The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 499 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our place! We stay every year for our anniversary. Will be back again for the big 20th next year!! February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff + Location = Perfection! We checked in with our kids and Phil helped us with our luggage to our room. He was so friendly and knew a lot about the area. The valet was a little slow, but they were very nice. Alex sent us wine and treats for our kids which was very thoughtful! Also he said he upgraded us and our room had a beautiful view and was pretty large. This is definitely where we are staying for the future!!!!!! April 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful wedding weekend My husband and i were recently married at the Westin on Michigan avenue and the entire weekend couldn't have been smoother (except maybe having the elevators run a little quicker!). Our wedding was perfect from beginning to end. Any issues that arose (and they were minor) were taken care of. We used both the Chicago ballroom and the Michigan ballroom and both were lovely. We got a suite and I was able to get into it on Friday night which was a great space for all the girls to get ready in and though it was the cubs room, my now husband, and avid Brewer fan, was impressed as well. It was a perfect weekend and I couldn't imagine having a more perfect wedding. March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Like the beds, HAVENLY! With Tommy, the doorman, providing such a warm welcome, to Leonard's quick and pleasant check-in, our introduction to the Michigan Ave Westin was great. This, our 1st trip to Chicago, was for a family Wedding in January.and the hotel was in a perfect location for all the festivities. The well trained staff at The Grill provided us a chance to unwind from our travel day while offering a nice wine list and a nicely rounded menu. All the staff we encountered were so accommodating, from extra waters for the room to helping us get into the Business Center on Sunday morning. Thank you all at the Westin for assisting in making this the perfect family get-together. January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Housekeeping service I called service express to request for extra creamer and sugar because the one provided in the room has molds. It got molds due to one of the creamer was opened for sometime, I guessed. For about 20 mins, it didn't arrived. I called again to follow-up. It took about more than 15 mins before it arrived. But we are already about to leave, so I just told the housekeeper, never mind. Is this the Service express you mentioned in your phone? January 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing We did not arrive until 6pm, yet our room was not ready. It didn't matter that our reservation was part of a room block for a wedding, nor that I am a Starwood Resorts member, OR that we had a rehearsal dinner to attend in an hour. We did not receive notice that the room was ready until after we were at the dinner. When we got to our room later that night, it was not on the members floor and was smaller than a non-member whose room we visited. The hospitality gift from our wedding host was not delivered until we asked for it. We did not have our pillow preferences, nor was there coffee in the room. We used the green hang tag, but did not receive credit for that. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff is hot and cold The concierge Douglas was really rude and snooty and not helpful at all. Conversely there was a very nice asian lady who helped us and was warm and professional. The security was uptight and too rude. I was a guest in the hotel as well as some high profile guests who, I guess warranted treating the other guest like second class citizens. I would never bother another guest and the security over reacted. We had a "Brunch" which was little more than a crappy banquet breakfaast that they ran out of food and I got one small cup of cofee. The worst banquet experience ever. The doorman Keith was awesome and helpful as was Yvonne. July 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extraordinary Service & Accomodations! I am a very frequent traveler and prefer the Starwood program because of its benefits over competitive programs. On this trip, I used points and was entertaining some very important guests for a charity function. When accomodations at another hotel fell through at the last moment, I contacted the Westin on Michigan Avenue and worked with Stephen Kaczmarek and Kristin Kulasik, They provided well above-and-beyond service and set my group up in a tremendous room. The whole experience left a very positive impression on the executives that I was with and cemented my loyalty to Starwood. December 9, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Hotel needs improvement The front desk at this hotel is under staffed most of the time and when it is staffed sufficiently the staff is not proactive in serving guest. They let guest stand their waiting instead of offering to help them. If they are just standing there instead of offering to help the guest first has to approach them and ask for assistance. Additionally, the Valet service for vehicles is terrable. It is slow and when the vehicle is brought up you give them the receipt, they give you the keys and don't even offer to help with your bags, your are on your own for loading them. This is the worst Westin Hotel I have ever stayed in. August 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to standards of other Westin hotels I arrived and was put in a room with a double bed even though I had been booked in a king room. As I walked through the lobby to the elevator it smelled like vomit. I thought this was a one off thing, but it smelled that way all 3 days I was there. I asked a worker about it on day 2 and he just shrugged his shoulders. When I got up to my room there was blood or some sort of pinkish fluid smeared on the wall above the bed. When I picked up the phone to call downstairs and report it, the phone