Rated 5 out of 5 by KeninCA Fantastic Off-season stay
What a great vacation! This property is terrific. We stayed in the Villas which are very up to date and well designed. The kitchens are spacious and fully equipped (even the blender worked great for those frozen drinks that we all wanted after a day in the sun).
There is a small, surprisingly affordable, grocery store nearby that made stocking the kitchen easy.
The pool and beach were well laid out and comfortable. The grounds are exceptionally well maintained and beautiful.
My only improvable was the housekeeping. We were expecting a full service every three days (as specified in our rate). We actually got light service every day, which was nice, but no full cleaning ever during our 9 night stay. Not a huge deal (and we didn't even call about it).
Would absolutely recommend this property. And we loved that it was the off-season, so we got into all the restaurants in town with no reservations needed (though many are closed in the last weeks of September, so be aware if you go then).
October 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Erinhe1 Excellent Stay
Loved this resort, stayed 7 nights. Assigned to 2nd floor, building 21 which I thought was a great location--view of the beautiful grounds & of the water/bay, close to the pool & beach restaurant. All rooms have balconies (a real plus) or patios (some rooms on 1st floor may not have great views). Food options for 7 days were a expensive & limited, so next time will need to figure out alternatives. Staff were all very friendly and helptul. Beautiful pool and nice beach. Cruz Bay Water Sports on site, 2 thumbs up! Only complaint was the flat screen TV. The voice was totally not synched with the picture (nightlife is quiet on St. John, so watching TV is entertainment).
October 13, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by mizali St John
We had a wonderful time on the island of St. John. It is charming. The hotel provided us with all theinformation we needed to explore the island and have wonderful meals. Would come again in a minute.
October 12, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Neodoc Wonderfully relaxing!
Excellent facility with all the amenities! A little far from town and taxi costs add up quickly. A complimentary town shuttle is an obvious solution and would be quite welcome! Service here is a strong point and should be appaluded!
October 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by LBoogie nice hotel
I enjoyed my stay and staff very friendly. I think thr rooms need to be upgraded though. My expecations were not met.
October 3, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by MikeP2 This was a really great vacation
The Westin St John was a great place to stay in the Caribbean. The staff at the hotel was pleasant and attentive. My wife and I stay at Westin Hotels pretty frequently, and this hotel is above the Westin standard. We really enjoyed the poolside bar. Service was quick and the drinks were good. Mango Deli was a good place to get a sandwich on resort. The resort is really clean, and well taken care of. The hotel is a $5 (per person) taxi ride to restaurants, beach bars, and shopping.
October 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Rob61 Nice stay
Nice hotel with very pleasant setting.
September 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by kahlil16 HOTEL RESORT FEATURES
the resort is beautiful an very easy to manuever. views from rooms are fantastic very picturest. rooms very spacious w/comfortable beds
September 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tex78 Stunning Location but-
*Gardens well maintained
*Thanks for room upgrade to poolside
Room for improvement:
*We waited until 5pm for our room to be ready when we arrived
*Housekeeping was erratic and late. Supplies sometimes not replaced
*Decor should be more colorful for the location
*Be careful of the carts
*mosquito control inside of room (coils)
*Restaurants very average and limited hours open.
*The deli in the resort was not well stocked.
*We were not informed about the nearby full market
*Shuttle into town became expensive The hotel should provide scheduled transportation
*the pickup at the airport was worth the expense.
September 28, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by sis54 I can recommed this hotel to anyone
This is my third year at this hotel. I enjoy my stay every year. My husband and I travel in September because we enjoy the off season quietness at the resort and the island. My only issue is that the food and service at the only resturant open in the evening is not very good. I think this is because of the off seaon and have found several nice resturants open in Cruz Bay. It would just be nice to be able to have a nice dinner on property. The deli/market has great sandwiches which we take to the beach every time we go.
September 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Art99 Always enjoy this resort
Everything was great as expected. The staff were very nice, especially Neil who greeted us and took us around upon arrival. Facilities look well kept and lots of maintenance taking place. Only complaint was regarding water, was turned off for repairs one day but we were given notice and it was not a factor. However, on our last morning we awoke to no water......stressful enough to pack and leave under normal conditions, we had to go down the hill and buy coffee, use bathrooms, and go to the Spa for showers. Unpleasant way to end an otherwise great vacation.
