The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten

  • 144 Oyster Pond Road
  • São Martinho,
  • São Martinho
  • Mapa

Quartos e tarifas

Fechar

Crianças por quarto

Esta informação nos permite identificar os quartos que acomodarão melhor o seu grupo e nos preparar para sua chegada.

Consulte os termos e detalhes do quarto para obter informações sobre encargos por cama dobrável e/ou pessoa extra.

Política de idade mínima

O hóspede deve ter no mínimo 21 anos e apresentar um documento com foto para reservar um quarto.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 66 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Family Vacation My family stayed at the Westin for 5 nights. We were recognized as Starwood Platinum and given an upgraded room. The front desk staff remembered our names and asked about our stay several times during the visit. Sitting at the pool and beach was very pleasant although the beach surf was a little rough. The restaurant Oceans was very good for both breakfast (great buffet) and dinner. The poolside menu was very average. Fran at the concierge desk was very helpful. Renting a car right at the hotel was very fast and easy but reserving before we arrived helped. January 14, 2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel was too far Why on earth would you build a hotel in the middle of no where. It takes a half hour to get to a decent restaurant, there are no shops or places to walk around the hotel. We were very disappointed, will never go back, and the people who sell the time sharing are very annoying. Every time you pass them they want to offer you a free gift so that you will go inside to hear the sales story about the time sharing. I felt like I was being harassed. January 9, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Anniversary Vacation Stayed here for my 10th year anniversary ,the staff was extremely helpful and attentive,the property appeared very well maintained,the only compliant that i would have is that it is located out of the way of many attractions and phiilipsburg,but still very quiet and relaxed,I would stay again without a doubt. January 7, 2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't waste your time or money Best advise - Run, unless you enjoy the following: 1) Parking garage with car that have been broken into, and people hanging out in the garage 24/7, be careful, DON'T leave anything in car. 2) Hotel Check-in that doesn't really care if you are a SPG member or not, they just don't. 3a) Room shower with other peoples curly hair, and mold all the way around - Bring shower slippers 3b) Older pillows than what you would expect at a Westin 3c) Having to ask every day for coffee/cream sugar refill after room has been serviced by housekeeping. 3d) Construction going on in other rooms around you from mid morning till late afternoon. 4) Time share people stopping you every time you walk through the lobby, DBC staff will not leave guest along. I didn't come to St. Maarten to be bothered by sales teams on vacation. 5) No real beach - Total beach from wall to water, maybe 15 - 20 ft. 6) Extremely limited dining options on property. Swim up bar closed due to Hurricane, but they don't inform guest prior or even at check in. Steakhouse is closed - Again didn't inform guest, post on website or provide that at check in. So that leaves 1 dining option Oceans, the other "dining option", the lobby bar - Same food from Oceans. As a SPG Plat member I would expect more, I see why their pricing policy is prepaid, otherwise I would of checked out after the 1st night and gone to another resort. They want to make sure they get the guest money with no refund before you show up, otherwise that hotel would probably be empty every week. December 6, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Experience My husband and I have stayed at this hotel many times and have enjoyed every visit. That's why its so surprising that this visit has been so much better. We didn't know there was a better but they have achieved it. From the front desk folks to the concierge to the bellman - they have been fantastic. The level of service has been elevated and it is truly a pleasure to be here. November 18, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Typical great Island resort, but not Westin standards I stayed at this hotel about a year ago for during the US Thanksgiving holiday with 2 rooms. We had some amazing expereinces and some pretty dissapointing ones, so it is hard to truly rate the hotel. The high points: The casino was amazing! Staff was great. The bar staff was wonderful in the lobby bar. We had an issue with lost keys and the security staff was amazingly helpful and responsive, but took a long time to find a set of keys that were apparently simply left on a table by the elevator. The low points, well, the food in the restaurants was all below par and WAY overpriced, even by NY prices. Breakfast was OK, but don't bother with resort food anywhere else other than the bars. The beach and pool arent really great, its far too windy in this part of the island, but there are so many amazing beaches within a short drive. This wasn't a major deal for us. The door staff was pretty rude and unhelpful. I walked in carrying a number of bottles of rum I had purchased to bring home, and even though there were 4 or 5 staff hanging around the door, the carpet was turned up and I tripped on it and dropped some of the rum and the bottles broke. The door people just sat there and stared and didnt move until I got up and went and asked them for help to clean it up. That was completely unexcusable. The time share people are relentless. I had one badgering me as I was still getting out of my car, let alone walking into the resort. Cool it! The TV had major issues. Apparently, they didn't pay their satelite bill, as there was a message on half of the stations blocking us from watching TV