The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth

  • 50 Hillside Drive,
  • PO Box 2515
  • Mammoth Lakes,
  • Californie
  • 93546
  • Etats-Unis
  • Carte

Chambres et tarifs

Fermer

Enfants/chambre

Ces informations nous permettent de trouver les chambres qui correspondent le mieux aux exigences de votre réception et de préparer votre arrivée.

Reportez-vous aux conditions et détails des chambres pour plus d'informations concernant les frais applicables pour les lits d'appoint et les personnes supplémentaires.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 119 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Really? Well, lets just say, stay in the Village at the condos, this hotel is 75 stairs from the village. Very rude staff, its was xmas-New Years so yes very busy. Managers kept saying that they were booked and busy, thats why things were so slowl, but come on, this place sold out early, so they know it would be busy, they sure charged my CC in full as soon as I booked, but didnt fully staff to handle the holiday. But they know this, no one knew what is going on at the hotel, I asked concierge, manager, bar tender and hostess what was planned for New years eve, got 5 different answers. Had to wait to check in, they never came to the room to clean it first day. I talked to the on duty manger at 9pm and he gave me attitude. Great room, had a 2 bedroom. They had to give me this room, I booked a 1 bedroom, but they over booked, imagine that. Had to ask 3 times to unlock the in room safe from previous users. Just a really bad experience, from check in, maids, managers. I checked out the condos that are in the Village,just as nice, cheaper and not having to deal with the 75 steps uphill, since the hotel was to cheap to put a pedestrian bridge in, I use Westin alot for work, but never again in Mammoth. They might be good for non busy times, but holidays, stay away!! It was 100% the rude staff that made this stay bad. Not worth the money, horrible service, sorry Westin, but its all true, please contact me for the Managers card-name who was very rude.................... 3 janvier 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Alert! This is an over-rated hotel operating under the Starwood name with Mgmt staff displaying arrogance towards SPG members. Pricing is outrageous, points redemption is 50% higher than deserving compared with the outer outstanding Starwood properties. Don't waste your money at this hotel. 30 décembre 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great rooms, nice staff, but DEFINITELY needs SPG program education Stayed at this properly over a weekend in December 2011. The rooms are excellent - the fireplace is amazing. However, the rooms did not seem to be able to sustain the right temperature as set on the thermometer device and runs loudly every 10 minutes pretty much. This might be an isolated issue; however, I have heard the same issues from other colleagues... Restaurant in properly is great- (their staff is AMAZING). Pool/spa are nice, but they close at 10pm... As for SPG benefits.. NOBODY except for the guy who checked me in seems to know anything about SPG elites. I really don't enjoy announcing that I would like certain SPG Platinum benefits (it makes me feel awkward) but I've had to do it a few times. Other Westin properties and SPG properties in general seem to do ok. In comparison to others, this Westin falls short most definitely. Other than that, the staff themselves are really pleasant people. I just wished the management took further action to educate its members. (It's not the staff's fault if they have not been given proper education.) Overall, I would go back, it's really a pleasant place. 21 décembre 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location This resort is in an excellent location when the gondola is operating; it is very close to the Village. In general, the staff were very accomodating and helpful. One disappointment was the resort's policy in not upgrading platinum members despite availability. Another slight disappointment was the lack of a lounge. Those two factors were the major differences I experienced at this resort compared to others. Overall, I would state the resort met my expectations. 7 décembre 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Poor maintenance of the room Poor room maintenance; uncomfortable for the family; 1 décembre 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Ms S The hotel offered points if you forgo the replacement of linens everyday. We opted for this selection however the maids never come to our room to vacuum or clean the bathrooms for the entire 5 day stay and we did not receive the points. We had to empty our own trash everyday. We were not offered an upgrade or continental breakfast. The small refrigerator in the room did not work. We had to ask for ice everyday for our cooler. 19 août 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Underwhelming From the moment we tried to check in, this experience wasn't great. We requested an early check in. I know this is not guaranteed, but not only did we not get an early check in, but we were told that the room would be at least an hour late, and that we would be called when it was ready. We were never called and had to contact the hotel 1.5 hours after the scheduled check in time. As a concession, we were given 2 free breakfast passes, even though there were 4 of us. We decided to decline housekeeping services following the first day after returning to our room shortly before 5pm and finding that they had just started cleaning. Who starts cleaning a room at almost 5pm? Finally, we ordered room service for dinner one night and found that not only were they not accomodating to certian dietary restrictions, but that they could not deviate AT ALL from the room service menu in the room, even though we were informed that it was all coming from the kitchen in the restaurant below. This is not what was expected from a high end resort hotel. It did not at all live up to the Westin Standards. 