The Westin Charlotte

  • 601 South College Street
  • Charlotte,
  • North Carolina
  • 28202
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.7 out of 5 by 610 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs a change to meet modern needs. The hotel was clean and has a perfect downtown location. Where they need to improve is the little things like charging for Internet. It is a modern day must to be put on par with electricity. When a guest must pay for something that doesn't cost the hotel puts a bad taste in your mouth. Along with a none working refrigerator in the room, that when inquired about we were told staff could have one brought up for a few. Other hotel wave these charges for members, which we are, just a disappointed to be charged $120 more for our stay to have the use of some modern conveniences. February 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best Westin ever I as so excited to get to the Westin because they are always so nice. This one started off bad by my room not being ready at 3:00pm to the not so friendly guy behind the counter. However what I was most disappointed in was the room. Instead of a closet there was a wardrobe in the room that was just ugly. Then came the bathrooms with a small sink and mold on the floor by the shower and in the corners. Food was outrageously priced in the bar but it was very good. Outside area was not kept up, cigarette butts everywhere. Sorry to say I was completely disappointed! September 27, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Electrical problems Alerted the front desk to outlet, clock, and Internet problems. Problems were not corrected. Internet was the most expensive of any hotel I've ever stayed at and the signal in my room was so low that my iPhone 4s could not even connect. Nice lap pool though. June 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Verty disappointed! We have stayed at many Westins and this was the WORST as far as service from Staff that we have ever received. First the Valet Parking is a "Joke". Not enough staff to do valet and help with your luggage. We ended up doing everything ourselves. Second; the front desk staff was horrible. Not equipped for the number of guest staying at this hotel. Had to wait forever in line at front desk. Last; Upon leaving, didn't have any rolling carts for our luggage and we checked out at 6:00 a.m. What in the world happen to all the carts at this time of day!!! There was no help offered to us for our luggage. Just very disappointed in the service and will not EVER stay at his hotel again. For the price we paid, I expected more!! February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Westin in downtown Charlotte over Thanksgiving weekend. The location is perfect - walking distance to Bank of America stadium and the Epicenter. The standard room I stayed in was comfortable and nicely furnished. We didn't eat at the hotel but did enjoy the bar and coffee stand. The service at both were great. Manuel and Alejandro, two of the bellman, were very friendly and attentive, as well. I would stay here again and would recommend the hotel to others. December 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay!! My husband and I stayed one night for a banquet we were attending. That was all it took for us to get hooked with this hotel! It was fabulous! The staff was incredibly nice in person and on the phone! We have been talking about the stay since we left and are even looking into purchasing the mattress because we throughly enjoyed the nights sleep!! We are looking forward to any reason to stay at the Westin again in the future!! Thanks for everything! December 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good convention and meeting place We were happy with our stay at the Westin Charlotte this past weekend. We attended a trade convention and found the meeting areas spacious and allow good set up. As members of SPG , we were happy to be upgraded to a spacious suite at higher floor. There was always a waiting line at the front desk during our stay. Most of the time, i only see 1 or 2 working at the front desk. i use the room phone to call instead of waiting in line at the front desk. More help at he front desk may help. Our room has 2 good large flat screen TVs but overall i think it is time for a face lift on the carpet and furnishing. Overall personnel are very friendly and efficient. It is a good property at a good location so i don't mind to return. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Waiting to see if bill is fixed The hotel was very nice. There was a problem with my bill. I called the front desk before I left and was told that I shouldn't have received that bill and that they had taken care of it. I pulled up my account today and both amounts had been charged to it. The accounting dept. is closed so I hope to resolve this soon. December 30, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Bad Start I waited in line for 30 minutes to check in upon arrival. At that time I was told no rooms were available and they would call and let me know when a room became available. This was approx. 