Rated 3 out of 5 by tracy12345 Was not what we expected
We decided to spend our 25th wedding anniversary at Westin St. John with our daughter. We had reserved a room with 2 beds. After a long day of plane rides and airports and waiting on our rental car, we finally arrived after dark at the Westin Resort and was informed that there were only rooms available with one bed. I showed them my reservation that was for 2 beds and they offered us a beachfront room with 1 bed at a discounted price and a complimentary rollaway bed. We took it. We went in our room and found a toilet with toilet paper and urine in it. We called and they had housekeeping come and clean it. The only other issue we had with housekeeping was that she came late in the afternoons to clean, usually around 5pm. One night she came and cleaned around 8pm. I called and asked them to clean earlier in the day and they did. The beach was nice, there were always plenty of lounge chairs. We didn't care for the constant view of about 50 sailboats at all times. For me, snorkeling wasn't good there at the beach. The best snorkeling was at Trunk Bay and we saw many sea turtles at Maho. Trunk Bay was the best snorkeling I have ever done. The grounds at the Westin are beautiful and the iguanas are abundant, one swam across the pool and surprised a lot of people. The teen club at the Westin I read about was a joke. All that was in there were video games and air hockey. It was a small room and when we were there it was mostly little kids. We have been to resorts that had teen clubs. This was just a game room and some didn't work right. The food was very expensive. One night we went to eat at the restaurant at the beach (can't remember the name# but it was located by the dock and offered a bar menu. We told the waiter we were going to order food off the bar menu and about 20 minutes went by and he never waited on us so we went to the deli #pretty good food there#. We felt like the waiter didn't care if he waited on us or not because we were not ordering expensively. We felt this way several times on our vacation. We are not rich and all meals are very costly at the Westin, so be prepared! Offsite, the food at Banana Deck was great. When we could have used a ride from the golfcart drivers, many passed us by. However, there were a few that were courteous and offered us a ride. Most of the time, we had to call and ask for a ride. Concierge #Teri# was very nice and helpful to us. So was Akeyna #not sure about spelling) at the front desk. I would recommend Westin St. John if you are not on a budget. The rooms need updating and we have stayed in a lot nicer resorts for less in Maui and Jamaica. Beware of mosquitoes and use plenty of repellent.
30 juillet 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Charlie54 Guest Relations Manager barely responsive
The flights were delayed and we paid for a night at St. John Westin that we were not in the hotel. I spoke with the concierge twice, who left two messages for the Guest Relations Manager. I also left two very detailed messages for him, and one for his manager. Total of 5 messages were left beginning on Thursday and he FINALLY left a message for us the night before we departed at 5:30 pm when we were out... without a resolution - only asking us to call him AGAIN. In my messages I asked him to call my cell phone so we could connect, instead he left a message in our room, while we were out. All we were requesting was some type of recognition from Westin that were paying (dearly) for a room we were unable to use and a gesture of compensation - perhaps a complimentary breakfast or dinner. We were so disappointed in the lack of response from the Guest Relations department.
29 juillet 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Read14 Disappointed
I booked two nights at the St. John Westin because the Villa we rented was unavailable for last weekend of our trip. I booked an Ocean View Room at a rate of over $500.00 per room. With that being said I have high expectations for properties with rates like that. Unfortunately I was very disappointed with this property. The carpeting in the room looked like it was from the 70's and was dirty! There were several permanent stains and quite frankly my first impression of the room was poor. Please be advised that the Ocean View Room was extremely far away from alot of the amenities so you can take the long walk to the lobby, tennis courts OR you can request a shuttle (big golf cart). We requested a shuttle several times but ended up not having anybody arrive for 10-15 minutes. Wouldn't have been bad but they told us to leave our room as soon as we hung up the phone. On one occasion we never received the shuttle. Overall I would recommend renting a private villa on St. John. For less money you can get an awesome place to stay. Spa was very dissapointing as well. Very small.
