The Westin Michigan Avenue Chicago

  • 909 North Michigan Avenue
  • Chicago,
  • Illinois
  • 60611
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 668 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Stay away!!! What a HUGE disappointment!! There's only one good thing about this Westin Hotel, the location. The hotel was run down, staffhad poor communication skills! I had booked a room and asked for an early check-in (noon). I arrived around 12:30pm and the room was not ready. I asked when will I be able to check-in, the lady at the check-in desk. I can't give you a time but we will call you when your room is ready. Three hours later, no phone call, I return to the hotel to find out that the room they had set aside for me had a late 5pm checkout and the room would not be ready until 6pm-7pm. This is not acceptable. August 17, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rooms are very old My company made reservations at this hotel recently for about 50 people. Others told me how nice their rooms were but some agreed with me that the rooms were not very nice at all. I had to take pictures to show them how bad the room was. The paint was peeling off of the ceiling in both the room and and bathroom. The wall paper was also peeling off. The caulk in the shower looked like my 10 year old son did it. There was expensive wall paper in the bathroom that was textured but something disgusting was stuck in the wall paper. The light switches were filled with 10+ years of dirt. The door and door jams looked to be painted about 6 times over. The door to my room had to be slammed to get it to close all the way. There was even paint on the peep hole in the door. The vent in the bathroom had the screws half falling out of it. The water in the refrigerator said compliments of the Westin but I was charged for it. This is also the first hotel where I have seen that you had to pay for WiFi access. In the hotels defense I did not complain to management. It is not my style. I also did not want to pack up all of my things to move to another room. If you are not part of the solution then you are part of the problem so this is why I am writing this review in hopes that hotel management will read this and use it to improve their hotel. There were a few positives. The bed was very comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. The lobby area was nice and the restaurant had great food and beer. September 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor management and untrained reservationist I attempted to arrange a weekend for my wife and a few of her friends to do a little shopping and relaxation. The first time I called I made it very clear we wanted a corner suite with an adjoining room. Simple right, wrong! When I reviewed the email confirmation it seemed to be different and it was. After many phone calls with different personnel my wife and her friends ended up with a suite that was suited for business travel and another room (not adjoining) far away from the suite. Needless to say we are done with the Chicago Westin and perhaps Westin's in general. If you can't get something as simple as a reservation correct it's time to move on. February 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing Westin is our preferred hotel when we travel and typically we are exceedingly satisfied, but this particular Westin is an unfortunate exception. Despite negative experiences in the past, we have never written a bad review, but could not hold back this time. Our situation is too long to explain, and in the end the hotel management very begrudgingly agreed to some restitution, but when the check in clerk realized their mistake, not only did she imply it was our error and their was nothing they could do - but when she brought out the manager on duty - Anna Sears - she not only greeted us with a cold, hard "you are bothering me" stare, but she never once apologized, continued to deny and argue with us, and made us feel like anything but a valued customer. And this was all happening while the registration line was about 10 people long (which is also typical for this hotel). I was ready to give up except that the family waiting in line to check out right behind me had just shared their equally frustrating experiences, and said they would never come back - but I knew the hotel would never hear their story - because like most customers, rather than complain - they just don't return - so I was more determined than ever. And the value of being a Starwood Preferred Guest in this hotel is a joke - in fact I think they treated us worse because of it - after all of our problems, the room they gave us looked directly into the neighboring high rise and we had to keep curtains closed the whole time. I want to reiterate - this hotel is NOT TYPICAL - we normally LOVE Westin. December 2, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible service The service, accommodations, and amenities provided by this hotel were more than unsatisfactory, they were unacceptable. The deluxe room was less than standard at best. Wallpaper was peeling from the wall in my hotel room. Lighting was very poor. Food was mediocre and service was terrible. Service during dinners was nonexistent. My table had to wait on itself for water and coffee during dinner. Staff rushed eating by removing plates before you were finished. If you didn't keep one hand on your plate at all times it disappeared, and I am not exaggerating. I would not recommend this hotel for anything. August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by wow...and not in a good way The only thing appealing about this property is the location. Really not up to Westin standards. The rooms and public areas are tired, worn and dated. The