The Westin New Orleans Canal Place

  • 100 Rue Iberville
  • New Orleans,
  • Louisiana
  • 70130
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 715 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience I had a great experience here! The staff and management team were very professional and customer friendly. Thanks again! April 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doc39 Great location and view. Easy to walk to interesting areas and stores. Clean very nice room. Loved the holiday decorations. December 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel in NOLA The Westin on Canal is my favorite hotel in NOLA. Great staff. Great facilities. Great views. Great location. April 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Carpet and Furniture Carpet in room and hallway need replacement. The lounge chari in the room was very dirty. December 2, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by westin new orleans canal place excellent location, clean, rooms great and service was above average November 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by HOTEL NEEDS LOTS OF IMPROVEMENTS The carpets on the hallway on floor 23 were filthy with all kinds of stains all over them in extremely large patterns. It couldn't cost that much to rent a carpet cleaner. The room crew spoke no English so they could not understand any request we would have for them, such as Saturday we were equipped with 6 hand towels and no washcloths. We were told there was no Coke machine in the building, but we found one in the snack bar on the 11th floor. That is another strange thing. When entering the hotel on the first floor you must ride an elevator up to floor 11 and then depart this elevator and go down a ways to get on another elevator to take you to your rooms. The room smelled as if it had had a smoker in it. We cannot stand the smell of cigarette smoke. The hinges on our bathroom door were rusted beyond belief. The toilet ran 24 hours a day. Wallpaper had come loose from the walls and was just hanging on the floor. the furniture in the lobby area (floor 11) looked as if it had come from Goodwill. The chairs and sofas were filthy and the arms were black with dirt and most of the material on the arms had met its expectations years ago. Overall I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to feel comfortable. April 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel staff was really great! Staff was great! So pleasant and accomodating! June 10, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by I WAS READY TO CHECK OUT! This was the first time I had stayed at this particular Westin location, so I was looking forward to it. However, there were several things that made my stay less than enjoyable. First, the parking fees were not explained properly to me; I was told the cost is $18 for self park per day, or $36 valet park per day. The check-in clerk neglected to tell me that I would have to pay every time I went in and out of the self-park. So I had to time my coming and going the first day, so I wouldn't pay over $36 which is what I would have paid for the valet parking with unlimited going in and out. The second day there, I switched to valet parking. Sometime after the first night, we lost the ability to regulate the thermostat in the room. The display was just off. It had been working when we arrived but by 1 pm the next day, was no longer working. My husband called down to the desk to let them know, and they said they would send someone up to fix it. Needless to say, they did not, and we spent a very uncomfortable night, and there was no way to turn the system off. The bed was unbelievably uncomfortable, and I tossed and turned and awoke with a backache. There was no refrigerator in the room. We mysteriously got these bug bites as well. Overall, the room appeared clean and they did remember to make the room feather free as I had requested, so those are the positives. The location is across from Harrah's and the Aquarium, but is on the outskirts of the French Quarter, so I would not be as comfortable walking to and from the Quarter especially late at night. October 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement I stayed one night at the Westin in New Orleans. The room was ok, but needs to be updated. There were not enough towels in the bathroom or paper/pens on the work desk. The bathroom was not very clean with dirty marks on the mirror and large amounts of mildew on the shower curtain liner that came off during showering. The hotel should add convenient amenities such as an area in the hotel to purchase coffee, snacks etc. The workout room was being remodeled but there was no signage indicating where it had been temporarily moved. I was disappointed and moved over to Westin from Hilton properties and am considering moving back as a business traveler. January 25, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by What happened?!? This hotel has been our favorite get away for several years now. I am VERY sorry to say our last visit was a HUGE disappointment. This property was previously immaculate, luxuriously comfortable and had excellent service. This visit we had to change our initial room assignment as the room smelled of rotten food. The second room didn't smell much better. The hallways were left for two days with garbage and old pizza boxes on the floor. Our room was never serviced and looked rather shabby. Half of the menu on room service was not available and what did come was not edible. It seems the hotel needs a lot of work suddenly. We were VERY disappointed. November 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 great stay great staff. room was clean and newly remodeled and quiet December 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Experience Nice experience, great location, fantastic staff April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Views The views were fantastic. Staff was very helpful. November 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Location Located near French Quarter! April 16, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has need of much improvement. The elevators are a challenge to navigate. On our floor the indicator lights for up or down never lit up. We