The Westin Poinsett, Greenville

  • 120 South Main Street
  • Greenville,
  • South Carolina
  • 29601
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 334 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel There is "old" good and "old" bad. This historic hotel is defintely "old" good. The staff were all professional and helpful, and especially the bartender (Sam) in the lounge was very gracious and friendly. Hotel is right in the downtown within easy walking distance to everthing. We thouroughly enjoyed our stay. October 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by green I think the new "green" program is a wonderful idea. I have no problem reusing towels and making my own bed. I did not realize, however, that if you participate you get no service (ie - replace coffee - empty trash, etc). October 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel staff and location Hotel staff were excellent and went that extra mile to make our conference a success. The hotel's location is wonderful, it is in the middle of all the action in Greenville. Everything was within easy walking distance. Plus, the food was very good. October 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by SPG not very special Hotel well located, beds very comfy, rooms and lobby clean. Two bed request not honored, just told shouldn't use Expedia. No effort expressed to solve problem. No difference being SPG. No extra effort or amenities offered to us. October 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing This was my first overnight visit to Greenville. I was attending a conference and had a reservation for two nights. When I arrived, reception indicated that I only had a reservation for one night (I had confirmation for both nights). Apparently some "Fall into Greenville" was scheduled to begin on Friday and the hotel must have wanted the conference guests to leave to make room for clientelle who were paying more per night. As a result, I had to check out on Friday and valet my things since the conference didn't end until after check-out. Unfortunately, in the complete disorganization that was supposed to be the valet, the valet (despite me providing all claim tickets) failed to load all my belongings into my car. As a result, when I arrived home, I discovered that I was missing my camera bag (I was the photographer for the conference) and a number of important documents. I immediately (that afternoon) called the hotel and arranged to have the bag and documents (the valet still had them) overnighted to me. Unfortunately, this conference guest must not have been important enough to the hotel so the hotel didn't bother to have my bag shipped out until late Saturday evening. By Sunday, when the bag still hadn't arrived, I called back and got a weak excuse from a front desk person about Fed Ex not picking up the package until Saturday evening. Needless to say, as of today (Monday), I still do not have my bag and am absolutely disgusted with the level of service from this hotel and the lack of courtesy shown to its guests. All of this combined with my terrible night sleep (since my room was facing the Main street where "Fall into Greenville" was setting up all its tent poles all night long, made this such a miserable experience that I will reccommed that my conference (I am on the Board) NEVER holds its annual conference in this hotel again. October 14, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Usually 5* Very dissapointed in my last stay. Reservations were made months ago and I arrive after notifing hotel 3 times of my arrival and we did not have the room we booked. We needed a double room and it was given to some one who decided to stay another night!!??? We were given a roll away which was far, far from a "heavenly bed"! It was my sister's first visit and I was totally embarrassed that she experienced this. I must say that the lady behind the desk and the manager were extremely nice. I have been to this hotel countless times and it has always been excellent. Don't know who made the mistake but this should never happened. October 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rest after an exciting & emotional day! Incredible experience as usual. Every question was greeted with a smile. The hotel staff was very knowledgable about local activities and food. I'm allergic to garlic, they called around to some of the local places and found out where I could eat. That took a lot of pressure off of me. I always get the Bed & Breakfast package which includes a buffet breakfast for two. No worries, no fuss. They bend over backwards to help you. I travel with a service animal when I visit. They greet us with a smile and always ask Shadow (by name) how is he doing! They met my needs and my expectations. Location, location, location! It is located in the heart of downtown Greenville. You are a block or two from everything downtown. Love it!!! October 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is in a great location. My requested room was not available upon my check in; front desk staff accommodated with a very nice upgrade to a suite room. The hotel has a great location; walking distant to all the fabulous highlights of Greenville. Looking forward to our next stay. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Furman Parents Weekend What a grand old hotel. Westin has done such a great job respecting the history yet bringing modern comforts to a historic hotel. She is perfectly located in the middle of the Greenville action. Hotels, restaurants, farmers market, nightlife are steps from the front door. Westin employee Raymond, great guy, drove us to dinner in a Westin buggy! We stay here every time we visit Furman and are never disappointed! October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay was OK We stayed at the Westin Poinsett in Greenville, SC for a college parents' weekend. We have friends who always stay there so we thought we would try it. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the location is central but the facilities are older, which while charming, were not as we expected. If you choose to stay there I would specify an overlook. We had two windows in our room which unfortunately looked out over an air unit and the wall of the building just 10 or so feet away. With so many choices in the area we will most likely make another choice in the future. October 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay!! Loved the location We stayed the weekend while visiting Greenville SC for my son's birthday. The staff was very helpful and provided us with a gift basket for my son and plates and silverware for us to use when eating birthday cake. September 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by room too noisy this hotel is a little bit old fashion but the location is nice if you like to be downtown. The major issue is the noise. of course you have to stop the air conditionning which is extremely noisy in the room, but even with the airconditionning stopped , there is plenty of noise coming from outside and the noise insulation is zero. In summary , a good hotel but not if you want to sleep !!! September 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Loved staying here! Perfect location and I loved the old building! I wanted to go on the roof but was told it was only for brides and grooms:( September 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bathroom needs attention When we checked in we were given a room on the 10th floor. As soon as we got off the elevator we could smell mold. When we opened