The Westin South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa

  • 686 Anton Boulevard
  • Costa Mesa,
  • California
  • 92626
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 4 out of 5 by 415 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Peaceful Room We feel like we are on a Cheers episode. The same employees who remember us with a smile. We like the location, the room, the lobby and bar with waterfall. The air is filled with a refreshing scent. We closed the drapes and overslept in the heavenly bed and quiet room. It's all good here. We will be back again. Oh... had our welcome drinks and the Salty Dog was mixed perfectly. Cheers! May 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good location This hotel was very centrally located. They were able to accommodate us with an early check in when our flight arrived early. The room was clean, however, the shower needs some minor caulk and grout maintenance. The only disappointment we had with our stay was in the restaurant. We tried to have dinner on Friday night at 9:15pm and were told that they had already closed. August 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE IT HERE! This was the best of many great visits from San Diego for the past 12 years. They are getting better & better in the area of staff help, friendliness and genuine guest care. We came up for my husband's birthday, had dinner in the consistently good adjacent restaurant, walked to a play and had drinks at the bar. Every time I come here I feel like I'm home. April 17, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not the best option for area Poor SPG recognition. Old rooms. Poor service. Can tell nothing good about this property May 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location for shopping Stayed at Westin for concert at Segrestrom, which is walking distance. Also great location for shopping and restaurants at South Coast Plaza. Very nice hotel. Made our stay very convenient. August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor Communication amongst Staff I booked two rooms - both with two double beds guaranteed. I had to show my print out to prove that. Front staff switched the two rooms with different requirements and made me feel like I was the one who made the mistake. One of the rooms were for the Indulgent Package, including "breakfast in bed." I had to find and show the print out of my reservation to be taken seriously. Staff kept telling me that breakfast in bed was not included. I called from my room, but was told to wait for a call back, which I never received and had to go down to the front desk. At the front desk, I had to explain the situation over and over to multiple staff. They all had to go talk to "the manager." One of the managers (male) has poor communication skills. He did not even come out to explain the situation to me and denied the information that his staff provided me. Champagne was not delivered in time - more than two hours after check in; an hour later than promised time upon request, so we could not enjoy. July 29, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional service! The Westin is clearly a STEP UP from the other hotels in the area. The staff is overly accommodating and friendly even when their facility was sold out and packed with dance people all weekend. AMAZING service everywhere we went... the valets, the bar, the housekeeping staff, EVERYONE! April 2, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is great for party function. We stayed overnight - reserved a block of rooms - had a 100th Birthday Celebration - Cocktails at the Water Fall Terrace and reception at Lido Room- We had so much fun and wonderful complements from our guest. Excellent staff that worked with us all the way. February 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not happy This was not a good stay at all. I was given a standard room though I had reserved a deluxe. When I complained, I was handed two bottles of water and a robe and told that I now had a deluxe room. An iPhone clock and wifi were later added after I asked. September 4, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hotel has NO HOT WATER I checked into this hotel on Friday morning. On Sunday afternoon, I went on a 5 mile hike, came back at 7:30 pm dusty and needing a shower. After waiting several minutes... no hot water. I got dressed, went down to the front desk only to be told there was a hot water outage. The manager claimed guests were notified, and could not explain why I was not notified of the outage. I invited him to send a staff person up to my room to find the alleged notification, but he declined. I NEVER HEARD OF A BUSINESS HOTEL WITH NO HOT WATER. The manager had some advance notice-- I would have checked out in the morning, had I known the extent of the problem ( a 12 hour outage!!!), which is probably why they didn't tell anyone. I've stayed at Westins nearly every week for the last year, and am baffled at how this could happen. The manager claimed he didn't have authority to refund the charge for this night. I am NOT paying for a hotel with no hot water. I am cancelling my future Westin reservations and will happily find a hotel with hot water and competent management. April 21, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Low Standards The room was not clean and not cleaned thoroughly each day. Loud noise early in the morning, 6am, created by hotel service staff. Refused service in the restaurant because staff wanted to leave early. Poor dining options. December 19, 2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not the best Westin I only stay at Westin hotels around the country. This hotel is below average. Showers need updating - room smelled old. Staff not nearly as nice as other Westin hotels. just not up to par December 9, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place. Met my needs. Hotel is lovely. Rooms very clean. In room coffee pot didn't work. Telephone next to bed didn't work. Charged me (twice) for wireless Internet despite my SPG level. March 18, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The staff was fabulous. It was our anniversary and they sent us complimentary champagne and fruit to our room. Also comped parking. We would stay here again. December 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Stay! Convenient Location, Great Staff, Comfy Beds, Warm Pool...what more could you ask for?? We love this hotel April 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping Housekeeping