Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, Waikiki Beach

  • 2365 Kalakaua Avenue
  • Honolulu,
  • Havaí
  • 96815
  • Estados Unidos
  • Mapa

Quartos e tarifas

Fechar

Crianças por quarto

Esta informação nos permite identificar os quartos que acomodarão melhor o seu grupo e nos preparar para sua chegada.

Consulte os termos e detalhes do quarto para obter informações sobre encargos por cama dobrável e/ou pessoa extra.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 725 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Suggestions 1. Bathroom ceiling had mold over entrance door that was growing during our stay. 2. On our first full day we left the room at 7am and it wasn't made up until 2:30-inconvenient. 3. The main reason we go to the Moana Surfrider is for the relaxed island atmosphere. No longer does the back porch offer that relaxation. There are 2 or 3 computers set up at each high top table doing business, while people are talking loudly on cell phones in the lounge chairs. there was even a man pacing back and forth under the Banyan tree while on a business call on his bluetooth. I could not read my book or a newspaper with all the business going on. I felt like I was in New York. I come to Hawaii to relax, not to listen to overwrought techies. It ruined the Banyan Courtyard serenity. Put them in their own room! This is our 8th stay at Surfrider. February 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best hotel I have ever stayed! I have stayed in several 5 star hotels in some countries. But I think this is the best hotel experience I have ever had. Everything was so great: the atmosphere, service and restaurants etc. It was such a loveable hotel! November 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Got off to a bad start I reserved a room with a balcony & partial ocean view via SPG points. Upon arrival I was checked in by a cold & unhelpful woman at the front desk who put my girlfriend & I in a tiny room the size of my closet with no balcony & no view in the back of the hotel on the street side. After complaining & having to put up a fight they switched me to the proper room so what started off to be a very bad first day got sorted out in the end but should have been avoided in the first place. November 24, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not an SPG hotel I am writing this review as a current SPG platinum guest, and solely based upon my experiences of this this stay. The hotel itself is great and the hotel in general has been very well at the upkeep. As a platinum member I am disgusted at the level of recognition offered. The fast that the $25+ resort fee covered much of what I should be entitled to, and that a few of the amenities have not been offered to me, seems to be a rip off. I am essentially paying for self parking, which I do not have. They have not even placed the "two bottles of water" in my hotel room that I am supposed to receive at all. The hotel and the rooms are clean, and my room appears to be clean. There was a used condom on the floor next to my bed when I checked in, this to me was so disgusting. This is something that should not be easily overlooked. Highly unacceptable. The second night I placed the card on my bed to have my sheets replaced, seeing as there were stains and tears on the sheets fitting my bed. The replaced all my sheets except the fitted one. Also highly unacceptable. Tonight, after having a cocktail party, I requested turndown service. I returned to my room at 9:15pm and nothing was done. Also highly unacceptable. My room overlooks the pool area and has a band until 10:30pm. My first night I called and asked to be moved to a quieter room and I was told there was nothing available. I do not believe this for a second. I took a second Ambien and I eventually fell asleep. Granted I wanted to go to bed at 9pm because of jet lag. Tonight I planned on a dinner at the hotels restaurant. When I enquired about reservations in the morning I was told it would be no problem, I could come at any time. When we showed up, we were told there was an hour wait for five people. Two people left so we could get a decent table. The manager of the restaurant got three of us in fast, but this put a big cramp in my evening. our sever was good, but clearly used to the push them through fast service of a big hotel. This is definitely not specialty dining. The pool is over crowded and the only way to get a place to relax after 10am when all the chars are taken is to spend $50 for beach chairs. If you are coming to this hotel for an SPG experience seem another hotel. If you are coming here and want something on the beach and nice rooms then this is a good place. May 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed - Third time is not a "charm" I grew up on Oahu and every time I return "Home", I have high expectations of this hotel. This is my third stay at the hotel and is the worst one so far. First, when I checked in I wasn't told that it was a handicapped accessible room. Second the bathroom showed a large patch of rust. Third, the shower design resulted in water flowing throughout the bathroom. Every morning I had to order an extra 5 bath mats to soak up the water. I contacted SPG and send pictures of the rust. The hotel offered to move me, but how do you move a family of four (including girls - 7 & 10) without disrupting our schedule. I would have thought I would have been treated better since I've stayed there two previous times. FYI, I don't usually complain or write these reviews, but I was so disappointed that I had to do it. July 29, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Lovely but silly add ons Great hotels don't nickel and dime you. I was as a platinum lifetimes offended by the 25.00 resort charge for things I am supposed to get free anyway. insult that more and you pay 50.00 to sit on the beach with an overcrowded pool area. Just outrageous, but the rooms ar lovely in the tower and the staff did try to go the extra mile. March 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect Stay!!! I'm a Lifetime SPG Platinum who stays in Starwood properties throughout the world. From the moment I checked in with Irene at the front desk and spoke with Aki the concierge, I