The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square

  • 335 Powell Street
  • San Francisco,
  • California
  • 94102
  • United States
  • Map

Rooms & Rates

Close
  • For stays longer than 90 days, please call 866-539-3446.
  • You can only book 550 days in advance.
  • Please double-check your dates.
1 Room 1 Rooms , 1 Adult 1 Adults , 1 Child 0 Children
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 1333 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful stay Had a relaxing stay. Rooms and facilities clean and comfortable. Staff always helpful and courteous. Will be back! June 2, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Needs an overhaul This was my third stay at this hotel, and, this time, I was disappointed with the general condition of the hotel, and our room. The whole place needs a refurbishment before I would stay again. It's time for this hotel to stop living on its laurels and location, and spend some money to make it first-class again! June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rooms in the tower were exceptional! Our stay at the Westin St. Francis was wonderful. The hotel staff goes above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant one! I would recommend this hotel! June 2, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect location Excellent hotel in perfect location for all Activities. Only one negative...very poor Lighting in guest room. June 1, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice place The Westin is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The room was a little small, but it was comfortable and relatively quiet. The hotel staff were prompt and courteous. The hotel has an excellent exercise room with many amenities. May 29, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small Rooms Rooms felt tight with every door somehow oddly banging into another piece of furniture. Our bathroom didn't have door locks and the toilet wasn't cleaned very well when we first arrived. Nice gym, great location and charm. May 28, 2014
Rated 3 out of 5 by Avoid the Spa Overall, the hotel was fine, with a very attentive staff and the location was perfect to get anywhere in SF in a reasonable amount of time. We came here to enjoy SF, sites, dining and people and we wanted to take advantage of the on-site spa during our limited down time. to make a long story short, the spa attendant, Blaze? or maybe Blasé, made a big deal about scheduling our times and when my wife and I showed for our appointments we were told the spa had double booked and we were out of luck. We were offered a discount to reschedule, but we just went somewhere else. The attendant was arrogant and lacking in simple customer service skills. I would return to this hotel only if I did not intend to avail myself of the spa services. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The hotel is excellent for the area. For the Union Square area in San Francisco, the Westin is excellent. I loved the steam room. The room was small,yet quiet and comfortable. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by This hotel met all my requests and more We visited with our two young grandchildren, their first time to San Francisco. It was important to have connecting rooms and be in the tower. We also needed a late check out due to late flight. The people I spoke with at the front reservation desk bent over backwards to help us. We were given exactly what we asked for, an upgrade, a huge corner room with connecting room and the 21st floor with a fantastic view. We had a great time and while there, everyone honored all our requests and it was amazing, since it was a three day holiday weekend and every room was booked. May 27, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Hotel- POOR RESERVATIONS DESK I booked this room over the phone and they booked me in the WRONG room type. When I called back, they told me it was a prepaid rate and that no changes were allowed! REALLY- even when it was NOT my fault. I then spent the next 45 minutes trying to explain to 3 different ppl that I did nothing wrong (except for not just booking online on my own) and now I have to deal with this nonsense. The person on the phone pretty much accused me of lying and said that we would have to review the phone conversation tapes.. PLEASE DO, IN FACT, PLEASE REVIEW THE CONVERSATIONS AND THEN HAVE THAT WOMEN CALL ME AND PERSONALLY APOLOGIZE FOR HER RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE. I can be reached on my number on file. I did not appreciate that tone and accusatory statement- your people messed this up- NOT me. Other than that, the hotel was great and the staff there were great as well and very helpful. May 27, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by a few little bumps in the road We stay here every time we are in the city. Love the hotel. Our room this time was in need of some attention to the shower.. It didn't drain well and the water was just warm. great bed!! Fantastic breakfast in the Oak Room. We will be back in July. May 26, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice place. Above ordinary This was my first time staying in San Francisco. I attended the Cisco live conference. the weather was pleasant, so I walked to and from the event most of the time. I like the hotel, It was very nice and secure. the staff were excellent and didn't treat me as dome low class citizen, as I have been treated in other higher cost hotels. May 24, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Stay Nice location to Union Square. Did not order food, TV in room did not work upon arrival, staff took quite a while before addressing the issue.. May 22, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Nice hotel In the heart of San Francisco. May 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by A superb Hotel It was a wonderful stay in a magnificent old Hotel overlooking Union Square. The one thing that spoilt the visit was the Mattress on the bed in 432... you could tell it was past its use by date. May 20, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Hotel but noisy This hotel is nice, however, the noise from Union Square was very noticeable in the rooms. The windows are not sound-proof at all. If you want a quieter room, request an interior room not on the square. Also, noise from the hallways was an issue - doors, walls etc. are very thin. May 20, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by hotel features i was very impressed with the staff. everyone seemed to go out of their way to please. i need a firm pillow, and i could not get a firmer pillow. a small problem considering the wonderful time that my wife and i had. May 19, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Westin was Great! The heavenly beds lived up to their name! May 18, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Amazing location With all of San Francisco on your doorstep, the St Francis feels like being in the very heart of the city. Views from the Tower are amazing and the food is excellent. Liked the eco- option of getting points in exchange for skipping a change of sheets. Only two negatives: paper-thin dividing doors so I felt like I was sharing my room with my quarrelling neighbors and their screaming kids - and the elevator system drives you insane! May 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love the formality The hotel was great. I stayed there 30+ years ago and it is much nicer than it was then. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, clean and it is located in the heart of the city. The staff was courteous and sincere. My wife left her glasses in the lobby and they called us to tell us they found them (her name was in the glasses case.) May 17, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Go To SF Hotel Upon arriving a couple hours before the official check-in time, Michelle at front desk already had our room ready. We even requested a view and she went out of her way to find us a high floor with an amazing view! When we got settled in, we received a phone call from Michelle asking if the room was up to our standards. I usually receive nice treatment being an SPG member, but that was above and beyond to me. She couldn't have been sweeter! The room was spacious and comfortable. My only gripe was the cleanliness of the bathroom, as I found leftover stubble from what looked like someone who had shaved over the bathroom sink. Gross. Other than that, staff is friendly, location was perfect, hotel was beautiful, and the little lobby lounge was convenient for morning coffee to get the day started before a day of sightseeing in SF! The Westin St Francis is my go to hotel whenever I plan to visit SF again! May 17, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Below expectations Perhaps we expected too much from the St. Francis. The Tower section (hallways and rooms) were what one would expect at an average hotel - bland décor with no charm or character. Toiletries were no-name in unattractive plastic bottles. No assist bar in the bath tub. The view from our room was fabulous and the elevator system was perfect. May 14, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Checkout Our stay was fantastic, with such a great location you couldn't be more in the heart of the city. Checkout was the only time I felt the staff was very rude. I waited at the front of the line with 8 empty positions and the one person on duty in front of me stayed on the phone for over 25 minutes (Joy was her name) When I finally approached the desk she looked up and said I'm busy now. I was so frustrated I left. May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautifull, comfortable, and convenient! This gem in the middle of San Francisco is a gorgeous property, and it is convenient to many of San Francisco's highlights. Sitting right on the cable car line, and within walking distance to Fisherman's Wharf, Chinatown, and Lombard Street, bus tours are also available across the street at Union Square. If you love to shop, there's no better place to stay, and if you love to eat...well, take it from me, you will never go hungry! The lobby is full of historical artifacts and stories of those who have visited before us, and each trip through it was more fascinating than the last. This is the only city hotel that I would go back to again and again. FIVE STARS! May 14, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Beautiful hotel This is a beautiful hotel! The staff is friendly and attentive. It is very centrally located for business as well as pleasure. I would highly recommend this hotel to others. May 14, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible & disappointing Had confirmed reservation for a "Grand Deluxe Tower King Bed" room. At check in received a "standard" room and was told by front desk that it was a Grand Deluxe Room !!! Moved room and was told there is no King Bed available! Disappointing customer service! No follow up from Management. May 13, 2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great location Great location. Central to all attractions I was upgraded from a regular king to superior king room May 13, 2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible First of all, Raymond who is the bellman (I think) around the back was amazing. He even stepped out into traffic to let us know where