never came the first day, I returned to my room in the evening to find an unmade bed, etc. December 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by love the remodel but would expect the towels to be updated too... they are getting a little rough and road weary. August 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Hotel Good accomodations, excellent service and attention by the staff. Room comfort was superb. Will stay again. August 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lacks Facilities for Elites; Needs Work This is an aging hotel that I have stayed at several times. This experience was my worst at this hotel (or any other Westin, for that matter…. but still not a terrible experience, just disappointing). The rooms seem to all be about the same, except for the view (and, of course, number of beds and accessibility)…none of which are particularly good or bad. I have never been offered any type of suite upgrade as a Platinum at this hotel…. which is very unusual if they actually have suites. The rooms are typical, but aging Westin: very comfortable beds and great showers. There is no club/concierge lounge. Parking is expensive for a non-city hotel ($20 for self –park). Check-in was untypically slow: no one at elite area, one clerk checking in one person and one open clerk. The open clerk asked me to “wait a minute” and then disappeared never to be seen again, but replaced by 2 new clerks who totally ignored me until I asked if they could check me in…. all in all it took about 10 minutes. Location is great – right across from the South Coast Plaza shopping mall and only about a 5-minute drive to airport. They provide shuttle service to/from John Wayne airport on the hour/half –hour…but you have to call for it (different than my experience at other hotels with scheduled shuttles)…. I ended up waiting almost an hour at the airport for a shuttle, which apparently never would have come unless I had called. April 22, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ruined My Wedding Night I reserved a block of rooms at this hotel because I was getting married at a nearby facility. The agent who helped with my block reservation was very accommodating. The front desk staff was helpful, they gave our guests directions to the different events. The bridal party checked into the presidential suite at the hotel the night before. My mom was suppose to stay in her room both nights, she is disabled. My husband and I were to get a suite for the wedding night. The bridal party had planned to decorate the room between the ceremony and reception with flowers, champagne and flowers. While we were at the wedding they checked my mom out of her room (which was frustrating because we gave the front desk staff specific directions the morning of the wedding) The hotel staff checked someone else in my mom’s room moved her things to another room but left all her jewelry in the safe. Not only did they give my suite room away to someone else It was not ready at 4:30 when the bridal party went to set up with the florist. At some point the staff put the champagne (not the one we had brought but a cheap bottle) on ice in my sisters room (different last night) name) and never moved my luggage or my husband’s to our new room. So at 11:00 after the reception was over we had to drag our own luggage to a room which was not a suite it was tiny and dark and our champagne was missing, The room was tiny and not a suite. So we made the best of it and closed down the bar with the rest of our friends. When I called to complain after we returned from the honey moon no one called me back. I left 4 messages for 3 different manager and never go a response back. The worst part of it they never credited my Starwood account for the stays, or made any effort to reimburse me for my stay, they even overcharged us for the valet parking. May 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location and attentive staff This hotel has a perfect location right off the highway, close to the airport, close to over 50 restaurants covering all price ranges, and a bridge to one of the great malls in America. Staff did a great job of recognizing my platinum status and providing a suite upgrade. I forgot my phone in the shuttle and was running late for a flight, and the hotel radioed the driver and he immediately turned around to get it returned. Made my flight only because of this attentiveness. Not the newest Westin, but they are doing a good job of trying to keep it clean. Pool area and fitness center look great If there is a negative, it is the parking rate of $20.00 a day. May 18, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Amazing staff didn't offset the overall negative experience of our stay Let's start with the positives: The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful (although they couldn't help address our specific grievances, they did try). The hotel is pet friendly, and doesn't even charge a fee (very hard to find these days). There are plenty of amazing places to exercise a dog nearby. The beds are very very comfortable. We did not swim but the pool looked amazing - very clean and welcoming. We did not use the exercise room but it looked busy (busy but not full) and had a great view (overlooked the pool). The catering for my friends’ wedding and the breakfast buffet the morning after was amazing – the wait staff was so incredibly accommodating. Though I wouldn’t recommend you stay at this hotel, if you need an event catered they sure do a fantastic job (though I don’t know how the pricing is). On to the negatives: The first impression of the room was disappointing. Our dog sniffed out an old crusty piece of chicken that someone had jammed under a chair (housekeeping must not have found it). Because it didn’t stink we merely threw it away instead of requesting a new room. On day 2 of our stay we saw and killed a beetle in the room (I don’t think it was a roach but we didn’t let it live long enough to find out). Again, nothing to call the desk about, but up on the third floor I wouldn’t expect that bugs should be that common. Parking is more expensive than it should be. If you don’t know the price, call in advance to find out, as it is a pretty significant daily charge to park on the top level of a ramp that is about a block or more away from the front door. They couldn’t seem to coordinate between the ramp and the front desk. For 6 exits during our 2 night stay, they had to call the front desk every time to verify they could charge