The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Virgin Islands
  • 00830
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 18 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 222 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dirty room and no response from staff We had friends that had booked their wedding on 11-11-11. We took advantaged of this and decided to make a week trip to see our friends and enhjoy time to ourselves. These kind of trips come far and few between for us. I took pictures of the disgusting stain on the carpet I had called about the first night we checked in(11-8). We checked out on 11-14 and the stain was still there. We also called about our fan in the bathroom that wa not fixable and they had to fix the makeup mirror. I find it odd that our firends asked for different rooms due to the lack of cleanlinless on 11-4 when they checked in. Of course when I showed the party of 44 that stain they were disgiusted. If you woiuld like me to forward this picture to your website, please let me know where to send it. November 20, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful trip The hotel was beautiful, wonderful beaches, good food, great service. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anticipated the worst, pleasantly surprised St. John is my wife's favorite place to vacation and we have been to the island many times with friends. This is the first time staying at the resort as it was just the two of us. I read several reviews which were less than stellar and was very nervous about staying here. The property is going through a major renovation, which we were informed of the day our reservation was past to cancel. That nervousness was dissipated within the first hour of being there. Staff was friendly and quick with a smile (Janice and Noreen). The grounds that were open were pristine. I noticed there were managers visible at most locations which tells me they are taking a vested interest in the customer experience and ready to rectify any situation that could arise. Only complaint, and not a huge one, is that as a Platinum member, they did not waive the resort fees which almost every other property will do. I look forward to returning! May 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Please downgrade this hotel..not great or luxury Please down grade this hotel. This is a star 3. 1. Little to no service. Staff were rude and not helpful. Only staff that were great were the man and lady helping with restaurant reservations. And by the way, when my card didn't work in the ATM it was my problem. 2. Please get rid of the golf carts. I woke up every morning to them. Watch out walking on the path. 3. Gym - really not great. The buttons on the machines did not work well and could not watch tv 4. Room. Not bad but the tv did not work. Good luck having someone come fix this 5. Food was completely over priced and not that great. 6. Hotel completely outdated.Completely different than the picture 7. Great - pool and its in St. John December 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 2nd Trip, First with Daughter It was a great trip and all the staff were great. With the upgrades to the resort, it was a bit of an inconvenience to work around, but the hotel had a great plan to minimize the impact. We will be back in Sept to stay in the villas and we hope the weather is good and the resort is as good as always! May 11, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Continues to just not quite be there We have been coming here every yr for over 20 yrs and are owners. Many things ARE better, some just can't reach the bar. The pool bar staff are totally indifferent and always have been. Returning guest/owners are not recognized, rooms have been upgraded but the carpet is destroyed and has been. New doors and windows but left huge gap open to air in wall..good thing we have duct tape! Lots of ways it could be great, just isn't. Step it up and this is five star. Currently not. We love the island so bought time here, resort could be much more special without much effort. For example, offer owners storage for their gear for a fee..only few units have any storage, deliver the stored goods to the room and pick up again when you leave. Rubbermaid tubs stored in a cargo trailer wouldn't cost much to do and would be pure profit and convenient; have an enthusiastic manager around at the main pool to greet guest and encourage friendliness for the bar and wait staff, offer owners a free or discounted trip over on the Westin Breeze which is a gouge job on price,run real Happy Hours and events at the pool daily. May 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just the attitude,,,,, I have to confirm what I was reading here. The rooms and the place is great - clean - great food etc. But there is a problem with the staff - they are correct and some what friendly - but they act like forced labor. Nobody really wants to work - nobody is really personal or goes the extra mile ( some exceptions - they red t-shirt water sport people were great...!) Reception was a disaster - few people inside were hiding - one person miserable trying to work on the line - forget the