The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

  • 50 Hillside Drive
  • Mammoth Lakes,
  • California
  • 93546
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Tarifas y habitaciones

Cerrar

Niños por hab.

Esta información nos permite identificar las habitaciones que mejor se adaptan a su grupo y prepararnos para su llegada.

Vea los términos y detalles de las habitaciones para obtener información sobre los cargos por camas plegables o personas adicionales.

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 211 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Immature Untrained Staff I can imagine trying to find people to work these low paying jobs in a resort town must be difficult but that should be transparent to the guests. To begin with check in time is 3:00 Pm we show up at 3:00 pm to be told guess what room is not ready. When we push all of a sudden they get us a room. Never can understand why hotels want guest out pretty early in the day but seldom have the rooms ready early let alone on time. New Years Eve at 3:15 we wanted to get a cocktail and perhaps some light food at the White Bark restaurant. The person at the podium chased us away from entering the half full bar telling us the kitchen needed to set up for a New Years Eve event. We explained how about just drinks still a no go . When we returned to the room puzzled we called At Your Service asking them why was the White Bark closed. They were unaware of a closing promised to double check and get back to us. They called us back quickly telling us the bar was open and we could get appetizers. We went back to the white Bark bar had a drink but they refused to allow us to order any food. We tried it another night food came soft drinks came basically finished the food while waiting on a beer. Place half empty hard to waive anybody down because they vanish. Finally get the beer no explanation. Order a second beer it takes forever as well. Another issue was we discovered on the SPG website a program where kids under 12 eat all day for a flat fee. Your resort has no knowledge of this program nor do they bother to respond when asked about it by finding anything out about it. Another example of the lack of knowledge was we remember from several years ago purchasing lift tickets in the building onsite rental shop. Our first day we were told we had to go to the mountain to purchase tickets this of course was incorrect they are available onsite. The final problem was at check out. We give a call down ask for a porter for the luggage our skis and our car. Porter comes car is waiting for us to load. No skis. I ask the porter to get our skis tell him I will handle loading since I cannot have him start without the skis going in first. I make huge mistake by giving him $ 10 assuming he will look after getting the skis. About 15- 20 minutes latter after standing around waiting 3 or our 4 pairs of skis show up. I bring it to the other porters attention that we still need a pair of skis and that I want to talk to our original porter. Several minutes latter the original porter appears still no 4 th pair of skis. The staff that were looking for them have vanished. I go into the ski room see the skis almost opening the door into them. At this point nobody is making any effort to say sorry they just make excuses. The bottom line and main theme seems to be you have a really nice almost like new condition facility with staff that either does not care or is not trained. I think it is a combination there never seemed to be anyone in charge. As a guest at this resort you feel like you are bothering a very unmotivated poorly trained bunch of resentful employees. Whether I am paying the outrageous price you command for this resort or using points it should not matter. I cannot think of anywhere i have travelled with so much poor staff understandable to run into one but at this place it is widespread . January 6, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Did not meet expectations - especially for 16,000 points Customer service and overall cleanliness needs significant improvement. Lack of overall common space also disappointing January 4, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never write reviews but had to it was so bad Just finished a horrible stay at this property. I exclusively stay at Starwood properties. Never again in Mammoth. I never write reviews but our experience was so terrible I wanted to make sure people are aware this is not a Westin quality hotel. First, we arrived at the airport waiting for the complimentary hotel shuttle. Before our flight, I called to confirm that the shuttle would be there and they said it Is scheduled to be there for all flight arrivals (5) s no need to worry. After we grabbed our luggage, we looked for the shuttle, nothing, asked the mammoth shuttle if they go to the Westin and they advised me they don't and since the a Westin shuttle is not there yet, that means they forgot again so I should call them. Call the hotel and sure enough they forgot so they sent one. 30 minutes later we were on our way to the hotel. Wouldn't even bother to right about this but this helps introduce out shuttle experience. More on this later. Arrived at the hotel, they had a room ready for early checkin. Great! We were hungry so we dropped off our baggage and and to the hotel restaurant, Whitebark, to grab a late lunch. Service was non-existent. Table next to us was complaining there food was taking forever. Should have left then but we were hungry so figured we would stay put and try it out. Ordered food for the table. Drinks took forever, no refills and took is asking someone to check in on our food after waiting