The Westin Charlotte

  • 601 South College Street
  • Charlotte,
  • North Carolina
  • 28202
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 713 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! Everything was just perfect! October 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has great features The hotel is beautiful, accommodating with professional and courteous staff. We stayed there because we went to a football game at the stadium. We were able to get valet parking, check into our room get a bite to eat and walk to the stadium which was only a few blocks away. I thought that was the neatest thing that everything was so convenient and that they are so close to the stadium. We did not have to worry about our vehicle or anything. It was a very good feeling. One of the staff members informed us that the bar area would be open late and we would be able to get food when we returned from the game. When we returned that is exactly what we did. We stopped in the bar area of the hotel get a snack, enjoyed the lovely atmosphere and finally went to our beautiful room and sleep on that heavenly bed. The room spelled so fresh and clean and it looked that way too. I truly enjoyed the comfort of our stay. We were able to get a late check out and you will need it because the bed is so comfortable you do not want to get out of it. My husband got up and went to the workout room and he was able to sit in the sauna for a while. We just had such a wonderful time; we will never stay anyplace else when we return to Charlotte. Thank you Westin of Charlotte for a fantastic stay. August 31, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed, will never stay there again. We've been SPG members for almost 8 years; we stay loyal to the SPG family and every year when we travel to NC we have stayed at the Westin Charlotte. This year was our LAST. We were treated badly from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out 11 days later! To be totally honest, the reason we did not leave and move to another property was because my wife and kids were all unpacked. The plumbing in the bathroom was bad, it was reported 3 times and nothing was done. Upon check-in I was profiled by the front desk staff and it was suggested that I was committing credit card fraud because I handed my wife's SPG AMEX instead of mine since she used hers to make reservation; even though it's a JOINT account, the reservation and the SPG membership are under MY name and we share the same last name. It just went downhill from there. On New Year's Day at 2:30 am we were woken up (kids included) by someone slamming on our door...it was a group of people who were drunk, being loud, using foul language and even undressing in the middle of the hall. They were not even guests but people looking for their friends who were the guests. To make matters worse my wife and I called 3 times to request security to come up and escort them out and it took them nearly 2 hours to do so, the whole time the loud and disorderly group went from their friend's room to the hallway, to the ice machine room yelling, bumping against walls and doors, etc. To say that we are totally disappointed with the management and the service at that location is an understatement. We will NEVER stay there again, it's a true shame as that was one of our favorite locations in the past. January 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall great experience Enjoyed workout facilities and the room was comfortable. May 16, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Beautiful facility & Nice location The facility is nice and a nice location along the train track. The sheets and bed comforter were not clean and some areas were extremely dusty. The coffee pot didnot work properly. At check in the staff changed my reservation and failed to acknowledge me as an spg member. It took 3 trips to the front desk for them to get my reservation and points correct not to mention an unneseccesary trip to the front desk to get the keys rekeyed because they failed to work. The staff created unnecessary inconveniences. This was my second time staying at this hotel and my last. Last year I had the same similar issues which resulted in me calling spg services and the manager. February 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Moore's weekend getaway My husband & I were in town for a friends renewal vows & this hotel was recommended by the couple. It was very clean, very neat, the receptionist that checked us in was very pleasant. Upon my check in I requested a room upper floor & a view I got what I wanted on the spot for the same price. Our room was everything we expected. We had a beautiful view of the city & at night it was gorgeous.We were very pleased & will use this location for our next visit. It was close in walking distance to the EPIC CENTER & eateries. Instead of driving to surrounding areas we had the pleasure of walking & touring the cities night life. I do recommend this location. August 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor quality of hotel staffing I