The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Islas Vírgenes
  • 00830
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Política de edad mínima

Los huéspedes deben tener 18 años de edad o más para reservar una habitación.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 208 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by needed improvement We booked our stay to attend a destination wedding at the hotel. Our room was in really bad shape, shower did not work, clogged and made noise. Our bathroom floors were dirty. Our tiolet did not flush. The hotel staff was slow and very late to attend to our needs. We were very disappointed June 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a 5 star resort Rooms well below 5 star standards Balcony moldy, small and dark Cracked tiles in bath. Dated Chaise lounges dated and dirty Room not cleaned til 5:00pm Over Priced for product- felt like a timeshare/dormitory. Room was labeled ocean front delux but very dark and depressing room March 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Please remodel! Love the island and would return year after year if Starwood would drop some cash and remodel the very outdated and worn hotel guest rooms! We want to return but are forced to make another choice as we don't want to re-expierience substandard room conditions. April 8, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Westin Experience Ever We came here on our honeymoon 5/28/12-6/2/12 and being a Platinum member since 2006 I expected some type of recognition especially after notifying several people at the hotel prior to our arrival of our recent nuptials. However, not being recognized one single time was the least of my worries as this was not only the worst Westin experience of my life, but probably one of my worst hotel experiences ever with Starwood hotels if not all hotels. Our trip began with a 2 hour wait at the airport in St thomas. Once we got our luggage from baggage claim we checked in at the westin in the airport and had to sit in a waiting room for two hours without air conditioning and without being told any information on when our shuttle was coming. When our shuttle finally came the ride lasted all of about 10 mins and then we were dropped off at a restaurant at the dock to only wait for another 50 mins for their private ferry to st John to come. If we would have known that we would have had 3 hours to waste we could have actually done something productive and just met at the ferry when it was scheduled to leave instead of having us just wait and wait and wait. Also, being a private ferry I was expecting a much nicer boat since we were being charged so much more than the other ferries, but after riding on them the rest of our trip the Westin Ferry was probably the crappiest one! If you are going to charge more, that you need to provide a better service which they did not. Once we finally got to the hotel room we were constantly interrupted for the next 2 days by staff knocking on the door, which is the last thing we wanted on our honeymoon. The walls were also very thin and we kept waking up to either our noisy neighbors or the loud lawn maintenance that occurred early in the morning. I finally went and spoke with the manager on duty to explain that we were on our honeymoon and did not want to be disturb the rest of our stay. She apologized and we agreed that our room could only be cleaned in the afternoon from 12-2. However, it was not cleaned for the next 2 days and cleaning people still came when they wanted to clean the room even though we had our do not disturb sign up. Some other horrible details, we found two gigantic cockroaches in our bathroom through out our stay. Living in LA and NY I have seen big insects but these ones were huge! Also the plumbing was really loud and suspect. The electricity would also sometimes go out. I understand that this is an island so I accept some of these things. However, the staff was the worst and some of their attitudes were simply uncalled for. I could not believe how disgruntle and rude some of these westin workers were. Don't get me wrong there were some very nice and pleasant people, but typically there are never any rude people that work at the westin and I felt like there were quite a bit at this location. For example, the first night we had dinner in the pool side restaurant and our server actually never came back after giving us our entrees. The food was not good and way over priced by the way. We had to ask another server for our bill after waiting around 20 mins with no sign of our original server. The new server couldn't find our meal in the system so he had to ask us what we had in order to ring us up. Such a hassle. We also got massages at this resort and the spa facilities are tiny, actually there wasn't anything except for a small sauna. No steam room, no whirlpool, and no relaxation area. I don't even think they should say they have a Spa. They had a gym and a lockeroom not a Spa. Very disappointing especially for the price we paid for on the massages. The resort looks beautiful from a scenery point of view, but so does all of St John. After driving around and talking to other tourists I would definitely recommend staying somewhere else on St John. This westin was not good. The rest of our honeymoon we went to a few islands in the BVI and to St Thomas before flying back to the states and let me tell you the experience at these other hotels was so much nicer, cleaner, kinder, and the staff so much more pleasant, and oh yeah no cockroaches! We were given free drinks, food, and upgraded to better rooms because of our honeymoon status, but didn't get even a congratulations from the Westin. Honeymoon or not, the overall experience at this westin was completely unacceptable. I am sure there were other bad and good