Rated 5 out of 5 by Art99 Always enjoy this resort
Everything was great as expected. The staff were very nice, especially Neil who greeted us and took us around upon arrival. Facilities look well kept and lots of maintenance taking place. Only complaint was regarding water, was turned off for repairs one day but we were given notice and it was not a factor. However, on our last morning we awoke to no water......stressful enough to pack and leave under normal conditions, we had to go down the hill and buy coffee, use bathrooms, and go to the Spa for showers. Unpleasant way to end an otherwise great vacation.
September 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by MJB2012 Outstanding!
My wife and I spent 5 nights at the resort for our 10th anniversary. While we spent a majority of the time exploring the island, the resort was a perfect "home base".
We were impressed with the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of the staff (especially Kenneth, who always seemed to be there to help, and Charlotte, who worked magic in the deli).
Since it was low season, we were unable to eat at Cruz Bay Prime; however the other restaurants were nice, if a bit pricey (to be expected).
We found ourselves becoming frequent visitors of the Mango Deli on the premises. They make an excellent breakfast sandwich for a very reasonable price, and offered plenty of nice picnic-type items, all reasonably priced.
I took a two tank dive charter from Cruz Bay Watersports located on the premises. The experience was excellent, with a very competent, friendly, and helpful staff. I brought my own diving gear, but I think next time I will rent (it is only $5.00 more). The rental gear appeared to be good quality and in good shape.
If there was anything that could be considered a bit disappointing, I would say the food. While the quality and variety was fine, I would have liked to see them offer more authentic, local fare.
In summary, the Westin St. John resort provided excellent service and amenities, with a friendly, courteous and helpful staff, in a breathtaking location. Having been to many islands in the Caribbean, I consider St. John to be one of the finest, and I am grateful for making my vacation a very memorable one. I look forward to returning...soon!
September 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Raj1 Great secluded hotel
Great hotel. Great pool. Great staff. We had a wondeful time. The watersport equipment provided by the hotel is fantastic. The only negative feedback that I have is that the hammocks are reserved for cabana rentals. I used one without realizing it and was asked to get off by the a hotel staff.
September 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wackka Great stay despite a very rough start.
This stay was supposed to be a awesome well deserving girl's vacation and it was almost ruined by the welcoming committee (Franique and Kara) at the airport in charge of issuing you your transfers. No welcoming smile, rude, curt and no customer service skills were how we were met by St; John Westin Villa staff. This was followed by them informing me that my 3 bedroom villa was canceled by someone and we were placed in a 1 bedroom villa.
After 4 hours on the phone with 2 supervisor and a change in room, we were finally able to enjoy the wonderful island and Westin St. John Villa. Kudos to Akema, Shamir, the cab drivers, the ground keepers for an impeccable ground/grass, the welcoming staff at the hotel and the shuttle service who always picked you up/drop off with a smile.
August 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Annie25 Beautiful grounds
We did enjoy our stay but was disappointed that the beachfront rooms were old. The food was extremely expensive and the pool bar only stays open till 5. So if you just want to chill with a burger for dinner you can't get it after 5:00. Bummer not everyone wants to get dressed and go to a expensive restaurant every night. Kids had a blast with pool volleyball. Overall I would go back
August 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Baba Great Employees
Every employee I came in contact was exceptionally capable and professional (even the cab drivers)Ms Ivy was an employer's dream.
August 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Eric104 Dissapointed
We went on our honeymoon here, and having been here 11 years ago with a better experience, I was a bit dissapointed. We arrived at 11AM and wanted to check in early, and had called a few days prior requesting this and were told they would try do so. When we arrived they didn't seem to have a record of this request and told us they'd try to get a room ready. Thus, we weren't notified until 245PM that we could check in early, just 15 minutes short of normal check in time, so we had to lock up our bags and sit around at the pool waiting. I know there is no gaurentee of early check in, but I've never had an issue with doing so at tons of other hotels and considering this was off-season I find it hard to believe theyy couldn't find a room to get us in. Further, the staff overall was not very friendly considering the price we were paying to stay there. I'm not sure if I would come again.
August 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Eric104 Needs improvment
Need improvement in the customer service aspect of this staff considering the expensive cost we paid.