saying that they needed to pay their bill. I brought this up to the Front desk and they said they knew about it but werent able to take care of the issue, so sorry. Nothing more. That is kinda crazy. Overall, we had a great time but it was not due to the hotel. It was pretty inexpensive and you get what you pay for. I wouldnt pay full price for this hotel, as it doesn't come close to Westin standards anywhere else. November 7, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great time at the Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa Just got back from 4 wonderful nights at this property. Hotel grounds and room was very clean and up to date. Has all the amenities that you would expect from a Westin resort. As other mentioned the timeshare workers are hovering around the lobby area. That is very annoying and probably the only negative thing I have to say about this resort. October 31, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Wonderful, relaxing home away from home! Every person on staff was pleasant and happy to see to every need. Super hotel staff. October 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Hotel, Beach not so good We stayed two nights at this property. The pool was great. Casino was small but had the basic table games. We stayed in a room with king-size bed and room facing pool/ocean. Room was good, to be expected for WESTIN property. However the beach wasn't great. Lots of seaweed and the water was sort of rough. October 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff, Beautiful Resort on Dawn Beach From Check in to Check out the whole Staff was amazing. When was the last time you had a Regional Manager (Dan Szydlowski), A General Manager (Daniel Beddor) come visit you at the pool or greet you in the lobby to make sure every thing was perfect? When they heard we were celebrating anniversaries and birthdays they put together a beach dinner with a cabana all lit up with LED lighting and a private waiter. Aura restaurant was going through renovations so they had the Chefs personalized menus for us. Sabrina & Kevin aka (nurse...inside joke) pool side server(s), and casino host were terrific, Kevin always had a smile and loved to joke with us. I have to wonder if he ever goes home? Simone in the Ocean restaurant made our Sunday brunch memorable and kept the champagne glasses full. I'm forgetting a few names but the director of HR was working the front desk a few days to cross train and three times she made it a point to ask if our upgraded room was still ok. I could go on forever...the bottom line is this place is worth a visit. Don't be afraid to email ahead of time for special events...they really went over and beyond. October 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Experience Beyond expectations! Every staff member was friendly, helpful, and attentive. We have food allergies and the Chef and Sioux Chef went out of their way to acommodate us for every meal, coming out to take our order personally and checking in with us after we were served. Would absolutely recommend this resort to anyone, beautiful beach location with soft sand and it was fun to see St Barths off in the distance. Only thing to note is that it is about 30 min from the airport and 15 min from town but we liked being away from everything and secluded. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel with amazing waterfront pool Our stay here was AMAZING! From the padded lounge chairs around the pool to the crystal clear water at the beach, everything was great. We had an ocean front room that was very large and nice. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at "Ocean" had great options and was well priced. Room service was delicious and once again well priced. The pool played relaxing music that made laying out very enjoyable. There is also a casino in the hotel with table games and slots I would definitely visit again. September 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lived There So I Know I lived on St. Maarten for awhile and went back after 10 years. The island's customer service has always been awful so I wasn't surprised it still was. I was hoping that Westin could have changed that around but that is asking too much. Honestly, it really is for St. Maarten. If you don't rent a car, it's $30 every time you want to go out because there's nothing around there. Other than that, the place is clean & beautifu. Wifi works, drinks flow, gym is nicer than I expected. I liked the casino there. Food was average and pricey, as in all hotels. Yet the beaches were gorgeous. Overall, it's a nicer-than-average island experience which is a good one because most island experiences really aren't that nice. August 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has beautiful outdoor scenery When we arrived at the resort, customer service began immediately. Very, very friendly staff throughout the entire stay. The atmospheres of the general areas were very relaxing, whether inside or outside the facility. The Spa was very classy and my massage was excellent. We appreciated the beauty, cleanliness, and privacy of the beach. When we wanted to venture away from the hotel, the hotel conveniently had taxis on standby (ask for Joe because he shares great info about the island). It was so convenient to have the Activities Desk arrange our reservations for our activities away from the resort. They answered all of our questions and gave accurate information about the activities. Everything about the resort appeared very organized and customer focused. We had two concerns that made a small portion of our experience a turn off. The first was, on the day we arrived and got our keys for the room, we were headed to the elevators and immediately we were approached by a sales rep about setting a 90-minute timeshare meeting. She asked for our room number to call us and tried to pressure us to set an appointment