The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

  • 71333 Dinah Shore Drive
  • Rancho Mirage,
  • California
  • 92270
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 329 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Nice suite, but that was about it Aside from the nice suite, the rest of the resort was a disappointment....from random charges that can't be explained, to a very very limited room service menu and restaurant, slow response time for extra pillows (and annoying calls asking if they'd arrived...would be okay, but not after having to wait an hour), disappointing pool slide that was closed 95% of the time, pool wait staff that were more concerned with chatting with each other behind the bar instead of bringing our drinks and then taking almost an hour to bring my debit card back, plus the very limited parking by our room...not fun to hike a mile in 100+ degree weather... Our room wasn't ready for almost an hour after check in time, but at least they honored a late check out the next day. Just got another email from my bank that I was charged more than my receipt, so going to have to call. Definitely will not be back here!! June 30, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Service overall and room quality lacks The toilet was leaking slowly on the floor and the water temperature on the shower was stuck in the hottest position and wasn't fixed. The food at the restaurant was good, but the service was terrible both at the restaurant outside on the patio and inside. It was not attentive and very slow. The rooms were clean. January 23, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing on many levels After I unpacked, I noticed unsightly hairs on the floor in the bathroom. I was disgusted. I removed them immediately, but continued to find more; even discovering one on the built-in nightstand. I was so disturbed by this that I asked for a new room on my second day. Jose at the front desk assigned me a new room and dispatched his housekeeping supervisor to check out my room. When I arrived she was cleaning my bathroom, yet when she left, I found even more unsightly hairs than the other room had. I realize now that housekeeping mops the floor and that is it. Hairs get glued to the floor and dry there. It is disgusting. They need to sweep to remove hairs, and then mop to sanitize. That night I was nearly asleep when some rude neighbors returned to their room and carried on a loud conversation for 1.5 hours. I called from desk and they dispatched security, but that didn't stop the loud neighbors. They continued to be rude until 1 a.m. To add to this terrible experience, housekeeping knocked on my door at 8:45 a.m. to inquire when I would leave so they could clean my room. This was outrageous. It was way too early in the morning to knock on my door. I know they have walkie talkies, so housekeeping should have checked with the front desk to see if I had checked out yet, instead of disturbing me. Wi-fi is included in the resort fee, but the reception is ghastly. I could not get a strong signal on my phone to utilize a feature I was paying for. This was a most disappointing stay. I will not return to this resort and I will share this experience with friends March 21, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great stay! We stayed here for a wedding. We rented 2 villas and 1 hotel room. Great stay in Palm Springs. Beautiful grounds, great rooms. The only negative thing I could say is that the beds didn't live up to the 'Heavenly Bed' standard. Sheets were scratchy and bed was hard. Staff was great, rooms were spotless! October 16, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by EG This hotel is Heaven on Earth The grounds are beautiful but the most important thing is the AMAZING service of the staff in each area of the hotel. In the lobby area Esther and Kimberly were great, also I was greeted in my room by Esther Hernandez and her staff, they really care about every guest and every room even my little dog was treated like a celebrity by them, bringing him his heavenly bed and bowls.....in the restaurant we were served by Jose Luis and Luis and they were great. I love this place. Love the attitude and smiles of everybody and I want to go back ASAP. May 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Phone Rip Off We felt ripped off when we were charged $6.76 for a 30 second call to Palm Desert to make a dinner reservation. It would have been cheaper to use our Canadian cell phone instead. There was nothing in the room to indicate that a local call would cost that much. Left us with a bad taste on checkout. December 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by I hate resort charges! The only thing that I hated about this trip was the $29.00 "Resort Charge" that they charge you on completion of your stay! I think it's a scam! August 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Things to be aware of Our room smelled pretty musty. And the people up stairs were very noises until very late and then again very early. Also there were dogs near by. Which I love dogs. But we go away to get away from our dogs. I don't really want to hear someone else's dogs barking. Please don't get me wrong. We will be back! We had a great time. August 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The resort fees The "resort fees" are insulting, especially for SPG owners who are supposed to be honored guests according to pr material. With tax, almost $30 per night. Paying for one's stay with starwood points is supposed to be a benefit freebie. Not truly the case, is it. February 23, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Had better Westin experience Beautiful common areas but the room could use an update. Bathroom was great though. HATE resort fees; if i'm at a resort, why do i have to pay an extra fee? Front desk did not explain what the resort fee cover. Found out