The Westin Jersey City Newport

  • 479 Washington Boulevard
  • Jersey City,
  • New Jersey
  • 07310
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guest must be 18 years or older with a valid ID to check in.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 321 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peaceful Relaxing Hotel With a Great View of Manhatten This hotel was exceptional in all ways. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The lobby was beautiful. The view of Manhatten was great. The location close to the PATH was perfect! The staff were attentive and personable. They arranged car service for us and were always pleasant and accomodating. Debbie at the front desk was outstanding. She worked with us to make sure we had connecting rooms. She was very persistent in trying to meet our needs. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to another visit in the future! March 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel, just don't ask for directions I enjoyed the hotel, despite my frustration when I asked for directions to the train and was given attitude. I truly recommend Fire & Oak but walking distance to Friday's. The bed & shower where the best, so comfortable. Not many premium tv stations. No ice bucket. The pool and whirl tub was excellent. I was the only one in the pool :-). Staff was good but don't ask for directions you may get an attitude like I received. The Westin is definitely on my list of return hotels and getaways. You will enjoy your stay. March 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staycation We decided to forego the holiday weekend traffic and go somewhere close. We chose the Jersey City Westin because of its amenities and proximity to our home. The hotel is great and the staff is superb. The only reason I can't give it 5stars across the board is because the pool was not heated,and though it was 100 degrees outside, it was much cooler in the area where the pool is. Getting in the freezing cold pool was a test of will. Additionally, the jacuzzi had some weird foam in it when the jets were turned on. July 11, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK but not great... I always expect a great experience at a Westin but the Jersey City location can only rank as good to very good. Room was too warm and unable to be cooled down. The noise from a nearby club was annoying even though we were on the 12th floor. The on site restaurant was spotty in quality -- great lunch one day, mediocre the next (with incredibly slow service). For dinner a 20% tip was tacked on automatically for our table of four...and then we were told we would be unable to charge to our hotel tab. Breakfast in the hotel was very expensive but fine (odd that the same dishes at the other restaurant were less expensive). No concierge to be found. In sum,overall it just didn't feel like a luxury hotel...which is too bad because that's what Westin should be (and has been) all about. December 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel and fantastic calm location to visit NY We had a two double bed room with our kids just before Hurrican Sandy hit. The room and hotel are in very good condition and well maintained. I was surprised for an American hotel to offer double beds, I had assumed we'd get two Kings, but no there were doubles. The room could handle two kings no issues if they had smaller bedside cabinet between the two beds, which was huge. As my wife and I are used to a king, we kept bumping in to each other! Wifi and LAN internet is fast, you can skype without issue, downloads also fast. We chose this as it was a calmer location and less high-rise, yet still only a 10min trip on the PATH train to Manhattan, where you can then catch a subway. It is a very quiet area, which is safe to walk around with your family. Tip: you can get multi trip PATH tickets from the new stand opposite the Newport station (just 3mins walk from hotel), which lowers cost for each journey. We were recommended by PATH staff that the week long pass wasn't value if you only went in and out once per day. These 10 or 30 trip passes can be used by the entire family (under 5s free), so we just bought 10 trip passes one at a time; just "zap" it on the barrier for each person. The checkin in the hotel was okay, but as a SPG Gold member, I wasn't offered an upgrade or my welcome award. It was a quick checkin without waiting though. The housekeeping was poor with respect to replenishing face towels and coffee milk, although the room was clean; bit of a pain to have to ring up for things missing (although when they bring it up, they don't expect a tip). Breakfast is reasonably priced for a hotel, but expensive in my eye. There is a supermarket 10mins way way next to a garage and bathroom shop. We bought croissants etc to keep us going until lunch - the kids loved this. Be careful there are some expensive connivence stores tucked behind the PATH station. We use the hotel's recommend car service, Travel Car Services, for airport transfer from JFK, $120 with tip; we had a larger than normal car both time to accommodate four and suitcases. The pool and fitness centre are very good and when we went down