The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 557 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location in Chicago! It's a great location in regards to shopping and visiting sites in downtown Chicago and on the Magnificent Mile. May 13, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nightmare Was there for 3 nights on a bus. trip. Boy was that a nightmare. Had trouble with the restroom that I complained about since the first night. But wasn't corrected till the last night there. Must of called the front desk over 6 times regarding this issue. Because we had meetings at other location in the city. I made sure to call of the valet 20 minutes before I showed up to pick up the car. The car wasn't there had to talk to the valet again about my vehicle. 10 minutes later the car arrived and the valet has the nerves enough to hold out his hand for a tip. January 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Location Everything was "heavenly" - from the beds to the view, the shower hardware, the helpful staff, the on-site restaurant/bar, and the fabulous location. March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location The hotel is located in an excellent area on Magnificent Mile, next to Hancock Tower. Lots of shopping and also high end shops on Oak Street. Hotel has great restaurant The Grill which serves pub style food and has a nice bar for late night drinks. Room service is good, but expensive with a limited late night menu. Spa facilities are lacking and very expensive for limited facilities (no steam, jacuzzi, etc). Had problems with in room air conditioning, but staff was very accommodating and fixed it daily (slightly inconveniencing). Overall, good experience. July 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location Much to do and see in a 6-block radius -- the best of Chicago April 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great front desk and bellman staff! Jamille don't think I spelled the gentleman name correct but his passion is reading, he was great and made my check in process great! We stayed in 901 the room was great but not the bathroom the painting over the shower was chipping really bad and the sink drained really really slow. If we were staying longer would have asked to be moved. They didn't have any spg cards so I didn't bother eating there. The parking is outrageously expensive! And then you get taxed on parking will never park there again! And family was a little disappointed with no pool. August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great weekend This hotel has the best location when visiting Chicago. You are right in shopping paradise and can walk to everything. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, comfortable and we even had a fabulous view of Michigan Avenue. The staff was couteous and friendly and had prompt answers to any questions. I would recommend this hotel for your next Chicago visit and hope to return soon. February 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good stay Staff was very nice, gym was well maintained, room was satisfactory. Thanks March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our Stay A great location and a great facility. March 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs an update I am an SPG platinum member and find the offerings in Chicago sub par. This has not changed with my recent trip. I booked a room at the Westin and was upgraded to a suite. I do have to say that the staff was very friendly and accommodating but this place needs an upgrade. The common areas look tired, the "heavenly" bed wasn't so much. This location should be a showplace for all of the Starwood properties in the area but is just a bit on the tired side. February 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location for this hotel. This hotel was very clean and the staff was excellent. The location was perfect, so much to do shopping, theaters, museums, restaurants, etc.... March 27, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by excellent staff but too busy I really have to admire Lorenzo the doorman. He is a master. Knows all, sees all, comfortable and accomodating. Kept me out of a jam becuase he's so on top of things. In fact all of the staff I encountered were outstanding but often seemed stretched too thin. Parking at $69 a day is gouging. This 4 day business stay suffered because of the breakfast plan. 30 minutes in line at Starbucks every day to get the same food ... This was not a full service hotel experience. My experience at Four Points the day before was outstanding by comparison. September 23, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay in Chicago We had a pleasant stay at the Westin on Michigan Avenue. I was disappointed that I was not given the lake view room I requested at check in and not given an upgraded room because of my Gold status. However, when I called to the front desk after seeing the room, Anna was VERY HELPFUL and found a lovely lake view room for us and she kindly comped the up charge because of the misunderstanding. Please give her one of the gold stars (which I have misplaced). She is an outstanding staff member. February 3, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best SPG experience so far!!!! Just had a wonderful stay at the Westin. Location is hard to beat and everyone at the hotel was so professional and friendly. This was a surprise for my Mom's birthday and my requests were all fulfilled and more. Ashley at the front desk was so thoughtful and even sent up champagne for us to celebrate, making my mom's bday even more special. Probably the best sleep I've had at a hotel, didn't hear anything through the walls. Love that they are so dog-friendly as well. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! and will stay here whenever I come to Chicago!! July 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by disappointed We chose this perticular Hotel because of the AG package they offered.... my daughter was suppose to receive an ice cream sundae and an AG bed with turn down service which we were to call and set up which we did 3 hrs in advance sundae was fine not very kid appropriate but.. as for the bed and turn down service well we had to call two more times for and fight to keep our daughter awake for the delivery of the bed but no special turn down service like they advertised very sad that you advertise something for kids and you don't deliver! April 8, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consistancy Consistency. You always know what you are going to get, with few, if any surprises. Helpful staff.... This makes for a worry free, relaxing stay. March 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Everything went wrong i will stick to the point. Booked a prepaid rate on my spg.com Platinum profile. My reservation was e-mailed to me and the front desk needed proof of that as they couldn't find my res. Front desk agent left to the back office for half an hour while I stood and waited. Next, i got back to my room one day and found a half eaten piece of cake sitting in front of the television. I was told that a previous guest must have left it in the minibar and it was taken out and left on the dresser while the room was being