The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

  • 71333 Dinah Shore Drive
  • Rancho Mirage,
  • California
  • 92270
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 376 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel grounds are great, rooms need work and deep cleaning We used to go to the Westin Mission Hills very often 12-15 years ago. We have only been back since about 3 times since 2001. This is largely because of the trouble we have had with the aging dirty rooms needing renovation. We tried it again this weekend using my points for two nights. When stepping in room was extremely dusty/stuffy feeling, we started to sneeze. Turned on the ventilation. This didn't really help. Drapes are tall and long against window....I dont feel these are vacuumed often. Not deep cleaned. We tried to get another room...but they were sold out with two groups (so they say) Not great attention for a suffering award gold member. ...... They sent housekeeping who spent maybe 8-10 minutes with a vacuum. Didn't do much other than kick up more dust. The lamps and hidden areas were deep with dust. For instance, behind the TV on the dresser was lots of dust. Old sofa bed was probably a big contributor. We slept horribly because of this...not to mention the bed --- which was the upgraded newer type.....but it was warn out....needed flipping or something. Each of us was sleeping in a "pit" sinking down where too many people have slept before --- with little back support. The grounds on the otherhand are just as nice as we remember. Very pretty. I miss the fish in the ponds....... views are spectacular. We payed $20 more and played tennis, which was nice...but I would think that should have been included in the $25 daily resort fee. Nobody greeted me with as a starwood gold guest, even the fact I was staying on award. I didnt get offered a SPG Gold level amenity of any kind......I expected to .....so not sure what happened here either. We ate lunch at the pool and that was reasonably priced for what it is..... Fish tacos were fresh tasting. Son liked the Hot Dog. Music at the pool was horrible though.....it was loud and extremely muddy/distorted.......like the speakers were behind pillows..... Made for an unrelaxing atmosphere. Even my personal MP3 player headphones couldnt drown it out. Wife agreed and wished they would turn it off or way way down. If the quality of the sound was better.....then it would be OK. Never heard outdoor speakers that sounded that bad :( Continental breakfast was reasonably priced for the variety, and the food and service was good the next morning. When checking out I relayed all this...I expected a manager to come and speak with me...but he girl just apologized and said the room will be cleaned again. Did nothing more. We left. January 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by wonderful spot Great room - wonderful golf and great golf staff - restaurant is still going through some changes but is an improvement over old place January 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Plumbing You could here water from upstairs room. Bathroom flushes and showering It was noisy. Construction not luxury category. January 8, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing A few weeks ago we had a bad experience at another SPG hotel so we decided to have a correcting experience and stay at Mission Hills. Unfortunately we had the following issues during our stay: 1 - one of the keys we were given didn't work. After asking five times the hotel staff finally delivered new keys. 2 - bathroom wasn't clean. After complaining, a maintenance guy showed up with a few pool towels to clean the bathroom. He wiped it quickly and left - bathroom was still dirty. 3 - the heater in our room didn't work and it was really cold. A maintenance guy tried fixing it for an hour but couldn't get it to work. We were told they would provide us with small space heaters and told them tolerance the, in the room since we had to go somewhere. When we got back there was only one space heater that didn't work. It kept popping the electricity. Called front desk and they sent another one that worked but still didn't really heat the entire room. 4 - we didn't have hot water for quite a while. 5 - the distance from the parking to the room is a little far. Overall hotel grounds are beautiful but unfortunately we didn't really enjoy outstay there. January 4, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Stay at Westin Mission Hills -We had a wonderful stay at Mission Hills - the grounds were lovely and manicured. -We enjoyed the Pincimini Restaurant and the Italian meal selection available there. --the pools were fine but the hot tubs a bit small - they should have an 'adults only' hot tub, as the kids tend to overpopulate them. -get a ground floor room if you don't want to climb stairs- no elevators. -fun events were planned for New Year's - thanks. January 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by dissapointed on New Years Paid standard rates for New Year, while many others paid Priceline prices, yet we had worse room. Refrigerator didn't work. Several bolts and screws exposed that our 3-year old daughter scratched herself on. Pool was not heated to 80 degrees as told and poolside snack shop closed even though many customers at pool. Couldn't get check out extended January 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Holiday Festive we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel as we were with friends and did a lot of things