stayed at the Westin during a conference because it was logistically the closest. - The hotel management did not staff to support the conclusion of one convention and the beginning of our convention. - We checked in at ~ 2p and were told our rooms would be ready at 4p. When we returned to hotel at ~ 5:30p, there were 2 lines checking guests into the hotel and the line was 2/3 the length of the lobby. - 1 of our rooms was still not ready. - The restaurant (Ember's) was also inappropriately staffed. Thursday evening because the weather was so bad, many of the hotel guests ate in the hotel. There were 2 or 3 waitresses for the entire restaurant and the lady at the front desk taking reservations was helping clear tables in addition to her duties. It took us ~ 1.5 hours to receive our dinner. I felt bad for our waitress because many customers were complaining. - We had breakfast Saturday morning and we were told if we ordered from the menu, there would be a long wait. That indirectly made us agree to the buffet, which resulted in a huge bill for breakfast. -Lastly, I attempted to contact the front desk on three different occasions. I stopped counting at 30 rings each call. For a hotel to be the most expensive and rated as one of the nicer hotels, management should increase their staffing to support the increase and decrease in customers. I was very disappointed and will probably not book at a Westin in the future. April 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel met my companies sleepoing rooms and meeting space requirements. The food was excellent and the meeting space and exterior area was sufficient. May 14, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lots of Room for Improvement.... Checked in around 2:00p.m. on a Sunday for a conference, and could understand rooms not being ready by 3 or 4 p.m. However, I was told that I would receive a call on my cell once it was ready, and never got a call back at all. I finally checked into my room around 8 p.m. Met some co-workers downstairs to eat at your hotel restaurant for dinner around 9:00 p.m.. We waited well over 30 mins to be seated for a table for five.The place was half empty so it was obvious there were not enough workers on hand. We kept hearing repeatedly about how the hotel had been overbooked for the weekend and short staffed. But I know our conference was booked there for months in advance, so its not like this busy weekend appeared at the last minute out of the blue? Someone should have scheduled sufficient hotel staff to be on hand to service that many guests. It was getting near 10 p.m. and we still had not been seated, so we finally left and went to eat elsewhere. Lastly, the lobby was muggy and the hallways of my floor had no A/C running, which in the middle of June makes it feel more like a sauna. Once I did get a room assigned to me, I was directed to the bellhop stand to retrieve my luggage that I had checked. Of course there was no bellman to be found working there to unlock the closet room, so I had to go get someone from front desk to retrieve it. I sure hope Westin Charlotte does some additional training and service improvements before that DNC rolls into town that I kept hearing about ... or I suspect my two cents are just the tip of the iceberg of what is about come your way unless someone steps in to do a major overhaul at that Westin. June 15, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by bathroom ceiling Plaster in the bathroom on the ceiling is peeling May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't wait to come back It was my friend's birthday and she wanted to spend it back in Charlotte so we booked through Hotwire and got a great deal at the Westin. Upon arrival, we were check-in at the front desk by Melissa, whom was very nice, professional, and accommodating, able to answer all of our questions happily, and was a great first impression of the type of service we would receive. The room was absolutely beautiful, spacious, bed super comfortable, and we loved the view. We stayed in room 2323 and that elevator was quick, especially going to such a high floor. Our bathroom tub had a rusted crack on the edge and it was kind of annoying that the light switch was outside of the bathroom(unreachable once you're on the toilet) but the shower and amenities made up for it. We called the express service for our iron to be replaced and I was address by my name was I thought was so professional. It was done quickly plus they called back to ensure we got it; thoughtful. We ate breakfast two mornings at the Ember and the restaurant was better than the pictures online. We also loved that we were able to see the chefs as they cooked. Latonya(hope I spelled that right), the hostess for breakfast was very welcoming. She was always smiling and so helpful. Hak, our server on both mornings was so nice. She taught me a trick to opening my little honey jar and even remembered me the next day. My flight was for 5:45am Sunday morning which worried me in terms of finding a taxi but the hotel had taxis waiting from 3am and the bellman(wish