The Westin Chicago River North

  • 320 North Dearborn Street
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60654
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 492 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Missed opportunities I have respect for the Westin brand and have higher expectations for the hotel line than most others. I was disappointed to experience SEVERAL problems in my two-night stay. The cable signal on my TV continually came and went which required a maintenance visit; both outlets at the desk were very loose and I had to bend my plug prongs to ensure the cords did not fall out; and the fan I requested had obvious mechanical problems, resulting in a sustained noise level too loud to justify turning it on. In isolation, none of these issues are a large matter. But when all of them are experienced together, I couldn't help but re-evaluate my opinion of the Westin brand. I stayed here for business, as the hotel was hosting a conference i was attending. It is unlikely I will stay at this location again. May 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The Ember Restaurant was the worst I'm not one to write reviews unless they need to be written and I write both positive and negative reviews. We had breakfast at the restaurant in the lobby Saturday morning and to say the least it was horrible. Service was extremely slow with safe loitering around and not paying attention to the customers. I paid $19 per buffet and the buffet had no eggs, bacon, or bread for toast so we essentially paid for nothing. Coffee was either $4 or $5, I can't remember, but we each got 1 cup and it was luke warm. - Disappointing to say the least. December 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury in the City The Westin Chicago River North in a word: luxurious. Absolutely beautiful rooms, especially if you are fortunate enough to get one over looking the famed Chicago River - there may not be a better view from a hotel room anywhere in Chicago. The location is ideal - steps to river, wonderful new and exciting Chicago dining, across the street from House of Blues, and a very short walk to Michigan Avenue, State Street, and every conceivable tourist attraction. I've stayed here several times earlier, but the staff keeps impressining and improving. The "Executive Club" on the top floor is terrific and makes your SPG status worthwhile. My only criticism, very mild, is the lobby bar although comfortable, is excessively bright and not at all intimate. August 21, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by rooms are very dark- good location for business... not shopping. This hotel is ONLY for business travelers... point blank. don't bring any kids here or plan to have a leisurely stay. No pool- The rooms are very dark.. with one small drab window. I would hardly call it sweeping views of the chicago river. I wanted to pay cash. They would not check me in on cash only. So i had to pay with credit card and then pay with cash. So now an extra $240 is sitting in their account while i wait for the refund. I would recommend this hotel for business people.. don't even consider it for family, or pleasure stays. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Paloucek stay Sept. 19-20 We came early on Sunday and the room was not ready which we expected and we spent an hour waiting for our brunch guests in the club where we could sip coffee for an hour. We were pleasantly surprised brunch on Sunday is served until noon. ( The website said it closed at 1100. Our room was ready at 1:30 p.m. and were contacted by phone. The room measured up to our standards and we thoroughly enjoyed it the bed was comfortable. As usual we talked to the waitress serving our drinks in the early evening, who has served us on previous stays. August 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great room, convenient location We stayed here before seeing a show at the Chicago Theater. The hotel was a five minute walk to the theater with plenty of great local restaurants nearby. The room itself was up to the usual Westin standards with a high quality bathroom, bed and tv. There was even an ipad in the room that had free wifi, a nice change from having to pay the usual nickle and dime wifi fee that they seem to love. Be sure to use google street view to find the driveway before you head there since it is a very busy street and the entrance is somewhat hidden. September 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location As always, very nice Hotel. Your Front Desk staff very accomodating and friendly. A couple of things: I was not sure where to eat, there is not information of what restaurant serves what since you have the Sushi Bar and the Bar area and some of your staff at the Restaurant was not informative or clear. A female Bartender was very nice but your male bartender and server were not very attentive and kind of stiff. I used your Bar area twice during my stay. I was not the only one thinking that because the table next to me made the same comment. After checking in I was changing clothes in my room and a male attendant knocked at my door but did not wait for me to answer and he walked in. He was apologetic, but he just did not wait after I said to hold on. August 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Chicago The staff was very friendly and professional. July 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect as always I stay here often and it was perfect as always. From the doorman, to check in to the bar staff...always a great stay. Of course I love the Westin beds! July 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable and convenient Roomy and comfortable, and within steps of a variety of restaurants at all price levels. July 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not my favourite Westin stay We paid extra to stay in a deluxe rm on an upper club floor room with access to the lounge to ensure a more comfortable stay. When we were checking in we were hesitant to take a room close to the elevator but were assured that it wouldn't be an issue. We