wait to see visit again. Carolina at the front desk was absolutely amazing. Professional, welcoming , answered all my question even made suggestions about the area. Most importantly she was very genuine and caring. Five star for her. A little feedback-Minibar was empty I think since this is your process to have the bar empty guests should be aware. Also, two guest were in the room so I think their should be two bath robs. Valet guys were amazing except for Sunday which is when I checked out- the guys whom w worked the am shift need to watch the verbiage they use as some guest do understand Spanish. June 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easter Weekend Just spend 3 nights at the Westin in Jersey City. Very nice and clean hotel.The room was as expected. As a Platinum member however I am disapointed in the facilities availalbe to Platinum Members. There is no lounge available for members to grab a coffee, pop or even a bottle of cold water, or even access to a Computer etc. There is a Business room, but you have to pay.. The Grab and go bar in the lobby in the morning is not impressive and expensive over 9$ for two coffees and muffins. They were not well organized and seem to have a problem with keeping up with the demand. April 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for business travel comfort This was a great experience. June 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by A major disappointment. I was very excited to stay at this hotel, after reading the reviews of this Westin. Sadly, I was very disappointed with the level of service I received. The staff did not know my status when I checked in and would not correct this at the desk; I had to call the SPG service line to have my status confirmed and my welcome amenity added. N addition, there was a suite available for my entire stay, yet the hotel would not upgrade me despite my request. Beyond this I flu d the room to be nice, but very small considering the price paid. Good, but not good enough for a Westin. February 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff mediocre Met with eye rolls by staff on entrance when asked questions about area when interrupted conversation of staff. Thought that person could have been having a bad day and wanted to see good . Asked for running map as advertised in room service brochure. "no we don't have that" another eye roll and "enjoy your run" outlets that do not work, magnified, mirror lights in the bathroom that do not work and staff in the gift shop that do not accept 20.00 "as we don't have change" on more than two occasions. Very, very disappointing. Honestly confused by any positive feedback. March 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Convenient Business Hotel I recently stayed at this hotel for a conference and found it to be very convenient as far as access to shopping, dining and the airports/train stations of the tri-state area. The one major disappointment was the logistics of taxi service. I was told a cab would arrive at a specified time and provided the rate to Newark Airport. Unfortunately, once I was in the cab I was told that it was not the car that was booked and was quoted a rate 20% above what I expected. I heard the same from other conference attendees. Considering the proximity to Newark Penn and Liberty Int'l Airport I am surprised the hotel doesn't have negotiated rates and a fleet of cars to serve their guests. Particularly at peak rates such as $459/night. May 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome123 My stay at the Westin Newport in Jersey City was amazing. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly. I was most impressed with Debbie Williams who went out of her way to make me happy and comfortable! When I walked into my room I was so excited. The room had views of the city and Freedom Tower. It also had a soaking tub that I loved. I have been a gold elite member for over 10 years and no one has ever taken the time to upgrade me. Debbie is one of a kind! I can't thank her enough for making my stay so enjoyable!!! I will return to this fabulous hotel. November 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do not stay!!! I booked my room under the impression that the room was to have a whirlpool jacuzzi. The reservation people confirmed this so I booked my stay. Upon arrival I went straight to the bathroom to see and it was a regular tub. I immediately called the concierge desk and was told that the tub had small jets. There were no jets at all I explained and I was put on hold for 20 minutes. Long story short they did nothing to rectify the situation and I am very unhappy with my stay. November 11, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great hotel...but service was lacking this time around. I've stayed at this property multiple times and it is indeed a great hotel with superb location. This time however, i was not content with the overall service provided. I had a few issues when calling for service (i.e. valet, to request a food/beverage menu that was not available in my room) as i had to call multiple times or would not get an answer. Upon checking into my room one of the maintenance guys came into the room without knocking which also caught me by surprise. I do recommend the hotel and hopefully the service will be up to par next time around. June 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 21-25 May 2012 Westin Jersey City I always try to pick the Westin brands when traveling because of their reputation for excellence. I have stayed at Westins all over the world...all with exceptional service and quality. The Westin Jersey City has an exceptional staff who went out of their way to ensure my needs were met. I actually left my wallet sitting on the luggage assistance desk with over $200 cash in it, rode away in a taxi, and realized I had left my wallet at the desk. As soon as I returned I was greeted at the door with my wallet - nothing missing. Exceptional visit - I'll be back! May 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It has a great view and good location I chose this hotel because of the great view to Manhattan and its location. It's a perfect option for a quick getaway of Manhattan, it is 15 minutes from downtown Manhattan by cab or 20 minutes by subway, which is a block away from the hotel. To guarantee a good view, you must take the Premium Room, which has also a great view from the bath (it's just a little different from the pictures on the website). I only do NOT recommend the Oak Restaurant next to the reception if you are looking for a gourmet food. Better options around the hotel for the same price. August 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great choice for the area! When staying just outside the city is an option, take it! This hotel keeps you within driving and public transport distance of Manhattan, with 25-30% less cost. This property is excellent. Great rooms, dining options, proximity to NYC and right next to a mall. All of this and the best views of lower Manhattan! The staff is great. I always receive an upgrade, choice of amenities and late checkout. The fitness room is top notch, including the indoor pool. I always make time to take a walk to the adjacent indoor mall. I've used the PATH stop across the street to travel into the city or up to Yankee Stadium. Best of all, it's actually easy to get to all of the airports from here, as well. A great choice that will not disappoint! July 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel has great Location and Concierge