8 juillet 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not up to "Westin" standards We are owners with Starwood- at several different properties, however have usually stayed at a condo when coming to Mammoth, but decided we wanted "hotel convenience/luxury"- so called to book during our Spring Break and was told that there was only a studio available- which was fine we thought. I asked if we could upgrade when we arrived and was told the facility had lot of check ins during that time, but I could ask when I got there. So THEY KNEW a lot of people were arriving, however when we got there-after a 6 hour drive, @ 4:30 there was ONE bell man, 2 carts, a broken elevator and were told that 11 people had luggage to deliver before us. We took a few bags ourselves to the room to change and go eat downstairs. At 5:00 we were told we couldn't be seated in the VERY EMPTY restaurant, because within an hour reservations were coming in. TOTALLY empty mind you- no big deal, ate in the bar. By 6:30 restaurant was still empty- not a big deal, just annoying to be denied, but we had the same menu. Our 5 year old daughter wanted to go into the kids club- our luggage was STILL not in our room, and at this point sitting in the hallway- I had to go s/w the mgr. and have it taken up- it was 2 1/2 hours-wow. So the kids club had a hobbling bell man watching over the room- going in and out from somewhere else, but primarily un-attended- he said the girls that usually run it weren't there and he was helping out- but limping, and didn't know where things were in the room. DID NOT SEE A CONCIERGE AT THE DESK THE WHOLE TIME- and went down several times to ask for assistance and recommendations. Twice we came back from skiing- around 4:30 and our room was not cleaned- had to call downstairs when all we really wanted was to shower and go eat. Delores, the mgr. sent up complimentary breakfast tickets- for 2 people, althought we were 3 (they did take care of that), but then when I s/w her about the issues- she said she would "see what she could do, and get back to me", and never did. All in all the hotel experience was less than a $500.00 a night hotel should be, and we would have been just fine @ a condo. It was dissapointing. The staff was all pretty nice, but not worth the money for US, and disappointing as an owner. 10 avril 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great Location, Terrible Service First - If you are coming here for skiing, the location is excellent and you can rent anything you need at the hotel. You are next to village and slopes. However - the hotel is not accommodating at all. We had to wait an extra 2 hours to check into room. I chose to valet my car the first day, and when I needed my car it took 45 minutes - the staff could not find my car then forgot that I was there. 90% of the time there was no one at the front and concierge desks. There are only 2 elevators that always take a long time. The restaurant, though tasty, has terrible service despite not being busy. Even though I am Platinum, I was not given late checkout. Bottom line, If you are staying here only for skiing and have low expectations, this place might work for you. For me, Mammoth is the only city I will travel to and not choose Westin first. 3 avril 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service was really bad The service was terrible. I highlighted list of issues we had in short period of time to manager (late check-in, bags delivered to room two hours late, heat in room was broken, etc). The manager's response was only to be defensive. 28 décembre 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hummm not that good Bath shower handle broken, sink stopper also broken and not usable,, paid cash and resort still charging my credit card 4-days latter causing noe to have to call to get this matter resolved. I'n not a Happy Camper with the Westin....... 8 août 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Attitude Needs Improvement The hotel boasted at check in the 24 hour in room dining service. Mammoth experienced rain showers while we were visiting (early August ). Nothing exceptional, just rain but it motivated us to stay in vs. leave for another restaurant. We called room service and were told they were closed. They couldn't answer when the service would be available again. The attendant was rude (Andre). Because of his attitude we escalated to the assistant GM. He confirmed room service was closed also not knowing when it would be available, noting the restaurant was too busy. He suggested I go to the restaurant to place my order. Unsatisfactory response but I followed it. The restaurant was empty but they said the kitchen was closed. I still don't understand what the issue was and neither did the general manager when she responded to our escalations. Finally the restaurant manager approached and said the situation recently resolved itself and he could help me. All we wanted was cheese and cookies. No one ever bothered to ask and I suspect that would be available even if the kitchen was closed. Too bad, we had planned on returning for ski season but if they can't