in Palm Deset off the hotel property in celebraion of the holidays. Didn't get to pool or spa. Everything we did experiene at rhe hotels was wornderful. Thank you January 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very nice Very nice resort. Perfect for families with Kids (and pets...). December 31, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by So noisy and disappointing Hdousekeeping uses walkie talkies to communicate on full volume so you hear "I forgot coffe cups in room 1425" at 8 am and the kids wake up crying after a late night that took us to the desert in the first place. If they try to book you in building #14 don't take the room. It is where they have the laundry for housekeeping. As a result, you are surrounded by housekeeping carts, bags of dirty laundry and trash and a lot of noise. It was horrible. We had ants in our bathroom and had to walk forever to the pool with the water slide. It was a huge disappointment and not at all worthy of the Westin name. December 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not really quality Upon arriving, our room had cob webs, the light above the desk table was broken,the stopper in one of the sinks was broken and no tissues in room. Then, went looking for ice-one machine per building-and the one in our building was broken. When I tried to tell a maintenance worker, he didn't speak English! My Spanish was I guess good enough to get through, as he pointed to the next building, and after searching the whole first floor there, I found it. The small ice bucket was only big enough for about 3 or 4 glasses worth and I didn't want to get out in the cold again for another search, so didn't have ice. There was no room service menus in the room and only one restaurant (Italian) and a bar in the hotel-took a shuttle over to the Westin Villas for a sandwich the first day, then had to go looking for a restaurant on Christmas eve. Everything closed but found a hamburger restaurant a couple of miles away. I decided to try the Spa. The people were quality, -very nice and friendly-but not the facility. As with the rooms, they needed better planning and updating Both the men and women used the same "quiet room" . It was located in the hallway anyone using the hot tub facilities outside had to walk through. The quiet room obviously wasn't quiet. The locker rooms were old looking and I didn't want to take a shower there.-went back to the room. All in all the stay was a disappointing experience December 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by BUILDING QUALITY UPSTAIRS STEP NOISE -- HORRIBLE I COULD NOT SLEEP AT NIGHT AT ALL. THEY WERE NOT SLEEP UNTIL 3AM. EVERY STEP THEY MADE WAS MAKING STRANGE SOUND OF FLOOR. HORRIBLE FLOOR... December 26, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed Compared to any previous stay here, staff not nearly as accommodating . Room type booked was unavailable at check in, I even called prior to trip to insure requests. December 25, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful! Fabulous facilities; wonderful staff, and convenient services. December 17, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by insect infected Bathroom and dressing room full of ants. When walking in bedroom floor without slippers there were ants crawling on our feet. Disgusting. Called front dstk they sent someone out to spray. We were gone at the time, came back and within a few hours the ants were crawling in bathtub and on the walls. By next morning we could not shower due to ants all over bath mat and floor. NOT worth 10,000 starpoints points December 14, 2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by It's just not what it use to be This was a great property, I have stayed here before and had a great experience, maybe it was because I was a SPF gold and stayed in a suite, but this time not gold and no suite and what a different experience. The lounge is different, only open after 5:00 ok. The restaurant is interesting, the staff provides a fine floor show while bored, food is hit and miss, dined twice, grilled is a loose term. The room was not as clean as it should have been so I finished what should have been done with the cart left in the hall all day. Sorry for the black towel. The a/c was jimmied, I now know why, they should just fix it. The shuttle stops for the person 3 ft in front and asks her if she needs a lift, looks at me and says nothing and then drives on. Hilarious. But wait, I wanted to spend more money to stay here for another night so I check the website and then go to the front desk. They quote me a higher rate than their website. I guess like all girls, I liked to be kissed first before I am lied to, right?! December 13, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Our experience at Westin in Rancho Mirage, CA, After staying at Westin in Bellevue, WA, and Fort Lauderdale FL this year, we decided to stay at Westin again. The stay at the Rancho Mirage, CA, location was an unforgettable bad experience with Westin (one of the finest hotels). The first room was next to a generator room, we immediately returned to the front desk for room change because we did not want to hear the loud noise and to look at the rusty door from the room. The staff told us "Sir, this is what you paid for a 'Traditional room'. Needless to say we were very disappointed with his comments and customer services. After a lengthy discussion, he was reluctant to move us to another traditional room. The outside of the 2nd room was better, but yet this room needs immediate