right on the spot. That was VERY annoying to deal with after traveling for long hours and while trying to jump-start our honeymoon. We finally agreed to sit through an appointment and it was VERY high pressured sales. We told the sales rep no (5) times before they backed off. They had some really great opportunities for us to take advantage of, but we felt they weren't listening to our declines to their offers. Our second concern was the comfort of the room. We understand that St. Maarten is humid and surrounded by water, but the hotel should consider investing in humidifiers because the room felt damp and smelled like mildew the entire stay. The dampness made the bedding, carpet, and our clothes feel uncomfortable. We met a couple who stayed in the condos and their room wasn't as bad since they didn't have carpet, but it was still humid. Our two concerns will not stop us from returning!!! July 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Resort! 4 time visitor Great staff - everyone friendly. Resort is clean and comfortable and the beach is great. Pool on the smaller side, but adequate. Front desk manager excellent upon check in. Upgraded room, champagne in the room and other great perks as a platinum member. Two thumbs up. July 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay We stayed a week at the Westin Dawn Beach. It is pretty far from everything (40 minutes from the airport) but with a rental car it was just fine. The Hotel itself is pretty standard Westin Resort looking. We got our usual ocean view upgrade and the room was very nice. It is only a three story building which I prefer in a resort setting. The thing that we noticed most was the staff. This was probably the friendliest Westin staff we've ever come across at one of their resorts (and we've been to MANY). The only real downside (for us) is that it is pretty far from local food places. It's a good 15 minute drive to Philipsburg and when you get there you can't find parking. There are a few local places that are a very short drive (Mr. Busby's Beach Bar) but they don't take credit card during the day. July 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs improvement Positives: The hotel was lovely and appeared recently renovated. The pool was beautiful with a swim up bar and a great view of the ocean. The employees (all but the ones from the activities desk) seemed genuinely helpful and nice. Pirate night was pretty cool and I think that they should expand upon the theme, the kids loved it! Small Negative: The parking facility was very poorly lit which does not give you the best “feeling” in the world. There also seemed to be people that did not work at the Westin just hanging out in the parking facility, kind of strange. Big Negative: The activities desk! It is severely lacking. This is a HUGE deal breaker as there are many other hotels out there that have a more helpful activities desk and in my opinion excursions make the vacation. The activities desk is operated from 9AM to 5PM which is really very silly because typically you would be out and about during the day and not be booking things. A more appropriate schedule would be 7AM to 10AM and then again from 7PM to 10PM. Plus, there is a restaurant booking desk (directly adjacent to the activities desk) that only books restaurants and is open from 7PM to 10PM, why not just combine the desks???!!! Can the same person not book restaurants and activities??? Let me tell you about the two activities that we did book: 1. A $39/person submarine trip which was supposed to be for 1 ½ hours but only lasted for about 40 minutes. Misleading when you are planning your day around it! What if you went to movie for $10 that you thought was 2 hours and it was only for 1 hour? You would be disappointed wouldn’t you? And that’s only a movie. It’s all about expectations! 2. A $115/person Anguilla snorkel excursion and when we got to Bobby’s Marina, no one was there!!! It turns out that the Westin did not confirm the trip with the tour operator! Luckily, we ran into a different tour operator who was also going to Anguilla and we requested to join his boat because our boat did not show up!!! When we returned to the Westin and let them know the story they would not refund our deposit (which is really the Westin’s commission) because we managed to book another boat ourselves! This does not make sense at all….why should they get a commission? All they did was not book a trip and potentially waste precious vacation time of ours? I will be disputing the $140 commission with my credit card. Suggestions for Westin: Rethink the activities desk! Add lighting to the parking facility. Bonus Suggestion for Westin: Put in a slide from the upper pool level to the lower pool level. Other Comments for Westin: The food at the onsite Ocean restaurant was pretty good but could have been a lot better. There is a nearby restaurant called Canoa which serves far superior food for a similar price point. Advise for you: Book excursions directly with tour operators and not through the Westin and try to negotiate the commission off the pricing. Google > Activities Desk. Also, go check out Pinel island, it is great. Thank you for reading. July 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the BEST Westins I have stayed at The staff at the Westin Dawn Beach is amazing and a special thank you to Dan, Kenneth, Aisha and Sabrina for making our stay awesome! June 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Unbelievable Stay! We arrived to St. Maarten and the Westin hotel slightly worried after reading a few of the reviews online. All I can say is Wow. My wife and I are both separately SPG platinum members. We also got married at the Westin in the Grand Cayman Islands. Needless to say, we travel a LOT. The facilities blew us both away and the rooms were extremely nice for a Caribbean beach vacation. The beach was simply awesome…sand felt