The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 1126 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by For consideration There is all night construction going on currently in Union Square. I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and have been very happy. However, when making my reservation I should have been told of the construction. I would have requested a different room location. I paid a chunk of change for sleepless nights. The reservation person should have discussed this with me. All night beeps and pile driving is not my thing. July 19, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Less than average hotel We stayed at this hotel and were rather disappointed. The room was outdated, the carpet and the furniture were stained and old. For the price, we expected more. No complimentary WiFi service was provided, which was surprising since almost every hotel offers it nowadays. July 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Internet never worked The internet never worked right in my room. I spent hours on the phone with IT support, but they never fixed the problem. July 21, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Lovely but EXPENSIVE Location was central and ideal. As an SPG member, paying for wifi ($20 a NIGHT!) seems unreasonable and like extortion. Add in the $60 + a night for parking and I'm reconsidering my commitment to Westin. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Marichu Alvarez is the best!! We received a warm and sincere welcome from Marichu Alvarez this past Sunday when we arrived after a 6 hour drive from Southern California. She greeted us in the lobby and offered her assistance. Our room assignment was in the “Tower Building” and the directions given to us at the desk were somewhat vague. Not only did Marichu “point” us in the right direction, she personally escorted us to the elevator and explained how the card key system worked. You should have more associates like Marichu welcoming your guests. Not only are we loyal Starwood guests, but we are now loyal and partial to the St. Francis because of the professionalism exhibited by Marichu. She was truly engaged – she acknowledged, assisted and showed genuine appreciation for our stay at your property and deserves to be recognized! July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great as always Have been here numerous times. Tried another hotel in the area, was not impressed. Came back to the St. F. Will be back again. July 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by St Francis Great service. Great location. July 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Staff Make the Difference The St. Francis is at once both elegant and charming. I stayed in the "original" tower and just loved the soaring "hall" effect of the reception area with it's high ceiling and beautiful marble columns. None of this compared, however, to the excellent staff, from reception, to concierge, to coffee bar to Clock Bar. Every single person was laser-focused on what I needed and how they could exceed my expectations. I don't require this kind of attention, but I couldn't have been happier! July 3, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Hotel Experience This was the nosiest Westin property that I have ever stayed in. Heard the water running and toliets flushing in the other guest rooms all night long!! Very thin walls. Nicely stated rooms but very thin walls! I was disappointed because my stay at other Westin properties has been exceptional! Hotel does not offer government rate which is disappointing! July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent stay, as usual Great stay, as usual. Yvonne, the front desk person was so very nice and friendly, and helpful, upon my checkout. Thank you for a great stay! July 19, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel has a beautiful lobby. I was some what disappointed in the room. 1025. It had a very loud fan, I could easily her my neighbor's conversation. I finally just opened my window for outside air vs. fan noise. (Jack hammer or fan) . When booking I called and asked for a robe. The front desk couldn't guarantee a robe and on the last day before check out I saw a entire rack of robes being brought to other rooms on my floor. I don't complain, but it was disappointing to see that. The house keepers were really loud in the morning, I understand I was right across from their storage closet, but they should be aware of their loudness, and when cleaning my room they did not replace clean glasses each day, I wiped them out myself. However, on a good note the restaurant and lounge was fantastic. I have stayed in Westins in San Diego and,Hawaii I expected The same quality in San Francisco. July 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by good location for our stay union square is a very good location and easy to get a round by bus, cab most shopping is within walking distance July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location Easy to get around. Cable car, BART and buses near by. July 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great location This hotel is a landmark gem in a city that prides itself on being different. The rooms and staff were great and I think this hotel is a tremendous value considering the cost of other hotels in the city. July 17, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by stayed for Avon Breast cancer walk event eve Very dissatisfied. At check in was told we'd have to pay for our 3rd person, but I'd called twice before and told there would be no extra charge. After discussion was not charged extra, Dinner in Oak Room - awful. 2 guests had salads for dinner; serving was not even a cup! One guest had to send entree back (cold) and when it was brought back it was overcooked. Other dishes equally unsatisfactory. One positive - as Avon walkers got a discount on parking. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Location Beautiful hotel within walking distance of Chinatown and North Beach areas. Two of my favorites... among others. July 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hotel is clearly improving....very happy with my stay Same as above, but enjoyed the stay July 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Noisy My major issue with the hotel the noise level from the street. The street drummer outside my room was like torture. I was offered ear plugs by the hotel staff. In the addition the street noise was way too much as well. The other concern is how old the facility is. Perhaps if it was updated and sound proofed a bit better I would give a better review. I simply did not sleep well at all there because of the noise. Everything else was quite nice. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Classic Hotel The hotel is beautiful walking into the grand foyer is an amazing experience. We stayed at the St. Francis for a total of 5 days. The staff and service people were attentive and very polite. Our room was in the landmark part of the hotel - as the name would say it's the older part of the hotel. The room was neat and clean. The beds were comfortable and the was plenty of walking around space in the room. The only negatives I could say would be the amount of noise that penetrates from not only the street but we could hear conversations in other room like they were standing in our room. The bathroom was a challenge - of course it was retrofitted into the space so you "get" why it's so tight but you couldn't stand in front of the sink because of the wall behind it was so close and the shower was a true water closet - very little room to maneuver. Overall I would absolutely recommend it. I might ask for an inner room or one in the new building on my next visit. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by stellar room We arrived early for a special day (35th wedding anniversary) at same hotel as first night of marriage. The hotel provided a special room, sent complimentary champagne and was very accommodating. July 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by SF Vacation Stayed two nights in the tower. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Room was large, spacious and clean. Awesome central location in the heart of S.F. July 16, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very Good Hotel Overall the hotel was very good. I was happy with the room, staff, food, spa and location. I would stay here again and recommend it to others. My only negative about the hotle is that there was no free wi-fi. I was under the impression that as an SPG member there would be no charge for internet services at these properties. July 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Why I do not perfer to stay at this location I’ve stayed at this hotel a few times and although I vowed not to come back to this location due to a previous experience. I had to book a reservation due to the event I was attending used this hotel as the host hotel. Because I had several family members attending I decided to book 4 additional rooms at this site so we could all stay together and make it easy for them to feel as part of the event. Half of my quest stayed in the older part of the hotel and other stayed in the newer and renovated side. The elevators were difficult to use and did not always work The older part of the hotel the rooms were small and air conditioning did not work properly and we had to have a maintenance person try to adjust. It came to be we had to give up and open the window for good ventilation. The staff tried to accommodate our request but due to the occupancy of the hotel they were unable to keep up with the demand of the quests on a timely manner. July 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Historic Hotel - Great Location Perfect for the San Francisco Tourist If you need peace and quiet book the tower rooms that are further off of Powell St. and larger than the older rooms. My only complaint is loud plumbing could be heard from neighboring rooms. July 15, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Room 303 The floor in this room has buckled in several areas, very noticeable. The TV does not work, and the toilet bubbles. The room is good otherwise. Comfortable bed, great shower. July 15, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by hotel has a good location stayed at this hotel many times. Finally had enough. The hotel LACKS having the "Westin Signature" bed. They provide the absolute worst pillows of any hotel I"ve stayed at. Would avoid staying here again due to the bed and pillows. Also, my 4 am wake call never came. Almost missed my flight. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfortable and Well Located My daughter and I stayed at the hotel when we participated in the Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. The hotel staff was very accommodating whe we requested a slightly late check out after our 39 mile walk. The hotel is on Union Square and we found it to be within walking distance of everything we wanted to do! I definitely recommend it! July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Modern Amenities and Old School Charm My stay was short, but extrememly pleasant. My room was in the newly refurbished tower, so I can't speak to the other rooms. But, I had a wonderful 180 degree view of the City and the Bay. The room was large and comfortable with all the necessary amentities, yet still didn't lose the charm of being in the heart of Union Square. July 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing View The room exceeded my expectations! The view of the bay was amazing! Very comfortable bed. Wonderful bathroom and amenities. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by St Francis San Francisco CA The free upgrade was fantastic considering my 6 month old grand daughter was with us!! i didn't request an upgrade but was ecstatic with it!! I highly recommend this hotel. we had a fantastic time thanks to their thoughtfulness!! July 14, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 39 next>>