knew they would do everything possible to insure a perfect stay and they did. The new Tower rooms have been completely renovated and are very luxurious and a good size for Honolulu. The ocean and diamond head views are incredible. The Veranda restaurant and pool food and service were very good and Peter our breakfast server and Hayes at the pool were excellent. I've stayed in this hotel on four or five occasions since it has become a Westin and overall this was the best stay yet. March 12, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Moana The service I come to expect from Star Woods was lacking at this property. For example a room booked for two beds several months ago was unable to be fulfilled. We were told there wasn't a bed available. Several phone calls later they were able to locate a rollaway bed to put in our room. Next, the bathroom has mold in the shower. Another issue the air conditioning did not work properly. Then we go reserve an umbrella and there isn't one available. We tried to reserve one at 8 am still not available. We had a $10 umbrella credit. So we tried to apply it to the beach chairs we Rented. Unable to do that!! Then we get over billed for those!! August 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Memorable Vacation Whether you’re travelling on business or for pleasure, the Moana Surfrider is the “perfect” hotel for you. My family and I returned last Friday after a week-long vacation in Honolulu. We upgraded our room to a Tower Suite and felt it was worth every cent! The ambiance is perfect, the room was clean and the staff was extremely attentive. I must, however, call your attention to two outstanding individuals who made our stay at the Moana Surfrider so much more enjoyable --- Roxanne Hashim (Guest Services) and Karen (Beach Club Lounge - a great addition!). The service Roxanne and Karen provided during our stay was exceptional. They are friendly and dedicated – the consummate professionals. I have stayed at many hotels across the U.S. and found most of them to be quite accommodating and the staff generally friendly. However, both Roxanne and Karen have far outpaced every one of them. Their “can-do” attitude and responsiveness are what set the Moana Surfrider apart. Also, given her extremely busy schedule, Roxanne personally checked in on us to ensure that our needs were met. Simply put, the service at this hotel is First Rate! I would definitely recommend the Moana Surfrider to friends and family, and I am certain I’ll be back on an annual basis and hope to get the same quality of service when we return. I wish everyone at the Moana Surfrider all expanding success as they continue the traditions of serving their community and the traveling public. “The First Lady of Waikiki” deserves to shine and be proud forever. Surely it will do so in Roxanne’s and Karen’s care. Kudos Roxanne! Thank you again for all you've done for us. Undoubtedly, I will be in touch to schedule our return in 2015. And Karen, we still love papayas! October 5, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing - I've stayed at 20 Starwoods' properties during the past year. For many reasons, this ranks the lowest of all of them - staff not interested in giving the guest the best service - felt like I was punished for voicing my displeasure (given a room on the noisy street); continental breakfast policy (they deliver buns and fruit to your table, if you go into the buffet room, they charge $20) - SPG Platium status not acknowledeged; never received proper check-in briefing; some benefits not delivered until after I aksed (bottled water) - when moved off the street to another small room, waited 3 hours in the lobby for the new room and another 1.5 hours for the luggage to arrive - the most common phase I heard from staff was - "sorry"... - at check-out, was not asked how my stay was; I know why they don't ask! January 17, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Hotel has everything Once again our experience at the Moana Surfrider was exceptional , staff at check in great. We booked the Banyan Club which is new to the hotel, it was comfortable, food was good for breakfast and the beer wine and nibbles were great at night. love love love this place. This is our 6th year in a row and it is amazing how many people have been coming here year after year to me this says something , keep up the excellent standards Westin. June 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Extremely noise rooms and unhelpful staff in resolving issues We just checked in last night for a weekend of relaxation and rest by the ocean. The rooms are nice/clean, but we immediately noticed the extremely high street noise level in the room. The bands on the street and busses/cars mind as well have been playing in the room or driving directly through the room. I approached the front desk staff at 3 separate times about the issue, and they were completely unable to help. I understand they may be booked and not have any alternatives, but the answer was simply a "sorry nothing we can do" and then they presented me with a map of the street and suggested that I check out one of the other non-Starwood properties on the block. As a loyal Starwood member for years, it completely rattles my faith in the brand to have employees suggesting competitor hotels as the only solution to issues. This hotel is by no means up to the Westin standard that I have come to know and love. I would save your money and stay somewhere else, and if you have points you are hoping to use... stay somewhere else and use them on spa services or something instead (maybe another Starwood property in the area?). January 15, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun in the sun Overall it was a great stay the beds are very comfortable I would definitely return here again. November 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Our Favorite Waikiki Hotel without question! The Moana Surfrider has the unique charm and architectural intrigue you might expect from the iconic First Lady of Waikiki, but the staff really make this property shine. Maitre D's and Bellman that have worked there for 30+ years truly love their jobs and care about their guests. The restaurant is outstanding, the beach