things that occurred during my stay that I can't remember, but the bottom line is that I really hope that SPG takes these comments seriously and tries to improve this location so that future people don't have to have their vacations tarnished like we did because this location does not deserve the WESTIN name. Even at check out they just gave me my bill and didn't even ask how our stay was. Maybe they knew how bad of a job they did or maybe they just didn't care. I was very embarrassed to put my new wife through this ordeal after insisting that we stay at a SPG hotel. Wow, still can't believe how bad this experience was. July 4, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Worst Westin Property I travel weekly for work and this is by far the worst Westin I have ever stayed at. The light in the bathroom was out, the lamps were missing the on/off handle, cockroaches in the room, staff didn't put ironing board away, had to ask the concierge 3 times for ferry schedule and finally had to call the actual ferry company because the hotel was incorrect. We rented the car and the lady in the car rental place was miserable and flat out rude. St. John is a beautiful island and I usually love Westin so this was a complete disappointment, especially because of the price you pay to stay there. March 6, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Has everything you need or want We loved this hotel this past January. Very Relaxing and beautiful. It has everything but a swimup pool bar. We are going back for sure! We've been trying to re-book it for next January since we left and reservations haven't opened up yet??? March 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed I booked two nights at the St. John Westin because the Villa we rented was unavailable for last weekend of our trip. I booked an Ocean View Room at a rate of over $500.00 per room. With that being said I have high expectations for properties with rates like that. Unfortunately I was very disappointed with this property. The carpeting in the room looked like it was from the 70's and was dirty! There were several permanent stains and quite frankly my first impression of the room was poor. Please be advised that the Ocean View Room was extremely far away from alot of the amenities so you can take the long walk to the lobby, tennis courts OR you can request a shuttle (big golf cart). We requested a shuttle several times but ended up not having anybody arrive for 10-15 minutes. Wouldn't have been bad but they told us to leave our room as soon as we hung up the phone. On one occasion we never received the shuttle. Overall I would recommend renting a private villa on St. John. For less money you can get an awesome place to stay. Spa was very dissapointing as well. Very small. July 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stunning Location but- Positive comments: *beautiful island *Gardens well maintained *Thanks for room upgrade to poolside Room for improvement: *We waited until 5pm for our room to be ready when we arrived *Housekeeping was erratic and late. Supplies sometimes not replaced *Decor should be more colorful for the location *Be careful of the carts *mosquito control inside of room (coils) *Restaurants very average and limited hours open. *The deli in the resort was not well stocked. *We were not informed about the nearby full market *Shuttle into town became expensive The hotel should provide scheduled transportation *the pickup at the airport was worth the expense. September 28, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by wake up early very expensive for quality, food below ave if you want a beach chair get up early. December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by 25TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY The place was a pleasant surprise, as sometimes what you see on the internet is not always what you get. Some of the areas of the resort are in desperate need of restoration / renovation. If the food was any good, you would never have to leave the resort! Though things are extremely overpriced, all in all we had a wonderful time and met some wonderful people. There are always a few "key" employees that stand out and kudos to you! Then there are others who ignore you and would rather stand around talking to each other than to take care of the customers. Thank you Fitzroy for all you did for us! Problems with trying to order room service - no one ever answered the phones, not even at the front desk. It just happened to be Carnival when we were there and the taxi service to and from the Westin were very prompt and courteous which allowed us to experience Carnival in true fashion. Cruz Bay Excursions were absolutely amazing and worth every penny! Thanks to all the crew on both trips we took, JP, Dave, Callie, Frank, etc.! And thank you Karen at the Conceirge for all your input and suggestions! We ended our trip with a couples massage in a poolside cabana - EARLY prior to all the noise of the kids at the pool. Emily & Joy were amazing! What a wonderful treat! Sue at the pool - you are pleasure and add a lot to the pool experience! July 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Below Exepectations I will say that we have traveled to Caribbean resorts every winter for the past four years, and this Westin falls to the bottom of the list of our choice destinations. I would, unfortunately, agree with most of the reviews that say this hotel charges like a five star resort, but our experience was much more like a three star resort. First off, I am still struggling with the billing department to get our billing statement corrected. It has taken three plus attempts and they still cannot seem to straighten out that our package included breakfast (yet they charged for breakfast). They also had a charge on the bill from the