The Westin Jersey City Newport

  • 479 Washington Boulevard
  • Jersey City,
  • New Jersey
  • 07310
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 432 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay and Location Stayed in Jersey City for this business trip. Looked at ALL my options. Including AirBnB. Worked out Westin had a great rate and grabbed the opportunity. Excellent staff, location, and stay. Area is safe, quiet, walkable, close to PATH, a mall, and clean. Will be my hotel of choice when I return. Viera at the Front Desk was the first and last person I saw. She treated me with professional courtesy and ensured my long stay was a pleasant one. September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin Jersey City The staff at this location is one of the best in the world! They go above and beyond expectations! It has become one of my favorite locations! September 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Would stay again Excellent hotel, Great staff, nothing was a problem. If you are looking for a fine hotel this is the one. September 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by When I'm in Jersey City I stay no where else. The staff knows me by name now and always is cheerful and helpful September 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel Rooms The room was clean, inviting and the bedding was great! September 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location The hotel's location is excelent. 1 block away from the Path station, so its easy to go to Manhattan. Newports Waterfront is also nearby. The staff was helpful, the rooms are nice and the bar service is also great. September 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel; lack of free wifi cuts it out for me Beautiful hotel, near the water and a lovely park for running or walking. Staff gracious & accommodating. However, the lack of free wifi pretty much cuts this off the list for me. In this day and age, that is a must and it is silly that one gets it at more downmarket hotels but has to pay for it with the luxury brands.. September 6, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel did not give me a starwood preferred room. Disappointed that parking and wifi was not included even if I was a starwood corporate preferred member. September 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reception staff Staff from front office/reception slightly rude and highnosed! They should be better trained in those skills! August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff The staff was outstanding in every way and I felt they went over and above on anything you asked of them. August 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great place to stay I stayed at this hotel for a week while doing some work in Jersey City. It was an excellent place. The staff was very helpful and my room was very clean. The hotel itself is beautiful. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Family Friendly Thanks for helping to make a great family vacay even more awesome! August 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Front desk that understands hospitality D*** at the front desk (upon the platinum concierge's request) had an amenity kit, robe, and had turned up the AC in the room before I arrived (well after midnight due to flight cancellation). Also, surprisingly, the alarm clock did not have the traditional 12:00 flashing on it as I arrived. Amazing that this Westin knows how to set their alarm clocks. Well done folks and thank you. The only suggestion would have been slippers and an extra package of toothpaste. Also, shaver handle is quite brittle and snapped upon opening it. August 11, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Five Star Treatment I frequently stay at the Newport Westin hotel and am always impressed in the welcoming atmosphere starting at the door and including the desk, bar and Half Moon Lounge. I had a small problem with my room this week and informed the desk and she (sorry I don't remember her name) quickly went up to my room to assess the issue. She quickly asked housekeeping and maintenance to investigate the problem and it was quickly resolved. I left the room and was at the restaurant and Patrick C came and let me know the room was all set. Once again, this was a small issue but the handling of even small issues is impressive at this hotel. The next day in the lobby I was asked again if everything was resolved. I appreciate the 5 Star Treatment whether it is a big or small issue. Thank -you August 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Jersey City Newport We really enjoyed our stay, the concierge who was on duty on the mornings of July 18th and 19th was outstanding, he was extremely knowledgeable, very polite and helpful, we were also brought a welcome bottle of wine and snacks to our room. There were a few things that didn't live up to our expectations of a four star hotel and as my teenage daughter said "they are trying to be classier than they are". The website needs to updated, it says the rooms have a view of Jersey City when the view is actually of a parking garage. Also, we didn't get housekeeping until 7:00pm on our last night when we were getting dressed to go out for the evening. There seems to be a shortage of room supplies, some days we got no coffee for the room, other days we got one pouch of coffee but no cups, also our used glasses were usually not taken away. We had a wonderful vacation and did not let the small things above spoil it. It is a very nice hotel, the location is excellent and with a little more effort it could live up to its 4 star rating. August 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features Perfect hotel if you like wonderful view to Manhatten Skyline, quiet at evening and only 10 minuttes with train to World Trade Center August 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by very surprised I was disappointed that when I got there, I looked for the code to sign in to the internet and in this particular city, I would have to pay. Most hotels give you free internet, so that part was annoying to me. July 29, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by poor customer service My husband and I spent Friday through Monday ( starting 7/26/13 ) as we have been happy with this Westin in the past. This stay , however, was unsatisfactory. On Sunday, my husband went out to get breakfast and snacks for us and when he returned to the hotel, asked the reception desk staff member if he could have utensils . She responded by saying she could get him some plastic utensils, to which he replied: " I could have gotten plastic at the store, I am a guest of this hotel and would like metal utensils. " The employee replied that she would make an exception and that there would be a charge for that even though he was a guest. My husband responded that this would be unacceptable and felt that he was being profiled since he has tattoos and was wearing his hat backwards. She turned away when he said that,as if she was "caught". He asked if there is a separate charge for utensils when one gets room service. The utensils finally came as our food was getting cold. We both felt like second class citizens and certainly not as Guests of your hotel. I feel that your customer service does not meet the quality of this hotel. We have stayed here at least 3 times before this and will not be so inclined in the future. July 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Misinformation ruined our visit We were denied our government discount as teachers. Over the phone when we booked we were told we could have it if we presented school ID