like walking in flower. The beach is very private and not huge like 7 mile beach, but it is plenty big for walking and just laying out. We also spent a ton of our time in the water. SPG Status Recognition – We used points to book this vacation which guaranteed us access to a room with a resort view. Our status was appropriately recognized and we were given an ocean view on the top floor. We knew going into this that we probably had a better chance at an upgrade due to traveling in a slower month. Other than the room they also delivered us a bottle of champagne to the room on two separate occasions. We also were given free breakfast buffet every morning as our platinum gift. Lastly, they gave us coupons to get access to certain beach items. They called each day to ensure that our needs were being met. I write all this to say that our status was DEFINETLY recognized. We rented a vehicle for our trip and I would recommend that anyone visiting the island at any location due the same. You will need to travel by car, whether you are going to Marigot for pastries, Grand Case for some insanely good dinner, Orient Beach (just for the experience), long bay (rich and famous), or travel to a ferry to visit St. Barts for the day. For those who don’t know, St. Maarten has unbelievable food on the island. Check out Trip Advisor before going. The room was wonderful, almost all the staff were wonderful, we spoke with the GM twice as he personally went up to everyone in the pool area (almost daily) to see how they were doing, and the vacation was wonderful thanks in a large part to the Westin Hotel. Noteworthy Amenities at the hotel – beach, ocean water, views from balcony, great exercise room, infinity pool and swim up bar, spa, staff poolside and beachside. June 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Awful staff This hotel simply does not meet the Westin standards. With the exception of the pool staff, this staff is awful. From check-in to check-out, the majority of the staff was rude unhelpful and downright surly. I don’t recommend this hotel because of the staff. June 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by terrific trip We've stayed at the Westin Dawn Beach multiple times and each trip has been excellent. The property is outstanding --- the best on the island --- it's incredibly well maintained and the staff is wonderful. They're all really nice from the moment you walk through the front door and it almost gives the resort the feel of a B & B. Great for families too as we always bring our two young children. I highly recommend it! June 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary We had a wonderful week celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary at the Westin and would recommend it for any couples that want a relaxing time away. The majority of the staff were very customer focused. The management staff made a special effort to make this event special for us. We would highly recommend this hotel to friend and for us a return visit, May 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel with issues We have stayed at this resort several times before and had better experiences in the past than this last stay in April 2014. When we arrived my Gold SPG status was recognized but I was quickly informed that we could not be upgraded as there was a special group staying at the resort and all the better rooms were taken. We accepted that and didn't let it bother us but during this stay we ended up having two other bad experiences. On our first night we decided to eat at the Ocean Restaurant and while Deborah our waitress was pleasant we discovered later that she changed our bill when we checked out. The total for food & drink was $77.50 we left a 20% tip of $15.50 so our total should have been $93.00 but upon checking out we discovered we were charged $96.00 so it appears my tip was changed making my 5 into an 8 so the tip would be $18.50. I believe a 20% tip is more than decent and while a $3.00 increase in our bill is not substantial it is the idea that someone would do this that is disheartening and not a good reflection on the hotel staff. I reported the change to the the front desk supervisor after we checked out who made a call to whom I assume was the restaurant manager and tried to alert him to this offense. As I was only able to hear one side of the conversation I don't know what was said but it appeared to not be of any concern to the person on the other side of the phone call which is another terrible reflection on management. I would suggest anyone staying at the resort be careful and check your bill when charging food to your room. Unfortunately, this was not the only bad experience. On our second morning we slept in a little bit and when we were about to leave the room I heard the housekeeper next door asking the guests when they would be leaving their room but they said they needed more time. I popped my head out of our room and let her know that we would be leaving the room so she could do our room and her response to me was "Not Now!". This took me by surprise. My husband and I returned to the room more than 4 hours later only to find that our room had not been cleaned at all that day. The bed was left unmade and towels were not replaced. Very disappointing trip to a resort we have enjoyed in the past. Not sure if we will stay again but we love the island!! April 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent hotel, friendly staff and a great place for a family getaway Stayed here with my wife and 2 young kids for 4 nights recently and enjoyed everything from the accommodations (large room and bathroom, with the heavenly king size bed, a kitchen, etc.), the friendly staff, great food and willingness from everyone who works there (from the regional GM and GM, to the cleaning staff, restaurant staff, pool staff, concierge, front desk, etc.) to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. This