last departing guests from our room for $100! I would also say the hotel just feels very much run down and in desperate need of a “face lift”. The breakfast buffet was a huge disappointment each and every day. It amazes me that this hotel can’t seem to figure out how to put together a “nice” and “eatable” buffet for $28 per person. The food in the hot plated area was stale and had obviously been sitting out for too long. The breakfast also lacked selection that we have seen at similar Caribbean hotels that offer buffet breakfast. We also found the staff to be very “hit or miss” in terms of their efforts to be friendly and helpful, or act as though they are doing us a favor. Unfortunately, I can’t recommend this hotel and we will not be returning. February 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service Poor customer service in general. Bar/Food Service Area not to expected sanitary standards. Rooms dated and warn. Housekeeping staff lazy and disinterested. May 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin St. Johns Oct 2012 My wife and I along with my cousin and her husband spent the week of October 6th 2012 at the Westin St. John. We had a wonderful time because it was off season and quite, not a lot of kids, no crowds and we had the beach almost all to ourselves. We spent hours each day just standing in the sea water relaxing and enjoying the day. We rented a jeep ($100.00 per day) and explored other beaches which was great fun. Trunk Beach had good snorkeling, excellent for beginners. We rented a jeep a second day and explored the other side of the island which included a wonderful hamburger at a place called Skinny Legs (or something like that). All the guests were friendly, we met a number of really nice people. It was so relaxing. There were two drawbacks, the first being the distance from our room (building 34) to the beach, down a very steep hill (also up a very steep hill) and the "Island Service". To offset the steep hill there are free shuttle golf carts however it appeared there was only one driver which meant you waited. The second issue is what I call "Island Service" which loosly translates to I will serve you when I get around to it. This was particularly prevelant in the restaurants. Overall it was a good week and I would recommend it to our friends and family. We live in southern California so it took a little time getting used to the humidy. We were all disappointed by the Ferry & Bus drivers who had their hand out most of the time looking for tips. My cousin said the public ferry driver wouldn't touch their luggage unless they promised a tip! October 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding! My wife and I spent 5 nights at the resort for our 10th anniversary. While we spent a majority of the time exploring the island, the resort was a perfect "home base". We were impressed with the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of the staff (especially Kenneth, who always seemed to be there to help, and Charlotte, who worked magic in the deli). Since it was low season, we were unable to eat at Cruz Bay Prime; however the other restaurants were nice, if a bit pricey (to be expected). We found ourselves becoming frequent visitors of the Mango Deli on the premises. They make an excellent breakfast sandwich for a very reasonable price, and offered plenty of nice picnic-type items, all reasonably priced. I took a two tank dive charter from Cruz Bay Watersports located on the premises. The experience was excellent, with a very competent, friendly, and helpful staff. I brought my own diving gear, but I think next time I will rent (it is only $5.00 more). The rental gear appeared to be good quality and in good shape. If there was anything that could be considered a bit disappointing, I would say the food. While the quality and variety was fine, I would have liked to see them offer more authentic, local fare. In summary, the Westin St. John resort provided excellent service and amenities, with a friendly, courteous and helpful staff, in a breathtaking location. Having been to many islands in the Caribbean, I consider St. John to be one of the finest, and I am grateful for making my vacation a very memorable one. I look forward to returning...soon! September 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by NO BED?! Staff not helping! We arrived yesterday at your resort, and must say that we are completely dissatisfied with the accommodations and the service we are getting. My wife and I are traveling with our three sons ages 7, 10 & 13. We booked a one bedroom villa seven months ago that was supposed to have a pull out couch for our two younger boys and a rollaway bed for our 13 year old. When we checked in at the ferry counter we were told that our one bedroom villa will have a roll away bed. Then when we arrived at your resort, we were told that a bed was not available for our 13 year old son, but the hotel was "working on" getting us a bed or another room with accommodations for five. After numerous discussions throughout the day it became obvious and extremely frustrating that nothing was going to be done. Needless to say, this put a huge damper on our first day. Instead of relaxing and getting acclimated to the resort, we were focused on making sure our son had a bed to sleep in. This is not how we wanted to spend our first day at the Westin, St. John. At the end of the day nothing was done. Even after many discussions with the front desk manager, my 13 year old slept on two chairs put together as a makeshift bed. If we had any idea that there was a chance that one of us would not have a bed, we would have not chosen to stay at the Westin, St. John. It is completely unacceptable for a hotel to not provide a bed for a guest. It is the most basics need that must be met before all