cards. At check in we were denied and it was too late to stay anywhere else. Very inconvenient, disappointing and put us way over our budget. July 25, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not impressed Front desk staff was very snotty. Had requested early check in - the front desk staff told me to take my kids away for a few hours - very rude! July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My First at Westin - But Not the Last, Certainly Great lobby, very spacious. Liked the swimming pool. Above all, a great staff, one that made you feel right at home July 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Total Relaxation The room was excellent however I made this reservation for a relative who moved back to the states and put his name on it so there wouldn't be any problem at check in. Instead our family was told that their name wasn't mentioned and that they need to make sure they do it next time. I was disappointed in the check in process for my family. Other than that the room was excellent! July 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great experience Great time staying here. Friendliness from the doorman to the front desk. Room set was nice and clean. Right by the Path train too. July 15, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location & staff, ordinary stay Well I decided to stay at the Westin after hours of research for a decent hotel that was in a good location for a good price. I was not completely disappointed, but not overly thrilled either. LOCATION: Like the other reviews said, the hotel is in a great location. We stayed this past Friday for my 21st birthday and we were able to easily commute into NYC/Hoboken via the PATH train. Initially upon arrival, I realized I hadn't packed for rainy weather. No worries - theres a mall literally steps from the hotel with decent stores and a giant food court. Then we realized we forgot to buy alcohol! To our delight, there was a shop rite a block away that had a liquor store inside! Right on :) For the early morning hangover - no worries, there's a Starbucks within walking distance & you can enjoy your coffee down by the marina and enjoy views of NYC. Staff: I was very pleased with how friendly the staff was - especially valet & the doormen. They were willing to answer any question, and point you in any direction. When we returned from one of our excursions, the man even checked to see if we found everything ok! So pleasant :) THE ONE ISSUE I had with the staff was the apparent manager. We had requested a late checkout (2pm) and were told on several occasions that it was no problem. The day of our checkout at around 1pm the manager approached and asked if we were staying another night. We said no, and he said ok. We then went outside the hotel to talk to the valet and he followed us and asked again if we were checking out. We said yes, and he told us checkout was at 12pm - we told him about our approved request for a late checkout and he said nothing was in our notes for that. He then looked at his watch and realized it was 1:15 (We were just running to Starbucks) and he said "oh well I guess its alright then." Way to make us feel welcome, buddy! Hotel room: No views of NYC, wouldn't bother upgrading to a room with a view. It wasn't overly large, but the bed was comfy. Also, we were a bit warm in the room and tried to adjust the temperature to no avail. Loved the Starbucks coffee in the room (yes, i'm a junkie)! They also had a wine opener, which certainly came in handy! Reservation Process: Okay, so this part was a bit odd. I tried to book a room online, so I entered in all my information only to hit SUBMIT and find out their system was temporarily unavailable. No bigs, I just called - but the number on the hotel website was busy. At this point, I'm literally wondering if the website i'm is legitimate. I enter in my phone number to have them call me, and my call was apparently transferred to their call center overseas where their representatives did not have a solid grasp on the English language. But I am very patient, so I proceeded. The guy then told me his phones weren't working and he didn't know what I should do. GREAT. Thanks for your spectacular service. BILLING ISSUES: When the hotel sent me the final bill, I noticed they charged me for valet parking even though I stated over a dozen times that we had the AAA parking package. Wasn't a huge deal - they refunded me. But it's no fun learning that your lack of attentiveness could have lead to an overcharge. I HATE that. If you want to be accurate in any sector, BILLING should be top priority. Welp, overall I enjoyed myself. The area around the Westin is not under construction or congested. In fact, its rather peaceful. You're in a prime location near everything fun and awesome, but you can still take a walk at midnight and there won't be many people out on the street. Hope this review helps someone out! Have fun, be safe! July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service, Very Clean and Comfortable! Although my children and I only stayed one night I cannot say enough great things about the hotel. The hotel staff helped us navigate the subway to get where we needed to go. They helped us find a late night pizza place close to the hotel after 10pm. They also helped us when we arrived early so we could hit the ground running in NYC. I will absolutely come back on my next trip!!! July 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel to stay we were very impressed with the staff, very friendly, ready to help. Made us feel welcomed. Very clean lobby, and room. Near the path. We would come back anytime. July 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location I was highly disappointed when we arrived at the hotel and our room was not ready. I had requested early check - in when I originally booked and the operator said it shouldn't be a problem - which is why I booked this hotel. Nonetheless, we got there and the girl at the front desk was unapproachable and insisted I go away and return 2 hours later. Traveling with 2 young kids is difficult and I was saddened that she showed no compassion. Besides that, our room was nice and it had a nice view of New York. Hotel is very close to the holland tunnel July 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding stay Customer service was off the charts at this hotel. From my first time through the door until I left for the airport , there was never a time that I didn't see a smile on any staff members face. Staff also went out of their way to shake hands and remembered my name in both the restaurant and lounge areas. That's a very comfortable feeling. Ashley and the rest if the bar staff were outstanding , even when there seemed to be a bit if customer overload. They handled without a glitch. The Westin should be proud of their entire wait and bar staff. One of the finest if not thee finest in all my many travels. A job well done Westin Jersey City. Bravo ! Steve D July 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by nickle and dine a little a very nice hotel in a good location in New Jersey.The fact that you charge for coffee in the morning and that you charge for every phone call even if it a 1-888 number is a little petty.That small stuff makes you look like a cheaper outfit than you are. July 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Great Getaway. A terrific hotel. A warm and friendly staff . A Fab NYC view. A happening part of town.. June 27, 2013
  • 2015-11-30 T08:28:10.333-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_432, tr_432
  • loc_en_US, sid_3049, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 16 next>>