The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close

Children per Room

This information enables us to identify the rooms that will best accommodate your party and to prepare for your arrival.

See room terms and details for information about rollaway and/or extra person charges.

Age Requirement Policy

Guests must be 21 years or older with photo identification to reserve a room.

Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1255 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed My daughter & I ate at Bourbon Steak (which had been highly recommended) but the service was slow, food was not worth the very high prices, & both of us had very upset stomachs afterwards! Altho we notified both the hotel & the restaurant, no one called back to check on us or offer any kind of apology. In addition, we called the front desk after the 1st night's stay, since our room was very warm - it was never fixed! On the other hand, Courtney in the Oak Room & Cortez in the lobby restaurant were both outstanding, as was the breakfast buffet. June 25, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Rooms need maintenance I was disappointed to find no WiFi in the hotel and no instructions on how to connect using the LAN cable. There were no cables in my room for hook-up. Also there was no Room Service menu in the room (your staff quickly brought one up). The toilet didn't flush, the shower didn't spray water and the bathtub drain was clogged. I walked to the lobby to get a quick cup of coffee and was told it would be $5.50+tax. Really, for a hotel guest?! A tough start to my business-focused morning. July 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great but... My wife's favorite in SF. One of my favorites. But...needing an access code to use the lavoratory on the main floor is unacceptable! Room card: okay. Having to go to the concierge and wait and wait and wait for people to make their restaurant reservations before I could get the code was absurd. It really cooled my feelings about the Westin St Francis. August 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Quintessential luxury on Union Square The hotel was exceptional in every way. From the Doorman to check in to the wonderful room and views, every detail was perfect. Super clean, which we love, and not a nick, tear or show of wear and tear in such a busy hotel. Kudos. The location can't be beat and we loved being on the Square, and central in the great city, but also enjoyed being inside the hotel with the views in our room, room service, and the new wine bar in the lobby. Not always easy to find such great, grand hotels in perfect shape these days. Thanks and we appreciate how you make this happen! We'll be back. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this hotel I stay at the Westin as often as possible. I love every aspect of my stay there and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to SF for business or pleasure. It is in the heart of Union Square and anything you need the hotel can provide or there is someplace close you can get it. I have one complaint which is always wiped out by the time I am in my room...getting to the parking garage is insane, especially on a busy weekend. This is partly my fault as I never take the time to plot out a better route, suddenly I find myself circling Union Square and cursing the lights and pedestrians. So, actually this isn't a complaint about the hotel, just my lack of planning & neophyte status with high tech devices. February 18, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by This hotel was perfectly located We really enjoyed our spacious, beautiful room. Very comfortable. Will definitely stay here again. August 23, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hotel, but SPG System needs update I had made a reservation a few weeks prior to my stay here, but when I checked in at the front desk my reservation could not be found in the system. I showed the clerk my email confirmation number, and even my SPG app which showed my "upcoming stay". However, it took another 15 minutes before it was realized that the SPG reservation system didn't internally confirm the reservation, and thus didn't have me on file. After the glitch was realized and resolved, I was placed in a nice room overlooking union square. Bathroom toilets could use some updating, but otherwise it was good. August 26, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Location, Location, Location Hotel is in the hub of shopping and dining places in San Francisco. Perfect for sightseeing as Tour buses and cable cars stop right across the hotel. The views are fantastic and energy from Union Square is perfect for the holidays. Hotel staff are friendly and accomodating-concierge Jeff is very helpful. He booked airport shuttle and restaurant reservations efficiently and quickly. The only negative would be the high prices in restaurant and room service. No problem with meals though because of the the numerous food places outside the hotel.Will definitely return to this hotel. December 17, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by June 2014 visit I thoroughly enjoyed my 2-night stay with the Westin St. Francis. It was my first visit to San Francisco, and I was on a tour with a group. The hotel was elegant, comfortable and suited all our needs for dining, location, with lovely decor and amenitiies. August 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Comfort and Location The rooms are very comfortable with lot of space. Had a nice view. The staff at check in and check out was very