26 juillet 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Petey7 Relaxing Getaway
We stayed in the villas across the street and up the hill. They are pretty removed from the resort, and super quiet. We didn't mind the walk down to the resort or calling their golf carts to take us.
The villa was nice, comfortable and in pretty good shape. There was a market 1/2 block away that had everything we needed. The resort is close to town, and not far to the other beaches that had snorkeling.
We were a little disappointed with the watersports/beach at the resort. They have limited, dated equipment, and lots of guests trying to use it. The property quits signing out equipment and selling food at the pool bar at 4:00. Kind of odd everything shuts down, no drinks, towels etc. after about 4:30.
We did some dives with Cruz Bay. They were fantastic!
The beach at the property is not nearly as beautiful as the other beaches on the island. So the resort is okay, but after realizing the $40 resort fee was high for what was there, and the headache of it all, We ended up spending much more time at other beaches, and had a great time!
24 juillet 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kimmy Spa not worth it!!!!
I have to say that I always try the Spa out on trips and get monthly massages and services when at home. My sister and I were excited to try out the Spa at a "Westin" we went for the Simplicity package as well as a Mud Wrap. The front desk was helpful and flexible. The massage was OK. The facial which should have included a neck and some arm massage had no massage at all. They did use products I liked. The pedicure was horrific. You are literally in a closet. There is only one nail tech. The chair is difficult at best to get in did I mention your in a closet. The chair does not even have a massage feature and the nail tech is not a happy or nice person. Save your money and enjoy the extra time snorkeling in trunk bay!!!
15 juillet 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Baldeagle Spring break 2012
We are owners at both St. John and Kaanapali (Maui) so we are big Starwood fans. I can tell you that the service at Kaanapali is much better and more responsive than St. John. Although we will always come back to St. John because we love the island, I'm hoping that property management will heed all the concerns being raised about this resort. We paid a pretty penny for our Bay Vista property and we entrusted Starwood to make sure that we had a requisite experience. Overall we love the resort and setting which is what brings us back. However, here are a list of issues that we experienced when we visited this past March:
1. Service is extremely slow and in some cases non-existent. Guest Services is a waste of time mostly. There is a communication breakdown between guest services and the staff wandering the resort actually deilvering the service to your room. On at least 3 occasion we had to confront guest services to get rolloway bed which we had reserved months in advance of our stay. After the second day, the rolloway arrived. Everytime we spoke with guest services they told us that the bed was on its way and would be there any minute. 3 days later.....
2. The property didn't have basic kitchen tools. Appliances were broken (coffee maker, etc.). You have access to a complex of outside grills but no utensils in your room to carry out your operations. Seems like the cleaning staff should always check the rooms to make sure they have all the items required to function before new guests arrive. Just a recommendation. There's always something missing in the kitchen like spatulas, salt and pepper, cookie sheets, etc. These are basic items that a room should have. We have those items in our Maui units. Why can't we get them here? We have to call guest services and you know what happens then.
3. Service at Beaches is painfully slow. Prepare to be there for an hour or so. Food is good but very expensive. I typically have to get up and go to the waiter station to get service or our bill.
4. The gift shop at the snorkel shop is always out of merchandize or they have an abundance of the wrong stuff. The staff there has no clue as to when new shipments will arrive or even if they will arrive. Don't really care either. Just there to punch the clock.
5. No one seems to know what's going on and the front desk was often times not helpful. We felt like they were telling us what we wanted to hear so we'd stop bothering them. It seemed as though we only got what we were needing after repeated attempts and heated discussions with the staff. During on eof my visits to the front desk trying to get service, I overheard another guest who was chewing out a front desk employee because they he had been requesting clean towels for his roon fover over a day and had yet to receive them. Service, service, service!!!
6. Staff members at the Fitness Center were nice but didn't even know how to make simple adjustments as to treadmill operations. Apparently no training as to all the bells and whistles on the equipment.