was our first time staying in St. Maarten and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking to getaway for a long weekend, even if you have to bring your kids! April 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall an amazing property! We stayed 5 nights at the westin and visited almost all of the beaches on the island. This was by FAR the best beach on St Marteen. The food was excellent and staff went above and beyond. Fran the concierge was wonderful too and had some great recommendations for dinner and activities. We'll definitely be back! April 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not Westin Quality This hotel appears nice but has issues. The gym is small and one treadmill and one elliptical was inop. My room WiFi did not work, my telephone did not work. Food was great, service also. Was charged $28 for an inoperative computer in the Business Center with an inoperative printer. Was told that no manager was on duty. How can this be called a Westin????? March 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Spot on St. Maarten This hotel was an absolute gem! The staff was wonderfully helpful and the property was everything you would expect from the stellar Starwood brand. March 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by TERRIBLE Customer Service On Thursday, March 6, 2014, My boyfriend and I arrived at the Westin Saint Maarten excited to start our trip for what was supposed to be a romantic getaway. We requested an Ocean view room and were ready to get to our hotel after a long flight. When we arrived at the hotel, we were told by the front desk clerk that ocean view was not available and that the only room available was a first floor Resort View room. We asked if she could check for another room as that is not what we were expecting or told we would receive. She agreed to check and called the manager. The manager asked that we have a seat as they checked other rooms. After about 20 minutes, the manager,David, came over to us in a very hostile manner(hands on his hips and all) telling us that no other rooms were available and "what we see is what we get". He then accused my boyfriend of cursing at him, though he did not, and quickly apologized when he realized he had "misheard" him. Immediately, we decided that we were not comfortable staying there- the room issue could have been quickly resolved, but the manner in which he spoke to us was unacceptable. We told David that we no longer wanted to stay at the Westin and we would like to be refunded our money to which he quickly refused. We then asked to use the phone so we could call American Express and book another hotel-refund or no refund. After American Express heard what was taking place on other side of the phone, they quickly called and spoke to David. Whatever they said to him must have infuriated him because he appeared from the back office mad as ever. As we were waiting to receive our confirmation number from Amex for our new hotel, David came over and told us that we needed to get off the phone because we were "running up the phone bill.", calling the need to use the phone for so long "ridiculous". As a frequent visitor of the Westin, I was mortified and humiliated- I have never been spoken to or treated in such a manner by any establishment, especially one I was paying for. Amex requested to speak to David for a second time, this time from our end. We handed the phone to David, and after he had finished speaking to amex, quickly tried to hang up the phone, knowing we hadn't finished or gotten our confirmation number. When I asked him why he would do that knowing we weren't finished, he again said that we were running up "his" phone bill. I let him know very quickly that I would be letting SPG know about his service and practices. Thankfully we left and stayed at a far better property. This hotel is located in a beautiful area, appears to be extremely clean, and even has a nice ambiance, but the customer service is absolutely disgusting. I don't ever plan to visit this hotel, and would not advise anyone else to while he is still employed at this property. March 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by CASINO? + hotel POINT 1: The first thing that strikes guests is the misplaced casino dominating the entry to this hotel. It's a fairly nice hotel and in my opinion, the casino is a huge detractor. It seems to me that a lot of prime real estate is wasted on this under-utilized casino endeavor. POINT 2: Be careful making a reservation here if there is any chance your plans may change. We planned to stay 6-nights but had to leave after staying only three nights. The hotel still charged for the FULL reservation; not just a one-night penalty for an early departure (as is customary); again, "billed for the full reservation". POINT 3: Perhaps indigenous to the island and not just this hotel, but don't expect normal 'customer service'. It seems that everyone employed by the hotel seemed to be having a bad day, the only exception was the lady working the concierge desk, she was awesome. If you want any service, be prepared to ask for it; serious! If you don't speak up, the wait staff will just ignore you. POINT 4: This hotel is located as far from the airport as you can possibly get. It's as if someone set a prison on a beach. There is not much nearby, so expect to utilize commercial transportation if you want to escape being a resort hostage. POINT 5: We reserved an "ocean view" but were given a "resort view". A "resort view" evidently involves looking at the air drying laundry in the neighboring slum; no water, no beach, not even a courtyard in view, this is what a "resort view" means. Read "POINT 2". My credit card had already been charged for a 6-night stay, two months in advance. The "ocean view" was substituted for a "resort view" at check-in. The hotel had my money, did not deliver the room