from other reviewers that I could have used the spa facility. No wifi signal in my room. IT guy could not figure it out even though he tried several things. No phone signal either. Maid woke us up at 8am! Seriously!?! Who wants to wake up at 8am while on vacation? Told her we have 4pm checkout. She came back at 3pm and said we had to vacate the room because someone else was checking in to it. October 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel The staff was so nice and especially our maid. The food was fantastic and healthy. The resort has been updated and is a wonderful place to stay. I would highly recommend it. June 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Relaxing Getaway Stayed here for a few nights in June, loved it so much we came back again in July. Bella Vista was an amazing restaurant with an outstanding and very friendly staff. We looked forward to our breakfast each morning, AMAZING eggs benedict! The pool was the highlight of our trip. It was very relaxing and the atmosphere was pleasant. The DJ on Saturday was lots of fun. We felt we were VERY well taken care of by the pool staff. The manager and his servers were extremely friendly and always had a smile. After a long day at the pool, it was nice to go back to our beautiful room, gorgeous view, and the Westin heavenly bed. I highly recommend this hotel and will DEFINITELY be back in the future! July 24, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointment! I have never stayed in a Westin that was this low quality! Popcorn ceilings? I haven't seen those in years. The room was old feeling, looking and smelling. There was a dead bug carcas in the bathroom which gave me the feeling the room hadn't been used in a long time. Everything seemed to have a layer of grime on it. I wanted to order room service but I was so grossed out by the dirty, stained menu in my room I decided to pass. The lagoon-type water area around the pools had a layer of scum on it and smelled. We were encouraged by the concierge to go to the restaurant at the Villas and that a shuttle runs back and forth. After eating (in a restaurant with no restrooms-had to use the pool restrooms which were completely destraoyed with paper towel and toilet paper everywhere-and extremely dirty) we were stranded with our two small children down at that restaurant and had to end up walking all the way back to the hotel. We even had the restaurant bartender call the bell hops to let them know we were waiting for the shuttle and it never came (we waited about 25 minutes before deciding we had been abandoned and had to walk). All of the other Westin hotels I have stayed at have been sooooo much nicer I was completely disappointed. August 8, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by wrong charges! We checked in to this hotel last Sept 28,2013. As expected, we want to have a very relaxing week end. We enjoyed our stay , not until I checked my bank account . The hotel charges me with ridiculous amount--- $ 158.67, then another 50.00 then the next day I got charged for 105.78--- I do not know what are those for since all we charged in our card is just 2 drinks from the bar... and the worse part is when my husband called and he spoke to "Crystal", he was told that she will email him the statement and that "Crystal" also confirmed that the amount billed should only be $52.00. I also left a voice message to their accounting department and it was not so helpful at all since they will return your call 24 hours after... I patiently waited and a lady from the accounting office called me back,I tried to explained what happened but it seems that she does not even know how to explain the charges--- she told me she will email me the statement- which she never did. So my husband called the hotel AGAIN and was told they do not have someone named Crystal ,they forwarded his call to the gen manager which is " RAQUEL WOOD"---oh well, we will see if she really cares about how frustrated we are that until now we do not have the explanation to those charges. October 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Met expectations & more Ck in good, was upgraded, room nice & large & VERY clean, 2 queen beds SO comfortable, nice balcony overlooking pool, beautiful grounds, very good service, Pool lounges could use cleaning. Some mini lakes need to be monitored for standing water "aroma". Shower head splattered & maintenance arrived immediately to fix it. Great attn to detail. Beautiful grounds, pools & rooms. Very good staff. Rec'd late ck-out. Entire place was beyond expectations. Only thing I DON'T like is the daily "Resort Fee" over & above the hotel room fee. I realize most places charge this, but I resent it. July 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Just ok I am glad I read other reviews before visiting this property, so I was prepared. Other than the front desk personnel and the bellman/valets, the rest of the staff was friendly but not at all attentive. I ate in the restaurant twice and at the lounge once. All times I had to remind the servers several times of items I ordered, drink requirements, or to pay my bill. David at the pool was a great and attentive bartender, but he stood alone. The property is definitely a different style than the type of resort I was accustomed to. Resort prices for everything, but less than top level resort service. October 6, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok experience The grounds to the resort and very beautiful and well maintained. And it was a lot larger than was expected. This place was HUGE. So when we checked in on a Friday night we were alittle dissapointed that we were stuck in a room at the very end of the resort away from all of the amenities, yet the parking lots seemed empty. The room we were put in had seemed as if no one occupyed it for some time. The real kicker was the cockroach in the tub and bug in the toilet. I