The Westin San Diego

  • 400 West Broadway
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 329 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Weekend Stay I stayed here from Thursday-Sunday with my wife and a 21 months old baby. Small Cons: When we arrived at 7pm, I noticed a street parking space across the street from main lobby and parked my car there. As I juggled with our luggage and the baby crossing the street, no help was offered by the valet nor bell desk person. Not a usual Westin hospitality. Room was ok and clean, no complaints. However, on Friday, housekeeping did not replenish complimentary water bottles which the front desk acknowledged that they should have been replenished. We needed to get a baby food heated up, so we had to go down to the bar for help, but there was only one person and I had to wait 15 minutes or so to get some help. Pros: One of the valet guy noticed me street parking on a side where street cleaning is to be done and gave me a warning. (that is the Westin hospitality). We chose to pay extra($5 pp) every morning to get hot breakfast - vs. cold continental that I chose as plat. benefit - and their made to order omelet was the best that I had in San Diego. Most of the staff were very polite and punctual when asked a question. Even though this hotel is few blocks from Gaslamp district, we liked it better than the other Westin since this one is closer to the water and little Italy. There were plenty of street parking around the hotel if you don't mind walking a block or two and waking up before 8am to put in some coins to the meter. September 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service This was my first time at the Westin SD. I normally stay at another starwood property close by but figured I would try something new. The staff made my trip. Everyone was extremely friendly and they went out of their way to help me with a few things. Also, the food at their bar is really good, especially the ceviche. I will be back. September 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good until checkout I recently stayed at this property for a two week business trip. Generally I enjoyed the hotel, as I do most Westins. Hotel could use some work and general upgrades. During checkout, however, nobody offered to help or get a bell cart despite the large suitcase, two tote bags, and four suits I was carrying. Besides the woman checking me out there were three staff members standing around chatting at the front desk. Not impressed. Same problem when I waited for the valet to bring my car. August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay!!! The staff was amazing! Room was clean!!! The perfect weekend getaway hotel. Everyone was so friendly and went above and beyond all expectations. The young lady that helped me check in was extremely courteous and friendly! Thanks for a great getaway! August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Weekend I thoroughly enjoyed my time in San Diego this past weekend, and it was largely due to the amazing staff at the Westin Hotel. I couldn't have asked for more friendly and courteous people to take care of everything I needed. They could teach a class on hospitality, that's for sure. I would highly recommend your hotel, and look forward to staying there next time I visit San Diego August 26, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Could be first rate, but service is sorely lacking! Our needs were not respnded to in a timely manner and a couple of times not at all! The rooms needed maintenance, ie.our refirgerator did not work. The bathroom door closed everytime we left the room. A n adjustable mechanism needs to be installed. Windows were filthy, hard to enjoy the beautiful view from them! August 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall experience! Great downtown location. Walking distance to most major attractions. Hotel caters more to business than tourist. Room small. Some doors don't open because of limited space. Expensive room service. Great valet service except parking is very high $. Too green oriented. Left me with the impression that it was more cost effective for hotel vs. being green. One restaurant with fairly good food. August 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sticks to Business Arriving at 2 am after delayed flight, I was exhausted, and the check in was ultra smooth, and the top floor room crisp and ready. Room service breakfast was prompt and perfect across everything on the tray. And the bed was ultra comfortable. Super hotel. August 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Concierge The location of this hotel is great. It's within walking distance of the many restaurants in the Gas Lamp District and is also very close to both the ferry and the trains. We had excellent service from the concierge desk. Danielle went above and beyond in regards to providing the information we were seeking as well as giving some excellent restaurant recommendations that fit exactly with what we were looking for. August 14, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very poor This hotel needs help immediately. I was appalled by the service at all levels! The only person that deserves to work at that hotel would be the gentleman that checked us in. He was great. The rest were awful. Valet service was terrible. I don't care that one has to pay because that s a given in any city but when you are treated like dirt I find it insulting that you have to pay for it. I asked the man if he had a trash bin to throw away our lunch remains and he said he would take care of it. As we came out to get in our car to leave for the concert I saw our bag of trash just thrown besides the bin outside the hotel... Really he couldn't put it in. On our return from the concert we had to go looking for someone to park the car. Not ok when there is a large price for daily parking. Next on the staff was the