The Westin Ottawa

  • 11 Colonel By Drive
  • Ottawa,
  • Ontario
  • K1N 9H4
  • Canada
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age for Registration Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room. Valid photo identification is required at check-in.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 376 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room I had reserved a King-sized bed, but was given a double bed. Given my time of arrival close to midnight, I did not bother trying to switch rooms. But I did mention it to the front desk in the morning, and got nothing more than a simple apology when I would have expected a little something more. Overall, the hotel is very nicel and this was my second time staying there within a month. December 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best hotel ever! I cannot get over the level of service we received at this hotel. Staff was so friendly and helpful. The atmosphere they create by being so friendly is contagious. Special thanks to the concierge team for recommending family friendly attractions. (we went to all of them) A great thank you to Noel Steele for taking the time to draw out a map to the perfect place to view the Santa Claus parade! You sir, made our day! This is the only hotel we will ever stay at in Ottawa.....!! November 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wi-Fi I have this experience frequently when staying at the Westin Ottawa. The room wi-fi reception is atrocious. This is the same with various cell phones and computers - the signal is "fair", but mostly "poor" and downloading is at a snail's pace. The Westin Novascotian is Halifax is better but not great. However, Ottawa is appalling. As an SPG Member I receiver "complimentary" wi-fi, but this bonus is essentially meaningless given the connection speed. December 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place for a stay-cation! We only had a couple days for break from our 4 kids and needed a place where we could totally relax and recharge. The Westin more than met our expectations once again. Right from the early check-in, the pool and spa, the friendliness of all the staff we encountered during our stay... through to the beautiful room and, of course, the much appreciated surprize from John... we felt truly pampered and recharged as we skated home after our stay. : ) We look forward to our next stay-cation at the Westin! Mike & Elissia Ottawa, Ontario February 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent stay great location I had a short trip for meetings and stayed at the Westin. Tired, I flopped on the bed and it was heaven! Room was very clean, bed was amazing comfortable and even the remote for the tv worked. Great coffee, hot water shower on demand. Energy efficient light bulbs...Staff were friendly and assisted with check-in and check out along with arranging taxi. My only complaint is the charge for internet...should be free this day and age. Location is great, minutes to everything. just great place to stay, will definately will be back. November 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Far Below Westin Standards It's difficult to imagine that anyone concerned with the quality Westin is supposed to convey has ever visited this hotel. I wonder if they stood in line for over 1/2 an hour at check-in? I wonder if they stood in an elevator lobby for 20 minutes awaiting the arrival of an elevator. I wonder if they overheard guests complaining that "higher floors" should receive discounts - not higher rates, because the elevators are so slow [and have been for over a year? I wonder if, upon arrival at their room, their luggage was still undelivered by bell staff over TWO hours later? Has anyone interested in the standards of quality & luxury Westin pretends to provide visited this hotel??? If they had, I can't imagine the name Westin would still be 'flagged' on this building. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by weekend get away Enjoyed our weekend of skating and the excellent hotel and staff. The view is something I think about often and that, plus the service, brings me back to this hotel as often as possible. I can not believe that there is a large fee for internet/WIFI in the room and even in the business centre! I can get free WIFI at a local coffee shop or the 60 year old motel on the edge of town. I understand it is a revenue stream from business travelers but it should not be in place on the weekend and perhaps could reflect SPG involvment. February 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Westin is the Best I travel alot for business. I stay at the Westin in Ottawa at leat 2 - 3 times per month. They're the best in my experience. Design very neat and sleek, room v nice, great beds, the full windows delightful. Shore Club - v good seafood, v good service This Westin is v well staffed. Sometimes they get busy, but almost always there are more than enough folks to assisst in any way - and they are v pleasant in manner. They are also consistently there, which is nice when you're a frequent guest. Best of all, if there are any issues, the seniior leadership is highly responsive. Directly, or quietly small changes are made that make sense and are reasonable. This is a v nice property to begin with and it is superbly run from the top to the bottom. Five Stars is my vote. January 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel exceeded my expectations My stay was wonderful. Staff was plentiful and always willing to assist. Make a Green Choice is such a great initiative! I chose the $5 F&B voucher but for some reason, it was not reflected on my room