2:00 PM. Two hours later I called the hotel from my phone and I was told a room was available. I had to wait in line another 45 minutes. At one point there was only one agent working. When I finally got in my room it did not meet my expectations. The carpet and chair were stained and did not present a clean feeling. I will say that the bed was comfortable and the shower was good. March 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Check-in Improvement My stay was wonderful. I was thoroughly impressed with the manner in which my needs were met - arranging for airport transportation & accommodations made upon check-out (duplicate receipt sent to my personal email). I was not overly impressed with the reserved manner in which the desk person handled my check-in. I was friendly but was met with body language conveying "I really don't want to converse with you more than I have to." Perhaps it was the end of a very long day for her. Perhaps she had personal issues on her mind. In any event, I did not feel welcomed. April 5, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrible experience staff not friendly We stay at this hotel 2 nights. They didn't respect my AAA discount they couldn't do anything about it but to give me a 50 dolls credit that I didn't use on breakfast cause I was returning to NYC. Staff is a mess not organize. My room wasn't clean the next day and the room service food taste horrible and always made mistakes on our food. They charge me an oatmeal and coffee 98usd. Not even in NY we pay that. The room never got heated to our desire. They engineer came twice to fix. I call so many times to reception to fix stuffs and always delay all the services. February 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice hotel for business The hotel's staff is wonderful! The restaurant is great. My only recommendation is the rooms need to be deep-cleaned better. But overall, very nice. December 19, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Quick business trip The front desk was top notch, though no room upgrade even offered. This is a decent hotel that definitely is geared more toward the convention crowd then the average business traveler. The only real negative was the bartender, she was definitely extremely busy, but if she had just left my bill when I ordered we both would not have been frustrated when I waited 35 minutes for her to come over so I could pay. I actually just left cash on the bar as I wanted to go to bed because I had an early flight. November 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by confusing program The staff was very polite and cordial to visitors. Food in restaurant was excellent and wait staff there very friendly. The houskeeping service program was a bit confusing, One day we didn't get towels the next day we did but the dirty ones were left behind on the floor. I like the program for service only when needed - maybe should be mentioned on checkin rather than to rely on bed cards. Maybe it is new. Also requested to have a light bulb replaced (via phone to the desk), never happened. But security came right away when I locked myself out of the safe. January 17, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's the little things Was there for five nights. Used my robe after the first night. Never got a new one. I even took the hangar from the back of the door and placed it on the towel bar. The hangar disappeared but still no robe. No problem, I'll just take the time to go to the front desk when checking out to make certain they know I didn't walk off with a robe. Upon checkout there was a placard on the front desk to the right, it said 'Starwood Preferred Guests". I stood there for maybe ten minutes and watched people walk past me. Eventually someone asked if I needed help and told me that no one was working that counter. So...why is the sign there then? I just don't feel I got good service there. I checked 'no' above to recommending this hotel but my real answer is "maybe". October 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel was only a short drive from Carrowinds When we were planning my 6 year old daughter's birthday extravaganza at carrowinds in the outskirts of Charlotte,we knew not every hotel would do. We called the Starwoods customer service representative and found a great fit with The Wesin Charlotte for our large group. The 8 of us slept comfortably in a combination of a 1 bedroom suite with pullout sofa and adjoining regular room. Our only mistake was forgetting to request an extra rollaway & sheets for the pullout upon making the reservation. Upon leaving one of our vehicles wouldnt start,(due to our kids leaving a light on inside) so they the valet took care of getting ot going while we went to breakfast! We had an overall great experience with courteous and knowledgable staff! August 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great staff I have stayed at this hotel twice and I am always impressed by how professional the staff is. The hotel is beautiful and in a great location. January 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin "not so heavenly" Was expecting a lot more for the price we paid to stay at this hotel. The beds were just OK, the worst part was there was no hot water for the showers turned all the way up it was barely luke warm, and no water pressure to boot. If I could have fit in the sink to take a bath it would have been hot so I know they have the water just don't supply it to the showers. I would not recommend this hotel! December 16, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by hotel needs improvement refrigerator did not work no coffee replacement no newspaper September 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by overall good not above expectations Room was very large and comfortable. Was VERY disappointed it wa add. $18/day to park and I had to load/unload car in the garage(long walk with luggage to get to lobby). If my entire family travels with me to Charlotte, then I will not stay here for that reason. If I can find somewhere where they do not charge that much for parking, then I will stay elsewhere. My daughter ran out of hot water and could not finish her shower before we left. I would stay here again, but will look before I make a decision. I was told by staff there was no quick check out. January 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Frustrating Experience Great location and comfortable beds but not worth the many disappointments. Had to wait in line for over an hour to check in, rooms were not ready until 9 pm, rooms booked "together" were on separate floors, the TV didn't work (took 2 days and 4 phone calls to fix), the sink pipe leaked all over