The Westin South Coast Plaza, Costa Mesa

  • 686 Anton Boulevard
  • Costa Mesa,
  • California
  • 92626
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older to reserve a room.

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 380 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by This hotel does NOT have great features Considering the lofty price I had to pay for the room and then have to pay an internet fee, I was not pleased that I could not use that 24 hour connection I paid for in the meeting rooms. Also, w e had very short breaks and were using the restrooms in the Restaurant which was next to our meeting room. I guess we assumed that being paying guests of the hotel, we could use the facilities anywhere. SIlly us! They locked us out, so we had to go over to the other side of the hotel, not a short walk, to relieve ourselves, which took up most of our breaks. Not a happy camper. March 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by NEEDS UPDATING The location is great, lobby is nice, rooms seem nice until you see outdated and dirty fixtures in the bathroom, discoloration around the toilet and in the shower, stains on the carpet, etc. The worst part is that the wireless internet didn't work in my room because I was too far from the signal! In 2012!!?? I tried to use the hard wired ethernet cable which didn't work either!! I had to spend an hour on the phone with a technician and had 2 people come to my room, and it STILL didn't work. They then suggested I work from the lobby! That's just bad customer service. When I told them how annoyed I was, they offered to switch rooms, but that was the day I was checking out and it was too much of a hassle at the point. June 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Cancelled reversation for second night Upon arriving in our room it looked very nice. I ordered the in room wifi and found it had a very weak signal. I called the service express and was transferred to some off site call center and wasted 45 min. with tech support and could not come to any satisfaction. I find tech support to be the most frustrating waste of time possible so I was not in a good mood. I tried to take a shower and found the bathroom had only hot and hot water. Much to hot for a shower. I went to the front desk and the MOD was not at all helpful so I cancelled my reservation for the second night and went to a competitor with very nice results. Could not tell you how disappointed with the quality of both room and service at a Westin facility. April 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience at the Westin This was my second stay at the Westin in two weeks. Everything was wonderful except this time our room didn't have a safe. We stayed for 4 nights. I had to carry all of my jewelry with me every time we left the hotel to go to a meeting. Our room the previous week had a safe. Staff was excellent and remembered our names. Pinot Restaurant is excellent with great service. March 31, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by More Foam than Beer Nothing wrong with this property - but nothing right with it either. I expected a higher quality experience - but basically it's a 3 star property with lipstick on the pig. Room was fine - but nothing special; bathroom needs work; TV didn't get some of the channels, staff was polite but not welcoming. Property was only 60% occupied but despite a request for a high floor and perhaps an upgrade, they still put me on the 8th floor (15 story property). Workout facility needs work also. Fine for 1 night I suppose but I wouldn't want to stay there for an extended stay. July 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing staff I was amazed at how nice and attentive the staff was. My fiancé and I plan on only staying at Westin hotels from now on. I was so pleased with the service! April 10, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hotel door too short The hotel staff is great, but the room door needs silencing materials to cover the two inch gap at the bottom of the door. Room 724 I think it was. Unfortunately I could hear every single guest go down the hall. And even though i checked in @9pm in the evening---many other guests checked in after! Love showtime channel for free! Also would be nice to have an available plug by the bed, not just the desk. Perhaps a sign to remind guests to be mindful of others sleeping would help but most of all --need to get door length corrected ---it was a long , loud night. October 10, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Aging hotel, but great staff Everyone in the hotel was unfailingly friendly and attentive. Most surprising was the reaction to a housekeeping service call I made. I went through the bedding and found a few hairs in the sheets. I called, requested all the sheets and pillow cases be changed, and it was done. Great. Later that evening, a bottle of wine and strawberries were sent up as recompense. Totally unnecessary, but quite welcomed. March 24, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Completely Disappointing!!! Booked a "traditional room" with a king-sized bed specifically. Checked in and was downgraded to a "studio room" inexplicably with a MURPHY BED!!! Unfortuntately I was in town for a friend's wedding and didn't really have time to fully inspect the premises of my room completely. Didn't even turn on lights as I immediately had to dash back out for the rehearsal dinner. I only discovered the MURHPY BED much later that night upon my return. View outside this room was completely obstructed and atrocious as well!!! Completely inexcusable for a Starwood hotel!!! June 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by amazing i stay at this hotel 2 times a year for crossfit competitions. i have never written a review but between med school and working for a starwood property you can imagine how busy i am. Leo deserves a standing ovation. i honestly think the reason i did so well on my competition was because of him. he took care of my family and i. gave us quiet rooms. i was well rested and trust me never been happier to compete. we have one last competition june 23rd and look forward to staying there hopefully june 22nd the night before. you guys are amazing. thank you so much April 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Have stayed many times We teach a class at this hotel on a regular basis. I don't always stay overnight, but decided to this