The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 581 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Phone in Room Broken with Never Ending Wake Up Call Both phones in my room were broken. I called with my cell for a wake up call and then set alarm by my bed. The alarm by my bed never went off. The phone rang to wake me up but I couldn't pick up as the phone was broken. It kept ringing and ringing. I called down to the front desk from my cell and told them to turn off the wake up call. Instead, they sent someone in person to wake me up. Then, 5 minutes later, an engineer showed up to fix my phone with no notice that someone was coming up to the room and the do not disturb sign on. April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the location! We have stayed at the Westin Michigan ave several times and love it! Staff is wonderful, room is very nice and clean, the staff always are willing to go out of their way to make our stay more enjoyable! April 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice stay in Chicago We had a pleasant stay at the Westin on Michigan Avenue. I was disappointed that I was not given the lake view room I requested at check in and not given an upgraded room because of my Gold status. However, when I called to the front desk after seeing the room, Anna was VERY HELPFUL and found a lovely lake view room for us and she kindly comped the up charge because of the misunderstanding. Please give her one of the gold stars (which I have misplaced). She is an outstanding staff member. February 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Paper Thin Walls, Poor Suite Placement Attended for a wedding, used some suite nights to get an "executive" suite. Wish I had just taken a normal room. All the suites are right next to the elevators, so you hear whooshing and dinging all night. Plus, it seems the suite I got used to be larger but they cut some of it off to make a new room. The walls between these rooms were PAPER thin. I could hear literally everything the other person did, and of course they were having a party until 4AM. Staff was indifferent towards this - expected better treatment as a platinum. February 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Pretty mediocre experience My stay started okay. I arrived and the room wasn't ready (but I was early). They took my cell phone number and called me when it was ready. When I got to my room (on the SPG Floor), I found that they allowed a group to hold open auditions in the room next door. They also clearly did not have enough staff to meet the needs of their guests. The line at the "cafe" in the lobby was very long and they had one person working. They also generally only had 1 person working at the front desk. Overall, this was extremely disappointing. February 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs an update I am an SPG platinum member and find the offerings in Chicago sub par. This has not changed with my recent trip. I booked a room at the Westin and was upgraded to a suite. I do have to say that the staff was very friendly and accommodating but this place needs an upgrade. The common areas look tired, the "heavenly" bed wasn't so much. This location should be a showplace for all of the Starwood properties in the area but is just a bit on the tired side. February 23, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Room next to elevator. I came to this hotel for a one night stay, just for a day and night of R&R away from everything. While the location was excellent and the king bed was heavenly, I felt like I was sleeping next to a train station. I was in room 811 which was located what looked like almost attached to the elevators. I can tell you I did not sleep for more than 3 hours with the elevators going up and down through the paper thin walls. Who would have known elevators could be so loud. A real disappointment when only going for one night of rest. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful hotel stay. Stayed here with our family for spring break, visiting from California. The whole experience was wonderful. Location was perfect - right across the street from Hancock towers, American Girl Store, and all the shops that my wife likes. Historical Water Towers is right there. Lots of great eateries nearby - Gino's East, Giodarno's, Cheesecake Factory, etc. The rooms were spacious and clean. The staff were very helpful and nice. There's a nice workout facility on site that's open 24 hrs. Our family very much enjoyed our stay. April 22, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fix the elevators The elevators were a MAJOR inconvenience. They could not accommodate the number of people attending our conference. As a result, there were long lines and numerous delays, making for a very uncomfortable experience. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is has great features This hotel is conveniently located on Michigan mile. Adjacent to some of the best shops, restaurants, and metro transit systems. I definitely enjoyed my stay. April 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel, Great Location Everything was "heavenly" - from the beds to the view, the shower hardware, the helpful staff, the on-site restaurant/bar, and the fabulous location. March 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I wanted for nothing I was happy the moment I walked in. The staff were kind and informative. They listened to questions and answered promptly. The room was spacious and filled with natural light. The bathroom and shower space also allowed for a comforting readying in the morning. The grill offered a nice choice of meal options which proved important to me as the nature of my trip did not allow a great amount of time to venture out for meals. I was thoroughly pleased with my visit to the Michigan Avenue Chicago Westin. Thank you. February 5, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Location, average accomondations The hotel location is great, next to Water Tower Plaza, across from the 95th floor, blocks from the lake. The staff was nice, but the room was dirty. The bathroom had a moldy smell, the nightstand next to the bed had a glass top on it and under it was what looked like mold (or just grimy dirt) as well as a red liquid that looked like had spilled. The phone had dirt spots. I stay at Westins all the time and this room was not what I am accustomed to. It could have just been this room, everything else was good. May 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Michigan Ave Westin Chicago 12/28/2013 We arrived at this hotel around 5:00p.m. expecting to be checked in since check in was at 3:00p.m. The lobby was chaos. People in line waitng to see a reservations employee. All of the lobby seating was taken with some people obviously angry. We waited in line about 15 minutes then get to the desk and found out that a room would not be available for at least another hour. As the gentleman next to us stated, "REALLY, A WESTIN?" These were my thoughts also. We went to dinner and were told we would be emailed when a room was available. We returned 2 1/2 hours later and still no email. Upon inquiring at the front desk found that our room was available but no one emailed us. Never was given a real reason why the delay. When this happens, it gives a traveler an uneasy feeling as if they are "homeless". December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, Generous SPG upgrade Just stayed there for one short weekend trip on Sunday. I