for half an hour for someone to go to the back and bring it out. Kids pancakes were fine (hard to mess those up) but the soups, TERRIBLE. Worst tomato soup I have ever had. Clearly had been over cooked and sitting in the pan all day as it tasted like burnt marinara sauce. Husband ordered turkey florentine soup - literally nothing but turkey bits and onions. On our third day in, figured it was time to have our room serviced. Since we brought our dog and they won't clean the room with the dog in it, we called service express to ask them to clean during an hour and a half window we would be out of the room. They said sure so we planned our ski day around it. An hour and a half later, we return to our room and it has not been serviced. Call service express to let them know and am told you can't schedule when your room is to be cleaned. Housekeeping has their own schedule. Seriously? I explain to them that we had been confirmed it would be clean. Their response is that was wrong, can't request a time to have your room cleaned. I ask to speak to the manager who tells me to let her know when we can leave the room again with the dog and she will let housekeeping know. As much as I love to schedule my vacation/ski day around housekeeping, i commit to 4:30 as I could guarantee we would be off the mountain by then and back to our room. We end up making it back an hour early, kids are exhausted, so I call service express to see if we can have it serviced a little earlier so they can nap after before our dinner reservation. I am rudely informed there is no way I can schedule a housekeeping time. I inform them the manager committed to a time with me. They tell me then I need to keep it. I tell them my kids are exhausted, we are already being inconvenienced by having to leave our room again because of their oversight so can she please try to move it up. She tells me she will ask housekeeping and call me right back. 45 minutes later, no response. Shocking (sarcasm)! It is now 4:15 so I decide to go to the front desk to see what is going on and make sure we are set for 4:30. I speak with the manager who let's me know we are set, she personally spoke with the housekeeping manager herself and they will be up in 5 mins. 4:45 still no housekeeping. Call the manager and she finally gets someone up there at 4:50 and we are half an hour late to or dinner reservation and have to beg to still find a table for us. Thanks Westin! Great service. Apparently housekeeping can't be inconvenienced and have anyone tell them when to clean a room. Next day husband and I grab a quick bite at the bar. Hotel is out of iced tea, doesn't serve sparkling water. Half hour after ordering our food, bartender let's is know they don't have one of our items. Really, it takes half an hours to find that out? Shouldn't we have already been eating it? She asks us if we want to change our order. We tell her no and that we are now in a hurry (been 45 mins since we sat down) because we have to pick up the kids at ski school. Sliders and Mac and cheese come out. Sliders are prepared wrong and Mac and cheese has literally no taste! Yay again Whitebark! New Year's Eve, we had a prepaid dinner reservation at Whitebark. Super excited what is in store for us this time. Fixed menu, every course terrible. They tried to make "fancy" dishes but clearly they are not trained for this caliber of cooking. Sides with main entree were literally straight out of the fridge and not heated up. Ice cold mash potatoes and vegetables for $125 per person. Another homerun Whitebark! In all fairness our server was great though and he let the manager know and she was kind enough to stop by and discount our food. $400 for two adults and two kids for dinner later (after $100 discount) I was envious of the room that had order the domino's pizza that was en route to them when were heading up the elevator. That would have been literally ten times better. So, so, sad. Final two days were rather I uneventful as we intentionally avoided all hotel service. Kept our room dirty and no hotel restaurant. Thought were in the clear but got comfortable too soon. Two hours before our flight, we ask for a shuttle to the airport. The bellman tells us no. They will only leave for the airport between 2:30 and 2:45 it our filthy is at 4. We let them know we have a dog we are traveling with so need to check in early. Again tells us no. Says we need to wait. They do this everyday, won't be a problem. I again try to explain to him we have to check in an hour early with a dog, leaving at 2:45 will get is to the airport one hour before our flight and gives no wiggle room for a line. I ask, what if there are more people than the shuttle will hold, he tells me won't be a problem, there are three shuttles and drivers and all are on site. What? Did I hear him right? Three shuttles and drivers doing nothing and you won't take me now so I can be sure to make my flight? I ask the person behind the front desk for help. She asks which flight I am trying to catch? I tell her the 4pm to San Diego. Her response... there is a 4pm to San Diego? We don't have that on our list. She asks me if I want them to call me a taxi. Really, three shuttles and drivers all doing nothing and you want to me to call a taxi. Complimentary shuttle around town and to airport is part of our stay... Or so I thought. Wow! I push some more, don't want to chance missing the one flight a day to San Diego. Manager comes out and tells me they don't leave till 2:30. I explain my concerns to her and she agrees to have someone take us but clearly begrudgingly. We timely check in and see the westin shuttle show up half an hour later, shuttle packed (they would have