The Westin St. John Resort

  • 300A Chocolate Hole
  • St. John,
  • Iles Vierges
  • 00830
  • États-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer

Enfants/chambre

Ces informations nous permettent de trouver les chambres qui correspondent le mieux aux exigences de votre réception et de préparer votre arrivée.

Reportez-vous aux conditions et détails des chambres pour plus d'informations concernant les frais applicables pour les lits d'appoint et les personnes supplémentaires.

Politique en matière d’âge

Les hôtes doivent être âgés d’au moins 18 ans pour réserver une chambre.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 248 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by another wonderful stay - can't wait for next year For the 13th winter vacation we had a better time than ever at the Westin ST. John. The staff is getting better and better at anticipating needs and goes out of their way to recognize and welcome us. I read some of the reviews and cannot believe that I am staying at the same place. Food, service, rooms and facilities are better every year. Can't wait to go back. January 20, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Avoid Our friends came to St Thomas to stay with us for a week and we took an overnight trip to St John and stayed at the Westin Resort. I expected the Westin employees to be the cream of the crop from the island, but what we found was not the case. The rooms and resort where very nice, but: 1. I requested a 3pm checkout and was never told this was not possible until I checked in. They then told us that being a platinum member does not matter at a resort property. 2. I picked the free bottle of room as my platinum amenity. I called from the room and asked if I needed to pick it up, they said it would be delivered to the room shortly. We went to dinner and drinks, 5 hours later, still no rum in the room. 3. We were given a sheet of coupons to use at local business, when we tried to use them we were informed that we needed a special card from the hotel with a code on it, this was never provided to us. 4. At 9am someone knocked on the doors of both the rooms I booked and said “Are you moving yet?” and then did the same again at 10am. 5. We did not have water bottles in our rooms. Overall, not the Westin experience we have grown to love. January 12, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by staff friendliness The entire staff was very helpful and friendly. I wish there was a way for you to keep the mosquitoes out of the rooms. I woke up every morning with bites that I received while I slept. Also my room had a large stain on the carpet and many stains on the counters. November 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely disappointed...bad management We are 3 days into our 4 day stay in a 2 bedroom villa and have had enough to write a bad review of the staff and facility. This is the first time I have given a bad review of Westin property, so I hope this tells you how strongly I must feel to do so. First, it has been impossible to have a night of good sleep. Each night has been interrupted with a loud, screeching, unnerving sound of the fire alarm (at times to 25 minutes). Didn’t call the front desk the first night, but on the second night, I complained to the front desk when it happened at 1:30am and could hear others calling in as their phones were ringing off the hook. The alarm was for the entire building, not just a unit or two. On the morning of the second day, I spoke with the manager on duty. I found it odd that the manager was not even aware of the alarms impacting 10-15 units and said that she would reach out to security to find out what is going on. A few hours later, I did hear back from security and learned that there was an issue in an alarm of one of the units in the section we are staying and it would be repaired that day. No call from the manager to follow-up. Well…..third night in, it happened again!!!! Things fail, things break, and I have a lot of patience to handle it. What I can’t handle is the callous nature of the staff and especially the management. Interaction with the on-property staff was fairly disappointing. From that we decided to spend minimal time on the resort itself. Only good service we noticed was Neil and another gentleman who drove people to/from the villas. Both had a smile always and were always asking if they could help. Property condition - I know the property is going through renovations and they are well overdue. I am surprised that the conditions had to get this bad before a renovation started. I am not going to elaborate on that as others have already posted their comments. The only thing I would recommend is bring your slippers to wear everywhere in the unit…especially the showers. This property does not earn the name of a Westin. When Westin does something about the way this property is managed, I’ll then consider a future stay. Plan to be back in the area in a few months and also next year, but certainly won’t stay here nor recommend it. November 3, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT UP TO WESTINS STANDARDS!!! This is by