was sticky! I walked downstairs and asked to switch rooms, but was told there was nothing they could do as the hotel was full. June 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by I have stayed here before and it was great, this time the rooms disappointed me The staff and everyone at the hotel was great. I booked four rooms for our family to come down. In one of the rooms the TV didn't work, only the sound. In another room, it smelled like urine. I have never had this at an SPG hotel and I am sure it was a fluke as I love this hotel, but was disappointed this time around. January 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not very impressed Location on Michigan Ave. is impressive, but hotel itself-- not so much. Room was clean and simple. Bed and towels very comfortable. Wireless internet available for a fee in room. Very under-staffed lobby. Waited 10-15 minutes in line just to check in. At check in, hotel was missing some of the paperwork. January 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Improvement Check-in did not go as planned and I was very disappointed. I was traveling with three adults and three young children/infants. At the time of reservation, I made a request to have adjoining rooms. The hotel confirmed in advance via email that my request was accommodated; however, at check-in the individual was perplexed with my request and stated that there was no record. After a long extended day and showing the individual the confirm delay, we received the adjoining rooms (non-SPG floor) and the junior suite (not really) smelled as if a heavy shampoo was used to clean up after a corporate event. October 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience My experience as a whole was delightful from the moment I walked in to the lobby. Everyone was friendly and guided to me through the hotel with a smile. I was already checked in and they had my keys ready for me. Considering the fact that it was a very hectic Friday evening, I did not wait at all to recieve my keys. The rooms were very clean. The bed was my favorite part of the entire experience. . Thank you for a wonderful stay. I will definitely be coming back. March 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Michigan Ave Westin Chicago 12/28/2013 We arrived at this hotel around 5:00p.m. expecting to be checked in since check in was at 3:00p.m. The lobby was chaos. People in line waitng to see a reservations employee. All of the lobby seating was taken with some people obviously angry. We waited in line about 15 minutes then get to the desk and found out that a room would not be available for at least another hour. As the gentleman next to us stated, "REALLY, A WESTIN?" These were my thoughts also. We went to dinner and were told we would be emailed when a room was available. We returned 2 1/2 hours later and still no email. Upon inquiring at the front desk found that our room was available but no one emailed us. Never was given a real reason why the delay. When this happens, it gives a traveler an uneasy feeling as if they are "homeless". December 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by NON-Heavenly bed I'll start by saying the location of this Hotel is perfect for exploring Chicago and we loved it. The restaurant was also surprisingly good and really cool. Unfortunately the Beds and decor reminded me of a motel not a Westin. The bed was very uncomfortable, the pillows lumpy, and the sheeting coarse. We complained at the front desk but were told that "it is what it is". I am SPG Gold and travel a lot for work and fun and have stayed at SPG all over the world. I was not impressed with this hotel and would look elsewhere when returning to Chicago. At a minimum they need to provide a Heavenly bed! August 22, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Nice This hotel was booked very last minute and I was not sure what to expect. The staff were all very friendly. Hotel was clean and in a terrific location. My only downside is the pillows, they were very lumpy and not comfortable at all. If that is the only negative I would say it's a very good place and I will probably stay again. January 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always scared of horror happening, not at this hotel I live only 3 miles away from this hotel. My husband and I wanted an in-town getaway from the kids. Everything went smooth, from letting us double park to drop off our things, to check in and signing us up for the rewards program. It was flawless! Everyone was professional and nice. The room was spotless, no sign of scary things like bugs of any kind. The pillows are comfy (and I use temperpedic at home so I typically don't think other pillows are good) Bed was comfy too and we had a little slice of a view of Michigan avenue. This place is a winner even for a native Chicagoan who lives nearby! January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by vacation We love staying at this hotel! January 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel needs an active security officer Love the location of this Westin but found several areas lacking. Our 5th floor room was very small and our only view was of the hotel's exhaust systems. The bathroom needed to be cleaned more thoroughly. The most upsetting situation occurred on Saturday night/Sunday morning. Between 12:30am and 4:00am there were approximately 5 groups of very loud and completely obnoxious people that went down our hallway - waking us up each time. I cannot imagine that there are not security people monitoring guests as they come in to head off such issues before those groups are on a floor full of rooms of sleeping guests. Our check out clerk did not even ask us how our stay was. We will not be returning. January 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very disappointed...not what I expected from the Westin By far, this hotel location was one of the most disappointing of all of my Westin hotel stays. Although it has a great location in the loop area of Chicago, the room was terrible. When we arrived there were multiple yellow stains on