SPG member line. Nobody ever there. The shuttle service to drive you like to the parking and so ....they always fly by- try to catch them - good luck... nobody ever stopped and asked if need transport. Seating hostess and waitress - same thing. They are all correct but nobody is personal or goes the extra mile.Even The vacation / concierge people trying to run ...away ....Compared to other SPGs....this is a little strange. Again the place is beautiful - well taken care off and food is great. But staff as a group needs that adjustment that the customer is why they have that job...We really felt like we bother them every time we needed help like ordering food or something. Yeah somewhat disappointed. January 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by St. John Westin Not as good as the last time we stayed. Still a very beautiful place to stay. December 18, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Mixed Results - But Had A Great Time Noteworthy positives: - Kids Club was great. CJ (counselor) was super and my kids wanted to go back. We felt they were in good hands. - The island is stunning. - Cruz Water Sports, who handled boat rentals and a sunset cruise for us, was fabulous. Very professional and helpful. - The pool area was beautiful, but if you want any shade you have to wake up at the crack of dawn, hike to the pool, and reserve a chair. They are all reserved early, even though the reservers may not show up until mid afternoon. Frustrating. - Landscaping and grounds are beautiful, very well kept. Room for improvement: - Rooms are a bit old and dated. - Our villa turned out to be way up a hill, too long for the kids to walk, so we were constantly at the mercy of calling or waiting for a shuttle. - The staff was very friendly, though often very slow (restaurant and front desk). Shuttles were very easy to find, however. - Food was fair in the Beach Cafe and Snorkles cafe by the pool. But the drinks - which I expected to be made fresh in the tropics - were all from premixed bags and not good. - Poolside service was almost nonexistent. We would have ordered much more food and many more drinks had it been easier. If we have a chance, we will return, but we will likely spend more time away from the hotel facilities - other restaurants were exceptional and beaches very nice. March 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Terrific Service We have visited this property three times, and once again enjoyed a wonderful stay. We encounted a few "hiccups" as the resort is under construction (which I was aware of when I made the reservation). That said, the resort staff & in particular, Carlos at the Front Desk, stepped in personally, responded to my issues and made sure that we were comfortable (checking in with us several time throughout our 10 day stay). St. John is a beautiful island and the Westin Resort will be even more beautiful when the rennovations are complete. Our family had another wonderful Starwood vacation and I am grateful to the Westin staff for thier wonderful service. We are looking forward to our next visit! June 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome march vacation My wife and I along with 2 other couples arrived 3/21 , stayed in a 3 bedroom villa which was great, then on 3/26 my wife and I moved to a poolside hotel room, our guests left this day. We stayed till Saturday 3/29. I have to say our vacation was awesome!!!!, Everyone treated us like kings, especially Neal Lanclos, one of the golf cart drivers who met us at the ferry and was there for us anytime we needed a ride or information. He went well above the call of duty for us and we greatly appreciated that. We hope to be back in 2016 when all renovations are completed. I hear completion date is jan 2015 but 2016 is better for our schedule. Every staff member including the pool area & bar were great, looking forward to seeing Sue at the pool again someday. Great place, town & beaches on st john are great!! here are a few restuarants you must try, Asalore, zozo's, banana deck,rhumb lines. April 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service & Attitude The attitude of the locals was beyond unacceptable! They were rude, unhelpful and irritated by simple requests, such as: Where can I get a taxi? May I please get a menu? Where is the bathroom? . The service in the restaurants was below average. For example, I ordered a rum runner, a drink that is a specialty in St. John, and received it AFTER my appetizer and dinner were served. The drink was watered down and the ice had melted. There was NO attempt to rectify the problem by offering a fresh $10.00 drink. On the day we were leaving, we asked for our breakfast to go. Instead I was handed a box for me to transfer my yogurt & fruit. I was terribly disappointed to see that I had just paid $17.00 for a half papaya with about three tablespoons of yogurt and fruit. My room had mold growing on the ceiling and parts of the ceiling continously fell onto the bathroom floor. The second day that the housekeeping cleaned our room, the towels were taken, but not replaced. Therefore we had NO towels and discovered this AFTER I was in the shower. Being a Starwood