far the worst Westin I have ever stayed at. The staff are RUDE! The wait staff & SLOW! The rooms were NOT UPDATED considering I was told the hotel had just had a renovation. My fridge had a wire sticking out on the inside! The dresser door was falling off! Sometimes the room wasn't even cleaned til after 5pm! The bathroom floor & entry was NEVER cleaned/swept. When I did call to complain nothing was ever done! The fridge did get replaced, but it was a struggle. I m just sooo disappointed this was supposed to be a nice family vacation & it was anything, but. Being a travel agent I will certainly make sure I dont book this resort for any clients October 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Below Average for Westin From the moment of check-in this hotel went downhill. Previous occupants still had access to room when they should have been checked out. Bugs in the room crawling on surface after maid had just left. No toilet paper refilled all week. Breakfast was $80 for 2 meals and coffee. Pool bar closed at 6pm October 29, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not up to Westin service standards We just returned from a wonderful vacation in St. John, the first time my husband and I have been there. We decided to stay at the Westin because we have used Westin restorts in many other places including Costa Rica where we were extremely happy with our stay. We were aware going into our vacation that there were still some renovations taking place, so that was not an issue. The island itself is absolutely beautiful and there are cabs readily available to take you wherever you want to go for set prices. We did run into a few issues including: -Walls are paper thin -Aggressive staff -very limited food choices -staff never provided us the sheet with free drinks and coupons for restaurants downtown, only learned about it while checking out and overhearing someone checking in The limited food choices were really only an issue on days were didn't feel like leaving the resort at night to go downtown and find dinner. The staff is another story. The woman that served us lunch was very short with us, not friendly at all and I don't think I saw a smile from her during our stay here, again, not a big deal. The woman that really made an impression on us was a lady that picked up our luggage at the end of our stay to load it onto the ferry. We were told by three separate staff members that we could leave our luggage inside our room, if we weren't comfortable leaving it outside to be picked up and we told them we would leave it inside. As we were boarding the ferry to leave, this woman comes speeding up to us and yelling at us for leaving our bag in our room and giving us a 5 minute lecture as to why we were wrong and were to blame for her having to go to our room twice. Well that was a lovely way to exit the resort. There is a serious communications and attitude issue with many of the staff members we came in contact with. We didn't let it spoil our vacation but made us think twice about booking with Westin again. October 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Value for Your Money! THE WESTIN ST. JOHN RESORT-WORST VALUE FOR YOUR MONEY $$$$$ We encountered poor service, tasteless kitchen and bar drinks, exorbitant prices, and bad management. We switched room twice and both rooms were small and had double beds even though we paid big money for an upgrade with a king bed, (we got the feeling that king beds are a commodity in this resort)! The Island beaches are beautiful but you won't find those at The Westin, which sits in a cove with an ugly man made beach area. Westin offers a very expensive round trip transport from St. Thomas (St. John does not have an airport), which we paid for and got to ride the most uncomfortable bus and the loudest oldest water taxi to awful to describe. It cost us each $120. Departure date they are eager to get you off grounds, and back to the St. Thomas airport and only offer one shuttle in the morning. Our flight left at 4:30 so we sat at the airport for 4 hours! To top it off, both my husband and I got yelled at during our stay, by employees working in the service department. This shows the deficiency and lack of involvement of upper management. This hotel should NOT carry the Westin name. I rate this a one star hotel and that is only because it is located on this beautiful Island. October 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Jaime 46 I had a great experience at your facilities. I just want to recommend that you improve the service in the restaurant during breakfast. We want twice to the facilities and some of the personnel were extremly slow and did not show a lot of interest in servicing the guests. September 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel When i checked into my room the ac wasnt working correctly they switched rooms for me and gave me a 75.00 resort credit for the hassle. That kind of service is hard to come by these days, they were very accommodating and the hotel premises was gorgeous the construction work going on is an eyesore but not loud September 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by