time. The lady who checked me in was very friendly and helpful. I am sorry I didn't write down her name. The staff always gives me a warm welcome. My husband forgot his jacket in the bar area and they made sure to deliver it to our room. The surrounding area is so pretty and there are many great restaurants. My only disappointment was the restaurant downstairs. We had lunch there on a Sunday. Limited time and they only have a brunch menu with NOTHING healthy on the menu. I was with two others and we were having a meeting. I asked if they could make a salad. Per the chef, NO!! Funny thing is there was a small salad on the other two plates. The waiter said the chef was in a 'mood'. Will not go back. February 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Noisy Nieghbors The first night we had noisy neighbors on both sides. Needless to say we did not get much sleep. In the morning we called to see if it was possible to move to another room, we called the front desk. Jonathon answered the phone and here is where our experience changed. Jonathon apologized for our sleepless night and put things in motion. He said we could absolutely be moved to another room, and said he would call back in approx. 45 min to let us know if we could move immediately that morning. He informed us that one of his colleagues would have the keys to us in hand in the next couple minutes...and we did!! Jonathon also called to make sure we received the new key to another room and asked if he could help us out with anything else. August 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great experience I'm a regular in the Costa Mesa / Anaheim area, and I constantly bounce around properties. I've found my OC home at this property. The location is perfect. 20 minutes to the beach, and 20 minutes to the sports facilities in Anaheim, plus the mall across the street is fantastic and it's just minutes from the airport. The hotel offers a free shuttle to and from the airport, which is a rarity amongst full-service hotels in the area. Even if you get in after the shuttle stops running, it's only a $10 cab ride. The staff is great, very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are spacious and the beds are insanely comfy. My only knock on the hotel is that there isn't a hot tub. 100% recommend this hotel, and will be back many times in the future. November 25, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Never runs totally smoothly... It seems that every time we stay at a Westin we have problems and they ALL are housekeeping related. Again this time, we expected our room to be made up and it wasn't - on TWO occasions - so we had to settle for having housekeeping just bring us towels. We also had to have management come up twice to open the safe and once to fix the air (which was putting out heat and not cool air). Since becoming a Starwood Member (Gold) we have never been offered an upgrade. It's kind of getting to be such that we don't expect much from the lower end hotels... August 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by hotel review I've been waiting to review Westin south coastplaza for a few weeks. I was a bit disappointed with my stay. The woman who checked me in did not listen to me on servel occasions. She asked me if I wanted a bar key and I said yes. She didn't put it with my key. The room smelled bad and the floor was wet on part of the carpet. I showered first evening and in the morning, both of which were cold showers. The only thing nice about my stay was the nice polite valet. I stayed on Sunday March 24th and for now on will be staying elsewhere in the OC. April 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall what you expect out of Westin Overall I found the property and location to be well suited for the Westin Brand. The self parking is a little out of the way, so I stuck with Valet. Upon check-in I was warmly greeted by the front desk for being a Platinum member. I always appreciate when they appreciate my loyalty, a little bit goes a long way when you are on the road over 50 nights. I really like how close the mall is and their wide selection of dining options. Season's 52 was great for lunch. The room itself was standard, nothing to report, bed was fine, shower worked, etc. The bathroom, especially the tub does need to be renovated, but it still works. Next time I am going to try and get an upgrade, this time I stayed in a standard room. I definitely would stay there again. January 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Time For A Thorough Cleaning Please Good grief -- the rooms in this Westin were among the dirtiest and most disappointing I've encountered at any Westin. No pun intended, but the laundry list of items should leave the hotel rather embarassed. I can start with a dirty bath towel with hair embedded in it, draped on the towel bar. How about the mildew above the shower? The thick coatings of dust all over the HVAC blower? Hmmm -- I asked to change rooms, and besides a rather apathetic response at the front desk, the second room also had a mildewy shower, along with black staining on the walls. Though was pleased to note that one of the towels was only ripped and frayed, but at least not coated with someone else's hair. Get with it South Coast Plaza -- particularly with the lazy and uncaring response to a longtime SPG Gold level guest. January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent service and location I've stayed at a lot of Westins located in commercial areas and many have a very cold, business-y feel to them. This hotel is definitely an exception with very warm, attentive service. Checked in and was pleasantly greeted by the shift manager, Michael, who immediately recognized my status (ambassador) and made me feel very welcome (something many hotels still lack today). Rooms were clean and spacious. No lack of the essential amenities. The greatest thing about the hotel is the location: walking distance to the performing arts theaters and South Coast Plaza and a short taxi ride to some of the trendy, hipster bars. Overall, even though I'm local to the OC, this Westin was a great place to get away from it all, relax, and do some serious shopping/eating. December 31, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great hotel When we go to Southern CA, we always stay here. The service is excellent. And South Coast Shopping Plaza is across the Bridge. March 31, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classy, large