hardly used. Nice to have the pool to yourself. There is an average Mall within 5mins walk, which has a large food hall upstairs, although we didn't try any; typical fast food. We eat a couple of times in the Fire and Oak, the onsite restaurant ; We loved the Humous starter and Parcel 41 wine. If you have burgers or steak, it's very chargrilled, not to our taste. Brandon is a fab server and lovely to have a chat with. In the end we had to leave early to miss the hurricane, which was a shame, but while there we enjoyed our trip. The hotel lists they have 3 and 5mile run routes, but these don't appear to be formal and the "long run" was less than 3miles! I recommend getting out and running as it was great running along the waterfront with the Manhattan skyline as a backdrop. Room Tip: High floor to get view on Manhattan skyline. Even the basic rooms can see it if you go by window. November 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Comfort and Repair status Although you talk about the "heavenly bed" mine was anything but heavenly. I had pillows that had no filling. When I asked for firm pillows someone stuffed 2 pillow/neck rolls into one pillowcase and called it a pillow! I had a terrible nights sleep all 3 nights I was there. In addition the plumbing had issues - sinks that didn't drain, toilets that you had to flush 3 times and then it finally broke altogether and had to request a repair. I would stay there only if there was no where else to stay. January 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by OMG! Best.hotel.in.JC We stayed here for my wedding prep and wedding night. Many of our guests stayed here too. The staff is so excellent. The front desk is so helpful. Concierge, Bell-people, valet, restaurant staff are all amazing. The cleaning people are pleasant, competent and keep the place sparkling. My sister had to stay here for a week or so for the Hurricane and her family (new born baby, toddler and husband) really enjoyed their stay. I was so happy they were safe. Thank you Westin Newport! You're awesome. December 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by AIR CONDITIONING MAINTENANCE POSITIVES: GREAT LOCATION & EASE OF ACCESS TO MANHATTAN. NEGATIVES: 1)WHEN THE AIR CONDITIONING WAS CYCLING ON & OFF IT WAS VERY NOISY. NEEDS TO BE REPAIRED. 2) I'M SURE THE BREAKFAST PRICES ARE IN-LINE WITH OTHER HOTELS BUT STILL THESE ARE WAY OVERPRICED. AS A RESULT WE DIDN'T USE THE HOTEL RESTAUARANT AND USED THE LOCAL "COSI" STORE, WHICH WAS 150 YARDS FROM THE HOTEL. 2 X BAGELS & FRESH COFFEE FOR LESS THAN $10.00. GREAT VALUE, DECOR EXCELLENT & FOOD TASTED TERRIFIC. WITH SO MANY ALTERNATIVE OPTIONS AT THIS LOCATION ESPECIALLY IN THE NEWPORT MALL, I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY HOTEL'S TURN BUSINESS AWAY BY BEING SO UNCOMPETITIVELY PRICED. I LIKE TO STAY IN COMFORTABLE HOTELS BUT WILL NOT PAY INFLATED PRICES FOR FOOD. MANAGERS SHOULD BE GIVEN THE FLEXIBILITY TO TAKE LOCAL COMPETITORS INTO ACCOUNT. May 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Westin Jersey City The facility was beautiful and the staff was extremely helpful. The only dissatisfaction I had was with the views. We upgraded to a deluxe so that we would have a "superior view" as promised by the central booking number, but when we checked in, we found a HUGE high-rise outside our window. The manager was very understanding and moved us to a better view, but it was still frustrating that the views from the rooms and the bar are not anything like the website shows. Other than that, the stay was perfect. The hotel is only about a block away from the PATH station, so getting into the city was easy and fast. The concierge was extremely accommodating, so we always found what we needed. The beds were comfortable, and the room was very clean. I would definitely stay at the Jersey City Westin again. April 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing stay! We were met with smiling faces at the door...greeted with warmth at check-in...and surrounded with beauty in our room. What a fantastic stay. We were here to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. We made our way into New York each day and were given perfect directions and recommendations by all of the staff. The housekeeping was impeccable! The food was outstanding! The staff made my wife's trip a memorable one...and that made me happy too. Thanks for all that you did to make this time special. April 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, especially for dogs I stayed at the Westin in Jersey City over Thanksgiving this year and had a great stay. The staff was very welcoming to both me and my dog. My dog enjoyed her own bed and the staff even brought up dog bowls upon request. I will definitely stay here again. December 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Don't waste your money. This hotel is extremely over priced even for those who live luxurious. I stayed in the Deluxe room and it wasn't worth my time. The wi fi is $10 and an additional $16 for a bit of appeed. Then there was the room service, should be called the robbery service. I ordered a SMALL pitcher of orange juice, smaller than 32oz and 2 cans of sprite for $41 bucks! even a grilled chicken salad was 26. Just to use the ATM they charge you. It's beautiful because they're ripping off the customers. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by It is a good hotel but... This hotel is great in many ways. But the one thing I continue to notice is that the front desk staff attention to detail has gotten worse. Mostly small things but as a frequent traveler they are annoying. December 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would go back again and again 12/21 - 12/25/13: This was my second stay at the Westin Jersey City. Christmas 2012, I brought my two nieces, ages 12 & 13, to NYC for the holidays and stayed at your Westin. I was so impressed with the staff, the comfort of the room and everything else about the hotel, I knew I'd return. I just returned last night from 4 nights in your hotel. I traveled with my son to visit NYC again for the holidays. What a wonderful placed to stay. The staff is very attentive, the room is comfortable but the beds are magnificent!! Heavenly like their name! I slept for 4 nights without waking once during the night, something that rarely happens when travelling. My son felt the very same way. The heated pool is certainly a plus and it's a very nice pool at that. I did go upstairs for a night swim one night before going to bed and a young man was mopping the floor. The sign said the pool was opened until midnight (which I hadn't known beforehand) and it was 11:45. I figured I'd swim a few laps and head back to my room. The young man told me it was closed. I reminded him it didn't close until midnight and I still had 15 minutes. He continued to tell me the pool was closed. I contacted the front desk the next day and they said they would talk to him. I don't know if they did or will, but if the pool is open until midnight, the workers shouldn't be cleaning it until it was closed. That was a small but irritating issue. The only other issue I had this visit (and it wasn't an issue last visit) was an odd smell in my room. It smelled strong and unpleasant, but I couldn't put my finger on what it was. I slept the first night and couldn't take it after that, so I called the front desk. They immediately moved me to another room with no delay. I appreciate when the hotel is that responsive to my concerns. I still smelled that odd smell in this room, but with the A/C on high for a few minutes each time we returned to the room, it was no longer an issue. I would stay at the Westin Jersey City again and again and have already recommended it to a few co-workers that plan to visit New York in 2014. It is in a very nice part of New Jersey, with a mall within walking distance and the PATH transit within a block or two as well. The PATH was a 15 minute ride into downtown NYC for $2.50. Several very good restaurants neaby too. I give the hotel an A!! December 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay and Location Stayed in Jersey City for this business trip. Looked at ALL my options. Including AirBnB. Worked out Westin had a great rate and grabbed the opportunity. Excellent staff, location, and stay. Area is safe, quiet, walkable, close to PATH, a mall, and clean. Will be my hotel of choice when I return. Viera at the Front Desk was the first and last person I saw. She treated me with professional courtesy and ensured my long stay was a pleasant one. September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff As always the Westin didn't disappoint - the room and facilities were great but, what really made my stay 5-star, was the excellant staff. I had a terrible (and scary) taxi driver that didn't know how to get me to the hotel. When I called the hotel for assistance, I was put on the phone with Enrico who, not only gave PERFECT directions, but also insisted staying on the phone with him until I arrived knowing I was terrified for my safety. I will be forever grateful. January 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by An unexpected find I attended a conference at the Newport Westin, disappointed to not be staying in Mid Town Manhattan. To my surprise this hotel is perfectly located. 1/2 block from the PATH line subway you are only 20 min max to 33rd and Avenue of the Americas... where you can catch a subway to anywhere else you need to go. Otherwise, the room was spacious clean and well appointed. The conference facilities were more than adequate. I deducted one star for "staff meeting my needs" only because the front desk staff had told me that a ride to the airport at 7 am on a Saturday morning would be 45 min. It was 12 minutes door to door... I could have slept in another 1/2 hour! Otherwise this hotel was very well managed every staff member from the cleaning staff to the doormen and concierge were welcoming and helpful. The attached restaurant was a delight too. March 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Jersey City Visit 1st time I stayed at this hotel. Very nice and would defintely book again. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience Everything about our visit exceeded our expectations. Jersey City Newport is an exceptional new development, and the Westin Newport is right in the middle of it. There is a 'Path" train station across the street which can drop you in the middle of Manhattan in less than 20 minutes. The hotel is beautiful, but topping that the staff went out of their way to accommodate our every need. This is now our goto hotel when we visit northern NJ. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A place to go during Hurricane Sandy The Westin Jersey City provided us with a place to go for shelter during Hurricane Sandy with my family and our dogs. The hotel was kind and courteous, helpful and caring, and really helped us in a time was both painful and scary. I am eternally grateful for their hospitality, support and care. On another note, I have always received this level of care and service whenever I travel and stay at Westin's around the world. Thank you! November 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly and knowledgeable staff at a great hotel I recently stayed here for a week, and was very pleased with the hotel and the staff. I had business meetings in both Jersey City and Manhattan, so the location was ideal - having the PATH station within walking distance makes it very convenient for crossing the Hudson into NY. I was particularly impressed by Debbie at the front desk, who was friendly, professional and went out of her way to ensure my stay was an enjoyable one. July 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent staff at front desk I appreciated the pre-stay email welcoming our planned stay and offering an upgrade for a reduced cost. Upon check-in we were greeted by "Debbie" and she was wonderful. She went out of her way to accommodate my sister and her requests. She worked to assist my Mom with her room requests. She truly was a stand out and I travel a lot for both business and pleasure. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Birthday Weekend Ever The room was great. I booked it just for the heavenly tub and amazing views and it definitely didnt disappoint. Was checked in by Brittany and I mentioned I was in town for my birthday. She went over and beyond by sending some wine and glasses to the room for me and my boyfriend with a thoughtful handwritten card. It was a greta surprise and really made me feel great. Will defintely come back to visit again! December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding Summary of my experience here over two different stays: Very clean, very nice Westin hotel. Immediate spg recognition. Upgraded to an absolutely beautiful corner King room with a HUGE bathroom with two sinks, shower, and very large bathtub. Very nice meeting facilities. HD television had an HD signal (not always the case). Extremely comfortable bed. Excellent restaurant, as good as they get in a hotel. March 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Just amazing. Great staff. Great Location. November 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thank you I would like to thank the staff at the Westin in Jersey City for their professionalism, attention to detail and for going out of their way to meet my needs. Your supervisor, your front desk personnel, and your door man are especially guest-friendly and extremely helpful in making my business travel experience easier and less painful! October 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Hotel Property For the frequent business traveler going through NYC for any reason, the Westin is a great choice. I spend as much time here as any hotel in the area and they never disappoint. On my most recent trip they upgraded me to a suite and provided a food voucher for breakfast. The staff is courteous and considerate in all matters. The steak house is great and its close to the mall and PATH station. June 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by winning stay CHECK IN WAS EFFICIENT AND QUICK - NO NEEDLESS WAITING. STAFF WERE FRIENDLY AND COURTEOUS AND SMILED A LOT WHICH IS SOMETHING I DON'T SEE VERY OFTEN IN THE MAJOR CITIES. FITNESS CENTER MET ALL MY NEEDS AND THEN SOME. THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THE LACK OF LOBBY SEATING IN THE MORNING WHEN PART OF THE LOBBY IS TAKEN OVER FOR THE BREAKFAST CROWD. ONE SOFA AND TWO CHAIRS WAS FOR A HOTEL THIS SIZE........ September 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel, great location If you are looking for an alternative to staying in NYC, this hotel is perfect! The rooms are what you would expect from a Westin, well appointed and comfortable. The Path is 2 blocks away for quick (15 minutes) access to Manhattan. I don't know what other reviewers were complaining about, the service I recieved was polite, courteous, helpful and professional. I would definitely stay again. December 1, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Total Relaxation The room was excellent however I made this reservation for a relative who moved back to the states and put his name on it so there wouldn't be any problem at check in. Instead our family was told that their name wasn't mentioned and that they need to make sure they do it next time. I was disappointed in the check in process for my family. Other than that the room was excellent! July 20, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>