bartender, she was miserable! We just wanted a quick drink before the concert, what we got was a rude bartender that could not spell guest service. Tried to give me a dirty glass for my prosecco. When i asked for a new glass before she poured it she disappered for 10 mins before returning by that time we needed to leave. She also didn't even remember my friends buying beers from her 20 mins before. They went to their room changed and brought the beers back down and she told them they could not bring outside beverages... Really. The housekeeping in the hotel rooms was below standards. Our bath towels musty, the shower mat had pink stains on it, there were hairs stuck to the ceiling and no lotion in the bathroom. Upon check out I tried to acquire the general managers email to communicate the low standards she provides and how unhappy I was. The front desk girl couldn't provide nor was she able to give me the managers name because all she could remember was her first name... Are you kidding me that the staff doesn't know the manager! Thank goodness were had a friend rate because I would have been furious to pay full price for this disgusting hotel. August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel I travel quite a bit and I "test" the hotels on if they follow their green policy and leave my towel hanging. This is one of the only hotels that follow their own green policy and left my towel hanging. Kudos to the room attendants for believing their company philosophy. Appreciate a team that works together! The room was very comfortable and perfect for my needs. I'm buying a heavenly bed this week. Thanks for a great stay. August 12, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by 4 Star? - really? Positives- -Close to the airport - less than 10 minutes by cab or only $2.25 on the bus -Easy access to all local public transportation -Walking distance to Gaslamp District, Horton Plaza, and most Downtown attractions -Walking distance to most bayside maritime attractions including the USS Midway -comfortable bed and pillows -in room refrigerator NEGATIVES- -Very cramped and dark feeling lobby and front desk (especially thanks to a giant pillar right in the middle of the check in area -little or no explanation of hotel amenities by the clerk when I checked in -the room felt very small, even smaller than at your basic roadside hotel -the electronic in-room safe was broken and did not work (I think the battery was dead), so I had nowhere to keep valuables when I left the room. -not much of a view from my 16th floor room, only a sliver of the city could be seen in between the two tall buildings it faced -even if there was a view, the windows on the outside were so dirty that you could hardly see through them anyway -the bathroom floor had a lot of spots on it and looked as if it had barely been cleaned, if at all. -the double shower heads were a plus, but the water pressure - which was probably only average or a little below average - was such that you really needed to have both shower heads on anyway to get a good shower, which, to me, sort of defeated the purpose of the extra shower head. Personally, a second, hand-held shower head would have been better. August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Simply Heavenly... We really enjoyed our two night stay at this property. All of the staff that we came in contact with, made us feel very warm and well received. We will return to San Diego again within the month and I hope I can stay at this property again. August 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weekend Getaway.... We gave our son and his wife a "1-year" weekend anniversary gift. The room was great, the staffs special attention to detail for their visit was top notch. July 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not at all what I expected We arrived at the hotel after a long drive and it was late in the evening. We were greeted with a friendly staff and was happy with the service until we got to our room and found 1 king bed as opposed to 2 double beds as per our reservation. When I went to get my room changed the young lady at the front desk said they were out of rooms and was not able to accommodate because my reservation said it was for 1 king bed. After some debate, the young lady offered to speak with a manager. They both went to a back room, which was shady, and came back to tell me my reservation said 1 king bed and the hotel was fully booked and will not be able to accommodate my request unless I had proof that I made reservations for 2 doubles. She offered to send us a cot or full size air mattress. I was so frustrated and so certain my reservation was for 2 beds. I got my print out and showed them the reservation, which stated 2 double beds, and miraculously a room with 2 double beds was made available to me. I asked the lady at the front desk for alternative parking options and she said there was none because they were the only one that offered in and out service. We found out today that there was street parking available. We are staying our last night at the hotel tonight and parked on the street...for FREE as opposed to $32 at the hotel. On the website it also states complimentary internet in guest rooms but the lady at the front desk said it was $12.95 but they will give me free internet and remove from my bill. Last night I also asked if the hotel offered discounted tickets and they had mentioned I can get discounted tickets for the San Diego Zoo at the concierge desk and someone will be there at 8AM. I went to the desk well over 8AM and no one was there. I went out for breakfast, came back and no one was there. We went for a college tour, went to Coronado for the day, came back at 7PM and no concierge. Asked about the concierge hours at the front desk and Leon mentioned she was out at lunch, took down my room number and cell number and will have her call me. Received a call on my cell phone, not