renovation work. Paints on the doors are peeling, bathroom floor is dirty, phone did not work, 3 light bulbs disappeared, and in Day 1 of our stay TV did not work and no water bottles provided. It was because the room was dark, surely the cleaning crews should have noticed the light bulbs problem and should have put new ones on. A message to us is that ‘They probably do not care’. This year, we stayed at Westin for a total of 2 weeks. We will look beyond Westin when we are looking for a stay for our vacation and business travels. December 12, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Phone Rip Off We felt ripped off when we were charged $6.76 for a 30 second call to Palm Desert to make a dinner reservation. It would have been cheaper to use our Canadian cell phone instead. There was nothing in the room to indicate that a local call would cost that much. Left us with a bad taste on checkout. December 6, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Staff Great; One Small Issue We've stayed at Resort and at adjoining Villas (which share facilities with Resort) many times over the past 10 years or so. On our most recent stay 11/28-12/2/2012, we got especially great service from Angel in the Fireside Bar who recognized us from past stays. Other staff helpful as well. Only issue was weak wireless Internet access in our room. That needs to be improved. December 5, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This resort truly feels like a resort. We love the grounds and the fact that everything is tied together with the walkway. Grandchildren love bike riding and we are encouraged to get out and walk. Swimming/ slides are always fun... although we would like to see more monitoring of children who run, pull on volleyball net, abuse pool table, etc. Tennis courts are nicely maintained, but we do resent having to pay $20 to use them ! Patio at the Vista restaurant makes an ideal breakfast and service was outstanding. Holiday tree lighting ceremony was delightful ! All in all, we love Westin at RM and will return next year. November 27, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 Not real happy about the new lobby bar menu Dear Westin Mission Hills, My wife and I are frequent guests of the lobby bar, now called the Fireside Bar. We are residents of Rancho Mirage and enjoy sitting outside enjoying the grounds and having a bite and a couple of cocktails. We love the atmosphere and the staff, however the new bar menu is not very impressive. Not only is it more limited than it used to be, the selections are rather odd for a golf resort. We really enjoyed the previous menu, tacos, sliders, salads etc. The new menu looks like it is trying to be sophisticated, but it is not coming off that way. The food is just not good value anymore. I would not recomend this menu to are neighbors. Please bring back some of the old menu items and let the atmosphere of the resort speak for itself. Concerned guest, Matt Huddleston Rancho Mirage November 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Luxury R&R My wife and I spent a few days here after a three week stay with our grandchildren. We needed a rest. This was heaven. The staff were uniformly welcoming and helpful, the room spacious and comfortable and the surroundings pristine. One small criticism was that the new Italian style restaurant still has some bedding in to do. The menu was a little too short for my liking, and the Bolognese sauce needs attention. But the staff were great and responded appropriately to my comments. November 23, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Last minute stay My family and I made last minute plans to use some SPG points for a stay here at the Westin Mission Hills Resort. This was our second visit to this resort after many years. Overall, we had a great time though we didn't get a chance to use the fitness center or spa. My only complaint is that the hotel doesn't allow you to connect any devices to the HDMI port on the back of the TV. They actually disabled the capability so that you don't see anything on the screen if you try to use HDMI. November 22, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok experience The grounds to the resort and very beautiful and well maintained. And it was a lot larger than was expected. This place was HUGE. So when we checked in on a Friday night we were alittle dissapointed that we were stuck in a room at the very end of the resort away from all of the amenities, yet the parking lots seemed empty. The room we were put in had seemed as if no one occupyed it for some time. The real kicker was the cockroach in the tub and bug in the toilet. I immediatly called to have my room changed, which they did with no issue. However, no one came to get our luggage as they said they would, so we gathered everything and trekked it back to the lobby. This time they put us in the same room type, only closer to the center of the resort, which made us wonder why they didn't give us this room from the beginning ( was it because we had booked through a third-party with a discounted rate??) Who knows. After that everything was fine and they did what they could to make us happy and gave us a credit to use at the resort. The room was average, nothing special. The resort fee seemed high since it was too cold to use the pool, you park your own vehicle, and no paper was received in the morning. I guess I payed 27$ for coffee. Overall, the grounds were beautiful, it was in a great location, but the room was basic and the experience started on the