The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1268 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Disappointing SPG treatment I reserved two rooms using Starwood points for both rooms. We were with family members but were given two rooms on different floors. We randomly took the two double bed room, although we reserved two king rooms. We gave our guests the king room on floor 26. We were on floor 14. We had a view of a brick wall; our guests had a fabulous view looking west to the ocean. Since we were celebrating our 42nd anniversary, a room with a view would have been nice for us. When assigned the rooms we had no idea that the lower floors have a view of another building. March 3, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by locaton yes! but cleanliness and service no! After booking months in advance with email confirmation there was no record of our reservation when we arrived to check in! after waiting half an hour we were issued a room next to the elevator which was noisy! the room was dusty old and tired but well sized! we asked about breakfast and were told it was $30 per head only not the $10 we had read about! we accepted the green stay but were never left clean towel as we were told. Yes a grand old building in an amazing location but that alone is not enough to make a holiday! August 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great location, less than great room The St. Francis is a beautiful landmark on Union Square. It is convenient to wonderful shopping, the cable cars, and at Christmastime, ice skating and a huge tree. However, the condition of the tower SPG room we had was shabby. Cracked lamp shades, furnishings that need updating, and poor curtains did not take away from the excellent view, but certainly didn't enhance our experience. We had brunch in the Oak Room-excellent, and ate in Caruso's -- good and efficient. Our children enjoyed the outdoor elevator as well as the sugar castle in the lobby. January 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by A little disappointed The room appeared to be clean, but we had no washcloths. When we went to our room housekeeping was in adjacent room on phone, an hour later when we left for shopping she was still there sitting at desk, talking on phone. In the morning of our stay the man in charge of stocking the refrigerator knocked and said he just needs to check the fridge. There was open water from people before us, and he preceded to restock while we where trying to get ready. We never even opened the refrigerator, and it was apparent they did not check this before our stay. May 28, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by some problems here Had to change rooms as first one was DUST laden--so much so that service person wrote the word DUST in the dust that was on the coat closet doors and elsewhere. Second room had a faulty window that could not be completely closed. Neither room came with an extra pillow, usually found in closet. Also, coffee shop/bar open area in lobby closed at 10pm as did Gift shop making no obvious hotel access for fresh coffee/sundry-type items after those hours.... That said, staff very competent, pleasant and accommodating w Kudos to Muhammad, night manager. March 12, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classic The St. Francis is a classic and I always stay there when in SF. October 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thank you, we had a great stay. 1. Complemental continental breakfast is not satisfactory 2. Christie Patrick took good care of us. As a platinum member, we feel grateful to her. She made us feel welcomed and special. Thank you, Christie. 3. We had bad experience with your employee. She worked at the cafe wher we got a continental breakfast. She treated us bad. She should not work there. She is more suitable as a cleaning lady. 4. Location of your hotel is great. 5. No swimming pool, jacuzzi made me feel that this is the lastt time to stay here, though. Thank you. June 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Second time at hotel and not impressed Our first experience was much better than the most recent one. Dirty duvet cover (someone's makeup?), haphazard housekeeping (kleenex and toilet paper not replenished one day), dirty hallway (someone's pizza box and other trash remained by the elevators overnight and past noon the next day) and a disappointing bathroom (heavenly "bath" had no bathtub, and a tiny horrible shower that didn't drain properly. Toilet reminiscent of a public restroom with manual flush valve on stainless pipes). Great location, big rooms, but overall a disappointment. December 3, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Character, history, and location I love staying at the St. Francis when I am in San Francisco because of its character (landmark building), history, and location. One can walk to the financial district, Chinatown, SOMA, or catch the Bart or Bus to any other part of the city quite easily. It is also fun (for me) to see what is going on in Union Square. My only disappointment is not with the St. Francis but the block out dates with my Westin points. There seem to be many dates at this hotel when the points are not valid. Oh well...... August 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Charming, but one letdown. We were pretty satisfied overall with the hotel. The only complaint I have is that I called to confirm a room in the Tower Building and was promised so. However, when we arrived on our check-in date, we were put in the Landmark Building, as there were no rooms in the Tower. We liked our room, but this detail was a letdown. Also, we REALLY wanted to ride in the glass elevator, but we were told we could not because we were staying on the 7th floor. The water pressure in our room was pretty terrible. Other than these three issues, we really enjoyed the hotel. Service was prompt with valet, we were adequately supplied with fresh coffee cups whenever we needed them and the staff even brought us our own refrigerator in an extremely timely manner. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't beat location and ambiance! Fantastic hotel with great location for shopping at Union Square & theater Staff friendly and helpful. Both rooms were ready for check in when we arrived early, even though the hotel was very full. Note: I love the traditional rooms, not the tower. High ceilings, chandilear, etc. I don't mind the unusual shapes, sizes of the rooms but WHY would you place a modern rolling desk chair at the desk in these charming rooms. This is a recent "remodel" and not a good one! Please change it to traditional furnishings. Keep the modern look for the towers! December 13, 2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel location great, service inconsistent The hotel was quite pro-active in contacting me before the visit (via email) to inquiry about my requests. I sent them the requests and received an acknowledgement. When we got to the room, none of the requests had been completed and when we called Household, they acted as though they never received these requests. This has been our experience on pass stays, although we had hope this time (as a Platinum guest), things would be different. Apparently, not!! On the positive side, the hotel is in a wonderful location, the service and food at the Oak Room were clearly above average, and the dinner at Bourbon Steak was exceptional. The Front Desk personnel was cordial and the Bell Desk efficient. Communications and attention to details needs work. July 1, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Location - Classic Hotel I've stayed at the Westin St. Francis many times. I've always enjoyed my stays at the hotel. It's in an amazing location - on San Francisco's Union Square. It is a San Francisco landmark. For these reasons alone, I recommend this hotel. Like many landmark hotels in major US cities, it has a classic lobby with marble floors. When you walk through the lobby, you immediately notice it's old world craftsmanship. The St. Francis staff is excellent at the front desk and at the door. Like many older hotels, maintenance is difficult and costly. They've done a good job maintaining this property under, perhaps, difficult circumstances (eg. plaster walls are tougher to maintain than sheet rock). If you like the classic hotels, this one is worth a try. March 8, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wonderful location I love staying at the St. Francis Hotel because of the location. We stayed in the newer section where things are looking a bit worn however. One thing that what would be helpful to someone that has not stayed in this hotel recently is to have someone tell you at check-in how to operate the elevators. We were lucky enough to have a staff member that was right there to show us when we were standing there looking puzzled. We watched many others during our stay get into an elevator and have to take the ride up to someone elses floor by mistake. March 6, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Would not stay here again For the price, this property leaves a lot to be desired. Their green program is truly about cutting back on staff. For $5.00 voucher they don't clean your room, no emptying of trash, no making of beds, no replenishment of in-room coffee which we were shorted on on our initial day as it was. Hallways smell musty. The staff were pleasant at reception desk but wait staff in their breakfast restaurant were not friendly. They charge for Internet, almost $30. In Europe I,m used to getting breakfast with the room for $400.00 a night room. I'm guessing they won't publish this as I believe they want to keep it slanted in their favor. I filled out their online survey that they sent to my email with no response so they do not wish to correct their deficiencies. September 1, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Old and in need of renovations I stayed at this hotel on a recent business trip. I have to say it was worst hotel room I have stayed in in years.First my room was the size of a shoe box and the bed just as small (even though I requested a King). The walls are paper thin so I heard the TV in room next door until 2:30 in the morning. The shower had no water pressure and took forever to get warm water. I could go on and on but the bottom line is that this hotel is not worthy of the Westin name or the price they charge. Needless to say I will not recommend to any one. February 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by some good things some bad in general, the serving staff in the lobby area were attentive and helpful, although on once accasion it took so long to get someone's attention (the two servers were having a conversation between themselves) we had to call the hotel on a cell phone to ask they come to our table. Servers in the Oak Room were more concerned about telling us about their vacation or days off than in focusing on our needs or making our visit special. Spa staff not friendly. Front desk staff staff not helpful with SPG problem. Just said I should call SPG. February 12, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great features but very loud The hotel is beautiful and the staff courteous. The only serious problem we encountered was the noise. We had a room that had a door to be used as a conjoining room. The guest next to us might as well been in our room. He had a business call a from 3am-5am he may as well been sitting next to our bed. In the morning we got to listen to him cough, blow his nose etc. There was no sound proofing in the door. If we decide to stay at this hotel again we will make sure to be in a room that has soundproofing in the doors not just the walls. February 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel is a great place for traditions We've been staying at this hotel for over 30 years as a tradition. We celebrate the oncoming holiday with the initial Christmas tree lighting in Union Square. We battle the crowds during Black Friday in order to people watch. The spirit is in the air and the store windows are decorated with holiday flair. The hotel has always accommodated us nicely even though there is a dance competition the same weekend, which makes it a little more insane, but it's cute to see the little dancers. A treat every year and to many more years to come. November 27, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Landmark it is and always will be The St. Francis continues to be the icon that it always has been throughout the ages. It has the bustle and energy of a large hotel with a mix of both business and tourist trade. The hotel is split into the older Landmark building and the newer Tower building. If you don't mind hearing and being close to the action, you can chose the Landmark building. It has that old world feel of the Plaza in NY. But is more worn and dated in some areas although the furnishings and everything else are completely up to Westin standards. The Tower building is more modern and typical of a city hotel. The room service is great. The Staff are really tremendous and accommodating and the location cannot be beat. There are so many popular places to shop and eat near there. August 2, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Aging Property in a Great Location This is an aging grand dame perfectly situated for those that want to shop and want to be in striking distance of the financial district, SOMA, China Town etc. This said, the rooms are old, tired and poorly appointed. I stayed in the tower thinking that the accommodations would be better, and they were not. The carpet looked spotted and dirty, and the overall decor was just this side of seedy. Last, their green program is presented in a very confusing. As directed I left a card on my bed so that housekeeping would skip changing the bed linens every day. Instead, the room was never cleaned, food trays were left in the room all day, and I had to make several calls to get someone to come up and clean. Overall the stay was disappointing but for the location. December 17, 2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a great experience I stood in line for a long time to check-in. When I got to the reception desk, it felt like I was speaking to a machine (or broken record). There was no warm welcome whatsoever. Generally speaking the hotel felt run down and there was a serious lack of personnel to help with customers. The fact that wifi was an extra charge on the bill was another negative - most hotels and any public restaurant or cafe, especially in San Francisco offer free wifi. Charging customers for this is a serious let down. July 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Less than what I was expecting For me, the location is too touristy, but if that's what you're looking for - then it's great. Be aware that just a few blocks over is the tenderloin neighborhood, not a place to go late at night, at least on foot. The room was only ok. No free water bottles here as I've had elsewhere and I'm a Starwood Preferred guest. The tub did not drain so we took our showers standing in water. Ick. Other than that, the room was nice and the beds great. The food prices are very high and there really isn't much special about this property. March 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Don't let them put you on the Geary street side Wonderful classic hotel, and the Landmark building has very large and comfortable rooms. Unfortunately, this is the second trip in a row where I was placed on on the Geary street side. The corner is well known to the staff for it's loud obnoxious noise from the outdoor music that runs until 10PM. Definitely a problem when your body is on GMT and you want to get to sleep early. Took quite a while to get moved to a room way from the noise. Very frustrating, I expect better - particularly as I spend over 1/3 of the year on the road. December 1, 2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed guest I stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. Construction noise was terribly loud at 2 am (font related to hotel). When I complained, staff said, "there's nothing we can do." I was in rooms 1220/1221 (suite). Cleaning service was mediocre. They left unfolded robe on the chair, did not put away ironing board, floor unclean. Food and room service average. I am a long time Starwood member and was exited about staying at the historic St Francis, but was extremely disappointed with my experience. Would not recommend this hotel. June 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location and great service I booked this room as a treat for an employee celebrating his anniversary. I mentioned the special event when booking and the hotel's concierge emailed me the next day asking if they could assist in making the stay special. Even though I never got a chance to respond Concierge took the initiative to go the extra mile. There were fresh cherries and champagne upon arrival and an upgrade. This excellent treatment plus excellent location made the stay absolutely perfect. Would definitely recommend! July 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The amenties were nice Started off with my requesting someone call me back re: spending 2 nights. No call back ever, very disappointing. Also I'm glad I asked the front desk clerk on where the elevators were which finally prompted her to tell us of the NEW elevator process. Other coworkers were really confused or lost. Our room was SUPER tiny with thin walls I was woken up at 5am by other guests. The hall ways were freezing. We had our company party here and others that checked in 4-5 hours later than I received much better rooms/views/more space. December 9, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Dissapointed I stay here every month for a week and the last two times have been bad. This time my room was not made up on Thursday 6/27. Also the first night I began to iron my shirt and there was a gummy substance on the iron that ruined my shirt. When I called they brought me a new iron but no apology or offer to get me a new shirt. Also, when I called about the room, Services said they are still cleaning rooms. This was 5:55pm. Who says that at that time. Ridiculous. I will ask my travel department to try another Union Square hotel. June 29, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned in 4 months Our room was not ready when we arrived. Not a problem we know it was a busy time of year. Our room was in the old part. Room 470. Recently redecorated. good caulking in the bathroom. small room but well finished and a great queen bed. nicely painted and clean. Husband got the call we were being upgrade to a better room the next day. 15 floor great view on the newer side. Didn't notice the condition of the bathroom 1588. Rotten caulking and "Pink Slim" Serratia marcescens. rotten caulking. growth work that had not been cleaned in months. Paint missing. Broken closet door. Didn't not have time to complain. only had one night left. Whent to walgreens and got some disinfectant wipes for the toilet, door handles and sink. I took photos if you would like to see them. June 26, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Enormous, well-appointed hotel in central location Just a few blocks from BART and right on Union Square. The rooms were much bigger than I'd expect at a downtown SF hotel. The staff super approachable and helpful (and plentiful); they even have an IT dept if you have trouble with wifi or VPNing to your work network, etc. The amenities are seemingly endless. My colleague stayed a night at the Sir Francis Drake across the street and marveled at how much nicer the Westin St Francis was. The only downside to my stay was that the place is so big, it's easy to get disoriented :) January 31, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 43 next>>