September 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by MJB2012 Outstanding!
My wife and I spent 5 nights at the resort for our 10th anniversary. While we spent a majority of the time exploring the island, the resort was a perfect "home base".
We were impressed with the genuine friendliness and helpfulness of the staff (especially Kenneth, who always seemed to be there to help, and Charlotte, who worked magic in the deli).
Since it was low season, we were unable to eat at Cruz Bay Prime; however the other restaurants were nice, if a bit pricey (to be expected).
We found ourselves becoming frequent visitors of the Mango Deli on the premises. They make an excellent breakfast sandwich for a very reasonable price, and offered plenty of nice picnic-type items, all reasonably priced.
I took a two tank dive charter from Cruz Bay Watersports located on the premises. The experience was excellent, with a very competent, friendly, and helpful staff. I brought my own diving gear, but I think next time I will rent (it is only $5.00 more). The rental gear appeared to be good quality and in good shape.
If there was anything that could be considered a bit disappointing, I would say the food. While the quality and variety was fine, I would have liked to see them offer more authentic, local fare.
In summary, the Westin St. John resort provided excellent service and amenities, with a friendly, courteous and helpful staff, in a breathtaking location. Having been to many islands in the Caribbean, I consider St. John to be one of the finest, and I am grateful for making my vacation a very memorable one. I look forward to returning...soon!
September 18, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Raj1 Great secluded hotel
Great hotel. Great pool. Great staff. We had a wondeful time. The watersport equipment provided by the hotel is fantastic. The only negative feedback that I have is that the hammocks are reserved for cabana rentals. I used one without realizing it and was asked to get off by the a hotel staff.
September 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wackka Great stay despite a very rough start.
This stay was supposed to be a awesome well deserving girl's vacation and it was almost ruined by the welcoming committee (Franique and Kara) at the airport in charge of issuing you your transfers. No welcoming smile, rude, curt and no customer service skills were how we were met by St; John Westin Villa staff. This was followed by them informing me that my 3 bedroom villa was canceled by someone and we were placed in a 1 bedroom villa.
After 4 hours on the phone with 2 supervisor and a change in room, we were finally able to enjoy the wonderful island and Westin St. John Villa. Kudos to Akema, Shamir, the cab drivers, the ground keepers for an impeccable ground/grass, the welcoming staff at the hotel and the shuttle service who always picked you up/drop off with a smile.
August 30, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Annie25 Beautiful grounds
We did enjoy our stay but was disappointed that the beachfront rooms were old. The food was extremely expensive and the pool bar only stays open till 5. So if you just want to chill with a burger for dinner you can't get it after 5:00. Bummer not everyone wants to get dressed and go to a expensive restaurant every night. Kids had a blast with pool volleyball. Overall I would go back
August 14, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Baba Great Employees
Every employee I came in contact was exceptionally capable and professional (even the cab drivers)Ms Ivy was an employer's dream.
August 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Eric104 Dissapointed
We went on our honeymoon here, and having been here 11 years ago with a better experience, I was a bit dissapointed. We arrived at 11AM and wanted to check in early, and had called a few days prior requesting this and were told they would try do so. When we arrived they didn't seem to have a record of this request and told us they'd try to get a room ready. Thus, we weren't notified until 245PM that we could check in early, just 15 minutes short of normal check in time, so we had to lock up our bags and sit around at the pool waiting. I know there is no gaurentee of early check in, but I've never had an issue with doing so at tons of other hotels and considering this was off-season I find it hard to believe theyy couldn't find a room to get us in. Further, the staff overall was not very friendly considering the price we were paying to stay there. I'm not sure if I would come again.
August 11, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Eric104 Needs improvment
Need improvement in the customer service aspect of this staff considering the expensive cost we paid.
August 11, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by JeffG42 I was a peasant non-owner
1. On arrival night the smoke detector started beeping at 430 am and we had to have someone bring a 20 foot ladder to fix at 5am which prevented any of us from sleeping.
