The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

  • 71333 Dinah Shore Drive
  • Rancho Mirage,
  • California
  • 92270
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 327 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed with our weekend We looked for a relaxing weekend location in Palm Desert, to be close to family for Mother's Day. As SPG Platinum members, we chose the Westin, which promised plenty of room for us to run, a pool, and good dining choices. Wasn't what we expected. The Mother's Day crowd completely overwhelmed this resort - they weren't prepared for it, and it showed. When we reserved the room, we had options for Resort view, Golf Course view, or Pool view. We chose, mistakenly, the Pool view after viewing the pictures of the sprawling pool with pretty landscaping. Upon arrival, we learned we were in a second floor (no elevators for luggage), off-the parking lot room overlooking not the primary pool, but a very small suburban backyard-looking "adult pool" away from everything else. The room was OK, if a bit outdated, and the bathroom was particularly dull. Disappointing start to the weekend, as other rooms, including the golf course view, were available at lower rates, and would have been much better. The property itself is vast and the grounds well-maintained, offering good running or walking options in the early morning or late evening (too hot in the middle of the day). The exercise facility is great, but made completely unavailable by the number of people in the facility, and those waiting to squeeze in an exercise session. Same story for the room service, pools, and other guest services. All of the chairs and cabanas at the main pool were completely full by 10am, and by noon when we wanted to be at the pool, the water was absolutely teeming with children - looked like a wading pool - not a place we wanted to be. The "adult pool" we found was a small, square pool, with chairs around - but with no poolside service. For service, we were asked to use the house phone to call and order room service. At 102 degrees, this was not the resort experience we were expecting - but it was the only option. We tried, and were shocked when repeated calls to the Guest Services line (the single line for anything from Room Service to the Concierge to the Car Valet) went unanswered, or just rang and rang. This happened from the pool, as well as our room, when we tried to order a meal after the restaurants closed at 10pm. When we did finally get through, we had a meal delivered, and the guy who brought the meal said they were very understaffed, and that he had taken the call, prepared the meal, and delivered it to us. Happened time and again - including at checkout, when we could not get through to get a bellman to help with luggage - ended up having to lug it all down the flight of stairs and out to the parking lot ourselves in the heat. In all - a disappointing experience from a place we really wanted to enjoy. We love the brand, and really liked the look of the place - but the experience fell fall short of our expectations. May 16, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not to the standards I have grown to expect I have stayed in more than a dozen Westin properties over the last year and been pleased by each and every one until this hotel. This one was not a good experience. Our rooms were not only poorly cleaned each day, we didn't even get towels two days in a row, let alone clean glasses, new coffee, bath mats, etc. In addition, the on-premises restaurant is just bad. I am highly tolerant of mediocre food (as I am on the road 60% of the time) but PIzzamini was bland, over priced and full of servers that were rude and slow. I never complain but just had to at this hotel; it does not meet Westin standards. January 6, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by So noisy and disappointing Hdousekeeping uses walkie talkies to communicate on full volume so you hear "I forgot coffe cups in room 1425" at 8 am and the kids wake up crying after a late night that took us to the desert in the first place. If they try to book you in building #14 don't take the room. It is where they have the laundry for housekeeping. As a result, you are surrounded by housekeeping carts, bags of dirty laundry and trash and a lot of noise. It was horrible. We had ants in our bathroom and had to walk forever to the pool with the water slide. It was a huge disappointment and not at all worthy of the Westin name. December 29, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not a recommended propertry I booked a group with 30+ rooms. Almost everyone had to wait for their room to be ready to check-in. The service was terrible and the meeting planning left a lot to be desired. The events did come off better than expected based on the service we had received in the bar and restaurant. I somewhat expected an upgrade as a Platinum member but I was mistaken. I was told, "Not at that room rate". January 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by insect infected Bathroom and dressing room full of ants. When walking in bedroom floor without slippers there were ants crawling on our feet. Disgusting. Called