should have stuck with our first thoughts because it was very noisy throughout the night in the hallways and it continued to disrupt our sleep. Also, the room next to us had two wake up calls sometime between 4:30am and 5:30am which I could hear very clearly and then afterwards a gentleman speaking loudly into the phone. Also, when I asked for additional towels to be sent to our room on our second day, since we opted for the green option and not have our sheets changed, they didn't take the used ones which we left over the tub and the fresh ones were put over the bathroom sink. We agreed to the option because it's okay to not change the sheets for a short stay but we do expect towel service. We have stayed at many Westin Hotels throughout Canada and the US and I have to say that this did not measure up. Lastly, the drive back to the airport was with a hotel vehicle and we were lucky to make it there without incidence due to his erratic driving and the vehicle smelled both of vomit and smoke. On a positive note the concierge desk was always available and helpful and gave great dining advice. July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Grerat location and GREAT staff As an SPG Platinum member, I expect great service from most, if not all, Westin and Starwood locations. This location, however, was terrific. They were very accomoidating both before and during the stay. Got to know the front desk managers well and they were great to work with. Traveled there on a snowy day in Chicago and it was just beautiful. Great, relaxing lobby to come in from the cold and have a drink. While we didn't partake in the restaurant this time around, I have eaten there before during business meetings..very good. December 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by 5 Star Customer Service The Assistant Front Desk Manager at the Westin Chicago River North displayed a level of customer service I have never experienced before from a Starwood employee. His name is Bryan Williams. Mr. Williams was able to accommodate my colleagues and I during a recent work trip to Chicago. Our communication was conducted via email, do to the fact that I work overseas, which did not deter him from providing myself and guests such a memorable weekend in Chicago. My colleagues commended him for his assistance and amazing customer service upon our arrival. Whatever you can do for Mr. Williams, or if you need me to write another review, or call his manager, please let me know. Give my best to Bryan, and I will most definitely continue staying at the River North in Chicago. January 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected more from a "luxuary" hotel I surprised my husband with a trip to Chicago. I was so excited and he was too. But we were quickly disappointed. We were given mis-information twice. We were not told that we needed a $500 deposit for a 2 night stay with a rate of $149.00. We were told the room came with a complimentary breakfast...it did not. There were no apologies, no suggestions or help offered. The bedding was excellent, however, the room was tided up, but not cleaned. Certainly won't reccomend it to anyone else. It's a shame, I expected so much more! December 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel is our favorite in Chicago. We were very happy with our stay. Two items were disappointing. We could not regulate the temperature in our room. During the middle of the night the room was quite warm, but we didn't want the interruption of an engineer to come to our room to check out the problem. Also, when we were leaving, I looked under the bed to make sure we didn't leave anything behind and found a pair of shorts that a previous guest must have left behind. Obviously, this should have been discovered before our visit! Otherwise, we had an outstanding breakfast that was offered to us as Starwood Gold members and all of the staff (from the front desk to the housekeeping woman, to the servers, and the gentlemen who was managing the cars and taxis outside) were very, very nice and helpful. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met our every request From the early check in with Sarah to the late check out over Memorial Day weekend, the hotel met our every request. The Club room was filled with goodies both at breakfast and Happy Hour. The drinks at the bar were generous and mixed to perfection. The bar staff changed the TV to the sport we desired and there was no pressure to drink more than we desired. The room was comfortable and the WiFi worked. What more could we have asked for? May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding customer service The last 3 times we visited family in Chicago we stayed at the Westin Chicago River North. We found the location to be excellent, just a short walk to Grand Station CTA red line, and close to many fine restaurants. The fitness center was clean and well-equipped, and our rooms were spotless and comfortable, offering a great view of the city. We enjoyed a delicious brunch on several occasions in the restaurant, as well as continental breakfast in the Club Lounge. Most importantly, we found the staff to be extremely personable and accommodating. All of our requests were handled promptly with personal attention from assistant managers. Bryan was exceptionally helpful, as well as Michelle and desk agent Francisco. We look forward to our next stay in the near future. April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun Location The hotel is nicely positioned on the north side fo the Chicago river with a private street entrance that makes you feel like you are pulling into something of a resort (urban setting with out the urban feel). The staff are friendly and remember you. The gym has a friendly attendant and enough equipment for a good workout. There is no pool (negative for kids), but a great place for a couples weekend. June 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Executive Club Lounge I travel a lot for work, and constantly stay at the Starwood Hotels. This Westin is definitly one with the nicest staff I have