had to send a separate car anyways if we had waited) and the westin guests line up behind the 10 people ahead of them to check in. Would have definitely been late! Why is customer service so hard for this place. Will NEVER go back or recommend this place. They should be disassociated with Starwood and Westin as they are a fraud to hold themselves out as part of the same experience. Sooooo disappointing. January 1, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb phone customer service today I was so impressed with the "spot on" great telephone customer service today...this review almost wrote itself. An SPG reservation agent delivered polite, speedy assistance while she contacted the hotel. A conference call with Kelley H. at reception, expedited my last minute reservation change. Kelley exceeded the professional courtesy that the Westin Mammoth has always delivered over the years. We have enjoyed stays at this Westin in winter and summer. Request a Village facing view for Holiday Lights if you can and great sunrises. The sushi at the White Bark is a must...Cannot wait to return in 2015. December 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, perfect for skiers/boarders I've stayed in 30-40 Starwood properties, third time in this one. This is a great hotel to come with family to ski, it has one the best locations in town right by the village and the gondola. The rooms and facilities are fairly new and in good condition. We stayed at the studio room which is a bit smaller than the typical Westin timeshare unit, but it has everything you need. Staff was very helpful and friendly, everything in the room and gym/pool, etc worked well, valet parking service pretty efficient and the wi-fi worked really well despite the hotel being full during the xmas holiday. The only downside are the crowds in the elevators, there are only 2 for the entire 7+ floor hotel. The hotel has its own ski rental shop where you can get your lift ticket without the lines at Mammoth, has ski valet at the gondola and lobby, town shuttle, kids club, etc. Pool and spa tubs are heated and in a great location in the woods. Strongly recommend for a stay in Mammoth, especially in the winter, great ski hotel. December 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel needs some updates Spent 4 days at Thanksgiving at this hotel. The bed was comfortable, but in this suite, the fireplace was not working, even after we had a staff member come twice to relight the pilot light. The TV would go from light color to very dark & technician came to fix it , but said it would have to be handled after we leave. Another problem, was the cold air coming in from the window, even if it was closed. November 30, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by disatisfactory Westin Mammoth in need of repairs. Our stay was not enjoyable due to needed repairs, shower did not function. Heater fan unable to turn off, so no rest. dishwasher did not function. Overall a bad experience and costly to us. October 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staycation Location We left the Hotel well relaxed even though this was just a one night stay . The dog really enjoyed it as well. Everyone on staff was friendly and accommodated not only my wife and I but our dog was treated just as well. The views were wonderful. The fireplace was a nice addition. Simply one great stay all around. Will definitely be visiting this Westin again. I would have preferred a firmer mattress (bad back). Next time I'll ask as I am sure that if they have it they will make it happen. October 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thank you for Ms. Priscilla (Co-front desk Agent) The Westin Monache Resort hotel is an impressive complex in a beautiful Hotel in California. The room was modern and clean with a great view from our window on level 7 I think. We were staying at the hotel on middle of August weekdays but it was still very busy. The staff were excellent, specially Co-front desk lady, Ms. Priscilla. She is so friendly and professional manner with great Services. she was pretty too. Our family spent 1 nights at the Westin and totally enjoyed our stay and Mammoth Lakes. October 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Facilities The hotel was excellent, clean facilities and friendly staff - we arrive late, the food selection was limited. We had an issue with staff responsiveness, we left phone after us and we rang 3 times and asked for e-mail confirmation to outline that it was there and we still have received no reply. even though we got our receipt but no reply to our issue September 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I like my room cleaned daily We were not aware of the possibility of not having our room cleaned for a minor point bonus. We came back from a long day of hiking looking forward to a bath, rest and dinner just to find out that due to some misunderstanding our room had not been cleaned. GREAT DISAPPOINTMENT! The ecological policy you adopt is your privelege, but we should have been informed when checking in. We appreciate the rides you offer into town and back for dinne. September 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Posh Place We stayed for an extended weekend in the summer time and loved your two bedroom room. We initially had a one bedroom but when we saw how small the living room area was we decided to upgrade. We were going to need to use the pull out soft for our two small children but it was just too small of a space. The two bedroom room was 4 x the size and worth the extra $100 per night. The only thing that was lacking from our stay was a knowledgable concierge - each one we encountered