August 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by JeffG42 I was a peasant non-owner
1. On arrival night the smoke detector started beeping at 430 am and we had to have someone bring a 20 foot ladder to fix at 5am which prevented any of us from sleeping.
2. When we changed rooms we were to receive a call when the room was ready but never got a call.
3. On the third day we called a shuttle and were walking down the stairs to catch but the female driver chose to drive off. At that point I cancelled my scheduled timeshare villa sales pitch session.
4. Also on day of arrival someone ran my credit card which was approved. Then later someone else erroneously ran it again and it was declined, prompting a message from the front desk that they had not gotten paid which caused me to spend 15 unnecessary minutes with Amex to resolve.
I complained each time and demanded a discounted rate the first night and the only answer I got was “I’ll talk to my manager” and that’s as far as it went. The only priority of this location is to sell time shares, customer service is secondary. Housekeeping was great, however.
August 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by George1960 Did not meet my expectations
I have been to may Starwood resorts and hotels all over the world. I had very high expectations for this Westin Resort and was very disappointed.
- Slow service
- Food overpriced and did not taste good. Tuna had funny texture, rice was cold
- Room noisy. Crickets + u can hear your neighbors if they r in patio as if they r in ur room. Needs double pane windows to reduce noise.
- Room old and not well maintained for a 5 star resort at over $400 a night
- Beach loaded with algae. Once u swim deeper, water is great.
- Umbrellas and lounge chairs old and cheap quality. Table under umbrella a joke. Cheap plastic and wobbly. Cannot even hold ur drink.
- Club Cars all over the place and are very noisy. They should be replaced with electric quite ones.
- Mango Deli- slow service, grumpy worker, wrong orders
- Most bar, cafeteria and restaurant servers have no energy and seem unhappy rather than being cheerful and want to serve you with pleasure trying to make your experience a pleasant one.
- Lawn maintenance walk me up every morning at 7:30 AM!!! Cutting grass, trimming hedges, etc..
- Resort had no fun activities or entertainment. Very boring. Nothing to do after 5 pm.
August 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by crdavis Second Stay - Love This Resort!
This was my second stay at the beautiful St John resort. The staff is efficient and friendly, the rooms are clean (although the cleaning staff could be a bit friendlier), the pool is beatiful (the staff at Snorkel's is wonderful, friendly and fun). The grounds are impeccable and the shuttle service was good. My only critique would be the room decor is old and tired and needs updating. Overall, a wonderful stay that met and exceeded most of my expectations. I cannot wait for my next trip!
August 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by tracy12345 Was not what we expected
We decided to spend our 25th wedding anniversary at Westin St. John with our daughter. We had reserved a room with 2 beds. After a long day of plane rides and airports and waiting on our rental car, we finally arrived after dark at the Westin Resort and was informed that there were only rooms available with one bed. I showed them my reservation that was for 2 beds and they offered us a beachfront room with 1 bed at a discounted price and a complimentary rollaway bed. We took it. We went in our room and found a toilet with toilet paper and urine in it. We called and they had housekeeping come and clean it. The only other issue we had with housekeeping was that she came late in the afternoons to clean, usually around 5pm. One night she came and cleaned around 8pm. I called and asked them to clean earlier in the day and they did. The beach was nice, there were always plenty of lounge chairs. We didn't care for the constant view of about 50 sailboats at all times. For me, snorkeling wasn't good there at the beach. The best snorkeling was at Trunk Bay and we saw many sea turtles at Maho. Trunk Bay was the best snorkeling I have ever done. The grounds at the Westin are beautiful and the iguanas are abundant, one swam across the pool and surprised a lot of people. The teen club at the Westin I read about was a joke. All that was in there were video games and air hockey. It was a small room and when we were there it was mostly little kids. We have been to resorts that had teen clubs. This was just a game room and some didn't work right. The food was very expensive. One night we went to eat at the restaurant at the beach (can't remember the name# but it was located by the dock and offered a bar menu. We told the waiter we were going to order food off the bar menu and about 20 minutes went by and he never waited on us so we went to the deli #pretty good food there#. We felt like the waiter didn't care if he waited on us or not because we were not ordering expensively. We felt this way several times on our vacation. We are not rich and all meals are very costly at the Westin, so be prepared! Offsite, the food at Banana Deck was great. When we could have used a ride from the golfcart drivers, many passed us by. However, there were a few that were courteous and offered us a ride. Most of the time, we had to call and ask for a ride. Concierge #Teri# was very nice and helpful to us. So was Akeyna #not sure about spelling) at the front desk. I would recommend Westin St. John if you are not on a budget. The rooms need updating and we have stayed in a lot nicer resorts for less in Maui and Jamaica. Beware of mosquitoes and use plenty of repellent.