rooms The hotel is very nice - the lobby is beautiful. My room was a good size. But there were two heavy duvets on the bed which were completely unnecessary in this warm weather. One of them was extremely heavy ; I feel sorry for the chambermaids. The hotel should get rid of it ! The hotel fronts a small park-like area that is pretty, and the views from the upper floors are good, plus it is right near the pedestrian bridge to the South Coast Plaza mall. I will definitely stay here the next time I visit Costa Mesa. September 8, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Experience I should have know this would be a bad experience when I received three reservations for one stay. One reservation for the March 3-5, 2013, second reservation for March 5, 2013, and third reservation March 6, 2013. Your hotel could not even honor the conference rate for the length of the conference. What a rip-off. Based upon similar experience by other conference attendees- the Airport Noise Symposium will not be returning to your hotel. My second issue has to do with the bathroom mirror in my room. The upper portion of the mirror has some gross splatter spots on it. If asked front desk staff on two different occasions to have it cleaned. The mirror was never cleaned. I have been attending conferences for over 20 years- this has to rank as one of the worst hotel experiences. March 8, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overhead Pool View was Magnificent!! Let me first start by saying that I would have given more stars, but in my honest opinion, some areas did not deserve high ratings. 1) Upon arrival, I had to wait along with other Lawyers, Physicians, etc. because our rooms weren't ready. I had arrive at the hotel at approximately 6pm. The front desk staff did not have the ability to handle some of the "Irate" staff the were staying. They were not able to console, or offer any type of sympathy. 2) I arrived to my room and unpacked my luggage. I decided to take a Hot relaxing bath only to find that, the toilet had someone elses urine in it., the bathtub had hairs still in the bottom. So I thought, "Do I complain and have to sit and wait for another room to be cleaned, or do I take care of it myself? I took care of it myself. October 29, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel I reserved two rooms with my Starpoints and was hesitant because some SPG properties seem to downgrade the rooms paid for with points. However, this hotel treated us like royalty. We received beautiful rooms on the 15th floor (there are only 16 floors) across the hall from one another. The front desk manager who checked us in was very cordial, very appreciative of my gold status. The hotel restaurant is fabulous, the location of the hotel is awesome. Our only disappointment is the lack of on on site spa. July 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by bad experience We were given an "accessible room" and told that everything is exactly the same except there is an extra handrail in the bathtub. Not true! When we got into the room, there was no heavenly shower and there was a smelly unplugged fridge in the bathroom. We called down and they said NOT all rooms have heavenly shower. Had we known this, we wouldn't have accepted this room. It took them more than 20 min to come and remove the smelly fridge and we had to take it out of the room ourselves. Then on the final bill we were charged for valet AND self parking when obviously we never valet the car. I hope this bad experience was just an anomaly rather than the norm. We have not had a bad experience at a Westin before. This one was chosen because it's the closest to our destination at the time. September 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel was great Great location and everybody from the frontdesk to the hotel staff were great and very friendly. March 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great, comfortable, professional Great hotel all around. We enjoyed our stay and loved the quick access to the mall and relaxing yet professional stay. March 24, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice room, not very nice people The gentleman that check us in was sensational as were the rooms. The employee that checked me out of the hotel as well as the valet service employees left much to be desired. The "lady" that checked us out was very cold to the point that it felt like I was bothering her. I called from my room to the valet attendant who informed me that my car would be ready when I came down. After OVER THIRTY MINUTES of waiting, I asked one of the front desk workers if it was normal to wait so long. He went to inquire about my vehicle. They had never put in the request to have it taken out and to make it worse they put my keys at the end of the line. When my car finally arrived, not only did I not receive a apology, I was given a sarcastic attitude by the attendant. Beautiful hotel without the employees to match. February 18, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel, nice people, lovely location I would stay again, this hotel was clean, the staff were friendly and accommodating. Nothing to say that would alter my thinking a very nice experience. March 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by High Add-On Fees $30 for overnight parking? $12 for one day's internet access? Seriously??? I like the hotel, but I'll be rethinking where I stay. Hotels for half the cost (La Quinta) in the area offer free parking, free wi-fi, free continental breakfast...and the rooms are only a little bit less posh. In this day and age, it's a shame Westin feels the need to stick it to hotel guests with all of these add-on fees. Given the higher cost of the rooms, you'd think they would comp some of these things. September 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lacking basic ammenities Room was nice, very clean, even had exercise equipment right in the room! (Spin bike, yoga mat, balance ball) The hotel restaurants were a bit pricey ($22 for breakfast) and if you want to use the internet in your room, it was $12/day. Free internet in the lobby. Lesser quality hotels offer both free internet and complimentary continental breakfasts, a higher quality hotel like this one should at least offer free internet. Overall, a good stay, the additional ammenities would be nice. July 1, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>