room, and sounded very friendly at first. But as soon as I asked her what the difference between the discounted ticket and the ticket we can get at a deeper discount with AAA membership, she got frustrated and rushed me off the phone. FYI, the discount at the hotel was $2 and the discount for AAA is 10%, which is well over $4. There is also a magazine in the hotel room with a $4 off coupon. The only difference is we will have to wait on line to get the tickets when we get there. Besides rude service from the front desk and concierge (house keeping was great,and valet was very pleasant), the amenities are not great, the bathroom was dated, my comforter had stains (you don't want to know what the stain looked like) on it, one of the pillows had lipstick marks. The pool looked great on the picture on their website but when we went to check it out a few hours ago it was so small, and not too pleasant looking, same with the hot tub. Definitely need some updating. The fitness room was of reasonable size though. The lobby was ok with fresh flowers for a nice touch but with unpleasant attitude from the front desk, who cares about how the lobby looks. I would not stay at this hotel ever again, as a matter of fact, I think I will stop staying at Westin hotels all together. This is my 3rd experience at a Westin that was not pleasant. But this one was so poor I had to write about it. July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel just blew me away! I stayed here during my first trip to San Diego's much talked about and hugely popular Comic-con. I came for a week since the event transforms San Diego for 4 days into a mob of pop comics and culture and I wanted 3 days prior to be able to calmly explore San Diego, the Gaslamp, and Zoo with friends. The hotel was very nice and extremely accommodating in meeting my needs. The staff from the drivers, to the waiters, to room service to even my room attendants made sure to suite all my needs from offering free shuttle pick up service for my party to even being able to sell zoo pass tickets right there at the hotel at a discount to help avoid the lines. The person who stuck with me the most and was amazingly helpful was a very pleasant man named Andrew. He gave us inside knowledge on what must-see sites and places as newcomers to San Diego at the zoo, the museum by the harbor, or even free and otherwise overlooked gems around the Gaslamp. His assistance was immeasurable. I could also tell he was genuine in his interest in helping and checking on us. I must admit from day one Andrew greeted us and welcomed us to the hotel, which I thought nothing of, but I stayed there a total of 7 days and by the fourth day I was greeting Andrew daily and catching him up on funny moments throughout our exploits and coming to him with whatever I needed assistant with. Come to find out before I left I personally wanted to thank and tip him and learned he was the chief concierge for the hotel – a role he well mastered. Overall the staff above all else is what absolutely made this trip amazing. I certainly love the room, the décor, the cleanliness but good service is my trump card and they had it in spades. Five stars across the board is certainly a high praise and I know hard to reach but trust me for me they earned it. July 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Customer Service but room needs some TLC This hotel needs to get up to date in terms of room and furniture. Closet was not up to date and furniture was beat up. One of the headboard light was not working. Ottoman was a bit stained, walls scratched up and bed sheets a bit worn. What is lacking with the room, the service made up for you. Front desk was knowledgeable and attentive. Restaurant employees were warm and helpful as well. Overall it was good for the location and service. July 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Welcoming and Helpful Staff I can't rave enough about the fabulous staff at the Westin San Diego. They were so friendly and helpful. Any help we asked for we got cheerfully and efficiently. July 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great service and dog friendly! Staff was super friendly and the accommodations were perfect. Also our dogs rated two paws up! July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic experience at the Westin! We came to San Diego to attend a conference and chose the Westin at 400 West Broadway as our hotel. The staff in every capacity were outstanding. Given everything going on you could say we were high maintenance visitors. I had locked myself out of my room by accident and security was upstairs in under five minutes to let me in. At the breakfast buffet I saw a Mexican dish I had never had before and when I asked what it was the waitress not only described what was in it but offered to make a fresh one for me to try. The concierge gave excellent recommendations on what to see and how to get there. When we ordered room service our food arrived in fifteen minutes. The room was spotless and well cleaned every day even though there were shopping bags everywhere since we shopped till we dropped. Overall, I couldn't have had a better experience. Oh, and the shuttle driver to the airport was sensational. He has worked at the hotel I believe for almost seventeeen years. Outstanding in every respect. July 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 Great Hotel The only complaint about the hotel is that the elevators were broken during our entire stay. The staff was great in trying to assist guest the best they could. However it was very inconvenient when we had to wait for the elevator for 15 minutes on our floor just to go to the lobby. The disappointing factor was that we weren't offered any compensation for our troubles. A free drink at the bar would have been nice, or one night of free valet parking. July 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs Help