7. Another big problem I have is the extra charge for riding the Westin Breeze. It has become more expensive each year. I think the resport should stop charging their guests separately. In fact, if you own at the resort, you should get a no charge or discounted charge for the ferry, or simply add some nominal transportation tax to your bill. Stop trying to make the ferry service a profit and loss center. Make your money by sticking to your knitting and improving customer service at the resort which will translate into greater revenue for the owners and guests.
Bottom line: Improvemtns in management efficiency and customer service are mandatory or this resort will start losing business to other resorts.
We love this place and resort and really want to see it improve. We will continue coming because we love the island and its beaches and restaurants. We hope to see noticeable improvements on our next trip.
With a few improvements, this resort could be a really nice experience for its owners.
14 juin 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by NHdoc Continues to just not quite be there
We have been coming here every yr for over 20 yrs and are owners. Many things ARE better, some just can't reach the bar. The pool bar staff are totally indifferent and always have been. Returning guest/owners are not recognized, rooms have been upgraded but the carpet is destroyed and has been. New doors and windows but left huge gap open to air in wall..good thing we have duct tape! Lots of ways it could be great, just isn't. Step it up and this is five star. Currently not. We love the island so bought time here, resort could be much more special without much effort. For example, offer owners storage for their gear for a fee..only few units have any storage, deliver the stored goods to the room and pick up again when you leave. Rubbermaid tubs stored in a cargo trailer wouldn't cost much to do and would be pure profit and convenient; have an enthusiastic manager around at the main pool to greet guest and encourage friendliness for the bar and wait staff, offer owners a free or discounted trip over on the Westin Breeze which is a gouge job on price,run real Happy Hours and events at the pool daily.
5 mai 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Cindoo12 Wouldn't go back
The rooms are run down and have bugs. There is absolutely no service at this hotel. Better off going to the public beaches. I was so disappointed by this resort.
13 avril 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kqquinton Please remodel!
Love the island and would return year after year if Starwood would drop some cash and remodel the very outdated and worn hotel guest rooms!
We want to return but are forced to make another choice as we don't want to re-expierience substandard room conditions.
8 avril 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kent43 Good not Great
This hotel is showing it's age and has a few areas it could work on. I booked using points in August and requested a room with a balcony in buildings 11-16 based on traveler reviews. We were put in Building 20 in the only room without a balcony, but after about an hour of effort they switched us on the second night to building 21 with a balcony. These two buildings are the most dated of the entire resort, or so we heard. It was clean and comfortable enough but had a musty smell and decor circa 1980.
- Some of the staff - Terri at the concierge desk, CJ and Chelsea at the Kids Club, all of the cleaners, gardeners and half the front desk staff were outstanding.
- Activities for kids are very good
-Pool is great
-Dated rooms that need a serious update
-Service at the beach cafe and pool cafe was spotty...slow, as expected throughout this region, but some extremely unfriendly staff
-Taxi drivers were generally awful with two exceptions (the two female drivers we had were great)
Overall, it was a great vacation but a focus on upgrading the rooms (or at the very least, accomodating early bookers), and an overhaul of the service to make it more consistent would turn this into an annual trip for us.
Next time I would rent a car in St Thomas and book a villa.
3 avril 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by SvoOwnersNJ Although Forewarned, Disappointing Property
Hopefully you’ll find our review helpful…. About a month before going on our family's winter break vacation, I finally read many of the recent reviews about the Westin St. John Resort & Villas and was somewhat surprised about some of them. I wish I had looked into them earlier when I was booking our trip months earlier, we probably would have booked elsewhere. Unfortunately, the property met our *much lower* expectations.
First let me point out that we are SVO owners at Cancun, Maui, and Kauai. We have a good frame of reference on what a Westin resort should be. To that end, the Villas were relatively new and up to the Westin standards. But other than the “Prime” restaurant (the upscale on-site restaurant), most other things were not to Westin standards. We unfortunately could not get into the Villas during our scheduled week (Presidents Day week) and booked a “deluxe” 2-bed, pool/patio view room. The rooms are showing there age are not well maintained. We had mold growing in several areas of our bathroom and cobwebs on our ceiling. The back patio door handle was almost falling off (when we reported it, they sent an engineer to simply tighten the two Phillips head screws to fix it). On the 4th day of our stay, the in-room refrigerator broke and spoiled the food we had it in (it actually got hot inside).