July 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Charlie54 Guest Relations Manager barely responsive
The flights were delayed and we paid for a night at St. John Westin that we were not in the hotel. I spoke with the concierge twice, who left two messages for the Guest Relations Manager. I also left two very detailed messages for him, and one for his manager. Total of 5 messages were left beginning on Thursday and he FINALLY left a message for us the night before we departed at 5:30 pm when we were out... without a resolution - only asking us to call him AGAIN. In my messages I asked him to call my cell phone so we could connect, instead he left a message in our room, while we were out. All we were requesting was some type of recognition from Westin that were paying (dearly) for a room we were unable to use and a gesture of compensation - perhaps a complimentary breakfast or dinner. We were so disappointed in the lack of response from the Guest Relations department.
July 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Read14 Disappointed
I booked two nights at the St. John Westin because the Villa we rented was unavailable for last weekend of our trip. I booked an Ocean View Room at a rate of over $500.00 per room. With that being said I have high expectations for properties with rates like that. Unfortunately I was very disappointed with this property. The carpeting in the room looked like it was from the 70's and was dirty! There were several permanent stains and quite frankly my first impression of the room was poor. Please be advised that the Ocean View Room was extremely far away from alot of the amenities so you can take the long walk to the lobby, tennis courts OR you can request a shuttle (big golf cart). We requested a shuttle several times but ended up not having anybody arrive for 10-15 minutes. Wouldn't have been bad but they told us to leave our room as soon as we hung up the phone. On one occasion we never received the shuttle. Overall I would recommend renting a private villa on St. John. For less money you can get an awesome place to stay. Spa was very dissapointing as well. Very small.
July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Annopolis Great Hotel
The staff was very friendly and was very eager to assist, The room was very nice and housekeeping did there part as well. All in all my two day stay was great.
July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spagirl2012 Beautiful Service to Match a Beautiful Resort!
Thank you so much to both you and all of your team for creating such a memorable experience for us! It goes without saying that the resort grounds and views are nothing short of stunning, but your staff's attention to detail and friendly service is what made this vacation so special. I've forgotten a few names along the way, thanks to all those yummy rum drinks, but here goes:
Leslie, our pool server was by far the most engaging, polite and warm person we ran across. She was caring and friendly without being intrusive which kept us coming back DAILY for food & drinks poolside/beachside.
* Mango Deli staff was so friendly, but one gal really stood out. I feel badly about forgetting her name, but she was there at closing shift Wednesday night during our stay and off Thursday. We were sad we wouldn't see her our last day, but she gave us a giggle with each visit!
* Cruz Bay Prime = WOW! The meal and wine selection was just what we had been hoping for in a fine dining meal. We had been to several high priced restuarants in Cruz Bay and were disappointed with the food, so this was a refreshing treat! (The Lobster was succulent and buttery and the beef was melt in your mouth tender...bravo!) We would be remiss if we didn't mention our server Judy, who charmed us from beginning to the end of our meal. She was so warm and inviting that we wished she could just sit down with us at the table and have a glass of wine and a chat! However, everyone working that evening (Wed night) was FANTASTIC! The manager greeted us at the beginning and checked on us at the end of our meal. Even the food runners were wonderful, offering to snap our photo together when seeing us with our camera.
Finally, the guys at the Waverunner tour shack were just great! Tyler took us out on our last day, a very rainy Friday. He was funny and informative with the tour stop and ended our trip with a good time and laugh.
Being in the hospitality industry for 15+ years, I know first hand that excellent guest service and happy team members does NOT happen accidentally, nor is it easy to achieve with such big teams. It's a sign of happy associates that feel recognized for accomplishments, supported in their training and learning, and coached properly when needed. Bravo to you and your departmental managers who clearly have got it right!