the floor, the toilet paper holder was broken, the safety lock on the door was broken, and the rooms did not get cleaned because of a "computer glitch." Reception staff twas pleasant and tried very hard to help but clearly there are serious management issues. April 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvements I said for 5 days and overall it was okay. They are doing renovations on the one side of the building and unfortunately right outside my window there was scaffolding. I felt very uncomfortable with this and keep my curtains closed the entire time. Why would the hotel choice to have this room in use during the renovations. If someone was standing on the scaffolding they would be the same height as me and be able to look right into the room. The room was clean and everyone was friendly. The hotels’ only restaurant was at best mediocre. October 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location, great service We try to create excuses to stay in this hotel. We love proximity to convention center and light rail. One of my all time favorite hotels, well managed, clean, and great location. A relaxing pleasure to stay here! Nothing can be improved. December 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Few Burps We were not given any water for the coffee maker to make coffee and were told that we had to pay for bottles of water, so we made coffee with the water from the bathroom sink. The "upgraded" room that we were put into had a small refrigerator that was not a fridge. We were told that the reason that we did not receive water was because we were put into a room on too low of a floor to receive water and that the fridges were being replaced with real small refrigerators but we were in a room without one. Some deal for being put into an "upgraded" room! December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Facility, Great Location and Great Service I contacted the property ahead of time to inquire about various services and the possibility of a suite upgrade since I am a Starwood Preferred Guest Plantinum for Life member. I received good service from the staff in helping me with my inquiries - especially from Front Desk Manager - Kimberly Johnson, who followed up several times regading my requests. I received all of the information I needed in advance of my trip. Even though there were no suites available for the time I was there, Kimberly continued to follow up to keep me apprised of the situation. Upon arrival & check-in, Kimberly made an effort to meet me personally. She explained that she was able to shift some things around and was able to secure the Presidential Suite for my stay. Needless to say, I was surpised and very pleased at the effort that was made. The suite was great - fantastic views of Charlotte, great amenitites and huge! All of the services I used at the property were excellent. I highly recommend this property for the great facilities and services but especially the service. I posted this review on Trip Advisor also. December 30, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Would not go back and would not recommend When I checked in I was asked to join their "preferred club" I declined stating that I was staying for business buy used other hotels that I already had "preferred" status at normally. He joked :"then to the basement with you, only kidding." Maybe the room wasn't in the basement, but it was awful. The carpet had major stains, the bathroom lights had dead bugs in them and there was "dirt" on the wall in the bathroom by the toilet paper roll. I had to open the spare roll and use it because I refused to get near that nasty spot. Their website says they have a lap pool. What a joke. It is barely two feet deep in places and so tiny it was a waste of time. For the money it was so not worth it. I am thankful I tried it for work and not pleasure. August 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Westin Hotel Yet As a platinum member I get the opportunity to stay at many westin hotels throughout North America. This hotel was by far the best yet! The gentleman that took our bags to our room was pleasant and knowledgeable. The front desk was very good and the workout room was spectacular! The room was clean and fresh and well designed. We went to Charlotte to drop our son who is named "Westin" off to university. And at the end of each long day...the Westin Charlotte was a great retreat to come back to each day! OUTSTANDING hotel and cannot wait to go back! August 27, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Front Desk Wait TIme was unacceptable I love Westin Hotels. However, the Charlotte, NC front desk was severely understaffed. Many people were waiting and obviously frustrated. There were staff walking around through the front desk area but no one addressed the issue or even recognized the number of people waiting for service. I stood at the Starwood Member area for a long time before Kimberly did come to recognize me. I MUST SAY THAT ONCE YOU WERE TAKEN CARE OF THE STAFF WAS OUTSTANDING. KIMBERLY AND THE OTHER STAFF WERE EXCELLENT. The wait time was too long. Quite disappointing. April 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by this hotel has great things to do in walking distance very nice service, close to all needs January 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement I must stay I was disappointed with my room this time. I've stayed with the Westin several times in the past and have always had a great experience. This time my room was not clean. The shower curtain smelled of mildew, the toilet was not clean, the tub dripped, the phone did not work, and one of the beds looked like it had been slept in and not changed. This was highly unusual for a Westin. After I reported the issues, the service staff were prompt to correct all of them. Thank you. November 13, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 22 next>>