The Westin New York Grand Central

  • 212 East 42nd Street
  • New York,
  • New York
  • 10017
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 536 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is in great location and easy access to subway Loved this hotel! Great service and very friendly ! Will definitely stay here again. July 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location near Grand Cental Friendly Staff, Room was great and beds were so comfortable. July 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Surprising Gem Great Location - great fresh clean rooms May 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not what you excpect from Westin Lifts not working properly, cold room with cunningly hidden a/c controls, light switches and electrical outlets, paper thin walls, noisy ice room audible four rooms away, and a late night garbage compactor working outside up to 12.45am. On the plus side - clean rooms, comfortable beds, and once found the a/c controls worked reasonably well. May 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Westin Grand Central provides consistenly good service I visit NYC regularly on business and make the Westin Grand Central my home for 2/3 days at a time. I am seeking cleanliness, comfort and as quiet environment as possible. The hotel always responds to my needs in a very friendly way, from the front desk to the bellman to the management. Thank you. Also a great mid town location. May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My great hotel experience Westin has always been my choice hotel for family and friends ,especially those visiting fr abroad...as it has always met my expectations : warm and comfortable Accommodations friendly, helpful and patient staff ( on this particular stay- especial mention to the female manager and the 2 ladies at the reception and check out desk) Wonderful location and easy access to eateries, shopping ,transportation and sites Thank you for our memorable visit again May 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by On site Restaurant needs improvement Overall, this hotel was a nice experience, as i come to New York at least twice a year, I am looking to stay with Starwood properties, as I am a loyal customer, traveling for work. However, the food establishment at this location was not at all responsive to my status or needs. I visited the cafe for breakfast twice, on the first occasion, when i provided my written platinum card written from the front desk indicating platinum status and breakfast perk, they then returned back to me, and told me I was not platinum status and that i needed to pay for breakfast. I asked them to please check again, there must be a mistake. once this was corrected, they failed to remove the $16.25 from the bill. The second time i went for breakfast, they did the same thing, they also failed to tell me about any additional charges (changing out potatoes for veggies, adding an item to an omlet) - and at this request, they did not provide me veggies, but potatoes only, so i had to request it again, at which it did not come out until my meal was complete done and i had already received my check. (a very long time) - in addition, i asked for brown crispy toast, it arrived partially burned. I do believe that this establishment needs some work on the customer service here. I actually had to find another waitress than my own, as she had disappeared. Next time I visit this hotel again, i would not choose to eat here in the future. I would instead choose an external location. Other than this, the hotel was very clean and beautiful, rooms were spacious and peaceful. May 22, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy I stay at this hotel often for work. Every time I come back I forget how noisy the rooms are, especially if you are in one near the elevators. On my last stay I could hear the "ding" every time that the elevator opened and could hear the cars moving up and down the elevator shafts all night. You can also hear people in the hallways very clearly. The front desk staff is really great. They do their best to help accommodate whenever possible. They are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and newly updated which is a plus. Overall not a bad property, but it does depend on the location of your room. March 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel offers free internet great location near grand central station. rooms are clean and comfortable. May 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room Noise proofing was totally inadequate Fantastic check-in experience, usual high standard Westin room comfort EXCEPT inadequate window seals meant the jackhammers in the street below became impossible to bear leading to a midnight room shift. The windows did not close properly (bit concerning on 21st floor) meaning that the construction noise from outside was not filtered out. Hotel staff moved us but not the way we wanted to spend our Saturday evening on a romantic weekend away! October 20, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was clean and spacious Our stay was 5 days. We were able to check in early and the room was clean and spacious. The bedding was very comfortable and the bathroom was spa-like. We had an excellent sleep all nights. The hotel staff was very courteous. We did have one issue with housekeeping - we were out for the day and did not have our room serviced. We called and asked that it be servied between 9 and 10pm while we were at dinner. We arrived back at the hotel at 1130pm with a sleeping one year old to to find our room in the middle of being serviced. Housekeeping apologized for the inconvenience and we mentioned it to the staff. It did not happen again. September 4, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by check in was terrible Tried checking in @ 1:30 after waiting 15 min. to be told that were no rooms available yet and to come back at 3:00 to check in. Came back at 3:00 after waiting another 15 min in line to be told that the room was still not ready. The hotel called around 4:15 to let me know that the room was ready. Came back to the hotel and waited more then 25 mins. in the starwood line. There was one person working at the starwood line and three working at the reg. checki in line. There other line was moving much faster tha the starwwod, people were leaving behind me in the starwood line and all got checked in faster than me. Very frustrating!! December 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst stay in a SPG property After a long of work, I had luckily check the bed sheet before jumping into the bed post mid night. The worst nightmare!!! Bed sheet had many dark spots between 1-3 inches in diameter. After calling the front desk to complain, a house keeping person came up to change the bedding. 