The Westin Melbourne

  • 205 Collins Street
  • Melbourne,
  • Victoria
  • 3000
  • Australia
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 463 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Our room was very comfortable As mentioned, our room was very comfortable. The bed was magnificent.The staff at front of house was very welcoming and accommodating. We were let down by the quality of the buffet breakfast, especially because of the cost. We expected something much better. The valet parking service was also a let down. Even with 1/2 an hour notice, we came out to find that the car wasn't there - and it had not even been sent for. Overall, it didn't turn out to be quite the 5 star service that we have experienced elsewhere in Melbourne September 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel has very poor service As a long-standing SPG member I booked a deluxe room for 3 guests for my 60th birthday....room overlooked very noisy street, air-conditioning dials not working and required engineer to fix after we reported it , forgot 6.00 a.m. breakfast order even though it had been rung through night before, no bath amenities for 3rd person. Despite them leaving chocolates for 2 people, the other issues ruined my special celebration. September 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disorganised I booked the Westin having been a number of times in the past, largely without issue. The Staff had always been lovely, the bed amazing and the general "feel" of the Hotel quite enjoyable and relaxing. However, this time I was thoroughly disappointed by the lack of organisation. For the price paid, including upgrading to the Indulge package, to have inclusions (sparkling wine & strawberries on arrival & 4pm checkout) not noted on my account at all was disappointing and not good enough. When you want a relaxing weekend you shouldn't be required to chase these matters up yourself, or point out to staff that they were missing. In addition, if you are going to offer to "send something up to the room with the hotel's compliments" for a birthday, having already confirmed during the week the name of the guest whose birthday it is, to have the card wrongly addressed *twice* is annoyingly inept. Don't offer these types of inclusions if you can't deliver them correctly. I didn't bother correcting after the second time - it was easier just to eat the chocolates rather than have to fix the mistakes personally. Finally, whilst most of the staff were cordial and lovely, the phone staff need a reminder that abrupt responses and phone manner is not conducive to quality customer service, and only serves to bring the experience down. September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by yet another great stay! from the moment we arrived, we had our room request met and just knew it was going to be a great stay. upon arrival into our room we were both surprised by the generosity in size, a side balcony and of course the amazing bathroom/shower. restaurant recommendations where spot on and service in the outlets, simple and easy. having worked for starwood for about 17 years here & the US, its always nice to come home, well done westin melbourne, you did it again. September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Place to be - Westin It is right in the city center and walkable to all tourist spots in Melbourne. Staff will accomadate all your requests in a timely manner. Clean Rooms and Good Gym and Pool. The Bar is excellent and good dining facilities September 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Melbourne Westin Great hotel. Concierge was very friendly and helpful to me. He gave me some tips on getting tix to the Australia Football League finals. Alot of fun and the rooms were very nice, clean, comfortable and great views. Bed was a little too soft though. Otherwise, the hotel was very nice to stay at and I would go back again. September 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent experience since the entrance Westin MEL is one of the few hotels that provide me unforgettable experience since my first step into it. Professional concierge, warm staff. Room is nothing to complain, still the only point not make this trip perfect. As platinum I was expecting an upgrade to standard suite as what I had rest of the world of SPG, however unluckily not here. Even though this Westin is highly worth recommend. Only would be it perfect than excellence if I might have the chance to check the top of the top hotels, I may rate the room also with 5 stars. Anyway it with the price. September 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Smile little more, perhaps? I stayed here for a night with my partner. Overall experience were great! The only unhappy experience was during my breakfast in the restaurant. The food were yummy but the service from the server was not that welcoming. None of the server are smiling. There was even one of the server being rude to us when we were enquiring about the billing for breakfast! Great hotel! Service wise, it definitely has a lot of room for improvement. August 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Old world charm - modernised I love the Westin Melbourne. The solid wood door hides a luxurious interior - large spacious rooms, excellent toiletries in the deluxe bathrooms, and super comfortable bed. August 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Really Unfriendly staff This hotel is really flat, the