I got his name) was so nice; the taxis took cards too. My driver drove very fast (almost scary); had I known, I would have slept in a little more. The hotel seemed more fit for a business traveler from the way the room was set up and the location(slight walk from mid-town but very close to convention center) but we loved it nonetheless and would definitely recommend it to anyone on our way back. November 18, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This Hotel is overpriced for it's services Aside from it's location and comfy bed, this hotel is a rip-off. We were charged upon arrival (up-front payment) for our extended stay as well as a "standard $50.00 deposit" for possible incidentals that we may use. Group rate discounted price for our conference (with taxes) was (deal) $252.00 per night. If you want wifi in your room, expect to shell out an additional $12.95 per day. There is free wifi in the lobby bar area. Not exactly an ideal place to focus with all the noise and activity around you. Would you like to park your rental? That will be $18.00 per night. They offer a petty $5.00 coupon if you "Go-Green" and hang a sign on your door before 2:00am. I agree with their efforts to "Go Green" however, Hanging the sign means that NO-ONE enters your room. Not even to empty the trash or give you fresh coffee. On day three, I took my door sign down as a sign that my room needed a little TLC yet came back to the same pile of towels in the tub and even more loaded trash cans. I called the front desk to send up coffee and cups as I was getting tired of dismissing their lack of service by now. One morning- the hotel was running a promotional event outside on the corner where they were handing out Free Coffee and Waffles to everyone. Inside (in an area not visible to those paying guests in the lobby) there was a line of paying customers at the "Starbucks" counter waiting to purchase their morning coffee (They must have not had the re-supply of coffee in their rooms as well). Westin staff did nothing to promote their curb-side hospitality to these paying guests! I do plan on visiting Charlotte again as I found this city to be extremely enjoyable. I will definitely seek out different accommodations. April 28, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Just one error after another..... Upon our arrival there was NOBODY at the check-in desk. We were standing there for over 5 minutes expecting somebody to come from behind the wall. Nothing. I grabbed a porter walking by and asked for his help. He went behind the front desk wall and told me somebody would be with us shortly. Several minutes later still nobody. Then as I see that porter again he goes behind the wall one more time and somebody finally came to the front desk. Unacceptable. The amount of time we waited doesn't seem long but just try standing at a front desk for that amount of time with nobody greeting you and it will feel like eternity. Especially when you have 2 small children with you. Moving on to error number 2 (in more ways that one...keep reading). We head up to our room with the porter with us helping with the bags. We get to the room and upon entering it was FILTHY. The room was a mess, the bed was unmade, and there was #2 in the toilet! Now, I really getting frustrated. The porter was mortified and couldn't stop apologizing. We all went back downstairs (still in tow with 2 small children). I get back to the front desk and the gentleman that checked us in not a few minutes earlier didn't even recognize us. He asked us if we were there to check in. Seriously? Anyway, I calmly tell him that the room was dirty. I don't expect him to fall all over himself apologizing for this but something more than a nonchalant "oops. sprry 'bout that" would have been appreciated. On the plus side, our waitress we we had for breakfast the next morning was absolutely fantastic! She was so engaging with the kids and perfectly attentive. She even recognized the kids waving at them later that day when we got back from a day on the town. Tried to stay with a hotel that falls in the SPG family but next time we will be trying a different hotel chain. July 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing Anniversary Stay My wife and I have stayed here for a couple of special occasions, which include one special memory of late-night Haagen Dazs room service. So, we thought it would be a great place to stay for our June 18th two-year anniversary. I have always liked the Westin since it was first built so I thought I would mention what I thought were its good points as well as the negatives that were specific to our stay. The Good - The Westin is one of the better pieces of tall building architecture in Uptown Charlotte. It is a very nice contemporary part of the Charlotte skyline. The location is convenient to the Concention Center, light rail, NASCAR Center, and several good restaurants. Many of the upper floor rooms have nice views, and the lobby is well-designed, featuring some nice bars and spots to grab food. The Not-So-Good - The front desk is understaffed and