2. When we changed rooms we were to receive a call when the room was ready but never got a call.
3. On the third day we called a shuttle and were walking down the stairs to catch but the female driver chose to drive off. At that point I cancelled my scheduled timeshare villa sales pitch session.
4. Also on day of arrival someone ran my credit card which was approved. Then later someone else erroneously ran it again and it was declined, prompting a message from the front desk that they had not gotten paid which caused me to spend 15 unnecessary minutes with Amex to resolve.
I complained each time and demanded a discounted rate the first night and the only answer I got was “I’ll talk to my manager” and that’s as far as it went. The only priority of this location is to sell time shares, customer service is secondary. Housekeeping was great, however.
August 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by George1960 Did not meet my expectations
I have been to may Starwood resorts and hotels all over the world. I had very high expectations for this Westin Resort and was very disappointed.
- Slow service
- Food overpriced and did not taste good. Tuna had funny texture, rice was cold
- Room noisy. Crickets + u can hear your neighbors if they r in patio as if they r in ur room. Needs double pane windows to reduce noise.
- Room old and not well maintained for a 5 star resort at over $400 a night
- Beach loaded with algae. Once u swim deeper, water is great.
- Umbrellas and lounge chairs old and cheap quality. Table under umbrella a joke. Cheap plastic and wobbly. Cannot even hold ur drink.
- Club Cars all over the place and are very noisy. They should be replaced with electric quite ones.
- Mango Deli- slow service, grumpy worker, wrong orders
- Most bar, cafeteria and restaurant servers have no energy and seem unhappy rather than being cheerful and want to serve you with pleasure trying to make your experience a pleasant one.
- Lawn maintenance walk me up every morning at 7:30 AM!!! Cutting grass, trimming hedges, etc..
- Resort had no fun activities or entertainment. Very boring. Nothing to do after 5 pm.
August 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by crdavis Second Stay - Love This Resort!
This was my second stay at the beautiful St John resort. The staff is efficient and friendly, the rooms are clean (although the cleaning staff could be a bit friendlier), the pool is beatiful (the staff at Snorkel's is wonderful, friendly and fun). The grounds are impeccable and the shuttle service was good. My only critique would be the room decor is old and tired and needs updating. Overall, a wonderful stay that met and exceeded most of my expectations. I cannot wait for my next trip!
August 1, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by tracy12345 Was not what we expected
We decided to spend our 25th wedding anniversary at Westin St. John with our daughter. We had reserved a room with 2 beds. After a long day of plane rides and airports and waiting on our rental car, we finally arrived after dark at the Westin Resort and was informed that there were only rooms available with one bed. I showed them my reservation that was for 2 beds and they offered us a beachfront room with 1 bed at a discounted price and a complimentary rollaway bed. We took it. We went in our room and found a toilet with toilet paper and urine in it. We called and they had housekeeping come and clean it. The only other issue we had with housekeeping was that she came late in the afternoons to clean, usually around 5pm. One night she came and cleaned around 8pm. I called and asked them to clean earlier in the day and they did. The beach was nice, there were always plenty of lounge chairs. We didn't care for the constant view of about 50 sailboats at all times. For me, snorkeling wasn't good there at the beach. The best snorkeling was at Trunk Bay and we saw many sea turtles at Maho. Trunk Bay was the best snorkeling I have ever done. The grounds at the Westin are beautiful and the iguanas are abundant, one swam across the pool and surprised a lot of people. The teen club at the Westin I read about was a joke. All that was in there were video games and air hockey. It was a small room and when we were there it was mostly little kids. We have been to resorts that had teen clubs. This was just a game room and some didn't work right. The food was very expensive. One night we went to eat at the restaurant at the beach (can't remember the name# but it was located by the dock and offered a bar menu. We told the waiter we were going to order food off the bar menu and about 20 minutes went by and he never waited on us so we went to the deli #pretty good food there#. We felt like the waiter didn't care if he waited on us or not because we were not ordering expensively. We felt this way several times on our vacation. We are not rich and all meals are very costly at the Westin, so be prepared! Offsite, the food at Banana Deck was great. When we could have used a ride from the golfcart drivers, many passed us by. However, there were a few that were courteous and offered us a ride. Most of the time, we had to call and ask for a ride. Concierge #Teri# was very nice and helpful to us. So was Akeyna #not sure about spelling) at the front desk. I would recommend Westin St. John if you are not on a budget. The rooms need updating and we have stayed in a lot nicer resorts for less in Maui and Jamaica. Beware of mosquitoes and use plenty of repellent.