manage rain, I have no idea how they can manage snow. 8 août 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Love it but need to staff We had a nice trip and had two rooms - brought the kids and the dog but every time we got back from the slopes the maid service wasn't complete! Even after I called specifically to request it. After getting back from our family activities I expected the room to be cleaned so all the kids could show and get ready for dinner;-( major bummer! Especially since it was 170k points WOW - I expected better treatment as a platinum member. I heard lots of others complaining. Other than the staffing issue this is a great place to stay 28 janvier 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing stay at Mammoth Lakes I am a platinum SPG member and was very disappointed with the hotel for a variety of reasons. First, upon check-in, I was not given the SPG promise of a "best available room" even though the hotel had very low occupancy. I was told that this was an 'owner' hotel and that they did not honor all SPG programs...needless to say, very disappointing. I was specifically told during the reservation process and when I called to confirm that I would receive the 'best available room'. Second, the hot-tubs were closed for the weekend. Again, disappointing after a long day of driving and snowboarding. Third, the thermostat in the room would not adjust properly and we couldn't get the room temp to drop, which made for uncomfortable sleeping. 16 novembre 2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Needs Management Adjustment Checked in to the hotel, being Starwood Platinum and asked at the front desk about a room upgrade, it also appeared that they had about a ten per cent occupancy rate. I was told that I had already been upgraded. I walked in the shoebox, umm room and was wondering if this was an upgrade what would I have gotten If I were not Platinum. I tried to use the wired internet for an important project, just to find there was no port. I picked up the cordless phone, and of course it didn't work either. After making the call on the other phone I waited for over thirty minutes, with no one showing up. On the second call I did get someone to come and fix the port. But, in the call I asked about the upgrade and I was told that they did not upgrade Starwood members, but I probably receive a view. Looking out of my small window I had a good view of the building and if I leaned over I could see the pool that was obviously not usable. Most hotels recognize the value of frequent stayers this one does not. If your a Starwood preferred guest stay away from this hotel because they do not care about your business. 9 juin 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Never again We have been visiting Mammoth Lakes regularly for the last 10 years and have stayed at a number of hotels in the town. I decided to try the Westin even though the prices are higher than other accommodation. Unfortunately upon arrival, I was told that my room was not ready and because I didn’t have a U.S. cell phone (we are UK residents), the hotel refused call me to tell me that the room was ready! My room finally became available over 2.5 hours after the official time! The room that we booked (single bedroom suite) was comfortable but twice in 5 days I returned to room to find that it had not been cleaned and made up. The wifi /internet connectivity in the room was virtually nonexistent, as was the satellite TV reception which repeatedly froze. The prices for food and beverage are extortionate and the menu was limited. Worst of all though was the attitude of the front desk staff who were arrogant and obnoxious and who obviously cared little for their guests. An example of this was when after deciding to extend my stay in Mammoth Lakes, I enquired about room rates only to be quoted $600 per night! When I questioned why this was higher than my original booking room rate and if this included lift passes, I was told that because my stay was only 2 days, they couldn’t offer a package?? I pointed out that I would be at the hotel for a total of 7 days but the Receptionist clearly did not care about securing repeat business for her employer. I therefore enquired with another hotel in the area and was quoted $487 for two nights, including lift passes – a bargain compared to the Westin. Early the next morning I checked out of the Westin and drove to the other establishment fully expecting, because of the time of day, that I would not be able to check in. How wrong I was – the front desk staff were hospitable and courteous, the exact opposite of the Westin. The room that I have reserved was not available so they upgraded me to a superior room and was allowed to check in at 7am - I was at the gondola at 8:30am! If you want good quality, value for money and don’t want to be treated like second class citizens – avoid the Westin at Mammoth Lakes at all costs. 