GO RIGHT TO CANEEL BAY THIS WAS THE WORST WESTIN STAY I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED. SO, NO MAIN LOBBY, NO RESTAURANT OPTIONS. SO YOU WOULD THINK , THE TAXI TO TOWN TO GET SOMETHING TO EAT WOULD BE ON THE WESTIN? BAD MARKETING! TAXIS GALORE, EMPTY.. NO. AT THE POOL AT 5 OCLOCK, POOL BOY COMES AROUND AND TELLS ME , TIME IS UP ON THE RAFT, HE HAS TO GO HOME. THE BAR STAFF WAS UNPLEASANT, ANGRY OVER WORKED WOMEN, THE ONLY POSITIVE EXPERIENCE I HAD WAS SHARON AT THE COFFEE SHOP.YOU EVEN HAD TO PAY TO PLAY BINGO AT THE POOL!! OUT OF TOUCH ON TNE ISLAND, I HAVE NO PROBLEM SPENDING MONEY, JUST DONT LIKE BLATANT STEALING. WILL NOT BE BACK . PERHAPS YOU SHOULD HAVE CLOSED WHEN UNDER CONSTRUCTION, INSTEAD OF ANNOYING YOUR GUESTS . September 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Most disappointing Westin My family and I went to St. John for a one week vacation the first week of September. As soon as we got off the boat, I was shocked by the quality of facilities based on what I am used to from Starwood resorts. The pool was dirty, the buildings run down, low quality pool/beach chairs, limited menu at the pool restaurant, etc. However, the island was beautiful and we tried to make the best of it. Unfortunately, the first night, I realized my entire bed reeked of urine. When I pulled back the sheets, mattress cover, it was quite obvious it had likely happened the night before (perhaps why the room smelled strongly of bleach when we arrived). The hotel claimed it would change out the bed - I assumed this meant mattress - but all they ended up changing was the padding on the bed. It took me three days of calling the front desk and Starwood for the manager of the hotel to call me back. They were unable to accommodate a room change so I was stuck sharing a double bed with my sister for the rest of our stay. All in all, a disgusting and disappointing stay. We ended up cutting our visit short and returning to St. Thomas to stay at the Ritz (which is 5 star quality). I would strong suggest staying there or finding a higher quality hotel on St. John. September 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible hotel with terrible customer service - DO NOT STAY HERE! My husband and I were booked to stay at this hotel in August 2014 with our 2 year old. We booked two adjoining hotel rooms so we could have a separate room to relax in while my son slept during his naptimes, etc. I called several times prior to our arrival and was told every time this would not be a problem. The customer service representative had told me she had never heard of something like this not working out and assured me it would be no problem. Imagine our surprise when we arrived after a long day of travel (with a crying 2 year old no less) that we were not given adjoining rooms. I will never again stay at any Starwood property. Why would any family ever stay at a hotel that treats families as such? Awful, awful, awful. I cannot say enough horrible things about this hotel. Would not recommend in 100 years. August 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay we had a great stay. two criticisms. in the newly rennovated pool rooms, the window coverings did not make the room completely dark so we tended to wake earlier due to sunlight. second, there were an inadequate number of golf cart shuttles. our room was close to parking so for us this was only an issue when checking in. but i wouldn't want' to stay at a villa that was far away since the staffing of shuttles seems unreliable. that said, i have recommended this property to many people and we were very pleased with our stay,. August 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by understand why it's under renovation Food service at restaurants is extremely slow. The Marketplace was the only place where the service was satisfactory. An hour and a half for a salad at snorkel's restaurant was frustrating and going to the pool side bar at 6:40pm and being told they were closed was also frustrating as they do not close until 7pm. I would have thought they would want the business. Most of the aerobic gym equipment was broken; none of the bikes worked and most of the treadmill televisions did not work. The yoga matts were also quite dirty. The room door was difficult to close and the bed was not what I am accustom to for a Westin bed. Towels were dirty and the fridge was broken. I understand why this hotel is under renovations - it needs it. I hope the food service improves with the physical renovations. August 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun in the Sun and Water We just recently completed a 5 night stay at the resort. While the resort is undergoing construction in many areas, we did not find this to be an inconvenience during our stay. Everyone we spoke with was very helpful. The only negative I would have to say relates to the available power sports that Cruz Bay Watersports provides on site. My daughter was looking forward to using the jet skis and going parasailing but the equipment was broken during our stay. Even the employee that I spoke with concerning the jet skis