the door to the room the smell was unbearable. Plus the view was overlooking the roof air conditioner. NO VIEW at all. We went back to the front desk, told them the situation and they gave us a room on the 6th floor with a lovely view of Main Street. Very nice. When we told the clerk about the smell the reply was "Yes, people have been complaining about the 10th floor. It always smells moldy". Why in heavens name were we given that room if there are complaints about the rooms on that floor? Why when there was an available room on the 6th floor? To make matter worse the bathroom in our room was not very clean and needed attention to detail. Floor dirty, grout dirty, amenities lacking. On our 3rd day the room was not made up when we arrived back to the hotel for a rest at 5pm. When asked about this the head housekeeper replied "Oh you want it cleaned?" September 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 very restful & comforting we had a very pleasant stay. September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location and Staff Hotel is conveniently located on main street in Greenville. You can park your car and leave it there. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Only complaint was loud AC unit September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best location to stay in Greenville. This hotel is in a perfect location if you are wanting to explore Greenville and the surrounding area. Right downtown with several places to eat, bars, parks, and points of interest within walking distance. The Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Valet Parking is reasonably priced. We stayed in the Junior Suite which I would recommend, it has a great view of the town square. I would stay here every trip into Greenville. The only downside is no pool so might not be the best choice for a long stay with kids. September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city The Westin Poinsett exceeded my expectations. All of the staff were courteous and helpful. One staff member even personally escorted me to a meeting room I was searching for. The hotel is located in an amazing area, convenient to everything that downtown Greenville has to offer. I was more than impressed! September 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A lovely hotel with great location. Everything was perfect except entry/exit from the garage area. Stairs difficult to navigate with luggage & door should automatically open. This was the only disappointment ! Also a little surprised that room was not ready an hour earlier when we actually arrived, but that gave us a chance to walk to Reedy Falls Park. September 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elegant Suite and Great Breakfast We enjoyed a one-night get-away at Westin Poinsett in Greenville recently. We had a lovely, spacious Junior Suite high above the vibrant downtown scene and with a great view to the horizon. The room was well-equipped, very comfortable, and the hotel staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was a huge buffet and chef station. We are already planning out next stay! September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel had great location. The hotel was gorgeous. It had great locations and features. September 16, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel What a beautiful hotel right in the heart of downtown Greenville, SC! Aside from the bustling busy streets by cars and pedestrians outside, the hotel was very quiet and serene. Love all the marble in the lobby! Our room was very clean which is very important to us! The bed is so comfortable with the nice sheets, comforter and pillows....just wanted to stay snuggled in all morning but unfortunately had to go back home early morning! Truly enjoyed our stay! September 9, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I would recommend Great location and ambience in an old style southern flare. You can walk to multiple restaurants and shops....right in the center of Greenville. No car needed. The Negatives: In this day and age of upper end hotels with quality fitness centers, The WP is WAY behind....only a few treadmills and dumbbells and THAT'S IT. Don't expect to get a great work out there on a rainy day (the outdoor's Falls and running trails are great!) Also...the newspaper service is very poor: all newspapers were out by 9am. (Again, most higher end hotels like the Westin will place them at your room door, but not at the WP.) Some picky points, but issues that usually are just EXPECTED at most hotels.... Overall, very happy. September 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff, Great Rooms We met family and all stayed at the Westin Poinsett for a weekend. The staff was professional, welcoming and friendly at every interaction. our rooms were all wonderful, and the location is perfect near the Greenville Reedy Falls Park, several walkable restaurants, boutiques, and downtown events. We have stayed here twice now & highly recommend this hotel. September 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what you'd expect from a Westin I am a regular guest of Westin hotels and in fact have stayed at this particular Westin on a several occasions in the past. I was surprised when I checked in that I wasn't even recognized as a SPG member. In addition, some of the usual request on my profile were not accommodated. The lobby area is very comfortable for a quick drink. However sitting for a while waiting to be helped, I had to seek someone out. The room was very old and outdated. Sheets were not up to the heavenly bed standard. The pull out bed had what appeared to be mildew on the bottom of mattress pad. I wasn't surprised to find mold since the entire floor and room smelled very musty and felt very humid. Overall the hotel was a huge disappointment. The Greenville area is fantastic and the hotel is in a great location, but there are new additions to the area as far as hotel options so I'd consider those before staying here again. September 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to par When we got to our room and pulled open the curtains we were overlooking the roof and hvac units. That should be conveyed upon Booking. We were allowed to switch. But rooms just look and feel "tired". August 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room size is spacious. Bathroom was a little small and had some mildew around the tile in the tub/shower. The towels were like drying off with sandpaper. They needed to be more soft. August 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great experience The hotel was a great location for my niece's wedding party. The staff was responsive and friendly. The building layout is a bit odd, but that's just because it's an old, and charming, building. August 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel needs to be dehumified! The carpet in our room felt damp on our feet. The next morning our clothes also felt damp. The room smelled or mildew/mold. It is a great location. The staff was a mix of friendly and annoyed that we were asking questions. Honestly would try another hotel before staying here again. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel The hotel and staff were wonderful. Room was very nice. Bed was wonderful!! Overall great experience.....will definitely stay agin on my next visit to Updtate August 12, 2013
  • 2015-04-20T19:07:14.597-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_334, tr_334
  • loc_en_US, sid_1255, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 next>>