9 avril 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by mountain manners I stayed with the westin for one night. Upon arrival, we were offered champagne as SPG members. One glass was plastic and large, the other was glass and small. Quaint but not a deal-breaker, apart from the issue of plastic champagne flutes in general. Once in the room, the first towel taken from the shelf was found to be smudged with makeup and lipstick and have several dark hairs in its folds. A call to housekeeping yielded a gentleman who called it "pretty gross", but declined to comment further. When I asked if he could switch all the towels, instead of just replacing disgusting nappy #1, he shrugged and said "I guess so". The next morning I called to request a breakfast menu. The service operator insisted that I had one in my room. Only after I agreed that there might be one somewhere in the room, did she agree to have another sent up. She sent up a photocopied stack of papers, stapled together to serve as a menu, along with the breakfast pre-order door hangers. I called to ask if I could order from the door hanger. She said no, those had to be used the night previous. Since there were no door hangers in my room until just minutes earlier, I inquired if I could perhaps be allowed to order from them, since they had several items not included on my stapled sheaf of papers menu. She reluctantly consented with an audible sigh. Breakfast was nice. I called to ask for a late checkout, which was granted. Lovely, and much appreciated. When my wife returned from the pool 1.5 hours before the new checkout time, her room card didn't work. Down at reception she was told that "the Westin doesn't do late checkouts". After several minutes of conversation regarding the matter, my wife called me, and then reception declined to speak with me, telling her "it's ok, we just found the notation, but we don't usually do that". I am a travel editor for a silly magazine that no one reads, and a former bartender: point being: A. I don't write reviews for the pleasure of reading my own drivel, and B. I know the thankless drudgery of service jobs. Notwithstanding; the Westin Monache managed to be understatedly bumbling if not haplessly rude on more than several occasions in a 24 hour period. 3 mars 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Too many dogs Firstly--the staff was nice however they were understaffed. the rooms were not ready when we arrived. also they never informed us that some of the rooms will be occupied by pets-namely dogs. they never gave us the option to stay in a pet-free room until we asked. that is when they moved us to another room but again we had to wait for the room to be cleaned. We WAITED 1HOUR AND 45 MINUTES! while we waited, the staff never even offered us to go somewhere else where it was warmer for us to wait--until we asked again. they could have at least offered us to go to the restaurant while we waited. Secondly--this is a hotel, not a kennel?!!! there was urine and dog feces visible on the property outside. it smelled like wet-dog. we personally have a dog but will never inconvenience other guests by bringing our dog to a 5 star hotel. that is why we leave our dog in a kennel! hotels are meant for people, not dogs. it appeared that it was a dog hotel rather than a people hotel. lastly--the staff seemed to cater to the pets more than to disabled patrons. we had a hard time getting around due to the amount of steps to the hotel. we are not recommending this hotel to anyone. the only nice thing about this property is the decor. 31 décembre 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by If you are platinum FORGET IT!!! SPG status is not honored and will get you the worst room in the house. Unless you pay. What a rip. Had double checked on this before I went....talked with the hotel...and had no idea. 4 septembre 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwood Experience Ever! By Starwood standards, I am probably a light traveller, but I have been a Gold member since 2004. Although, location-wise, Starwood properties have not always worked out for my travel, I have always turned to them first. This stay was the worst experience I have ever had with what to this point was a company I respected. Do not ever, under any circumstances utilize this property if the main point of your stay is to visit Yosemite National Park. The staff at this hotel appears to be trained to mislead its guests about the location of the hotel in relation to the park. They told me that it is about a 30 minute drive to Yosemite. If you drive the speed limit, at best, it is a 45 minute drive just to get to entrance. However, and this is the most important point, the main attractions of the park are at least 2 hours of a further drive from the gate itself. They also said that Oakland (location of our return flight) would be about a 5 and a half to 6 hour drive. Easily, this is one and a half to two hours to short of an estimate. Do not trust this hotel. 10 juin 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Someone put a fake gold tooth on this cavity The people working here were very polite and nice. Beyond that there isn’t any reason to stay here. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone for any reason. I am a PLATINUM Starwood member, therefore as all of the prior PLATINUM members before me stated, this hotel is NOT a real Westin or Starwood property. They are taking our points and cash, but NOT providing the service. This hotel is totally empty and ghost town, literally no one anywhere, we had the pool and hot tub to ourselves, we also went out to dinner and were the only ones dining. But when I asked for my PLATINUM upgrade I was told there was no upgrade but I could get a discount to buy the next size of room which is a ONE BEDROOM. This is so funny, I told the guy I am PLATINUM and I regularly get much more than my needs, but on this trip when I have my family with me and I could really use the larger suite they declined my request. I then had to pay for a ONE BEDROOM, I actually paid for an upgrade and the hotel is EMPTY and they should have just given me the upgrade, and I am PLATINUM. I will never come back here and I will tell everyone I know. 5 mai 2012
<<préc 2 3 4 5