If our disappointment was limited to just the hotel room then our stay would probably have been more positive… it wasn’t. It seems that about half of the staff do not have a positive attitude. For certain, some were great. Unfortunately, many seemed not to care and were inattentive (beyond blaming it due to them being on “island time”). Food service at the main restaurant was consistently slow from arrival to departure. Our last breakfast was totally “comp’ed” due to a total breakdown of service. Forty-five minutes after we were arrived, simply breakfast food was served to my wife and two daughters. Drinks were delivered about at the 30-minute mark to them. I opted for the standard $26 Westin breakfast buffet – it was up to the usual standard. When the rest of my family’s food arrived, the waitress commented that I could get my buffet meal. I informed her that I had already finished a while ago but was *never* received my coffee and no longer wanted it (we were checking out and had to catch the ferry back to St. Thomas). I asked for the check. She seemed very surprised. Unexpectedly, she came back a couple of minutes later to say that we did not have to pay for the meal at all. I suppose a gracious gesture for the horrible service. The last comment about the main restaurant is a rather limited, boring food selection. In contrast, the “Prime” restaurant was fantastic and highly recommended by us if you still stay at this property.
On a separate note, as expected, the Kid’s club staff was excellent with our kids and kept them wanting to return (great news for our future visits to other Westin properties).
To sum it up, we didn’t have a "bad" time but I’m *very* glad I read the reviews from others warning us about this property – my expectations were tempered greatly. Unfortunately, the Westin St. John Resort & Villas simply does not meet the standards of the other Westin properties we own or have been to. We do not plan to return any time soon and do not recommend it to others – there are better choices within the SPG network (much less competing resorts).
1 mars 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by KMTMN The value just is not there.
The room was not thoroughly cleaned upon arrival...bugs in kitchen, silverware and dishes were dirty, as well as shower in mstbed. Not enough closet space, could not hang standard hanger in guest room. Room was a long way from pool and lodgenet was out 1/3 of our stay.
Spa facility was substandard, yoga cancelled twice, despite 8am start, no prior notice and we were charged $45 per day? Tried to attend SuperBowl party, too many people, not enough seats/tables and $18 per plate for hamburgers and hot dogs?
This is suppose to be top resort, fell well short. We will not return, nor recommend and we are Starwood Owners!
19 février 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by rihokie37 Great Location, Nice Amenities, but Needs work to Be a True Starwood Level Property
As a return guest of this hotel, I enjoyed the location and many of the ammenities at this Westin. Unfortunately, the service of the staff, primarily the front desk staff, was not up to standards. We experieced many delays in check in, several errors with our room, and a generally unpleasant attitude from many staff members we interacted. The hotel also had continued issues with wi-fi and other expected services. On a positive note, the staff at the 2 outdoor restaurant/bars were wonderful, and the house-keeping staff was pleasant when we interacted with them. I would recommend this resort based on location alone, but would be very hesitant to endorse the customer service, especially to another Starwood member. I don't feel that this property embraces the typical Starwood experience.
30 janvier 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by devguy What spa?
So let me start by saying that often times while on vacation, my wife and I will take an entire day as a "spa day." when we booked this trip, I spoke with Matt (spa manager) and booked a spa package for both myself and my wife. We booked a three hour package that with tip totaled almost $900. Matt informed me that prior to, and after our treatments we would have use of the "facility" for the day. I figured as with most high end spa's that there would be the expected amenities available.
When we arrived to the spa, we discovered the spa was located in the back hallway of the workout room. There are three treatment rooms, and literally a closet where nails and feet are done. You walk into a locker room that is reminiscent of a 1980's high school locker room. There is a toiled and a bench with lockers. No amenities to be found. While our actual treatments were okay, the facility was not remotely up to par.