July 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by DMommy Poor Customer Service & Attitude
The attitude of the locals was beyond unacceptable! They were rude, unhelpful and irritated by simple requests, such as: Where can I get a taxi? May I please get a menu? Where is the bathroom?
The service in the restaurants was below average. For example, I ordered a rum runner, a drink that is a specialty in St. John, and received it AFTER my appetizer and dinner were served. The drink was watered down and the ice had melted. There was NO attempt to rectify the problem by offering a fresh $10.00 drink.
On the day we were leaving, we asked for our breakfast to go. Instead I was handed a box for me to transfer my yogurt & fruit. I was terribly disappointed to see that I had just paid $17.00 for a half papaya with about three tablespoons of yogurt and fruit.
My room had mold growing on the ceiling and parts of the ceiling continously fell onto the bathroom floor. The second day that the housekeeping cleaned our room, the towels were taken, but not replaced. Therefore we had NO towels and discovered this AFTER I was in the shower.
Being a Starwood member, I have acquired high expectations because of the excellent service that you all have provided. This resort was terribly disappointing.
I usually try to find the good in every situation, especially at such an extraordinary location. The ONLY positive aspect of our stay there is the treatment we received from an Alicia & Prince. They went ABOVE & BEYOND with hosptitality & kindness. Alicia, assistant on the ferry, graciously offered to return our son's bags until we needed to meet his camp director. She provided excellent customer service, concern for our son's belongings & interest for our family enjoying a day on St. Thomas.
Prince, ferry attendant, was the most gracious, kind-hearted & friendly person on the entire island! We were inspired by Prince's thankful attitude towards his employment with Starwood, the life that he could provide for his wife and children that were back in the US and the blessings that most of the world take for granted. If Starwood ever needed an example of the ideal customer service represenative, Prince, is EXACTLY what every vactioner would love to meet. I am sincerely thankful for the 30 minutes my husband & I had on the ferry talking to Prince. Starwood is BLESSED to have such loyal, hard-working, caring & positive employees in Alicia & Prince.
July 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Petey7 Relaxing Getaway
We stayed in the villas across the street and up the hill. They are pretty removed from the resort, and super quiet. We didn't mind the walk down to the resort or calling their golf carts to take us.
The villa was nice, comfortable and in pretty good shape. There was a market 1/2 block away that had everything we needed. The resort is close to town, and not far to the other beaches that had snorkeling.
We were a little disappointed with the watersports/beach at the resort. They have limited, dated equipment, and lots of guests trying to use it. The property quits signing out equipment and selling food at the pool bar at 4:00. Kind of odd everything shuts down, no drinks, towels etc. after about 4:30.
We did some dives with Cruz Bay. They were fantastic!
The beach at the property is not nearly as beautiful as the other beaches on the island. So the resort is okay, but after realizing the $40 resort fee was high for what was there, and the headache of it all, We ended up spending much more time at other beaches, and had a great time!
July 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Very satisfied
My husband and I stayed here for 3 night in October 2011 and we're getting ready to book another 5 night stay for October 2012.
We were totally satisfied with our stay at the Westin St. John. I've certainly stayed at more exclusive/upscale resorts but for the price, I think it is a good value. Our rooms were clean and updated. The staff was friendly. The grounds and the pool were beautiful. I really don't remember having any complaints.
My husband travels each week for business, so we're pretty particular travelers. We've complained about many hotels/resorts in the past but honestly had nothing to complain about at the Westin.
July 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kimmy Spa not worth it!!!!
I have to say that I always try the Spa out on trips and get monthly massages and services when at home. My sister and I were excited to try out the Spa at a "Westin" we went for the Simplicity package as well as a Mud Wrap. The front desk was helpful and flexible. The massage was OK. The facial which should have included a neck and some arm massage had no massage at all. They did use products I liked. The pedicure was horrific. You are literally in a closet. There is only one nail tech. The chair is difficult at best to get in did I mention your in a closet. The chair does not even have a massage feature and the nail tech is not a happy or nice person. Save your money and enjoy the extra time snorkeling in trunk bay!!!