30 minutes later, she found out that she was short in a cover sheet. more than 20 minutes later, WITHOUT knocking the door or announcing herself, she swiped a card and came back to my room. This was past 1AM!!!! I almost cannot believe myself to come back to this hotel the following week, and find the 2nd worst stay ever. After coming to this hotel for 6 months, I finally gave up. March 6, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great location The hotel is close to Central Station. metro station is half a block from the hotel. We took a bus to de airport the stop was 1 1/2 blocks from the hotel. May 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, nice stay I lived in NYC for 12yrs, so I know The City well. We now live elsewhere and decided to go back for a little weekend getaway. The hotel has a great location: from E. 43rd & 3rd Ave., you are blissfully just off the noisy beaten path, directly across town from Broadway, a few blocks south of Radio City Music Hall, 2 blocks from Grand Central Station/numerous subway lines, and have easy access to Upper East Side transportation to the popular museums. We had no problems with check-in into our nice sized room (large by NYC standards with a recently remodeled bathroom) and were given 4pm late check-out as Starwood Preferred guests. We'll definitely be staying here again! April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location for a great hotel I was in New York City for the first time in many years and, of course, it was during the great blizzard of 2013 some called Nemo. Arriving a day early, the front desk staff generously matched the rate of my original reservation even though it wasn't technically available for the first day. The concierge staff provided me with a number of good ideas for things to do and places to eat. Even though the weather was less than ideal and the manager advised that some services might be affected because of the weather I didn't notice any decrease in the level of service I've come to expect from Westins over the years. Kudos to the staff for toughing it out during the storm! February 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel is friendly and great location in Manhattan I have stayed several times since 2013 at this hotel. On every stay the service and comfort have been excellent. May 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretty much as expected. Positive Friendly & Helpful Front Desk Staff - appreciated the call when my room was ready. Renovated Rooms quite pleasantly done. Good Location Negatives Noise from all directions. Exterior window didn't fully seal allowing in a lot of noise (and cold air). Also my room was close to the elevator - the consistent "ding" noise felt like some medieval torture ritual. Average to poor platinum recognition. Housekeeping and cleanliness of room poor. All in all this is large 700+ reasonable priced business class hotel with satisfactory rooms and could be a lot better with a bit more effort and attention to detail March 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasant Find for New York As a Gold, very close to Platinum, SPG, I found this hotel as a Pleasant Find for NY City. This hotel just reopened, fully renovated. It was a quiet hotel, could not hear any other guests. Rooms were clean, comfortable, large shower. Internet, for some reason, a bit slow at times. Fitness Center was well equipped, plenty of room, clean, never crowded. Dining and Bar - they were finishing off the new Dining and Bar, ( renovation) Location was good, about 5 City Blocks to Times Square, easy walk, as well as easy walk to offices. there were a numbe rof dining, coffee shops and pubs near by. Actually a quiet area, away from the crowds of Times Square. Issues - the staff needed more training in how to greet Gold/Platinum SPG and know the benefits, such as Upgrades, Newspapers, water in the rooms, late check out, the Point or Gift extras for Gold/Platinum. Housekeeping forgot some minor items but the Guest Express was fast to respond. Overall staff were friendly and provided very good service. Spoke with the MGMT - they know what is needed to be corrected, since they just reopened and know more training is needed of the staff in Starwood Ways. October 23, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by just one incident . returned to my room after a long day in the city. no glasses were left in room following daily service.. took three phone calls ,finally spoke to someone in housekeeping,when I politely asked for two wine glasses.was told she would send them to the room,however there would be a 2plus dollar charge for each. I decided to g o to the spg line at the front desk .I again told my story and was told it would be a charge. I have given this hotel a third chance following its Hemsley turnover and this incident has made my decision not to return. nyc has multiple choices.I do not need these types of situations to occur. January 2, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to par in my Westin Expectations Wifi in room 3210 didn't work at all, kept disconnecting after every few minutes. Refrigerator was filled with items that needed to be paid for, would rather have an empty fridge to put my own snacks in. Check-in line for platinum members was used for all guests. Didn't have the option to "Make a Green Choice" like I usually have staying at other SPG hotels. Didn't have a club lounge for Platinum members. Room is decent size for being a New York hotel. Heavenly bed is comfortable as always. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by VERY NICE NY WESTIN LOCATION Fantastic location for walking around New. York City. 2 blocks from grand. Central Station and United. Nations. My room was great in the top of the building. The Bar Restaurant is a typical Westin but with the New. York atmosphere. The SPG recognition excellent and that's a big plus for me. I will return to this. Starwood Property. Thank You to all the. Staff for my great one week stay. April 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK The staff is very friendly and responsive. However, from a practical standpoint, other guests were very loud in the hallways, my tub did not drain properly (they fixed it), they didn't restock water each day and (the absolute worst) the internet kept disconnecting every 2 minutes over the weekend, forcing the sign-up page to reappear and sign-on process to reoccur. No one could fix that one until Monday. April 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Internet access I was not able to access the Internet in my room. I called the front desk 4 times. But I was disconned there twice . After I got transferred to the outside tec services, I got disconnected again. So I gave up and used my cell phone.people at the caffe was nice. Even though I was a bit late for the free breakfast, they talked the manager and gave me a bag of continental breakfast to go. Overall, it was a good stay! April 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not (yet) up to Westin Standard We arrived at the hotel at 1030pm on a Friday night. Check-in was staffed with 2 people only, who were anything but friendly. We got a room on the 6th floor, the lowest floor for guest rooms with a view into a back alley (being a platinum member). The room itself was nice and for NYC rather spacious. The hotel has no executive lounge and u also do not get anything instead ( like free breakfast or drinks at the bar). Internet was free ( platinum), but only up to 3 devices. Overall from what I read from previous reports, I feel that the hotel is on the right track to improve, but still a long way to go. December 15, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Below Westin standards Two issues I had on a recent stay here: 1) No king beds available even though that is what I booked. This has never happened before at an SPG property to me. 2) Put out the Do Not Disturb Sign and starting at around 10AM housekeeping knocked on my door every hour making up reasons why. "I'm just doing a room check" With issue #1 the clerk at check in said they have been having a lot of meetings about the lack of king beds. I joked with him that they should use the European system of just pushing two doubles together and putting the king or queen sized sheets and bedding over it. I wouldn't notice. November 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has excellent service My granddaughters and I arrived 3/24 in the early evening. One became ill that night and the following morning was unable to explore the city with us. When I mentioned this to the housekeeper, she immediately made sure soup, tea,honey water, soda, and bread was delivered to our room. By Tuesday, the illness had subsided and we could continue with our visit. This wonderful housekeeper looked in to assist each day. Please contact me so I can mention her name to let you know about your caring staff. This woman made our stay comfortable for the entire week. In addiion, everything in the hotel was great. April 9, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Constant buzzing sound I only have one complaint about my stay at the Westin Grand Central. As I was laying in bed, I noticed a buzzing or humming sound. It was somewhat faint but constant. It would go for many minutes at a time and then stop for 30 seconds. (30 seconds of peace) Then it would start back up. I thought at one point that perhaps someone had left their phone in the bed and it was vibrating. I then could hear it coming up through the walls. I ended up getting a terrible night's rest due to the aggravation of this sound and vibration in the bed. Outside of that, the room was really nice and had great service. January 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great NYC Experience I have stayed at this Westin several times, for business and pleasure. The staff is terrific - friendly, smiling and helpful. Food and drinks at bar/restaurant were quite good. Great location. My only negative comments are that we could fairly easily hear noise from the street (42nd St) in our 7th floor room during the night. And, lines for check-in are frequently long (hotel seems to have a lot of groups staying here), and when, having arrived around 9am, I went to check my bag for the day after checking in (and waiting 10-15 minutes), there was a large group doing the same. There was only one bellman handling it, and although a manager was present, no one did anything to better organize getting the luggage from the group handled while also serving the several "single" guests. Could have been handled better. April 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor housekeeping The first night we got back to the room to find out that the cleaning crew had not been there so we called housekeeping to send someone up. The second day I called housekeeping before leaving the room and told them to send someone up because I did not want to come back to an undone room again but when we got back later that evening-dead tired-the room was not done yet again. I called the management and complained about the situation. They apologized and said someone would come up right away...we waited another hour. Called again and waited some more.. Absolutely ridiculous and disappointing! December 16, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 19 next>>