immediatly called to have my room changed, which they did with no issue. However, no one came to get our luggage as they said they would, so we gathered everything and trekked it back to the lobby. This time they put us in the same room type, only closer to the center of the resort, which made us wonder why they didn't give us this room from the beginning ( was it because we had booked through a third-party with a discounted rate??) Who knows. After that everything was fine and they did what they could to make us happy and gave us a credit to use at the resort. The room was average, nothing special. The resort fee seemed high since it was too cold to use the pool, you park your own vehicle, and no paper was received in the morning. I guess I payed 27$ for coffee. Overall, the grounds were beautiful, it was in a great location, but the room was basic and the experience started on the wrong foot. I dont know if i would stay again. There are many more options for the price with updated rooms, so recommending to others is a real toss-up for us....... November 16, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Poor room As I checkd in I was told, we have upgraded you to a suite. Well. not so much. I was in a larger room, on the parking lot. I know I will not get upgraded every time. But it is the start of off season in Palm Desert. The hotel did not feel that busy (I could be wrong). Another issue was parking. My room was next to the conference center / ball room. Upon check in no problem. Left property for dinner and could not find a parking space near my room. Room was showing wear and tear. Just not to the usual standard. I have stayed at his property in the recently and the room was much better. May 24, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enjoyable stay but...... Recently spent 5 nights at this Hotel. The accommodation and the grounds more than met our expectations. We had paid to upgrade to a golf view room and it was well worth it, the view was lovely. The large well decorated room had two large double beds and two very confortable lounge chairs. The hotel staff were efficient, helpful and polite. Our only issue with this hotel related to the "breakfast package" . I had booked the room directly with the Westin Hotel and my reservation included the 'breakfast package'. On day one, we were informed by the restaurant staff that the voucher we had been given at check in time only covered the cost of two eggs, bacon or sausage and toast. Apparently the 'breakfast package' did NOT include any coffee/tea or juice. A very embarrassing discussion followed with the Server, with other guests listening. We felt very uncomfortable. We were advised to seek clarification from reception as to exactly what our "breakfast package" included. I have NEVER encountered such a basic breakfast provision or one that did not even include a standard cup of coffee. I consider this issue which continued into day two, three, four and five with different Servers totally spoilt each morning's visit to the breakfast restaurant. It was very disappointing that we were unable to enjoy a relaxing breakfast without having to face this hassle each day. The reception staff did inform us that the wording "breakfast package" is somewhat misleading and ambiguous as apparently there are several different levels of breakfast package!! In my opinion the Westin Group need to address this issue and sort out the wording on their website. This daily aggravation did affect my personal overall view of the hotel and I will have to think carefully before returning. March 19, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay We visited The Westin this past weekend. Right from the beginning the staff was super friendly and helpful. Daria at the reception desk was awesome. Personally I think she should be in a management position she was friendly, professional, and helpful. Victor our waiter was great! The staff overall was five star.. Hotel room was amazing and the facility was second to none. The A/C worked great. Good thing because it was 112 degrees outside. Pools were clean and well stocked. They Gym was incredible. We're definitely coming back next year. July 7, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by 20 year Wedding Anniversary trip not perfect We are regular guests of Westin properties but this was our first time to The Palm Desert Westin. I made every effort to ensure no mishaps during our trip by calling ahead and the week of arrival speaking to management about how I wanted this vacation to be as perfect as possible. The room upon arrival needed maintenance in several areas, dusty furniture,The closet door was off the track lying on the inside of the closet itself, the phone did not work properly, 2 lamps as well as our patio light were out, and we didn't have a full set of towels only bath towels were placed in our room. It clearly appeared to have not been inspected before appointing it to us. We moved rooms the following day. Not convenient but necessary. I will say the management and service from the staff was on point when I brought our concerns to them, very apologetic and kind. Our disappointment was that we had stressed how special of a trip this was to us and to give us the initial room we were in showed that the facility wasn't trying to ensure the best experience possible for us. Our room for our 4 night stay was only serviced once by housekeeping. I had to run my own trash to the larger receptacle in our building and request fresh towels and coffee for our in room machine. The restaurant Pinzimini was excellent! Elizabeth our server was an absolute sweetheart and really made us feel special celebrating our wedding anniversay at their property. The food was truly very good as was the wine selection. We also enjoyed the Fireside Lounge. Karen Settles at registration was also absolutely wonderful the morning we moved to the