other amenities are to be provided. I normally do not write reviews, but as you can see we are very frustrated and disappointed with the Westin staff for allowing something like this from happening. March 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Liars at front desk Front desk lied about many things including if a manager was on duty. Spg members don't expect staff to do anything helpful, not even a request to downgrade our room despite availability. We did not like our room I like to think I am a low maintenance person but the service we relieved from both the general manager and front desk was inexcusable. While st John was much prettier than near by puerto Rico and vieques I highly recommend the service at the w there or the st Regis. A few weeks after we came back I got a hold of the general manager and he said he would look into problem but never even wrote a response email or phone call June 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Beware of real-estate sales pitch The Westin St. John has some pluses. The rooms are decent, the staff is almost without exception friendly and obliging, the pool is big (and towels plentiful), and we had a great day trip with a swell crew to the "caves and baths" in the British Virgin Islands. But it's very pricey. It's very noisy (including nonstop "rock" or Muzak around the pool). There's very little to do when it rains (which happened throughout our visit). The beach is mediocre (though if you drive, of course, St. John has multiple lovely beaches). And housekeeping, though competent, is infrequent. (Just once during our week.) Our biggest issue this visit (which was our second--and LAST) was severe mistreatment in connection with Starwood's relentless effort to get you to buy a "time share" in one of their "Bay Vista" units. (Yes, you can see the bay from a few of these.) Whether one would WANT such a thing depends, of course, on your view of time shares in general; whether you're happy with a unit that has spacious (tho dim) bathrooms but scant play-space for kids; whether you want to cook for yourself (there's no real oven); and whether you welcome a long trek up a steep hill from the only available parking. (This we found to be a major hassle when burdened with groceries, snorkeling gear, etc. There are roaming golf-carts but they're almost never at the parking lot when you want one, especially in the rain!) During our first visit, we had agreed to return via a "deal" that Starwood calls the "Explorer package" whereby they give you a discounted rate on a potential time-share unit so that you can test-drive it, so to speak, in return for listening to another of their high-pressure sales pitches. Moreover, if you're a married couple, both must attend that pitch or they instantly cancel the "deal" part and retroactively charge the (very high) "rack rate" for your unit. As it turned out, my wife had to go to China to speak at a medical conference during our week in St. John and I made the grievous error of telling the truth--at a cost of thousands of $$. (Had I fibbed and said we were recently divorced, or she had died, or that my adult daughter was my wife, we would have saved a bundle.) Never mind that we've been good Starwood customers over the years with "SPG" status. This may well be the end of our relationship with that company--and certainly the last time we succumb to their time-share marketing! March 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Very satisfied My husband and I stayed here for 3 night in October 2011 and we're getting ready to book another 5 night stay for October 2012. We were totally satisfied with our stay at the Westin St. John. I've certainly stayed at more exclusive/upscale resorts but for the price, I think it is a good value. Our rooms were clean and updated. The staff was friendly. The grounds and the pool were beautiful. I really don't remember having any complaints. My husband travels each week for business, so we're pretty particular travelers. We've complained about many hotels/resorts in the past but honestly had nothing to complain about at the Westin. July 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love St. John's! We had an absolutely great time in St. John's! The resort was beautiful and has everything you'd need. The Transportation from the airport over to St. John's was flawless. It really was great to have all these details covered- it made our journey to and from very easy. Transportation down to downtown St. John is great to. There is always a taxi waiting. Definitely recommend renting a jeep for your trip. We rented one from a place downtown and it was 100% worth it. It allows you to get to everywhere on the island that you normally wouldn't be able to go. It's worth exploring on your own. Can't wait to go back and visit! We'd definitely stay at the Westin again. The only thing that we were disappointed in was with our room's view. We stay at SPG properties every week and are platinum. We really wanted a beach view, but never received a room with one. It seemed like all the beach view rooms were reserved for weddings. November 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great stay Great place great people. Prices for food was a bit high for me. May 15, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing The staff were wonderful. However, the remainder of the experience was disappointing. The quality of the facility did not equate to the cost of the experience. I wrongly expected more. Attention to detail was remiss (e.g., discolored tiles, moldy ceiling, toiletpaper holder falling off the wall, running out of half and half at the deli in the morning). We have traveled a number of places, this was by far the most dissonant in terms of what I expected and what I experienced. May 9, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unhappy