serviced. Is this a joke? January 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Phone in Room Broken with Never Ending Wake Up Call Both phones in my room were broken. I called with my cell for a wake up call and then set alarm by my bed. The alarm by my bed never went off. The phone rang to wake me up but I couldn't pick up as the phone was broken. It kept ringing and ringing. I called down to the front desk from my cell and told them to turn off the wake up call. Instead, they sent someone in person to wake me up. Then, 5 minutes later, an engineer showed up to fix my phone with no notice that someone was coming up to the room and the do not disturb sign on. April 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Paper Thin Walls, Poor Suite Placement Attended for a wedding, used some suite nights to get an "executive" suite. Wish I had just taken a normal room. All the suites are right next to the elevators, so you hear whooshing and dinging all night. Plus, it seems the suite I got used to be larger but they cut some of it off to make a new room. The walls between these rooms were PAPER thin. I could hear literally everything the other person did, and of course they were having a party until 4AM. Staff was indifferent towards this - expected better treatment as a platinum. February 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pretty mediocre experience My stay started okay. I arrived and the room wasn't ready (but I was early). They took my cell phone number and called me when it was ready. When I got to my room (on the SPG Floor), I found that they allowed a group to hold open auditions in the room next door. They also clearly did not have enough staff to meet the needs of their guests. The line at the "cafe" in the lobby was very long and they had one person working. They also generally only had 1 person working at the front desk. Overall, this was extremely disappointing. February 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great visit and ameneties Highly recommended. The location a nd accessibility are most noteworthy. March 24, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room next to elevator. I came to this hotel for a one night stay, just for a day and night of R&R away from everything. While the location was excellent and the king bed was heavenly, I felt like I was sleeping next to a train station. I was in room 811 which was located what looked like almost attached to the elevators. I can tell you I did not sleep for more than 3 hours with the elevators going up and down through the paper thin walls. Who would have known elevators could be so loud. A real disappointment when only going for one night of rest. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel stay. Stayed here with our family for spring break, visiting from California. The whole experience was wonderful. Location was perfect - right across the street from Hancock towers, American Girl Store, and all the shops that my wife likes. Historical Water Towers is right there. Lots of great eateries nearby - Gino's East, Giodarno's, Cheesecake Factory, etc. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful and nice. There's a nice workout facility on site that's open 24 hrs. Our family very much enjoyed our stay. April 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Michigan Ave Westin Chicago 12/28/2013 We arrived at this hotel around 5:00p.m. expecting to be checked in since check in was at 3:00p.m. The lobby was chaos. People in line waitng to see a reservations employee. All of the lobby seating was taken with some people obviously angry. We waited in line about 15 minutes then get to the desk and found out that a room would not be available for at least another hour. As the gentleman next to us stated, "REALLY, A WESTIN?" These were my thoughts also. We went to dinner and were told we would be emailed when a room was available. We returned 2 1/2 hours later and still no email. Upon inquiring at the front desk found that our room was available but no one emailed us. Never was given a real reason why the delay. When this happens, it gives a traveler an uneasy feeling as if they are "homeless". December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I wanted for nothing I was happy the moment I walked in. The staff were kind and informative. They listened to questions and answered promptly. The room was spacious and filled with natural light. The bathroom and shower space also allowed for a comforting readying in the morning. The grill offered a nice choice of meal options which proved important to me as the nature of my trip did not allow a great amount of time to venture out for meals. I was thoroughly pleased with my visit to the Michigan Avenue Chicago Westin. Thank you. February 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, average accomondations The hotel location is great, next to Water Tower Plaza, across from the 95th floor, blocks from the lake. The staff was nice, but the room was dirty. The bathroom had a moldy smell, the nightstand next to the bed had a glass top on it and under it was what looked like mold (or just grimy dirt) as well as a red liquid that looked like had spilled. The phone had dirt spots. I stay at Westins all the time and this room was not what I am accustomed to. It could have just been this room, everything else was good. May 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This Hotel is old, good located I had to negociate internet cost March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, Generous SPG upgrade Just stayed there for one short weekend trip on Sunday. I was pre-upgraded to a corner crown suite (2-bedroom) with the gorgeous Magnificent Mile view as a SPG Platinum member without asking. The location is absolutely perfect and it's only a stone throw to John Hancock and the Water Tower Place. I went to the hotel too early and the suite was not ready. No problem, I had plenty of shopping to do anyway and the staff called me an hour later to tell me my room was ready. All hotel associates I encountered are courteous and very helpful and the only complaint I have was I didn't have time to stay one more night there! Some SPG members may complain there is no club lounge at this property but I don't really mind. I will definitely come back for another weekend trip whenever I can. December 17, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noise problems The hotel was loud from other guests in town for the outdoor hockey game. Main lobby restrooms were not cleaned and maintained. Gift cards for breakfast did not work well. They were out of stock on items and did not offer the same items each day. Overall we would come back, however this stay was disappointing. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but a little worn This hotel is in one of the best locations and our price was excellent. The downside was the noise from poor sound proofing from the next room/hallway noise and a little worn from use. The staff was very very good but would say a little understaffed at least at check in. I would stay at this hotel when the price was right but didn't seem as much like Westin as what I am familiar with. February 18, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 20 next>>