July 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by DOR1974 Hotel needs to be updated
Hotel has a great location, nice beach, excellent pool area. But it's not what I expected from a Westin property. The rooms are average, not luxurious. The maid service was very erratic - some day we'd get no clean towels, the next day we'd get towels but no wash cloths. Food was pretty good but service in the main restaurant was strange. You almost had to trip a waitress to get them to get your order. This wasn't true at the Snorkels' Bar and Grill by the pool - they were very good.
July 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by MADDOGMOSER 25TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY
The place was a pleasant surprise, as sometimes what you see on the internet is not always what you get. Some of the areas of the resort are in desperate need of restoration / renovation.
If the food was any good, you would never have to leave the resort! Though things are extremely overpriced, all in all we had a wonderful time and met some wonderful people. There are always a few "key" employees that stand out and kudos to you! Then there are others who ignore you and would rather stand around talking to each other than to take care of the customers. Thank you Fitzroy for all you did for us!
Problems with trying to order room service - no one ever answered the phones, not even at the front desk.
It just happened to be Carnival when we were there and the taxi service to and from the Westin were very prompt and courteous which allowed us to experience Carnival in true fashion.
Cruz Bay Excursions were absolutely amazing and worth every penny! Thanks to all the crew on both trips we took, JP, Dave, Callie, Frank, etc.! And thank you Karen at the Conceirge for all your input and suggestions!
We ended our trip with a couples massage in a poolside cabana - EARLY prior to all the noise of the kids at the pool. Emily & Joy were amazing! What a wonderful treat! Sue at the pool - you are pleasure and add a lot to the pool experience!
July 10, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rich2012 A Long Ways from the Best of the Caribbean
I am married and travel a lot with my wife and two kids (2y and 4y). I travel about 5-6 times each year where 2-3 of those trips are overseas (usually Caribbean) and have been to many Caribbean islands. St. John unfortunately does not compete well with other islands unless you are a couple looking for an intimate spot and even then it's a bit of a stretch.
First, to get to St. John, you must either pay $65pp EACH WAY for the Westin ferry or take a 45 min van ride to a 20 min ferry ride to a 5 min cab ride to get there. Once you get there, the lobby is not air conditioned. It's open air which is nice, but when it's over 90 outside, it can get hot there.
Next, we stayed in the Hillside villas and I would suggest other accommodations unless you enjoy walking up two 30 degree incline hills to get there. You can also take the free golf cart shuttles if you like, but as I said before, there are better options. The rooms are nice and well appointed. We had a one-bedroom loft which was comfortable and had partial ocean views.
There are few restaurants to choose from. There is 1 for breakfast/dinner, 1 for lunch, and 1 for just dinner. Bar food for lunch each day got old and we ended up cooking a lot since there is a market a short walk away. There are many choices in downtown (5 min away by taxi), but for $5pp each way, that got old as well. The restaurants we did eat at downtown are good, but not great. Other islands (Aruba, Bahamas, Jamaica, Puerto Rico) easily have more and better choices. Also, it's expensive, but unless you find some local spots, eating where the tourists eat usually is costly, regardless of where you are. There was also a deli which served some sandwiches and salads all day.
There are nice beaches, but I question whether they are some of the best in the world. Trunk Bay, $8pp each way by taxi and $4pp to enter, is supposed to be one of the best. It is nice and intimate with lots of marine life swimming around. There were sting rays and tons of fish to keep snorkelers happy. I believe the snorkeling is good in St. John, but I believe that can be said about many islands in the Caribbean. We aren't snorkelers so I can't comment further about that.
The beach and main pool by the resort are okay. The beach does not have the clearest water. There is a good amount of seaweed and you share the bay with lots of boats. All beaches are in bays so it is very calm there. The main pool was very nice with waterfalls and a nice layout. A swim up bar would have made it nicer, but it is still very nice. If you are a beach person, expect to take a taxi each time. If you are a pool person, you will be happy. There was a small pool next to each Hillside villa, which was nice and usually empty. There was a waterfall and two nice grills there as well. Unfortunately, they were not cleaned often and usually had plenty of debris floating there.