said they had been asking for them to be repaired August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hotel, nice restaurant We did find this hotel very nice, but I had a few suggestions. First, at the beach bar, please switch to real smoothies. Smoothies from a container with a lot of added sugar don't cut it for health buffs. Second, more signs are needed. The signs that exist seem dated, and there aren't enough of them to find your way around easily. It would be nice to have a sign pointing from the checkin area to the pool and beach and rooms - I didn't see one. Also, our room was on top all the way to the right, but the sign pointed us to the left stairs. Signs need work. Third, we came from a villa to this hotel - the villa had reminders everywhere to try to conserve water. I would love to see similar at the hotel on the sinks and baths. Lastly, the hot water can really scald - you should have a cap on the water so it doesn't burn someone by mistake. The rooms were very nice, and hotel employees were very nice and very helpful. Dinner and breakfast at Lemongrass were both a treat. I didn't see many restaurants on the island using olive oil - most use junky GM soy oil - so kudos to you for using real butter and olive oil. Would love to see more organic choices. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful location we enjoyed our stay at St. John Westin with our 3 kids. the grounds are beautifully manicured and the staff members are very friendly. we wish, however, there was another sit-down restaurant on the resort, one that doesn't cost as much as LemonGrass. The many activities available were very impressive; it has a family-feel as well as just for couples. We also really appreciated having the fitness center within walking distance as well as the rental car center! August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Stay This is our 4th time staying here. Great stay and we've actually just bought a timeshare villa this time around. Will be back for sure! August 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Beautiful location. Friendly staff. Food was good at Lemongrass and Snorkels. Taxi service was great. Only negative... Our room was not cleaned one day and felt it should have been the first one cleaned the next day. August 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice place. Nice place,nice people,great time spent there. The rooms are a bit old style but I understand that soon they're gonna remodel everything. See you soon again. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great facilility under construction We have stayed here four times before in August. The facility is gorgeous, but our pool side room was blocked off with jackhammer construction site for part of our week. We arrived on Saturday following storm Bertha. Resort was understaffed due to ferry restrictions placed by US coast guard. Our room was occupied by prior guest when we arrived and we were given a temporary room for the night, which had a queen bed for the four of us. We had asked for a rollaway, but it never came and our phone did not work. Some of the staff made efforts above and beyond the call of duty that day, including bellman Prince Philip and the woman leading guests onto the Westin Ferry. It was a nice touch that the hotel offered us a free buffet dinner. Later in the week, however, our room was not made up one day when we were at the beach. The next day the maid forgot to shut our room door and left it open after she was there. Nothing was taken, but it is a bit unsettling to return to our room with the door wide open. Our room phone only worked two days during our stay. This is a gorgeous property and will return again. The staff's helpfulness was mixed this trip, with some being extra helpful and some unhelpful. August 11, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Fun variety, good quality Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The Lemongrass had high quality (and very high prices) and was easily accessible. August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Customer Service, Dirty Rooms, Concierge not helpful Stayed three nights Fri-Mon. Spg member: with that only perk was "free SLOW wifi...if i wanted faster service I would have to pay. Booked through spg website so no 3rd party. Received email from concierge asking for specific interests. Stated clearly that i needed a room without musty or moldy smells and that has been consistently used. ( I have learned even Westin, Hilton,etc need this reminder); asked for extra blankets, extra tea bags, upgrade if possible, early check in. No repsonse once this reply was sent; Resent this again 1 week before arrival; Called left message for early check in possibility; left phone number. No call back. Finally called again and was told no early check in avail. Check in at 3pm. No parking near front area. Had to park quite far away from paver walkway outdoor to reception building.No lobby at all. Simply 2 small front desks, 2 chairs by computers (business center). Four chairs by "concierge" desk/ villa sales. Was disappointed no bellman to assist me with my