July 30, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Charlie54 Guest Relations Manager barely responsive
The flights were delayed and we paid for a night at St. John Westin that we were not in the hotel. I spoke with the concierge twice, who left two messages for the Guest Relations Manager. I also left two very detailed messages for him, and one for his manager. Total of 5 messages were left beginning on Thursday and he FINALLY left a message for us the night before we departed at 5:30 pm when we were out... without a resolution - only asking us to call him AGAIN. In my messages I asked him to call my cell phone so we could connect, instead he left a message in our room, while we were out. All we were requesting was some type of recognition from Westin that were paying (dearly) for a room we were unable to use and a gesture of compensation - perhaps a complimentary breakfast or dinner. We were so disappointed in the lack of response from the Guest Relations department.
July 29, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Read14 Disappointed
I booked two nights at the St. John Westin because the Villa we rented was unavailable for last weekend of our trip. I booked an Ocean View Room at a rate of over $500.00 per room. With that being said I have high expectations for properties with rates like that. Unfortunately I was very disappointed with this property. The carpeting in the room looked like it was from the 70's and was dirty! There were several permanent stains and quite frankly my first impression of the room was poor. Please be advised that the Ocean View Room was extremely far away from alot of the amenities so you can take the long walk to the lobby, tennis courts OR you can request a shuttle (big golf cart). We requested a shuttle several times but ended up not having anybody arrive for 10-15 minutes. Wouldn't have been bad but they told us to leave our room as soon as we hung up the phone. On one occasion we never received the shuttle. Overall I would recommend renting a private villa on St. John. For less money you can get an awesome place to stay. Spa was very dissapointing as well. Very small.
July 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Annopolis Great Hotel
The staff was very friendly and was very eager to assist, The room was very nice and housekeeping did there part as well. All in all my two day stay was great.
July 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Spagirl2012 Beautiful Service to Match a Beautiful Resort!
Thank you so much to both you and all of your team for creating such a memorable experience for us! It goes without saying that the resort grounds and views are nothing short of stunning, but your staff's attention to detail and friendly service is what made this vacation so special. I've forgotten a few names along the way, thanks to all those yummy rum drinks, but here goes:
Leslie, our pool server was by far the most engaging, polite and warm person we ran across. She was caring and friendly without being intrusive which kept us coming back DAILY for food & drinks poolside/beachside.
* Mango Deli staff was so friendly, but one gal really stood out. I feel badly about forgetting her name, but she was there at closing shift Wednesday night during our stay and off Thursday. We were sad we wouldn't see her our last day, but she gave us a giggle with each visit!
* Cruz Bay Prime = WOW! The meal and wine selection was just what we had been hoping for in a fine dining meal. We had been to several high priced restuarants in Cruz Bay and were disappointed with the food, so this was a refreshing treat! (The Lobster was succulent and buttery and the beef was melt in your mouth tender...bravo!) We would be remiss if we didn't mention our server Judy, who charmed us from beginning to the end of our meal. She was so warm and inviting that we wished she could just sit down with us at the table and have a glass of wine and a chat! However, everyone working that evening (Wed night) was FANTASTIC! The manager greeted us at the beginning and checked on us at the end of our meal. Even the food runners were wonderful, offering to snap our photo together when seeing us with our camera.
Finally, the guys at the Waverunner tour shack were just great! Tyler took us out on our last day, a very rainy Friday. He was funny and informative with the tour stop and ended our trip with a good time and laugh.
Being in the hospitality industry for 15+ years, I know first hand that excellent guest service and happy team members does NOT happen accidentally, nor is it easy to achieve with such big teams. It's a sign of happy associates that feel recognized for accomplishments, supported in their training and learning, and coached properly when needed. Bravo to you and your departmental managers who clearly have got it right!