bill. Not the biggest deal but if Westin is going to offer something like this, then it would be expected that the hotel pulls this through. Unfortunately, the guest elevator renovation caused major delays. Using the service elevators was also a lengthy process. It will be nice when the elevators are completely replaced! October 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic Westin Experience in the best location in Ottawa Took my mother to a family wedding hosted at the Westin over the long weekend and our experience was wonderful. First of all, the catering/event food was spectacular. Great food. The location---well, you can't beat it. Two blocks from Parliament and connected to the local mall. Rooms are good-sized. The staff are pleasant but seem to be following the employee guide of service. But very responsive. Language between French and English may be the issue. Otherwise, great stay, great location, clean and modern. September 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, friendly staff and...nothing more I was a little bit disappointed. I was thinking that this hotel will be better. Of course location is great, and staff was friendly but...breakfast was horrible, and internet really slow. December 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Elevators remain a challenge The new elevator system certainly optimizes energy efficiency but it seems that the value of time for customers waiting for the elevators remains a problem. Often elevators arrived at floors completely full. This maybe a result of the elevator assuming each call for service results in one person boarding when in fact it is usually two plus luggage. Frustration with the elevators abounded at my last conference in the Westin. Worst yet the stairs do not reach the bottom floor so they are not an option. August 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I will start by saying I have had some great stays at this property but this was not one of them. The door to the bathroom would not open and close so maintenance had to fix it. The TV channels didnt work so maintenance had to fix that as well. The fire alarm also went off in the middle of the night but that wasnt the hotels fault but still an inconvenience. There were other problems as well but will not get into them. On the bright side the location is amazing and I hope this was only a 1 time occurrence. February 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay We stayed at the Westin last week and it was exceptional, it's the only place in Ottawa that we stay. We opted for a deluxe this time around and it was well worth the money. We had a fantastic view of Parliament, very spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was so friendly, always eager to help and there was not one moment when we weren't greeted with a smile or a hello. We also had the in-room breakfast for both our days there, it was delicious. Keep up the great service, highly recommend. March 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by THE Place to Stay in Ottawa My wife and I just returned from five days in Ottawa. On the second day, she had to be hospitalized for an acute illness, and the staff at The Westin couldn't have been nicer...they facilitated her transport to and from Montfort Hospital, and upon her discharge, went out of their way with Tender Loving Care, including specialized meals and room service deliveries of hot tea, broth, and plain pasta -- all accompanied with personalized notes (and delivered with little orchids); we're convinced this helped her recovery and allow us to enjoy the final days of our vacation. Add to this an ideal location (with proximity to museums and shopping), an extremely comfortable room, and terrific fitness facilities, and we'll definitely be returning to The Westin on our next visit to Ontario. July 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed This would have been a great stay, but it was totally ruined when we couldn't shower in the morning because the drain was blocked. I shouldn't have to feel like I'm on a naval frigate turning the water on for 15 seconds at a time to get clean. It soured the end of what had been a wonderful and special surprise evening. Worse, when I asked to speak to a manager about it, no one was available. And no one got back to me before I left. (in fairness, I was rushed) October 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel was great minus 3 fire alarms The hotel was great we had a perfect room we had an issue with smell in the beginning and within 10 mins someone was there to fix it! It was a great night until around 4 am when the fire alarms went off not just once but three times... It was horrible we would just get back upstairs and the other one would go off. Needless to say there was no sleep obtained during the rest of the night. But I know this had to be a fluke thing as the hotel itself was great just some punk kids smoking in there rooms. January 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by stay here when in Ottawa great location, nice pool with great outdoor deck for sunbathing, very nice room on upper floor with view of canal and Parliament. Breakfast brunch excellent. The Shore club very good but out second visit there the chef could not get the steak done right- too done then too rare- gave up on steak but manager of restaurant did the right thing-comped wine, dessert, and of course too off my husbands steak. Loved Ottawa and would stay at this hotel again for sure! Great biking in Ottawa! July 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A regular visitor I stay at your hotel every time I come to Ottawa, which is 3-5 times a