The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

  • 50 Hillside Drive,
  • PO Box 2515
  • Mammoth Lakes,
  • California
  • 93546
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 153 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location but snobby service Close to The Village and the Gondala to the slopes . The valet attenent , bell man ,and the workers at the ski retail were spectacular . Loved the complementary shuttle ride to any where in Mammoth Lake. Now to the bad. Front desk was disrespectful and didn't seem to like there job. Not very attentive until I showed them that I was a SPG member. Then I finally got a smile. Our room didn't have a bathtub, which was very disappointing . December 25, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice hotel but worst dining service We were visiting for first time, the hotel was very nice and classy. I would give 10 out of 10 based on suite, decor and specially the staff at reception. However the staff at the restaurant was the opposite. Young girls are hired who don't want to work. Waitress did not show up for 20 minutes and our continuous request to see our waitress had no effect on them. Management needs to control the restaurant's staff in a better way. July 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed our stay Stayed here in May and looked forward to returning in the fall. Excellent location, great staff, dogs are welcome. Very comfortable room. As a status SPG member, they even gave us the same room for our second stay. Only downside was no breakfast buffet. They had one in May, and even though it was a bit disorganized, we still enjoyed it. Upon our return, the buffet was not available. Will definitely look forward to returning. November 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Customer Service! The customer service was outstanding during my stay. My family caught 48 fish over the weekend and the hotel graciously individually wrapped up all of my fish & froze them until I was ready to leave my last day there. I was always addressed by Mr. & my last name which I appreciated. The workers at the Monache Westin in Mammoth went above & beyond to serve us. I will for sure make a return trip back!! August 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place for a fall getaway This was a very nice facility for our fall trip. The beds were really comfortable and the staff was very pleasant. The Lodge-Net app was great. We would return and would hope that the room was cleaned better the next time. The coffee was not restocked for the second day, and we actually found a condom wrapper (not ours) under the bed - or it might have been in-between the mattress and box springs. October 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by check in needs help Hotel was 17% full when we checked in according to doorman. I had requested an upper floor room with a view. At check in was told the room had a nice view. The room had a view of the driveway- Unacceptable. When I called the front desk o request a room change the person was relatively rude. Finally we got a new room with a great view. I don't know why the process was so difficult. December 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Doggon good stay! My only comment against this hotel is that there were too many dogs staying when we were there. Not sure why, but we have never experience so may dogs in one hotel on our many road trips across the US. Having said that everything else was very good, and it is a well situated hotel with excellent facilities. Food at breakfast was good,and staff were friendly and helpful August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic, wish would have stayed longer Beautiful, comfortable, and warm. This hotel exceeded my expectations. We only stayed one night, but was fantastic. Great location, spacious clean rooms. The hotel is beautiful as well and provides the best location in Mammoth Lakes. The parking was comfortable and accesible. The $25 resort fee includes WiFi and Parking which was veru useful. Highly recommended!!! October 2, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin Mammoth worth the visit It is a great hotel, with some great features. The shuttle, the free valet and the great restaurant are some of it. There's also complimentary wifi. My suggestion is that they change the system to avoid the need of log in every 24hs. The heated pool was not as heated as we expected. The staff is great, suggestion things to do in town. I intent to return in winter. August 10, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by A bit of a gamble/Mixed Reviews This hotel is a bit of a mixed bag to me. On the plus side, the GM, Patrick Dougherty, was gracious and generous enough to upgrade my wife and I to a very well located top floor 1-bedroom suite with a great view, and I have no complaints about the room itself - modern and well put together. Unfortunately, there were a number of very negative customer service issues that 1) soured the trip; and 2) gave me the distinct impression that this particular property does not care much about SPG elite members. There were a number of major customer service problems with this property that rubbed me the wrong way. The "main" issues I saw were: 1) Late checkout - I am accustomed to 4 PM Late checkout as a Gold member. Even as a non elite member, I noticed numerous signs throughout the property touting their "sunday late checkout." If you value late checkout, forget about it. Here, not only do they not even address it at check-in (which would normally lead you to believe it isn't an issue, especially checking out on a Sunday), when you call to make sure you have it, they tell you to kick rocks. Have an injury from a day on the slopes that makes it tough to move around? A late flight and time to kill? Any reasonable need to really value that late checkout? The staff at this property clearly doesn't care and won't accommodate the late checkout you're used to so make sure you're prepared with backup plans to kill five and a half hours before your flight. Customarily this is inquired about at check-in. No mention was made so I naturally assumed there was no issue with it. 2) Whitebark Restaurant Service - I don't like to name names - although the food here is good quality, if you're in a rush or are not a fan of servers who pretty much don't acknowledge your existence and make you hunt them down for simple things like a pen that isn't out of ink to sign their bill, or an explanation of a random charge that doesn't look like it's yours, or to simply take your bill, then this isn't the place for you. Stick to room service at this property - the service at the restaurant is "less than desirable." 