Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Hawaii
  • 96815
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 712 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Platinum status just doesnt matter here anymore. Obviously this hotel doesnt value the starwood preferred status. As a platinum member you just come to expect some things from starwood properties. Check in was great (except somehow we got skipped for the lais that the other guests seemed to get) we did get upgraded to a nice room which was awesome, as I park a car, I am ok with the resort fee. In the past at the resort when I have stayed we have had a welcome fruit basket, which I always thought was a nice touch of recognition, but as a business owner I understand cut backs and a changing economy. My bad experiences started with the free continental breakfasts that Platinum guests can now choose as there welcome ammenity. I honestly think the hotel resents giving this out. Our experiences over the first 3 days at breakfast just got progressively worse until I talked to the restaurant manager, then the guest services manager, and no one seemed to have any empathy or see anything wrong with the situation. Again as a business owner, I look at problems as an opportunity to fix the situation which is much better than letting the unhappy guest go away and stew. I found their response to be almost more disconcerning than the original problem (which in fairness they did comp the 2 days breakfasts that we were wrongly charged for) The issue wasnt about the price though for the breakfasts it was about how the restaurant made us feel through using the "coupons" and in each and every case it was far from being a valued platinum member. At a sister starwood property almost next door, the platinum guests get a platinum wrist band for special recognition and preferred seating at the restaurants, not treated like 2nd class citizens. March 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Moana The service I come to expect from Star Woods was lacking at this property. For example a room booked for two beds several months ago was unable to be fulfilled. We were told there wasn't a bed available. Several phone calls later they were able to locate a rollaway bed to put in our room. Next, the bathroom has mold in the shower. Another issue the air conditioning did not work properly. Then we go reserve an umbrella and there isn't one available. We tried to reserve one at 8 am still not available. We had a $10 umbrella credit. So we tried to apply it to the beach chairs we Rented. Unable to do that!! Then we get over billed for those!! August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Hotel Fantastic from the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was the best. Check in was super easy with the most friendly and helpful member Steve, he could not have been better. the whole stay was amazing from the beautiful view of the ocean to the service and qauality of food in the Ocean Club, my only complaint was we had to leave. I truly wished we were staying longer. I would recomend the Moana Surfrider to anyone looking for a beautiful hotel where your made feel special from the moment you arrive. September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is perfect Grand features mixed with new luxuries nestled alongside Waikiki beach, with a stroll to the shops and restaurants, parks and transport. Swim, relax enjoy your favourite beverage and be pampered by the great staff. September 29, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely noise rooms and unhelpful staff in resolving issues We just checked in last night for a weekend of relaxation and rest by the ocean. The rooms are nice/clean, but we immediately noticed the extremely high street noise level in the room. The bands on the street and busses/cars mind as well have been playing in the room or driving directly through the room. I approached the front desk staff at 3 separate times about the issue, and they were completely unable to help. I understand they may be booked and not have any alternatives, but the answer was simply a "sorry nothing we can do" and then they presented me with a map of the street and suggested that I check out one of the other non-Starwood properties on the block. As a loyal Starwood member for years, it completely rattles my faith in the brand to have employees suggesting competitor hotels as the only solution to issues. This hotel is by no means up to the Westin standard that I have come to know and love. I would save your money and stay somewhere else, and if you have points you are hoping to use... stay somewhere else and use them on spa services or something instead (maybe another Starwood property in the area?). January 15, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suggestions 1. Bathroom ceiling had mold over entrance door that was growing during our stay. 2. On our first full day we left the room at 7am and it wasn't made up until 2:30-inconvenient. 