seem to know less than what we had known about Mammoth and it's activities. There is BIG need for better service in this area and I hope the hotel does something about it. September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for Relaxing We have stayed at this hotel twice. It is wonderful. The rooms are beautiful. The restaurant has great food and the spa/workout facilities are superb. September 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Spg treatment was lacking I couldn't believe this hotel. A lovely property but they could care less that u were an spg member. Every request I asked for- like an upgrade unavailable, late check out etc. they try to sell you to be an spg member as I over heard to one incoming guest but then have no interest in providing extra care to those already spg members. The woman at the front desk said this was a resort and not part of spg. She told me they upgraded me to a view room and that was a lie- I paid extra for the view room. So- please treat your spg members with more care and consideration especially when you are trying to convince others to join. The service towards spg members was lacking. I expect great service. The hotel is beautiful but they tell me it is a resort not an spg hotel...even after I got an spg person online to help. There is nothing like good service- sthis hotel was not up to my standards. But none the less beautiful September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room for improvement We've stayed at this hotel multiple times as it's the best location in Mammoth. The hotel is generally good but the report card should read could do better. There are 2 areas for improvement. All of the carpets need to be vacuumed properly. I'm pretty certain none of them were vacuumed throughout our 5 day stay as there was lots of small pieces of debris in pretty much the same places every day. Certainly more than you typically see in a hotel. Secondly the checkout process was a shambles. The bill was messed up and it felt like the receptionist was trying to convince herself how to fix it. Incompetent really doesn't describe it adequately. Needless to say we left the hotel without finalizing the bill and relying on the hotel to credit our accounts after we left. On the positive side the credits were processed by the time we got home. September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by So Convenient Great place to stay. Great staff September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent property and staff This was a great four day stay! The staff was just superb from the desk receptionists, to the bellmen, to the concierge, to the restaurant servers and food, to the poolside attendants. I have never experienced such friendliness and attentiveness to our well-being. August 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful I stayed just one night, but I wish I could stay more to enjoy my room. Beautiful, very comfortable room and tastefully decorated. It seems to be brand new . I was amazed by what I got for the rate I paid. I strongly recommend it! But if you are allergic you should be aware that dogs are allowed and you might meet them in the elevator. August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great place to stay with your pups! We have been coming to Mammoth and staying at the Westin Monache for the past three years. We just completed our fourth visit. We have been fortunate in that the staff has graciously accommodated our room requests. This last visit, MJ [Mladen Janev] and Vincent Nguyen especially worked to accommodate our request to have a room overlooking the pool. We so enjoyed the room and it was very convenient for us. So please acknowledge MJ and Vincent on our behalf. We will return next July with our pups! Of general note; the hotel is right across the street from Mammoth Village which has lots of shops and places to eat. The staff is always courteous and responds to service requests quickly. If you haven't stayed here, put it on your list! August 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent value for summer I stayed 3 nights at this property - first time to Mammoth. The hotel was comfortable and well located, but there were a few glitches. As a Platinum, I was upgraded from a studio to a 1 bedroom, but to a room that overlooked a cement roof top. I requested a change, and it turned out to be a smaller room. It was ok. The window shade was broken and would not pull up - took two calls to get it repaired. Water was not consistently provided in my room. Two days in a row the pool was out of towels. The pool is nice, fairly large and has two Jacuzzis. But, certain hours are very crowded with screaming kids and screeching teenagers. If you want an "adult" swim, go early in the morning. Used towels and drink glasses were not picked up. Like other reviewers have noted, this hotel accepts dogs - that was a surprise and I was not informed in advance. On the good side, the hotel is well located and you can get anywhere in town or to hiking trails in just a few minutes. The "village" is just below the property with a dozen or more choices for restaurants that you can walk to in 5 minutes. Most of the staff was very nice and helpful - most notably the front desk, bell and valet staff. Quite surprisingly, the concierge staff was not very well informed or knowledgeable. I spoke to three different people during my time there and ended up figuring out stuff on my own since they weren't helpful. The most irritating thing about the stay was 3 days of charges for the resort fee which amounted to an extra $75.00 total. Since I am a Platinum member, I already receive most of what is offered