didn't know which way the evelators were going. The carpets in alll the hallways need to be replaced - quite dated, stained and unappealing. Our biggest complaint is that this hotel was a "pet friendly" hotel which we did not notice at the time of our booking. Dogs were everywhere and in rooms on all floors. Having extreme allegeries this was a great concern. Did we stay in a room that had a dog in it the previous stay? Dogs should be limited to only a few rooms on designated floors. We would not stay in any hotel who allows this. June 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWESOME I stayed here two weeks ago, and had reservations for another hotel for THIS weekend. I canceled the other hotel (which was actually a little cheaper) after staying at The Westin in the French Quarter and rebooked my reservation at The Westin. I figured, why mess with success? The staff is very friendly, and the location and price was unbeatable (well, free would've been nice, but seriously) I recommend ask for the rooms facing the French Quarter... a spectacular view of the Quarter and the River, and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. Also, the covered parking (with hotel validation) is some of the cheapest in the Quarter. June 24, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed - Would NOT stay here again! Let me start by saying I may have expected too much as I was under the impression Westin was among the top-tier brands of Starwood. This hotel did not meet that standard by any means. While the public areas (bar, restaurant, meeting rooms, etc.) were very neat, clean and first class, the rest of the hotel which I saw was well below what I expected. The hallways of each floor leading to guest rooms were beat up and walls were marked from one end to the other where luggage, luggage carts or other items had come in contact. The door to the area where the ice machine was located on my end of the floor did not have a door knob, just a whole where it once was. Upon entering my room, the light switch immediately inside was broken so I had to walk into the room each night in the dark to turn on a table light. One of the light fixtures next to the bed was broken away from the wall while the other was crooked and stayed that way all week even when housekeeping did my room! The bathroom looked nice though the plumbing attaching the showerhead through the wall was loose and allowed the shower head to turn. The knob for turning on the water in the tub/shower was loose. The walls in the bathroom had spackle repairs which were barely sanded before painting and also had gobs of caulking filling gaps between the molding at the floor and the wallboard. On a positive note, the view was nice overlooking the Mississippi River. February 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Nice Staff A train with horn blasting right outside hotel. Inconsistent housekeeping, forgot to clean the room one day. Noisy refrigerator in room, Stained and dirty carpet in room. Facade outside front entrance failing off. Alarm clock not shut off so it goes off in the middle of the night. Pray you don't get put on the 15th, 16th, or 17th floor, musty rooms and filthy hallway/room carpets! Takes 15 minutes to get your car if you don't call valet ahead of time. For a large hotel chain, probably the most poorly managed hotel I have ever stayed in and worst first night I have ever experienced. On a plus note, the individual staff members were very friendly and nice. August 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room was worn-out Room needed refresh. Climate control was not function at all. Found old clothes in drawers. February 5, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Hotel....but When I checked in for my family's first stay at this hotel, I was told this would become my favorite hotel in New Orleans. The front desk personnel were extremely friendly, gave us a room with a great view, and a complimentary cocktail! The staff on the street, particularly "Doc" were very friendly and my family thoroughly loved meeting them and felt like we had arrived home. So far, so good..... However, we NEVER got maid service to the room. It would not be so bad if I hadn't actually called the service number and specifically requested clean towels and service. NOTHING happened. Please fix this and this hotel has real potential. July 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs improvement I prefer to stay at a Westin hotel but this one was a major disappointment. The room's HVAC was noisy and when I requested help from a very bored receptionist she said she'd send a technician up. He came up but said it's just the way it is…yes it is noisy. I asked for a room change and asked to see a different room. Again the bored, inattentive receptionist said that would be unusual since it would be the same as we had. 'Not helpful!'. So I slept for the whole stay sleeping on one side with my arm over my ear to shut out the noise..earplugs wouldn't do it. Sore arms and lack of proper sleep was not appreciated. We stayed out of the hotel as much as we could as a result and spent more time at our friends' hotel until bedtime. The vent in the bathroom was filthy and the wallpaper near the tub was peeling and on our last day we needed to ask the Concierge late in the day to have our room cleaned. A very sad experience. January 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not so great hotel elevators do not work properly. Very common to have to wait 15+ minutes. Staff was friendly at first. Check in was great. Disrespectful when we asked to use a luggage cart. Said no to request and did not offer any other assistance. Did not respond in a polite manner. Very Pet friendly, but there is a fee. No matter what else you see on their website or any other place online. Rooms were awesome. Clean and large. Great view of the river and the city. Rooftop pool area great for site seeing. Concierge was spot on with recommendation If you do not mind limited elevator use even if you are on the 20+ floor then consider this property December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Week-Long Stay at the Westin! I just came home from a wonderful week-long stay at the Westin in New Orleans (Canal