The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1230 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by They made me feel really special This is my favorite spot to stay in the city. It is right on Union Square, and it he rooms are remarkably quiet. The staff is attentive and this year, on my birthday, I asked for help getting a cab. They set me up with the hotel driver instead and I arrived to my dinner in style. September 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great hotel Dear Mr. Kimball, Our stay at St. Francis was perfect. The location suited our needs well. Our rooms were very comfortable especially the king size bed. The bed linens were much better quality than our stay in another local hotel. The large rooms and bath were very much appreciated after our cruise where staterooms and bathrooms are so small. We really loved all the space. We were especially surprised at our welcome since the lobby and check-in area was so busy. A personal welcome by Marichu Alvarez was appreciated. She answered our questions and was very attentive, letting us know she would be available to us if we needed anything. Her smile and manner made us feel very much at home. Ms. Alvarez also offered us water and chocolates as we were waiting in the lobby for our shuttle, and she even remembered our names. She is a tremendous asset to St. Francis. We also noticed that she exhibited a very professional look - absolutely impeccable. GIVE HER A RAISE! Please let Ms. Alvarez know that we appreciated the welcome we received and all her help to make our stay perfect. She is one reason that we will stay at St. Francis in the future. I don’t know the name of the young woman who checked us in, but she was also very professional. She obliged us by changing our room so that we could have a walk –in shower. She also is an excellent representative of St. Francis. Sincerely, Suzanne Senuta Hudson, Ohio September 15, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Reserve system and manager not prepared to deal with high occupation Our experience was really bad. On the first night we were not allocated the reserved rooms. On the second night we were told the problem subsisted and, to our complete surprise and disgust, the manager threatened to call hotel security although we were not disrespectful. September 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel is absolutely beautiful and the staff is top notch Upon arrival we were greeted with smiles and superior service. We were here on a last minute impromptu trip for my wife's 50th birthday. The woman at check-in immediately searched diligently for a room with a view for this special day. The view from our room was simply breathtaking. We could see the entire city and the golden gate bridge. We will stay here for all of our San Francisco trips. Absolutely without a doubt. Thank You for making this special occasion memorable for years to come. August 20, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Our worst experience yet with this Hotel It was a wedding anniversary so we decided to slurge and use 16k of our points to stay at the Westin St Francis in Union Square. When we first checked in we were given a room that smelled of mold so we asked for a new room. Then when we got to the new room, the key didn't work. This whole fiasco took just under an hour to get into our room. We had the prime rib at the Oak Room and was disappointed at how much fat was on the meat. We expected better from the hotel of what we thought was higher calibur. When we went to check out the person at the desk was begining to ask us about our experience but then said "oh, your here on points". That was unprofessional and surprising. We've always liked staying here so we'll probably stay one more time. If the next visit is anything like our last visit, we'll never go back! April 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Really disappointed all the way around When I checked in, I advised that the airline would be delivering a lost bag and asked that I be alerted when it arrived even if it was in the middle of the night. The bag was delivered that night, but I was not notified. The next morning after the airline assured me the bag had been delivered, the hotel staff were non-responsive, then told me the bag was not there. I went down to the front desk in person and finally someone took my request seriously and tracked down my bag (which was with the bellmen all along). In addition, the prior guests' food was still in the refreshment center in my room when I checked in, the clock was unplugged and there was a lozenge wrapper on the bedside table. August 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic Hotel The hotel was well beyond our expectations and made the visit to San Francisco the best yet. Location for a SF visit was perfect, shopping parks, cable car connection, bus tours, it has it all. Will go back and that is were we will stay for sure.A bit of hotel history combined with a new room tower gives you the feel you prefer. September 10, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrendous Upon arrival, our room was not clean and disheveled. We requested another room but could not be acomodated until the next day. The following evening we called security because someone was knocking on our door and running away. Instead of someone helping us, we got screamed at over the phone and two large security men came to our door. I believe we were flagged as trouble makers since the night before we complained of our untidy room. We were lied to repeatedly and not treated like guests but like second hand citizens. I am an SPG member and I think the way I was treated was a disgrace. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone, ever, and overall will question staying at any Westin. May 7, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Stately quality Walking into the lobby of this hotel and I immediately felt the classic qualities of the hotel. The lobby is beautiful and there are plenty of staff members each willing and able to help or direct you to the any help that you may need. The hotel has recent renovated many if not all of their rooms. The renovation solves the problem of having outlets near the bed, though the reduction in dresser space makes unpacking. Negatives: The in-room wi-fi is not reliable. The hotel's casual dining option is lacking, but there are sufficient alternatives nearby. There is no pool. April 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel in a great location We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Westin St. Francis. August 16, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Friendly and comfortable hotel The hotel is in a great location; I enjoyed a very comfortable and spacious room with an equally well designed bathroom, and the staff was both friendly and helpful. August 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Dustin Corisey Front Desk Agent I arrived at the hotel on August 16, 2014 at 5 pm and remained at the hotel until August 24, 2014. If it had not been for Dustin Corisey, I would have checked out on August 16, 2014 and not returned to this hotel again. Dustin was excellent using his professional qualities to help, so this made the staff responsiveness excellent. Due to Dustin Corisey's professionalism the facility met my expectations. Also, if Dustin had not been there to assists me, I would have checked out of the hotel the same night I arrived. I will not go into great detail as to what occurred it was not good and hopefully the hotel has made some type of plan of correction. I heard and talked to other people who were staying at the hotel make dissatisfying comments about the hotel. Thank you Dustin Corisey August 29, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Always Amazing My (20 year old) daughter and I recently stayed at this hotel. You can't beat the location and the prestige of the hotel. We had a lovely room on the 26th floor with awesome views. I come to San Francisco often and I wouldn't stay anywhere else! September 3, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent location for business travellers This hotel is good for business travelers and family as well especially if you want to explore downtown San Francisco. Great towers and lovely views of downtown sfo. For SPG guests this hotel however is pretty low on benefits like club lounge facilities. September 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Needs a make over and better service The Landmark pr "traditional" building just means the rooms, fixtures, carpet, etc. are extremely old and in desparate need of a make over. Carpet, sofa, and chairs covered in stains. All three times I called for service, phone ran for minutes. Once I placed my request, took over 30 minutes each time for any assistance. August 10, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Limited Drawer Space We like to unpack and not live out of a suitcase during our stay but there were only three very small drawers in this room. There was a long shelf in the closet but that is not an acceptable substitute. Making the situation worse, the nightstand had a false drawer-front. September 2, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love the historic value Only real disappointment was there was no bathroom amenities. We had to call housekeeping for shampoo. Room was quite small and I had forgotten how small a queen bed was... Someone needs to clean outside the window We were in room 375 and there was debris and cigarette butts outside our window September 1, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor service mars an otherwise solid hotel I just returned from a stay here, and although the accommodations were pretty nice (I think we got a better room as SPG Gold members), the staff seemed disorganized, understaffed and not up to the task (despite coming across as well-meaning). We called ahead for a crib, but it wasn't there. Arriving at midnight, there was no bellhop around. We asked for the crib immediately and had to call back an hour later to ask again. Traveling with a 2 year old, this 2 am need was a serious problem. The next morning, the safe was broken and I wasted a morning trying to get someone to fix it, when it was already broken upon my arrival so I don't understand why they didn't fix it previously. Minor complaints, but when you spend this kind of money, you expect good service. August 26, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by perfect hotel to explore San Francisco Perfect location to explore the city. Located on Union Square with the cable car stop in front of the hotel and many shopping and dining spots in walking distance. Restaurants and shops even in the hotel. Friendly and competent staff. September 1, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, but missing the details I have been an SPG Platinum member for many years and spend most of my business life living in SPG hotels around the world. When