The Westin Excelsior, Rome

  • Via Vittorio Veneto 125
  • Rome,
  • 00187
  • Italy
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Note: At this hotel guests 12 and under are considered children. Please adjust the number of adults and children as needed.
Please see room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Family Plan Policy

Children who are 12 or younger sleep for free in the existing bedding of a room shared with a paying adult. Rollaways, child rollaways and cribs may incur extra charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 270 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable hotel Most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. Staff friendly and helpful without exception. Location excellent. Only slight criticism, breakfast probably rather pricey for what you get. October 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great family trip Very nice hotel and staff. Perfect location. Was able to walk almost everywhere. Don't expect great american style breakfasts in Europe. We had some loud neighbors up until 4am on the balcony next to ours on our last night. I notified the the front desk upon checkout and was hoping for some compensation (usually get some points back under these circumstances) but didn't get any. October 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by good location I would not recommend this hotel due to lack of input from check in desk. I was not advised of any amenities which were included in my stay. October 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rome Excelsior Very Poor quality in the hotel, rooms are shabby at best October 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great old pricey hotel This is an older Westin, in need of refurbishment. However, for an older hotel it is in good condition. I used my SNA's and upgraded to a Grande Suite - which was huge. The main bedroom is gigantic, although sparsely furnished. The bathroom was also large with separate shower/tub. The separate living room had a small couch, chairs, table and TV. There is a work desk with 2 outlets but these are the only outlets. There are no outlets near the bed (fror your phone, ipod, etc.). And weirdly, there is no clock in the room. I suppose they just want you to guess the time. Service was top notch all the way around, from the front desk to the concierge. Weirdly, there was no free water offered. However after discussions with the front desk, It turns out your are allowed to take one water from the mini bar daily. But there is no sign, and in fact the only sign I could find states you must pay 6EUR for it. I imagine when you're done guessing the time you can start guessing about the water. The property participates in Green Choice and as a Platinum member you can redeem your amenity for the full breakfast buffet. However the buffet is only average (but with a few tweaks they could really improve it). They have fresh fruit and sometimes an omelette station (the station was only available on 2 of the 3 days I was there). Why it's not avail daily is beyond me. The only hard boiled eggs they have are "tea' boiled which taste weird to me. Regular hard boled eggs please! And they have fried potatoes - but they are served in a tin which makes them soggy fried potatoes. Please learn out to serve these crispy and warm. The hotel has no lounge and although they have a bar, they do not provide Platinums any drinks at it. The location is right next to the US Embassy - which is in a very wealthy part of Rome. As such, all the food in the area is very expensive. If you're on a budget, you'll need to walk a ways to get to reasonable priced fare. However aside from this the location is beautiful and safe, which is a plus. You can walk to this hotel from the Termini in about 20 min. They have a business center where you can print and use the web. And a wonderfully fully equipped gym. I'd recommend the Westin as a place to stay if you're in Rome - although I'd add the word "highly" before recommend if they fixed the issues described herein. October 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible service We used jpmorgan corp contract to stay at your place. We found only one main guy was cheerful, helpful and polite but the rest was terrible actually i heve never seen such this rude hotel guys and we got so disappointed, moreover i feel offended. Hence I decided to report globally publicly in Internet site as well what I felt on this hotel.as I wasted my money and precious time of our honeymoon. 1)No greetings from front guys When we come inside or go out side, concierge were talking each other and do not even see guests.not only front guys, but also other guys didn't respond when we said hello. Even though theyb replied to other ppl. This is Unbelivable shocking incident. 2)No hospitality They never take action from their side. We were waiting in the line to ask something to them and one of them finished his job but unbelievably he started to chat with colleague and ignore our existence. When I asked where to eat breakfast on he first day he just pointed out the direction with finger without saying anything. There was no guide to our room after check-in. When I asked the start time of Vatican main place, he said only "10am". We were so skeptical so checking detail with him. It turnrd out to be, Our destination is called church and opens at 7am.He angrily said, it depends on the place!! If he name himself concierge, he should have explain everything in the first place before being irritated at customer. 3)Attitude difference due to guests They welcomed some of ppl before us but when we walk inside they didn't even see us. 4)dirty changing room which refrain us from spa massage. We wanted to have spa massage but we were so skeptical on you due to the things above.we walked around gym area to check the status. 5) I left my laundry bag on the bed with memo, pls take this laundry, which was not picked up by room keeper till night we came back. I asked them to finish it up by 9am next morning as we have to leave on the day.but no one send it to us or say anything till I called the concierge desk at 10am. Furthermore I asked him to get back to me right away to tell me the laundry situation, which was never got back.and in needed to call again to feel you are irritated,,, I asked concierge to pick up our luggage soon as we want to check out in 10min.No one came to pick up and we did it by ourselves. I strongly hope one day you will re-consider the way you do now and no one feel disappointed. October 11, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Romantic weekend gone bad The hotel was overbooked so we were given a suite which we soon found out had a problem with the hot water. We had booked spa appointments for each night of our stay, same therapy for both of us. We decided to use their pool first which was cold and inhospitable instead we ended up waiting for the 2nd therapist to arrive. After the massage my wife came out frustrated as there was nothing ritualistic about the tranquility ritual she booked. I received the full ritual scrub massage etc. she was taken to a make shift room which should have been a closet that had the double emergency door leading out of the gym and was given the worst massage of her life with no ritual whatsoever. Needless to say we cancelled our remaining appointments. This hotel is in need of a serious renovation and the staff given a course in hospitality. Overall not an SPG experience I would like to remember. October 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Forget customer service My wife & daughter stayed @ Westin Excelsior Rome 4 yrs ago & had pleasant stay. We made King Grandluxe reservations in 05-13. When we got to hotel