amenities are perfect and the value for the Resort Fee is more than fair. The only two negatives are that the bathroom is a bit small in the heritage building- but that is to be expected. The greatest drawback quite frankly are the other guests who seem to have an incredible sense of entitlement. The complaining I heard about having to wait for a table at breakfast during peak times, or the lack of chairs at the pool during Christmas vacation was outrageous and embarrassing. The staff at this property are sincere, helpful and deserve a medal for dealing with their impatient and rude customers! January 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Misleading website and poor service This hotel has some great features. The problem is that there are very different wings, and the website does not disclose that the wings are *vastly* different. The best wing is newly renovated and has that old-school charm, while the Diamond Wing feels like a two star motel that was appended to the hotel. The rooms are badly in need of repair, and yet the hotel charges high rates because they offer ocean front views. When I checked in, the front desk refused to give me an ocean front room in any wing other than the dilapidated Diamond wing. I complained and (finally) reached a manager, but she was unconcerned and simply offered 5000 Starpoints. The hotel was overbooked, and there was a long line of unhappy customers. Although the front desk clerks said they would follow up by trying to find a room at a sister hotel, they failed to do so. I ended up checking out and booking a room at a nicer hotel. In short, I would not go back. June 18, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissappointed ... last visit was several years ago for my wife's 40th birthday - stayed in tower and was great - one of her favourite hotels. However after recent stay - no longer the case and will not stay again given other options. The room and bathroom in old building were tiny (door opens about 6 inches from the bed) sold as city view - looked into an adjoining wall brick wall and was ridiculously noisy- checked 3 times to make sure windows were closed? requires double glazing. To make matters worse room 450 is opposite cleaners storeroom and they made no attempt to be quiet at 3am !! The hallway lights are on full beam and combined with the noise almost impossible to sleep? really disappointing as we had also recommend to friends we were travelling with. March 30, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Charming Waikiki Hotel Loved the opportunity for early check in and offers to upgrade when we arrived. Front desk staff excellent help and cheerful even with our flight changes and arrival time changes. Incredible view from 19th floor and loved the 4th of July there. Loved the quaintness and charm of the historic lady on the beach- thanks for your preservation . Success with blending the historic charm and more modern amenities I have become spoiled by. Love the Banyan tree and the Veranda for breakfast- thank-you. Hope to visit again from the mainland at least once more! Jill July 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Stay Right from the start at arrival with a greeting at the front door, I knew this was going to be another good stay at the Moana. It feels so good to be back and see the same familiar faces of staff, many of whom will also remember you in spite of dealing with thousands of other guests throughout the year. I noticed right away that the beautiful flower arrangements in lobby are back and the whole property is looking as good as ever. Very gracious and helpful front desk to accommodate a couple of requests I had made. Thanks Gloria and Mo and staff at the beach services, relaxing under an umbrella at the beach is made so very easy by these people and the wonderful beach bar staff that will run a cool refreshment out to you. Caught a few sunsets at the Beach Bar with family and friends, ahh, so nice. Had some wonderful food as well, coconut waffles in the morning are great and I can personally recommend the pomegranate glazed lamb chops, they were delicious. Overall, I love the Moana for its history, staff, and location in the heart of Waikiki. Relax on the inside and action on the outside. Thanks for a great stay. February 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best beach side hotel! I made advanced reservation over 3 months ahead I'm glad I did. Hotel was fully booked because of four weddings on my 5 days stay there. Besides being SPG Gold and check-in early, I also paid small upgrade fees to get double beds with partial oceanview on 7th floor. It's really worth it, just do all you can to get oceanview room, it's really gorgeous and worth it. Only down side is there's no parking lot and you must park across street with its sister hotel chain. Besides that everything is perfect and for sure will stay here again next time I come back. April 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by good service Whenever I needed some assistance I received a good customer service from your staff. November 13, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Ocean Front View At the time of my booking I mentioned it was my husbands birthday. When we checked into our room, I opened the bar fridge and to my surprise found a plate full of delicious fancy chocolate with a chocolate enscribed "Happy Birthday" on the plate. WOW! I had forgotten that I had mentioned it but they remembered! I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone who wants to experience Waikiki at it's finest. The staff shone with Aloha Spirit and were so helpful. The view from our room was breathtaking, the bed and pillows were delicously comfortable. November 16, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Horrid Experience, but hopefully a rare one Our stay at the Surfrider was grossly disappointing (and I hope rare) and my worst ever at a Starwood property. 1) The concierge and activities desk repeatedly gave us incorrect/outdated information and the companies they "endorse" for activities were disappointing, over priced to market and certainly not checked-up on (e.g. pearl harbor and haunama bay). 