front dstk they sent someone out to spray. We were gone at the time, came back and within a few hours the ants were crawling in bathtub and on the walls. By next morning we could not shower due to ants all over bath mat and floor. NOT worth 10,000 starpoints points December 14, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by July Stayed here for a weekend getaway with girlfriends. The staff was super helpful. Great time and I will go back. July 28, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Disappointed We stayed for our 10 year anniversary. Our family made special arrangements to pay for our room and asked that we be notified along with chocolate covered strawberries delivered to our room. We were never notified that the room had been paid for, we were told that it was charged to our credit card. We also never received the strawberries. The property also seemed to need a lot of repairs. February 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it This was our first stay at the Westin in Mission Hills/Rancho Mirage, and I had gone onto the website to read the reviews before we got there. I must say I was expecting the worst and hoping for the best and we were not disappointed. The staff was amazing and kind, the shuttles were awesome, and our Villa was perfect. We were there for a CHEA convention and were very well taken care of by all. May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay We visited The Westin this past weekend. Right from the beginning the staff was super friendly and helpful. Daria at the reception desk was awesome. Personally I think she should be in a management position she was friendly, professional, and helpful. Victor our waiter was great! The staff overall was five star.. Hotel room was amazing and the facility was second to none. The A/C worked great. Good thing because it was 112 degrees outside. Pools were clean and well stocked. They Gym was incredible. We're definitely coming back next year. July 7, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Stay. There was mold under the soapdish in the bathtub. Lights over the beds were not working upon check in. No desk chairs, on ly easy chairs in the room. Not enough electrical outlets near the desk or bed to accomodate electronics needs. No facecloths in the bathroom and very few towels. Stayed here many times in the past, but this stay was unacceptable. December 18, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointing Pre-paid for a king room, checked in at 7PM in the evening and was told we only had a queen available and that our room wasn't ready. They suggested we go for dinner and they would call us when it was ready. It was 7pm in the evening!! When she went to check on something I then heard the other lady tell another guest "looks like I have the last King room available for you" When my lady came back I asked her why the other couple was given a room and we were still standing here. She said she had no room showing on her system for me. When I gave her a look of 'give me a break' all of a sudden a King room was available and ready for us to check in immediately. - got to the room, the remote on the tv didn't work (my husband was dying to watch the playoff highlights) the bedside light was out and the carpet in front of the bathroom was soaking - engineering showed up and fixed the remote and put a bath mat over the wet spot...charming. - went to have a shower the next morning and the tub filled up to my husbands ankles. Makes me wonder how they clean those tubs as this wasn't just a bad drain it was fully clogged. - the pool closest to us was "closed for a private function" the entire time we were there. Yet every time we walked by this pool it was practically empty. This meant EVERYONE was at the main pool. For some reason the resort also allowed kids to have water guns with a fully crowded pool. In the week we were there we saw numerous people get angry including a old couple who were squirted with water. Now...I love kids, I am 4 months pregnant and feel they need to have a space to have fun. Give them a kids pool to go nuts in.... maybe the one you reserved for the "private function" or hold off on the water guns when the place is packed. Overall it was a huge disappointment. I usually always stay at Westins but my last 2 experiences have been awful. This was the icing on the cake. April 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great getaway We enjoyed our stay at this resort. I have stayed there for business travel before, but of course it is different when you are there for relaxation. Large quiet room, the lovely Westin bed. We only ate in the bar area, but the selection of food there was very good. The gym was large and fully stocked. Easy to get to, well maintained. Friendly staff. December 7, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Unclean The room was very dirty, carpet was so dirty, your feet would be black after a shower. The room had a smell to it. The room had bugs in the closet and bathroom. My sheets had not been changed. The towels are old and yellowed. I was charged $ 40.00 to have boxes delievered to my room. There is no elevator & you must use stairs when