The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

  • 50 Hillside Drive
  • Mammoth Lakes,
  • California
  • 93546
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4 out of 5 by 229 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too many dogs Firstly--the staff was nice however they were understaffed. the rooms were not ready when we arrived. also they never informed us that some of the rooms will be occupied by pets-namely dogs. they never gave us the option to stay in a pet-free room until we asked. that is when they moved us to another room but again we had to wait for the room to be cleaned. We WAITED 1HOUR AND 45 MINUTES! while we waited, the staff never even offered us to go somewhere else where it was warmer for us to wait--until we asked again. they could have at least offered us to go to the restaurant while we waited. Secondly--this is a hotel, not a kennel?!!! there was urine and dog feces visible on the property outside. it smelled like wet-dog. we personally have a dog but will never inconvenience other guests by bringing our dog to a 5 star hotel. that is why we leave our dog in a kennel! hotels are meant for people, not dogs. it appeared that it was a dog hotel rather than a people hotel. lastly--the staff seemed to cater to the pets more than to disabled patrons. we had a hard time getting around due to the amount of steps to the hotel. we are not recommending this hotel to anyone. the only nice thing about this property is the decor. December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, nice rooms, staff overwhelmed in busy season Great location, right across the street from the Gondola that takes you to the Canyon Lodge. The rooms are large, with fully furnished kitchenettes, very convenient, especially since the hotel restaurant is sub-par. Now, don't expect much for your Platinum status... They don't have a Club Lounge, so you can choose as a platinum ammenity to have complimentary breakfast at their hotel. The comp breakfast is tiny: coffee, toast, few slices of fruit. They'll upcharge for anything beyond that. The check-in process was a nightmare: We came in @ 2:30 and were told Check-in was not until 3 (no surprises there) but they wouldn't unload our car! They said the limited storage space is reserved for guests flying in to Mammoth. If you drive in, you keep things in your car until the room is ready. They wouldn't park our car either since we didn't have a room number yet! So, we had no option than turning around and running some errands (with a full car). Came back at 4:00, and the room was still not ready, and heard a phrase for the bronze: check-in "starts" at 3 PM, but it is not guaranteed! Oh, and on the day of check-out we were cheerfully reminded that if we stayed a minuted after 12, we would be charge full rate for it! (since they care so much about having the rooms ready for their guests checking-in!) In summary: nice rooms, great location, but get ready to be treated like a nuisance. December 30, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service was really bad The service was terrible. I highlighted list of issues we had in short period of time to manager (late check-in, bags delivered to room two hours late, heat in room was broken, etc). The manager's response was only to be defensive. December 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel for families Beautiful location, gorgeous property, great for families!!! Very cozy suites with fully equipped kitchenette, ideal for a ski vacation. The restaurant, Whitebark, is amazing. Would recommend adding a full spa with treatment rooms, steam and sauna, as well as yoga/Pilates classes. It would be a great option for non-skiers. In previous years there were activities for kids (cookie decorating, s'mores...) Please bring those back! Great experience overall! December 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room temperature An otherwise pleasant stay was once again accompanied by a repeat of a room temperature issue. This Westin location has a very serious case of poor A/C. You either get central heating at an uncomfortable 75 degrees day or night which means a hot, unpleasant sleep...or you have to turn on the cold A/C to your desired temperature which in turn runs a wind tunnel ventilation system at a loud noise level. The engineering department sent a technician to our room who verified that this is just the way it operates. This is my 3rd stay in the past 2 years here with the same results each time. The Westin can do better than this. December 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but snobby service Close to The Village and the Gondala to the slopes . The valet attenent , bell man ,and the workers at the ski retail were spectacular . Loved the complementary shuttle ride to any where in Mammoth Lake. Now to the bad. Front desk was disrespectful and didn't seem to like there job. Not very attentive until I showed them that I was a SPG member. Then I finally got a smile. Our room didn't have a bathtub, which was very disappointing . December 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding in every way Phenomenal property... Great for our teenagers and us