by the resort fee. The main exception was parking, but the rules don't allow self parking, so I used the valet each day. Since it was summer, I could have easily parked on the street, but that would not have avoided the resort fee. I could see the value of the resort fee in winter, with a shuttle that runs up to the ski area and around town, and valet parking when snow is piled up, but for summer it seemed like a big rip-off. Especially so because this property has no club level lounge for Platinums, or at least vouchers for the restaurant, as many Westins do. By the time taxes and resort fees were added together, I paid an additional 33% of my room rate, which made the overall value less appealing. There are many Vacation Rental by Owner condos in the area that are larger and less expensive, especially if you can book ahead. .I would probably stay here again, but in summer only - winter rates are high, and service levels are inconsistent, based on my experience and other reviews. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by No other place to stay By chance I came across this hotel and the picture sold it to me. But I did not expect it to be as good as it was - it exceeded all my expectations. The decor, the ambience, style, food and staff were all amazing. Only stayed here for 1 night, but would definitely choose this place again over any other place in and around Yosemite. August 20, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Westin Monache is a poor quality hotel Considering the distance to get to hotel, poor attitude of front desk; keeping long line waiting to check in and out. Upgrade to 6th floor comes with dogs peeing on floor, by elevator where kids run around bare foot on their way to pool. Food is average quality but as expensive as LA or NY. The airconditioning system throughout hotel is loud, like a plane taking off. August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff is great! Everyone at this facility went out of their way to make us feel special and comfortable. August 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Less Impressed This was the second time we stayed at this hotel and our first experience left us with a more positive impression. Our main complaint was that we requested a high floor with a view and we were on the 4th floor facing the driveway and trash bins. Although we complained and asked to move, we were told there was nothing that could be done for the four nights we were there. Our room was a bit noisy with guest arrivals and the sounds of trucks backing up with "beep, beep, beep." We did have a good experience with room service, with the exception of a disappointing Caesar salad. We are "on the fence" as to whether or not we will choose this hotel again. August 8, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good hotel but one really bad incident of customer service We stayed 3 nights. We opted for no house keeping all three nights in exchange for $5 voucher each night except the last night. We got one $5 voucher for the first night under the door before we woke up. We did not get a $5 voucher for the second night when we woke up. I went to the check-in/check-out counter to ask for the voucher. The person said it should be there by 9 am. We didn't get it by 9 am. I went back to the counter in the main lobby at 2 pm to ask for the voucher. The person said it will be there by night time. At around 8 pm, I went back to the counter for the third time, and the same person at 2 pm said it will be there at around 3 am. I told the person that it would not because we were checking out that day. The person said it would be there. The person never asked for my room number or name. The person dismissed me twice. I never got the second $5 voucher. August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the nicest hotels! We really enjoyed our stay at the Westin in Mammoth Lakes. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was awesome, more than expected. Really enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi in such a beautiful setting! Well run, well taken care of facility! August 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent location with good staff. We stayed at this hotel during a very busy time and the Front Office Mgr., Jennifer, was extremely helpful in securing our room and reservation. The staff went out of their way to help and answer any questions we had. August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The hotel stay was great! Our view from the room overlooked the mountains and the pool area. After a day hiking in Mammoth and Yosemite it was nice to relax in the large Jacuzzis. We appreciated the large robes to get to/from the pool also. We plal to use this hotel again August 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location We were on the 5th floor with a beautiful view. Very convenient to walk to the Village for dinner. The room was spacious with a small kitchen. August 6, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Facility - Housekeeping needs work The facility is superb. The valet guys and bell captains are all super helpful - they get 5 stars The only negative part of our trip was housekeeping. The coffee supplies weren't routinely restocked. The complementary bottle of water was replaced with a larger bottle that was for sale. The dishes were placed in the dishwasher but housekeeping did not run it. These are little things, but it felt like housekeeping was the weak link at the facility. August 5, 2014
  • 2015-05-03T18:54:56.923-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_211, tr_211
  • loc_en_US, sid_1562, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>