The rooms have the signature Heavenly Bed, which is by far the best thing about the hotel, and they did not disappoint in this area. The bathroom is a seperate story. The caulking was coming off of the tub, there was mold on the shower head and the grout, and the fixtures were coming off from the wall. The bathroom was so unacceptable I took photo's and sent them to Starwood.
26 janvier 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Guest11 Nice hotel - overpriced
The room was nice, internet didn't work, the gym was way overcrowded and the restaurant staff was so slow that it was a minimum of two hours for every meal. most irritating of all were the constant calls trying to sell us a timeshare or alert us about resort activities. It disturbed the vacation!
5 janvier 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Geoff A mixed bag
First off, the grounds and location are as pretty as it looks online. We live in the VI and still thought the beach and location are beautiful, another poster commented on the houses on both sides of the bay but we thought it actually looked nice they're nice houses and the nice boats in the bay. There are plenty of beaches in the park to go to if you're looking for complete isolation.
The buildings look a bit old but are appealing in style on the outside though the architecture is a bit more South Pacific than Caribbean. Inside the room layout is nice, it's spacious and comfortable and nicely styled but the actual rooms themselves especially the bathrooms are a bit dated and worn...i.e cracked countertops, paint smudges and drips on the floor, old looking fixtures etc.
We had a bit of an issue with the fridge which was constantly leaking as someone previous had mashed up the little freezer bin pretty bad. Also our shower was stuck halfway between tub faucet and shower head as the little knob had seized up. We noticed the grout all around the tub faucet was broken and missing leading us to believe this problem had been there a while.
But it was clean enough and comfortable above all just not worth the price tag.
The biggest disappointment was that we had gone for my wife's birthday and upon check in had been promised a bottle of champagne would be delivered to the room for her. After a few hours relaxing and at the beach and pool we checked the room and nothing was there so we asked again at the front desk as we were leaving for dinner and they promised again it would be there by 7 and the dining staff already knew about it. By the time we got back to the hotel there was still nothing and no messages either. I realize that it is a gracious gesture and is not to be expected but I would rather be told no they can't do anything than be promised twice only to have nothing come. That was the biggest negative to us.
Service was great for the most part, very friendly staff...Ricky the bellman was professional and knowledgeable. The other service related issue was when we checked out the guy at the front desk was not nearly as personable or professional as the rest of the front desk staff and was a bit of a sour note to end the stay.
I wouldn't eat in the restaurant again, while the menu looks good it was overpriced and my mixed tropical fruit consisted of out of season unripe mango, blueberries, maraschino cherries and unripe Papaya...unacceptable in this part of the world.
All in all we'll probably be back again with hopefully better results because even with these issues it's probably the best chain beach resort in the VI
3 janvier 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by cchum Good until end of stay
The Westin provided us with enough amenities to enjoy our stay. We encountered several annoyances on the day before we checked out. Our key cards stopped working which required going to the main lobby to wait for security to issue us new cards. Also, housekeeping only partially cleaned our room at 4 pm. This was after I had called at 12 pm to have the room cleaned. On the last day, housekeeping kept knocking on our door to see if we had left the room because they were eager to turn it over. Where was that eagerness to clean the day before? It unfortunately left a black mark on an otherwise pleasant stay.
31 décembre 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by JoeinTampa St. John Westin
Not as good as the last time we stayed. Still a very beautiful place to stay.
18 décembre 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by kim11 Unhappy Newlyweds
We arrived the evening of 11/11/11, to start our honeymoon. The desk reception by Shade' was great.
Things quickly changed as we waited 20 min plus for a shuttle to our room
We asked the front desk 3 times for a shuttle. We saw many people getting dropped off but the shuttle immediately took off. Finally... the manager on duty said one is coming now. We asked for a manager and was told a manager would call the next day. no one called!