We got bitten a lot there and were told they are sand fleas/sand flies. Make sure to ask about that since we weren't warned and could have have a more comfortable stay if we used bug spray. I've never experienced these before, but maybe I was just unlucky since I hear they can be in the Caribbean and even Florida.
There were a decent amount of kids there who seemed to stay at the pool most of the time so if you have a little one, they should find some playmates easily. If you're the type that is looking to drop your kids off at the Kid's Club, you might be disappointed since there were never kids in there except occasionally at night (5p-10p). We didn't care since we never use the Kid's Club.
Lastly, the staff there was somewhat friendly, but compared to the Westin Aruba, Harborside, Westin Lagunamar, they fall short again. If I never stayed anywhere else, I probably wouldn't notice, but it you are used to those other places, you might feel that area lacking, There are a couple stand outs. The front desk was always nice and helpful. Samir in guest relations and Teri in concierge were very nice, but that's about it.
Overall, the big draws here are:
1) The intimacy/privacy. There are many beaches you can take a taxi to where it will be just you and only you there. That's rare.
2) It's US territory so it's easier to get there and back, if that matters.
3) It's really cool to walk around at night and hear the orchestra of nightlife playing. It's more relaxing and peaceful than I can describe.
4) It's never crowded anytime or anywhere and we went during Carnival 4th of July week. The hotel was full, but you would never know that. That's very rare.
Outside of that, there are better choices unless those four things are really important to you.
July 7, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by BigTymaKyle Worst Westin Experience Ever
We came here on our honeymoon 5/28/12-6/2/12 and being a Platinum member since 2006 I expected some type of recognition especially after notifying several people at the hotel prior to our arrival of our recent nuptials. However, not being recognized one single time was the least of my worries as this was not only the worst Westin experience of my life, but probably one of my worst hotel experiences ever with Starwood hotels if not all hotels.
Our trip began with a 2 hour wait at the airport in St thomas. Once we got our luggage from baggage claim we checked in at the westin in the airport and had to sit in a waiting room for two hours without air conditioning and without being told any information on when our shuttle was coming. When our shuttle finally came the ride lasted all of about 10 mins and then we were dropped off at a restaurant at the dock to only wait for another 50 mins for their private ferry to st John to come. If we would have known that we would have had 3 hours to waste we could have actually done something productive and just met at the ferry when it was scheduled to leave instead of having us just wait and wait and wait. Also, being a private ferry I was expecting a much nicer boat since we were being charged so much more than the other ferries, but after riding on them the rest of our trip the Westin Ferry was probably the crappiest one! If you are going to charge more, that you need to provide a better service which they did not.
Once we finally got to the hotel room we were constantly interrupted for the next 2 days by staff knocking on the door, which is the last thing we wanted on our honeymoon. The walls were also very thin and we kept waking up to either our noisy neighbors or the loud lawn maintenance that occurred early in the morning. I finally went and spoke with the manager on duty to explain that we were on our honeymoon and did not want to be disturb the rest of our stay. She apologized and we agreed that our room could only be cleaned in the afternoon from 12-2. However, it was not cleaned for the next 2 days and cleaning people still came when they wanted to clean the room even though we had our do not disturb sign up.
Some other horrible details, we found two gigantic cockroaches in our bathroom through out our stay. Living in LA and NY I have seen big insects but these ones were huge! Also the plumbing was really loud and suspect. The electricity would also sometimes go out. I understand that this is an island so I accept some of these things. However, the staff was the worst and some of their attitudes were simply uncalled for. I could not believe how disgruntle and rude some of these westin workers were. Don't get me wrong there were some very nice and pleasant people, but typically there are never any rude people that work at the westin and I felt like there were quite a bit at this location. For example, the first night we had dinner in the pool side restaurant and our server actually never came back after giving us our entrees. The food was not good and way over priced by the way. We had to ask another server for our bill after waiting around 20 mins with no sign of our original server. The new server couldn't find our meal in the system so he had to ask us what we had in order to ring us up. Such a hassle.
We also got massages at this resort and the spa facilities are tiny, actually there wasn't anything except for a small sauna. No steam room, no whirlpool, and no relaxation area. I don't even think they should say they have a Spa. They had a gym and a lockeroom not a Spa. Very disappointing especially for the price we paid for on the massages.