only modern thing in the room was the TV. A few specifics: *nothing works as it should; the phone beside the bed did not work, the air-conditioning did not cool as it should, and it was not a terribly warm day outside, the water pressure in the bathroom was non-existent *the bathroom was not as clean as it could or should be. Let's just say that I easily figured out that the last guest was a brunette *the carpet in my room was literally unraveling around the edges...falling apart *while the TV was modern, it was a waste as the TV service is not working . One can watch only about half the stations; the others are pixelated. When I called "service express" (and let me be clear--a misnomer as I had to hang up and call several times before someone answered) they told me it was because of the rain outside. I scoffed and asked to speak with a manager, who explained that they are having an ongoing issue with LodgeNet, their provider. This is probably true, as another Starwood property, at which I frequently stay, is having the same issue and has been having it for a couple of months. (One wonders when Starwood Management is going to engage to get this fixed...kind of a basic for major hotels to provide working TV service, and clearly multiple of their brands are having the same issue). The manager was very nice, and agreed with me that the hotel is not in the shape it should be, and explained that renovations will begin at the end of the year. The bottom line is that this property is not up to a Westin standard. September 18, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Unimpressive I'm afraid our stay at the Westin Michigan Ave. in Chicago began with a poor customer service experience at check-in. At this point, my husband and I confirmed with the two front-desk employees we dealt with that we are Starwood members. I then requested a lake view room, if available. Raven said this was no problem though she added that there were no lakeview rooms open located any higher than the fifth floor. We told her this was no problem and followed a bellman up to our room. Well, it was indeed on the fifth floor but certainly had *no* lake view. My husband then returned to the front desk to straighten things out only to be told by Raven that she thought I'd requested a Mich. Ave. view room rather than a lakeview room and now she had no such rooms available. Puh-leeze. "Michigan Ave. view" does not sound at all like "lakeview". No compensation was offered to us by front-desk staff for this misunderstanding. We also found the restaurant's food to be overpriced for its quality. Two basic cheeseburgers with an ice tea and one beer ended up costing us almost $50. (We're former New Yorkers so are accustomed to expensive food but this was a bit much.) In addition, we encountered a noise problem in our room two nights in a row. Loud audio from our next door neighbor's TV blared each of these nights until almost one in the morning, preventing my husband from getting to sleep. The soundproofing between the walls of this Westin must be very poor indeed. Finally, I found the selection of toiletries in our bathroom to be inadequate for a hotel of this level. There was no shower gel or even an extra shower cap provided in the bath. Chicago has quite a few hotels in the same price range as this Westin so based on our experiences there, I doubt we'll be returning. September 19, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We arrived at 4:15pm (check-in is at 3pm) and were told that our room was not ready yet but would be within the hour and they would call us when ready. We checked back in 1 hour and still not ready. We had requested to be on the same floor as 3 other guests and we were told this was the reason for the wait, but that if we wanted to be on another floor, they could get us into a room now. 1 hour later, we went back to see if our room was ready, and they checked us in but on a different floor. They could not explain what happened but we were not happy at all. February 20, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Location and a GREAT bed! In terms of location, it is the best hotel in Chicago. It´s close to most of tourist spots, and neighbor to John Hancock Center (the visit to John Hancock Center is mandatory - the view is great, even better than Skydeck, because you have a great view of Michigan Lake). Located at the best Avenue for shopping, you can find from the most expensive to the most popular brands. Not to mention that the room is very cozy and the bed ... of HEAVEN! If I didn´t have to make tourists programs and shop, certainly I would have slept a whole day! ehehehehe! In short: when I return to Chicago, I´ll certainly stay at the Westin Michigan Avenue! February 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Although the location was perfect for our weekend, the room was average at best! The cleanliness of the room needed some improvement. The bed was hard and the pillows were soft. The room was pretty small as well. I realize you can't please everyone. On check out day, I waited 15 minutes for an elevator that wasn't packed. There were a couple of teams staying at the hotel as well, so I believe the staff was catering to their needs. September 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff + Location = Perfection! We checked in with our kids and Phil helped us with our luggage to our room. He was so friendly and knew a lot about the area. The valet was a little slow, but they were very nice. Alex sent us wine and treats for our kids which was very thoughtful! Also he said he upgraded us and our room had a beautiful view and was pretty large. This is definitely where we are staying for the future!!!!!! April 10, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful wedding weekend My husband and i were recently married at the Westin on Michigan avenue and the entire weekend couldn't have been smoother (except maybe having the elevators run a little quicker!). Our wedding was perfect from beginning to end. Any issues that arose (and they were minor) were taken care of. We used both the Chicago ballroom and the Michigan ballroom and both were lovely. We got a suite and I was able to get into it on Friday night which was a great space for all the girls to get ready in and though it was the cubs room, my now husband, and avid Brewer fan, was impressed as well. It was a perfect weekend and I couldn't imagine having a more perfect wedding. March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Like the beds, HAVENLY! With Tommy, the doorman, providing such a warm welcome, to Leonard's quick and pleasant check-in, our introduction to the Michigan Ave Westin was great. This, our 1st trip to Chicago, was for a family Wedding in January.and the hotel was in a perfect location for all the festivities. The well trained staff at The Grill provided us a chance to unwind from our travel day while offering a nice wine list and a nicely rounded menu. All the staff we encountered were so accommodating, from extra waters for the room to helping us get into the Business Center on Sunday morning. Thank you all at the Westin for assisting in making this the perfect family get-together. January 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointing We did not arrive until 6pm, yet our room was not ready. It didn't matter that our reservation was part of a room block for a wedding, nor that I am a Starwood Resorts member, OR that we had a rehearsal dinner to attend in an hour. We did not receive notice that the room was ready until after we were at the dinner. When we got to our room later that night, it was not on the members floor and was smaller than a non-member whose room we visited. The hospitality gift from our wedding host was not delivered until we asked for it. We did not have our pillow preferences, nor was there coffee in the room. We used the green hang tag, but did not receive credit for that. July 22, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Staff is hot and cold The concierge Douglas was really rude and snooty and not helpful at all. Conversely there was a very nice asian lady who helped us and was warm and professional. The security was uptight and too rude. I was a guest in the hotel as well as some high profile guests who, I guess warranted treating the other guest like second class citizens. I would never bother another guest and the security over reacted. We had a "Brunch" which was little more than a crappy banquet breakfaast that they ran out of food and I got one small cup of cofee. The worst banquet experience ever. The doorman Keith was awesome and helpful as was Yvonne. July 17, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed at Check-In Hotel staycation experience started off on wrong foot. Tried to check in at 4:30 PM and room was not ready. The very unpleasant clerk then tried to give us a lower grade room than we pre-paid for and rudely insisted it was the same category. Subsequently received a very loud room next to elevator that kept us up at night. Clerk hid her name badge with her hair but we have photo of her with which to report her unprofessionalism directly with the hotel. On a positive note, hotel location was ideal and everyone else at the hotel was pleasant. Just clerk, check-in, and room noise were awful. August 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Hotel needs improvement The front desk at this hotel is under staffed most of the time and when it is staffed sufficiently the staff is not proactive in serving guest. They let guest stand their waiting instead of offering to help them. If they are just standing there instead of offering to help the guest first has to approach them and ask for assistance. Additionally, the Valet service for vehicles is terrable. It is slow and when the vehicle is brought up you give them the receipt, they give you the keys and don't even offer to help with your bags, your are on your own for loading them. This is the worst Westin Hotel I have ever stayed in. August 20, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not up to standards of other Westin hotels I arrived and was put in a room with a double bed even though I had been booked in a king room. As I walked through the lobby to the elevator it smelled like vomit. I thought this was a one off thing, but it smelled that way all 3 days I was there. I asked a worker about it on day 2 and he just shrugged his shoulders. When I got up to my room there was blood or some sort of pinkish fluid smeared on the wall above the bed. When I picked up the phone to call downstairs and report it, the phone was sticky! I walked downstairs and asked to switch rooms, but was told there was nothing they could do as the hotel was full. June 15, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissapointed to say the least I was very upset when I arrived and was told that the rooms were not ready and possibly wouldn't be until a couple of hours. I rarely receive time off of work and this was suppose to be a mini birthday vacation for me. Not to mention that I arrived at 5pm which is two hours after check in, I was given an estimated time of 8pm which is not even a full 24hours worth of stay. The bigger picture here is after complaining and asking for a manager twice, we finally received our rooms but there was a lobby full of people that were still waiting with children a luggage. Also, I can't recall seeing anyone on staff smiling. April 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Consistently