member, I have acquired high expectations because of the excellent service that you all have provided. This resort was terribly disappointing. I usually try to find the good in every situation, especially at such an extraordinary location. The ONLY positive aspect of our stay there is the treatment we received from an Alicia & Prince. They went ABOVE & BEYOND with hosptitality & kindness. Alicia, assistant on the ferry, graciously offered to return our son's bags until we needed to meet his camp director. She provided excellent customer service, concern for our son's belongings & interest for our family enjoying a day on St. Thomas. Prince, ferry attendant, was the most gracious, kind-hearted & friendly person on the entire island! We were inspired by Prince's thankful attitude towards his employment with Starwood, the life that he could provide for his wife and children that were back in the US and the blessings that most of the world take for granted. If Starwood ever needed an example of the ideal customer service represenative, Prince, is EXACTLY what every vactioner would love to meet. I am sincerely thankful for the 30 minutes my husband & I had on the ferry talking to Prince. Starwood is BLESSED to have such loyal, hard-working, caring & positive employees in Alicia & Prince. July 24, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwood Hotel/Resort I Have Encountered To begin, I travel frequently for work and stayed at Starwood properties over 100 nights last year. Though the majority of my stays are not at resorts, I can speak to the experiences I have had at other hotels. Overall, I have had wonderful stays with Starwood, and I have never had an experience like this at any of the other properties. Top dissatisfier: Bad service is systemic. To start, the check in experience was less than desirable. I had requested a My-24 early check-in, and didn't receive an email back from the resort that I was not granted it until I had already left for vacation. My guests and I waited by the beach, which was filthy until we were called that one of our rooms was ready. Keep in mind, it was already past when we should have been able to check in normally. The front desk wasn't entirely rude, but not friendly or welcoming either. Next came our dining experience, which I am not making up. We had walked down for brunch the next morning. When asked at the hostess stand if we were having the buffet, we responded no and asked if we could have a table in the sun. The women literally rolled her eyes. We were not brought water or menus. Our server eventually came over, handed us the menus, and told us that we had to get our food order in immedately since we weren't eating the buffet. We responded that we had not seen the menus yet and would need some time. Also, could we have a glass of water? She said not until we get your food order in. Once we ordered, the food and water came and they brought me the wrong dish. By the time the correct food came, the table had already finished their food. No one came to pick up our check, so we found the manager to run our card. She walked over with our receipt and asked if we had a pen. Second dissatisfier: The Rooms. I had used my room upgrades on one of the rooms and the other I had booked with more points to get an ocean view. I was "upgraded" upon check in to a two bedrom Villa. Buyers beware: the photos of the villas on the website are of their newly renovated villas. Though, they are also still using their grossly outdated onces as well. The furniture is stained, and the tiled floors are cracking. I had read we'd have a kitchenette, which is partially the reason why we were staying there. Our two bedroom villa had a coffee pot, a microwave, and a mini fridge. There was no sink, utensils, or dishes. The one positive: The rooms are clean, and the grounds (with the exception of the beach) are maintained well. If I could take my points back and stay elsewhere, I would. Please consider other options before staying here. May 23, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A Long Ways from the Best of the Caribbean I am married and travel a lot with my wife and two kids (2y and 4y). I travel about 5-6 times each year where 2-3 of those trips are overseas (usually Caribbean) and have been to many Caribbean islands. St. John unfortunately does not compete well with other islands unless you are a couple looking for an intimate spot and even then it's a bit of a stretch. First, to get to St. John, you must either pay $65pp EACH WAY for the Westin ferry or take a 45 min van ride to a 20 min ferry ride to a 5 min cab ride to get there. Once you get there, the lobby is not air conditioned. It's open air which is nice, but when it's over 90 outside, it can get hot there. Next, we stayed in the Hillside villas and I would suggest other accommodations unless you enjoy walking up two 30 degree incline hills to get there. You can also take the free golf cart shuttles if you like, but as I said before, there are better options. The rooms are nice and well appointed. We had a one-bedroom loft which was comfortable and had partial ocean views. There are few restaurants to choose from. There is 1 for