can be not-so-friendly depending on whom you talk to. All I wanted was a room with a good view for our anniversary stay. We were put on the 16th floor, but it was not at all the view I was hoping for. Trying to start the day off right despite a small letdown, we went to the room and for awhile heard housekeeping talking loudly and letting doors slam so loudly our headboard shook (a preview of what waking up the next morning would be like). While the hallway noise was going on I figured I would go online to confirm a restaurant reservation, but decided against that when I saw how much the wi-fi charge was even for Starwood Preferred. They really nickle and dime you on a lot - $20/day parking, $5 for the cheapest small bottle of water there is, a fee to have your fridge stocked, and super-high room service charges. Moving on to my biggest disappointment, I called the front desk because I wanted to inquire about a special breakfast for the anniversary stay. We waited and waited and never got a return call as promised. This is especially confusing after seeing reviews where people raved about the special treatment they got during anniversary stays here. I guess it was just us. It turned out to be a fun weekend in the end, but sadly, no thanks to the Westin June 26, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Positives and Negatives There were many things I appreciated about your hotel but 3 things stand out. The first was the friendliness of the young man who checked me in. The second was the $5 daily voucher when I opted out of daily housekeeping and the 3rd was the offerint of renting work out clothes. The 2 negatives would inlcude the broken latte machine at the hotel Starbucks and kleenex and toilet paper that was not thick enough. May 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Staying on the same floor as J Cole (Rapper) This was my third or fourth stay at this property. The property is absolutely beautiful and up to and above Starwood standards. My previous stays were absolutely a 5 out of 5 but this last one was at best a 2 out of 5. While I don't expect for the hotel to screen their guest for rowdiness and rudeness behavior, they should make every attempt to move guest that are inconvenienced by their behavior and NOISE. The rapper J Cole and his entourage stayed that same night as we did and on our same floor. Numerous calls to the operator and guest service just rang off the wall. We could not sleep from say 1:00AM to 5:00AM with constant yelling and running up and down the floor banging on each other's door. This Saturday, May 19th on the 23rd floor. May 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Will not stay here again. Room not ready upon arrival...given a handicapped accessible room instead. (no counterspace, open shower, no closet). Asked for refrigerator and microwave since these are not included in room..given dented, horrible refrig but never received microwave..dirty dishes left in hallway for two days...housekeeping did not come till after 4:30p and only straightened sheets and exchanged towels..never cleaned..room dusty and light fixture did not work..told front desk clerk of issues and was told "sorry".no compensations offered..very poor customer service..emailed manager with pics of refrig and nasty black sticky spots on floor..never responded back to me...Thought this was a five star hotel and expected much more than the way we were treated... August 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Service /Pricing We so looked forward to staying at the Westin during a recent convention, but that excitment was short lived. Upon arrival to our assigned floor(18) there was a musty odor in the hallway which gave the impression of a lack of cleanliness. Our room was nice with all the dust on tables and the phone! Looked like the maid service completed top surface cleaning only. The bed was comfortable and the linens appropriate for the type of hotel, but were nothing special. The in room refrigerator NEVER cooled down, luckily medications did not need to be kept cool. Maid service was slooooow with rooms not being cleaned in an efficient manner. Got real tired of hearing the hotel is full. First night we were off to have dinner in Embers. Before we were waited on the fire was out! We were seated and received a glass of water and then the wait started. 