2) It's logical but BEWARE, due to the age of the building any "city view" window pours in noise from the busy street below. Facilities hasn't even bothered with installing insulation on windows. 3) We booked a city view king and received a queen - we had a party of two rooms and it was unmistakable that while two king's were booked - they weren't equal 4) Floor plan was poorly layed out: TV couldn't be viewed from bed and bathroom door couldn't be opened without awkward manuevering. Finally as SPG Gold I found loyalty treatment horrid. We were effectively given no property benefits outside what's already granted under the mandatory $25 resort fee. I asked for, then even offered to pay for upgrades and was told no rooms were available. This clearly not so as I verified the ability to book three other rooms options by looking online. Lastly, their rented beach chairs were a joke. No matter when you show up, full rental price is required and sunset wasn't until 6:50 but we had to give up our chairs at 5:30 because the beach office closed then. Sorry Starwood, but I'll be recommending anything but the Surfrider for a Waikiki stay. September 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Splendidly Evocative of Old Hawaii I cannot imagine a more superb location or delightful atmosphere than those provided by the Moana Surfrider. Sitting in a rocking chair on the front verandah watching the world go by, enjoying hula under the magnificent Banyan tree at sunset, dining on the gorgeous terrace overlooking the Pacific...these are some of my finest Hawaiian souvenirs. The recently renovated rooms are upbeat but still respectful of the hotel's great heritage. Being greatly interested in Hawaiiana, I loved the small museum dedicated to the hotel's history and my only regret is that the historic tour is not offered on a more frequent basis as I was unable to join one. March 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location, nice hotel Was disappointed that despite booking 6 months in advance our request for a balcony was not accommodated. Also we stayed here on our honeymoon, no rose petals on the bed or wine etc to congratulate us and thank us for choosing to have our honeymoon there. I thought that gesture was standard in most luxury hotels? I guess not. The room was small and very basic but the bed comfort and shower was wonderful. No bottle opener or anything in the room besides 2 glasses. A couple of times our room was not cleaned that well but it was peak period so we overlooked this. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would go back there. The location cannot be beaten. January 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel that needs help The staff is really 1st rate and the location is second to none. If we return to Waikiki, this is where i want to stay, but they will need to spend a few more dollars on the maintainence of the rooms. We stayed in the Towers and the bathtub re-finish was peeling off and looking like a tub in a cheap hotel. Also the wall tiles were stained and not appealing for a 5 star hotel. Grout was missing from the floor tiles and what was there was discolored with ground in dirt. Please attend to these things so we will chose to return. November 15, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice on outside, dumpy on inside I had seen the lobby and beach view of the Moana Surfrider on other visits to Honalulu, and thought it was lovely. When we got our room (after waiting in line 20 minutes) it was horrible!! The decor was old and beat up, the bathroom was miniscule and very old fashioned, and the balcony did not have any chairs to sit on. We asked (and paid for) and ocean view, but the courtyard below had an event taking place with lights and noise--so you could not look out on the ocean. We cut our stay there short. November 20, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Very disappointing. Bed arrangements booked through travel agency apparently not "confirmed" by the hotel. My friend and I were given a room with one bed instead of the two doubles we had requested months earlier. One of us slept on what the hotel called a "day bed" which was really a window sill with a cushion. Tower city-view rooms are in dire need of updating and cleaning. They are well-worn and certainly not "luxury" rooms. Front desk staff is slow and inconsistent. Another friend was told she could have late check-out confirmed; others were told that none was available. Wait time at the front desk can exceed 20 mins. Lobby is noisy and cramped. August 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Hotel The Moana is filled with old world charm and modern convienences. The tower rooms are spacious compared to the historic rooms. I have stayed in both. I really like the character of the historic rooms....but you have to know what you are getting....you have to want a cozy room with character. If you want more space and a lanai then book a tower room. Historic rooms with 2 beds are much larger than a historic room with a queen. Any city view room can be a bit noisy...if you are a light sleeper you may want to keep that in mind. Nothing beats sitting on the rockers on the front lanai or listening to music at night on the back lanai. It is paradise on earth. August 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location The Moana is in a perfect location with regards to local shops and restaurants and the beach is just a few steps away. I especially enjoyed the afternoon tea in the hotel restaurant. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was welcoming and accommodating. I would definitely stay here again. July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel makes me feel like I have come home to the most wonderful place that I could ever be. I am at peace while we are here. Nothing matters to me except to relax and feel refreshed when we leave. I always get tears in my eyes the night before we leave because I know I will never feel this good until we return again. It is the most romantic place that a couple can go to. The staff treats you like you are royalty. I love the history of the hotel and it makes me want to go back in time and be present when the hotel first opened in 1901. October 27, 2011
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>