breakfast/dinner, 1 for lunch, and 1 for just dinner. Bar food for lunch each day got old and we ended up cooking a lot since there is a market a short walk away. There are many choices in downtown (5 min away by taxi), but for $5pp each way, that got old as well. The restaurants we did eat at downtown are good, but not great. Other islands (Aruba, Bahamas, Jamaica, Puerto Rico) easily have more and better choices. Also, it's expensive, but unless you find some local spots, eating where the tourists eat usually is costly, regardless of where you are. There was also a deli which served some sandwiches and salads all day. There are nice beaches, but I question whether they are some of the best in the world. Trunk Bay, $8pp each way by taxi and $4pp to enter, is supposed to be one of the best. It is nice and intimate with lots of marine life swimming around. There were sting rays and tons of fish to keep snorkelers happy. I believe the snorkeling is good in St. John, but I believe that can be said about many islands in the Caribbean. We aren't snorkelers so I can't comment further about that. The beach and main pool by the resort are okay. The beach does not have the clearest water. There is a good amount of seaweed and you share the bay with lots of boats. All beaches are in bays so it is very calm there. The main pool was very nice with waterfalls and a nice layout. A swim up bar would have made it nicer, but it is still very nice. If you are a beach person, expect to take a taxi each time. If you are a pool person, you will be happy. There was a small pool next to each Hillside villa, which was nice and usually empty. There was a waterfall and two nice grills there as well. Unfortunately, they were not cleaned often and usually had plenty of debris floating there. We got bitten a lot there and were told they are sand fleas/sand flies. Make sure to ask about that since we weren't warned and could have have a more comfortable stay if we used bug spray. I've never experienced these before, but maybe I was just unlucky since I hear they can be in the Caribbean and even Florida. There were a decent amount of kids there who seemed to stay at the pool most of the time so if you have a little one, they should find some playmates easily. If you're the type that is looking to drop your kids off at the Kid's Club, you might be disappointed since there were never kids in there except occasionally at night (5p-10p). We didn't care since we never use the Kid's Club. Lastly, the staff there was somewhat friendly, but compared to the Westin Aruba, Harborside, Westin Lagunamar, they fall short again. If I never stayed anywhere else, I probably wouldn't notice, but it you are used to those other places, you might feel that area lacking, There are a couple stand outs. The front desk was always nice and helpful. Samir in guest relations and Teri in concierge were very nice, but that's about it. Overall, the big draws here are: 1) The intimacy/privacy. There are many beaches you can take a taxi to where it will be just you and only you there. That's rare. 2) It's US territory so it's easier to get there and back, if that matters. 3) It's really cool to walk around at night and hear the orchestra of nightlife playing. It's more relaxing and peaceful than I can describe. 4) It's never crowded anytime or anywhere and we went during Carnival 4th of July week. The hotel was full, but you would never know that. That's very rare. Outside of that, there are better choices unless those four things are really important to you. July 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel needs to be updated Hotel has a great location, nice beach, excellent pool area. But it's not what I expected from a Westin property. The rooms are average, not luxurious. The maid service was very erratic - some day we'd get no clean towels, the next day we'd get towels but no wash cloths. Food was pretty good but service in the main restaurant was strange. You almost had to trip a waitress to get them to get your order. This wasn't true at the Snorkels' Bar and Grill by the pool - they were very good. July 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just Super Restful This is our second trip to the Westin St. John and it is certainly our favorite Island getaway. The staff is terrific and our units have been comfortable, clean, and extremely restful. The food, activities, and amenities are all first rate, though I have to mention that the fitness center could use some upgrades. Much of what you'll buy anywhere on the island will be somewhat pricey, but it's not any more so than other secluded island areas. I heartily recommend the Westin St. John. June 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really enjoyed our time here! My husband and I are Starwood owners and this was our first time here at this resort. Plus: beautiful property, friendly staff, great location, shuttle/ferry service to and from St. Thomas was excellent (worth the price we paid). Our room was not near the main pool, but it was nice to have a small pool next door. I would try to request a villa closer to the main pool if we were to bring our kids. Improvements: need sidewalks or walking paths so your not competing with golf carts. April 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bait and switch! Three major problems with the Westin. 