reservation I made, and charged me for 6-nights when we only stayed for 3-nights. As a frequent business traveler (240 nights/year), I would NOT stay here again. Therefore, I certainly CANNOT recommend it for others. This experience was very sour, I doubt I'll be inclined to explore any other Starwood branded properties. March 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Honeymoon Bliss!! This review is past due, but I had to clear some time to make sure i wrote it. My wife and I were married last October and were thrown as to where to spend our honeymoon. We are members of Starwood Preferred Guest Program, but participate in American Express Fine Hotels Program as well. While we started our search for destinations with Amex Fine Hotels, we quickly realized that given our busy schedules, budget, and time available to take a honeymoon, along with a desire to go somewhere that neither of us had been before, Starwood, and specifically Westin, would give us both the level of service and amenities, as well as the value that we were trying to obtain. One thing was for sure. We wanted to be on a white sandy beach with clear blue water, good dining options, and have the ability to disconnect from the real world when desired, while still being able to watch cartoons and news if desired. After much assistance from Starwood's vacation counselors, as well as the blessings of AAA and Amex travel advisers, we set our sites clearly on the Westin Dawn Beach. Although the property is not listed on American Express Fine Hotels list, which has served us well to this day, it did receive good reviews from those counselors and friends that told us they had stayed there. Well, they did not disappoint. The first positive for me was their concierge, Joseph. I am accustomed to calling a property ahead of my stay and pre-arranging dinner and activity reservations. Joseph put so much time and effort into helping us create a itinerary, LISTENING to our preferences, offing suggestions, and proving exemplary, professional customer service. By the time I actually arrived at the property, I thought that we had already known each other for some time! He was awesome and as a business owner, We all wish we had more "Joseph's"! Upon arrival in St. Marteen, we rented a jeep from a local provider, which ended up being surprisingly good. I am a Hertz Gold guy, so i suppose my expectations are high and was expecting a let down, but they were courteous, the vehicle was late model and in pretty good condition, save for a few small scratches and a hole or two in the seat fabric. But for a convertible, it was acceptable. after a educational drive from the airport, we finally happened upon the property. We were a little complacent when we first arrived, since the entrance to the property kind of jumps up on you and is basically just a nice Westin sign, some nice landscaping and a view of the parking garage. but once we pulled up in front of the front doors, we were a little more at ease, as it was much more opulent. We met Joseph immediately upon arrival and he was very cordial and happy to finally meet us. he escorted us to the from desk, where Marla took over. She was equally as friendly, caring and professional. We had informed Joseph prior to our arrival that not only was it our honeymoon, but that we had just lost our main business location to 4' of water in hurricane Sandy, and that this was our one chance to not think about it. They must have spoken to management and pulled some strings in light of our situation, because there was a big surprise in store for us. Marla informed us that our room wasn't ready, but that we could go have a cocktail by the ocean bar and they would let us know when we were ready. Upon my request, they did show us a cute little room on the second floor that could be ready immediately, but we weren't crazy about the particular view and location, so they said "no worries" and we proceeded to the pool for a welcome rum punch (which we were very welcome to have!). Finally, about 45 minutes later, we were informed that our room was ready. Well, our room was not just a room, but a beautiful suite tucked away on the ocean-side right hand corner of the property. When we arrived at the front DOORS (yes, DOORS, not door) of the room, we were both really excited. It was a positively wonderful room with a secluded patio and wonderful views of the ocean from both patios! AND they had a nice cold bottle of French Champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us! What thoughtfulness this staff exudes! Everyone was wonderful and gracious hosts during our week there. Sabrina was very helpful, as was Virgini at the pool bar, Rodney the black jack dealer, the Italian matre D and chef in the fine dining restaurant (sorry paisanos, i can recall names), the pool attendants, everyone. The Spa was wonderful as well, although facilities really needs to keep up in there, as the same light bulbs were out and toilet out of order on both my visits there. it appears as if the property did get a face lift since some of the earlier reviews that I read prior to my arrival. The carpets were new, and they were redoing the facade while we were there, without interruption to our stay i might add. The GM Daniel Beddor and regional director Dan Szydlowski should be commended for have such a wonderful group of ladies and gentleman working for them. The property is nice, but the staff is what made it special. The island was fun yet relaxing and the food on the french side is way off the hook. Our favorite restaurant was Le Tastevin (just had to mention their name, they were just that good), which Joseph recommended highly. We will most certainly be back to this property!! Job well done guys! February 28, 2014
  • 2015-04-19T18:17:21.934-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co-hasreviews, tv_66, tr_66
  • loc_en_US, sid_1770, prod, sort_default
<<prev2 3 next>>