45 minutes of sitting and finally we stopped a rushed waitress to ask if we were going to be able to order. She stated she was not our waitress but did take our order. It was on that night that we met Kevin. HE listened to our complaint and service for the entire establishment improved with Kevin busing tables and running the pass.The prices charged in the hotel are outrageous. $19.95 for breakfast that was not all that good was rapidly replaced by a walk to the convention center for a $5 breakfast that actually tasted better. $13 for a hamburger would have been replaced if there had been a close What a Burger or equivalent and $11 for a small pot( 3 cups) of coffee....surprised the packet of coffee in the room wasn't a chargable item. The majority of the hotel staff generally gives the air of being aloof and is not service oriented with the exception of 1 desk clerk and 1 bellman and Kevin( after our initial conversation). Kevin needs to receive a pat on the back for his attentiveness to detail after our talk. We had read that there was a $12+/day charge for internet so we did not bring our computer. Most hotels, with the room rates that the Westin has, have WiFi at no charge. Do not like finding a free WiFi site in the bar area... really not a good place to conduct business. Would say that we felt like were nickle and dimed to death but it was much more expensive than that....dollar and fived would be closer to the truth. We don't mind paying when there is service that goes with the price. Cannot imagine why the hotel was not prepared for the convention with adequate staff. You knew we were coming! July 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Never disappoints We love to stay at Westin hotels and this one in Charlotte NC has been added to our list. Always comfortable and always friendly. Would recommend it anytime. May 10, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel assistance and check in needs significant improvement Unfortunately from the inception of arriving at the Westin Charlotte property, my experience was at best underwhelming. My seven year old daughter and I were in town for a performance and arrived at the hotel to stay a Saturday night (March 23rd) before going home. We pulled up to the front of the Westin motor entrance and were one of maybe at most 3 cars out front for pickup or check in. We literally sat in the car over 5 minutes with no staff member (valet or bellman) even approaching the car to offer assistance and get us checked in. At that point and for the next 5+ minutes, I then shut the car off and unloaded all my my and my daughters luggage myself and stacked it next to the car then unbuckled my daughter and got her out of the car. Still no one from the hotel approached the car or offered assistance. We then waited another 1-2 minutes by the car in the street trying to flag a bellman or get the hotel valet team to check the car. At that point we had waited over 15 minutes and still no one, I looked over and saw what looked to be the lead valet simply talking to guests and coworkers and uninterested at all that we were still waiting in the street and I walked over to confront him. He acknowledged we had been waiting and that he could not help but would call for a bellman. A few minutes later a bellman finally appeared and moved us in to the hotel. Upon walking in the the hotel I noticed that there was over 60+ people in several lines trying to check in at the front desk. The bellman simply dropped our luggage in the front lobby and left, instructing us to simply wait. There was no clearly marked Starwood Preferred Guest check-in line that I could identify and if there was it was now filled with a long line of other guests waiting to check in. It took us over 40+ minutes of waiting in line to get checked in. Once getting to the desk the staff was helpful and was able to get us quickly assigned our room and keys. I was hoping the worst was over however after looking over the statement that evening, I noticed that the room had been billed vs. been charged as an award night. I called the Starwood Platinum Concierge line for help as there was both an award night and a per pay night on the reservation and it looked like the wrong night was cancelled. They directly contacted the front desk of the hotel and after sitting on hold 30+ minutes, I was told that the manager on duty at the hotel was not knowledgable or comfortable enough to make the change from a billed to an award night and that I should call the hotel back directly on Monday when a more knowledgable manager would be on duty. I still have not been able to get this billing issue resolved with the hotel. I have been a platinum member for several years now and as such stay in Starwood properties frequently. Overall, I would have to say this was the worst overall staff experience I have had at Starwood a hotel. March 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great room, gouged on amenities I loveed the room, it was clean and comfortable. That being said, there were few to no amenities and the F&B pricing was out of control. I paid for room service which included a delivery charge and service charge. Along with a tip and tax my cost of food was less then the other charges. Also customer service was hit and miss. My over all impression was that I felt no loyalty towards the brand. Although the room was good and service OK the brand did everything they could to squeeze every last penny out of me. When you get nickle and dimed like that, it doesn't leave you with a good feeling. March 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Luggage Lost I checked into this hotel around 11AM on Tuesday and was told that my room was not yet ready, but that they would take my bag and deliver it to my room. No problem; I hadn't expected the