July 25, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by DMommy Poor Customer Service & Attitude
The attitude of the locals was beyond unacceptable! They were rude, unhelpful and irritated by simple requests, such as: Where can I get a taxi? May I please get a menu? Where is the bathroom?
The service in the restaurants was below average. For example, I ordered a rum runner, a drink that is a specialty in St. John, and received it AFTER my appetizer and dinner were served. The drink was watered down and the ice had melted. There was NO attempt to rectify the problem by offering a fresh $10.00 drink.
On the day we were leaving, we asked for our breakfast to go. Instead I was handed a box for me to transfer my yogurt & fruit. I was terribly disappointed to see that I had just paid $17.00 for a half papaya with about three tablespoons of yogurt and fruit.
My room had mold growing on the ceiling and parts of the ceiling continously fell onto the bathroom floor. The second day that the housekeeping cleaned our room, the towels were taken, but not replaced. Therefore we had NO towels and discovered this AFTER I was in the shower.
Being a Starwood member, I have acquired high expectations because of the excellent service that you all have provided. This resort was terribly disappointing.
I usually try to find the good in every situation, especially at such an extraordinary location. The ONLY positive aspect of our stay there is the treatment we received from an Alicia & Prince. They went ABOVE & BEYOND with hosptitality & kindness. Alicia, assistant on the ferry, graciously offered to return our son's bags until we needed to meet his camp director. She provided excellent customer service, concern for our son's belongings & interest for our family enjoying a day on St. Thomas.
Prince, ferry attendant, was the most gracious, kind-hearted & friendly person on the entire island! We were inspired by Prince's thankful attitude towards his employment with Starwood, the life that he could provide for his wife and children that were back in the US and the blessings that most of the world take for granted. If Starwood ever needed an example of the ideal customer service represenative, Prince, is EXACTLY what every vactioner would love to meet. I am sincerely thankful for the 30 minutes my husband & I had on the ferry talking to Prince. Starwood is BLESSED to have such loyal, hard-working, caring & positive employees in Alicia & Prince.
July 24, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Petey7 Relaxing Getaway
We stayed in the villas across the street and up the hill. They are pretty removed from the resort, and super quiet. We didn't mind the walk down to the resort or calling their golf carts to take us.
The villa was nice, comfortable and in pretty good shape. There was a market 1/2 block away that had everything we needed. The resort is close to town, and not far to the other beaches that had snorkeling.
We were a little disappointed with the watersports/beach at the resort. They have limited, dated equipment, and lots of guests trying to use it. The property quits signing out equipment and selling food at the pool bar at 4:00. Kind of odd everything shuts down, no drinks, towels etc. after about 4:30.
We did some dives with Cruz Bay. They were fantastic!
The beach at the property is not nearly as beautiful as the other beaches on the island. So the resort is okay, but after realizing the $40 resort fee was high for what was there, and the headache of it all, We ended up spending much more time at other beaches, and had a great time!
July 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 Very satisfied
My husband and I stayed here for 3 night in October 2011 and we're getting ready to book another 5 night stay for October 2012.
We were totally satisfied with our stay at the Westin St. John. I've certainly stayed at more exclusive/upscale resorts but for the price, I think it is a good value. Our rooms were clean and updated. The staff was friendly. The grounds and the pool were beautiful. I really don't remember having any complaints.
My husband travels each week for business, so we're pretty particular travelers. We've complained about many hotels/resorts in the past but honestly had nothing to complain about at the Westin.
July 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Kimmy Spa not worth it!!!!
I have to say that I always try the Spa out on trips and get monthly massages and services when at home. My sister and I were excited to try out the Spa at a "Westin" we went for the Simplicity package as well as a Mud Wrap. The front desk was helpful and flexible. The massage was OK. The facial which should have included a neck and some arm massage had no massage at all. They did use products I liked. The pedicure was horrific. You are literally in a closet. There is only one nail tech. The chair is difficult at best to get in did I mention your in a closet. The chair does not even have a massage feature and the nail tech is not a happy or nice person. Save your money and enjoy the extra time snorkeling in trunk bay!!!
July 15, 2012