The Westin San Diego

  • 400 West Broadway
  • San Diego,
  • California
  • 92101
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 317 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Satisfactory stay The hotel is pretty much the same as most business traveler hotels. Comfortable room that was quieter than most. Bed seemed lumpy, but the pillows were great. Desk was large and had easily accessible outlets for power cords. TV worked well, and there was the usual marginal clock radio. Gift shop was over-priced, but the clerk was very pleasant. Food service through the catering department was okay. Continental breakfast had tasty fresh fruit, but the pastries were dry and almost looked and tasted like "day old." A few complaints. As usual, these types of hotels overcharge you for internet service. You can get one hour for free after going through several steps to get it, but they really should provide free internet or only charge a few dollars a day for it. There was no free newspaper available at the front desk or delivered to the room. And, I was very disappointed with their "green" program. When I checked in the very nice desk clerk asked if I wanted their green program. If I accepted, I would receive a $5 voucher usable in the restaurants or I could get 500 points on my club account. The problem was I apparently didn't listen carefully enough because I thought by accepting I would not get clean linens or towels each night. I later found out that by accepting I didn't get any maid service at all! Hardly worth $5. Hotel felt dated and needed some sprucing up, but, overall, it was satisfactory. The staff was friendly and provided great service. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Stay We stayed with your hotel from Apr 14th until Apr 23rd....We had a great stay, your staff were excellent. Gentle Joy gave us excellent service and always was so welcoming , friendly and courteous each time we went through the lobby...It was our 46th wedding anniversary and she helped to make it special. you have a super employee in her. The Munroes May 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very helpful service Melissa was very helpful at checkout May 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs major upgrades I have visited this hotel often and after my last trip I strongly suggest renovations. The rooms are not up to standards of other Westin properties that I am used to. We had major cleaning issues with our room upon check in and had to be moved. Overall decor of the room needs upgrades and the beds did not feel like Heavenly Beds. I was extremely disappointed and will not be staying at this property again. May 13, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel was adquate The hotel was ok. The location was good, easy in and out with the car. It does need some updating. We were on the 19th floor. The mattresses were worn..the bathroom had black mold in the bathtub area, the carpet was not clean in certain areas around the beds and the doors. The hotel staff was very good and helpful. May 13, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great staff, great location A pleasant stay, from start to finish. Yes, the room was in need of some updating and minor repairs, but that's the only drawback I can think of. The Heavenly bed was, as always, heavenly, which is where my priorities lie when traveling. Every staff member I encountered, from check-in, to room service, to the airport shuttle driver, was friendly and helpful and exceeded any expectation I could have had. The location is perfect for wandering about the city on foot, (which I did) and near to several of the touristy trolley stops (which I happened upon). May 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Review The conference venue, the San Diego Westin, worked out very well. Enjoyable stay. May 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Lack of customer service & defective shower My husband and I spent the night of May 26th at the Westin San Diego. We arrived after 8:00 pm, tired. The staff who checked us in was friendly. After my husband took a shower, there was 6 inches of standing water in the tub. About 2 minutes later the sink made a loud "glub" noise for about a minute. The tub eventually drained. I took a quick shower and the events repeated itself. There was also a long hair on the bottom of the shower curtain which had brown strains along the bottom edge. There were no wash cloths. Admittedly, neither of us called for assistance. We were in our pagamas and turned in for the night. In the middle of the night, I was awakened by the loud "glubbing" noise from the sink. It lasted at leadt a minute. Someone else must have been taking a shower above us or next door. As I checked out the next morning, I told the front desk staff of the problems I had experienced. She graciously listened and asked what she could do for me. I asked that my room be comped for the night. She said she had to talk to the manager. When she returned, the manager followed her and stood behind her. The front desk staff explained that she could not reimburse my stay because I had purchase a non-refundable room on the Internet. She would however, not charge me for the valet services for parking my car. The manager did not look at me once during this time or engage in conversation with me. Instead, she stood behind the clerk and looked annoyed from side to side scanning the reception area. While the clerk was pleasant, the manager flunked customer service 101. She was totally dismissive. We travel to San Diego at least four times a year or more. We will not be staying at the Westin again. I train employees on customer service. This experience will provide a good example of what not to do! April 28, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room did not cool down sufficiently at night In general, I liked the hotel. Because of airlines issues, I got there at 1am instead of 4:30pm. I went to my room to find the theramostat set on 90 and and industrial fan set up and on high in the middle of the room. Called the desk and was immediately moved and given a complimentary breakfast. Would like to have had free coffee available when catching the shuttle at 6am Saturday morning. April 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by PROBLEM WITH BATHROOM SINK AND TUB Was given notification that the hot water would be turned off at a certain period of time. Prepared for bath the following day and the tub was full of brown water and the water coming from the sink was also brown. April 20, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Westin San Diego Great location in San Diego! It is close to the warf and night life - Gas Lamp District. April 19, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great place to stay While the facilities are in need of some updating which will start this year they are still very good and in excellent condition. The staff is exceptional from ensuring we had the right room to helping us discover the best of San Diego. April 19, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Outdated The rooms could use some updating, particularly the cottage cheese ceilings. Also, the room service menu is mediocre at best. The cover shows a beautiful yogurt parfait, but I could locate it nowhere on the menu. The breakfasts look brong!!!!! April 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing hotel. Amazing staff From the moment I got there I was treated like a queen. From talking to Gentle Joy at checkin to Floyd as I was leaving, I truly felt they appreciated having me as a guest. Floyd was telling me history about the building as I was waiting for my car and you can tell he loves his job. I will definitely stay here again next staycation I plan downtown. You cant beat the SPG members floor. It's on the 20th floor - views galore! Oh and the beds are divine! I never wanted to get out and I could barely make my