1) The rooms are no where near the standard of what most Westin's look like and the 1 bedroom suite did not even remotely resemble the pictures on the website. The room smelled musty and the room looked liked it was built in the 70's and has not been updated since. 2) The service from 90% of the staff whether front desk or getting served a drink at the pool bar, was just horrible! If you like a place where you are pampered do not go here... their excuse for the poor service is "Island Time" 3) We did the time share tour, and that is where most of the suite picutres are from, but of course you have to buy a time share to get into those rooms. Come on Westin you can do wway better than this!!! April 9, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fantastic grounds, nice rooms - but some issues Last time I visited was 10 years ago. Location is great. Grounds and buildings have been updated, the pool-view room (1214) was very nicely appointed, clean, bed was great. The beach and pool are very well-maintained and lovely. The amount of equipment you can rent/borrow for watersports is fantastic, and thankfully the process is painless. I really like this resort but I'm going to be tough on it because it could be even better. First, it was often difficult to walk around the property on the brick-paved roads because there was constant traffic from staff driving golf carts, morning-noon-night. There aren't many walkways so you have to step on to the grass and move for the carts. Even with ongoing construction, it seemed excessive and should be addressed. Staff didn't seem overly concerned with forcing guests on to the grass, either. Some other minor things: I tried room service one night, "whole-wheat linguine with basil" and it was terrible, pasta tasted microwaved and was so salty I could barely eat it. One day the maid service replaced towels but didn't make the bed (they were probably confused because I pulled the sheets up before leaving?) Could only take hot showers in the room, no cold water (?), two separate concierge weren't very helpful making restaurant reservations and there was no mention of a SPG Gold room upgrade (or attempted upgrade) at check-in. Besides the minor annoinances, this property is a solid option on St. John and I would recommend it to anyone looking to stay on the island. July 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Need a little work Everyone was very nice, certainly no one was anything but polite. Place is very clean. Landscaping nice. Some things I would consider to improve: 1) I ate ate your restaurant one evening. It is not an inexpensive place. Apparently there were specials which no one advised us. When I inquired about something I saw on another table, after I received meal, I was told it was the special. ? 2) if you charge rates as you do, I should not have a bathtub that looks like it was caulked by a child. Very sloppy. 3) As an Amex Fine hotel.... member I received breakfast coupons which seemed to confuse everyone. June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good family vacation spot We stayed here for 5 nights in July. The hotel itself is very nice, although still under renovation. The rooms were very nice and had been recently redone. The pool was great for our young kids. The hotel also had lots of kid friendly activities daily. The only negatives were the constant pressure from staff to attend a 90 minute "property tour" aka time share pitch and the sometimes un-attentive staff. Other than that, great resort. July 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Customer service needs management attention The resort itself was amazing , however, a bit tired, lobby needs help but what kept our rating from being over the top, a number, indeed not all of the staff need to raise the bar on customer service. I was told in a very unprofessional manner to get off the dock while taking pictures of the sunset do to the expected arrival of the Westin Ferry. Not sure why my presence would be a concern even so the discourteous manner in which I was asked to leave should be a deep concern to management. Very rarely did the staff driving golf carts ask us if we needed a lift to and from the lobby, restaurant etc, and finally with the exception of Carlos at the front desk trying to arrange for early morning departure was a mini nightmare. Carlos saved the day and should be rewarded for stepping in and actually providing customer service March 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Amazing Stayed at the West-in resort from 3/31 to 4/5/14. The resort is absolutely beautiful and well kept. The pool, beach and amenities are amazing and make for a perfect vacation- for all ages. When we first arrived, Akima greeted us at the front desk and was SO friendly and welcoming. Being a SPG platinum member, she was able to get me upgraded to a beach front room. She was always there to help and greet us with a smile. The staff at Snorkels bar did everything for their guests to enjoy the time