it to our room (we gave them our key cards but apparently that wasn’t enough). We did discuss this with the front desk and they gave us new cards in an attempt to alleviate the issue, but by then we were already at the end of our stay. The internet is not worth the money. The connection is incredibly slow, and they “bundled” our internet with our parking which didn’t make it any cheaper because they insisted on charging us for our entire stay instead of simply the days we used the internet. If I had known this in advance I wouldn’t have been so frustrated, but I received mixed messages from the front desk staff when I gave them the ok to bundle it with the parking. From what I was told when we signed up, we would only be charged the bundle rate for the days we used the internet. Upon checkout I was told the bundle price is for your entire stay. The rooms are in dire need of an update. The carpet was dark, stained and damp. The curtains took some serious muscle to close (they jammed on the track). The windows were dirty. The bathroom was dated. The lobby carpet was stained near the elevators (very noticeable). The elevators were old, clunky, and the paneling / mirror was pulled out in one or more of them (seemed a repair or replacement was never completed). A room in our hallway had a tray of dirty dishes sitting outside the door for over 12 hours. We saw housekeeping in the hallway during the 12 hours and figured they would pick it up, but they didn’t. Upon check out we saw an “honor bar” charge and asked what that was for (we hadn’t touched the bar). We were told it was for the bottled water in the room. There are 2 bottles of water left in your room. Be aware that one of them is complementary and the other is charged. We merely looked at the label on one bottle and saw “complementary” and assumed they were both free, even though the 2 labels SAID different things but LOOKED exactly the same. It was a small charge but the principle of the thing bothered us. It seemed sneaky to have the labeling look so similar. Our own fault for not reading both labels but I don’t make a habit of reading every label on every little thing they leave in the room, especially when the first label we read said “complementary.” All in all, if we hadn’t been there for a friend’s wedding, there is no way we would have stayed through the duration of our reservation. We were pretty consistently disappointed with our experience. This hotel is not worth the price tag until it does some serious updates to the rooms and improves the internet speed. I’m staying in a lower quality hotel right now for much less, with high speed internet, free parking, a fridge, microwave, etc. It seems the more you pay the less you get. July 4, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Front Desk Staff and Facilities Met the Westin Expectations I walked in after 6+ hours drive from SF and felt right at home after being greeted by Vickie at the Front Desk. + She was able to check me in early so I could freshening up before my 2 PM meeting. + She was very helpful and offered local attractions and shopping recommendation. + Clean and nicely sized room with in-room work out facilities. I will definitely looking to come back if I found myself in LA again. July 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent At Every Level Sometimes you stay at a hotel and find some areas not at a 100% level, The Westin South South Coast Plaza is a hotel that when there is some issue wrong, it is addressed and taken care of immediately. I stay at this hotel on a weekly basis and want you to know that from the people who open the front door for for you when you arrive, the front desk agents, (Ksenia and Nadine) the Manager's like Patrick, Lead Front Desk agent, Tri,the Director of Sales, and Trisha in Sales, this is a team whose main focus is the well being of each guest. Don't waste time reading reviews about this hotel unless you focus on the hotel and the people. A GREAT HOTEL AT EVERY LEVEL!!!!!! November 15, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is most comfortable. Hotel was well appointed, bright and the rooms were very comfortable. Staff was friendly. One disappointment was the hotel asking for a credit card to send me a small item I left behind. My company is a big client, would have thought they would cover shipping cost. August 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Happy experience with staff and the stay! The location is excellent- short distance from the beaches and close to the airport. Shopping and restaurants all within walking distance. Staff is excellent, and special thanks to Theresa at the front desk- very helpful in addressing our reservation changes and a pleasure to work with! July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Westin My whole family enjoyed the stay August 5, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Dissappointing Westin I'm working in the area and this is the closest Starwood property. The main thing that annoyed me was the lack of consistent hot water in the shower, it was a battle everymorning between luke warm or sudden burning water. There was no breakfast or lounge. Little SPG recognition upon checking in. Excluded from SPG promotions. Uncomfortable & old bed. Outdated rooms. And overcharged 2 days of Valet when I did not use it. Overall a very dissappointing stay - the only reason I'd come back would be for the SPG points, otherwise I'd choose one of the competitor hotels in the area. June 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stay When I checked in there was a new employee servicing me. I had requested a refrigerator on the phone when I made my reservation. When I had asked at check in she had to request again. Once in my room I waited at least 30 minutes and nothing was delivered. I called the service express line and they explained to me that they was again no request for a refrigerator . After my first night stay I woke up with 3 HUGE bug bites. After each night I would at least wake up with 2 more. I am not sure if every room is pet friendly but it certainly had a cleanliness issue to receive that many bites in a 4 night stay. Also, was pretty disappointed there was not a jacuzzi on the premises. July 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Staff Thank you for a great experience, Kevin at the bell stand made us feel very welcome on our arrival. The front office team were very accommodating and personal. July 31, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>