room to be ready early. An hour or two later, I received a voicemail that my room was ready. Great, except I was in meetings and couldn't return until that night. A colleague joined the meeting later, having checked into the hotel as well, and was laughing that he had originally been given a room that had my bag in it, which he described as appearing to have been "hastily tossed into the room", and was trying to tease me about being in a rush. I assumed it was poor service from a bellhop or something. When I arrived at the hotel that night, they attempted to assign me to a room other than the one my colleague had mentioned my bag being in. I explained the situation, and the desk assistant looked stricken and went to the room behind the front desk. She never returned. I waited 10 minutes with no serivce or information. Line forming behind me. The manager comes out and explains my bag is not in that room, and suggests I look in the new room assigned. Shouldn't they KNOW if the bag is in that room? I look -- no bag. Back downstairs, I tell the manager this, and she goes to investigate. Another 10 minutes later, a man comes out and begins asking me about my bag, no introduction. I ask who he is, and he says he's with security. He then takes me to the luggage room to see if I can find my bag. At this point I'm irate. It's late at night, I have the bag check ticket, I have an important meeting in the morning. This debacle is now going on 45 minutes. My bag is not in luggage. As we are walking out of the room, the security man seems to have some sudden memory of being given a bag that hospitality "found" in what he originally describes as a "non-guest area" but then decides is one of the rooms. He describes it -- it's clearly mine. He tells me that he had to go through it to look for a name, then starts describing my shoes, my clothes, and what he calls "some kind of Bible or something" (my daily devotional). He goes to get the bag, and it's a mess. The zipper is tricky, and it's off track. My clothes are balled up, including my underwear which is now tucked into my shoes. While the manager stayed with us and was very nice, she repeatedly told me she "wants to know what happened, too". Shouldn't she KNOW what happened? Why am I on an investigation of poor service with the manager? The room was comped and I supposedly given some points or something (I don't know, haven't checked). This experience was very upsetting, and I have no intention of returning to that hotel. I feel violated by someone going through my personal belongings, then choosing to announce to me that he "had" to go through them and describing them to me in detail while we are standing in the hotel lobby. He never apologized for the problem; just said he was glad it was sorted out. This, to me, is not "sorted out". If a bag cannot be left for delivery to a room, they should never offer to take it. I would've been better off and saved myself an hour of terrible service while worrying that they had actually lost my belongings, then I'm supposed to be comforted that they lost them, found them, had no idea whose they were (WHERE WAS THE CLAIM TAG THEY AFFIXED TO IT?) and looked through everything I brought. I'm getting upset just thinking about it. The next morning, a concierge came to my room to help me with the presentation materials for my important meeting. He asked how my stay was going, I mentioned the lost bag, then he said "oh, I heard about that'. Great, so I'm also a source of chitchat by the front desk. Thanks a lot. I'm not impressed. P.S. They lost another colleague's bag, too. Lucky for her, she was able to find it in the luggage room. April 11, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by WRONG HOTEL My stay at the Charlotte Westin Hotel was one to remember. I will always remember my stay at the Westin, not because I thought it was a beautiful hotel, it was ok. I will remember because of how disappointed I was in the end. The pictures on the Westin Charlotte web side, made the rooms look so big and comfortable. The reality is that the rooms are very small and unimpressive for the price. The bathroom was very small too, and the bathtub had rust at the drain area. The non-slip padding on the bottom of the tub was stained and appeared dirty. The towels in the bathroom did not meet my expectations for a quality hotel. The towels seem cheap and frayed. The restaurant was ok, as far as hotel restaurants’ go. The food was overpriced for the quality of food provided. Prior to my actual stay at the Charlotte Westin, I had always look at the Westin as a quality hotel that one could boast about having stayed at. I am very disappointed with my experience at the Charlotte Westin Hotel. I would not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel with its current prices. Do not be fooled by the towering shinny appearance of the Charlotte Westin Hotel.. It is not what it seems on the outside. May 9, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Somewhat Disappointed The hotel is beautifully appointed and clean in the common areas, although I found