nice. The rooms were very clean. Have many places to eat close to the hotel. August 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Location & Facilities This was my first experience of The Westin St. Francis but it will definitely not be my last! The staff are friendly and efficient in all areas from check in to checkout and the facilities are excellent. August 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nothing special I stayed at the Westin St. Fransis to attend a conference which was being held in the same hotel. I booked the room at a "discounted" rate. Not much of a discount since the room is basically just for sleeping. There was no free Wi-fi in the room but could be added for an additional fee per day. Most if not all hotels I stay in offer free Wi-fi. There was not outlet at the bedstand. This is a must with today's handheld devices. There was no paper (USA Today) provided to the room. I did not find that the hotel offered anything above and beyond that would make me rate it highly. September 17, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Close proximity to attractions Nice hotel with close proximity to all attractions, such as Fisherman's Wharf, the Cablecar routes, Chinatown, etc. August 21, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Thank you, we had a great stay. 1. Complemental continental breakfast is not satisfactory 2. Christie Patrick took good care of us. As a platinum member, we feel grateful to her. She made us feel welcomed and special. Thank you, Christie. 3. We had bad experience with your employee. She worked at the cafe wher we got a continental breakfast. She treated us bad. She should not work there. She is more suitable as a cleaning lady. 4. Location of your hotel is great. 5. No swimming pool, jacuzzi made me feel that this is the lastt time to stay here, though. Thank you. June 25, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Avoid the Spa Overall, the hotel was fine, with a very attentive staff and the location was perfect to get anywhere in SF in a reasonable amount of time. We came here to enjoy SF, sites, dining and people and we wanted to take advantage of the on-site spa during our limited down time. to make a long story short, the spa attendant, Blaze? or maybe Blasé, made a big deal about scheduling our times and when my wife and I showed for our appointments we were told the spa had double booked and we were out of luck. We were offered a discount to reschedule, but we just went somewhere else. The attendant was arrogant and lacking in simple customer service skills. I would return to this hotel only if I did not intend to avail myself of the spa services. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Curb appeal This hotel is GREAT! We always stay here when we are in S.F. I do have a suggestion.... can you clean the awnings on the outside of the building. The outside of the building does not match the inside!!!!!! August 18, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointing experience One day housekeeping failed to make up our room and then claimed we left the do not disturb sign on our door. That was factually inaccurate. We left the room at 10am and removed the sign. When we informed the front desk of our problem and it took almost an hour to rectify the problem. Trash was left in the hall for over 24 hours. We have stayed at the St. Francis on a number of occasions and have not had this kind of experience. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Marichu Alvarez is the best!! We received a warm and sincere welcome from Marichu Alvarez this past Sunday when we arrived after a 6 hour drive from Southern California. She greeted us in the lobby and offered her assistance. Our room assignment was in the “Tower Building” and the directions given to us at the desk were somewhat vague. Not only did Marichu “point” us in the right direction, she personally escorted us to the elevator and explained how the card key system worked. You should have more associates like Marichu welcoming your guests. Not only are we loyal Starwood guests, but we are now loyal and partial to the St. Francis because of the professionalism exhibited by Marichu. She was truly engaged – she acknowledged, assisted and showed genuine appreciation for our stay at your property and deserves to be recognized! July 17, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Darkness The room was dark and the sofa extremely dirty and soiled. The floor obviously had not been cleaned and there was long hair in the tub. I am bald. August 19, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overall, nice hotel Room was clean and bed was comfortable. TV was a nice size widescreen HDTV, and wifi coverage in the hotel is great. I personally don't care for the boutique style room that I had in the Landmark building. If you want a normal room, the tower is the place to be (I was told). Boutique style rooms seem to be the thing in San Francisco. The only thing I hated was my bad window view. It was facing an interior shaft of other hotel windows. Absolutely no sunlight entered my room. I wish they would have told me of this while checking in. I would have asked for another room.. February 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent base for San Fransisco adventure Finding a returant like Burbon Steakhouse inside a hotel that has kept its style....say no more :-) August 20, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Terrible night sleep Soundproofing is awful, can hear everything from the rooms next door including the toilet and tv. Housekeeping