service Staff people at the counter very effcient and willing to help. Customer service for SPG was outstanding when i requested an additional room at the last minute, they full fill my expectation. I was not happy with the room service, they did not clean the room well enough and forgot to supply shampoo 2 days in a row. Waitress service at the Breakfast room was very poor, no good manners in servicing and they were not visible at all, they did not set up table properly and i have to reach another tables to get what we need after waiting several minutes. December 29, 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst hotel check in service ever. We were part of a wedding block of rooms. They screwed up everyone's reservations. Gave us wrong rooms and had us going to wrong rooms. Check In process was a joke. The whole system was screwed up. And they were letting other members of our party checkin under my reservation. June 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Bad customer service from Eddie Eddie from front desk (1/11/2013 close to midnight shift) was not friendly at all. It was one of the coldest checkins I have had. He did not even ask me if I wanted the other Platinum Welcome Gift Options. He merely assumed I just wanted the points. I had to come back and ask for the complimentary breakfast. I know I'm staying Cash and Points. But the points I was using was due to my loyal and frequent stays with Starwood. I expect a better quality of customer service. Not the typical SPG and Westin treatment. Nice rooms and facilities though. January 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location I was highly disappointed when we arrived at the hotel and our room was not ready. I had requested early check - in when I originally booked and the operator said it shouldn't be a problem - which is why I booked this hotel. Nonetheless, we got there and the girl at the front desk was unapproachable and insisted I go away and return 2 hours later. Traveling with 2 young kids is difficult and I was saddened that she showed no compassion. Besides that, our room was nice and it had a nice view of New York. Hotel is very close to the holland tunnel July 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Room cleanliness needs improvement Accessible location to Manhattan through the path, yet at affordable rate compared to hotels in Manhattan. Minutes walking to Newport shopping mall if you need to rent a car or grab a bite. However we were surprised dirty bed linens and towels in rooms.furthermore, I requested a waterfront room to celebrate our anniversary and what we got was a room with noisy surrounding sounds from elevator and service door. The view was not impressing at all, the harbor could be only seen from the far corner of the room. Restaurant staff were very friendly May 12, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful experience NIce, clean, friendly staff, excellent wedding setup June 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel. Some room for improvement We stayed at this hotel from January 25-27 2013 while we were in town to see Louis CK on tour. Location is great close to the Path, shopping and dining. The hotel offered great views of Manhattan from across the Hudson. Rooms are exceptionally clean; doesn't have that cleaning products over dirt smell that most hotel rooms have. The lobby however is not condusive the relaxing and surfing the free wifi as there are few seats. Also being in he middle of January the lobby is always cold; they need to do something about the doors or heating I've never experienced that at a hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful with the exception of the concierge. He never smiled or looked at he cared to help you enjoy your stay. I got better help from the doorman. January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Stay I was severly disappointed in my stay last week at this establishment. I travel for a living and do my best to stay in a SPG location everywhere I go. However upon arrival not only did I not get a priority check in, there were no waters in my room, no complimentary internet or breakfast (which is custom) and was not put on a priority level. As a frequent traveler it is the little perks that keep me coming back to stay at your locations however based on this recent stay in Jersey City I have addressed this with my company who............ December 6, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Property, but has a customer service problem I've stayed at the Westin Jersey City several times, including for my own wedding as well as a friend's. Each time I stayed there I felt that have been some the hotel issues with customer service. For example, when you pull up in front of the hotel, there valets just stand there until you get out of the car and walk up to them and I had to go looking for someone to grab my luggage. The hotel does not do much to recognize my SPG Platinum status. No room upgrades even when they are available. Requests to the staff or manager feel like a battle. That said, it is a very nice property and is great alternative to a NYC hotel. It's right next to the PATH to NYC as well. Overall, I would go back, but I think Starwood should look into the service standards here. August 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Greg Schwartz I had a beautiful room and thankful on a snowy day however I checked in around 4:30 and until 8:30 didn't have heat other then the bedroom. I checked out and the woman at the desk was not friendly nor did I dare ask at the time if she could discount the room or maybe split my breakfast cost (something ) with me for the inconvience . I needed to get to work or I would have asked for the manager. I was charged full price+tax and I do believe in good faith and being an SPG member that something should have been done.Thank you January 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by modern tech has not hit this hotel well, it has taken almost 20 minutes to get to the position where i can write this review. Nice hotel, clean, location is fine. the problem is the wireless is useless and if you need to work, not the hotel for you and now not for me, if you do not care or need it, stay here. June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Front desk that understands hospitality D*** at the front desk (upon the platinum concierge's request) had an amenity kit, robe, and had turned up the AC in the room before I arrived (well after midnight due to flight cancellation). Also, surprisingly, the alarm clock did not have the traditional 12:00 flashing on it as I arrived. Amazing that this Westin knows how to set their alarm clocks. Well done folks and thank you. The only suggestion would have been slippers and an extra package of toothpaste. Also, shaver handle is quite brittle and snapped upon opening it. August 11, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service. Overbooked. Had a reservation for 6 weeks in advance for a king bed room. I am a starwood platinum member and have been for at least the past 7 years. Went to check in at 4:00 pm and was told they are overbooked and did not have my room. They put me in a room with two double beds and a birdsey view of the air conditioning system. I asked to speak to the managere and the attendant said he would call me. I never received a call. No water, charged me for internet, etc. I recehcked my reservation and my platinum number was on the reservation. June 23, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>