staff seem as if they really don't want to be working. It's just not a friendly place to stay! and also why would the Martini bar (its' a bar in the hotel) be closed on Sunday and Monday... this makes no sense as I stayed Sunday and Monday nights. Could you just have one bar tender and stay open? I would give this hotel a miss. August 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very central. The hotel was lovely, fresh, clean and inviting. Our room was beautiful. A really relaxing and enjoyable break. Would recommend and will return. Thank you. August 26, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Service Slips The normal high quality service standards of the hotel were not evident on this stay. August 22, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed again. My last stay here was poor, but I wanted to give the hotel another chance as I generally like the Westin standards worldwide. As a platinum member, I was offered no specific welcome or room upgrade on arrival which is unusual , and was given a room on a low floor again after a bad experience the last time with noise etc. I then asked for a shirt to be pressed, as I had an urgent business meeting to be told that express laundry would only be back at 1pm. It was 7 am at the time of calling. Is that the best you can do for a double charge and express pressing service?? August 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stays in Aug 2013 1. waited too long on check-in for room and not available still at 3pm 2. uncomfortable room humidity when temp set at 23 degree C 3. wrong bill with in-room dining service charges 4. location is good for local attractions and shopping August 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pure Luxury Ive stayed at The Westin Melbourne a few times now, this time we stayed 2 nights, its such a great room, the best sleep in the heavenly bed and relaxing soak in the big bath. The staff are so helpful and friendly. August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel is a great place to catch up with friends It was a girls weekend away to celebrate my birthday. There were 9 of us that stayed there from other parts of the world. The hotel ticked all the boxes - close to shopping, great eateries, art galleries, public transport, business centre, swimming pool and spa, friendly staff and most helpful. We loved the convenience and the cafes next door. Loved every single minute of our visit. August 13, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor Service Don't have an aircon issue unless you want to be told 5 times how to use the panel on the wall by someone who isn't interested in listening to what you have to say. August 11, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel location is great The central location of this hotel is fantastic just walking distance from everywhere in Melbourne's CBD. The staff were friendly, the facilities immaculate and the breakfast was excellent in choice and flavour. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Restful and quiet Very quiet room and comfortable bed. Bathroom is well appointed. Staff prompt and efficient. August 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in except for 1 thing. The bed was way too soft with absolutely zero support.It is the only reason I wouldn't stay here again.My wife and I were both terribly uncomfortable with myself ending up sleeping on the sofa July 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Look forward to coming back soon A great hotel, from the minute I arrived to my departure everything was as expected of a hotel of this standard. The room was fantastic, well furnished, the Heavenly Bed was so comfortable! Breakfast in the room was pricy, but food was of a high quality. All staff that I encountered during my stay were friendly, had a genuine approach to service & demonstrated a can do attitude. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to a return visit in the near future. July 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel But ... The Hotel is pretty good. Location is fantastic and the room is great. I am not sure about the staff. They didn't make me feel like home. They are machine like. When I arrived, they haven't informaed me what are the facilities available at the Hotel. I was there for 9 days, during my stay no Hellos or Hi. They just stood their keep looking at the monitor eventhough there is no one needs to be helped. I travel alot, this kind of weird experience for me. July 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by FANTASTIC!!! We had a great night/day and every aspect of the Westin was just lovely! The bed was just so comfortable that i really want one for home!! The pillow the best!! The food for breakfast YUMMMMMYYYYY!! And Staff just lovely!! thanks again for making our honeymoon night /day a good one!! July 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by revitalising a great location, professional staff, welcoming environment, generous rooms. July 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel in a great location Great hotel in a very good location. It is situated in the heart of the city, with most key attractions close by. The hotel has a very nice and inviting atmosphere, although the price is on the very high side. July 24, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin has wonderfully friendly staff It is the small things that mean the most, Courteous staff, clean bathrooms in lobby, The