husband leave the bed. Thanks Westin April 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Staff and Location Very pleased with facility and assistance provided by staff. Melissa was very polite and welcoming in handling check-in and check-out processes. Her enthusiasm for the area, and rock climbing, sets a positive tone for not only your facility, but Southern California as well. In addition, the concierge on duty 4/7 was of great assistance in helping me plan trip to the zoo. For the business at hand, the meeting facility was comfortable and the wireless access was helpful in allowing us to keep up with work while away. April 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has great service Our stay was great. The service we received from Teresa in the main restaurant was above and beyond quality service. The restaurant manager was also excellent in service. We would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family. April 13, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and Helpful Staff Despite a mix-up with my online registration, all confusion was straightened out prior to my check-in. Everything else went smoothly with the warm welcome and helpful tips by the staff. The housekeepers were especially courteous and kept the room very clean and well stocked with fresh towels, etc. I would definitely stay here again! April 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding service and comfort The hotel is set up very well, the staff is wonderful...from the valet, to the front desk, and beyond a shadow of a doubt Danielle made our stay excellent. She listened to our needs and made recommendations that really saved us time. I would stay at this hotel every time if she was working, she made our stay really work out well for us... April 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing Staff/ Great Location This property has the most amazing staff we have ever encountered at a starwood property. Gentle Joy, Emily, and Melissa went above and beyond making our stay absolutely fabulous. The hotel is beautiful and within walking distance of all the downtown attractions. Can't wait to come back. If Gentle Joy isn't currently a manager, she should be promoted as she is the greatest ambassador we have ever met at Starwood!!! April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heavenly Stay I stayed at this hotel on my birthday night. I had so much fun. The bed was amazing the heavenly shower is heavenly and the hotel is really nice. Check in process was pretty fast and check out even faster. The pool was nice and the fitness center was pretty big for a hotel. You can walk everywhere. The view from the room was amazing! I'm looking forward for my next staycation at this heavenly hotel. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice hotel and staff. From the moment we arrived, all of the staff was very attentive. From housekeepers to the front desk, nobody ever hesitatied to offer assistance each time they saw us. The room was wonderful and the location was great. We will stay there again. Thanks. April 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel Stay was nice except for My wife and I thought it unusual that in the year 2013 your facility does not have free Wi-fi; even McDonalds has free Wi-fi. Not having it is inconvenient. Otherwise, your staff made our stay very nice. April 1, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hospitality is a hit or miss! The rate was quite reasonable booked on the Spg.com website. Location is downtown, great for business purposes. Not so great for families here to visit the Zoo or Seaworld. Better hotels for cheaper and closer. Concierge gal was friendly. Man at bar was super courteous and kind. He had some shakes made for me (off menu), i waited and then told him I'd be back because my car was parked up front in the valet, he later brought it out to us. Guest services on the other hand need some improvement. I called for directions before reaching hotel: wrong directions were given. I called to ask for late check out, was forwarded to reservations, the man asked if I could wait a 'moment', that 'moment' turned to 5+ minutes. I called back, a lady answered. I told her I was just wanting to ask for late check out, she said no due to full vacancy. Then she calls back 5 minutes later saying she overlooked that I was a Gold Preferred guest so that 4pm late check out was okay!? I parked my car in front where the " valet/passenger area" was as there is no where else to park to access the hotel, the valet was telling my mom to move the car. My room key wasn't working so I asked the front desk to tell the valet. Later I was confronted by, I believe, the manager who seemed to defensively scold me. I was not impressed. April 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable stay Enjoyed a very comfortable 1-night stay at the Westin San Diego. Convenient central location. Gentle Joy on reception accommodated my morning arrival in a no-fuss and very welcoming manner. Coming forward from behind the desk to hand over the room key is a nice, personal touch. She handled check-out in a similar personal and friendly way. March 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Experience at Westin San Diego Almost everything was perfect, but of course nothing can be perfect. We were shocked at the hidden fee of paying to park your car ($32/night) while staying at the Westin. March 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Stay! I was picked up at the airport by the hotel shuttle. The driver was very friendly and courteous. When I arrived Melissa greeted me and was very helpful. I arrived early in the day so a room wasn't available yet. I went for a coffee and when I returned let them know I had to attend a meeting and wouldn't be back until the end of the day. She immediately checked for an available room and was able to get me into a room so I wouldn't have to wait. It was a great start to a wonderful four days in San Diego. JMH March 26, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by No club lounge this hotel was over ok. I am loyal to the SPG program, I was disappointed that there was no club lounge, and in return only received a $12 voucher even though I was there for 2 nights. Typically I received a 12 voucher per night at other hotels were there is no club lounge. In fact I stayed at this particular hotel in may 202 and I believe I got a voucher for each night that I stated, and I even asked about the one voucher when I was checking out. Also there is another westin within a few blocks of this one and honestly would choose that one over this one if there was a club lounge. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Dad's Weekend Great weekend in San Diego. Westin helped make it so. March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by MD The airfilter for A/C in the room need to be cahnges ASAP March 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Home for the Hot Chocolate Race I stayed here while in San Diego attending the Hot Chocolate 15K/5 Race that benefits the Ronald McDonald House. My room was on the 22nd floor overlooking the water which was an absolutely gorgeous view. The staff addressed my name at all times. A special treat was the flavored water in the lobby. There were beverage containers filled with water and either cucumber, lemon, pineapple, cantaloupe and honeydew which was a delight. I watched an NCAA basketball game in the bar and the bartender was very kind, in fact she was also going to run the race. The Teriyaki Chicken Sandwich and sweet potato fries were delicious!! This is a definite must place to stay for the race next year! March 24, 2013
  • 2015-05-02T20:06:57.266-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-7, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_317, tr_317
  • loc_en_US, sid_1762, prod, sort_default
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 12 next>>