to park temporarily while checking in before returning our rental car. James, who helped people at the front door in and out of taxis, was wonderful. These two should get a raise and/or be promoted. Two lovely ladies at the information desk (not the front desk or concierge) who we chatted to the following morning were fabulous in making suggestions of where to shop and eat. The older gentleman who was in charge of the valet parking was grumpy. How about a "hello"? The man who was in the booth or stand for people to get their keys was downright rude. Who tosses car keys at a guest. A very blatant toss. Learn some manners. The front desk guy was friendly but didn't even look to see if I could be upgraded like I am supposed to as an SPG member. He just said "We're full," and left it at that. Didn't give me the complimentary WiFi or bonus points I was supposed to get, either. Or maybe because I'm no longer a Platinum member? The tall brunette at the concierge desk had no idea what she was talking about and made a huge deal out of making a simple phone call to see if a business was open. We are tourists in her city and we don't know everything yet she was asking us for information and seemed perturbed she should actually have to do what it is that concierge are supposed to do. Such as give us a map. It was extremely painful for her to pull one out and circle where the hotel was so we had an idea of where we were. We also asked her for a suggestion of where to have dinner and she said that there were many places if we just walked around. What made the stay terrible and extremely disappointing? Being in the supposedly classy Clock Bar and seeing an older gentleman and his younger female companion engaging in public s-e-x-u-a-l (apparently that is an inappropriate word that was flagged by Westin) acts. At first we thought they were just being affectionate, then it started to get uncomfortably s-e-x-u-a-l. My friend moved so she would not have to see, and was able to block my view. The server asked why my friend moved and we told her we didn't really want to see people making out like that, to which she replied, "Oh, I know!" From where I was sitting I could see heads turned staring in the direction of the amorous couple and these grins on the faces of the guys (mostly men in there), caught a few comments and rude gestures so I peek around my friend and see the gentleman had removed his blazer and had draped it strategically over his companion and himself. We carried on, trying to ignore, and enjoy our drinks. A few minutes later I hear some laughter and decided to see if it was safe. The woman's hair was drenched in sweat, her face was flushed and her chest was bright red (it was exposed as she was dressed rather like she should have been elsewhere) and she had a huge smile on her face. Well, good for you for feeling so good for whatever it is that you two were doing under there! One of the staff came over to us to chat about some bottles of wine we were selecting and we made a comment about what we just saw and he says, "Oh yeah, that happens all the time." Really? In a hotel like the Westin? In a seemingly nice bar/lounge? We don't want to see that as paying guests of the hotel and the bar. Sure, we could have left, but at least we were buying something other than a s-e-x-u-a-l encounter. What we found interesting is the staff just standing there staring and laughing, including as we found out later, the hotel's front desk manager and the manager of the restaurant, a curly headed woman. We decided to leave and speak to the front desk so they knew what was going on. The nice girl said, "We have security for that very reason, because it's common for this to happen." So it is common for people to have s-e-x in public in a bar inside a hotel? Okay. She said she would call security and her front desk manager. She starts chatting and then says, "My manager is in there." He was in the Clock Bar! When he came out we realized he was one of the guys standing there watching and laughing. We told him what we saw and how we were a little surprised that nobody i.e. the staff did anything. His response was "They are not a Westin company and those two people were paying guests at the bar so they can do what they want." WE are paying guests, too! So we can strip and jump around the bar and it's okay??? Yah, apparently because there is nothing he can do. The next day after tweeting a few words I am asked to contact the hotel as they take things very seriously. No, they don't. They're dismissive. A $50 credit isn't going to solve the customer service issues the hotel has. Oh wait, they'll waive the parking fee (we didn't park). Panned responses to appease guests. Hoping that it gets addressed before I go and write a review. Well, here I am writing my honest review. I want my 25 000+ SPG points and cash back. So disappointed that I didn't choose to stay at another SPG like I always do. My first and last time staying at a Westin. May 12, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great room, great service, and great location Stayed for a weekend in early May, 2014 - the hotel exceeded our expectations. The staff was courteous and very helpful. We got upgraded to a very nice room with a great view of the city. Location was very convenient. May 12, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Great location. Great location, but room temp hard to adjust. Lots of street noise. Coffee cost $5. May 11, 2014
  • 2015-08-31T09:48:06.160-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-12, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1333, tr_1333
  • loc_en_US, sid_1010, prod, sort_default
<<prev 10 11 12 13 14 ... 46 next>>