15 novembre 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by PRM13 Wedding Travel - November 2013
Let me first stay, Westin hotels seldom disappoint. This resort however, was in complete disarray. From the start, the ferry was not running when our flight landed, to walking in the empty lobby with nobody to greet us or at the desk, the trip was very disappointing. We were charged an exorbinant resort fee when half the resort was actually closed or under construction. No pool, no pool bar, no nice dining option and a '80s era room.
2 décembre 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by llynnd Big Expectations, Big Disappointment
Waited 8 years to finally get a week in St John's. I'll flip past the part where we had this reservation for 8 months, spent $3,500 in airline fees, when Starwood notified us that the pool would be closed approximately one week before our departure. I'll also skip the part where I called Starwood and was promised free tickets to Trunk Beach for my family and advised another pool would be available to order food and drinks something the kids look forward to....this part is not St John's staff fault.
We arrived on Saturday, at check in I asked for what was verbally promised and was told my requests are not St Johns problem call Starwood. I was given the number to call by a nice gentleman at the front desk and he did send a email to Starwood. The girl working with him at the front desk was completely rude and refused to even go out of her way to help us understand the situation.
Sunday was the only pool day for us, our 4 adult kids had tons of fun playing volleyball with the other guests and getting drinks at the bar, how this vacation was suppose to be. Only downside, with the prep for the pool closure, the area was somewhat dirty and not well maintained.
Sunday we visited Ashley at the concierge desk who gave us our gifts and the lay of the land. She also gave us a discount card but most places did not accept the card or there were additional rules attached, we never received any discounts. Ashley also gave us the activity sheet and explained the beach equipment was free if it didn't have the motor. Monday we rented a car and drove to Trunk Bay. In the evening we headed to the "happy hour $5.00 drinks and appetizers" on the activities sheet. We were told since the pool was closed happy hour was at the Beach Bar. Arriving at the Beach Bar we told there were no $5 appetizers and happy hour was over.....nobody even cared or helped explain the mix-up, we finally walked away. We headed to Snorkels the bar set-up on the beach which was open until 6, it closed and 5:35 with us still sitting there, no last call or notice. When we complained about the situation we were given a new activities sheet with all the happy hours removed. We were also charged for the "free"snorkel equipment. The front desk said they resolved but when we checked out the equipment was on our bill? The mid week cleaning was haphazard and not completed, my husband had to go ask for shampoo and my daughter finished making her bed, the kitchen wasn't cleaned at all. I won't go on.....very very disappointing and avoided with better communication and more people that cared at this resort. BTW There were some really nice people working at the resort, its too bad a few ruined it for the rest. Still waiting for Starwood to return my calls on the pool closure notice.
3 octobre 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by dferragut A disappointment for an SPG property! Moldy Rooms and Terrible service
We stayed at this resort in late July to celebrate our one year anniversary and it was a disappointment. First off, St. John was idyllic and gorgeous. The secluded beaches are awesome and so was the snorkeling. Definitely rent a car and get off the resort. HOWEVER, the Westin was not the top-notch hotel we expected. -Our first room was felt damp and moldy, The smell was pungent and would not go away after a day.
Overall, the property is nice and beautiful, however, the service and general attitude of the employees was the worst of any high-end hotel we've stayed at. The maids failed to clean our rooms and give us fresh towels. When you're on vacation, the last thing you want is to come home to is a dirty room two nights in a row. When we called to get it cleaned, all we got was attitude.
To be fair, the service at Cruz Prime was awesome. The waiters and bartenders really listened and made great recommendations. But the rest of the staff was incredibly rude. They kept trying to nickel and dime us for stupid, silly things like jalapenos on a sandwich. At the bar and breakfast all we got was lackluster, apathetic responses and no real effort to help us find answers to our questions . As a platinum member, I really expected more from the Westin. I am a road warrior and stay at Starwood properties over 100 nights a year. I work hard and want to be rewarded but this experience is really making me think whether it's worth it to be an SPG member. I've held platinum status at other hotel brands through the years and received far superior service and amenities at "category 5" resorts. If you're looking for a clean, friendly and happy resort, this is NOT the place. Take your points elsewhere.