Newlyweds We arrived the evening of 11/11/11, to start our honeymoon. The desk reception by Shade' was great. Things quickly changed as we waited 20 min plus for a shuttle to our room We asked the front desk 3 times for a shuttle. We saw many people getting dropped off but the shuttle immediately took off. Finally... the manager on duty said one is coming now. We asked for a manager and was told a manager would call the next day. no one called! November 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great family resort Great for families with young kids. Staff is responsive, helpful. Good amenities, don't nickel and dime you with beach chairs, floaties, etc. April 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice resort on small island Our stay was for our anniversary.Room was cleaned if bathroom did show some years of use,lovely balcony,and big room. Our phone in our room did not work and when we reported it,they placed another phone in the room and this didnt work wither.However,no one addressed this issue until our last night there when we mentioned to a front desk employee in passing.He gave us a cell phone to use for the rest of our stay.We couldnt order room service or anything up until then without walking to the front desk which was far from our room. .Also,we wanted to book an excursion for early morning and waited until late night and the night conceigere just gave us a card with the number of the company and his name.He did not offer to make the call for us or anything.We didnt have a working phone in our room so we did not book the trip. So the service was a little below par but otherwise the resort is extensive and alot to offer.plenty of taxi to take you where you want to go and a variety of offers available. November 13, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Non Repeter Staff lacks personality, makes one feel as though they are doing you a favour, food prices absurd. $40 resort fee shocking. April 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Spa not worth it!!!! I have to say that I always try the Spa out on trips and get monthly massages and services when at home. My sister and I were excited to try out the Spa at a "Westin" we went for the Simplicity package as well as a Mud Wrap. The front desk was helpful and flexible. The massage was OK. The facial which should have included a neck and some arm massage had no massage at all. They did use products I liked. The pedicure was horrific. You are literally in a closet. There is only one nail tech. The chair is difficult at best to get in did I mention your in a closet. The chair does not even have a massage feature and the nail tech is not a happy or nice person. Save your money and enjoy the extra time snorkeling in trunk bay!!! July 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pillows While I think the bed is quite nice, the pillows are far too thick. They should provide more than one type of pillow as I woke up every morning with a stiff neck. November 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always enjoy this resort Everything was great as expected. The staff were very nice, especially Neil who greeted us and took us around upon arrival. Facilities look well kept and lots of maintenance taking place. Only complaint was regarding water, was turned off for repairs one day but we were given notice and it was not a factor. However, on our last morning we awoke to no water......stressful enough to pack and leave under normal conditions, we had to go down the hill and buy coffee, use bathrooms, and go to the Spa for showers. Unpleasant way to end an otherwise great vacation. September 25, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great resort but beware of sales safe for time share. This island sells itself. It's beautiful!!! We been coming to St. John since 1993. We own 2 time shares with the Westin. We had an issue with an explorer package and I've been in touch with the 800 # to resolve. The issue was we couldn't change the dates for the week we chose. We had to guess our kids spring break last year for 2015. At the time the sales person, Rob, told us it could be adjusted. When we arrived to the Westin this time, we were ask if we wanted to make an appt to review our time share. We said no because we were happy with what we have. Later in the week we were approach again about a meeting to see the time shares sales people. Again we no said, but mentioned the problem with moving the dates of the 2015 trip. We were told to go because they could definitely help us. So on Easter morning we got up and went to the meeting in hopes with some help. The sales help answer to our problem was to spend another $14,000 + and the would credit only 10% on what we spent on the explorers package. They didn't want to hear ANYTHING about our problem! WE FELT duped into the meeting and was VERY insulted. We totally understand the value in the resort. We feel the owners don't get any support from the sales people. Their only purpose is to sell more at any cost. With this we are very disappointed in the whole time share sales process. April 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to standards This hotel looks worn. Room amenities, beach mats, lounges, etc. need replacement. for this level of Starpoints, and a charge of $40/day, they should be much better. I've stayed at Sheratons hotels with better amenities for far fewer points. Tennis was non-existent for higher level players. Food at restaurant was not very good. After eating at restaurant on first night, we never went back. Our neighbors left unfinished food on the patio for a number of days, and the cleaning staff never removed it. So called "free" WIFI was virtually non-existent. December 25, 2012
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>