year. It is always a pleasant stay. the staff is efficient and friendly, the rooms are clean and well appointed, the mattress are great. Location is very important to me for client access (I deal with the Federal Government) and for restaurants and exercise --I run along the Canal. the only issue is your success. It is difficult to get a room some times. October 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best location in Ottawa By far the best location in Ottawa. The staff was friendly and courteous. The rooms were very clean, the fitness facility tailored my every need and the hotel is connected to a three level shopping mall. FANTASTIC! Room key did not work on the second day of my stay, however the staff sent security to replace my keys. Also, it would be great if The Westin offered free WI-FI in all guest rooms. Bottom line, if your destination is Ottawa, the Westin is the only place to stay. August 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great conference hotel Love this hotel and always choose to stay there in Ottawa. Rooms are quite nice, and the conference and meeting facilities are great. Only complaints were that (1) wifi should be free; (2) I couldn't get a cup of 'regular' tea on a Saturday evening, the only place to go was McDonalds; and (3) the hot tub wasn't working the first day we arrived. All in all, nothing to complain about - great place! And I highly recommend the Shore Club restaurant in the hotel - outstanding! September 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lovely hotel I love the Westin/Ottawa. Its style is upscale contemporary, and it is clean, bright, relaxing and luxurious in all of its details, with the most spectacular views of our nation's capital, and the best location for our needs whether we are visiting this beautiful city on business or for personal time away. We appreciate the consistent excellent quality of all elements of this fine hotel and all of its wonderful staff. Many thanks again for a lovely (but too short!) stay. February 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, could use more SPG The handful of times I have stayed at this hotel have always been very pleasant. Rooms are cozy and spacious. Lobby is inviting. The only suggestion I have would be complimentary in-room wi-fi for SPG members, otherwise SPG is not that special beyond collecting points. December 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Serious problem with elevators We stayed at your Ottawa location over the weekend and were not impress with the service and installation. Your elevators were not working and we had to wait everytime we had to take them (10min + sometimes). If your equipment are faulty you need to put personnel in place to help your guests or address the situation in order to improve the effeciency of this service. There were a lack of service personnel over the weekend at the hotel and that was noticeable. . May 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ottawa Westin Great hotel in a great location. Had too many issues with the room. The shower leaked through the bottom of the glass door leaving a swimming pool after each shower. Eventually we had to turn the shower head towards the wall and scrunch up in the corner to shower. The water still continued to flood the floor. The bedside lamps were not functioning so an Engineer had to be called in and the in-room safe malfunctioned causing another visit from an Engineer. July 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by personable I was in town for business and decided to spend a couple of extra days at the hotel to celebrate a milestone birthday. It was a surprise when I returned to my room, after an afternoon out, to find a birthday tray with sweets and a sparkling water, along with staff wishes. What a wonderful way to end the day! November 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was excellent This hotel was excellent, December 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is great for a lot of reasons, especially when you need access to the convention centre - being able to walk to Rideau Mall is a bonus. Beautiful hotel and very convenient to shopping and conferences. Worked at the Ottawa Travel and Vacation show this pass weekent and really enjoyed staying at the Westin. However, i was very disappointed when I realized that my $40/day upgrade didn't give me anything extra. When I asked the front desk person she said it was for the view!!! Expensive view, but my co-worker also had the very same room with the same view and she didn't pay any extra. March 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel but elevators need work The hotel itself was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately, the elevetors were being refurbished and as a result were extremely slow and unsightly. I waited almost 15 min. one morning for the elevator to arrive. Hotel could also use some deserved maintenance - light beside the bed was out and could not be fixed, ice machine on our floor and the next floor up did not work and no sign to indicate out of service. Front desk staff were very friendly October 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Review The hotel itself was in a great location, was able to walk to most things such as Parliment Hill, Notre Dame Cathedral, restaurants and the market. The only issues were the elevator and the conference rooms. The elevator is new, so lots of issues with waiting. When in one conference room listening to speakers, you could here the other speakers in the adjoining conference room, very disturbing. October 15, 2013
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 14 next>>