adults. Close to everything that the Monache might not have.. Which is very little. The staff was great even though it was very busy and snowy!! Will make it our new go to place in Mammoth❤ December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thoughtful and warm enviroment Great hotel! - everything is so well thought, convenient location. The stuff is helpful and kind. Enjoyed the hot tub, the pool, the puffy robes. The highlight - "ski valet"! They take your skis & boot to the gondola, so you just walk 75 steps down to the gondola and there they are! Thank you! It has been a great experience! December 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional guest service We truly enjoyed our stay at the Westin Monache Resort. The location, guest service, and ammenities could not have been better. Every hotel staff member was friendly and extremely accommodating, from valet, to the front desk, to housekeeping. It's great that they not only accept but cater to dogs; we loved being able to bring our small dog along with us. They even provide dog bowls and a Heavenly Dog Bed, which she LOVED. We were in Mammoth for the weekend and were worried about getting a late check out for Sunday based on other reviews, since we wanted to snowboard and would not have anywhere to keep our dog. The hotel provided us with a list of recommended dog sitters in the area upon our arrival, and also checked capacity levels and obtained a late check out for us the night before our check out day, rather than making us wait until Sunday morning. The service and dog accommodation made our stay wonderful. The fact that it is steps to the Village Gondola didn't hurt either. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, particularly those wanting to bring their dogs along. December 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location The hotel is located in close proximity to the Village and gondola to Canyon Lodge. The hotel is a pet friendly hotel. The hotel will provide you with gym clothes so you can pack light. The restaurant had very good food, could improve on service. December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Winter Wonderland The resort is fantastic. The staff go out of their way to make everything pleasant. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The property is adjacent to the village so one can walk there without any problem. The Gondola is adjacent to the property so you can get up to the mountain without driving your car. December 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reccomend to anyone! Decided to drive up from Fresno and hit a deer jsut before Mammoth Lakes - fortunately I made it to hotel, and was greeted by a great staff once I got out of my car. after explaining what happened, the guys made my son and I feel comfortable instantly. They were helpful in finding options in regards to what to do wtih my car. ended up gettting a tow service to bring car home - the guys took care of dealing with vehicle so we could snowboard as planned, took me to get a rental car, rode for the weekend and they dealt with the tow service after I had left town. They were super friendly , helpful in everyway possible and they made my stay! as far as the rest of the staff, everyone was great - but wanted to pay a shout out to the guys out front. I havent been to a hotel with such a great team. It is becasue of them that I'll be back. as far as everything else - the place is great - food/location, everything was top notch. Thanks again to them! December 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by check in needs help Hotel was 17% full when we checked in according to doorman. I had requested an upper floor room with a view. At check in was told the room had a nice view. The room had a view of the driveway- Unacceptable. When I called the front desk o request a room change the person was relatively rude. Finally we got a new room with a great view. I don't know why the process was so difficult. December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT! Exceeded our expectations! November 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Return Visit Every time I stay at this hotel the cleanliness of the shower is a problem. I believe that housekeeping needs improved oversight. Additionally, I was on the AAA Bed and Breakfast Plan - but found out that you can only order the same menu item every day to get the included breakfast. If you order anything other than the "American Breakfast", you only get a $5.00 credit. When I questioned the charge for ordering an omelet, (the same price as the American Breakfast) I was informed that it was because their food service is planned in advance. This is unacceptable and actually rather idiotic to expect people to eat the same thing every morning. I do want to say that the dinner menu is much improved over previous visits. Thank you, Chef! November 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Experience This was our second stay at hotel. Overall great experience. Nice hotel and perfect location. Pool was warm and two jacuzzi's were nice and hot. Valet guys/bellman outside were top notch. As a Platinum member I was quite disappointed when