in Sep 2013 we checked in, got our key & when showed room it was a double Grandluxe. We were told it would take "hours" to get king. Shower leaked, TV broken, security hasp on door missing. Staff was rude, indifferent & room service & food horrible. Stay away! October 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Business Traveller The Excelsior is placed in good location, decor is opulent and traditional Italian, beds very comfortable and room fascilities mostly good (more power sockets would be advisable). Overall, a nice place to stay at for business or pleasure. October 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very comfortable hotel in the middle of Rome Very nice hotel in the middle of Rome, near to the best shops and historical sites. Metro stations nearby. Comfortable rooms. Good breakfast and very nice staff. September 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by When in Rome... ...stay at the Westin Excelsior. The location on Via Veneto is perfect. Short walks or even a short cab ride to everything you could want to see, do or eat! The staff is friendly and engaging. They did amazing things for my wife and I to make our stay enjoyable, comfortable and stimulating. September 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our favorite among many great hotels on a long European trip Our stay began with a warm welcome from the front desk staff, an upgrade to a wonderful suite and accommodations that could not have been more perfect. September 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Platinum Recognition Yes, they upgraded me to their huge over 800 square feet Grand Deluxe Suite and free champagne and the whole 9 yards.... But something was just missing...I don't know what it is...But the atmosphere felt quite cold. Don't get me wrong, the staffs were cordial and professional...but I don't know, to me I felt like just a number or something like that. And for a category 6 hotel, using the typical westin bathroom products.....hmmmmmm (odd).....Other Starwood Category 6 hotels use Hermes, Molton Brown, or Bulgari as their batheroom products.... This one....the typical green Westin stuff....like come on..... really good room service food though, and cheap wine and cheap mini bar prices...It was just not impressive or up to my standards....Still recommend it however if you get a good deal. But definitely not a place to spend a romantic getaway with my boyfriend after spending so many nights at other Starwood luxury collection hotels if Europe.... FYI, they DID brought me FREE birthday cake and FREE champagne to celebrate our 1 year anniversary with my boyfriend. Just not too impressed with the typical westin bathroom products..... September 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel is located in the Heart of Rome Westin Excelsior Rome is The Hotel where everybody should stay while visiting Rome. The location is perfect. The Athmosphere is luxurious and the Hospitality superb. The Rooms with view are unforgettable. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Beautiful room. Excellent amenities. Accommodating friendly staff. Loved our visit. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT AMBIANCE, WITH GOOD HOSPITALITY GREAT AMBIANCE, WITH GOOD HOSPITALITY... Welcoming team at the reception, great assistance from the concierge, in pursuing my lost baggage. September 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Stay Great location, beautiful and spacious rooms with an attentive staff. Would stay here again. September 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent experience Stayed only one night using starpoints. Would recommend this hotel to anyone - staff at check in desk was extremely helpful and spoke fluent English. Rooms very comfortable, exceeding Westin standards. Within walking distance to metro and close to all the sights in central Rome. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Experience Our visit to the hotel far exceeded our expectations and really was a great way to end our vacation. The rooms were spacious and well appointed, the staff were professional and helpful, and facilities were very polished. The staff treated us as though were part of their family, especially Maria! August 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel, some low points. Have had several stays, nice property. Let down by the breakfast room staff, good luck getting eggs in a timely manner. Wifi dreadfully slow. August 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Westin Ever I've been stayed at this Westin many times. And I am sure that it is the best Westin. Awesome rooms, delicious food, friendly staff and gr8 SPG recognition . August 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by FRONT DESK RICARDO Ricardo at the front desk made our experience comfortable. My family really appreciated his attention to detail, professionalism and kindness. Thank you. August 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel It is a very nice hotel and has a great restaurant.Needs to spend some money to make it 5 star. August 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Service above and beyond We travelled with numerous luggage and the staff went above and beyond to ensure our upmost comfort in the transfer from the hotel to the train at Termini. Definitely the Grand Hotel. August 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old but still Grand Excellent SPG recognition upon check-in. Upgraded without having to ask. Room was wonderful. Personal touches excellent. Service excellent from check in staff to breakfast staff. Location convenient to Spanish steps. August 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay Our stay was wonderful. Staff was very helpful. I used the spa and was fabulous!!! August 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Hotel: location, property and staff Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights with family. Great location, close to attractions, easy to get taxis, close to subway. Staff is very helpful and service oriented. Property was very nice-a little dated-but still very nice. The only thing to avoid are the restaurants close by which are mostly tourist traps. Recommend going a little further away to get more authentic food experience. Will definitely go back on next visit to Rome. August 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Outdatedand service needs improvement As usual for Westin hotels a very comfortable bed, good room and good location. breakfast is disappointing. one day at the restaurant, two days at a conference room. quality of breakfast is poor and service lacks. many employees but no one takes responibility, slow and on 2 days some of the staff take the freedom to put their hands into their pants - might question the hygenical standard! August 4, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 First hotel in Rome ? Nice Excelsior The hotel located in the Via Veneto area which is very prestige and classic. The suite is beautiful with balcony and classic details but keep in mind service may not up to the 5 stars standard as they really need more staff to make guests a little more attentive. July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT What an elegant hotel. The staff were professional, helpful and very friendly. We were extremely impressed with the level of service. The restaurant was excellent and a very good value. The Westin is the perfect choice for a perfect vacation in Rome July 23, 2013
  • 2015-04-16T19:04:59.312-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-5, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_270, tr_270
  • loc_en_US, sid_70, prod, sort_default
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>