The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1235 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Over hyped hotel I booked this hotel just because it is the only hotel which is right on the union square. All other hotels are one or two blocks/streets inside. I read reviews and based on the feedback, booked tower room which was 25% more expensive. Moreover confirmed from the hotel that my room will have a view of the union square. It was a bad decision, as first of all only rooms which are categorized as grand-view rooms, have view. All others don't. And then pretty much it becomes same as any other hotel in the area! Moreover front desk guy at the check-in (at SPG platinum/gold desk) was too intimidating and arrogant. I reached an hour before check-in time (I specified early check-in in the reservation), and he made me feel as if I have done a big crime. I had to wait past check-in time, remind the front desk again that it has crossed check-in time, and then I was given a room on a lower floor (even though I paid a higher rate for higher floor rooms)! And the reason given was the hotel was sold out. I enter the room, and there was smoking smell. I called up operator and asked to speak to manager explaining the situation, and she promptly moved me to a room on higher floor with slightly better view. So front desk staff at check-in intentionally didn't want to give me a room for which I paid! I was appalled by this experience, probably worst of all my starwood hotel experience so far. Anyways, after this I didn't face any problem, and since my check-out was on Sunday, they didn't charge me for late check-out (Westin weekend) which was good. I would advise that right being on the union square doesn't add too much value. There are other SPG properties in this area, which are cheaper, and have better rating. October 14, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Highly overrated. This hotel, while elegant, and well located, was the most unsatisfactory stay I have had in all my travels. The un-renovated rooms were loud, musty, and outdated. However the newly renovated rooms were at best par for the area; area, not price...the 379 per night is an outrageous price for the lack of class, and luxury that is to be expected from a Westin property. I will not be staying at this SPG property again. October 8, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall Excellent Loved my stay here for a business convention- perfect location- loved hearing the trolley go by! The staff was amazing and super helpful... while I did enjoy the rock concert put on by the street performers every night- if you are wanting a peaceful EARLY night's sleep may want to have an interior room! October 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good Location, but Overall Stay Could Have Been Better To be completely upfront, my stay was not the best. However, I would stay at this hotel again if in the area. The issues I dealt with were unfortunate, but I do not think they were representative of the hotel's standards. I was in town for the Nike Women's Half Marathon to support a family member that was running in the race. The location couldn't have been better as the race began right across the street and the room said online that it was recently renovated. I was a little disappointed with my accommodations upon check in as I was given a room on the 4th floor that had a patio with a couple of chairs surrounded by a concrete wall. The rest of my family, that paid the same amount as I did and checked in right after me, was given a room on the 21st floor with beautiful views of the San Francisco skyline. I went downstairs to the front desk to ask if I could be moved to a different room, but was told that they didn't have any other rooms available to change me too, so I was stuck in the room with a concrete wall. What really disappointed me though was that around 9:00 at night I came back to my room, and when I got off of the elevator on my floor the hallway reeked of puke. Later that night as I was trying to fall asleep the guests staying in the room over checked in and you could hear their entire conversation through the adjoining room door (they weren't yelling), which was a little weird and made me feel like they could hear my every move or word. I woke up the next morning and the hallway still reeked of puke. I was gone the until after lunch watching the race and when I checked out the smell was still so strong that I was gagging as I waited for the elevator. I told the front desk about the problem upon checkout and that it hadn't been dealt with for almost an entire day, but you would think that some of the staff/housekeeping would have reported or dealt with the issue during that time-span. October 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs improvement I stayed previously at this property and had no problems. My most recent stay was a disaster. The hotel appeared dingy. The room was dirty. There were used coffee stirrers buried in furniture. There was a used left in syringe in the room. The hotel seemed understaffed. On the bright side, the food was excellent. However, it took a very long time for staff to remove dirty dishes and dishes were all over the hallway on Saturday morning. September 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classic The St. Francis is a classic and I always stay there when in SF. October 13, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by St. Francis Sept. 14 St. Francis ia a gorgeous hotel in the middle of San Francisco and I have stayed there many times over the last 20 years. However, things have changed. The only problem with this stay was the staff. The staff just doesn't live up to a caring responsive typical Westin. When I checked in, the front desk staff was less than helpful. The big problem is that the hotel is highly in demand and always fully booked and therefore not as motivated to please! I am not sure if this is good value! September 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Our worst experience yet with this Hotel It was a wedding anniversary so we decided to slurge and use 16k of our points to stay at the Westin St Francis in Union Square. When we first checked in we were given a room that smelled of mold so we asked for a new room. Then when we got to the new room, the key didn't work. This whole fiasco took just under an hour to get into our room. We had the prime rib at the Oak Room and was disappointed at how much fat was on the meat. We expected better from the hotel of what we thought was higher calibur. When we went to check out the person at the desk was begining to ask us about our experience but then said "oh, your here on points". That was unprofessional and surprising. We've always liked staying here so we'll probably stay one more time. If the next visit is anything like our last visit, we'll never go back! April 14, 2014
2 3 4 5 ... 42 next>>