Street) the last week of November 2012. What a delightful week -- truly !!! I was there on business, pounding the pavement during the day and returning to an oasis in the evening. I am a frequent traveler and picky New Yorker, so when I say the Westin was great, I really mean it! Just can't wait till my next visit there! I must start with the room -- unbelievably great room (with King bed) with a stunning picture-window view of the river. Huge room, with a terrific work desk and comfortable chair, necessary for my evening laptop work after those long days out-and-about. There were many drawers and storage space was great. The bed and bedding were terrific -- so soft and comfortable that I quickly fell asleep at night. I generally need a very hard bed, and have one at home, but this bed just made you melt into it. The bathroom was to die for -- and I am particularly picky about hotel bathrooms. A HUGE sink vanity, with soft lights to help me put on my "face" in the morning (and reassure me that I looked good); A double showerhead with warm streams of water jetting out; ample bathroom amenities, although I generally pack my own; and fresh towels always at the ready, set there by the terrific maid service. I would recommend a separate towel rack or hook, but I used the one behind the door and that worked perfectly fine for me. The lobby area was a dream, nicely decorated for Christmas and with soft "live" piano music in the late afternoon, and with a gorgeous view out over the river and New Orleans. I never waited more than two minutes for an elevator (you have to push the buttons for BOTH elevators in order to ensure a speedy arrival) and I REALLY appreciated the security of having a separate elevator take you from the street level up to the 11th floor lobby and reception area. The hotel staff was exceptionally helpful -- I used the concierge several times -- and room service was prompt and courteous, and the food was great, but then, it was New Orleans after all! I enjoyed the overall ambiance of the entire hotel experience. The last time I was inspired to write a hotel review was over five years ago, when I stayed in the Hotel Luna on Capri. Thanks, Westin, for making my stay such a pleasant one! P Hall December 3, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by needs an update hotel is getting a little rough around the edges - A/C problems - finishes are failing - trying to be hip but looking old February 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay Stayed for a long weekend in May 2012. Everything waiting for us on arrival with minimal wait time at check-in. Staff more than helpful especially when had to change rooms at check-in do to an a/c problem. They handled moving everything to new room/floor. Excellent location to French Quarter, Harrah;s, River Boat and Trollies. Beautiful views of down-town and Mississippi River, to bad so much is still boarded up. Only complaint was parking. Not free parking as lead to believe by SPG but reduced parking with Hotel Stamp, as parking lot belongs to the mall and not the hotel. Be careful of narrow one way streets and winding circular entrance to parking floors. May 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent accommodations! Great hotel & location to French Quarter and main Nola attractions. Highly recommend! February 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by westin iberville new orleans Stay was nice until my last day when water came through the light fixture above the shower while we were using the shower it was scary and we could have been shocked we called Jason at the front desk and engineering came. but be had to leave and were unable to use the shower. We did spend over $1200.00 for this experience. We expect two free nights at the Westin for not being able to shower not to mention my nine year old could have been electricuted. Please send me two free nights and I will try again. James P Wood 205-706-6730 January 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by 49th floor is a party? The hotel is beautiful and clean. At 7:00pm I had my bags sent to my room and immediately left the hotel for dinner. Upon my return at 10:30pm CT my room key didn't work but more disturbing was the PARTY - I mean FULL ON PARTY going on next to my room. This is the 49th floor, the top floor - a party at 10:30pm on what is considered the "business exec floor" is not acceptable. I went to the front desk, they were unaware of the party - how can that be? There were guests in the lobby drinking, I heard the noise when I exited the elevator - how could management not be aware of a full fledged party on a floor? By 11:05pm CT I was in a new room. Not the type of experience I expected. The level of hotel staff concern was low - they really didn't care and there were many other rooms affected, my colleague in fact also moved his room an hour later. I am not impressed. January 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs major work. We had a big conference here and had more than 15 rooms in our block. There was a quite a lot of chaos and disorganization on the part of the hotel related to our rooms. To be fair, our set-up was complicated with complex check-in's/check-outs, names, etc -- but the hotel did not handle it very well. If you're in New Orleans using the Convention Center -- this hotel is a quite a hike...so be aware of that. However, it's location to the French Quarter could not be better. Also steps from the casino (CHING!). My room (big suite) was badly worn -- everything. I didn't enjoy my time in my room because of how badly it was worn. March 4, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by nice hotel on our last day we were using shower and water came through the light fixture above shower we could not use shower for fear of being shocked my 9 year old had used the shower during our stay and could have been shocked` I reported it to Jason at the desk and the engineer came right away but we had to leave and could not even shower. My stay cost $1500.00 for four nights. I expect to be given two nights free at the Iberville Westin ASAP this is shameful and u owe me a free weekend. James P Wood 205-706-6730 January 10, 2014
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 25 next>>