moving luggage. August 24, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ghost Ringing Though the hotel was very comfortable and provided a wonderful ambiance I did have one slight issue. The phone in the room ghost rang periodically and at times when I didnt answer It left a dead air message on the VM. After calling the front desk and notifying them about the problem they supposedly sent someone to the room that was supposed to arrive within 5-10 min. This did not happen prior to me showering and leaving 30 min afterwards. Once returned I noticed a card saying that they did show up but at that time I just decided to unplug the phone for the rest of my stay. I was surprised that I wasn't questioned about it at my time of check out. Other than that it is a nice place to chill and relax. June 10, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible facility This place along with other starwood facilities are a joke. Presented with a dirty room - really? There were newspapers, plastic water bottles, food droppings, etc. Furniture that belonged inside was on the outside patio. It took forever to get the room cleaned each day....well I won't consider it cleaned. They would not even replace the basic soaps on a daily basis. Oh don't ask the staff any questions, you get a different response from each staff member. doesn't anyone know what is going on. And the bugsd in the conferece center - give me a break. Never stay at a starwood facility! April 13, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by unable to find parking room 602 was across from the hotel cleaning staff supplies. you can hear their walkie talkies. they made noise when they would bring out supplies with their carts. we were near the back of a restaurant you can hear the staff talking and preparing to deliver food. this lasted beyond after 10pm January 2, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS I was a guest for a business conference, the property has the poorest signage of any place I have been, not to mention WiFi or cell phone signal. If you want to get lost and get away from it all........this is the place. OVER RATED, OVER PRICED. May 14, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a 4 star resort We stayed at this resort in May for a weekend getaway with the family. From the moment we checked in we felt like we were an inconvenience to almost every staff member we encountered, from the front desk staff, to housekeeping, to the pool staff. On the Westin website it says that teachers and military/police/fire get a discount of no resort fee charged. At check in we mentioned this to the staff and they had never heard of this and didn't know what we were talking about. The front desk lady called her supervisor (the front desk director) over and he proceeded to argue with my husband and get in his face and say he's never heard of it and he would be the first to know about it. My husband pulled the westin mission hills website up in front of him on his smart phone and showed him. The director never apologized and the front desk lady even said are you even sure that's our website. We couldn't believe that the staff was arguing with us, even with their website pulled up. Fortunately the director did take the resort fee off our bill after arguing with customers for 10 minutes. Unfortunately for us the rude service didn't end there. We took the kids to the pool several times on this trip and each time received either no service or poor service. The first day was a Friday afternoon and the pool was rather empty, there were several servers standing around talking and not interested in serving guests or even asking guests if they would like to order anything. I saw other hotel guests having to follow the servers or wave to them over and over to get them over there. We were at the pool for 1.5 hours and never once were asked. The pool slide was also closed (during posted open hours), there was a sign saying to go over to the pool desk to get someone to open it. We went to the pool desk and had to wait while 3 employees stood there talking and then began to argue with each other over whose turn it was to work the slide. We went on the slide a couple times along with all other kids in the pool who were excited it was finally open and then the employees closed it again to go back to the desk and talk. Saturday we went back to the pool and it was much more crowded so the slide was open all day, which was nice. I was also asked if I would like anything by a server after I was there an hour. At one point I walked up to the bar to try to place an order and was ignored by the bar tender who was talking to a server rather than making drinks or working. After waiting 5 minutes with no acknowledgement, I left. Our room was dirty. There was hair on the bathroom floor, and dirt in the bathtub. I had to clean it out before I would bathe my kids in there. The white westin signature bedspread was stained and looked dirty. The rooms and grounds were also outdated and in need of repairs. I was very disappointed in this resort. I expected more from a Westin and a 4 star resort. I do not recommend this resort at all. There are many other nicer resorts