I do have a chance for a special evening, I try to make it a great experience and stay at the niceest of Sheraton family hotels. In this instance, I specially chose the St. Francis for my best friend and his wife's anniversary. I was specific with SPG platinum that this was a very special anniversary and requested that something be in the room to celebrate their long tenure together - some fruit, chocolates, or even a note from the hotel. I was more than ready to cover any expense incurred. I was SHOCKED to hear the room was nothing special and nothing was ever mentioned about their anniversary - not at check in nor in their room. I have never written a review on an SPG hotel as I feel giving the personal SPG cards to those employees that make me feel good is a bit more special. After reviewing my points used for this stay (upgraded room to 13,500 pts.) I am disappointed they could let such a detail (which was reviewed at reservation, with hotel concierge the day prior AND with SPG Platinum services the day prior) go un- delivered. I am disappointed I have this type of feeling about such a wonderful program. August 11, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst Stay Ever. Horrible. Got to the hotel at 6.30pm, with the check in opened for my suite from 4pm. I was simply told that the room was not ready, but that they were cleaning it. "Why don't you hang around in the lobby and we're going to give you a... soda or something... " I told them to send it to my room once it was ready. Never happened. Got into the room to find a badly stained couch with a knife puncture in one of the pillows. My kid started to crawl on the floor, only to find pistachios, wine corks and beer caps under the furniture. Told them to send me a manager, he never made it up. They send 2 cleaning folks that asked what should they do about the couch... then they said they can't do anything about the stains... The last one showed up at 12.30 am with a vacuum cleaner! I simply sent him away as my kid and my wife were sleeping. 520 USD a night and I get this shoved down my throat. The attitude at front desk was horrible! The lady threw her hands on the sides when I mentioned I wanted to see a manager. She simply said "OF COURSE! DROP BY ANYTIME!". I got nothing but contempt and general lack of any trace of common sense. The cleaning manager shows in my room on the second day. He looks at me point blank and tells me "what can I do to make you happy". I said "please clean the room" and he replies "oh, that's obvious". No buddy, it's not given the condition I found the room in. I asked him to take away the couch, because he couldn't do anything about the stains and general poor condition of the furniture, which they did while we were out in town. Please stay away. January 5, 2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Historic Hotel in Heart of San Fran I stayed in the Tower Building in an executive suite. I used 2 Starwood Suite Night Awards to ensure I would have a suite with a view of the bay for the 4th of July fireworks. The room was on the 23rd floor and did indeed have an amazing view of the city and bay. The rooms had huge bay windows that offered spectacular views from all sides. The room had a bedroom and living room connected by a door. The rooms were dated looking and in need of refurbishment. There was faded wall paper, scuffed base-boards and tired looking furnishings. The bathrooms were large and had a combine bathtub/shower surrounded by marble tile. It was nice that the suite had two bathrooms. In the living room, there was a desk, chaise lounge chair, and a pull down murphy bed. Both rooms had large screen TVs. The rooms were good sized, but really needed to be updated and modernized with furnishings and decor. My check-in experience as not smooth. I arrived after a long day of flight delays and at 8:30pm PST was ready for a quick dinner and some sleep. Upon checking in, I learned that the bedroom portion of my room was not ready I decided to store my bags and grab some dinner at Chef Michael Mina’s Bourbon Steakhouse - which was delish! After I ate, I made my way back to check-in and found that my room was ready. Upon arriving in my room, I had a message from the front desk manager apologizing for the delay and indicating that there was some mix-up and the room had actually been ready all along. In any case, I was just happy to be in the room. Setting aside the unpleasant check-in experience- because those things happen, I am undecided as to if I would stay at the hotel again. While the location is great – I spent the day walking around Union Square and shopping – the hotel rooms are old and dated and in the end, I prefer a more modern and contemporary hotel. And there are so many SPG choices in San Fran. One thing that would draw me back would be Bourbon Steakhouse! July 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bourbon Steak Manager I've stayed at this property probably a dozen times over the past 10 years and when i was here over Xmas, I had dinner at the Bourbon Steak for the first time. It was honestly one of the worst meals I've ever had. My steak was over-cooked and nearly flavorless. The lobster was tiny and boiled to death. I've been staying at the SPG properties for many years and simply had much higher expectations. I brought this to the attention of the server and the manager (Karen). They promptly offered a newly prepared steak (nicely done) and since I wasn't in the mood to try the lobster again, she