3. The main reason we go to the Moana Surfrider is for the relaxed island atmosphere. No longer does the back porch offer that relaxation. There are 2 or 3 computers set up at each high top table doing business, while people are talking loudly on cell phones in the lounge chairs. there was even a man pacing back and forth under the Banyan tree while on a business call on his bluetooth. I could not read my book or a newspaper with all the business going on. I felt like I was in New York. I come to Hawaii to relax, not to listen to overwrought techies. It ruined the Banyan Courtyard serenity. Put them in their own room! This is our 8th stay at Surfrider. February 3, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissappointed ... last visit was several years ago for my wife's 40th birthday - stayed in tower and was great - one of her favourite hotels. However after recent stay - no longer the case and will not stay again given other options. The room and bathroom in old building were tiny (door opens about 6 inches from the bed) sold as city view - looked into an adjoining wall brick wall and was ridiculously noisy- checked 3 times to make sure windows were closed? requires double glazing. To make matters worse room 450 is opposite cleaners storeroom and they made no attempt to be quiet at 3am !! The hallway lights are on full beam and combined with the noise almost impossible to sleep? really disappointing as we had also recommend to friends we were travelling with. March 30, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Moana surf rider Wonderful accommodation and location. If I had any comment it would be at daylight you were awake as the window coverage is not blackout (but it certainly didn't hurt to get up early). Having the pool and beach in front of the resort was wonderful. I would stay there again. September 27, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not an SPG hotel I am writing this review as a current SPG platinum guest, and solely based upon my experiences of this this stay. The hotel itself is great and the hotel in general has been very well at the upkeep. As a platinum member I am disgusted at the level of recognition offered. The fast that the $25+ resort fee covered much of what I should be entitled to, and that a few of the amenities have not been offered to me, seems to be a rip off. I am essentially paying for self parking, which I do not have. They have not even placed the "two bottles of water" in my hotel room that I am supposed to receive at all. The hotel and the rooms are clean, and my room appears to be clean. There was a used condom on the floor next to my bed when I checked in, this to me was so disgusting. This is something that should not be easily overlooked. Highly unacceptable. The second night I placed the card on my bed to have my sheets replaced, seeing as there were stains and tears on the sheets fitting my bed. The replaced all my sheets except the fitted one. Also highly unacceptable. Tonight, after having a cocktail party, I requested turndown service. I returned to my room at 9:15pm and nothing was done. Also highly unacceptable. My room overlooks the pool area and has a band until 10:30pm. My first night I called and asked to be moved to a quieter room and I was told there was nothing available. I do not believe this for a second. I took a second Ambien and I eventually fell asleep. Granted I wanted to go to bed at 9pm because of jet lag. Tonight I planned on a dinner at the hotels restaurant. When I enquired about reservations in the morning I was told it would be no problem, I could come at any time. When we showed up, we were told there was an hour wait for five people. Two people left so we could get a decent table. The manager of the restaurant got three of us in fast, but this put a big cramp in my evening. our sever was good, but clearly used to the push them through fast service of a big hotel. This is definitely not specialty dining. The pool is over crowded and the only way to get a place to relax after 10am when all the chars are taken is to spend $50 for beach chairs. If you are coming to this hotel for an SPG experience seem another hotel. If you are coming here and want something on the beach and nice rooms then this is a good place. May 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed - Third time is not a "charm" I grew up on Oahu and every time I return "Home", I have high expectations of this hotel. This is my third stay at the hotel and is the worst one so far. First, when I checked in I wasn't told that it was a handicapped accessible room. Second the bathroom showed a large patch of rust. Third, the shower design resulted in water flowing throughout the bathroom. Every morning I had to order an extra 5 bath mats to soak up the water. I contacted SPG and send pictures of the rust. The hotel offered to move me, but how do you move a family of four (including girls - 7 & 10) without disrupting our schedule. I would have thought I would have been treated better since I've stayed there two previous times. FYI, I don't usually complain or write these reviews, but I was so disappointed that I had to do it. July 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is perfect! From the first time we walked through the front of the hotel and saw the exquisite Bayan tree and beach we knew we were in for a BIG treat! The staff was wonderful, the entertainment was excellent, and the facilities were immaculate! Thank you for the perfect place! September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has everything Once again our experience at the Moana Surfrider was exceptional , staff at check in great. We booked the Banyan Club which is new to the hotel, it was comfortable, food was good for breakfast and the beer wine and nibbles were great at night. love love love this place. This is our 6th year in a row and it is amazing how many people have been coming here year after year to me this says something , keep up the excellent standards Westin. June 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Positive Experience Both Hotel and Staff exceeded expectations. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely but silly add ons Great hotels don't nickel and dime you. I was as a platinum lifetimes offended by the 25.00 resort charge for things I am supposed to get free anyway. insult that more and you pay 50.00 to sit on the beach with an overcrowded pool area. Just outrageous, but the rooms ar lovely in the tower and the staff did try to go the extra mile. March 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful Hotel on the Beach What a gorgeous hotel sitting right on Waikiki Beach! The Beach Bar offered ambience including great entertainment and great food! Will definitely return! September 1, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charming Waikiki Hotel Loved the opportunity for early check in and offers to upgrade when we arrived. Front desk staff excellent help and cheerful even with our flight changes and arrival time changes. Incredible view from 19th floor and loved the 4th of July there. Loved the quaintness and charm of the historic lady on the beach- thanks for your preservation . Success with blending the historic charm and more modern amenities I have become spoiled by. Love the Banyan tree and the Veranda for breakfast- thank-you. Hope to visit again from the mainland at least once more! Jill July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Stay!!! I'm a Lifetime SPG Platinum who stays in Starwood properties throughout the world. From the moment I checked in with Irene at the front desk and spoke with Aki the concierge, I knew they would do everything possible to insure a perfect stay and they did. The new Tower rooms have been completely renovated and are very luxurious and a good size for Honolulu. The ocean and diamond head views are incredible. The Veranda restaurant and pool food and service were very good and Peter our breakfast server and Hayes at the pool were excellent. I've stayed in this hotel on four or five occasions since it has become a Westin and overall this was the best stay yet. March 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location You can't get any closer to the beach than this property... on Waikiki Beach. The Tower Wing has updated amenities and feels new - fresh. I had a rough check-in process. As a platinum member, I should be upgraded to the best available standard suite. I take this to mean the best available room they had, other than the Presidential Suite. Long story short, my reservation was upgraded to one of the Suites in the Tower Wing. Excellent room. The interaction was not pleasant. He kept going to the back to confer with the "Manager." Tip: Be persistent. The front desk staff for Gold and Platinum members should be empowered to make decisions that show they valued the loyalty of these guests. Other contacts I had with other staff members during my stay, including the front desk, were pleasant; I felt they valued me as a platinum guest. I really like the experience in the Beach Club, the club lounge. Super friendly staff, such as Taylor and Karen for breakfast and Anne and Jennie for the evening light dinner. They all went out of their way to ensure my wife and I had everything we needed. Anne asked us to catch a glimpse of the sunset one evening; what an infectious, bubbly personality. Thank you. We will definitely come back to the Moana Surfrider the next time we're in Honolulu. TIP: Get a room in the Tower Wing away from street side (city view) with access to the club lounge. September 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the Surfrider We have been coming to the Surfrider for 11 years. The hotel has charm and the staff takes amazing care of us. August 27, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by NOT an SPG hotel This was a beautiful hotel, but it did not meet expectations for being a Starwood/Westin property. At all. I almost asked at the desk a few times if our reservation had been messed up, because our room and bath were tiny, absolutely NO view (could never have the blinds open for privacy reasons), and noisy. The SPG status meant nothing. No reason for the SPG line at the desk, as no one was there. The "resort fee" obviously bought you nothing, as you still needed to pay to get umbrella cover and chairs, as the pool was always crowded and did not accommodate many guests. Waitstaff from the bar were abrupt, but made clear what you should tip?? Oh my goodness. It is in a good location and a lovely lobby, but that doesn't really make up for all that was lacking. We often stay in Westin hotels, and were disappointed with this visit. June 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Starwood Experience in 30 Years Our two rooms were "upgraded" due to our Platinum membership to a Tower room overlooking the street/construction site. Street noise all night long and then work trucks beginning at 5:00 a.m. Asked to be moved but we never were. I asked for compensation (points or a discount for the stay) and the manager responded by removing the mandatory $31 daily resort fee from one of the rooms! Would not stay here unless you want to be treated like stool. July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Didn't Want To Leave This was my first visit to Hawaii and it was more than I could have hoped for. From how I was treated at the airport to the shuttle driver and every single member of the staff of this fabulous hotel. I was treated like royalty! There is not one thing your staff could have done to make my stay better. I didn't want to leave! I will be back. Count on it! August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location The Moana is in a perfect location with regards to local shops and restaurants and the beach is just a few steps away. I especially enjoyed the afternoon tea in the hotel restaurant. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was welcoming and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Favorite Waikiki Hotel without question! The Moana Surfrider has the unique charm and architectural intrigue you might expect from the iconic First Lady of Waikiki, but the staff really make this property shine. Maitre D's and Bellman that have worked there for 30+ years truly love their jobs and care about their guests. The restaurant is outstanding, the beach amenities are perfect and the value for the Resort Fee is more than fair. The only two negatives are that the bathroom is a bit small in the heritage building- but that is to be expected. The greatest drawback quite frankly are the other guests who seem to have an incredible sense of entitlement. The complaining I heard about having to wait for a table at breakfast during peak times, or the lack of chairs at the pool during Christmas vacation was outrageous and embarrassing. The staff at this property are sincere, helpful and deserve a medal for dealing with their impatient and rude customers! January 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Misleading website and poor service This hotel has some great features. The problem is that there are very different wings, and the website does not disclose that the wings are *vastly* different. The best wing is newly renovated and has that old-school charm, while the Diamond Wing feels like a two star motel that was appended to the hotel. The rooms are badly in need of repair, and yet the hotel charges high rates because they offer ocean front views. When I checked in, the front desk refused to give me an ocean front room in any wing other than the dilapidated Diamond wing. I complained and (finally) reached a manager, but she was unconcerned and simply offered 5000 Starpoints. The hotel was overbooked, and there was a long line of unhappy customers. Although the front desk clerks said they would follow up by trying to find a room at a sister hotel, they failed to do so. I ended up checking out and booking a room at a nicer hotel. In short, I would not go back. June 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST LUXURY VALUE IN WAIKIKI The following review is posted on Trip Advisor. Please note that I would have rated Food & Beverage as excellent however the Ocean Club breakfast protein offerings were poor. The Westin Moana Surfrider Waikiki Beach never disappoints. It is the best value luxury property on Waikiki beach. The staff was wonderful especially Khola who met us at the SPG check in desk. This Hotel is Hawaii's most historic beauty, from the front veranda rocking chairs, to the lobby staircase, pool area, hula lessions, Waikiki Beach and more, this hotel is Hawaii at its best. We booked the New Ocean Club rate, it was a GREAT value and a wonderful setting for Breakfast and evening appetizers accompanied by local wines and beers. Simply the BEST !!. August 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Noisy, Cramped Room My husband and I spend last weekend at The Moana Surfrider to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When we arrived, we we were disappointed right away by the size of the room and bed. My husband had paid in advance, and it was confirmed that we would have a king size bed. The room was so tiny, with only one double sized bed. When my husband went to the front desk to share his concern, he was told there was nothing available with a king size bed, even though the reservation had confirmed it already. The bathroom was so tiny, my 6' ft tall husband could not even sit on the toilet correctly because his knees hit the doorway. Regardless of the size of the room, the outside noise level was obnoxious. Even attempting to get any sleep before 2 AM is a joke. The noise of street performers, traffic and people outside was outrageous. Not to mention through out the night we could hear every word of outside late night arguments, and drunken hollering. Both my husband and I agree that we have never had such a disappointing, sleepless stay in our lives! May 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Absolutely Amazing All of the hotel services were without flaw. We have never experienced the quality of staff, food, drinks and overall happiness of the guests we met. We will return! July 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Stay Right from the start at arrival with a greeting at the front door, I knew this was going to be another good stay at the Moana. It feels so good to be back and see the same familiar faces of staff, many of whom will also remember you in spite of dealing with thousands of other guests throughout the year. I noticed right away that the beautiful flower arrangements in lobby are back and the whole property is looking as good as ever. Very gracious and helpful front desk to accommodate a couple of requests I had made. Thanks Gloria and Mo and staff at the beach services, relaxing under an umbrella at the beach is made so very easy by these people and the wonderful beach bar staff that will run a cool refreshment out to you. Caught a few sunsets at the Beach Bar with family and friends, ahh, so nice. Had some wonderful food as well, coconut waffles in the morning are great and I can personally recommend the pomegranate glazed lamb chops, they were delicious. Overall, I love the Moana for its history, staff, and location in the heart of Waikiki. Relax on the inside and action on the outside. Thanks for a great stay. February 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best beach side hotel! I made advanced reservation over 3 months ahead I'm glad I did. Hotel was fully booked because of four weddings on my 5 days stay there. Besides being SPG Gold and check-in early, I also paid small upgrade fees to get double beds with partial oceanview on 7th floor. It's really worth it, just do all you can to get oceanview room, it's really gorgeous and worth it. Only down side is there's no parking lot and you must park across street with its sister hotel chain. Besides that everything is perfect and for sure will stay here again next time I come back. April 2, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>