the layout somewhat confusing and found myself turning in the wrong direction to get where I was headed. I wasn't the only one having this difficulty. Since we were attending a conference, rather than just visiting Charlotte, it meant that finding areas was more challenging. I specifically asked that my linens not be changed, as I frequently do when traveling to save resorces, it meant that my room would not be cleaned and amenities not replenished. October 6, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Felt Like a Two Star Hotel This review will not come as a surprise to anyone there. I stayed at the hotel from April 3-6, 2013 to attend a convention where I was an exhibitor. I arrived on Wednesday, April 3, 2013. Check-in is usually at 3:00PM. I arrived at 11:00AM and truly appreciated the very early check-in. My satisfaction, however, would soon be dashed. The room was attractive but cold. I attempted, unsuccessfully, to adjust the thermostat turning the dial to 90 degrees without any effect. I called the front desk who apologized and stated they would send maintenance to check shortly. An hour later I called again. Again an apology but was told there was only one maintenance person on duty so it might be a while, to be patient. One maintenance person on duty for a full hotel with over twenty five floors and at least 20 rooms on each floor? OK. So I waited. Maintenance came approximately twenty minutes later and fixed the problem. Prominently placed on the bed was a notice titled Make A Green Choice that said,"Enjoy a $5 voucher at participating food and beverage outlets or 500 SPG Starpoints awarded at checkout for each night you decline housekeeping (except day of departure). To participate, you must hang this card on your door before 2:00 AM. If you choose not to take part and would like clean linens, please place this card on your bed. Kindly leave towels to be laundered on the floor. Thank you. I didn't have a need to have the room serviced on Thursday, April 4, 2013, so I placed the card on the door before 2:00 AM. I received, as promised, a $5 voucher under my door the morning of Thursday, April 4, 2013. Thurday was an uneventful day. I did not hang the card on the door Thursday night so I did not expect to receive the $5 voucher under my door Friday morning and, indeed, I did not. Friday morning I arrived at the hotel restaurant for breakfast at 9:45AM. The exhibit hall opened at 11:00AM. I encountered a line of patrons waiting to be seated. I was fourth in line. In clear view were 8 empty tables. After waiting for 15 minutes, I asked the manager, who I noted in the area, how much longer it would be before we would be seated. The manager replied that it had not been busy all morning and all of a sudden everyone came at the same time. I replied, but you know your hotel is full. I then asked why the 8 empty tables were not being utilized.He responded that he did not want to seat people at the tables only to have them wait to be served. I responded, I take it you don't have enough staff to which there was no response. I was seated a few minutes later and, indeed, I waited and waited for my server after being seated. I exhibited at the conference on Friday, April 5, 2013. I returned to my room at 4:30PM, exhausted, expecting to rest only to encounter a room that had not been serviced. I immediately called the front desk and explained what had happened. The associate apologized but explained that by choosing Green Choice this would apply for the entire hotel stay. Aghast, I explained the information on the card did not state this choice would apply for the entire stay and I would not have chosen it had I known and understood. I was told this was irrevocable. After verbalizing how upset I was the associate asked if there was anything that she could do to improve my stay. I responded I wanted to have the bathtub serviced and clean towels. The associate responded someone would come up shortly. I asked approx how long would it take as I had dinner reservations to which the associate responded approx 15 minutes. I called back after an hour had elapsed and informed the same associate with whom I had spoken earlier that no one had arrived to service the room. At this point I requested to speak with the manager. I explained everything that had transpired. The manager responded that there was only one person on duty and assured me someone would be up shortly. At this point I stated to the manager that this was the second event where I had been told there was only one person on duty to cover a particular area. I stated the Westin is in the hospitality area and that the comfort of their guests should be their primary concern. I continued that it appeared the Westin, in an attempt to cut costs, did not have the right employee mix to guarantee that the guests concerns could be responed to in a timely manner. When no one had arrived in twenty minutes, I went to the front desk only to encounter a colleague who had just complained about Green Choice. Although we had not spoken about Green Choice, she had made the exact