simply removed it from my bill. Over all, they did ALL of the right things to make it right. I decided to give it another try this evening and they nailed it! Service/food was EXCELLENT! I stopped Karen on my way out to thank her for making things right when I was here over Xmas and let her know I decided to give them another try. April 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin St Francis has amazing service! Everyone we encountered provided outstanding service! We arrived by taxi at the front entrance with our luggage. I looked at the stairs we were facing and paused. The two second pause gave just enough time for the doorman/porter to take hold of our luggage and escort us in and to the front to desk. The service excellence continued from there throughout our four night stay: a microwave delivered upon request on a Friday evening; room service delivered within 30 minutes on a Saturday night, and efficient and friendly maid service everyday. We will share our recommendation every chance we get! August 18, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Yikes... This is not a nice property. I am amazed by the good reviews. The room I have been put in this evening is shabby, worn, and unkempt. This is a deluxe room in the tower on an upper floor. There is scuffed up wallpaper, substandard patching and painting in the bathroom, and not one piece of furniture is in good shape. Everything is scuffed up and does not feel quality. As a Platinum member I do expect more. I am disappointed. If this was the best room available at check in, and am afraid for what those without any status at all are getting. I ordered a steak from room service- it was overcooked and the room service attendant was surly and seemed put off that he had to deliver my order. If I did not just fly in on a very long flight I would leave this room (or this property completely.) Starwood: this is not a good representation of your brand. March 28, 2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Heavenly bed is heavenly We lucked out with a spacious, well-appointed corner room overlooking Union Square. The famous Heavenly Bed is indeed heavenly, with several down pillows and 2 layers of comforters. The AC worked well and was quiet, and the room was almost soundproof (for exterior noises), but not between rooms, through which we could hear 2 dogs barking. The bar seemed too crowded and noisy for a cocktail. The Internet worked well most of the time, but is pricey ($20/day) August 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this hotel, but they did not have my reservation I booked online through the App. I have never had a problem with this before. This was the stay that made me Platinum for the year. When I got to the hotel they did not have a reservation with me. The lady at the counter was very argumentative and told me that I was wrong, so I pulled up the app and showed her the reservation. She went behind the office and was gone for a very long time. Then the manager came out. The manager was awesome. She bought me breakfast and was very apologetic. I was really angry because I was tired and just wanted to go work in the room, but she was nice and she fixed it. I guess there is a glitch in the SPG software, which makes me leery now to use it to book rooms. Everything else was great, but I was in a non SPG preferred room. No waters, etc. Not really what I expected for finally reaching Platinum status. August 25, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hidden extras spoiled my experience Whilst I accept a "bond" is authorised against the credit card: * I think $100 per night is extreme, * I was very annoyed that I received no prior warning that $100 per night would be authorised. For 6 nights, this was over $600 (for which I received no prior warning) and which maxed out my credit card for the remainder of the trip. On my first night, I made 3 brief phone calls to Australia to let family know I had arrived. These phone calls totalled only several minutes, yet I was billed over $100! I realise hotel phone calls are charged at a premium, but these charges were obscene. May 4, 2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by This Once Great Hotel Needs Improvement We were very disappointed in this Westin St. Francis. Great location to be sure. Told the Tower rooms were new and well appointed. There are NO drawers! Big mistake. Handles on nightstands on plank of wood that doesn't open. Laughable. We finally got a rolling chest of drawers for the room. We were told they were all in use! Room ok for one person staying perhaps one night. Bathroom of marble floor and tub, has nothing to hold onto getting into the tub. One tiny hook in bathroom. No nightlight and no place to put any in room.As a designer, I would have been fired! Sorry. And to see people eating out of boxes in the lobby, children running around unsupervised, and not enough help in the hotel, a very sorry sight. Hope you will try to regain the stare you once had. August 21, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Happy, Happy, Happy From the moment we arrived we were completely taken care of. We were greeted with big smiles and checked in quickly because we were able to check in online before arriving and were able to go straight to our room. It was clean and welcoming and our luggage arrived within 10 minutes of us being in our room. Nice job Westin, we will definitely be back! August 25, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 42 next>>