in the Rancho Mirage/Indian Wells area who know how to treat their guests with respect and common courtesy. June 3, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Westin Mission Hills Needs Improvement The Pool area was crowded uncomfortable. The pool bar staff was overwhelmed and the service was shoddy at best. The food and drink prices are pure robbery. Pick somewhere else to stay. July 9, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing A few weeks ago we had a bad experience at another SPG hotel so we decided to have a correcting experience and stay at Mission Hills. Unfortunately we had the following issues during our stay: 1 - one of the keys we were given didn't work. After asking five times the hotel staff finally delivered new keys. 2 - bathroom wasn't clean. After complaining, a maintenance guy showed up with a few pool towels to clean the bathroom. He wiped it quickly and left - bathroom was still dirty. 3 - the heater in our room didn't work and it was really cold. A maintenance guy tried fixing it for an hour but couldn't get it to work. We were told they would provide us with small space heaters and told them tolerance the, in the room since we had to go somewhere. When we got back there was only one space heater that didn't work. It kept popping the electricity. Called front desk and they sent another one that worked but still didn't really heat the entire room. 4 - we didn't have hot water for quite a while. 5 - the distance from the parking to the room is a little far. Overall hotel grounds are beautiful but unfortunately we didn't really enjoy outstay there. January 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed I don't normally leave a review, however, I thought it is important to share my experience so this hotel can improve. The hotel is located on beautiful property and it was a shame to have the experience that I did. I checked into my first room during my visit and had issues with the shower heads and stained bed sheets. The shower heads, which were designed to be flexible, were fixed and positioned in a inconvenient way. One shower head was pointed at the wall and the other was so low that I had to squat down to use it. I chose to let go of both issues. One the second day of my stay, I noticed ants in my bathroom and also on the nightstand. Not ignoring this issue, I called the front desk and the manager quickly changed my room. Althought I appreciated the quick response of the staff, I was asked to change to a room that was on the other side of the hotel. I was upgraded to a bigger room, which was nice, however, the internet did not work. I spent several minutes on the phone with technical support and opened several tickets. I was told they would get back to me but I never heard back. This was very inconvenient since I was on a business trip and keeping up with email is important to my profession. As I mentioned above, I usually do not leave reviews, but I do want this place to improve since it is a nice hotel on nice property and would like to come back. Thank you for taking the time to read this. Thanks, Maher May 1, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Accommodations were excellent We enjoyed every bit of our stay, The only recommendation I would have is that when I checked, I was given an envelope to be taken to the concierge for a free gift. The concierge was not the friendliness of people. He made me feel like I was bothering him and not welcomed. I also received a phone message in the room regarding a free gift and to call the concierge. I did so but was told we already claimed it. It would be nice if the front desk and concierge were in tune with each other and that we would not have to go through this humiliation. July 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by A substantial property This is a property that has good bones - in other words, it has many of the features of a beautiful, well-laid out facility with rather magnificent views - one of which, is the mountain landscape framed by the Spanish/Morrocan architecture as you walk toward the lobby from the interior walkway. if you visit, take a moment - no, several moments, to look above and take in the view in front of you. It changes with every stroll, as light and time of day changes. It is quite splendid.It is, in my opinion and the real beauty of the hotel. I cannot speak to the golf, as i did not play, and my husband only hit a bucket of balls due to the extreme heat. It was a lovely course, however. The views from our room, 701, were quite pleasant and we enjoyed sitting on the patio, enjoying a glass of wine in the early evening. The room was very clean and comfortable.All of the rooms are quite large.I meant to use the spa, but did not book timely, so I cannot speak to this, either. We had dinner at the restaurant Pinzimini (I think), and had swordfish - all of the food was very good, and we probably find hotel restaurants to be less than average, generally speaking. We also had a breakfast outdoors - quite lovely. Not having children in tow, the one thing that I found to be very disappointing was that the pools were insufficient for the number of guests using them. A large number