the white bed spread an it looked as if someone had simply pulled the covers up after a nights' rest. It simply was not clean. The room was also sparsely decorated and just underwhelming. And, to top it off, the bathroom stopped working in the middle of the night. My husband had to fix it so that we could sleep through the night. You never want to find out that your toilet has stopped working at 3am. Very poor experience. I will not return to this hotel location. January 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consistently Great Hotel I travel for a living and have stayed in numerous cities at numerous hotels across various chains. SPG has always been my preference and it is because of hotels like this one. The staff is courteous, attentive, and proactive. They have taken care of the requests I have had (no matter how difficult to execute) and done so without issue. I wish this hotel had a club lounge for snacks and such but given how the staff can provide work arounds, it hasn't really been an issue. I have stayed in Chicago for the last year and between the two Westins in the city, I have had a great experience. Thanks! May 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Wedding Weekend My son was married at The Westin Michigan Ave. on 3/2/13. We had many guess from all across the country staying at the hotel. The hotel staff was very polite and attentive. The service in the restaurant for morning breakfast with a large group was fabulous. Phyllis Washington, the Asst Catering Manager was very easy to work with. The food and presentation of the food at the wedding was outstanding! For such a large group, to have a five star meal is unusual at a wedding. Guest raved, ballroom and view is lovely, location of hotel is fabulous and all are very happy with The Westin! Thank-you! March 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great customer service! My husband and I are returning guests to the Michigan ave Westin. I called today about an upgrade and was given great customer service from Rita at the front desk. When I called back to book the upgrade, Janice and James in reservations were very helpful. Thank you Westin for doing it right! I'm looking forward our stay with you this weekend. Can't wait to see our view from the room! April 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staff was great! Lovely room, no pool. This was a nice location on Michigan Avenue just across the street from American Girl Place and Cheesecake Factory. Staff at concierge desk was great-went the extra mile for me with my freezing and storage of breastmilk. For this I will always like them. The room a bit warm due to no a/c on in the winter...one night maintenance came up and opened our 15th floor window for us for a little while which cooled down the room nicely, he then closed it. Disappointed no pool but they do have reciprocality with the W five blocks away (too hard to walk there for a swim with three children). Starbucks in lobby a plus, and The Grill was good food (pricey), good service, and fun bar. Clean hotel, comfy beds. March 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Recent Stay in Chicago Upon my arrival I had already received a room cancelation email because my travel agent had booked the hotel for an additional night to ensure I could get into my room at 6am after my red-eye flight. I do this all the time, but I have never had the room cancelled on me. When I showed up I was assigned a room that was already occupied. After scaring the guests by entering their room as they were sleeping I was assigned a room that was available, but hadn't been setup with water, shampoo, etc. The following day my room was also not cleaned. Not the best Starwood experience unfortunately. August 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service I was very pleased with the service I received. I was surprised when I got free Wifi and bottled water. Though the water wasn't in my room until the last day it was nice to have that perk. The staff was very nice and welcoming me. They also went above their call and printed out my boarding pass for my trip home since i wasn't able to print it at the appointed time. Marc March 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Chicago hotel review There was a large group of family staying with you for a wedding. Just about all of us had troubles 1. with reservations prior to the check in and 2 after check in needing to change rooms becuase of loud neighbors or location of hotel room. I personally have a bililng issue that I've been trying to resolve since I made the res. 2 weeks ago and still have not resolved. I called 2 times before my stay to get resolution and was promised a call back from billing that never came. Then while at the hotel I asked 3 times for help, once at check in, once at check out, and 1 time during the stay while I was trying to help a family member to change rooms, and still no call. I plan to dispute the charge and then I expect someone will take care of my problem. My overal rating of average is because of the issues, otherwise this is a beautiful hotel and area and has great potential. December 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin can do better... I am a world traveler, and I used to work in hotels, and for this reason, my expectations aren't high, however, I do pay attention to details. Unfortunately, my stay was disappointing... The rooms are old and musty, furniture is ugly, and carpet seems to be dirty. Requested to change rooms... same thing, different view. Perhaps its time for the renovation. Front desk person was not clear about the hotel facilities, seems like he was in a rush to check us in. I didn't think that staff overall was friendly, or helpful for that matter. I will not recommend this hotel. October 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Usual Westin comfort I slept well; elevators were fast ... even for a busy conference. Friendly staff. Great location on Michigan Avenue, if one should want to do some shopping. January 13, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 18 next>>