6 août 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Chris88 NO BED?! Staff not helping!
We arrived yesterday at your resort, and must say that we are completely dissatisfied with the accommodations and the service we are getting. My wife and I are traveling with our three sons ages 7, 10 & 13.
We booked a one bedroom villa seven months ago that was supposed to have a pull out couch for our two younger boys and a rollaway bed for our 13 year old.
When we checked in at the ferry counter we were told that our one bedroom villa will have a roll away bed. Then when we arrived at your resort, we were told that a bed was not available for our 13 year old son, but the hotel was "working on" getting us a bed or another room with accommodations for five. After numerous discussions throughout the day it became obvious and extremely frustrating that nothing was going to be done. Needless to say, this put a huge damper on our first day. Instead of relaxing and getting acclimated to the resort, we were focused on making sure our son had a bed to sleep in. This is not how we wanted to spend our first day at the Westin, St. John.
At the end of the day nothing was done. Even after many discussions with the front desk manager, my 13 year old slept on two chairs put together as a makeshift bed.
If we had any idea that there was a chance that one of us would not have a bed, we would have not chosen to stay at the Westin, St. John. It is completely unacceptable for a hotel to not provide a bed for a guest. It is the most basics need that must be met before all other amenities are to be provided.
I normally do not write reviews, but as you can see we are very frustrated and disappointed with the Westin staff for allowing something like this from happening.
26 mars 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by JSHoneymoon Disappointed
We stayed at the resort on points for the final 2 nights of our honeymoon. After coming off a week long private yacht charter we were psyched for a hot shower and clean room. Unfortunately, we found a cockroach in our bathroom and when reporting this to the front desk it seemed this wasn't a big deal. The room was otherwise clean.
We weren't offered an upgrade at check in and when I asked if any were available the front desk employee, Franique, rudely stated it was extremely busy and nothing was available. An upgrade would've been great as we could hear every word from the guests in the adjacent room.
We had hoped for a little recognition of our honeymoon in our room. We received nothing. Not even a note. Then as we checked out we were surprised to find charges not disclosed during check in. For example the daily $40 "resort" fee was ridiculous. Other resorts charge $10 and mention the fee at check in.
We noticed a $3 discrepancy in our room service bill and asked for a refund of that amount at check out. Similar to check in, Franique was again rude and was inconvenienced to make the change. She didn't bother to remove the tax on the error either. Yea, it's not going to break the bank but recovering with flair goes a long way and no effort was made to do so.
Overall we left upset with the experience and frustrated with the charges. No effort was made to overcome the shortcomings and dealing with Franique only made it worse.
I travel extensively, am a Starwood Gold member and at $500+ per night I expect an exceptional level service. We won't return nor recommend this resort to friends and family.
23 mars 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Boston79 Below Exepectations
I will say that we have traveled to Caribbean resorts every winter for the past four years, and this Westin falls to the bottom of the list of our choice destinations. I would, unfortunately, agree with most of the reviews that say this hotel charges like a five star resort, but our experience was much more like a three star resort. First off, I am still struggling with the billing department to get our billing statement corrected. It has taken three plus attempts and they still cannot seem to straighten out that our package included breakfast (yet they charged for breakfast). They also had a charge on the bill from the last departing guests from our room for $100! I would also say the hotel just feels very much run down and in desperate need of a “face lift”. The breakfast buffet was a huge disappointment each and every day. It amazes me that this hotel can’t seem to figure out how to put together a “nice” and “eatable” buffet for $28 per person. The food in the hot plated area was stale and had obviously been sitting out for too long. The breakfast also lacked selection that we have seen at similar Caribbean hotels that offer buffet breakfast. We also found the staff to be very “hit or miss” in terms of their efforts to be friendly and helpful, or act as though they are doing us a favor. Unfortunately, I can’t recommend this hotel and we will not be returning.
