The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

  • 71333 Dinah Shore Drive
  • Rancho Mirage,
  • California
  • 92270
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.3 out of 5 by 266 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Staff lacks training Horrible experience from the day we checked in to the last day at breakfast. Front desk not very welcoming. Hotel was 100% committed but no excused to rush us as a cattle. Not welcoming at all. No one seemed willing to take the extra step listen to guest concerns, we were left to endure. Asked for the front office manager (not supervisor) to contact me twice never received a call back. The Italian restaurant was over priced and horrible food. The waiter apologized and comped our dinner that we did not eat, even-though we asked for not salt in our food it was PURE SALT. It took me four visits to get 4pm check out. I had to bring my I-Pad to the front desk, so the staff stop lying to me about the availability. Asked the pool attended to help us with the umbrella that was broken. Told me he would try to contact engineering but would not promise any results. No one came to assist us. Twice my towels were removed from my pool chair by the pool attendant while i was in the water. Every Breakfast Arturo cooked our omelets with the incorrect ingredients even though it was written down. Arturo was nice though!!!! As a Starwood Platinum would expect better service, at least from the front desk. The front office supervisors who sits opposite to front desks are worthless, Erik should be dismissed!!! Sad week at the Westin!!!! April 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poorly managed Numerous roaches and spider webs on the exterior of the buildings along with cracked sidewalks were the first indication of poor maintenance. Black mold in the bathroom and chipped calking didn't help improve our impression of a "resort" that either does not hire enough people or has stopped investing in upkeep. The worn, dirty, and threadbare sofas and chairs in the rooms and public area are depressing. At "Pinzmini" the main dinning area, the portions are skimpy and over-priced. A chicken sandwich got lost on a large white plate with 8, yes 8 tiny picked veggies. The worst impression was the last impression. I inquired about the special promotion package offered of 3 nights and 4 days for $395. I can only assume that the Concierge earns a commission each time a guest enrolls. It is the first time anyone on the staff lied to me. When I was handed the form I was repeatedly told what a great deal it was. She briefly touched on that there would be a short introductory meeting. When I read the fine print, and I do mean fine since it was printed in 6pt type and light grey ink, making it difficult to read without glasses, I saw that everyone had to attend a 90 minute meeting, make a minimum of $75,000 a year, and own a home. Why the subterfuge? The only nice thing about our stay was the service staff. The waiters were great and so was the front desk. May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful facility - terrible wifi Beautiful setting, beautiful rooms, great staff. Two problems: one minor, one major. The minor problem is the lack of any lower cost options for a quick meal. All the restaurants are relatively pricey espcially if all you want is a light lunch or dinner. The MAJOR problem is the totally unreliable, unstable and often unuseable internet. I spent 30 minutes on the phone with their provider's tech support who couldn't find a way to boost the signal to the point I could reliably receive email much less get any work done. For this reason alone I would not return to the property unless I wanted to be completely cut off from the world. October 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not really quality Upon arriving, our room had cob webs, the light above the desk table was broken,the stopper in one of the sinks was broken and no tissues in room. Then, went looking for ice-one machine per building-and the one in our building was broken. When I tried to tell a maintenance worker, he didn't speak English! My Spanish was I guess good enough to get through, as he pointed to the next building, and after searching the whole first floor there, I found it. The small ice bucket was only big enough for about 3 or 4 glasses worth and I didn't want to get out in the cold again for another search, so didn't have ice. There was no room service menus in the room and only one restaurant (Italian) and a bar in the hotel-took a shuttle over to the Westin Villas for a sandwich the first day, then had to go looking for a restaurant on Christmas eve. Everything closed but found a hamburger restaurant a couple of miles away. I decided to try the Spa. The people were quality, -very nice and friendly-but not the facility. As with the rooms, they needed better planning and updating Both the men and women used the same "quiet room" . It was located in the hallway anyone using the hot tub facilities outside had to walk through. The quiet room obviously wasn't quiet. The locker rooms were old looking and I didn't want to take a shower there.