Picked up at the airport was fast, check in also. Asked for 2 rooms together when reserving the room as I was traveling with children but did not get one. (strike 1) Phone was broken in the room/ripped out of the wall. (but repaired quickly) ball1 turned AC down to 60 but could not seem to get the room cool enough to sleep well (I keep my home at 70 all the time so I'm not asking for an artic climate (Strike 2) I called down to the concierges desk around 7 pm on sat for help w/ dinner only to be told he/her had left ( on a Sat.?) strike 3 I sighed up for the Go Green thing where they don't change ur sheets and towels, and was fine w/ that. But I did not no that came w/ NO service whatsoever!! NO NEW coffee, water, bathroom supplies, trash pick up, etc. Elevators where not working (service elevator was) and I had ask for a NICE Steak House to go to and they sent me to the Greystone. and I understand this is in no way the hotels fault but they may not want to send others there. 8:30 reservation, table was not ready, sat me ,my wife and 2 teenagers in the bar area with 2 sets of drunk people scream at the top of there lungs. had 4, yes 4 diff. servers, as 1 was getting off but took our drink orders, 2 took dinner order, 3 served dinner and gave me the bill and 4 took the bill while taking the tables and chairs out of the bar area around me as I'm sure it was changing into a night club at 10 pm. Last but not least leaving the hotel on Sunday morning there was about 20 people wanting to get on the van to go to the airport, the bus boy said I needed to go inside and get on the list ??. there where 3 other vans not in use on the street that could have been used to got us and others there, I took a cab. NOT a good experience for me July 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to Westin Standards I have stayed at other Westins throughout the states and this one did not compare. They put us in a handicap room, which I did NOT ask for. Told us they were sold out of other rooms (probably because they saw we booked it on priceline) We did not have the heavenly shower that I looked forward to and since it was handicap there was a huge seat in the shower in the way. The beds were not heavenly either. Just very disappointed, not sure how the other rooms add up but the handicapped room was not for us! June 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is in a great location walking distance to many nice areas. Overall I think the hotel is good June 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Over the top fabulous! We checked into the hotel for one night stay...I was there to run the half marathon and my 80 year old aunt was with us, she loves to cheer me on in these races and it have become a yearly weekend for us...it was also her birthday weekend. I mentioned to the check in staff that this was my aunt's 80th birthday and the resulting actions were over the top....the staff delivered ice cream and candles, drink and coffee coupons...and more importantly made my aunt feel so special whenever she was in the lobby....they gave her very special attention and I so totally apprecitated the attention they gave her...she smiled the entire weekend and has memories that she will share for months and months...thank you Westin!! June 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience This was my first stay at this Westin Hotel. Although I only stayed overnight for business, the facilities and especially the staff were exceptional. I will not hesitate to stay here again, and will be glad to recommend it to friends and colleagues. June 21, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad experience I was so looking forward to my stay in this hotel but was VERY disappointed. Our room was not cleaned, the bathroom door did not close and the phone in our room was broken, so we couldn't call anyone. When we reported our complaints to the front desk, they offered complementary breakfast but my order for food never came out of the kitchen! People here need to get it together! June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I felt like this was MY hotel the way the staff treated me! Friendliest staff on earth! I can't say enough about Melissa, Rae, Zulema, and everyone else who made me feel like a valued guest. The bay view rooms are spectacular (especially at night). And the Green program was the best I've encountered. One odd thing: the restaurant had random hours. It was supposed to be open all day but would randomly close and send you to the bar for food. Very weird! June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Experience I stayed at the Westin San Diego for 5 days and nights and I had a Great Experience in every facet of my stay at the Westin, San Diego. The staff were Exceptional in their professionalism, courtesy and attention to detail. June 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above and Beyond My husband, baby and I recently stayed at the San Diego Westin on Broadway for a family wedding. From the moment we stepped into the hotel lobby, we received excellent service. Traveling with a baby can be stressful, but the staff at the Westin went above and beyond to make our stay go as smoothly as possible. They immediately had a crib set up in our room and then called to make sure that everything in our room was up to par. On my way to dinner I accidentally dropped my wallet and the valet took time to alert the front desk who made sure the wallet was waiting for me upon my return. The waitress who served us breakfast in the hotel restaurant was friendly and very accommodating. We would return to this hotel in a heartbeat for the service alone! June 3, 2013
  • 2015-07-03T13:45:28.417-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-6, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_329, tr_329
  • loc_en_US, sid_1762, prod, sort_default
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 next>>