of balls to play with of various sizes are provided at the pool, so most likely if you are not playing with one, you will be bopped on the head with one. While there is an adult pool, it is painfully small, and uninviting. So, for families, this may be your vacation - raucous, loud, all about the kids at the pool. For adults who are looking for something a little more peaceful or balanced, maybe not. Also, if you want to be close to Palm Desert shopping and restaurants, it is a little bit out of the way. The property is really self-contained. One thing that i must say is that the service from the staff is outstanding. Very kind and polite, from drivers to housekeeping restaurant to management, the polish and concern from everyone was refreshing to see. Westin's philosophy for service is obviously a winner. Due to our taxi failing to show to take us to dinner one evening, the front valet in the blink of an eye arranged to have us transported into Palm Desert. (they were slow and could accomodate this. One should not expect this as a matter of course). We were dumbstruck! Never expecting this. The employee (Marco) that took us to the restaurant had been with the company for over 20 years and had only very complimentary things to say about the company and seemed quite proud to be working with Westin. Nice to hear. July 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs updating and cleaned The housekeeping is poor. It is hit-or-miss as to whether you get your coffee service refreshed or your towels replaced. MOLD in shower. Common areas (hallways in buildings) were dirty, and many had strange purple/black spills that looked like something leaked while going through there. Room service breakfast was cold. Service in bar was slow. I used the spa, and the facial was nice. Went to the spa pool, and it needs some upkeep. There were tiles missing from the decorative tile line around the pool. February 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by room size This hotel has very spacious rooms. Lots of room to work and relax. Bathroom was huge! Closet was more than ample and larger than my home closets! June 23, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel grounds are great, rooms need work and deep cleaning We used to go to the Westin Mission Hills very often 12-15 years ago. We have only been back since about 3 times since 2001. This is largely because of the trouble we have had with the aging dirty rooms needing renovation. We tried it again this weekend using my points for two nights. When stepping in room was extremely dusty/stuffy feeling, we started to sneeze. Turned on the ventilation. This didn't really help. Drapes are tall and long against window....I dont feel these are vacuumed often. Not deep cleaned. We tried to get another room...but they were sold out with two groups (so they say) Not great attention for a suffering award gold member. ...... They sent housekeeping who spent maybe 8-10 minutes with a vacuum. Didn't do much other than kick up more dust. The lamps and hidden areas were deep with dust. For instance, behind the TV on the dresser was lots of dust. Old sofa bed was probably a big contributor. We slept horribly because of this...not to mention the bed --- which was the upgraded newer type.....but it was warn out....needed flipping or something. Each of us was sleeping in a "pit" sinking down where too many people have slept before --- with little back support. The grounds on the otherhand are just as nice as we remember. Very pretty. I miss the fish in the ponds....... views are spectacular. We payed $20 more and played tennis, which was nice...but I would think that should have been included in the $25 daily resort fee. Nobody greeted me with as a starwood gold guest, even the fact I was staying on award. I didnt get offered a SPG Gold level amenity of any kind......I expected to .....so not sure what happened here either. We ate lunch at the pool and that was reasonably priced for what it is..... Fish tacos were fresh tasting. Son liked the Hot Dog. Music at the pool was horrible though.....it was loud and extremely muddy/distorted.......like the speakers were behind pillows..... Made for an unrelaxing atmosphere. Even my personal MP3 player headphones couldnt drown it out. Wife agreed and wished they would turn it off or way way down. If the quality of the sound was better.....then it would be OK. Never heard outdoor speakers that sounded that bad :( Continental breakfast was reasonably priced for the variety, and the food and service was good the next morning. When checking out I relayed all this...I expected a manager to come and speak with me...but he girl just apologized and said the room will be cleaned again. Did nothing more. We left. January 21, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by This hotel has good features, but a few things need to be fine tuned The rooms were extremely comfortable and it was a great nights sleep. The property is very spacious and pretty. My only complaint about the room is that the toiletries were not replenished each day, no new shampoo, etc when it was clear that I was using the products and almost out. The food service by the pool