there. The pool, beach and resort was super clean and perfect. DEF recommended!! will be back in July! April 5, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin St John exceeded expectations You arrive to a beautiful place that is even better than expected. At check-in, staff bend over backwards to welcome us and to recognize our SPG status. First class greeting for sure. They took us to our room with our luggage, but spent the time to take us around and show us the resort. This staff was proud to be here, and we could see that. The villa that we were upgraded to was WAY beyond our expectation. The housekeeping was outstanding too. Friendly, thorough, etc. Shuttles were always available. Staff is 5 star. All of our visit (it ends tomorrow) was outstanding. I cannot understand why some reports don't glow as they should. The only negative is the tiny Spa facility for my wife's nail treatment., and that didn't dampen our 5 star experience. We love this place, and our friends are coming for a wedding visit in two months. They too will be thrilled. January 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This property is not worthy of the Westin name I never take the time to write reviews but felt obligated to alert others to the shambles that this property has become. Public and private areas of the property are in dire need of an overhaul, updating, cleaning and basic maintenance. The beach towels are threadbare, the lounges are mildewed, the paint is scraped off the furniture in the patio lounge, the public bathrooms are dirty with overflowing trash etc.., seaweed piles up on the beach as if this were a 2 star property, beach & pool service only made the rounds one day of our 5 day stay, service is slow, erratic and most often comes with a giant "i'm doing you a favor attitude". And while the bed linens have been updated in the beachfront rooms, the bathrooms have not and are literally the size of a gas station and absolutely filthy with stained shower floor grout, etc. Maid service is just the bare minimum, no bathrobes, etc. I have stayed at dozens of Westin properties all over North America and am still unable to believe that this "resort" carries the Westin name. I know the hotel offerings are slim in St. John, but this is a travesty. Beware! May 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Island get away! Our stay at the Westin St. John was very relaxing. I was amazed at the amount of children at the resort and I thought that noise would be a problem. The resort is spread out where this is not a problem at all. The staff were very nice and service was up to expectations. If you love hiking, snorkeling, and all water sports, St. John is a great island to stay at. We had a great time and can not wait to go back. January 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tropical paradise My husband, 2 children along with 2 friends went on this vacation together from Jan 3 - 10 2013. We brought them back to St. john to see all the amazing sights we saw when we were on our honeymoon here in July 2011. The Westin has the best ammenities along with the best staff! Very friendly and hotel was very clean. After visiting twice we bought a timeshare!! Now we will have many more trips to St. John! April 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still outstanding Aside from the beautiful landscape and views from the hotel, the ever-friendly staff makes the difference. Very friendly and accommodating. Beach and pool rooms just renovated. The pool is now open 24 hours. Food at Cruz Bay Prime was the best meal we had on the island. Stay here once and you will be back. July 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay Loved this resort, stayed 7 nights. Assigned to 2nd floor, building 21 which I thought was a great location--view of the beautiful grounds & of the water/bay, close to the pool & beach restaurant. All rooms have balconies (a real plus) or patios (some rooms on 1st floor may not have great views). Food options for 7 days were a expensive & limited, so next time will need to figure out alternatives. Staff were all very friendly and helptul. Beautiful pool and nice beach. Cruz Bay Water Sports on site, 2 thumbs up! Only complaint was the flat screen TV. The voice was totally not synched with the picture (nightlife is quiet on St. John, so watching TV is entertainment). October 13, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but food is a disgrace Had a very nice room and loved the location and facilities. My big issue was the quality of the food at the various restaurants. Breakfast is just OK but I was shocked at the plastic "cheese" on the nachos served poolside and found dinner at the main dining room gross. The seared tuna was obviously a frozen piece of fish that was cold in the center while the grilled fish of the day was over cooked and rubbery. NOT what I expect of a Westin resort, especially at the prices. The high end restaurant (steak house) was somewhat better in quality but still not near the quality for the price. We ate much better and cheaper (including the $20-30 in taxi fares) in Cruz Bay. July 1, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9 next>>