7 février 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Darren87 Quality of stay far below expectations created by Westin's marketing campaign
Resort marketing noted top notch accommodations with exceptional food and service...none of which were found to be true. Our initial room smelled of heavy mold and our second didn't smell much better. I called the service deck concerning the moldy smell in the first room and they verbalized they would call right back when aother room was located but we were never called back. After waiting 30 minutes I called the service desk again and they verbalized they had forgotten to check for another room or to call us back! Neither of the rooms had been cleaned...dirt and grass all over carpet on stairs and in each room. There was not a single wash rag in either of the two bathrooms. Decor was a bad 80's look and it appeared the room had not seen an update since original construction. Furniture was stained and not set up appropriately (cushions missing, lamp lights burned out, etc.) Staff at registration desk never smiled. or apologized for any of these problems. However, there were a couple of good points to mention. Our bed was very comfortable/clean, grounds were beautiful and a few select staff were very friendly and helpful. And given the Westin had a three night cancellation fee I was unable to afford to find my family another place to stay. Westin should have waived the cancellation fee after all the problems they caused us but I suppose that's why they lock you into the three night calcellation fee. Given the high expectations created by Westin's grand marketing campaign I felt like I really let my family down when we arrived. When we were checking out I really felt the cost of our stay should have been fully refunded given the circumstances. Westin had us backed into a corner with thier cancellation policy so we had no other choice but to stay and pay a huge rate for far less than average accomodations.
18 décembre 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by amanda224 Needs attention to be a 'Westin'
This hotel is in a beautiful spot and one of only a couple of hotels on St. John. Upon checking in we were not greeted with a warm welcome by anyone on staff. The front desk clerk checked us in but did not go out of her way to acquaint us with the property, the facilities, or the island. When we arrived in our room, the first thing we noticed was a huge patch of the ceiling that was stained and crumbling from rain damage. it rained that evening and the rain came in through the ceiling. we moved rooms and while it didnt have a leak, it need an update as well. overall, not the quality one would expect from a Westin or a Starwood.
26 novembre 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by DJW2189 Dirty, Noisy, and did not meet expectations for the price
This review is based on fact with this hotel and hotel only. The room was dirty and I have pictures to show the condition of the room. The room service was poor and not helpful. We ordered a Tukey BLT sandwhich with chips and salsa. We received an Italian sandwhich with tostitos chips and salsa. when we called the service desk we were advised that we had been charged for all items. I asked what had happened to the BLT and I was advised that they had run out so they figured they would sent the italian instead and still charge without informing me of such. I asked where the chips and salsa came from and I was advised they went to the store and bought it becuase they ran out. Every morning at the hotel there was work being done outside our room at 7:00 am keeping us from sleeping. The air conditioner did not work properly. The front desk staff was so unhelpful we refused to us them after being misinformed twice. We were told most of the restuarants on the island were closed. We rented a car and drove the island and found that every one they advised us of being closed was open and had been open. We were even told that westin employees had been dining at these restuarants but they were informing guest that they were closed. We ordered drinks and no two drinks ordered wree made the same. Every time we ordered something we had ordered previsouly it was made with different ingredients based on the bar tender. There were multiple gym appliances broken. The medicine balls were flat.
19 octobre 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Eric104 Dissapointed
We went on our honeymoon here, and having been here 11 years ago with a better experience, I was a bit dissapointed. We arrived at 11AM and wanted to check in early, and had called a few days prior requesting this and were told they would try do so. When we arrived they didn't seem to have a record of this request and told us they'd try to get a room ready. Thus, we weren't notified until 245PM that we could check in early, just 15 minutes short of normal check in time, so we had to lock up our bags and sit around at the pool waiting. I know there is no gaurentee of early check in, but I've never had an issue with doing so at tons of other hotels and considering this was off-season I find it hard to believe theyy couldn't find a room to get us in. Further, the staff overall was not very friendly considering the price we were paying to stay there. I'm not sure if I would come again.
11 août 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Eric104 Needs improvment
Need improvement in the customer service aspect of this staff considering the expensive cost we paid.
11 août 2012