Westin This Westin managed to meet all our expectations despite the fact that it is probably due for a cosmetic upgrade. The bathroom lighting is a little dim and the window shade was balky but the staff were terrific and the shade fixed within 5 minutes of our call. Room size was great and the bed very comfortable. September 26, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 offered complimentary wifi, still charged my card. I booked two double beds, but for unknown reasons, they had one king bed in their system. Took a long while for them to fix the issue upon checkin. Was offered free wifi and ensured it will be taken out from my bill. When checking out, the clerk refused to honor what I was offered. Emailed customer service and after two weeks, no one bothered to reply. Other than this issue, this hotel has poor sound insulation, you can hear your neighbor loud and clear. September 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Such a lovely room The room was quite lovely, spacious, clean and very well-laid out. I enjoyed coming "home" each day. October 1, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed We had to change rooms because of the quality of the room and the noise you can hear from the neighboring room. Like they are in your room. The second room quality was the same (terrible), at least the neighbor was somewhat quiet. However even when they spoke a normal soft voice, we could hear the entire conversation. The rooms have soo much deferred maintenance (the carpet was torn, furniture stained, fixtures were loose and seemed to be falling apart in the bathroom). This was our third stay in about 6 months at this hotel). We keep giving the property the benefit of the doubt because of it's location, but each time it's a worse experience from the staff to the quality of the room. June 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by An exceptional experience From the friendly front desk (Ashley) to special amenities delivered to our room (Edyta), everything about our stay was perfect, even the weather. Our room was at the top with a beautiful view of Lake Michigan. It was quiet (yes on Michigan Ave.) and the Cheesecake Factory and Water Tower Place are right across the street. The workout room was just what we needed after deep dish pizza at Gino's East. Thank you Westin! September 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Experience My experience as a whole was delightful from the moment I walked in to the lobby. Everyone was friendly and guided to me through the hotel with a smile. I was already checked in and they had my keys ready for me. Considering the fact that it was a very hectic Friday evening, I did not wait at all to recieve my keys. The rooms were very clean. The bed was my favorite part of the entire experience. . Thank you for a wonderful stay. I will definitely be coming back. March 1, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good with a but….. Our overall stay at the Westin Michigan Avenue was good. The biggest disappointment is the in room daily WI-FI charge of $12.95. This is the 21st century, we live in such a digital world, you can get WI-FI anywhere. Why do you need to charge for this service? You should make it complimentary! September 23, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Views Available I am a hotellier and had an opportunity to bring my family with two small children downtown for a trip to Navy Piers Winterwonderland. We had an amanzing time. I had a bit of trouble figuring out where the line for check in was (even as far as upsetting a woman I did not realize was already waiting behind me) but Stephanie saved the day. Once I was greeted by her she was friendly, welcoming, and engaging. The room was perfect. My children could not get over the view it really made the stay. The beds were, as promised, heavenly. I only wish we had more time to spend visiting the outlets...maybe next time. December 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Staff excells From the bellman to the desk clerk to the bartenders all the staff we met exceed and excelled in meeting our needs. Friendly and comfortalbe in their duties you can tell they enjoy working at the Westin July 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best place to be in Chicago Location is right next to Hancock building, Water Tower Place with Macy's and lots of other stores in the "mall", and Bloomingdale's. Great restaurant inside at the Grille, and Rosebud Steak House is a very short walk around the corner. Great views from the East tower- we had a great view from 26th floor of Oak Street beach and the lake! Nice amenities in bathroom. Staff was very helpful and professional. Starbucks in lobby was nice for early morning treats, they open at 6. Flower scent in the lobby was refreshing. 3 elevators in East tower so there really was no elevator wait time-they were very quick to respond, and I think there were 3 for the West side. Will definitely stay here again. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel has a great location. This hotel is located in an area that is easy and safe to walk to restaurants, retail shopping and local attractions. My husband and I stayed at the Westin Michigan Avenue for a relative's wedding, held at the hotel. The rehearsal dinner was off-site within two blocks away and took less than five minutes to get there which was to our advantage as we arrived late to the hotel. The check-in process was smooth and fast, and staff was very courteous. Breakfast, the next morning after the wedding, was in a private room of the restaurant at the hotel - found the food and service to be excellent! June 14, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 23 next>>