luggage and 3 add. bags. Was asked if I needed help as I opened the front door!There were Westin workers sitting in golf carts watching me haul all these things by myself and offered no assistance. At 3:40 pm I was told there were no rooms ready for me and I can find a seat a wait for one. There were no comfy chairs. Only 2 stiff chairs by "business center" so I stood. And stood. Waited 30 minutes. Finally a room was available. Carlos, the front desk worker, was nice and polite, but did not have the charisma to have the position he held for a Westin. Forgot to give me back my Visa and tossed on counter and said something off color, when it should have been placed in my hand and with an apology. When I explained that I was surprised my room was still not ready and check in was 3pm, he walked a few feet from desk and got on walkie-talkie and talked about my situation and I could hear everything. After another ten minutes or so, he said there was a room. I explained I hope that my requests were satisfied and he stated he did not receive requests. (?? what was the concierge letter for then?) He said I would be assisted to my room by a golf cart. i had to wait ten more minutes.After five minutes waiting for a cart, a gentleman walked in and wanted to check into his villa --which is on other side of property than my room. Within one minute he was checked in and when the driver came to take me, front desk told him to take this gentleman and his party to his villa.(despite the fact I had been waiting VERY long). We could share a ride. I carried most of my bags and driver assisted w/ two others. Waited in cart a few minutes and the villa gentleman said he was waiting for his wife to join him. We waited a few minutes and I asked the driver if he could please take me as I had been waiting for a long time and this guy just walked into the building. He asked the villa man if he would be OK if I was taken to my room and he would go back when his party was complete. He agreed. I showed the driver my key number. By this time I was tired and very thirsty. He drove me around and unpacked my things; together we carried bags up elevator and he took my room card and sighed and said we were in the wrong spot. He thought I was staying in the villas also. So we had to bring everything back into the golf cart and drive to the other side.. NO offer to set up luggage, orient me to room or property or amenities by Anyone! Two minutes later the phone rang. Concierge peppy and excitedly asked me how was my stay going at the Westin? I said I was tired and very thirsty and had issues getting into my room. I asked where the water bottles were in the room? (Most have them.)She said she didnt know and I should call the restaurant regarding the water bottles. But she wanted to book my trips and activities during my stay so to get in touch with her by 7:30 and as a bonus I could get a 15% off certificate for some stores downtown .... (SHE WANTED HER COMMISSION ON BOOKINGS... that is all concierge was interested in.... unbelievable. That is not a concierge!) I called restaurant and they said if I wanted water I needed to walk to the market store and buy a bottle. After examination, I noticed the moldy smell and checked the bathroom. There was mold all over the grout and cracked tiles, dirty floors, a penny under a pillow, and a desk that was missing draws, furniture scratched, and only one outlet for computers/phones behind furniture which required crawling on floor and moving furniture. I called down and said that the room was not acceptable due to the dirty/moldy/musty bathroom and the only main request I sent in was please NO MOLDY BATHROOMS! Said they did not receive any requests. (What happened to the replies sent to Concierge) Carlos told me there were no other rooms available. He would send " housekeeping" to see what they could do. Took photos and sent to spg/westin on Twitter and FB. In 10 minutes after pics sent to Twitter, Carlos called and said he was told he located a room for me to switch into and someone would be there in 15 minutes. I waited over one hour for anyone to arrive. I carried some bags and he carried others. I got on golf cart and he started to take me to my new room, meanwhile 3 people wanted a ride to the taxi area to get a taxi downtown. He drove them all the way over to that taxi stand before taking me to my 2nd room. Did not talk to me at all. Second room was on first level. I carried most of my things, he could not locate the room keys in his pocket. he tried all the ones he had. Then while he back-tracked, someone picked two keys off the ground and asked if he was looking for these. FINALLY, he got me into my room. Again, no offer to set up on luggage rack or orient me to room which was basically mirror image of previous room. Then he waited there expecting a tip. At this point, I was not tipping anyone. I said thanks and good-night. Room was a bit better with regard to mold level, but still seven or eight areas of mold on walls and around water faucet. Floor dirty. Hair and a straw under the sink area. Armpit hair in the sleeve of Westin bathrobe which was all wrinkled all over: used. Same situation with the other one. Wrinkled all over therefore did not attempt to put on. Sheets clean, bed comfortable. Desk more appropriate, no "missing" draws. Still a lack of convenient plugs. Decor just OK. No extra personal items that most upscale resorts have in rooms. TV channels limited and all with extra "TV product" commercials even at normal times like 8pm. No room service, no offer for comp razors or static guard if you forgot it. No milk for coffee as Kimpton and Hiltons and other chains offer. Bottle cap under bed ( floors not getting cleaned). Dirty stains on bathroom wall/door/floor. Wore my slippers while in room entire time. Went to buy milk at the "Marketplace" for my coffee/tea and 8 oz containers were all expired. Told this to manager and she replied:well what do you want? ME: milk that is not expired.HER;then you need to buy half a gallon. So that is what I had to do for 4.99 which considering the food costs, was not that bad, but I knew I would not use it all. Grounds well kept and pretty. Pool very nice. Marketplace had small assortment of snacks and beverages and lunch items, pastry/muffins/bagels,. Look at menu as there are many other things on menu than on actual display like make your own pizza. Asked concierge for times for car ferry, she handed me a Westin handout and said for me to call to confirm calls as they might have changed.! (Could not believe this!) Told her I had no reception on cell phone. She said call from room, she thinks it is no charge ( NO: little sign next to phone states local calls are 1.50). Last day wanted to snorkel a few spots a read about in Fodors. Asked different Concierge for road directions to specific spots I wanted to go to. She told me I did not need to go to the other side of the island to snorkel and I could just stay at Trunk Bay and Cinnamon Bay and snorkel. It was dangerous to go to the other side of the island and she would not recommend it. Went to snorkel renal on Westin and rented my snorkel gear and asked them and they were stunned and said best snorkeling is at one of the spots I wanted to go to. They said it is not dangerous and easy to drive to and short easy clearly paved walk. I suggested they connect w/ concierge so that both are on same page w/ recommendations/directions/ perceptions. Last night got food to go from Lemongrass restaurant. Spinach salad w/ edamine great. Salmon pretty good but very small portion. Rice pudding dry and not good. Health center lots of machines. Magazines from 2013. Steamroom out of order. Bathrooms dirty. Limited classes/ 3 x a week. Very small locker room with no water/fruit/ lotions, etc that other Spa Hotels have. Would never get a spa service here. Very large separate enclosed area for Villa sales. Was given 100$ credit for my delay of room. Considering a 40$ Resort Fee per day and taxes/fees and price of room I feel that this stay was completely NOT worth it. Just stayed at a Kimpton in Philly PA and Cambridge MA for less and got SO MUCH More in return, better service, much more friendly workers across the board, cleaner, more perks. If I come back to St John will go to Caneel Bay, if I go to large resort; Never again to St John Westin. The Westin Resort in Maui was so nice and not at all like this one in St. John. Room Tip: Had one room VERY moldy on 2nd floor, given a different room first floor - seemed better caulking in... See more room tips Stayed July 2014, traveled solo 1 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Location 1 of 5 stars Service August 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A place like no other One would think of the US Virgin Islands and think ok I will go there some day. Once you get there you will want to come back again and again! This property is amazing and it is surrounded by wonderful beaches. The property has everything you need and a lot of relaxation. August 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by I would not recommend that anyone stay at this hotel This hotel bears none of the features of a typical Westin. Service is poor, the facility is inadequate, the dining choices are limited and less than satisfactory. August 9, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Review of beach front room Ground level room, able to literally walk out to the beach from our patio - best we have had in this regard. Room was clean and well appointed. Staff was friendly and professional. Strongly suggest Westin put microwave ovens in these rooms. August 8, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Split up Family Upon requesting a room for a family of 5 vacation I was informed i needed to reserve and pay for two rooms. I then asked to make sure my three young teenagers could be placed in a room connected. I was told I had reserved such rooms. Upaon checking in we were seperated both inside the rooms as well as outside wheree the patio area was also seperated by a wall. We were told that our last two nights were the only nights you could accomodate a connecting room. We agreed yet stayed in all morning into the afternoon where we finally went sightseeing and left the room. No calls or attempts