kept knocking even through we put the privacy please sign up. Beds are meant to be heavenly but it was small and lumpy, had so many layers and they were old so couldn't smooth them. The café in the lobby doesn't display any prices and when we asked two small sandwiches and a tea cost $33. When we checked out I complained to a lady called Yvonne and the only response I got was 'oh dear' which as you can imagine made me really angry, obviously couldn't care less September 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Elegant and great service I would stay at the St Francis again in a heartbeat! Central to all the shopping and eateries; Service was quick and courteous; Some of the maids could have been nicer, but it was ok; Michael Mina in the Lobby open till 10pm; Beautiful Views from tower; Cable car is down the block; Lovely hotel! Fitness center was a ilttle lacking in equipment, but while on vacation it did the job. August 4, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by disappointed The bed in room 1217 was terrible, matress sagging in the middle, we did not sleep well. We decided to try a different SF hotel next visit. August 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Step back in time with today's amenities From the elegant architecture to the historic photographs and furnishings, guests feel wrapped in the early 1900s without missing the comforts and conveniences of today. Sink into a leather chair in the lobby coffee/wine bar and lose yourself people watching or reading a book. Rest well in the famed Heavenly Bed and be invigorated by the rain shower in the room. Start or end your day in the fitness center which offers state of the art equipment and immaculate and peaceful locker rooms. These are just a few reasons this hotel thrives throughout San Francisco's history. April 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Remarkable Experience As always, my experience at the Westin was wonderful. However, this particular visit was exceptional due to Christie Patrick. Ms. Patrick went out of her way to assist my family and me during our stay at the St. Francis. It was the first trip to San Fran for family from Nebraska, and Ms. Christie was courteous, professional, and provided remarkable service. I cannot thank Ms. Christie and the staff enough for a memorable visit for all of us!! July 26, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by The reservation process was awful I worked without a room block for the first and last time. The reservation process throughout was a nightmare. More than one guest was assigned to the same confirmation number, even though I asked for separate. Making a simple date change to a reservation took up to 20 minutes or more on the phone - one time having to cancel a room and start from scratch while the other forced two reservations for a single guest room. The final bills showed different room rates for different guests, with a difference of almost $200 per night. The credit card authorization form was useless since more than one guest was assigned a confirmation number and it charged both guests to my card instead of the one submitted through the form. Then, I was unable to get a proper receipt for the incorrect charge. The entire process was horrible and I don't plan to use your hotel again if i can help it. July 31, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Automobile access is ... painful If you are driving in, the worst part is getting through traffic near Union Square. Generally, California residents and visitors are nice, friendly people - but not when they are driving - or walking! Be decisive and don't show weakness, but share the road, too! Everybody is trying to get somewhere and we can all get there if we just work together. The combination of pedestrians who can't be bothered to wait for a light and drivers who can't decide where they are going make it nearly impossible to get your car into this hotel at times. No fault of the hotel, of course. The right turn from Powell onto Geary to get into the valet area took FOREVER on a Friday afternoon. Once you get there, this is a wonderful property! February 4, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Property is not at Westing standards! Facilities are old and not maintained. I learned there are two sections (new and old) and unfortunately my room was in the old section. Air conditioning did not work properly. My room had a small window with no real exterior light as it overlooked other internal rooms. Had breakfast at hotel restaurant one morning with a colleague and bill was in excess of $65 dollars for eggs, coffee and one fruit plate. Not a Westing standard July 28, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Need to be accommodative of other cultures Overall experience was fine, but food was a problem. I was attending the Webtrends conference and had selected Vegan food as an option, but I wasn't served any vegan food. I am a lacto vegetarian, and I was disappointed to see that the hotel menu doesn't differentiate between lacto vegetarians, lacto-ovo vegetarians and vegans. If you want to be a world class hotel that is sensitive to the needs of your diverse clientele, you can no longer afford to provide a product that is predominantly western. In our culture we give free water to even our enemies. But hotels in North Anerica charge of water. So inspite of your excellent rooms and everything else that you do great, my opinions about hotels in North America is poor. January 31, 2013
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 43 next>>