experienced. Everyone is always smiling and paying attention to details. I definitly recommend this hotel. I want to highlight more specifically the staff working in the Executive Lounge. They are incredible and make you feel right at home. Always very welcoming. One in particular, Kwasi, who everyday, takes the time to set up my table as soon as I walk in, without even asking for anything. He pays attention to details, and regularly offers additional items that might not be at my sight. He opens the door for me when I leave to wish me a good day. He pays attention to ever little detail to ensure my stay is as comfortable as it can be. I have to say, those are the details that make a hotel your home away from home, and the reason why a business traveller will keep coming back. Thank you to all the staff at the Westin for making me feel at home. June 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Location The lack of good lighting in the room, especially in the bathroom. Also, I was given a room on the 4th floor, and the noise level from outside was easily heard all night. It had snowed that night and we heard snow blowers going most tof the night. As a preferred guest you would think a higher floor would be automatic. I should have asked for another room at ck in when they assigned me to the 4th floor, but I checked in at 10:00 pm and out by 8:00 am the following morning. I was not there long enough to use any amenities. February 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Professor comfortable convenient location July 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by this hotel is not what I expect from a Westin Didn't meet expectations. This room met minimum standards of the Westin brand. One pillow per person on the bed, not the best Westin heavenly comfort experience, the room was hot, maintenance worked on the air, but no change. I checked out early and went to a different hotel down the street. No, I did not tell why i was checking out early as I gave it a chance and the team was not successful. I stayed in Birmingham the prior week and that was a Westin experience to be recommended. April 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent choice to explore the city Greatly enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is in a great location next to the river near all of the tourists sites and awesome nightlife. Check-in was a breeze and the front-desk were courteous and a joy to talk to. The lobby, concierge, and elevator area made this hotel seem more expensive that it actually was. Business or leisure, I will definitely be back! Only complaint was that the mirror near the entrance of my room was really dirty, it looked like someone had walked on it. Other than that I was very happy with it. June 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by quality hotel everything was nice. room was comfortable, with a great view, and the staff were accommodating June 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Security I had an incident where I thought I'd lost something prior to leaving; your security person did not recognize my angst and instead copped an attitude. During stays in the hotel, staff (of all levels) go into occupied rooms to maintain them when the guest isn't there. When something is left behind and people panic (especially something valuable), I believe that security should be able to enter the room, occupied or not, to check and get back to the customer, not say, well, we can't go in because the room is occupied. January 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous hotel in the heart of Chicago I had a wonderful experience at your hotel from the minute I got there. Sarah at the front desk was very enthusiastic and helpful. She made me feel special for being an SPG member. Kwassi in the Club lounge was also very attentive, and smiling. Even when I left, I had forgotten my jacket. Bryan was most helpful in locating it, and getting it to me. (it's on it's way!) Love my stay at your hotel. You definitely have a world class staff. I can't wait to return! Thank you so much for making my stay such a pleasure! February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Weekend! The staff at this Hotel in incredible. Took care of every detail of our stay, were personable and attentive. Hotel is convenient to theatres and shopping and some great restaurants. June 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has it all except for a pool I have no complaints with the service, Rooms were very nice. Everyone friendly. I would definately recommend this hotel to my friends. However, I don't understand the wireless charge of 14.95 a day. My daughter failed to scroll all the way down on her ipod when using it in our room to see that there was a 14.95 a day charge for use in room. It ended up costing us 45.00 before we realized it. I really feel that the wireless if free in lobby should be free in room or at least let me know when I check in . August 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel Great hotel, it even smells great. Attentive staff. Salawe at the front desk is the epitome of dignity and service. June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great 1 Night Stay Flew into O'Hare at 3pm and went straight to the hotel to get ready for my first cubs game (I'm from San Francisco but my colleague is from St Louis). One of our business partners got us front row tickets! Forgot my iphone and ipad chargers (they use lightning cables) and asked where the nearest place to buy chargers was and the front desk person said they could charge my phone in the back. So went to check out the room and met up my colleague at the club lounge. Decent snacks and cheap drinks not a bad way to kill time before the game. Swapped my iphone out and had them charge my ipad while i was away at the game and swapped out ipad for iphone after the game. Super friendly front desk and great foresight in thinking that business travelers will forget basic things like chargers. A+ August 6, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 18 next>>