The Westin Chicago River North

  • 320 North Dearborn Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60654
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 477 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by great service Staff is always outstanding! Alan the bell hop was very helpful July 25, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by One of the worst Starwoods I have stayed at The only good about this hotel is that it's next to the lake and let's me go on morning runs by the lake. For a working professional, this place is a nightmare. Cabs are hard to get and this is located too far away from the loop to walk. But the biggest issue with this hotel is it's non-existent WiFi. It is simple the worst network I have seen in *any* hotel. Not just other Starwood properties or other mid-range and high-end hotels, but all places I have stayed at - including youth hostels during my student days. Bottom line: I wouldn't stay here again if I could help it. July 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 Can be so much better Was surprised on check in that I was not offered free internet in accordance with SPG gold benefits,"Your choice of a welcome gift with each stay. Choose from bonus Starpoints, complimentary in-room Internet access and a complimentary beverage." Was told, "we don't do that here". When pressed was told it was for "platinums" only, then that it was not "included in my rate". My room had a running toilet and hair in the shower. Complimentary drink had a bug floating in it. Nice room, excellent breakfast. But nothing like being dressed down by the front desk in front of your wife who you promised that this would be such a nice romantic hotel. January 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by A fine stay Hotel staff is extremely pleasant, and the hotel is aesthetically pleasant enough, though very dark. rooms are in ok condition, though some maintenance issues- my safe didnt work, door stopper busted. Outlets are hard to come by and the pillows are pretty bad, but all in all not a bad stay. Also, the room service menu leaves something to be desired. not enough old standards, and the "interesting" food is kind of unappetizing. June 11, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed My rooms were not ready upon check-in. We arrived at 5:00 when guaranteed a 3:00PM check-in. My group of 15 waited in the lobby for over an hour for our rooms to be ready. I told the front desk numerous times that we had dinner reservations at 7:00PM and needed our room. One of the rooms had dirty towels and no shampoo or conditioner. Numerous calls were made to the front desk to request these items- it took over an hour to get these. Numerous requests were made weeks prior and the day of for a refrigerator and this took several hours to be delivered to our rooms. Front desk had very disappointing customer service for an SPG gold member. November 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location Stayed here weekend of Aug 25/26 for Birthday celebration. Room was ready upon 3:30 check in and we were given our breakfast vouchers I had reserved with room reservation. Had drinks and sushi in the bar before getting ready for dinner with great service. Bartender even changed the channel so we could watch Little League World Series! My only complaint was at breakfast we waited a long time to get a table due to tables not being cleared. Hostess was even discouraging in telling us that it would be at least 10 more min before they could clear empty tables. We almost left but I had pre-paid for the buffet.Other than that our stay was great as usual. August 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Handicap Room I have no handicap room on my profile. The check-in person, Cameron, did not even mention the handicap room. June 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Birthday Weekend! Had a wonderful time celebrating my boyfriend's first visit to Chicago thanks to Front Desk Help from Tee. He felt so special and had a luxurious stay. The room was comfortable and had great views of the city. The location made it easy to access public transportation to many of the great local attractions. Even the staff at the Luggage Check helped us in such a friendly, easy and courteous manner which made us feel so welcomed. Thank you for holding up high standards with your services. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Windy City because of such pleasant experience with your establishment. We look forward to staying at other Westin's from now on. July 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by mics12 'excellent service and very impressed with all level of service, Enjoyed my stay, thanks June 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service Upon arrival we were kindly greeted and attentively checked in. Our sepcial needs for a fridge for Rx and extra towels were addressed quickly. There was one issue with the shower and the manager addressed the issue right away. In addition the staff followed up the following day and at the end of our trip to make sure everything was ok. The view of the river and bridges is great the meeting rooms are comfortable and the concirege is very helpful. The Ember restaurant was delicious and convenient. The lounge was comfortable and inviting. I would certainly recommend the Westin River North to friends for business and vaction travel! October 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Continental Breakfast in Club Level The breakfast you serve in the Club Level is great. Had everything we liked. And, the assistance from the staff was spot on. June 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Location The hotel is nicely positioned on the north side fo the Chicago river with a private street entrance that makes you feel like you are pulling into