same choice as I with the same results. With both of us at the front desk, yet another administrative person, gave us both a $25.00 voucher toward food and beverages. We left for dinner at 6:00PM with yet more assurances that the rooms would be serviced prior to our return. We returned at 8:30 PM and, to no surprise, both rooms had not been serviced. Just as I opened the door to go to the front desk housekeeping arrived. Housekeeping arrived at my colleagues room at 9:30 PM. She was in bed. Upon checking out on Saturday I stated ato the front desk associate that, as a Starwood Preferred Guest, I preferred to have the points rather than the $5 voucher. The associate asked for the two vouchers. I submitted the one I had received the first day. When he asked for the other one I had to explain that I did not receive a second voucher and neither was my room cleaned. He, quite begrudginly, stated he would apply points for the second night. This was the most unpleasant stay I have ever had. The Westin Charlotte is directly across from the Charlotte Convention Center so the location was excellent. The only analogy I can make to illustrate what I suspect the Westin in engaging in is the difficulty Walmart is currently having. To maximize their profits they have either laid off or not hired enough employees so their shelves are bare because there is not enough staff to do inventory and restock shelves. Customers, finding the shelves bare, leave and shop elsewhere. Well, I will not repeat the mistake of staying at another Westin. The Westin is not inexpensive. Additionally, unless you want to make up your bed, use the same towels and service your room during your entire stay DO NOT CHOOSE GREEN CHOICE. This is nothing more than a strategy to not hire staff with the result that guests have no guarantee their needs can be met in a timely fashion, the result being your discomfort. This was a recurring theme during my entire stay. April 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by comfort plus The room was spacious, and the bed was extremely comfortable. the only issue we had was during check in, we were not told the correct procedure for taking our car out of the self-parking area. The doorman spotted us leaving and saw we had turned our room cards in to the express checkout bin,. this card is needed to present at the ticketbooth so that we would not get charged for our already paid parking during check in. we were able to have another card made up and the issue was resolved. April 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by NIce Property, but noisy and dusty The property is very nice. The Internet worked fine, the gym is a good facility, and it's in a central location. My room was very dusty. Dust was apparent on the lamps, phone, and bathroom counter. There was also long strands of hair in the bathroom. The people on my floor were very noisy. On the second night about midnight, my phone started ringing. When I answered, I did not receive a reply. As soon as I disconnected the call, the phone would ring within seconds. After the fourth time, I left the phone off the hook. I don't know if it was a prank or an errant wake up call. Finally, on the morning of checkout, around 8:30 am, I took my bag to my car, had breakfast, returned around 1030 am only to discover the hotel had checked me out of my room without my notification. October 4, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel was in a good location Service staff were not friendly- May 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Southern Charm and Attentiveness The saff -- each and every one -- were exceptional. I had questions and several 'problems' and each were efficiently dealt with ... I was never made to feel like I was bothering anybody. The food is excellent and unique. The WorkOut room is AWESOME!!! The only thing is the room was in need of some attention: a) the carpet was frayed at the entrance to the tile (Room 1013); b) several lamps were crooked; c) wireless internal should be available in the rooms (it was free in the lobby) and the high-speed internal of $20.00/day is way to much money for the quality of access; and, d) less than half the TV channels worked (althought the quality was excellent when it did). May 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 Staff were unfriendly and did not go out of way Upon arrival to hotel we were put in a deluxe room which is not what we reserved. It was a downgrade. After telling the staff that we reserved a superior room they advised us that we would have to wait until one was clean and available. After waiting we were put in a room that was on the backside of the hotel without a view up uptown. After complaining and asking for a room with a view we were told one was not available. Manager overheard and did put us in room with a view that was evidently "unavailable". We were told we would get a complimentary bottle of wine for our inconvenience, but never received it or heard from manager again to make sure everything was okay. September 15, 2013
<<prev 7 8 9 10 11 ... 25 next>>