needs some help in that it took well over 20 minutes to get drinks and food after taking a while to get someone's attention. I called the front desk a couple of times to no answer, which should never happen. May 2, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs some work to be at Westin standards The lobby to this hotel is fantastic along with the staff. My check in was fantastic along with the lovely scent you find at all westins. The room was good (especially the bathroom) but there was a slight musty/mildew smell. On the ammenties side the bed was great as always...the extra refridgerator was biazrre because it's placed so that a chair has to be removed to access and the fridge doors is opposite than the cabinet door. The most disappointing was the pool- the chair cushions all need to be replaced. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel's great features Love the bungalow-like rooms and the carts which takes us to al over the Westin resort. Very centrally located for activities, dining and shopping. July 22, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Unacceptable Service. Most disappointing Westin I have been too. But first let me say that I have read the 5 and 4 star reviews here and I agree that this place probably provides great experiences at some point but In my opinion, in order to truly be a 5 Star Resort you need to be 5 Stars all the time. We pulled up to the valet and found it abandoned - it was like a ghost town. We figured someone would show up eventually and so we unpacked the car...after 5 minutes I decided to go and let them know and check-in. I was offered apologies and they sent someone out. The nice girl at the front desk did provide complimentary champagne and chocolate strawberries for our anniversary. I figured at this point that I could let the ghost town valet first impression go. When we returned to the Valet, they didn't offer to valet our car and take us to our room - he just asked if I wanted directions? I thought it was odd but we again settled and drove to the room. And then we got lost because the nice girl at the front gave us terrible directions! Why would we want to park in a lot that has a pool between our car and our room? Long walk with luggage? 100 degrees? No? Room was on the golf course and as expected for Westin. Good sized too with a love seat, coffee table and reading area. We became optimistic again and decided to eat at Pinzimini, the hotel's italian restaurant. I like the menu - plenty of new things to try. My wife had a salad and I had the Prix Fixe with Bruschetta, a lovely pizza with a sunny side egg and prosciutto! And then topped of with tira misu. Service was good but I did notice it was slow and the servers would congregate in a group in the middle of the restaurant and I thought it unprofessional and tacky. Food was good and our server was great but I don't get the idea that anyone takes there job seriously here so far. I golf the next morning and you have to play here! I will write a separate review on the course in detail but I enjoyed it - definitely the highlight of my stay. After I golfed my wife and I retreated to the Pool for the day and ordered some food and drinks. My wife modified her order slightly and the server wrote down and said no problem - yah right. It was exactly like the menu and as if the chef couldn't read. So I ate my meal and my wife watched until our server had it fixed. The first time someone here went out of their way to course correct here was Ryan our server. He offered a free drink for the inconvenience and was especially attentive and thankful for our patience. Great job Ryan - we appreciated your hard work. Now the prices are crazy at the pool and not Ryan's fault - we spent like $100!!! For two entrees a few cocktails and a bucket of beer... We woke up the next morning after a great night at El Paseo and walked for coffee at the market they have on site - cool little place with reasonable prices. Upon returning, our room keys didn't work so we walked back to the front desk- mildly irritated. The girl working the desk was oblivious and unapologetic for our inconvenience and got us new keys. We got back to the room and STILL the keys didn't work...so I called from my cellphone and let the front desk know. They said they would send someone right away (that means 20 minutes and two phone calls BTW). My second phone call at the 12 minute mark was not so nice but the girl on the other end was not either as all she had to say was "i have ready sent someone sir". Security shows up with their master key - assuming that we are incompetent and doesn't bring any equipment. He also asked us if we left the slider unlocked - further proof he thinks we are stupid. We would have opened the door ourselves Einstein... So the battery was dead on our door lock and I have received no call from anyone who gives a damn if we are upset or not after we made it clear we weren't. You should be ashamed Westin Mission Hills. I spent nearly a thousand dollars here and I got a motel quality experience. So glad we are leaving - keep your 3 pm check out and get me outta' here September 15, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>