complimentry bar nuts with your drink in front of the warm fire in downstairs area. My husband and I had the most relaxing lovely time and would not hesitate to stay at the Westin again. July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location A fantastic hotel situated in the middle of Melbourne CBD, a great place to meet friends, enjoy a champagne and a meal in beautiful surroundings. July 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Avoid breakfast if possible Good hotel, but service needs work - are staffing levels sufficient? Don't eat breakfast there. Green eggs in the bay marie was not a good look and 30 minutes to deliver GF toast on our fourth morning was met with a wide range of creative and dishonest excuses. A further 10 minutes to find a concierge delayed our expected departure by 45 minutes. July 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really Comfortable Westin Hotel This time when staying at the Westin I decided to get a room with a treadmill in it facing Collins Street. The room also had a rather large balcony that could be used to sit outside. I enjoy the Westin Melbourne, as a get away. If you are driving I would recommend a deal that includes parking as it now costs $50 for valet parking each night. This is not the hotels fault but the excessive fees the parking lot provider charges. Back to the hotel and the lobby is a nice little place to sit and watch the world pass by. Nice food is on offer from three different places from the Lobby Lounge, Martini bar and signature restaurant Allegro. Even if there is nothing on the menu you want they usually are happy to cook something from the main kitchen and serve it. Staff are always accommodating and happy to answer any requests. Their suggestions also for dinner are pretty good. Rooms are nice. Ones facing Elizabeth Street have nice little balconies and views of the cathedral next door and the night lights of the city. The rooms are extremely comfortable and represent all that is good about Westin hotels: bed, atmosphere, bathrooms, amenities, comfort. Avoid getting rooms facing the rear of the property on the lower floors as the literally look into a brick wall and would feel rather claustrophobic. My only little gripe would be the poor design of shower screens where water pools on the outside of the shower door in the bathroom area. However the rain shower head makes up for this little issue. The hotel is perfectly located to attend all theatre shows and is a stones throw to the Paris end of town shops and only a short walk to China Town if that takes your fancy. Finally, the breakfast whilst not providing a large variety is still very nice and worth adding to a planned stay July 14, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel except for staff attitudes Great hotel, with standard Westin or Starwood amenities and room quality as is expected. However there are some peculiarities about this hotel which got me gobsmacked. I was asked for a credit card not ID, although I booked the room on points and I made it very clear to the lady that it was unusual for her to ask for a credit card but she insisted and so I showed her a credit card which had nothing to do with the booking. Next day after having my breakfast, my key failed to work in the lift so I approached the front desk and lo and behold they asked me for a photo ID and when I told them I had one but it was in my room, I was asked for the room number which I provided, then the lady proceeded to as for my residential address and my email etc. I have to say, I was irate by this level of interrogation and as such write this review with alot of civility because if I really was to say how I felt it would be inappropriate for this board. So please management, can you get to the bottom of this type of treatment of a customer just trying to have a short stay in what is really a good hotel. Can you ask staff to stop profiling people based on their looks? I am not so ignorant to tell when someone asks me for a credit card after I’ve handed over my SPG card, saying it is required for confirmation of my booking, when the booking was procured on points, and when I give them a random card, they pretend to look on the screen for the card on file and say it is okay. I would have thought asking for ID to prove it is me, would have sufficed. Secondly why not fix the card access in the lifts, am certain that type of technology is standard and works in most hotels without issues. This will negate the need for me to visit the reception where I have to be interrogated for information to prove who I am or in my mind, to prove that yes I can afford to stay at the Westin although I dress less glamorous or look cheap for your receptionists. I am sure you have answers for each of the issues above, but before you give them, I hope you try and put yourself in my shoes and understand that I have spent the past 30 days except for 1 day in South Africa staying in one of the Starwood properties and it is only this property that I have come across questionable behaviour that has forced me to write this long response. In other words as a frequent traveller I don’t expect a run without a few bumps but this takes the cake. Thanks July 13, 2013
  • 2015-06-29T14:22:06.227-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-9, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_463, tr_463
  • loc_en_US, sid_1185, prod, sort_default
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 17 next>>