second room, She made sure to have it inspected prior to us relocating and sent up some healthy breakfast for us to enjoy after our workout as an apology. I don't know that I would return to this specific Westin it seemed really hit and miss. I have stayed at other properties in which the accommodations and service are streamlined to ensure a consistently good experience of comfort and the amenities. I wish it had been a much more memorable trip for us with not so many bumps. October 29, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Business & Pleasure combination Stayed at your hotel for a conference and added personal days on to this. The Heavenly beds were fantastic (as they usually are). I was a little surprised that the resort seemed a little dated. Some small things that needed attention (a broken door to the ice machine room, dirty pnds around the resort, paint required in some areas. I was surprised there was no service at one of the pools - for a "resort fee" of $27 I would have expected that? Food at the conference was very good. Fitness vcenter was good - but again, for a resort fee to be charged I would have expected more... June 19, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Housekeeping needs improvement MapQuest doesn't know where you are. Upon arrival in my room, the toilet was "running". A simple "jiggle" of the flush-handle fixed the problem but why? The power supply to the in-room table was unplugged leaving no power to the table or the WIFI router. I had to find the power supply, plug it in -- not my job. The coffee machine cord would not reach any power point or power supply from its position. I had to move it into the bathroom in order to brew a cup of coffee. The room seems a bit run-down with furniture scratches, carpet stains and a roughed in panel in the bathroom. April 7, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Housekeeping and Staff need some help There was an old candy wrapper in plane site under the chair in the room. If housekeeping didnt take the time to pick garbage off the floor before we checked into our room then I know they didnt properly clean the room. The bed was messy also. In addition, they called our room at 4:45am for a wake up call which we never requested. We didnt have any wake up call so not like they just screwed up the time. The gentlemen who checked us in was pleasant and efficient. Other than that, the GM needs to work on his staff. This excludes the massive renovation the property needs. March 9, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by room size This hotel has very spacious rooms. Lots of room to work and relax. Bathroom was huge! Closet was more than ample and larger than my home closets! June 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Place The grounds were lovely, the rooms were very nice. My only problem was with the food. There was very little variety and what was available was very expensive. The Italian all-day restaurant was average at best. The fireside was a little better, but there was very little 'regular food.' Even worse, was dining after 10:00. The menu was so limited and Room service actually brought a frozen pizza to my room. I thought that was the most offensive thing I had ever been served in a hotel. Being a conference attendee, I was limited in my ability to go elsewhere for food, and my our meetings ran late, necessitating my ordering from room service. I was with a vegitarian and there was very little that served her needs as well. June 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Slides were the best Slides were great but otherwise not much kid focus on dining like a breakfast buffet for on the go and rooms should have microwave August 9, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very poor customer service I checked into the hotel and was told that I was not going to get the room I had reserved - high floor, single bed. Then I discovered that the TV did not work and it was replaced and still did not work. Took the next day before it finally worked. Then to make matters worse, I have tried to get my folio emailed to me and keep getting excuses about why it cannot be done and sent to my business address. I actually left the hotel a night early even though I paid for the room because of my disgust with everything. I will never stay there again for work or personal trips. February 6, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not Happy When I got to the reception area to check in I asked the person at the desk if I could upgrade my room. They said that I had gotten an upgrade. Well the upgrade was a dirty room right next to the parking lot. When I went back the person did not help me to move. My wife was rather upset with the condition of the dirty room where they left yesterdays pillow case and towel on the counter plus I took pictures of the dirt and papers on the flow outside my room. I was finally moved to a better room. Your swimming pool was under construction. The help were very nice. I usually stay at Westins. This experience was not the best. Your manager was very nice who I spoke to. I will continue to be a fan of the Westin Chain but I will not return to the Westin Rancho Mirage. April 12, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Somewhat Disappointed I'm a big fan of Starwood but must say I was disappointed with the Westin Mission Hills. When we checked in, we requested a ground floor room with a "patio and a good view". What we got was a view of a cinder block wall that surrounded the patio. Because we were late and had to get to an appointment, we had no time to move to another room. The Mission Hills abutts a beautiful golf course but you wouldn't know it from the room we got. Moreover, the parking is atrocious. We could find no parking near our room and had to park on the other side of the property. March 2, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>