something of a resort (urban setting with out the urban feel). The staff are friendly and remember you. The gym has a friendly attendant and enough equipment for a good workout. There is no pool (negative for kids), but a great place for a couples weekend. June 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Stayed here one night to enjoy the city after attending a conference at another location. What a wonderful experience! The other hotel was just a functional place--coming here afterward was like coming to a spa. Heavenly beds (slept like a baby), exquisite surroundings (so lush!), attentive staff (from the desk to the bellmen to the wait staff). Room was clean, comfy, and big, complete with frig and coffee maker. This is a great location--close to several restaurants and walking distance (several blocks, though) to shopping on Michigan Avenue or State Street. This was my second time staying at this property--I wasn't disappointed. Definitely recommend to others. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Must Stay While In Chicago I have been a Starwwod member for the past three years. The Westin Chicago River North definitely lives up to the reputation and professionalism that Starwood is known for.. Do yourself a big favor..Do not stay anywhere else while in the Chicago area. This hotel is beautiful, clean, smells good and the staff is what makes it. Everyone, from the front desk staff, to the housekeeping staff, made my stay extremely pleasant and enjoyable. The location is fabulous and the rooms are very comfortable. Request a water view, if possible. But, if not, no worries. The hotel is great and any room will please you. I will definitely be back. Oh, and by the way, "You're welcome!" March 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Summer Visit to Chicago Good experience. Bit disappointed that I did not get a river side room as requested when I made the reservations. June 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Complaints During our two day stay we experienced a few things which in my mind are completely unacceptable! The shower water would not get past warm! I thought that due to shaving in the sink prior to showering I had used up the hot water. On Sunday morning without shaving or using the sink the water was once again only warm. I turned on the sink and the water was hot. Somewhere there is a problem between the two. On Saturday evening the power went out in our room while getting ready for a wedding. We were forced to get ready with only the light which was coming through the window. That short explains also why we weren't able to make room to room calls. Upon check out we were offered not a bit of compensation. April 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met our every request From the early check in with Sarah to the late check out over Memorial Day weekend, the hotel met our every request. The Club room was filled with goodies both at breakfast and Happy Hour. The drinks at the bar were generous and mixed to perfection. The bar staff changed the TV to the sport we desired and there was no pressure to drink more than we desired. The room was comfortable and the WiFi worked. What more could we have asked for? May 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible staffs who did not help someone who needed help at all The hotel staffs did not meet my expectations at all. Since I hurted my ankle a week before staying I had a cold pack that needed to be freezed. I asked the front desk if they can freeze the cold pack for me, but the staff refused to do so. Instead I was offered a fridge delivered to my room. Since I had a appointment and had to leave the hotel, I asked the staff if they can put in the cold pack into the frige for me. The staff again refused, so I had to go back and wait in my room for the fridge to arrive. Waited 15 minutes and did not arrive. Called housekeeping and was told "is's coming" in a very rude way of saying. Waited another 10 minutes, still not coming. Aleady late at my appointment, I went down again and claimed at the front desk. They told me that they will take care and will put the cold pack inside the fridge while I am out. Came back 2 hours later, and the Cold pack was NOT put inside the fridge. All of this was done during my ankle hurt and having difficulties walking. Hopeless level staffs whom did not help me at all when I needed help to freeze the cold pack. Never again. September 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Check out Needed more people at check out. 1 person at desk. Long line. No free wifi? June 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missed opportunities I have respect for the Westin brand and have higher expectations for the hotel line than most others. I was disappointed to experience SEVERAL problems in my two-night stay. The cable signal on my TV continually came and went which required a maintenance visit; both outlets at the desk were very loose and I had to bend my plug prongs to ensure the cords did not fall out; and the fan I requested had obvious mechanical problems, resulting in a sustained noise level too loud to justify turning it on. In isolation, none of these issues are a large matter. But when all of them are experienced together, I couldn't help but re-evaluate my opinion of the Westin brand. I stayed here for business, as the hotel was hosting a conference i was attending. It is unlikely I will stay at this location again. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great My guests and I all appreciated your hotel. Well managed and well kept. Chicago itself a fun place. Thanks, Herbert June 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nothing "Heavenly" about it. Let it be known that I have never written a review, though I felt compelled enough to share my dissatisfied experience. Long story short, we had two nights booked, then reduced it to one after just an hour in the hotel. Firstly, the Executive Club was not worth the extra cost. The attendant made us feel as though we were doing something wrong by requiring us to fill out a "guest voucher." In my 25 years of traveling (business & pleasure) I never once had to "explain" who I was for complimentary h'orderves and soft drinks. The staff had an expectation of gratuity when delivering an item (in this case a fan) to our room. I usually tip for everything, but when it feels expected, I don't. The "heavenly" robes felt and looked as though they were ten years old. The deluxe suite was nice, though a river view would have been nicer when we inquired and thus denied. Only to find out later that the hotel was at 25% capacity (direct from an employee)....I'm sure one was available. Lastly, at checkout, the office valet attendant called down to the valet, after placing his personal phone call on hold, told me it would be 10 minutes (even though we were the only ones waiting). When 15 minutes passed , our car came at a relatively fast rate of speed to the front door. I handed the valet $5 (regrettably) and then realized that he didn't even acknowledge me, my wife or our luggage, not one word or door opened for her. We found a great hotel just two blocks away at half the price (with river view), free wine and an incredibly fun atmosphere with amazing staff. We will NEVER stay at or recommend a Westin Hotel again. January 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by ASCO 2014 Good facilities for stay, meetings and on-site working June 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Perfect My husband and I had tickets to the theater so thought we would just spend the night downtown even though we live in the Chicago area. The Westin River North was the perfect place to stay. It is the ideal location. It was walking distance to both our restaurant and the theater. Our stay at the Westin was wonderful. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Having Gold Status with SPG our room was upgraded and we received complimentary drink vouchers. The room was fantastic, very spacious and very modern. The food at the Ember Grill was great. I will definitely stay at the Westin again. December 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, housekeeping was okay. I stayed at the Westin for only one night because I had a family wedding downtown that day, but I thought that the experience there was fantastic. I had a great stay and the room was clean, neat, and I had no problems. The only complaint that I had was that on Saturday morning, I was woken up by housekeeping at 8:20am. I understand that I should have had a "do not disturb" sign on the door, but I was not expecting housekeeping to be knocking before 8:30 am... All in all, I had a good stay. The staff was great, very accommodating with the early check in and I was very appreciative. August 22, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service Although this was a very nice hotel, I would never stay here again. After paying a great deal to stay one night at the hotel I was faced with a $14.95 fee for using the wifi. I had accidentally logged into the Internet 5 minutes before checking out of the hotel. When I voiced my objection to the staff at checkout, I was given very little concern. I had the staff write down my name and number to discuss the issue with a manager, and was never contacted back. Honestly, I believe the Internet charge is ridiculous when staying at such a hotel, and to be charged for a whole day 5 minutes before checking out is unreasonable. Had I know the low expectation of the hotel, I would have simply used my phone Internet. September 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel is not what I expect from a Westin Didn't meet expectations. This room met minimum standards of the Westin brand. One pillow per person on the bed, not the best Westin heavenly comfort experience, the room was hot, maintenance worked on the air, but no change. I checked out early and went to a different hotel down the street. No, I did not tell why i was checking out early as I gave it a chance and the team was not successful. I stayed in Birmingham the prior week and that was a Westin experience to be recommended. April 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Expected More for the Price of this Room Bathroom floor was dirty. Food in refrigerator was overpriced. Parking was overpriced. Internet service was poor, and should be complimentary for the price of the room instead of additional cost. I would not stay here again. Excellent location right across from House of Blues, but overpriced for the value. February 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is beautiful and has par excellent staff This hotel far exceeded my expectations. It is beautiful with an outstanding decor. In all areas the hotel is clean, clean, clean. I was impressed with the outside curb appeal in a downtown area. Entering the hotel gives a feel of luxury and elegance. Most enjoyable was the customer friendly and efficient employees at the check in counter. My room was spacious and tastefully decorated with all of the modern amenities. Yes, I shall return! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a relaxing, elegant, and magnificent hotel. April 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel This is truly an awesome hotel. The staff are very courteous and professional and the rooms are very large and comfortable. The hotel has excellent facilities for hosting conferences and meetings and the food is great as well. The hotel is located near restaurants and many other Chicago historical landmarks making it very convenient. I highly recommend this property. May 12, 2014
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 17 next>>