3) Resort Fee - Count on paying the $30ish resort fee, regardless of whether it's a point redemption or you're any type of elite member (Gold, Platinum, it doesn't matter according to the front desk here). Also count on not getting a clear explanation for why it won't be waived - it "just applies to everyone." So yea bottom line is if you don't really care about customer service or having the hotel staff recognize your SPG membership, the rooms and the grounds here are great and well-maintained, and the food doesn't taste half bad. Some people don't really care about customer service and those people I think would enjoy this property. March 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by We enjoy staying at this hotel, we keep coming back to it! We've stayed at the hotel at least on three vacations and it keeps delivering on all points. The hotel is pet-friendly and yet, it remains clean, well-maintained, and smells fresh throughout. Kudos to all the friendly and helpful staff - from Reservations to Front Office to House Keeping! Keep up the great job and we will be sure to keep coming back! September 17, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Restaurant not so good although the hotel was good it wasn't at the level at which I normally view Westin hotels. The restaurant was average at best but the prices were 5 star... 3 out of the 5 items we ordered were removed from bill because they were awful, would have asked for full credit but felt bad for waiter. Unfortunately I would not recommend dinner at anytime. August 7, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Reccomend to anyone! Decided to drive up from Fresno and hit a deer jsut before Mammoth Lakes - fortunately I made it to hotel, and was greeted by a great staff once I got out of my car. after explaining what happened, the guys made my son and I feel comfortable instantly. They were helpful in finding options in regards to what to do wtih my car. ended up gettting a tow service to bring car home - the guys took care of dealing with vehicle so we could snowboard as planned, took me to get a rental car, rode for the weekend and they dealt with the tow service after I had left town. They were super friendly , helpful in everyway possible and they made my stay! as far as the rest of the staff, everyone was great - but wanted to pay a shout out to the guys out front. I havent been to a hotel with such a great team. It is becasue of them that I'll be back. as far as everything else - the place is great - food/location, everything was top notch. Thanks again to them! December 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very nice stay! The staff was very friendly, courteous, and accommodating. The outdoor spa was fun especially in the fleeting late afternoon rain. The location of the hotel is perfect in town and offers a shuttle, if requested. The $25/day facility fee includes internet access and use of the spa facilities. I enjoyed our stay and look forward to a return visit. August 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Mammoth Westin is the Best! Great time at Westin again. In the winter this place is like Deer Valley in Sierras. In the summer it is world class trout fishing and mountain biking. At the end of a long day in the sun coming home to the Westin is like coming home to a comfy bed. Terrific place, great staff and wonderful amenities. They make it so easy to enjoy the mountain. August 9, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great hotel in the mountains! This is a very impressive hotel! The staff is professional, kind and welcoming. I had a slow draining sink in my bathroom and mentioned it to the cleaning lady as I was walking out for lunch. She reported it immediately and someone was there to resolve it within minutes! The atmosphere is perfect for a weekend getaway or even longer! October 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Thoughtful and warm enviroment Great hotel! - everything is so well thought, convenient location. The stuff is helpful and kind. Enjoyed the hot tub, the pool, the puffy robes. The highlight - "ski valet"! They take your skis & boot to the gondola, so you just walk 75 steps down to the gondola and there they are! Thank you! It has been a great experience! December 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern Craftsman is pet friendly Friendly staff, gorgeous facility. Our room was extremely comfortable: King bed, kitchenette, and a very cool window seat/daybed that made for a fantastic relaxing/reading spot. Fluffy, white robes were provided. The hotel was pet-friendly and there were plenty of areas to walk the dog. The pool and spa area was beautiful. September 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great homey feeling You get a very warm feeling when you walk in the lobby it's very relaxing. Always greeted with a smile- Dolores is wonderful and helpful. Cammon is a great owner relations person - very accomodating. Justin is also great, very friendly but professional . He has a great staff, Carol and Weston - great teamwork. October 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Winter Wonderland The resort is fantastic. The staff go out of their way to make everything pleasant. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The property is adjacent to the village so one can walk there without any problem. The Gondola is adjacent to the property so you can get up to the mountain without driving your car. December 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Pretentious front desk The room was great except the fact that when I arrived, I found that I had been given a room with a handicap bathroom. Nowhere was this mentioned on my booking itinerary. Also I called the front desk for a wake up call that I never received. Causing me to be late to an appointment with friends. September 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than home This huge room with a great view also had one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. The kitchen area featured a microwave, refridge, and what I'd need to put together a bite to eat. There were robes in the closet, internet connection and everything I needed for comfort and convenience. September 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Mammoth comforts First trip to Mammoth with kids and dogs for a ski vacation. Great hotel and wonderful room. staff were all exceptional and the location is ideal for the local village (walk down hotel steps - 75 of them) and for getting right to the slopes. December 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by SURPRISINGLY DISAPPOINTED WE VISITED FOR 4 NITES OPENING WEEK AT MAMMOTH MOUNTAIN. THE PILOT LIGHT IN THE FIRE PLACE WAS NOT LIT, THERE WAS NO TV STATION GUIDE, THE BATHROOM PLUG WAS STUCK, THE TELEPHONES WORKED INTERMITTENTLY AND THE FRONT DESK COULD NOT CORRECTLY COUNT CHANGE. November 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location The hotel is located in close proximity to the Village and gondola to Canyon Lodge. The hotel is a pet friendly hotel. The hotel will provide you with gym clothes so you can pack light. The restaurant had very good food, could improve on service. December 19, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding in every way Phenomenal property... Great for our teenagers and us adults. Close to everything that the Monache might not have.. Which is very little. The staff was great even though it was very busy and snowy!! Will make it our new go to place in Mammoth❤ December 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in! This hotel was exceptional in every way. Beautiful, comfortable, great customer service and just NICE! I don't know what else to say except that it was a wonderful experience and I hope to come back again in the near future. October 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy Place In The Mountains The Westin Monache is a great place to stay in Mammoth. It is incredibly convenient for the village and village gondola, everybody is very nice, the bar is gorgeous and the pool/jacuzzi's are beautiful! Enjoy it!! June 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Superb Hotel in the Fall Beautiful views, cozy rooms with fireplaces, comfortable beds, wonderful window seat and well planned and appointed kitchen. A home away from home with more services. The best location in Mammoth. October 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel! The hotel was lovely! We made a last minute decision to stay at the hotel on our way to Lake Tahoe and I wish we could have stayed longer. Hotel staff was great & they made our stay special! September 4, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>