was pre-upgraded to a corner crown suite (2-bedroom) with the gorgeous Magnificent Mile view as a SPG Platinum member without asking. The location is absolutely perfect and it's only a stone throw to John Hancock and the Water Tower Place. I went to the hotel too early and the suite was not ready. No problem, I had plenty of shopping to do anyway and the staff called me an hour later to tell me my room was ready. All hotel associates I encountered are courteous and very helpful and the only complaint I have was I didn't have time to stay one more night there! Some SPG members may complain there is no club lounge at this property but I don't really mind. I will definitely come back for another weekend trip whenever I can. December 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location Much to do and see in a 6-block radius -- the best of Chicago April 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by strange leak Overall, I had a good stay. My only rude awakening was as I was getting ready to leave Thursday morning, my pants that had been draped over a chair were wet. There was apparently a leak in the ceiling near the AC/heating unit that had dripped on my pants overnight. So I had to fly home in partly wet pants, which wasn't fun. I told the man who helped with my check out and he didn't seem too concerned. On a brighter note, I thought the lunch that was served as part of our conference was excellent. November 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but not as lavish as its price For the price of a room, I was expecting a lot more. The rooms weren't nearly as fancy as I had anticipated. The staff was friendly, but didn't go out of their way for the most part. Housekeeping was disappointing. I've never stayed in a hotel where the open bars of soap weren't disposed of/replaced. It also seemed as though the concierge was always in a hurry. Overall, it was a pleasant stay but it felt like your average run of the mill hotel. I thought I was paying for a lot more than what we got. April 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good stay Staff was very nice, gym was well maintained, room was satisfactory. Thanks March 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by No remorse, no response! Hotel was incredibly busy and staff was unable to handle the crowd. Long check in process and billed two parking charges to my room. I had to call and email repeatedly over a 2 day period to get a person to resolve. No apology, and a week later still no credit on my cc account. I emailed SPG and did not get a response other than the generic "we received your email." I left a message for accounting manager and the General Manager of the property, nothing from either of them. Extremely disappointed! June 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location for this hotel. This hotel was very clean and the staff was excellent. The location was perfect, so much to do shopping, theaters, museums, restaurants, etc.... March 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our Stay A great location and a great facility. March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect location While the location, staff, amenities, room were great, the only caveat was our room was outside the elevators and hearing the loud voices from everyone coming out of the elevators late at night and early morning was extremely annoying. It was as if they were getting ready to come into our room. I would definitely recommend a room further down the hall and hotel may consider posting late night courtesy signs reminding hotel guests/staff to keep noise level down as simply guest courtesy. November 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consistancy Consistency. You always know what you are going to get, with few, if any surprises. Helpful staff.... This makes for a worry free, relaxing stay. March 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by My Stay My stay was for business. The staff was always helpful and the convenience was nice. My conference was in the hotel and there was lots of activity and shopping close by. However, for the money that I spent, the room was nothing to talk about and our room was adjacent to the service elevator. While being a light sleeper is rough at times, being in an unfamiliar bed compounds the issue and the service elevator ran all night which did not allow for a good night of sleep either night. November 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed The only thing good about this hotel was the hotel's location and the bed. My wife and I arrived Friday May 24 and received a room (2654). It was right by the door to the stairwell. I didn't think anything of it, but it was not a big deal because no one really uses it....until the morning and ALL morning long. You can hear people using the door because when it closes it SLAMS closed and can wake up a dead man! Annyoing. We were also told we would have complimentary water since I signed up for SPG. I had to BEG for water! I called cdownstairs twice for my 2 bottles of free water and the WATER NEVER CAME. I also visited a woman at the front desk and when I asked for it, she said ok - still never came. The bed was super comfortable but not enough for me to book again at this hotel. Not worth the money. May 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Friendly Staff, Great Location The location is great if you want to (as we did) shop on the Magnificient Mile and see the sights like Hancock Observatory (across the street), Watertower and the 4th Presbyterian Church, Rush Street restaurants, etc.. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Room was great too though we did not spend much time there. My only "minus" (and it is minor) is that the lobby is in need of a refresh. It is clean and functional but a little dated. That said, I would defintely stay here again. February 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Girls Weekend 7-27-13 We arrived in Chicago early in the day and were able to check in right away. Of course the location can't be beat but it is the fantastic and attentive staff that really makes this hotel a great place to stay. Tammie was wonderful at making sure we had all our needs met efficiently. The room was beautiful and spacious for my daughters and I to stretch out and enjoy without feeling crowded or cramped. This was the first of hopefully many stays here! Now to plan for an October weekend!! July 29, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but a little worn This hotel is in one of the best locations and our price was excellent. The downside was the noise from poor sound proofing from the next room/hallway noise and a little worn from use. The staff was very very good but would say a little understaffed at least at check in. I would stay at this hotel when the price was right but didn't seem as much like Westin as what I am familiar with. February 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Housekeeping service I called service express to request for extra creamer and sugar because the one provided in the room has molds. It got molds due to one of the creamer was opened for sometime, I guessed. For about 20 mins, it didn't arrived. I called again to follow-up. It took about more than 15 mins before it arrived. But we are already about to leave, so I just told the housekeeper, never mind. Is this the Service express you mentioned in your phone? January 20, 2014
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 21 next>>