to contact us that morning were made and no arrangements to have us moved were epidited. I had five nights of restless sleep worrying that everyone was safe and taken care of in their own rooms. An additional expese was nessesary to purchase double of everythingwe brought and planned to share as a family in the rooms conecting. Upon checking in I was told be the front desk that I didnt need to be connected to my kids, that they would be fine without their parents. We were extremely unsatisfied. We were also not informed of renovations until it was passed the cancelation policy to cancel. It was noisy and hot tub was not in working order as well as no main lobby August 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't bother complain with SPG corporate Admittedly this hotel is the only one in St. John that has a loyalty program i.e. Starwood and the hotel staff know exactly how to take advantage of that. Don't even bother complaining with SPG corporate office or social media. The hotel just ignores it. Check-ins Lack of competition has really grant the hotel a freeway to treat Starwood Platinum guest below bar than any mainland Starwood properties. The front desk staff was completely incompetent and dishonest. I arrived at the hotel 3:40pm after stardard checkin time. The two rooms assigned for me the first one of them is not yet cleaned and the other has noise in the toilet. I had to find to supervisor to get a clean and normal room after waiting for an hour. It was 5pm when I got into my room after running back of force in a hot day. Grounds: The hotel charge $40 per day for its very limited resort service. The pool staff all left around 5:30pm. Lots of constructions/renovating going on here as of late July, 2014 and would continue onto 2015 so don't stay here for Thanksgiving or Christmas unless want to tour construction sites during holidays. There are much better places to go at the price level this hotel demands. Transport You cannot park your car inside the hotel. The parking lot is quite far from the hotel. If you take hotel ferry from STT, it would be $120 per person round trip and it is much more expensive then public ferry with less frequency. RESTAURANTS I tried only Lemongrass Restaurant And Bar and there were less than 5 people there on a Friday night 7pm. The steak was too salty and does not come with any sides. So yes you need to pay $7 more to get some mushed potato. Overall The hotel owners split up the hotel into regular rooms and villas. You can not get upgrade from regular rooms to villas even there are availability. So if you book a regular room and you would get a regular room no matter your status. Westin St. John has studio villa (has full kitchen) available for the same 12,000 points as the regular room. But front desk staff told me I need to cancel my current reservation and rebook for the studio villa before they can move me. I have NEVER heard of cancelling a room that I already checked in not to mention my deadline for cancel the room has passed and by cancelling I will be charged more than $300 penalty for the reservation. So instead of doing a simple internal exchange, front desk staff deliberately made the change impossible. Extremely unhelpful during the whole process. August 6, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Underwhelming Honeymoon Experience My husband and I arrived to the Westin St. John after 11 hours of travel from California. We had just gotten married and were so excited to embark on our honeymoon! When we arrived at the Westin St. John, we were given our room keys and checked in to our room. As soon as we walked in, I knew we had been given the wrong room. I had reserved an Ocean View room and we were given a Pool Side room. When I went to the Reception desk to let them know we were in the wrong room, only then did they say they had OVERSOLD our Ocean View room and would charge us for the Pool Side room. We were speechless. Not only did the Westin St. John team NOT acknowledge that we were there for our honeymoon (no congrats, welcome note, etc.), the Manager seemed to not care much about what had happened. The Manager said he would charge us for the Pool Side room, but I told him we obviously didn't want the Pool Side room. Only after I continued to push back, did he offer us a $100 credit. That's it. After 2 nights in our Pool Side room, they said we could move to an Ocean View room, however by that point we didn't want to pack and unpack again so we stayed for 2 more nights. The Concierge team also told my husband and I "they would make it right", but nothing ever happened. Aside from the POOR check-in reception, customer service and overselling our room, the resort is still undergoing construction which does not make the stay nearly as relaxing as we had hoped. Luckily, we met a couple Westin St. John staff members (Dennis & Neil) who were super friendly and helpful so we always enjoyed seeing them around the property! August 4, 2014
  • 2015-05-01T19:57:23.737-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_248, tr_248
  • loc_en_US, sid_1098, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>