The resort looks beautiful from a scenery point of view, but so does all of St John. After driving around and talking to other tourists I would definitely recommend staying somewhere else on St John. This westin was not good. The rest of our honeymoon we went to a few islands in the BVI and to St Thomas before flying back to the states and let me tell you the experience at these other hotels was so much nicer, cleaner, kinder, and the staff so much more pleasant, and oh yeah no cockroaches! We were given free drinks, food, and upgraded to better rooms because of our honeymoon status, but didn't get even a congratulations from the Westin.
Honeymoon or not, the overall experience at this westin was completely unacceptable. I am sure there were other bad and good things that occurred during my stay that I can't remember, but the bottom line is that I really hope that SPG takes these comments seriously and tries to improve this location so that future people don't have to have their vacations tarnished like we did because this location does not deserve the WESTIN name. Even at check out they just gave me my bill and didn't even ask how our stay was. Maybe they knew how bad of a job they did or maybe they just didn't care. I was very embarrassed to put my new wife through this ordeal after insisting that we stay at a SPG hotel. Wow, still can't believe how bad this experience was.
July 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by GAD10 Great location but food is a disgrace
Had a very nice room and loved the location and facilities. My big issue was the quality of the food at the various restaurants.
Breakfast is just OK but I was shocked at the plastic "cheese" on the nachos served poolside and found dinner at the main dining room gross. The seared tuna was obviously a frozen piece of fish that was cold in the center while the grilled fish of the day was over cooked and rubbery. NOT what I expect of a Westin resort, especially at the prices.
The high end restaurant (steak house) was somewhat better in quality but still not near the quality for the price. We ate much better and cheaper (including the $20-30 in taxi fares) in Cruz Bay.
July 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by rickman Hotel is dated and in need of repair
50% of the staff were unfriendly. Acted with attitude and as if they hated their job, poor morale. The rooms are also in need of updating and maintenance. We actually had to move to a different room because of some noise comming from within the walls. The only positive was the location.
June 28, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by christina1305 Coming to this resort in Dec and am concerned
After reading all the reviews, especially with problems, I'm having second thoughts about coming down in Dec. I see that an Admin Asst replies to all the issues, but does he/she really address these problems with 'upper management"? I'd like to hear what improvements/changes they are working on. I know some of them are true because our son and friends came down last Sept. and experienced a lot of these issues, especially no electricity for 2+ days. Please SVO listen to your clients/customers and make the NECESSARY changes! Please respond to my review!
June 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by HarrimanCronk Comfy Hotel With Good Pool and Food
We enjoyed our stay. The suite was a great size and was near the pool and the beach. The grounds were well groomed, and the staff was very friendly, even when we were less than pleased about missing amenities in our suite and frequent problems with the door keys.
June 20, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by EvanI Liars at front desk
Front desk lied about many things including if a manager was on duty.
Spg members don't expect staff to do anything helpful, not even a request to downgrade our room despite availability. We did not like our room
I like to think I am a low maintenance person but the service we relieved from both the general manager and front desk was inexcusable. While st John was much prettier than near by puerto Rico and vieques I highly recommend the service at the w there or the st Regis. A few weeks after we came back I got a hold of the general manager and he said he would look into problem but never even wrote a response email or phone call
June 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Zoesnana BIG LETDOWN
Arrived @airport, told that my party had connecting rooms, took ferry to resort & rooms were 4 rooms apart!!! Paid for deluxe room so we could have a fridge, went to put milk in mine & I didn't have one. Called to get one & it was left outside my door for ME to bring in & install!!!!! Hotel did upgrade our rooms voluntarily to get my party in connecting rooms, and then I had no air conditioning x 2 days & was treated very rudely by a staff member known to be rude to the guests. My guests room had roaches. We changed rooms twice and they wanted me to change again. I was only there for 5 days. On my last day, I asked for a late checkout , due to all I had been through, and they refused to give me more than 1 hour. My ferry was @ 1:45 & I only wanted 1 room until 1:30, but still they refused. Beach water is FULL of sea weed & it is hard to find a spot to enter the water without getting covered in it. Stay Somewhere Else!!!!!!!!!!!!!
June 16, 2012