-went back to the room. All in all the stay was a disappointing experience December 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Time and helpful staff I am a Platinum SPG, and stayed there for a night with my 7 year old daughter after taking her to the BNP paribas tennis open. After a full day of watching tennins, we were exhausted and settled into our comfortable room. My daughter had a great time at the pool and made friends with many kids at the family friendly resort. When we checked out, we realised she had left a book from her school libraryin the room. I called back the next day and a day later, they called me back and mailed the book back. My daughter was very happy and so am I. Good Serivce everyone and especailly the gentleman at lost and found who noted down the title and hunted it down! April 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by If we only had towels We had a two bedroom suite which was lovely. Yet we never had enough towels and on one day had none called the desk and 40 minutes and three calls later they arrived . It is that little detail and things similar that mar the wonderful facility. The staff try hard and the breakfast buffet was wonderful ; yet the poolside menu is very limited and when to for a week you may have one sale choice and a few other items. Note the food is reasonable and the facility just great. But the details from housekeeping are important to those of us that stay here. I like the property have stayed before and Bruno at the desk and his staff work hard to satisfy needs. I will come back but the overall service needs to be improved as noted. January 2, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unacceptable Service. Most disappointing Westin I have been too. But first let me say that I have read the 5 and 4 star reviews here and I agree that this place probably provides great experiences at some point but In my opinion, in order to truly be a 5 Star Resort you need to be 5 Stars all the time. We pulled up to the valet and found it abandoned - it was like a ghost town. We figured someone would show up eventually and so we unpacked the car...after 5 minutes I decided to go and let them know and check-in. I was offered apologies and they sent someone out. The nice girl at the front desk did provide complimentary champagne and chocolate strawberries for our anniversary. I figured at this point that I could let the ghost town valet first impression go. When we returned to the Valet, they didn't offer to valet our car and take us to our room - he just asked if I wanted directions? I thought it was odd but we again settled and drove to the room. And then we got lost because the nice girl at the front gave us terrible directions! Why would we want to park in a lot that has a pool between our car and our room? Long walk with luggage? 100 degrees? No? Room was on the golf course and as expected for Westin. Good sized too with a love seat, coffee table and reading area. We became optimistic again and decided to eat at Pinzimini, the hotel's italian restaurant. I like the menu - plenty of new things to try. My wife had a salad and I had the Prix Fixe with Bruschetta, a lovely pizza with a sunny side egg and prosciutto! And then topped of with tira misu. Service was good but I did notice it was slow and the servers would congregate in a group in the middle of the restaurant and I thought it unprofessional and tacky. Food was good and our server was great but I don't get the idea that anyone takes there job seriously here so far. I golf the next morning and you have to play here! I will write a separate review on the course in detail but I enjoyed it - definitely the highlight of my stay. After I golfed my wife and I retreated to the Pool for the day and ordered some food and drinks. My wife modified her order slightly and the server wrote down and said no problem - yah right. It was exactly like the menu and as if the chef couldn't read. So I ate my meal and my wife watched until our server had it fixed. The first time someone here went out of their way to course correct here was Ryan our server. He offered a free drink for the inconvenience and was especially attentive and thankful for our patience. Great job Ryan - we appreciated your hard work. Now the prices are crazy at the pool and not Ryan's fault - we spent like $100!!! For two entrees a few cocktails and a bucket of beer... We woke up the next morning after a great night at El Paseo and walked for coffee at the market they have on site - cool little place with reasonable prices. Upon returning, our room keys didn't work so we walked back to the front desk- mildly irritated. The girl working the desk was oblivious and unapologetic for our inconvenience and got us new keys. We got back to the room and STILL the keys didn't work...so I called from my cellphone and let the front desk know. They said they would send someone right away (that means 20 minutes and two phone calls BTW). My second phone call at the 12 minute mark was not so nice but the girl on the other end was not either as all she had to say was "i have ready sent someone sir". Security shows up with their master key - assuming that we are incompetent and doesn't bring any equipment. He also asked us if we left the slider unlocked - further proof he thinks we are stupid. We would have opened the door ourselves Einstein... So the battery was dead on our door lock and I have received no call from anyone who gives a damn if we are upset or not after we made it clear we weren't. You should be ashamed Westin Mission Hills. I spent nearly a thousand dollars here and I got a motel quality experience. So glad we are leaving - keep your 3 pm check out and get me outta' here September 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff at Italian Resteraunt The wait staff at the new Italian resteraunt was exceptional! Sadly, the food at this resteraunt was VERY disappointing. We had 10 people and a very high bill. None of the adults enjoyed our expensive meals. The pork chop had no flavor and was way over cooked. The sea food pasta was also disappointing; not enough high quality seafood for the high price. The bread however was delicious. The workers at the Villa Pools were very friendly and helpful! We were VERY VERY VERY disappointed that the main pool water slides were not available to use. We came to your hotel to use that pool near the arcade, so that the kids could go to and from the arcade and pool. March 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful Experience w/ only a very few glitches Heather at check-in was very nice and professional. The Restaurant staff was superb - very attentive and personable. The three breakfasts were perfect. We did not play golf but the golf course is beautifully kept. Housekeeping made three blunders that directly affected our overall rating: 1) Slice of pizza and a pear in refrigerator when we first got in the room. 2) On the second day of our stay a wet, dirty cleaning towel was left on top of our suitcase. 3) Several times during our stay there were full garbage bags left right outside of our door. We mentioned it to employees in golf carts and the bags were picked up, but a dirty coffee cup was left behind. It stayed there until I moved it near a garbage can. December 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent doesn't even begin to describe it! My husband and I stayed here for a few days after our wedding. Check-in was a breeze with beyond courteous staff. Room was clean and was even ready for us a little early. Room service came within the time they told us and everything was delicious. Only negative is when we called for some extra towels it took an abnormally long time to get them. Two hours after calling my husband had to go to the front desk and again request the towels. They said they would have some sent right over to our room but even that took another hour. But all in all that's a small issue compared to all the positives this resort has. And on a side note, the restaurants on site are delicious! February 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay I have always been pleased with the service I receive from Westin Hotels & Resorts. On this occasion however, the professionalism, friendliness and attentiveness exceeded my expectations. We celebrated our wedding anniversary at the hotel and the lady who greeted us arranged for a bottle of champagne to be delivered to our room whilst we were at dinner in the restaurant. It certainly made us feel incredibly special. Regards Michel January 12, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love this resort This is one of our favorite places to stay! A high quality resort that is family friendly. The pool and game staff made our stay very enjoyable. Jose Luis, luis, and the other restaurant staff made us feel like we were the only guests, or at least their favorites! Our only problem was housekeeping. I am not sure if they were short staff due to occupancy rate or if it was caused by our own crazy schedule but our room was not cleaned at all one day and I had to call twice to get it cleaned another day. Then housekeeping knocked on our door when we had the do not disturb sign out, to check our mini bar??? Overall we loved the staff and cant wait to get back there as soon as possible! July 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by not happy I lost my necklace after taking a facial with mindy it was a very costly and sentimental piece a sapphire and diamond seahorse I asked to see mindy who did my facial but they said I could not go into the room to look or see her. They said she was with another client I went back and then they said she was at lunch. She never came out or called to say she was sorry she insisted I take it off when I told her I never do that and she put it back on me obviously not too carefully because when went back to my room and looked in the mirror it was gone I went and searched with others and told the lost and found and the front desk. In addition there was a cockaroach in the waiting room of the spa and the phone in our room never worked despite numerous calls to them on my cell about ti not working. I will never stay there again. Maxine Landis December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This resort truly feels like a resort. We love the grounds and the fact that everything is tied together with the walkway. Grandchildren love bike riding and we are encouraged to get out and walk. Swimming/ slides are always fun... although we would like to see more monitoring of children who run, pull on volleyball net, abuse pool table, etc. Tennis courts are nicely maintained, but we do resent having to pay $20 to use them ! Patio at the Vista restaurant makes an ideal breakfast and service was outstanding. Holiday tree lighting ceremony was delightful ! All in all, we love Westin at RM and will return next year. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, great layout, watch for peak periods We decided to stay at the Westin Mission Hills for several reasons: close to Los Angeles area (home), great property layout (plenty of walking paths) and because of all the Westin brand stands for. The room was good, super clean and the restaurant, bar and cleaning staff were awesome. So awesome that we stayed an extra night. Watch for peak periods (the weekend we stayed was full). We had a full size, upgrade, but when when I changed to come a day later, we lost both. Calling reservations during peak periods resulted in a 20-30 minute wait time. Overall, a good experience. March 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Getaway This is a review from a stay a few years ago, but I've had relatives stay here more recently who tell me not much has changed. Take it with a (stale?) grain of salt, though. Stayed 2 nights on a long weekend with Gold status (before Plat). We were upgraded to a golf course view room, very nice. Not sure what they give Plats here. Hotel has absolutely beautiful grounds. Great for walking around. Excellent pool, though we were disappointed that our then almost 4 year old was not allowed to use the water slide, even with me holding him. Kids Club was OK, but they do not take drop-offs, so of limited utility. Resorts really need to take drop-offs if they want their kids club to mean anything to parents looking for a bit of a break. This, I believe, is a Westin-wide thing, not unique to this property. Those things aside, it's definitely a kid-friendly resort. Each restaurant we went to was great with the kid, never a sideways glance, even at the "nice" place for dinner one night. A bit far from Palm Springs proper. Resort fee is outrageous, but it is what it is. January 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great view This hotel has a great view and walking area. Staff is very friendly and he Helpful. December 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Golf Getaway I really enjoy coming to the Westin Mission Hills for it's golf courses. The summer golf packages are a very good deal. Usually I sign up for the unlimited golf and play more than 18 holes each day. This time we did the play after 10:00 AM deal, which is a little less expensive. The only drawback is the checkout time for the last day. It conflicts with playing after 10AM. If you can't get a late checkout, you either have to curtail the last round of golf, or find another way to clean up after finishing your round of golf. The hotel's suggestion? Pay to use the clubhouse shower. I also recommend asking the hotel/golf pro shop, what the conditions are on the courses ,(driving range open, greens sanded, etc). It might make a difference as to which day you play which course. August 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Comfortable/Affordable/Caring Staff Upon our arrival, my girlfriend and I checked in, went to our room, and found the room to be unclean. Looked as if the bed had just been slept in. So we called front desk and went back and we got another room. Turns out the bed just didn't get made all the way after cleaning. Whew! Not even 30 seconds of entering our room, 2 staff came in and gave us coronas on ice, chips, salsa and guacamole. Now I thought that was great customer service. We all make mistakes, but it's about how you handle it and rebound from it that really matters. They turned an small inconvenience into something special for my friend in me. I can't wait to go back. Also, the restaurants and amenities are amazing!!! The adult pool is where it's at. However, they do have kiddie pools w/ slides. Will come back. September 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs upgrading Recently attended a 3 day conference here and was somewhat disappointed. Service was outstanding; however, the golf course and 2 of the restaurants were shut down for work. My room was in need of some upgrading, carpet was soiled, TV was outdated with analog and spotty reception, toilet did not flush property, etc. Additionally, I was not impressed with the quality of food, whether for room service or during the conference in meetings. There are other property/resorts in Palm Springs that I would recommend. October 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by labor day family getaway My family and I had a wonderful time at this resort during our stay, staff are very friendly and very professional. Everything went well for us but I lost my bracelet at the resort at the Villa pool with the slide. Contacted security, he told us nothing was turned in. Hoping that some one will turn it in to lost and found because that was a father's day gift from my kids. I will definitely recommend my friends and family to stay at this resort because it's very family friendly atmosphere. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by clean,beautiful,great staff, great food Love the staff. Erick greeted us and answered many questions, even made sure we got a welcome bowl of fruit after we forgot to check in for our welcome! He was incredibly welcoming and thoughtful our entire stay. When i lost valuable medical items i callwd a week later and Jose at front desk hunted the room and housekeeping till he found my stuff with patty in security who is so sweet! She kept every little item I left. Anyway beyond the amazing vaca experience, I loved the staff. Loyal guest. July 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely resort The property is fun for adults and kids, with shuttle drivers asking if we needed rides even when we wanted to walk. One improvement could be shuttle service to the airport. I asked for a cab to go to the airport early in the morning and while the car was prompt, it was a car service which cost me much more than a cab would have at the hour I was travelling --4:30 am. At that point I didn't have a choice and had to pay, but you really should book the mode of transportation that is requested. March 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by nice... but.... Nice overall, but getting tired and frayed around the edges. Food trays. etc sitting around the courtyards for many hours after customers have eaten in their rooms. One morning the staff must have come and gone two dozens times from the room adjacent to us and BANGED the door every time; this started before we got up,and beyond our exit an hour later. This is supposed to be an oasis of rest and revitalization!?! Not in my experience. The whole banging door episode is totally inexcusable. May 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Last minute stay My family and I made last minute plans to use some SPG points for a stay here at the Westin Mission Hills Resort. This was our second visit to this resort after many years. Overall, we had a great time though we didn't get a chance to use the fitness center or spa. My only complaint is that the hotel doesn't allow you to connect any devices to the HDMI port on the back of the TV. They actually disabled the capability so that you don't see anything on the screen if you try to use HDMI. November 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 Not real happy about the new lobby bar menu Dear Westin Mission Hills, My wife and I are frequent guests of the lobby bar, now called the Fireside Bar. We are residents of Rancho Mirage and enjoy sitting outside enjoying the grounds and having a bite and a couple of cocktails. We love the atmosphere and the staff, however the new bar menu is not very impressive. Not only is it more limited than it used to be, the selections are rather odd for a golf resort. We really enjoyed the previous menu, tacos, sliders, salads etc. The new menu looks like it is trying to be sophisticated, but it is not coming off that way. The food is just not good value anymore. I would not recomend this menu to are neighbors. Please bring back some of the old menu items and let the atmosphere of the resort speak for itself. Concerned guest, Matt Huddleston Rancho Mirage November 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury R&R My wife and I spent a few days here after a three week stay with our grandchildren. We needed a rest. This was heaven. The staff were uniformly welcoming and helpful, the room spacious and comfortable and the surroundings pristine. One small criticism was that the new Italian style restaurant still has some bedding in to do. The menu was a little too short for my liking, and the Bolognese sauce needs attention. But the staff were great and responded appropriately to my comments. November 23, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort With Great Golf Rooms were spacious and very nice, had a balcony and was able to walk right out to the water feature outside my room. Golf was great, the best i have ever seen that course look! December 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by “ANOTHER GREAT WEEKEND!!” “ANOTHER GREAT WEEKEND!!” My family and I stayed at the Westin Mission Hills this past Memorial Day weekend and had a great time! Thanks to Bruno and Alejandra for making our "check in" on Friday a welcoming experience! Bruno ALWAYS makes our stay an enjoyable one - what great service - thanks again Bruno and Alejandra! We loved the breakfast buffet at the Pinzimini Restaurant - great food and great service! I would like to commend Carlos for his exceptional service. Carlos was always there to keep our coffee and juice filled up - always smiling! It definitely shows that he enjoys what he does. Muchas gracias Carlos for taking care of me and my family. We look forward to visiting your beautiful resort in August - can't wait. Thank you so much for another great weekend! Stayed May 2013, traveled with family May 30, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful staff Every staff member we encountered was engaging and friendly. Ricardo, Jorge, Manny, Cameron, Cecilia everyone. Bravo. December 13, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 next>>