I was told the new policy is to charge for upgrade to 1-BR suite. Reasoning they provided is they are an all-suite hotel. A little tacky. Platinum is Platinum. I didn't take that option but did request the larger of their standard suites which they accommodated. Also didn't like the swich to the earlier happy hour at 2-5. Service at restaurant varied. At times servers were quite slow, others were on the ball. We'll be back. November 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by SURPRISINGLY DISAPPOINTED WE VISITED FOR 4 NITES OPENING WEEK AT MAMMOTH MOUNTAIN. THE PILOT LIGHT IN THE FIRE PLACE WAS NOT LIT, THERE WAS NO TV STATION GUIDE, THE BATHROOM PLUG WAS STUCK, THE TELEPHONES WORKED INTERMITTENTLY AND THE FRONT DESK COULD NOT CORRECTLY COUNT CHANGE. November 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay Stayed here in May and looked forward to returning in the fall. Excellent location, great staff, dogs are welcome. Very comfortable room. As a status SPG member, they even gave us the same room for our second stay. Only downside was no breakfast buffet. They had one in May, and even though it was a bit disorganized, we still enjoyed it. Upon our return, the buffet was not available. Will definitely look forward to returning. November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Westins This hotel was gorgous! Excellent Rooms, Veiws were wonderful! Had a great time. November 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Staff - great setting Great staff friendly and accommodating October 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in! This hotel was exceptional in every way. Beautiful, comfortable, great customer service and just NICE! I don't know what else to say except that it was a wonderful experience and I hope to come back again in the near future. October 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great homey feeling You get a very warm feeling when you walk in the lobby it's very relaxing. Always greeted with a smile- Dolores is wonderful and helpful. Cammon is a great owner relations person - very accomodating. Justin is also great, very friendly but professional . He has a great staff, Carol and Weston - great teamwork. October 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location A great location and beautiful hotel with underground parking that has spaces big enough to accommodate cars and trucks without banging doors. The rooms are very nice and quiet. Everyone was very friendly and professional and treated us including our dog like we owned the place. It is so great to find a great property that will allow pets A wonder stay and we certainly will be back. October 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great people Your Valet Rodney is the best ! Very fun and interesting guy to convese with. Also liked the front desk guy who checked us in very friendly very professional ! thanks ! G October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great hotel in the mountains! This is a very impressive hotel! The staff is professional, kind and welcoming. I had a slow draining sink in my bathroom and mentioned it to the cleaning lady as I was walking out for lunch. She reported it immediately and someone was there to resolve it within minutes! The atmosphere is perfect for a weekend getaway or even longer! October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Star Hotel with a 5 Star View What an amazing hotel! First the snow covered mountains take your breath away and then when you reach the Hotel you are equally impressed. First Class service from the Valet and Doorman and then to the Front Desk. Theresa was waiting for me and welcomed me by name and acknowledged my Gold status. The free cocktail in Whitebark was a nice touch - and the White Chocolate Martini was perfect. I was upgraded to a suite with a kitchenette, fireplace, and a view that framed the mountains perfectly. If you are in the Mammoth area - the Westin Monache is a must! October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Getaway Wonderful hotel, nicely located to all the Eastern Sierra activities. Lots of local places and restaurants to go too! October 16, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Place simplely love this place. peace and quiet. October 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place for a fall getaway This was a very nice facility for our fall trip. The beds were really comfortable and the staff was very pleasant. The Lodge-Net app was great. We would return and would hope that the room was cleaned better the next time. The coffee was not restocked for the second day, and we actually found a condom wrapper (not ours) under the bed - or it might have been in-between the mattress and box springs. October 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous The staff was great - met us at the door - really felt welcome. The food was excellent and especially enjoyed Happy Hour at the bar. The Westin is a fabulous hotel to stay in. October 9, 2012
  • 2016-02-09 T05:40:42.461-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_229, tr_229
  • loc_en_US, sid_1562, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 next>>