wrong foot. I dont know if i would stay again. There are many more options for the price with updated rooms, so recommending to others is a real toss-up for us....... November 16, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good location for a retreat Location is great and the grounds are beautiful. Unfortunately the room was not great. The telephone did not work. The floor lamp was broken and had to be turned on and off at the wall outlet.. The heavenly bed was not heavenly because the lighter of the two quilts was the wrong size and did not fit. We have stayed at this location many times in the past but this time it was not great at all. Rooms need to be updated. November 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great overall Spacious room, with full amenity and good view of golf course, very helpful staffs November 7, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great time Came to Westin for a weekend getaway. Everything was great, the staff, the grounds, the pools, gym, spa, tennis, etc. The Westin has it all. November 7, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by What a fiasco!!!!! I am so disappointed on my vacation stay at Westin. There were two couples in the dining room and we had to wait 45 minutes for them to move two tables together for us to be seated. One of our party left in frustration. It took so long just to get pre dinner drinks we decided to not even eat. Then they didn't clean our room. Then when I got home after I had paid my charges they charged me over $1100 extra for who knows what. I called immediately and told them the mistake and they said they would fix it. Instead they took $50 off and charged me another $605.00. Im sitting here waiting to hear what they will do next to me. Signed Very unsatisfied. November 5, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by FIX your internet service and Telephones! As a SPG member I was appalled by the service I received from your hotel. I get in late Monday night to find my reservation set for only three days instead five for the ATLAs conference. I had arrived a day early and was looking to check out a day later. The lady at the counter told me there where rooms available and they could accommodate the extra 2 days. She even wanted to go as far as to see if they could give me the conference rates for the 2 extra nights which I greatly appreciated. They were to call me that evening and set me up for a 5 night stay. The next day, after receiving no call, I check on my reservation again. I was still in for 3 nights and not 5. They told me their were no rooms available and I would need to find another hotel. After conversing back and forth regarding the conversation I had the night before with them having no problem accommodating me for 5 nights with no resolution; I asked “what if I decided to staying in my room for the 5 days even though the reservation was set for 3?” They told me they would have security remove me from the premises. I didn’t care about getting the conference price the night before. And I would look else where for a room if they had told me the night before they could not accommodate me. Put when you tell me I can stay 5 nights, then the next morning tell me I can’t and that you would remove me from the premises is not right. To top if off they had me checking out Wednesday even though I had written confirmation checking out Thursday! I am one of the biggest sponsor at this conference and looking to spend a lot of money on your restaurants and golf facilities, and you treat me like this… Give me a break. Needless to say I went to the conference people to explain my predicament, and never heard a word back from the hotel. In fact I had to go back to the conference people to find out if I could stay that Thursday and Friday. And fix your internet! Having No internet or cell phone service for the business travel is absurd. No one in your staff knew what to do about it, or had a plan B to fix the problem to accommodate the business traveler. The business office internet was down. Your hotel phones were not working. And there was not cell phone anywhere in your buildings. I was told to go out to the parking lot to make a phone call. Give me a break. You are 4 start hotel charging $200+ a night with no working phone, internet or cell phone service. I will never recommend your hotel to any large conference group ever again. And Clean your fitnes center and replace the work out mats more frequently. they were very dirty. October 29, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by SPG Platinum Members Not Welcomed Very dissapointing. It is clear they don't appreciate SPG Platinum members. Front desk claimed there were no upgrades when there were plenty of upgrades available accoring to their hotel's website. Hotel is old and needs to upgrade. On the positive, the hotel's grounds are beautiful and the staff was very friendly (except front desk at check in). October 22, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hotel goes beyond 5 star to accommodate guest! Appreciate the friendliness, will revisit. First time visitor to Rancho Mirage, of many choices to pick. This experience was perfect proud to say I will return, happy to say I will recommend Westin for anyone to stay:) October 21, 2012
  • 2015-09-04T10:13:17.748-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-11, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_376, tr_376
  • loc_en_US, sid_1008, prod, sort_default
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 14 next>>